(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi KK,
I read abt ur spotting, I also experience that now, actually for quite some time already.. fortunately bb is doing well, can even hear her heartbeat on my last visit. I am still on progesterone but no injections. mmm u mean can request for injections??

lyn,
where can we get seaband?? me only 6 weeks but always neasea, i think it is side effect of progesterone.

gal,
so fast buy maternality clothes?? I thought i look very big when wearing one.. then it seemed like very kua zhang.. lol.. instead i went to buy larger strawstring pants from Gio and elastic skirts from ehco first. :p

Wow! Just read the many no-no foods that u gals have been posting... I guilty. Drink barley water every monday... ate water melon yesterday for lunch and dinner... drank sugar cane drink the other day at dinner. Gosh! Should I be worried??

Hello
I had some bleeding yesterday, first time since I got pregnant
kao_sad2.gif
. According to doctor when i saw him yesterday, I'm already 8 weeks but he couldn't see the heartbeat during the scan yesterday. Though my doc gave it the benefit of doubt and said to wait for a week, it sound like bad news to me. Has anyone seen a heartbeat only beyond week 8 and pregnancy still ok? When's the time when your doc could detect a heartbeat?

I am so heartbroken and worried. I have tried IUIs and now IVF, and was in high hopes until my bleeding came and the no-heartbeat news. Doc gave me a jab yesterday and told to have another one on Wed and Sat; in addition, 3 cyclogest pessaries a day.

I am now on MC for a week. Just called back office but boss didn't seem supportive of it. So sad. Double worry indeed!
kao_sad2.gif

Hi icy,
I got mine from gynae. I think you should be able to get it from the pharmacy.

Hi emily,
Dun panic... Just try to take them in moderation
So far, everything ok rite? So no worries

Hi Alyy,
Do stay positive for now
Work is just work
Do rest well for now...

Hi lyn,

I remember seeing you at the other thread "A place for TTC. Congrats that you are preggie...
You remember me? Me too preggie liao. Into my 9 weeks... Last Friday went for 1st scanning and heard heartbeat liao.... EDD 11 June. Hope all works out well for me... trying hard not to think about the last MC I had last year.

Let's all nu li jia you.

poohmum

Hi Icy,

Yah, spotting may not be a major problem. U know the first time i got spotting, i did not even went go for urine test at GP yet. I thought my menses coming. After confirmation by GP, i had spotting again and it was more than the first time. I actually cried!! I thought it was going to be really bad
But luckily i went for my first visit to my gynae and he solved the problem.

I dunno can ask for jab or not. But since ur gynae did not give u any, should be ok lah
I didn't know i need the jab actually :p

Hi Ally,

For my bb, the heartbeat was detected on my first visit at the gynae. That was 7.8 weeks to be exact. I was so happy then as i discovered spotting before the visit.

One week later, no more spotting and heartbeat again detected and the bb grew larger

Dun worry too much ok? Sigh, i realised we keep worrying from first day ever since we know we are pregnant. Sometimes feel really tired from the worrying. SO i tell myself why not stay positive like what Lyn mentioned. Stay happy and bb will be happy too

Now i am worried about my first blood test which is this friday. Hope everything's fine!

Hi Poohmum,
Yap, I do remember you
Congratulations to you! I think you are one week faster than me. I lost count already... :p so will wait for gynae to date the EDD then confirm

The MC will never be forgotten. We just gotta accept the inevitable and move on
No point and no good for our health to keep hanging on the sad past. Do stay positive and calm
. Wish you a smooth 9 months

hahaha... I want my baby to come out on 10 June...

Alyy: Do take care and stay positive !!

Kite: Am at MAH, my sis's gynae so i trust her. the last 2 visits included blood test and the B12 medicine so a bit more pricey.
My doggie is a black poodle. very cute too but not as obedient as yours. :) My hubby has been really sweet to do the grooming and bathing the last 2 weeks cuz I cldn't stand being out in the backyard bathing the dog.

Can i ask what you girls are eating for breakfast?
For weedays, i get up at abt 820 and can't seem to stomach anything solid. I dont actually puke anything out, but got loads of excessive slivation.
Weekends are better cuz I laze around in bed and dont get up till almost 10. By then, can eat proper food.

oh, also, what kinda skincare are you all using ? Is SKII still ok for use in pregnancy ?
I read that we sld exclude products that contain sulpheric or issit syllic acid.
I need a pimple cream

have been getting bad breakouts !

