(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

fates,

fidge can only store for 48hrs! Must move to the freezer to store for a longer while..you better throw away those stored for more than 48hrs cos they might have turn sour! ( although have heartpain...) You are number 1 in supply leh...haha...

another new order...Now waiting for milo to confirm yours!

Baby wetsuit order ...

Pls see below:

1) Nick: Ivy
Size: 0 (6-12M)
Color: Berry or Ocean
Quantity:1

2) Nick: Annie
Color: Ocean or Coral

3) Nick: Twinkle-starry
Size:0.5(10-18M)
Color: Ocean
Quantity: 1

4) Nick: Yvonne Du
Color: Berry or Apple

5) Nick: Little_nana
Size:0(6-12M)
Color: Berry or coral

6) Nick: Gummie
Color: Ocean or Berry

7) Nick: gina_seow
Quzntity: 1

8)Nick: Taurus

9)Nick: kissbb
Color: Ocean or Apple

10)Nick: trevor's mummy
size:0.5 (10-18M)
Colour: Ocean
Qty:1
Type: Infant wetsuit

11) Nick: Fates

12) Nick: toto

Ivy,

Really really 48 hours onli?
But it's V V cold compartment leh!? Really will turn sour? Must i use the thermometer to measure the temp of that compartment? It's not that la..it's my boy drinks toooooo little!

I got a few packets of frozen EBM in the freezer too...

What i noe is that EBM can be stored in fridge for 1 to 2 days (1 preferred), and freezer for 3 mths... huh.... u mean it will lose its immune properties in the freezer? All my EBM in the freezer leh... cos bb is a small eater, and my milk keep storing up as i pump everyday to keep ms up... about 17 days worth... cos if all the immune properties gone... defeat the purpose of me making the effort to pump religiously...(sob)
hehehehehe...

annie, does the uncomfort in ur breast make you feel unwell? If so, better see doc...

by the way, do your bbs have sweaty feet and hands? Mine does... I do not wear mittens and booties for her in the day... but her hands and legs are always wet...

Hi milo

Same same... my bb is on nanha (hypoallergenic), cos my bb has eczema... she itch when she drinks similac, and breaks out in rashes....
NANha (hypoallergenic) very ex...

yvonne and fates,

i rem that i read that if put in fridge, 25% of the antibodies will be destroyed, if freezer, 50% will be gone...but no choice since we started working liao...

Fates,
Dun need to measure the temp. Guideline is as long as its fridge, then have to be 48hrs. I just throw away 2 bottles yesterday cos my mum's fridge tripped and no one know abt it! sigh and heartpain...but better than bb suffering...

yvonne,
I think 17 days worth is more than enough. The composition of the milk produced changes according to the nutrition needs of your baby, So milk stored too long ago might not meet current nutritional needs.

yvonne,
thks 4 yr concern, i stopped for the past 2 days, today feel breasts kind of heavy. hand squeezed out, quite a lot but i do feel this pulling pain again after e squeeze, duno y..

milo,
hows yr boy? cant take similac? Maybe you can ask Gummie whether she wants or not?

hello mummies

My son is drinking less EBM these days. He used to be drinking 120 ml but now, he's satisfied with 80 - 100 ml. He is abt 6 weeks old. Has anyone come across this situation before?

hi missk

i believe its okie, as long as bb is peeing and pooing frequently and not dehydrated and lethargic... my bb is 12 weeks old, and is only drinking 120ml now...

I did a search on the Web regarding the storage of EBM. There are many different views on the no of days the EBM can b kept in the fridge, ranging frm 48 hrs, 3-5 days, &amp; up to 8 days. therefore dun now which to believe. However, all of the websites mentioned that some of the immune properties will be gone if freeze so i rather keep in the fridge. anyway, i always smell the EBM if they had gone sour b4 i gave it to my girl. So fay, my girl does not haf any problem wif drinking EBM that had been in the fridge for 8 days. i reckon it all lies wif how comfy u r keeping the EBM in the fridge. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

Clarice.bmp (49.8 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Extracted from BMSG.....
Gosh who should I follow..

