(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

dear pebblestones, duffybuff, Mathew

welcome to the thread!!

pebblestones, i was seeing Dr Fong Yang before as well. He is really a nice doctor. But I changed to Dr LC Foong as I was not very impressed by his clinic assistants. I was 15 minutes for an appointment. I reached the clinic at 12.15pm and they made me last in the entire queue. I only saw Dr Fong at 1.30pm after all his patients left. That was my last visit.

duffybuff, my gynae had specifically advised my against Yoga.

Mathew, your wife has the same due date as myself and cookiemz. So she must be 8 weeks pregnant now! Congrats and welcome to the thread!

dear everyone

hey, has anyone heard that peanuts shld be avoided during pregnancy? or is it another myth?

hi ryue,

i read on the internet that eating peanuts during pregnancy may lead to peanut allergies in the baby. my mum ate alot of rojak when she was having me, but i dun have peanut allergies.. hehe.. however, my cousin's kids are both allergic to peanuts and eggs, maybe due to their western diet coz they were born in US.

So nice to see you all!!!!!!!!!!

hi cookiez

I think mine should be somewhere on the first week of June, will go check with Doc so that I can add mine on the list.
)) After Je physician suggested i take a bit of pao sheng to easy my nauseous, i check with fu hua medical and they said ok. Dun buy the artificially grown one, buy those from the wild. There is an offer most of the time. Jus take a very small sip when you feel nauseous, tats all. Put in a small portable thermo flask with very very little salt so you will not get heaty. If i dun feel nauseous I dun drink. I am still taking chinese medicine, physician said only take till week 12, then no need to see her
So far I have been taking and nothing happens, the med is to help my womb to be stronger. Yestgerday she gave me med to stop my discharge and it really helps

hi luvflower
I see Dr fY at Paragon. There was once I had to do an emergency albumin drip so I had to go down to Tiong Bahru. Very stuffy there and no place for me to seat. Paragon is so much a better place eh? Which clinic do you go? I am week 8 today. Scanned last Tue and doc said baby is doing fine so dun have to worry abt brown discharge as he did not scan anything serious. My baby is one cm at that time. So scary to hear another heatbeats inside me
What about your scanning ah? Wow, is his delvery charges expensive? I always forget to ask. Is he doing at Mt. E. I dun want go there . My sis's package is only five hundred plus for four bedded. Somemore definately free upgrade to 2 bedded at TMC.
Good huh!

Hi hidora
You funnie lei, no jab means you are in better condition. As I am an ivf patient, so have to be doc have to be careful as my hormones are not good. I m staying in WDL
Which part of WDL, if you dun mind to tell me? Let me make a guess, blk 6XX? ?Guess correctly you must treat me eat bird nest soup okie? hee hee. Yeah, mayb e we can meet up to buy bb stuff, ESPECIALLY when there are sales so we can look out for each other when we push here or there. haha, jus kidding!

Hi Ryue,
I heard that we should not eat rojak too, but dunno why
Anyway I dun gian eating it.
Strange enough, I hate to eat pork but after pregnancy, I love it so much.. People said that if you develope love for meat, then you will have a girl. If veg, then you will have a boy. Dunno true a not!

So sad that you have a bad encounter with FY but I guess it is fair to other patients who may have to rush after their appointments. It is better to make appointments in themorning I realise.
In the afternoon, they are really busy because some times, patients may take a longer time as Doc FY never rushes his consultation. His clinic assistant is oso very helpful to me.

dear pebbles

are u referring to Ying Chuan for the Chinese Physician. I also went to see her and was on her medication for about 6 months before i conceived!! how long were u on her medication. most of my friends took only a month or two. we almost gave up!
im glad your discharge had stopped
are u having twins or single embroyo?
aiyo, i just had indian rojak (peanut sauce) and satay (peanut sauce) yesterday. i think i will quit having peanuts from now.
though i feel nauseous everyday, my appetite is still quite good. i love both veg and meat. so dont know if baby will be boy or girl. but it doesnt matter as long as baby is healthy.

dear cookiemz

first time i hear allergy to eggs. but anyway, its good information. thanks a lot. i will not have peanuts from today, just in case.

