(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Pebbles

Out of curiosity, since u transferred 2 embyos and ended up with 1 successful, what actually happened to the other huh? Did it get flush out naturally or???

morning alyy,

do you already know the sex of the embryoes? i had 3 transferred, only 1 implanted, also dunno where the other 2 went to..
is your gynae monitoring your progress frequently? like scans, blood tests etc? a few frens of mine went thru pregnancy smoothly without MS or cramps, so dun worry too much.

Hi Cookiemz

Oops... it's 2 embryoes transferred, dont know how many implanted ... will know this friday!

Yes, the ones transferred were a male and a female so i am really keeping my fingers crossed and praying hard!

My last visit to doc was last friday, only blood test, no other scans. asked him if he could see the number of sacs, he said the next visit we'll see. No other prescriptions except progesterone pessary, that is why i am also a little worried as i don't get the jabs and blood tests like the rest of u do, and no ms symptoms. Howver, my blood test shows high level at 454. Is this hte beta level u all talk abt? Is this level really good?

Hi gals...
I was reading through your posts... Just to inform you gals, not everyone can take ginseng during first trimester. It can cause miscarriage. I heard of a case about the JE sinseh giving ginseng and cordyceps to preggie in first trimester, supposedly to "an tai"! Immediately taking, miscarriage liao... So better becareful what you wanna take especially during first trimester... Take care...

mother of a princess,

how's your spotting ? ok liao ? u still on mc ?

for me everything ok except i feel so tired. anyway i dunno whether u feel so but my tummy seems much bigger this time leh
So sad. Now I only 7 weeks and tummy like 3mths liao i think compared to my first pregnancy.

aiyo...y sad.... should feel happy mah....me still spotting on and off lor... tonite goin to gyna for review...my hubby so worried till tdy got no mood to go work so took 1 day urgent leave to stay at hme with me...
kao_sad2.gif
do you think gyna will continue to gave me MC to stay at hme huh???i don even know i how many weeks leh...tonite must ask gyna...i tink my tummy is big also leh mayb because we strech before aready mah....hahah

poohy

no worries... i'm also the same like you... mainly because of OHSS... so many people already ask me if i pregnant as i cannot hide my big tummy. first 1-2 weeks after my ET was worse, like 4-5 months preg! I wanted to keep mum abt my preg as those "pan-tang" won't reveal till after the first trimester, but no choice i think we have to tell very soon lor!

hey mommies-to-be...

just wondering if any of u looking for gently used maternity clothes? i have quite a few in my wardrobe... thanks! sms me @ 96927526..

hi alyy,

as long the beta level keeps increasing and doubling every 2-3 days, you should be fine. usually if there's no spotting/bleeding, u won't need the jabs lor.

juz curious.. how much did the whole ivf process cost in JB? (if you dun mind sharing)

Cookiemz

The only blood test i did was the one testing for pregnancy, and doc told me no more after that, so I'm wondering if it's becos the first one ok so no need to check further...

The cost for IVF including PGD, ICSI is around S$11K. Note we cannot claim from CPF unlike if done in singapore. however, the cost is high becos of PGD which is done in PJ/KL. Without PGD it would be ard S$7-8K. Not sure if this is ard the same cost as if i were to do it here in singapore, but hubby thot it may be worthwhile going for PGD due to my age, and our failure at 4 so-iuis continuously. Hopefully we can be successful first shot of IVF without further stress. So we took off a week, part holiday and part IVF. Also a good chance to relax, spend time with family.. i even went to Genting straight after egg retrieval and we spend 2 nights there. my daughter really loves the rides and hubby likes the weather. So i guess it's one stone kill 3 birds - ivf, holiday, rest!!!

hi alyy,
I wanted to do in jb too actually. Since it is my first ivf, i thought better do in Singapore first. Care to tell us how much you have spent there?

Mee too look like 5 mths pregnant becos of the ohss!!! Dr retrieved abt 36 follicles and now abt 18 are frozen. So when people asked me, I jus told them that I had a mini operation that caused the bloatedness. Now, though 2 mths I have already started to show.