Hi K Ong,

When it comes to 2nd trimester, i realise i can eat anything for breakfast and lunch, but dun seem to eat much for dinner.

That nite my hubby woke up at 330am to watch his soccer match. Then i got woken up and heard my stomach rumbling! So i forced myself to sleep until next morning haha!

Hi Lyn ! Dr Lim at MAH, EDD keeps changin, it's mid June now.
my LM was on 1 sept, and my cycle is abt 30 plus days ... so i think the gynae is counting based on the ultra scan and the size of the bb.

Is there any harm taking foods with coconut in them? Previously i had cravings for laksa and lontong, basically spicy food. Now i had cravings for nasi lemak.

Good Afternoon To All MTB...

Emily, How is your Cramp??? Getting Better a not...

Alyy, Don't Be Sad.... Look on the Bright side...a lot of MTB here is having spotting inculde me also...

hi alyy

Long time never talk to you
Dun worry too much abt the bleeding ok? Issit a bit or a lot? I had slight bleeding, brown discharge and even passed out a blood clot with cramps all these weeks and the cramps are getting worse. Eat more nutritious food to build up ya own body since you r having twins right?

Hi Alyy,
jia you for both of us. Must try to stay happy.. then good for bb health.. me also kind of on probation.

lyn,
any certain brand?? any what price, maybe i can go and hunt ard later.

KK,
yah.. i was overseas for holiday when i had my spotting and I thought it was mense.. then i drink wine, eat sashimi, on the rocky road, moving stuff...

then my spotting continues.. until i thought i might be pregnant.

K ong,
I drink Milk and eat bread.. sometimes anything which are more salty so that i wont feel so neusea.. heeheee

Dear Alyy,
Oh dear, I can understand that such news is heartbreaking. Did the doctor use a v scan or abdominal when he was looking for the heartbeat? The jabs and cyclogest are all progesterone supplements?

Please trust that God to take care of you and the baby. He is the Creator of Life. He is able to sustain the baby and it is up to His timing.

For now, tell yourself to remain calm so you dont let anxiousness affect the baby.

Hi Emily,
My week 12 is around 10 Dec. Looks like Ive to go to Osaka again around week 10 & 11.

I also drank barley twice a week from the Amoy Street hawker center when I was on project near there few weeks ago. Quite rare to find home made barley being sold.

And I just had a big bowl of ching chow yesterday yikes! How is it that we can all drink soya bean but not ching chow when both drinks are cooling. Is one much worse? Well, after all when pregnant, were in a heaty state, if I dont drink cooling stuff, my pimples will break out & Im sure to get a throat infection.

Hi Fondue,

I once read some postings that say too much soya bean is no good for the bb?? Especially if the bb is a boy???

So i refrain myself from drinking soya bean (which is my love actually!!) for the 1st trimester. After that, i just couldn't tolerate it anymore and i start taking my favourite soya bean again

Oh no, chin chow is definitely a no-no! It's very very very cooling. And sometimes it can even cause leg cramps in normal pple if taken too much.

Hi Lyn,
Did not follow this new thread. Just found out the good news abt you!

A Big CONGRATS to you!
So happy for you, my dear!

icy,
It's called "seaband". The one I got is made in UK. I dunno how much is it... but I guess it gonna cost at least $20.

kk,
I dunno much about the food to avoid. I eat anything
I even drank Thai coconut, and drank sugar cane.
I used to love soya bean milk and drink a lot before preggie... Now my body cannot take soya milk. The thought of it, I wanna puke already.

hey lyn
why u wan ur bb to be out on 10 jun? ur anniversary or b'day..keke. my EDD is 030606 so far but wan bb to b out in may lei..keke. share the same b'day mth as mummy

hey kk,
i agree w u not to eat so much at nite.. very xin ku one. but hor, late at nite, super hungry lei. i cant tahan n drink a bit of hot milo w/o milk or sugar.keke

kk & Fondue,
I heard can drink soya bean milk, but just cannot eat the soya bean curd lor..

dor,
june have a lot of nice dates like 060606 or 20 06 2006.. also.. i dunno i in time or not.. my EDD on 29 June.. maybe will go to jul..

girls,
when is the finalised EDD? wonder why each time i go gynae, the date change.

icy,
I think the most accurate crown rump length is measured at 10 - 12 weeks. But I guess even that you have to plus or minus 7 days. Baby may want to come out early.

fondue,
I have a stupid quesion.. ehem what is crown and yoke?? the gynae showed me the scans and pt to me the length and etc but I dun even know what is that. :p

all mummys,
any website for recommendation that have some good readings??

