(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Want to share that Ahboy just started group music classes at my Girl's ex-teacher's (teaches from her home). Only a handful of lessons so far and he's enthusiastic, partly cos he remembers this teacher (used to lug him along when Girl took lessons there). Partly cos Girl practises alot on the piano- they sometimes fight over the piano (!!! This is so funny to me! :p ).

His fine motor skills not very advanced though, yet to conquer Mary Had A Little Lamb :p , which some of ur kids have!

PP, I didnt know! Blur mommy here. She can be really gunho when there is good "kantao" for her as in toys and candies...hehe. Thanks for sharing! Hiaz...how blur I am....email me photo, if any...please..

Really cool that A has gone through G1 exam. You must be very proud of her performing in front of so many ppe. So cool! She is such a sweetie. The other day sat next to my gal for her first drawing class. My gal was very happy...hope she hasn't caused A any trouble though. :p

I waited for a long time for I's teacher to start her lessons..ended up tied up with Mandeville liao. But heard she is really good. But till now..not sure what method she is using. Is it close to suzuki?

Joyful,

hmm the circular was given last Wed, but only stated a performance by drama class at 9:30am. I *didn't* know the individual classes all take turns to sing on stage too, wld have missed it if I went to breakfast :p . Luckily my mum accompanied me and she refused to trek out of the sch for brekkie. The classes started singing about 8:30am!

I will email the one pic I have of G... not well taken though!

I think Boy's music teacher's mtd closer to Seimpi's.
Warm-up exercises;
Play with different toy instruments (sometimes in a "concert");
Flashcards and singing (in the music room);
Hands-on.

I'd say at this age more music and movement type, but am fine with it. In terms of pace, in my own assessment... shld be slower than Mandeville, but faster than Yamaha. So Mandeville is a great choice too!

U know I *really* like this teacher lah...

PP, hiaz...girl missed school last week. Teacher usually calls but guess she must have missed it. nvr mind lah. There is always another one..
send me the pix anyway. Thanks!

I have met the music teacher before. She is cheerful and all...just that I was not willing to wait "till dont know when" at that time...keke. G is in Mandevielle bb graduate class. Actually...not covering much each lesson though I begin to appreciate the way her teacher is building solid foundation with them in places that seems unimportant for older kids. Older kids are probably able to appreciate technical stuff more straightforwardly. But for them, the teacher really try to make sure that it is multi-sensory learning. Visual, kinestic & hearing..

Poohy,

The previous principal for ODY was in-charge of the K1 children. But not too sure what happened after she left. Hope their parents would be informed of the plans if not, can imagine the unpleasantness it would caused.

As for the phonics, I am quite contented and comfortable with the progress. The teachers are encouraging the N1-ers to recognise words and I think they drilled Kell quite a lot cos her word recognition as in spelling words ability expanded. She was able to do that with LV@RP but think the teacher didnt make an effort to capitalise on that so ended up, she only pick up spelling when she is back home with me. Even for her Chinese words recognition, it just shot up, think it is because of the flashcards.

For the outdoor activities, the children in the school take turn. Like N2 and K1 will be playing at the playground, the N1s will be playing with balls or riding the tricycles infront of the atelier.
The biggest change in Kelly was her vocalism eversince she started ODY. Hubby said dun need to send her to speech and drama liao. I also dont know what they do to her but she is now looking forward to performance infront of a big group.

The very regular project works is really good and each of the teachers does do a presentation documenting the kind of works done, what they do, how the children perform at the end of each project work. It is happening but it means leaves get consumed even at a greater pace.

Quality in teaching is quite high, I think also partly because there will be a curriculum specialist sitting in and joining in the class too so that the teachers are kept an eye on yet at the same time, a more senior education is around to help fill in the gaps if any.

So far so good lah, got small incidents happen here and there but it is something that I can my eyes on.

oki, is west coast berries good? which time slot are you attending? i am waitilist pandan and west coast for 2010. i wonder whether both are franchisees, as i know palais is berries' own.

poohy, have you considered chiltern house? or st james (though wait list must be in hundreds) or barker rd? where are you sending joshua? will he also switch with S and J? for me, i will switch J only, AnM will stay with LW.

paula,

thanks for your sharing... maybe I will bring the kids to pay Ody another visit again since you review them so highly

btw, I noticed the teachers are mostly sooooo young... we din feel very assured with that.. its like inexperience grad fresh out of school. What's your experience so far?

toto,

my 2 older ones were in palais berries. Then S decide to stop for a term.. now they are on waitlist to go back...