Storage Guidelines:

Term Colostrum (expressed within 6 days of delivery)
kept at room temperature 27-32 C (80.6-89.6 F) - 12 hours

Mature milk
kept at 15 C (59-60 F) - 24 hours
kept at 19-22 C (66-72 F) - 10 hours
kept at 25 C (79 F) - 4-6 hours
refrigerated 0-4 C (32-39 F) - 8 days

Frozen milk
freezer compartment located inside a refrigerator - 2 weeks
separate door refrigerator/freezer - 3 or 4 months
(temperature varies because the door opens frequently)
separate deep freeze at constant -19 C (0 F) - 6 months or longer

What Type of Container to Use

If the milk will be frozen;
heavy plastic or glass containers can be used
freezer milk bags are available that are designed for storing human milk
disposable bottle liners are not recommended
cool milk in refrigerator before adding to a container of frozen milk

How to Warm the Milk

Thaw and/or heat under warm, running water; do not bring temperature of milk to boiling point; shake before testing the temperature; do not use a microwave oven to heat human milk.

Thawed milk
If milk has been frozen and thawed, it can be refrigerated up to 24 hours for later use. It should not be refrozen.

Ya angelzwynd,

I did a google and found out the same stuffs as you. Another one from BMSG:

BMSG(S)'s Guidelines on Storage of Expressed Breastmilk
Revised Guidelines - December 1999

Taking into account Singapore's tropical climate, the following are BMSG(S)'s guidelines on the Storage of Expressed Breastmilk.
These guidelines are very much more conservative than those recommended by several international studies. Working mothers who need to express and store breastmilk should evaluate their own storage facilities based on all available information.

MILK AT ROOM TEMPERATURE (17-32 Deg C) - to be Refridgerated as soon as possible

REFRIGERATED MILK - Up to 48 hours
(study by Pardou 1994, found that mature milk can be kept for 8 days at 0 to 4 deg C. A check with Local Fridge Companies in Singapore revealed that the Temprature of the Refridgerator Section of a 2-Door Fridge varies between 3 to 6 degrees C.).

FROZEN MILK in Separate Door Compartment - Up to 2 Months
(The Breastfeeding Answer Book by LLLI, says that breastmilk in a self-contained freezer unit of a refrigerator can be kept for 3 to 4 months. And in a separate deep freezer at -19 degrees C for 6 months or longer.)

fates,

i think my less than 48hrs rule is quite fine..esp if the fridge is often opened to access other stuff.
Anyway, no enuff to freeze, everyday finish up my supply...haha...

Annie,
She's still learning to flip so she struggle everytime she try. Finally get to see her struggling to flip to her side yesterday night. Is this consider 1/2 flip?

Twinkle,
Don't need to burp already? I still burping her leh. I asked my mum she told me must burp till she's around 4 to 5 months. She's 11 weeks and 2 days old today

hi piglet,
i still burp him if he dun auto burp when i sit him up. but it will take a long time and sometime he dun even want to burp and sleep immediately.

must burp until 4-5mth huh? i thought once their head can hold by himself dun need to burp liao.

Thanks for the information re the storing of milk...but hor. dun think I've got much to store these days.not even enuff for bb to drink 3 x daily liao..super busy at work and do not have time to pump so often now. One day can only pump abt 4 times...sigh..think the milk supply will drop again

anyone got any suggestions re how to maintain MS while working????

lh iyc
my friend is also expressing at work but cant find time. So what she does is that she wakes up every 3hrs and express in the night or latch on. On weekends, she just keeps feeding the baby by latching on. The baby becomes an extension of her... it is keeping her bm ss till now... baby is about 10 mths. Very tiring

Can try to eat more fish to increase ss. Can try to get those tea to increase bm ss too

Anyone knows of a good seamstress/tailor?
My cousin's wedding is coming soon and dont think can shed enough weight (haha) so thinking of tailoring clothes...

Thinking of making a cheongsum as i dont think I look nice in gowns with so much fats here and there. But anyone with suggestions?