Hi Lyn,

Sometimes i do get confused over what food we can eat. I read postings say avoid soya bean. The next day my pregnany colleague jeo me go canteen drink soya bean and she say VERY GOOD for baby haha! Now i dun care liao, since i love it, i drink it

And my mum visited the polyclinic and she asked her nutritionist about soya bean. The nutritionist say ok to take, what's wrong.

My mum did told me not to eat too much coconut lor. But i dunno how much is too much haha... anyway seems like every weekend breakfast is nasi lemak for me

Hi Dor,

Why milo without sugar?

By the way, they say cravings of sweet foods the bb will be a girl and cravings for sour foods the bb will be a boy.. dunno how true heehee... I would say i have cravings for both depends on the food itself :p

I dun mind eating heavy at nite which i did before my pregnancy. Before pregnancy, i ate breakfast, i skipped lunch, so i have to eat full dinner. Now seems like after pregnancy, i can't eat very full dinner, unless i eat early like 6pm. If i eat much later, i can't digest all before bedtime

Hi Icy,

Beancurd cannot eat??? I ate a lot liao! What about tou hua? Can eat? I thought they are good sources of calcium, so i eat them. because last time i do drink milk everyday. But now milk makes me puke. So i can only take fresh milk instead of milk powder.

My EDD changes too. I guess it is due to measurement of the bb. But not to worry, my gynae say only 5% of couples have their bb delivered on EDD :p It is just a very rough gauge.

Hi Fondue
My doc did both v and ab scans. after readin the 2 sites you posted, i get more pessimistic about my condition. i think at this stage, the doc has done what he could and all is up to God now.

hi pebbles
I am not so worried about the bleeding but really the size of the gest sac and the absence of the heartbeat and yolk sac at week8. it's quite scary and worrisome. the thought of it makes me cry again. I just don't know how to get through this again after my MC and failed pregnancies before. now that i am resting at home seems worse cos i cannot do anything to keep my mind away from it. i just feel so frustrated and helpless. It was just a complete opposite feeling when i first saw the 2 sacs in my last visit.

i think soya beans are good, so whatever they say abt soya bean milk and tau huay is really old wives' tale !!!

anyhows, is anyone still going for facial and using pimple creams ?? I am getting acne on my chin
very upset. am currently using bactoran oilment from a doctor friend but when i read online that it is not recommended for pregnant women.

Hi K Ong,

My complexion getting bad too. Wonder whether it is due to heatiness. My complexion was not too bad before as i have been conscientiously taking cooling stuff. But now since cooling drinks are no-no, my blackheads, etc all come out liao.

Dear Alyy,
Big Hugs please. Im so sorry you have to go through this. Please use this forum to share your thoughts & what youve been through. I wish I had words to encourage you.

Im also pessimistic by nature and I wont rule out the possibility of miscarrying myself. I went through it 6 months ago. Its an emotional roller coaster.
Even if I pass my 12 week milestone, I know a miscarriage can happen up to 5 months and beyond that, even a still birth. Its hard to look at other ladies with babies and when I look at 4 church friends & a cousins wife all giving birth within these few weeks this past weekend was when my 1st pregnancy would have been due.

However at the end of the day, we must still thank God for his timing for us. I always pray with my hubby if the baby is not good (chromosomally), that God will terminate it early and if the baby is good, to keep it & me healthy.
Trust God that His plan is best for us.