I already waitlist Josh in st james. Barker is too far for me i think (not convenient to go from my office). Chiltern house... I am not sure if they are any better from LW.... not that LW is not good though.. they have their merits, some of the teachers are really really good.

Poohy,

Teachers eh, I find that Kell warms up to younger teachers lei so far, I dont have any problems with the teachers cos the fact that she is coming home telling me what she learnt in school is a good testament that the teachers are doing a good job? The Chinese teachers are slightly older than the rest but the good thing is Kell also warms up to her Chinese teacher and is picking up Chinese writing skills too. She will come home, imitating her teacher and writes sun, date and day in Chinese characters.

Remember about Kells first teacher, Teacher Wen? I have been telling her to apply for a job in Ody but she said that their expectations on teachers are too high. I understood from the previous principal that their expectations on teachers are quite high and all teachers engaged in ODY are expected to engage in the children be it during class lessons or free plays (that means, if it is free play, teachers are expected to play and interact with them, no sitting around).

Kells curriculum specialist was a former vice principal with LV@MOE. Prior to ODY, a group of them were sent to the top pre schools in Italy and some other places to do research into pre-school education and then implement the best practices into ODY. I also understand from them that ODY often attracts researchers or scholars in the world as they will visit the school (the Katong branch) and observe how the children were taught etc.

Hmm, this school seems to be operating on a high expenditure though. Like the recent Chinese performance, they did not have PA system (Alexandra branch is a year old), so they only purchase a set. Last arts exhibition, they went and buy all the professional equipments that wood sculptors would use and teaches the children to use them and rented a place in The Arts House to exhibit the art works. I guess, the good thing that comes out of this is exposure.

So far, we are quite satisfied de four out of five stars. I didn't manage to do comparison of the curricula in ODY with other schools but coming from LV, I know that they are ahead of them. The pace of learning is pretty much dictated by Kell so whatever is not taught in school and she is interested to learn, I will fill in that gap. :)

paula,

thanks for sharing so much! I will definitely be going back ody for another visit together with the kids probably next week.

Poohy,
Don't mention. Have reply to your mail and forward you some of their curricula to you for your reference. Eh, don't strangle me if quality goes down the hill... I had a bad lesson learnt with LV@RP so for ODY, i can only speak for now.. based on what I see. :)

Hope all's well with all!
Haven't been here in a looong while...needed a second try on my password!

I've been SAHM this entire year...busier than ever with housechores and cooking...a newfound love...the latter i mean! Haven't been doing much with my ger though...poohy and paula, i salute you both...wow wow wow!
Am feeling a lil guilty cos I mostly play and play and play...nonsensical stuff...now we're into this funny waltz to chopin and of cos the endless parties with her dolls! Am complacent lah and especially so when she's like picking up quite some stuff in school...hehe. Oh, am glad that i started her on yamaha though...at least sth.

Re: Air Purifier
Anyone using this? Any good? Any recommended brand/s? Thanks and good day all!

Hi Calliope, WB to the forum haha. I often forget my passwords too... :p

No input on purifier, I only use Goodaire which isn't one in the way a Honeywell or Philip is.

MTDT,
but cristofori dun hv trial i think..

oh ya, signed up with art loft immediately after the trial; my boy loves it the class.

Hi hi Calliope,
Cool. SAHM now.
Your schedule sounds lots of fun leh...especially the parties with dolls and waltzing. Must be because this mom here dont really know or not interested in masak-masak...ended up gal also like not playing much with her tea party sets...or I probably should get something more interesting coz the sets that we have...not interesting enough?...hehe. Anyone have gals who dont play masak-masak much? Or is just me and G?

<font color="0000ff">wwsk06,
Yo Wen, how's G doing in her BB Grad Class? Actually, I quite miss the class but think E is not really interested in music yet. He doesn't even miss his instruments!

He's obsessed with cars and can play with them endlessly. He's been using those Megablok pieces to create mazes for them to move around in.</font>

Hi Bbloh,

G is getting familiar with the class. Initially, she asked me if we can go back to the old class, with Teacher S. It has still fun elements but not as much as in BB class. I guess it is intended that way to help children to move towards individual classes. Half an hour passes by pretty fast. With 6-7 students in a class, not a lot of content is covered...but I have to say, Teacher P teaches and explains concepts very well. I guess she makes a difference as in she specialises in teaching music to younger children...so lots of illustrations and games to help them to really grasp the concept. I think it is fine if E is not interested now. It is still very early really. They do learn faster at an older age. So can always try again later. Nothing is lost as long as he is continued to be expose to music at home or school.