Actually ya progesterone pessary is already enough, unless you have slight bleeding and red or brown discharge, then you need to have the progesterone jab. So no worries. You will not see the sac so soon, I saw mine somewhere week 5 plus days. normally they do the blood test to check the hcg level, the higher it is than average, the possibility of having twins is oso higher too!
My first blood test showed only 216.6 on day 14 after ET which the nurse said it is a bit low. I was worried and that time but after checking online, the level was not that bad. You can check e following website for hcg.

http://www.betabase.info

Hee hee, I often forget to ask doc what happen to my another embryo. Maybe I will ask him this thur.

hi cookiemz

Have you tried this link? I was thinking of doing my ivf here actually. Somemore can choose the sex of the embryos.

http://www.damansarafertility.com/index.html

hi alyy,

Normally docs here will do at least a pair of blood test after 1-2 days to check that ya hcg levels are doubling. Ya hcg level is considered good if you are tested about 14 day after Et.

hi mother_of_a_princess,

you can ask your gynae to give you MC to rest till it goes off. my spotting was light but intermittent and my gynae gave me 3 weeks to rest till it is more stable.

cookie..

i had not started to take the fish oil even thought my gynae prescribed. Shd be 1 capsule a day i think.

re: tummy

think most of our tummy is due to the bloatedness cos cant be baby so fast so big
For 2nd time mummy, think our tummy stretched and skin loose liao that's why pop out easier.

btw, how do u all and when do u all intend to tell your boss/colleagues abt the bb huh ? Esp the 2nd time mummies.... like mummy of a princess ? cos I just came back from ML barely 4 months ago ..... argh...

hi pebbles,

ya, i browsed that site before but i'm very comfy with my current gynae, so never thought of going JB for treatment. besides i stay in the east, very leychey to keep travelling up and down to JB! i think it is more exciting if we do not know the gender of the bb first

hi alyy,

regardless of amt, it's money well spent if it helps you achieve your dream of having more kids..

just tell them lor... i tell you 1 thing hor...remember i told i just got posted to a new camp last monday do you know what the old women tell me a not.. you pregnant at the wrong time in my heart i was thinking shit who the heck are you to say such thing.... just because she is in the SAF for more then 20years... old bitch...
kao_angry.gif
sad to say my whole office is full of old women plus 2 old man....

very very sad to said.....ya lor i working in the SAF.......
kao_sad2.gif

after came bck from maternity leave wear my uniform for 4 months then pregnant again excuse uniform again.....hahahah....

dear tinklebell, Alyy, Fondue, Lilfeets
welcome to the thread and congrats!!

dear Lyn,
i was seeing the JE physician for 6 months before we conceived. she also asked me to buy the ginseng and cordyceps. aiyo..i almost wanted to but that day not enuff cash. thank god! thanks for keeping all of us informed. but nevertheless, i think she is good lah. most of the women i know whom go to her succeed.

dear Alyy
my gyane had explained to me that the embroyo which didnt manage to get implanted will get "re-absorbed". nothing will happen, it will just disappear by itself. it wouldnt be passed out, dont worry.

Regarding diet... anything we should avoid during this time? I heard tau-huay no good, but not after I have tau-huay chui for almost everyday the last 2 weeks. Help!!!

alyy,

just take everything in moderation. That's what i did for my prev pregnancy... took coke and icecream everyday

dear Alyy

my granny also told me tau-huay not good. but tau-huay chui ok. i just drank. hee!! the reason why tau-huay chui not good is because there is this chemical called "sek-gao" (in cantonese) and its not good for baby.

wah poohy, you take ice cream & coke everyday ah. i dont dare to take anything cold, but its probably old wives' tale. but its my first long awaited pregnancy and i want to be extra careful

hehee.. ya my first pregnancy was also long long awaited.. via so-iui. But somehow hor.. i can only take cold things hehee.. cravings lah... (excuse)..

just a minute ago the 10th+ person asked me if I'm pregnant and I'm only at most 6 weeks+... so poohy, u can imagine how obvious my tummy is lah...

i really don't want to say yes now cos afraid of disappointment because i had miscarriage before. thot at least wait until 10 weeks or so before revealing...but by then huh also don't know how to tell them. so embarrassing leh!

i heard that pregnant woman usually have constipation but i seem to have the opposite - loose bowels, twice a day!!! Is this normal?

dear Alyy

you not alone. everybody is also asking me though i am only 8.5 weeks pregnant. but i didnt tell anyone also. i just said i put on weight!! plus i used to wear super high heels. now i wear flats with bulging stomach. it doesnt take an expert to tell im pregnant. even my male colleagues are asking me!
is it the food that you eat that is causing loose bowels. i had fried hokkien noodle with lotsa chilli last saturday night. i felt uncomfortable the whole night (nausea) i couldnt sleep. then i woke up next morning and had diarrhoea.