Please try to keep occupied to keep negative thoughts out of your mind. You have to help encourage your hubby too. Please stay strong.

alyy,

the best thing u shd do is have a good rest at home... if u r really feeling v worried, maybe go for a 2nd opinion. It may not be necessary but if it helps to make u feel better and set your mind at ease, do it... I totally understand the fear cos i had learnt not to take it for granted ever since my miscarriage. When I was carrying my son previously I worried throughout...so scared each time before the scan that i may not find the heartbeat there any more etc.... just not trying to scare u... but its natural for us who went thru mc before to fear more, but do rest more and drink something hot to catch some rest... getting yourself all stressed up will only hurt your health only...

mother_of_a_princess, yeah still having cramps. On and off.

fondue, u going on biz trip again... sigh! So, when will u be going to Dr Tseng? I can't wait for this saturday.

Fondue,
Thank you, my gynae is Dr Yeoh Swee Choo from Mt E.

KK,
sorry not beancurd is Dou Hua. Mil say the powder that solidified the dou hua is not good for us, so better dun eat.

coconut water is consider cooling, some believe if u eat the meat as well, it will neutralised.

ally,
if need to, have a 2nd opinion.. this is what i did.. else if i listen to the first one, i would have already went through D&C. The first one actually got my dates wrong and everything was wrong.

HI dear mummies to be,

Just to say something about the beancurds and tau huay. We should really refrain from eating them. It's not going to be good for the brain development of the baby. Reason being "shi hui" is used to make the liquid harderned into tau huay and bean curb. I can tell you that it's not good, becos my mom took tau huay everyday from 1st tri to 3rd tri when she was carrying my bro. My bro thou now is ok, his development was much slower as compared to kids of his same age. He needs a longer time to walk, to talk and everything.

Anyway, I have a few more old wives' tales here for predicting the sex of the bb.
1) If you are hving a bb ger, you and your spouse should have $$ luck. Instead if it's a bb boy, you will keep losing money... eg getting parking summons lah, gamble confirm lose lah...

2) If you are hving bb boy, the mommy will look very radiant and pretty. Instead, if you are having bb ger, your outbreaks will worsen etc.. At least this works for my two frens.. The mom hving bb boy looks very radiant, while the mom hving bb ger has a lot of pimples...

3) Take the date you conceive (lunar cal), + the age you will give birth (lunar cal, then add 49. If it's a odd number, it's a boy, if even number, it's a ger.

I bought the Chinese Health mag from "lian he wan bao", the latest release was about pregnancy. It was stated there by chinese sensei that bananas must be avoided in the 1st tri, saying that it will cause the bb to "slip". Not sure what it means, but just avoid lor. And pineapple causes miscarriage. Oh ya, dun take too much food with vit A too. Eg carrots. As too much Vit A will damage the vital organs of the bb and will caused cleft lips etc. I know that coconuts drink have to taken in the 3rd tri, but not sure whether taking it in the 1st tri will causes anything.. Well, eat everything in moderation.

As for fishes, my gynea said no string rays and shark meats, so to MTBs who like these fishes, do refrain from them.

And right now I'm taking calcium pills instead of drinking milk.. I can't stand all forms of dairy products... yikes.. and I used to love them so much...

I have bought a pair of 3/4 maternity pants from kiddy palace. My jeans all very long and required me to wear heels, so bo bian, need to get one short one so that I can wear to my classes.

Hi Alyy, do take care of yourself. Leave it in the hands of God and he will guide you through. God bless.

thanks poohy, fondue and icy

Will try not to think too much. I will discuss with my hubby abt seeing another doc for 2nd opinion. It's God's will for things to happen - good or bad. Will learn to take it in stride. thanks for the kind words and support. All the best to you all and i hope to share some good news soon.

Hi Dor...
Nothing special... Just my magic date I like
kekeke...

har? why beancurd cannot eat? I tot got calcium, it's good? People also say TTC cannot drink soya milk... and I still drink
cos I dun drink cow's milk

Oh ya, my cousin called me. She knows I am preggie already. She's the only relative who knows
. She said cannot eat watermelon and pineapple cos next time baby get asthma or other lung problems. Cannot eat papaya cos can cause miscarriage.

Hi K Ong,
Can wash face more often to control the outbreak? I still use my normal facial wash and moisturiser. I have on and off one or two more zits

Hi Alyy,
I am sorry that you have to go through this stage. Do stay positive
. Hugs...