Very creative har...can build own race track...hehe

Pawprint,

Thanks still!
Is Goodaire the one with swirling water? Does it keep air clean? Am only considering an air purifier now cos of the recent haze and this round my house is the first filter plus pollutant from the highway, weekend bbq smoke etc...the price for having a seaview...sigh...

Have seen a honeywell, very bulky. Am looking for sth small for only my ger's room. Did math...she actually spends 12 hours in her room, just sleeping alone.

Rather apprehensive still cos am not a gadget person...very old-fashioned...scared of side effects blah blah...believe in things natural la sap jiak, la sap twa...guess gone were those days.

Joyfulmom,

Don't worry your ger's not into masak masak...hmm...think i was playing more lego when i was young...as long as they are happy and interested in sth. My funny ger's been telling me she wants to be a singing and dancing chef and have audience watching her...very cool i thought.

Which music school is your girl attending? Sounds really chim...concepts and all. All my ger does at yamaha is sing and dance. Dunno whether to upgrade her to Seimpi where they do flashcards, classical music,keyboard...thought a bit too young for these so signed her up for yamaha instead but kids these days seem rather capable of...after all the aa, dha etc.

Bbloh,

Megablok tracks...very cool!
My ger's megabloks only see light after her 'little town' episode of charlie and lola where they build a town with blocks. Only then my ger remembers her megabloks...haha.

Have a good day all!

Toto,

So far C seems to enjoy the class
I only managed to attend the 1st half of the trial class previously. The teacher is from china and she seem good, she has loud voice (at least get the kids attention), prounciation ok.. keke am not so particular cos at least when she came home she can read the character to me can liao.

C is on Sunday 11am slot
Wow so fast on waitlist liao ? The timing at Panda is Friday evening which I think is quite late by the time we reach home. All branches operate by diff ppl but related in a way. When I signed up C, my friend in Pandan get the $20 rebate for her next term fee.

oki, oh i see. i think as long as C enjoys the class, that will work out well. i hope J will like the class. i am waitlisting for fri evening or sat morning class. sundays we attend church.

how are you coping back at work? you must have missed A very much. is A being taken care by your ILs?

me long long time no pop in liao...

toto, poohy, and many many more,,,,

how r u all????

me gonna be a SAHM soon.... really sian n scare cant cope...haiz....

this is a recent pic of my Ginelle, hope u all still remember her...

3008239.jpg

hello MOAP - how are you? of cos, we remember you. how are your princesses? you are going to be a SAHM soon? welcome to the club... i am partial SAHM cos i work from home...

I am sure you can cope.... jia you!

moap,

how come you are going to be a soap?
Of course we remember... and she's such a big girl now... how are your 3 kids doing?

re: photo shoot

we went for a shoot in aug...

3010006.jpg
3010007.jpg

3010008.jpg
3010009.jpg

Hi Mommies!

Long time no see no hear...

My ABC are doing very well. BC loves dancing and singing now. They are almost toilet trained. hahaha... I learnt to throw away those potty training books! Just start potty training from birth! I do not have problems that I faced for A when I followed those books.

Poohy,
Wow.. The photos are very nice. Sean is very cute. Joelle is pretty. Samuel is handsome.
I want to go for photoshoot too, but still procrastinating :p

Wen,
My gals will play masak masak now. I guess it's from A's influence. A learn masak masak from school. They do quite a bit of imaginary play in school. In school, also got different uniforms for different occupations and play masak.

toto,
How's your JAM? Are you still breastfeeding? I am still breastfeeding at nite...

My house gonna have another boy soon. My sister giving birth soon within the next 1 week
ABC got baby to play with already...

Gotta go... catch up again...

have 2 tickets to sell as the date crash with my boy's CC excursion.