hi yue

honestly i still eat chilli (can't survive without it), but i think the cause of loose bowels is the pessary I used?? Not sure, but will check with doc this week... good also lah, at least clear my stomach everyday!

dear Alyy

Hi.Yes, i also LOVE chilli!. I am known as chilli queen in both my office and my family. but i was soooo uncomfortable each time i take chilli. i dont throw up, but i've got this lump of thing in my stomach that doesnt go down. so now i quit chilli, until i feel better. in the meantime, i constipate big time. but prune juice would help. for you, please avoid prune juice at all costs. hee!!

hihi to all who have just joined the thread

Is there anyone who is suffering of indigestion and too much gas? I suddenly have a lot of gas and today and have to take the antacid which doc prescribed. I oso drank the one bottle of yakult and it makes me feel a little bit better for indigestion.

hihi ryue and alyy

CHEERS for the chillies!!!! ME too a chilly queen especially small chillies. I still take chilly almost every meal, doc said it will affect more to those pregnant ladies who seldom take chillies before pregnancy.

hi alyy
Progesterone do cause loose bowels for some. I read from the info in the box when I had to take the progesterone vaginally.

Hi cookiemz, pebbles, mother of a princess

paiseh..the tread moves so fast..actually i not working at the moment but i jus found a temp job starting 31th for a few days..actually aft the 1st jab,the spotting was getting better but i drank a tonic soup so call to strengthen the womb recommended by a fren n the spotting came back alot more tt night.lucky the next day is the gynae appt so no choice got to tell the truth lor..my hb was angry with me as well as worried.so,these few days was resting at home obediently...

my dosage was 3x a day but i cut to 2 myself..coz realli cant tahan the feeling.so terrible.oso,eat a few of 'forbidden food' like crayfish! noodles! a few sip of cold drinks! chilli etc...such a torture for us..hahaha

pebbles,

me too having BAD indigestion and bloatedness/gas. Sometimes I can feel the gas building up... my tummy feels pain when i press. My GP give me some antacid solution to drink but i seldom drink cos lazy... if it really helps... i think i will back and drink it liao... does yakult helps ? The bloatedness makes me feel very giddy and nauseous all the time
On top of that i feel super sleepy ALL the time.

i am back.. these days feeling very bad.. lots of MS, backache and giddiness.... very chiam.. worse cos i have just started working in this co, so can't take mc.. sob sob.. and very xian cos lots of ache on the back and neck, can't wear all the spaghetti and the stomach budgling.. even more limited clothes to wear..

Also going to cfm my gynae, Caroline khi from TMC.. met her last sat.. she is so nice and patient with us..

Btw, noticed some of u gals have hormonal jabs.. what is it for?? I dun have any jabs or special medicine. plus i only see a gynae once in a mth.. is it normal?? i forget to ask my gynae the last time..

hello

Peng, i was telling them i too have no jabs and drips, just progresterone pessary. Was a little concern at first but was told this is all right if no spotting and other complaints so no worry.

But one thing i seems to experience from the onset of the pregnancy is the occassional sudden spasm on my tummy especially when i stretch or bend. I tend to drop everything and sit motionless for a sec before recovery. anyone has this odd experience or know why this is so? I get a little worried if this would affect my pregnancy?

hi alyy

what is progresterone pessary?? What is meant for??

at first i oso had this symptom.. it's like muscle ache is it?? my gynae told me cos our stomach muscles tend to relax during pregnancy.. so when u stretch or bend, u feel ur muscle pulling.. one thing you could do is to bend or stretch yourself in the right position... so not to worry.. but if you want, u may check with your gynae..

Hi Peng

the pessary is actually inserted vaginally or through the anus (i do mine vaginally). it is a progesterone which will be absorbed into the body to help support the lining of the womb, I think. We usually do produce progesterone ourselves but this is to strengthen it during early pregnancy.

THe spasm i experienced is actually like a muscle pull in one part of the stomach, the feeling is akin to someone giving a very quick punch on the stomach, and it lasts only like a second or so. I will defintely check with my gynae on my visit this friday... can't wait to see him to see the development of my pregnancy!

hi poohy

I am so glad to have someone sharing my bloatedness and indisgestion/gas. Actually it was much worse during my ohss where i could hardly digest a spoonful of food. This time, it came back again in a milder form but still very very uncomfortable as I still have to manage other ms. You can try the antacid but I only try to take this prescribed med if I really cannot tahan. Doc oso asked me to take egg white, make sure it is properly cooked softboiled. You can buy the soft boil container from shop.