Hi Fondue,
Try to think positive
and have faith in yourself
It can never be forgotten, but we gotta accept the inevitable
. I dunno if you will agree with me, I do think that everything happens for a reason. After two miscarriages in a year, I am now a stronger and more positive person
I have grown mentally and can control my emotions better now
I believe you have grown stronger too

Babies are really gifts of God. Even doctors cannot control the the timing
Accept the inevitable and we will be happy

Keep happy thoughts and listen to soothing music

Hi Lyn,
I currently going to KKH but dunno which doc. I am going on subsidise basis.

My hubby very funny... he say give birth in Jun very good cos it coincides with World Cup.. Got chance to watch.I told him he can do the night duty of taking care of the baby and watching world cup.

I feel nausea but always nothing seems to come out. I always feel bloated and hate eating rice n vegetables. Do u ladies feel the same way?

Poohmum

Hi hidora,

wow very interesting.
3) Take the date you conceive (lunar cal), + the age you will give birth (lunar cal, then add 49. If it's a odd number, it's a boy, if even number, it's a ger.

But how do i know which date i conceive? hmm quite a few dates leh hehe

i have been feeling very tired and easily get hungry. Morning i ate whole meal bread + milo at 7.30am. Then 9am+ i got hungry, ate biscuits. Near lunchtime 12.30pm also hungry. then 3 to 4pm, also feel hungry, ate biscuits. finally 6pm feel hungry again. is this normal?

Hi kite,

Erm, the date you conceive should be near your ovulation dates.. look within that dates..if your ovulation is before 2nd Oct, then it's Aug in lunar cal. if it's 3rd and after, then it's Sep.

Hi Poohmum, I also feel nausea but nothing come out... and I have have no appetite for lots of food.. dun feel hungry, but but everynite before I sleep, my hunger pang will come.. sigh, this bb hard to please..

Hi Kite!

It's normal to feel hungry. For me, if i can't eat, i really can't eat for the whole day. But if i can, i seem to eat non-stop
And i feel hungry after every 2 hours. So have to eat something light. Else if i feel extreme hunger, i will feel nauseous.

Hi Hidora,

Looks like i have taken a lot of food i shouldn't have taken! I have taken banana in the form of goreng pisang (i think in my second trimester). I took carrots whenever they are in my soups such as potato soup, etc. I have also eaten payaya on one occasion.

Other than those above, i never touch pineapple, stingray and shark meat.

Another thing is my gynae believes in eating everything. He doesn't object to any kind of food. He even say pineapples causing miscarriage and lambs causing fits are old wives' tales.

Poohmum,
me too, just recently got worse, make me no appetite at all.. like a lot of gas stuck inside. Now I have to eat rice with some sour sour sauce like fish or soup with tomatos.. then i will feel better.

Hi poohmum,
Do you see a gynae or a medical officer at KKH as subsi patient? I also went to KKH after my first miscarriage and the specialist was keen to discharge me. I was told that I will see a medical officer in my future visits.
Your hubby is really funny. I think my hubby will be the same as your hubby too. Soccer fever... Good also.. We sleep and they feed the baby... hahaha...
I also feel nausea, especially after eating too much. And my seaband dun work anymore if I ate too much. But at least the seaband helps me in being able to eat. Nowadays, I only have one proper meal a day. I seldom eat rice and I love fruits
When I am having a mood swing, I just eat a pear or apple, I will be ok after that

Hi kite,
I think it's a blessing to be able to eat a lot now. Do enjoy it

Hi kk,
I drink fresh carrot juice almost daily
. I have read somewhere that it's the Vit A from animals that is no good.

Hi Lyn,

Envy u that u love fruits. I have no passion for fruits ever since young and it is only at times i have sudden urge to take fruits. So now basically i have to force myself to eat apples. Most of the time i rely on juices.

Vit A from animals.. any idea what animals?

Yesterday afternoon while eating plain porridge with peanuts, i was thinking what vegetarians eat during their pregnancy. Probably plenty of veg?

Hi kk,
Now I love grapes, apples, pears, watermelon... Gynae said no grapes cos too much sugar, so I gotta avoid, can only eat a little.
I do drink carrot juice

Have you read about too much Vit A from pork's liver? These are animals Vit A.
Just now I was reading an interesting article on the web about our diet during pregnancy can affect our baby's palate in future. Quite amazing.
I dun eat a lot of meat and fish now. So I am wondering how to eat a balanced vegetarian diet during pregnancy.