Yeah, that's the JE physician
Me took about half a year too leh
Me have a singleton pregnancy. ME only transferred 2 embryo.s.

Are you still on her medication? I am still taking till week 12. She suggested buying the whole ginseng and cordyceps to grind into powder. It cost about $1.3k, depending on the quality, which can last for about 4 mth. Some people said cannot take all these, so i check with Fu hua, they oso said can take. Anyway , so expensive, i really have to consider!!!!

hi ryue,

i think everything eat in moderation can liao.. i also love satay sauce and rojak, but havent got the chance to eat them yet!

hi pebbles,

let me guess, if you are 8 weeks today, den your EDD should be 4/6/06
must be exciting to hear your bb's heartbeat! during my last scan, my gynae said bb got heartbeat, i was like "where? where? can't see leh".. in the end i still dunno wat i was looking at, but trust my doc lor.. haha..

are you still resting at home? i'm going back to work tomolo.. sob sob

hi hidora,

no need jabs if you are alright
pebbles and me had spotting during our early weeks, that's why we need additional progesterone support

hi pebbles,

ginseng and cordyceps are not mild herbs.. better to seek your gynae's approval before taking. there is also research showing that ginseng taken during early pregnancy may not be good for the baby.

hi cookiez,

you mean you have been resting abt 2 months too??? Me still on leave, till dunno when becos I am still not well enough. Are you having bad MS? I cannot wear all my working clothes liao, dunno how.

When doc scanned, he turned on the volume loudly on the machine so that was the times when I heard.

dear pebbles

i almost wanted to buy the ginseng and cordyceps but later realised on the internet that its safety of usage in early pregnancy has not been proven. Advise you to think twice.

http://www.aphroditewomenshealth.com/news/20030825014906_health_news.shtml

dear cookiez

wah.. so nice.. can get to rest for 2 months

i also cant fit into my working clothes cause they are all very fitting. so i have a bulge and everybody was starting to ask me if im pregnant last week!

hello ladies,

Bro hogged the pc for one whole day playing games..

and now got one big fat cat sitting in front of the keyboard... so hard to type..(pushed her away)

I see I see, tot it's necessary to have jab, since I see a coupld of MTBs here having it.. was thinking whether my gynae got give me something less..

Hi Matt, your wifey should join the thread also mah... =p

Hi pebbles, wrong lah.. since wrong, so how abt you treat me bird nest? hehe.. me staying at 800++ area. Still near to causeway point thou, so no prob doing shopping together... hehe

hi pebbles & ryue,

i went back to work a week after ET, but recently had to stay home for 3 weeks coz of spotting. going back to work will be quite jialat, coz i tend to fall asleep during the day
no ms for me yet.. bit nausea here and there. my cramps come and go, one day have alot, the next day none at all, do you gals get that too?

hey, i also got bulge now and most of my working tops are tight liao... it gets worse after meals. got any nice maternity wear shops to recommend?

hi cookiemz,

how r u?has urs stop already? me haven..still occassionally cums abit..sianz..now dun even hav the mood to go shopping or chk prices..did u realli lie in bed for the 3weeks?

hi angeline,

mine stopped for a week oreadi.. hospitalisation leave not ended yet, but too bored at home, so decided to go back work and see if it is ok. i didn't do total bedrest, but stayed home most days and minimize moving around. are you still doing the jabs? seen your gynae yet?

Hi! I'm the latest addition... EDD 21/6/06. So far so good... no MS (YET ... opps better dont say too early har) ... lucky this time seems quite ok compared to previous pregnancy.. the jabs still ring a bell in my head... so painful. Am crossing my fingers that there are no further problems in this preg... very scared after the first one.

Still looking around for gynae. I'd prefer someone near my home.

