(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

pawprint - u v resourceful! mybe u can be a PT party organisers with so many lobangs :p

Z names for boys - yes... throw to me. :p

kissbb,

3. stardazzle's Edmund is gd- I've seen his act before at some mall I think. Captain Dazzle Pkg 1 sounds gd.

They have add-on option of "Giant Balloon Act"- this I heard may not interest young kids very much, more for adults. The email link I provided (the entertainer I engaged for Boy) does that act too, at a nominal fee I think.

2. Creamof Maestro- I've only seen him emceeing kids' shows at malls. He's gd in emceeing but not sure abt solo entertainer act. (BTW he's quite hunky, heehee :p ).

1. The Entertainer seems to be a Mr Bottle- alternative site here http://www.magician.com.sg/english/
Seems u can check him out at Grand Copthorne Cafe every sun as written on the site?

Have u contacted all for price comparison?
My gf is quite right when she said the kids are happy regardless, having ANY entertainer is already very fun... so maybe u can be more price-sensitive

steffi,
I just feel boys don't have be specially delicate like treating gals. Their emotion is very short, scold/beat them, they cried and stopped very fast and forget it all. However i agreed that gals are very sweet and esp very dear to mummy next next time and definitely remains mummy's good listener and companion when i'm old!

oki,
My previous CL says the same thing too. So that time I've already checked out B's nipple - is flat! So CL says I will have a gal next time... Let's see. Rem we say if you have a boy and i have a gal, we can swap our clothes to pass down....so you don't buy so many clothes for Ash 1st, if mine is girl, can pass B's clothes to Ash already.

serene,

heehee.. I think if you have a gal, you'll spend a triple BOMB
cos you already bought alot for B although he's a boy. So gal, multiply by 3? ;)

sunflower,
Nobody knows me better than you huh.... keke!

MTDT,
You don't laugh ah, you don't spend lesser than me leh. You also spent BOMB for Z, those expensive clothings, toys etc! haha!

serene - huh? where? where?
boh lah... Zav always wear hand me down... toys also hand me down. v poor thing one!!

wahahahhahah

MT,
Hahah ur hub so cute...

U sure Z all hands down ? I see u spent alot of educational classes already want to faint

Serene,
Sure sure we can swap ... keke !!

Sunflower,
Regardless having gers definitely spent a BOMB with huge holeS in pocket. Hahah.. wait till ur turn u will know;p

Hi ladies ... how is everyone? I popped by the forum once a blue moon, but rarely join in the chat but definitely saw a lot of new babies being born ... congrats congrats! (Confession ... Actually, I'm in the forum, but mainly on the overseas spree threads ... "P )

Paula dearie, I'm going to pm you on Odyssey, pls help me. pls pls pls ...

I checked Mathius into Character Montessori for more than 1-year and earlier this year, the quality began really bad ... UNTIL I saw one of the teachers wielding a cane (no joke, can you imagine) ... that's the ultimatum ... I stopped him immediately ... now he's school-less ...

I was so upset, I wrote in one of the thread "P http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/976106/1919438.html?1245429849#POST8168623

I'm school-hunting again ... help ...

Hi Pauline,

I realised you've "updated" almost everything on Odyssey in the previous page of the thread ... so I didn't pm you in the end ... thanks for sharing! ') Oh, in case, I MIA for so long, you forgotten about me ... our kids attended GUG together, my son (Mathius) is the naughty boy that ran around when Kelly is always so poised for learning ... hee!

Frankly, Character Montessori @ AMK, started well too ... he enjoyed his daily activities to every bit till there is a change of centre supervisor, things got worse day by day! Till I saw a teacher with a cane!

Can you imagine when I asked to speak to Mathius' English teacher, a China Chinese Lady introduced herself as one, I felt a little faint ... IF it's a PAP centre @ $180 pm, I can swallow, but I'm paying CM at $750 pm for 3 hours! Their teacher to child ratio is 2 is to 12! At 1st it was 1 to 5 ... when business got better ... things got worse, I guess.

My hubby says every school is the same ... I fear the worst of his "confession" ... "( I felt sooo upset.

carebear - wah... recently CM @ AMK/PR all kenna similar complains. so scary.

hope my centre dun hv any such major changes... my centre manager still the same :p

carebear,

wow... sounds like a bad experience... I would be furious too if the teachers used the cane on my kids or has the practise of using the cane. and you are right $750 for 3 hours is hefty sum.. higher standards is expected.

carebear,
wow that's scary abt the cane!

hmm for my kids' sch... I've witnessed my girl's teacher *screaming* in a threatening manner to another girl. Also just heard from another parent who switched schs last yr that the P is always screaming at the teachers and stressing them out- a top down effect onto the kids. A friend also switched her kids out because she was dissatisfied with lesson structure/ activities.