Hi gabby,

Ya, I agree...only 3rd day n I'm so veri tired liao. Almost burnt my house last nite...was feeding bb n forgot tat I was heating up some soup at the kitchen. Only found out at 4am this morning and my pot is totally burnt!!! Whole house stinks man!

I know of one...she is doing the tailoring at her house, somemore at eunos...but u have to buy the cloth urself...u want? I'll try to find her number later tonite. Think she charges $80 for one gown if I recall correctly

can advise me on rotavirus immunization?? any1 brings their bb for this medicine?? can tell me where u take ur bb for this medicine and how much?? when can take this medicine?

Besides 6-in-1 and rotavirus,any other injections to give to your bb? tks alot.

gabby's mum, i found out the new people's park got a lot of tailor and textile shops. Got some specialise in cheong sam also.

peng,
i took my keane for it. It's oral jab and required 2 jabs. Since, i m staying at Sengkang, i brought him 2 "The Kids Clinic" @Rivervale Plaza. Cost $95 per jab without consulation fees.
Through keane only 2.5mths, he loves to suck his fists and when i saw my niece at her 6mths old already love to put things in her mouth, hence, i decided to take this jab. You can read this following article that i attach for your infor.

KKH sees more children over the age of 5 infected with Rotavirus
ADVERTISEMENT
Ad Feedback

SINGAPORE: Rotavirus infection, which is identified by acute stomach pain, severe vomiting as well as diarrhoea and fever, is commonly associated with young children, but doctors say they are seeing more kids over the age of 5 being infected by it in recent years.
Over the last few years, about 23 percent of children admitted to KK Women's and Children's Hospital for Rotavirus infection are in this age group.

According to experts, children below the age of 5 are known to be the most susceptible to Rotavirus infection, with the most vulnerable being those below the age of 2.

But doctors at KKH are seeing more children above the age of 5 coming down with the infection in the last few years, making up 23 percent of those affected by the Rotavirus.

KKH says that while there's no medical explanation for this so far, it's a common trend among developed countries, as with some diseases such as chickenpox.

"We have the impression that the Rotavirus does not affect older kids but this is not true, because up to 23 percent of our kids admitted for Rotavirus are in fact older than 5 years old. This is the trend of all childhood diseases as a country develops. All these childhood diseases tends to shift to the older age group . It's very difficult to explain that its due to our cleaner environment because Rotavirus infection affects both patients in developed and developing countries," said Prof Phua Kong Boo, Senior Consultant, Paediatrics, KK Women's and Children's Hospital.

"The only difference is that in the developing countries, due to the malnutrition and inaccessibility to medical aid, the babies die whereas in developing countries it's just a nuisance to the child suffering and the parents frustration and all these. It's quite distressing to the parents," added Prof Phua.

Other countries that are experiencing similar trends are Japan, South Korea and places like Hong Kong and Taiwan.

But Prof Phua says that with a Rotavirus vaccine called Rotarix for children under the age of 6 months old, there is hope that infection among the older children will gradually decline.

Although there's been no deaths reported so far, Rotavirus infection is still a potentially life-threatening disease, if the diarrhoea which can cause severe dehydration is not treated.

Deaths related to Rotavirus infection usually occurs in up to 90 percent of cases in poor countries, where children who are down with the virus could not get hydrated in time.

KKH is conducting a-year long study on the different strains of Rotavirus present here to ensure that there's no mutation of the virus into a more virulent form that cannot be reined in by the vaccine.

Results of the study are expected to be ready by the end of next year.

Besides Rotarix which is suitable for babies under 6 months old, another vaccine has just hit the US market.

Rota-teg is approved by the US Food and Drug Administration or FDA, and is suitable for infants up to 8 months old.

Rotavirus is transmitted via the faecal-oral route that is when the virus somehow ends up in the mouth, from contaminated food or water or from touching contaminated surfaces.

Doctors say that one way to safeguard against the virus is to practise diligent hand washing before eating.