Anyway, updated the list of June 06 MTBs:

a) cookiemz (EDD: 3/6/06) Gynae - Dr SF Loh (KKH)
b) Ryue (EDD: 03/06/06). Gynae - Dr LC Foong(Gleneagles)
c) milim (EDD: 4/6/06)(LMP: )
d) muffinmocha (EDD:08/06/06)(LMP:01/09/05) Dr Eunice Chua (TMC)
e) mi hopeful (EDD: 9/6/06)(LMP: 2/9/05)
f) Angeline Goh (EDD: 11/6/06) (LMP: 6/9/05) - Dr AL Lim (TMC)
g) Emily (EDD: 14/6/06)(LMP: 28/8/05) - Gynae: Dr Paul Tseng (TMC)
h) peng (EDD: 14/6/06)(LMP: 8/9/05)
i) okasan2b (EDD: 17/06/06)
j) luvflower (EDD: 18/06/06)(LMP: 11/9/05) - Gynae: Dr Fong Yang (Paragon Clinic)
k) Teo (EDD: 18/6/06)(LMP:10/09/05 ) Gynae: Dr SM Chua(Spore Shopping Centre Clinic)
l) hidora (EDD: 19/6/06)(LMP: 17/9/05) Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan (East Shore Hospital)
m) snoep (EDD 15/06/06)(LMP 08/09/05)
n) mother_of_a_princess (EDD:yet to comfirm )(LMP: 29/8/05) Dr Adrain B WoodWorth(TMC)
o) poohy (EDD:10/06/06 )(LMP: 25/8/05) gynae: Dr CT Yeong (TMC)
p) Matthew Lee wife (EDD 3/6/06)
q) Tinklebell (EDD 21/6/06)

Morning Ladies! ^_^

Welcome Tinklebell! =)

cookiemz, me too..some times no cramp, some times alot.

Anyone having pimples outbreak yet? So painful.. ouch..

hi tinklebell,

welcome to the thread ;)

hi hidora,

my skin went haywire after becoming preggie.. dunno if its becoz of the hormonal changes. these days its quite oily and i get breakout on chest and back.. none on face.. weird hor. even my normal cleanser also dun seem to work as well.

Yes, i also have pimple outbreak! Didnt have pimple outbreak during my first pregnancy. seems like this preg completely different fr my first. Can use pimple cream or not? Now i also feel that my neck is a bit itchy.

I'm using tea tree to clean my face now, also applying lots of other pimple creams... but must check to see that it doesnt consist the followings

Acne Medications
Always talk with your health care provider before taking any type of medication for your pimples. Some medications that you will definitely want to stay away from include:

Tetracycline (an oral antibiotic that has been linked to poor bone growth and discolored teeth in babies)
Salicyclic Acid (a common ingredient in over-the-counter acne treatments)
Tretinon (sold under the brand name Retin-A)
Isotrentinoin (sold under the brand name Accutane)
Using Accutane in pregnancy is a big concern among health care professionals as its use has been linked to birth defects, miscarriage and infant death. In fact, of those babies exposed to Accutane during the first trimester, 25-35% were born with birth defects. In order to prevent women who are trying to conceive, who are pregnant or who are breastfeeding, the US has recently set-up a national registry for Accutane users.
According to the new regulations for Accutane use, women who are prescribed this medication must be on two reliable forms of birth control, provide a monthly negative pregnancy test before getting a refill and start taking Accutane two to three days after the start of their period. Although its use in pregnancy has not been as widely studied, it is suspected that Retin-A may cause similar pregnancy complications as Accutane and therefore its use in pregnancy is strongly advised against.

http://www.pregnancy-info.net/acne.html

hi pebbles & ryue,

I'm also staying in woodlands... not sure when is my EDD but will check with doc this fri or sat when i see him.

BTW, I'm reading about jabs and drips and progestrone pills...as my pregnancy is through IVF, i am only on cyclogest (pessary). Are jabs and drips necessary for early pregnancy?