But the kids of doctors in my estate send to same sch also, so I figure can't be that bad.

Most importantly, I'm not aware of anything majorly adverse on my kids- Girl is happy as usual. Boy is NOT keen on sch but from my assessment- I think it's more his problem than the sch lah. :p Well, perhaps he might enjoy a more exciting/ engaging, EXPENSIVE sch... but since we're not willing to do that, this will do lor.(*point finger at hb*)

Carebear,
I remember you desu… very long time no see liao. How is Mathius coming along? Cane? That is not appropriate right?

Today is Kelly’s fifth day in Odyssey. So far, everything is very well and she is settling in very well. On Saturday, she also asked if she can go back there. She is quite happy in there, many stories to share whenever I picked her up: what she learned, what she played and all the classroom politics. I am just impressed with their curricula and the standards of the children they produced based on the past project works that I have shown. But not too sure lah, really had a horrid experience with LV@RP and hence, won’t rush to endorse Odyssey until Kelly graduated from there. Keke. :) I guess, a good and responsible childcare centre has to be managed by a good leader who is always around and a team of loving and responsible teachers. I also realized one thing, what is being told to us in the timetable does not mean that it will be executed 100%. I have been trying to tell myself that yea, there isn’t a perfect childcare around.

Which branch are you eyeing?

Carebear,
BTW… Odyssey does give out a booklet to every parent upon enrollment. In the booklet, it was stated very clearly that they do not encourage corporate punishments on children and if any teachers are found duty of that, they will be counseled and/or, suspended. And, this school does not have any communication booklet. So, they encourage faces to faces interactions or via e-mails (their teachers are very onz on emails. They only attend to emails at 7am in the morning or late at night as they are dedicating themselves to the children during daytime that is what I was told).

Anyone working near Botanica Gardens? Still raining there? Just wondering if the excursion is going ahead as planned.

paula,

I think email is a great way for communication. At times I write a comment in the comm booklet, the teacher may only read it the next day... well guess no where is perfect...

Actually there are just too many horror stories of childcare centres. One of my friend’s daughter were brought out for water play at the pool. She fell into the pool and was rescued by a lifeguard. The teachers did not informed her parents. Her mum only came to know about it when she realized that something is not quite right cos her daughter poo was green color and have been having nightmares and cried at the sight of water. She was only in playgroup then. So her mum checked with her class teacher. Her class teacher has to check with other teachers who were on duty then and only then, the truth is out. Scary manz.

the link case seems more like the kid way of sitting.. at a side instead of both hips equally.

paula - maybe can let kelly check by a chiropactor?

Pardon my ignorance ... hee ... what is LV@RP? Which CC is it?

Yes, many many horror stories. The one abt the swimming pool is bad enough. Gosh!

Now, the mention of "school", Mathius will shout "I don't want to go to school." My hubby is "chiding" me for startg him too young ... "(

I'm waiting for Odyssey principal to call me, "Sandy" I heard ... But, Pauline, your Kelly is a "learning machine", so sweet, dainty and adorable ... she is probably better-off "managing the teachers". I hope Odyssey won't refuse entry to Mathius ... "P

Poohy ... "cane" is a big "no-no" lor ... No teachers are supposed to use it as a "scare-tactics". *Angry*

Carebear,
Yea, Sandy is the principal for the school. Nice lady. The school is out to Botanical Gardens today so you would probably hear from her after noon.

MTDT,
Yea, she is going back to her PD on this Saturday to have a back xray and a urine test to rule out any spine problem or kidney problem. Once that is clear, then prop a pd chiro would come into a picture. But i got a feeling that it is growing pains.

MTDT, yes and no ... I hinted to the "new & really young" Centre Supervisor (early 20s), she didn't seems to understand nor care ... I feel she's placed in the Sup role as they needed someone who is a "Grad in Early Childhood" but she isn't able to command respect among d teachers & helpers who are easily late 20s - 50s. They simply ignore her big time. The previous Supervisor is so much in control, knowing the kids by their names, parents and backgrd, strengths & weaknesses.

Quoting Pauline, "I guess, a good and responsible childcare centre has to be managed by a good leader who is always around and a team of loving and responsible teachers."

A good leadership in any organisation is critical critical ...