The virus can incubate in the body for between half a day to 4 days and symptoms can last from 3 days to as long as 2 weeks.

Doctors added that the first episode of Rotavirus infection is usually the most severe but subsequent attacks are milder as the body has formed some resistance to the virus. - CNA /dt

peng,
My keane oso took this pneumococcal jab at $165 each without consulation fees. BBs < 2 years old has to take 4 jabs.
I decided to take this jab because my son has a hole in e heart and i am putting him at my sis's hse weekday when i am at work. My niece nvb take the jab and she is only 6mths old.
There is a checklist that you can decide whether to let yr bb take this jab or not.

1. any relatives or family members are smokers?
2. Do you often bring your bb out to public area like swimming pool?
3. Do your bb has any illness? Major?
4. Are you sending your bb to infant / childcare center.

Rotavirus jab n the above jab are not at any polyclinic. KKH has it but more expensive. I d ask abt e pneu jab, its $182 without consulation fees.

Campaign to raise awareness of pneumococcal disease in children
ADVERTISEMENT

SINGAPORE : A week-long campaign will be launched from May 20 to raise awareness about pneumococcal disease and stress the importance of early vaccination.
The disease affects 18 in 100,000 children under five years old in Singapore each year and can cause disability and even death -- yet few people know about it.

Forty-two-year-old Heng Soo Yeow knows the importance of early vaccination against the pneumococcus bug -- in 1999, he lost his three-and-a-half year old son, Darryl, to the disease.

The boy came down with common flu like symptoms, which are also symptoms of pneumococcal disease, in April that year.

Within weeks, his condition worsened and he developed a lung infection as well.

Darryl died about three weeks after he was first diagnosed.

Mr Heng is not taking any chances with his other three children, aged between three and eight years old, and will have them vaccinated with a new vaccine launched in October last year.

Said Mr Heng, "Prevention is better than cure. Don't wait until the last minute when they get it -- then it may be too late ... I do encourage parents with the means to get this vaccine."

The Paediatric Society says vaccination is important as a quarter of those who get the disease will develop complications.

These include infections of the brain covering, blood, and lung, which can lead to learning disabilities, paralysis, brain damage, and even death.

The vaccine, which is about 87 percent effective, will not only protect children who are vaccinated but also reduce their ability to transmit the disease.

Pneumococcus is commonly found in the nose and throat of healthy children and adults, and about 60 percent of children are thought to be carriers.

While not everyone will get sick from the bug, carriers can potentially infect others via respiratory droplets through sneezing, coughing, or close contact.

Because symptoms of the disease are similar to those of the flu virus, the Paediatric Society says that early vaccination for children is encouraged, as parents and even doctors can mistake the disease for the common flu and may treat it as such.

It added that side-effects of the vaccine are minimal, usually resulting in fever.

Said Associate Professor Daniel Goh, president, Singapore Paediatric Society, "The infection in its early stages can also be quite subtle and be difficult to differentiate from common illnesses, and hence prevention is very important.

"Now that we have the availability of a vaccine to prevent this significant infection in young children, I think that the awareness should be brought up to the general public as well as practitioners, that patients who are at risk can receive preventive therapy."

Professor Goh says early prevention is also important as the pneumococcus bug is becoming increasingly difficult to treat with antibiotics and penicillin.

Before, there was no vaccine for children below two years of age; the new vaccine, however, can be administered to children as young as six months old.

It is available at hospitals and clinics, and costs about S$170.

Pneumocccal disease affects not only children but adults as well.

But children below the age of five are more susceptible to the bug, as they have lower immunity to fight off the disease.

A survey of 200 mothers last year found that 92 percent were not aware of this potentially fatal disease.

To reach out to parents, the week-long campaign will include talks and exhibitions at shopping centres around the island, as well as television and print advertisements.