Any good doc to recommend? I was with Dr Lim Teck Beng of Mt E before but i find that the hospital fees are quite expensive. any doc and facility that are good and reasonably priced??

hehe, yea, it's me and pebbles that are staying in woodlands, so now we got one more MTB to go shopping with us.. =D

Thanks Hidora for the info. got 3 pimples above my mouth and one on the head!!! looks so ugly!

Somehow this pregnancy, i dont really feel any pregnancy symptoms except for the pimples and that menses didnt come. My first pregnancy, i felt extremely tired. So much that this morning i decided to take the pregnancy test again to reconfirm. Ha ha.

I'm looking for a gynae right now. My first one was delivered in govt hospital... my second, hopefully to find a gynae near my place ard CCK/ Bukit panjang.

Hey Gals,

Sorry for MIA. Just went to my Gynae for my 2nd scan. So far I have not received any jabs yet, maybe its the initial period. And yes, i'm getting a pimple or 2 (maybe even 3) outbreak on my face. Maybe too heaty or maybe dur to the raging hormones.

<font color="ff6000">Pebbles</font>,
Thanks for the tip on prenatal massage.

Anyway, updated the list of June 06 MTBs:

c) milim (EDD: 4/6/06)(LMP: )
d) muffinmocha (EDD:08/06/06)(LMP:01/09/05) Dr Eunice Chua (TMC)
e) mi hopeful (EDD: 9/6/06)(LMP: 2/9/05)
f) Angeline Goh (EDD: 11/6/06) (LMP: 6/9/05) - Dr AL Lim (TMC)
g) Emily (EDD: 14/6/06)(LMP: 28/8/05) - Gynae: Dr Paul Tseng (TMC)
h) peng (EDD: 14/6/06)(LMP: 8/9/05)
i) okasan2b (EDD: 17/06/06)
j) luvflower (EDD: 18/06/06)(LMP: 11/9/05) - Gynae: Dr Fong Yang (Paragon Clinic)
k) Teo (EDD: 24/6/06)(LMP:10/09/05 ) Gynae: Dr SM Chua(Spore Shopping Centre Clinic)
l) hidora (EDD: 19/6/06)(LMP: 17/9/05) Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan (East Shore Hospital)
m) snoep (EDD 15/06/06)(LMP 08/09/05)
n) mother_of_a_princess (EDD:yet to comfirm )(LMP: 29/8/05) Dr Adrain B WoodWorth(TMC)
o) poohy (EDD:10/06/06 )(LMP: 25/8/05) gynae: Dr CT Yeong (TMC)
p) Matthew Lee wife (EDD 3/6/06)
q) Tinklebell (EDD 21/6/06)

<font color="0000ff">updated and rearrange according to the EDDs</font>

c) Matthew Lee's wife (EDD 3/6/06)
d) milim (EDD: 4/6/06)(LMP: )
e) muffinmocha (EDD:08/06/06)(LMP:01/09/05) Dr Eunice Chua (TMC)
f) mi hopeful (EDD: 9/6/06)(LMP: 2/9/05)
g) poohy (EDD:10/06/06 )(LMP: 25/8/05) gynae: Dr CT Yeong (TMC)
h) Angeline Goh (EDD: 11/6/06) (LMP: 6/9/05) - Dr AL Lim (TMC)
i) Emily (EDD: 14/6/06)(LMP: 28/8/05) - Gynae: Dr Paul Tseng (TMC)
j) peng (EDD: 14/6/06)(LMP: 8/9/05)
k) snoep (EDD 15/06/06)(LMP 08/09/05)
l) okasan2b (EDD: 17/06/06)
m) luvflower (EDD: 18/06/06)(LMP: 11/9/05) - Gynae: Dr Fong Yang (Paragon Clinic)
n) hidora (EDD: 19/6/06)(LMP: 17/9/05) Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan (East Shore Hospital)
o) Tinklebell (EDD 21/6/06)
p) Teo (EDD: 24/6/06)(LMP:10/09/05) Gynae: Dr SM Chua(Spore Shopping Centre Clinic)
q) mother_of_a_princess (EDD:yet to comfirm)(LMP: 29/8/05) Dr Adrain B WoodWorth(TMC)

hi all mtbs,

can i just check during your which visit (which week) did your gynae actually use tummy scan instead of vaginal scan ? cos i hv tried vaginal scan before and its uncomfortable...and paisei too...