Sigh ... we can complain till the cows go home ... if the "mgt" (usually blood-sucking business operators) do not understand how their biz affects the "future generation", abide by the true "calling" of this "early childhood" biz, no amount of advice or feedback can help.

The reality of complaining is also that we are putting our preschoolers at risk in school for discrimination and maybe treated as second class citizens by the teachers. It is a very contradicting society.

carebear- thanks

I was talking to those PR branch parents. they went to complaint to ms grace the mgt. and apparently they really change out the supervisor. but after tat how i also dunno lah.

paula
we recently changed N's car seat to a high back booster type using adult seat belt. This was after she kept telling us her neck aches & we suspected the seat belt was cutting into her neck. She's slightly more than 1 m tall (think K is tall too rite?)...now she's v happy wif her new car seat; more spacious too.

paula
wow, K is really tall...how much does she weigh? N's abt 15+ kg only..dun seem to be putting on much wt nowadays but just growing taller. Now she insists that whoever who's shorter than her is her mei mei, even though i explain to her that XYZ is older than her!

we bot the Aprica one from mothercare recently. She loves it. is her maxi a high back booster too?

Cheri,
Time to have another one. :) She is around 15kg... hubby quite worried abt her back. He is bringing her for a check this afternoon.

K was envied of her best friend as her best friend is expecting a mei-mei soon. A couple of nights before, she said, 'mummy, i put a mei mei inside your stomach then u pregnant, then u give me a mei mei to play okay?' if only giving birth is so easy... children ar!

paula: Talking abt having bb, just the other day, I was at giant with ER. He insisted on buying small towels for bb. I asked him - where's the bb? He replied - in your stomach :p He no longer says to buy baby back. I had to tell him there's no bb in my stomach & if he wants a bb, he's got to ask papa for approval... lol....

paula & rodeo
yes, my ger talks abt me being preg & having babies too...she used to insist that she must be the one who's preg! That really makes us laugh
cute innocence.

paula
how did the check go yest?

Cheri,
Still waiting for her kidney results... next tuesday have to see an orthopedic surgeon. The PD has ruled out fracture so just worried that there could be some internal bleeding that we are not aware of. So, refers us to an orthopedic to have a more accurate scan.

BTW, any one know where could I get children nonya kebaya?

Paula,
Chinatown People's Park Complex- there's a shop on 2nd flr, can't miss it. ~$70 for girl's kebaya.
Hope results turn out fine!

<font face="tahoma">Hi ladies,
talking abt CC... AMK Babies Resort kept changing teachers. Those good ones all left! Now there's a new Eng teacher, she's very stern looking and will scold kids for not eating meals. Didnt coax them simply scold only.

Witnessed once Wes was weeping and eating his lunch, so poor thing! When I asked what happened, she said he refused to eat vege. Dont have to scold right???? Never happened when the other teachers are caring. So angry!

Pawprint,
thanks for all the contacts!

Oki,
nipples theory didnt work for me. Wes has protuding nipples but turn out #2 is a girl.

<font face="tahoma">kissbb,
My gf engaged Cream of Maestro for her boy 1YO party, his magic show is good! he actually "swallow" a ballon!

his act also involved the kids hence they loved it.</font>

Anyone keen in going to fidget?? There is a promo
Play Dates @ Fidgets

(Promotion is applicable with a minimum of 8 kids)

*Organise your play-dates with Fidgets
and get 10% off on admission fees!

Check out the Fidgets Play-date Combo Meals

Combo Meal: $8.00 (served with popper juice)

Choose one:

French Fries, Chicken Nuggets and Breaded Fish Fingers
or Fish &amp; Chips and Breaded Chicken Strips
or Hotdog, French Fries and Chicken Nuggets

Please advise Fidgets of your playdate and food requirements 3 days in advance

peng
keen! next week can?
tis week shannon have fever..afternoon works best, after nap, can be there from 3 pm except Thurs.

can it be weekends, say sat morning???
Aishite, next sat am, say 10am is fine for u??
Got to wk on wkdays..

Think the admission fee is $15 (unlimited play) for our toddlers.. anymore interested??

Suggested date: Next Sat, 10am
Peng - 2 kids
sunflower - 1 kid (if confirm)
aishite - 1 kid (if confirm)

sorry din see that aishite asked for evening.. also good.. let the kids play until tired then they would KO till next am... shall we start at 5pm??
Suggested date: Next Sat, 5pm
Peng - 2 kids
sunflower - 1 kid (if confirm)
aishite - 1 kid (if confirm)

Peng
Pls KIV me for the moment, cos Saturday Shan has gym at Turf City, 12-1 pm, so unsure how she will take to doing so many activities