Pls email me if you are interested.. [email protected]

TICKET Event : DUCK and DIVE! - The Ugly Duckling &amp; The Frog Prince
http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&amp;dt.action=process&amp;dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&amp;dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&amp;dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&amp;dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&amp;dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&amp;contentCode=duck1109

Date : Tue, 03 Nov 2009 10:30 AM
Venue : Drama Centre Theatre
Seat : Stall, Row: C (3rd row), Seat(s): centre,
Price: S$82.00 for 2tickets.

lyn, poohy no. 3 is josh la... sean is the photographer! when i read "ur house gonna have another boy..." i was thinking wow... u preg again? so ur sis? the one who got married last yr? is she staying with you now? so fun.. ur house so many kids... you will be busy after ur nephew pops.

i am still bfg, no intention to stop yet... see how lor... AM still very used to latching to bed.

lyn,

hey same here! My sis in law going to give birth ard end next month... also a boy. My mum's going to take care of him too...

re: cruise

mummies, do you all have any experience with royal caribbean cruise? How is it compared to star cruise?

I am a silent reader of this thread. I am writing today to invite you to join me in my new sprees on Facebook, CoSpReEs

Appreciate your support. Thanx!

MTDT,

my mum is really good.... I get tired easier than her.. oh ya, S &amp; J had been in full day cc this whole year. Mid next year, Josh also going to half day playgroup. So hopefully still manageable.

hehe... tot Joelle still halfday :p
me outdated.

then shd be ok lah.. 2kids at one time.
4kids - she can be a mini CC liao! hahaha

MTDT,

she handles all my 3 kids at time when they do not attend school... or when I need to run some errand without them. She keeps telling me she is ok with 4 kids at home but I feel it will be too little attention for each. But frankly with 2 closely aged baby and tod, and her age/health, plus still insist on cooking for us, and doing housework, I am not very keen on that idea. She fell once when S &amp; J were still baby and tod... and gotta go TCM for more than a year.

toto,

most likely he will attend LW. Probably morning half day. I think kissbb's little girl also will attending the same playgroup. And quite a few of S's classmates siblings. From what I see, half of the playgroup filled by siblings already
Will be fun.

poohy,

i just get to know the PG am is full.. alamak..
so now Cheryl is enroll in PG pm, waitlist in PG am..

think twice, maybe PG pm is good... She can interact more with Kor Kor after the class is dismiss, waiting for us to pick them up.

kissbb, oh gosh, AM is full? i hope i get a PM slot. else i dunno where to play AnM. I think my logistics will be a problem, with J in AM and AnM in PM. hmmm.... think for you, PM is better, can pick all 3 kids after school.

Hi mummies, dropping over to say Hi. Its been a long time since I come into this thread, Hope all's well.

MOAP, I always see your nicks in baking threads, I like to bake too but got no time to do so...

Poohy, nice photos, your kids are so good looking! Is Sean Lau ex? I am sourcing for a photo shoot when Jerilyn turns 1 next Feb.

Lyn, Amy &amp; MTDT, hi hi.

<font color="0000ff">Asian Civilisation Museum (ACM) is having a Fright Night celebration on 31 Oct from 5pm to 1am!

Entry is FREE!

FREEHalloween Treats
* Ice cream from 5pm
* Bacardi Halloween drinks from 7pm
(T&amp;C apply, while stocks last)

www.acm.org.sg</font>

Poohy,
gorgeous pics- is there a webby for Sean's contacts/ portfolio?

Am thinking of PS too but seem to be running outta time, heh.

update on myself: hmm, coping w/ minimal :p housework and cooking, mainly still running ard for Ahgirl's classes. Ahboy requested to join her enrichmt classes but he seems to have regretted, haha, so will pull him out of one of them when it ends for the term. Both kids seem ok in kindy

Busy coaching mainly Ahgirl in piano, mandarin, and just picked up abacus too... Ahboy's music progress is ok tho much slower than wonderboy Z
, and he asks for whatever I do with Ahgirl.

halo mummies,
anyone looking out for dec holiday programmes for your kids? can share... am looking ard for programmes for my boy.

hi mummies, how is everyone? Need your help to feedback if Christofori Music "Little Mozart" program is good? I can't fit into Yamaha's class timing next yr so am looking for alternatives. So far, CM has a class near my place that timing is ok. Or anyone has other suggestion?

Duffybuff, zoophonics has hol program. Saw their flyer when I picked up ER this aft but I did not take a copy so no details. You can call them to enquire or fax.

rodeo, i din sign up for christofori.. ended up signed up with artloft
art class first music later.. and swimming next..hee

i saw the website happyfish swimming classes.. dunno if good or not.. thkg of looking for 1 for my boy too

Jan and elly-heard tat it's quite gd... Only 2branches right? So quality are ensure?
. For their pri sch levels, heard it's famous for rgs kids.

Hols prog- think the usual jg, zoophonics and act3 shd hv too.
. Check their websites