today is my 2nd visit..i am in my 6th week now...wonder if the gynae will still be using vaginal scan or not...

can help to advise ? thanks a lot !!!

hi alyy

me oso conceived thru IVF
I maybe thinking of changing gynae to save more money. But will see how first
Jabs and drips are not necessary for all pregnancies, but doc tends to be more careful with ivf cases especially if we have bleeding or brown discharge.

hi cookiemz,

thats good for u..now can go work in peace n dun hav to worry..i went for 3rd time liao..no jab,onli continue eat 'an tai yao'..but it really make me v sian n nausea.its so bored at hm doing nothing.!
btw,can u still slp at night?me always had broken slp..didn slp well.oso feel v uncomfortable.maybe becoz of the medicine side effects..

hey cookiemz and angeline

How many pills are you guys taking a day? My dr n physician say those who are on a higher dosage will feel more uncomfortable effects. I am taking a total of 6 now, thinking of secretly reduced to three a day as I am sick of feeling "the end of world".

c) Matthew Lee's wife (EDD 3/6/06) Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan (East Shore Hospital)
f) mi hopeful (EDD: 9/6/06)(LMP: 2/9/05)
m) luvflower (EDD: 18/06/06)(LMP: 11/9/05) - Gynae: Dr Fong Yang (Paragon Clinic)
n) hidora (EDD: 19/6/06)(LMP: 17/9/05) Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan (East Shore Hospital)
p) Teo (EDD: 24/6/06)(LMP:10/09/05) Gynae: Dr SM Chua(Spore Shopping Centre Clinic)
q) mother_of_a_princess (EDD:yet to comfirm)(LMP: 29/8/05) Dr Adrain B WoodWorth(TMC)

Updated info on my gyne

mother_of_a_princess, u use Dr Adrian Woodworth? U see him at TMC or CCK? How are his charges like? heard he is not too bad BUT i am a bit hesitant about visiting him at his CCK clinic (although i stay near there) bec he shares that with the normal GP clinic... am afraid of catching viruses fr the normal sick patient.

Hi Pebbles

U conceived thru IVF? so r u expecting twins, triplets? I won't know till this week, keeping my fingers crossed for twins cos implanted 2 embryos
. Who's yr gynae now?

BTW, how do u determine the # of weeks pregnant since it is not the conventional way of pregnancy going by LMP huh?

I'm new to the thread. EDD 23/6/06. (currently 5 weeks). Obstetrician: Will be trying out WK Tan of TMC.
Am very apprehensive about the possibility of a miscarriage. Will go for a scan at 7 weeks.

Is anyone going for the pregnancy talk at KKH on 13 Nov?

luvflower,

My previous gynae Paul Tseng's first choice is to use an abdominal scan. Can use abdominal scan at 7 weeks I believe. You can always request for it instead of the v scan. But the trouble is u need a full bladder to shift the intestines out of the way. Need about an hour for bladder to fill up.

tinklebell,

i have sign up the maternity package aready... i pay $550...other then that i also not very sure leh... i visit him at SK clinic same as cck he is sharing with GP..Don worry lah...won't catch virus so easy want..he is quite a good Gyna..

angeline,

how long have you been on mc??? Have your Gyna scan for you?? Me also on mc due to spotting..

mother_of_a_princess, have a good rest.