Pls remember to refrain from too much dairy product, beans, oats, etc. if ya condition persists as I read from books that these food cause gas. I am tired all the time time, so i secretly lower the oral progesterone dosage, otherwise i think i will jump down soon

Hihi peng

For normal pregnancy, they normally do not give any progesterone hormones support unless you have bleeding'brownish pink discharge
It takes a lot of courage to go to work leh, you are so brave.

hi ALYY

Try not to move or stretch too much now. I rest at home most of the time, housework all done by hubby and i jus seat as much as i can. If you get pain/ cramp/ spasm constantly daily, then ya doc will probably put you on progesterone oral or jabs. Ya doc will be in the best position to determine this fri!

hi angeline,
hee hee you oso naughty naughty to lower ya dosage, I cut down from 6 to 3 pills. My spotting is better after I told the JE about the spotting as she prescribed me med to stop. It was my doc's idea as he said she may have something to help. Also, I try not to move too much.

pebbles,

ya me too lowered down my dosage of utrogestan from 2tablets x 2times a day to 2tablets x 1 time a day. At times I skip completely... cos i feel the symptoms are related to the amt of progesterone lah... so i already feel so unwell with the natural one my body produce so i dun wanna put in more lah

Last time my body used to take progesterone v well leh... my first pregnancy, i also took puregon jabs and only got v mild ohss even though i am pcos and lots of follicles are produced. But this time, one baby only and dun feel as well...

dear All,
i also have lots of gas and bloatedness, especially after food. i keep burping, non stop. but i havent ask for any antacid from my gyane yet.
i keep eating a lot of sweets lately to curb my Afternoon Sickness. I think I will grow real fat very soon!!

dear Alyy,
yes, you better rest more. leave your housework to your hubby. good workout for him! heehee!!

wah.. you all very brave leh.. cut down the dosage yourself. heehee.. bet you guys must be feeling really uncomfortable.

has anyone's frequency of urination decreased? I used to wake up in the night to go pee but last few days didn't feel it. Am worried that that's a sign that the foetus isn't doing well and that a miscarriage is imminent ... feeling scared & depressed.

is anyone going for the pregnancy talk at KKH 13 Nov?

Hi ryue,
can u get antacid from your GP (not gynae) if your company covers GP visits. Then your company will pay for the medicine or any medicine that helps overcome morning sickness.

I wish i can take off from work but cannot leh! Plus i just got my key to new house and have to move out from current place by Dec so very very busy with feng shui, designer, renovations! chia-lat liao ah! But I shall persevere for the sake of my baby (ies). True challenge for me... luckily i have recently started 4 day work week so that i can have a day off to rest or run errands... less stressful at least.

BTW, any one knows what are the things we cannot do during pregancy, especially during renovation and moving of house ah? Am not really superstition but prevention is better than cure lor!

No worries... i will try to take lots of rest in between. Quite enjoy what i'm doing now despite the busy schedule... i think the pregnancy really keep me going. All the best to all too!

hi Alyy,

same as you! i juz got my keys and also gonna move in Dec after my 1st trimester. there are alot of things that we cannot do during pregnancy leh.. my 'auntie' frens say cannot shift any furniture in the master bedroom, better not move house or do renovation in the house u staying in, coz may "dong tai qi". also no using of scissors, sewing or sharp things on the bed (i think). sometimes better not know too much, coz we will worry over every single thing we do

hi fondue,

is the talk on "All you need to know abt pregnancy"? i have not made up my mind whether to go coz my hubby always fall asleep during this kind of talk, dun wan to torture him. hehe

errhhmm.. i don't think frequency of urination is a positive symptom of pregnancy right? maybe depends on your fluid intake for that particular day. so not to worry.. anyway i also sleep thru the night

Hi pebbles,

wats JE btw?
my mum keep asking me to see a chinese physician 'chen mei e' at thomson road..to 'bu' my body.but i scared liao leh aft the previous incident of drinking tonic soup by fren..headache

dear Angeline

JE = Jurong East sinseh.

My colleague went to the chinese physician at thomson road - Chee Tong Seng Medical hall cause she has multiple miscarriages before. The sinseh said her womb too "cold". then she took chinese sinseh and succesfully conceived and carried thru her pregnancy a month later. now, she has a healthy baby girl.

i also heard cannot move house during pregnancy