BTW, the maternity package is from first visit onwards? do u have to wait v long for your turn at Dr Adrian's?

i start from the first visit...coz every visit it will cost you $70-80 leh...y not sign up during the first visit save your $$$ mah... not really have to wait so long lah...it depends on how many paitent ahead of you.. how old is your elder baby...boy or gal...

hey all! I'm back.. been away for a couple of weeks cos been experiencing pretty intense MS
vomitting a couple of times a day and feel nauseated most times of the day.. horrible. everything is smelly. get hungry then eat then feel like throwing up. last week MC for 3 days. but heard from some pple that MS means baby growing so bearing with it la..

any tips on how to cope with this MS, you guys?

i am very pleasantly surprised and very happy to see that this thread which i started is now so active and even happier to see SO many more MTB now..

my 2nd gynae visit will be this coming wed, the 26th. going for a scan then. hope will be able to see that BB is ok..

here's my updates:

c) Matthew Lee's wife (EDD 3/6/06) Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan (East Shore Hospital)
f) miz_hopeful (EDD: 9/6/06)(LMP: 2/9/05) gynae: Dr Judy Wong (KKH)

luvflower,

I believe the vaginal scan was coz your's were too early to be "seen" via ultrascan.

I have my first scan via ultrascan

mother_of_a_princess,

I also sign up Dr Adrian's package on my first visit few days ago

coz one consultation is $90..so ex..then might as well start early...

usually people start late coz wanna be sure baby is stable...but I think I rather start the package early...:p

tinklebell,

I visit Dr Adrian at CCK...dun worry abt the 24hr clinic....it's not a big issues

his waiting time is quite ok...the first time I went, waited less than 30min....

plus I'm staying nearby, so save a lot of transport time as well

his package is $550

hi angeline &amp; pebbles,

i'm on 3 tabs a day. just had my last jab yesterday heehee... hopefully no more to come. side effect of the tabs include nausea, so may make MS worse. if you are feeling quite sick, can discuss with your doc to reduce the dosage.

most of the time i can sleep quite well except for the few miserable nights when my nose was completely blocked and runny that i couldn't sleep at all. hopefully this is not due to the pregnancy, otherwise i will be very cham in the following months..

hi alyy

which gynae are you with now? i'm also same as pebbles - ivf baby
for your # of weeks &amp; EDD, can try http://www.ivf.ca/calcu.htm . if you have twins, can close shop after this hor

hi alyy

I transferred two emryos too as I very suay to have ohss. I was supposed to be on so-iui with him but i had too many follicles so have to go straight to ivf. I am seeing Dr Fong Yang @ PAragon. I think my Doc calculated from my ET which happens oso to be on the day 14 of my menses, then add two weeks of 14 days. Ya doc should be able to tell you too.
Why didn't you transfer three? I am having a singleton pregnancy.

I was very impatient, so on the day 9 after transfer I used a pregnancy kit to test and voila! I couldn;t believe my eyes though it was faint. Then on day 11 and 12, I used different brands to test and they showed clearer results.

Good luck to you okie! When r u going for blood test? hee hee, i will keep my fingers and toes cross for ya news!

I'm due about june 2006. only about 4 weeks ands seeing Dr Foong Yang. Been having beta HCG blood test every two days till now as too early to do scanning. Also on progesteron pills daily.

I seem constipated but yet whe I go, stools are not hard and the colour is weird... Am concerned..... is this normal?

Hi mother_of_a_princess, okasan, his package sounds quite reasonable. Also quite near my place. Good to hear the waiting time is not too long. He only delivers at TMC? does he do scanning at every visit and how about the detailed scan? Do we do it in his clinic or do we have to go some other places which have the machine? Also, does the $550 include medication and scans?

Hello Cookiemz and Pebbles

Glad to know i can talk to someone who also get preg thru IVF. I'll be doing a scan to see if i preggie with one or 2 this fri. keeping my finger cross will be 2 cos I already hv 1 girl and she wants to hv "di di mei mei".

I actually did my IVF in Malaysia cos they do PGD i.e. can determine chromosonal defects and sex. i had 16 egg follicles, but only 2 good enough to be implanted, though my hubby and i were wishing for 3. So i'm still sticking with the gynae whose clinic is in JB, and when the pregnancy stabilises, then I will get a local gynae. May get your recommendations then.

I am getting a little worried cos I am not getting any of the preg symptoms mentioned by the other MTBs. By the IVF calculation which Cookiemx sent, I'm abt 6+ weeks. Am i overworried???