Actress Wong Lilin, who has two young children, will lend star power to help create awareness of the disease. - CNA /ct

hi annie.. thank u so much for the info... really very helpful...

juz want to chk with u how come kidslink dun need to pay consultation fee?? cos when i called kidslink at choa chu kang, they said must pay for the jab/ medicine plus consultation fee + initial registration fee of $15.. tks so much

Wow Annie
you walking info kiosk for us... hehe

Thanks mummy for infor... lh iyc
Can I have the contact...eunos nead my house

just to find out if any of you can recommend any tried and proven slimming cream for tummy and hips. after 2.5 months, i only lost half of what i put on during pregnancy. now back to work but still cannot fit into to my pre-pregnancy clothings

milo66,
u can try gummie.she is using similac.. but duno she is going to change to other brand or not.

peng,
My PD is @ The Kids Clinic. Initially first visit is $80-100 then following visit only charge $40-$50. My Pd is DR A. Tan. She charged me consulation $45 + rotavirus oral jab $95 + pnueo. jab $165. Can you imagine, i paid $305.
Will have another visit this coming 29 for the 5 in 1 jab. est. ($45 consulation fee + $165 pneuo jab + $79.90 5 in 1 jab).
kkh Consulation fees is $80 to $100 if i m not wrong, with referral letter from polyclinic, govt will subsidy this fee, so should be abt $20.

hey ivy, my order corrected as follows:

THANKS!!!

1) Nick: Ivy
Color: Berry or Ocean

2) Nick: Annie
Color: Ocean or Coral

3) Nick: Twinkle-starry

4) Nick: Yvonne Du
Color: Berry or Apple

5) Nick: Little_nana
Color: Berry or coral

6) Nick: Gummie

7) Nick: gina_seow

8)Nick: Taurus

9)Nick: kissbb
Color: Ocean or Apple

10)Nick: trevor's mummy
size:0.5 (10-18M)
Colour: Ocean
Qty:1
Type: Infant wetsuit

11) Nick: Fates

12) Nick: toto

anyone experience bb crying over passing germany gas? My keane sometime crys like hell and can stop from drinking milk especially while feeding.
is it abnormal? or is it becos e gas is hot while passing out from e anus?

Hi annie,

I think its common coz it happen to my bb and my friend's bb as well .... but not cry like hell lah ... my boy will look angry and cry alittle and keep grumbling while drinking his milk ...hahah ... then we just yah yah yah ...ok okok....hm..hm..hm and then he ok liao and continue drink his milk

Annie,

I notice that too! My bb dun cry.. but she just simply stop in between feed to pass out the gas, then she continue sucking again haha..

I find that this situation worsen at nite..

kind of upset when my son shows the sad face every morning when we send him to my sis's place. He already starts to recognise people since week 8. My hubby stated that maybe the maid didn't play with my keane, since her owner is my niece.
However, i suspect that he knows that he is going away from home, thats why he isn't happy. But,he always crys whole day when he is at home on saturday n sunday.

Annie,

My bb can recognise faces now, and we suspect she recognise MY face especially. Initially we thought she recognise homes. But then when she is taken to my mum's place, she is OK. But when we bring her to my mil place recently a few times, she CRIES LOUD! By right, she should be more familiar to my mil's place as compared to my mum's place because she drop by there more often. My mum's place, she only drop by on saturdays. And when we traced back, then realised on those few occasions she was crying, i was not around! The most recent case is on tuesday when my hubby bring her over to mil place because i need to go to school to do some work. And my hubby said she cried non stop.

hey ladies,

speaking abt recognising faces and homes, my girl seems to adapt quite well?? She has been in her sitter's place since monday..initially she just wail abit but subsequently quieten down. I still scared she will cry the house down leh..hmmm..

And she doesnt seem to 'reject' her new nanny. She smile at her somemore! Make me so jealous.. hahah~ What i'm afraid is what if my girl dun recognise me as her mummy?.. So nowadays after i fetch her back, i'll play with her and look her in the eye and tell her "I am your mummy..aunty lily not your mummy ok.." LOL

Sponge,

i hv the same doubt as u and being a KS mum, i now started to brain-wash' my son. Very bad hor. ha ha ha

yar man! i agree! Every morning, i smile and tok to natasia, but she seem expressionless... then when my mil start to prepare her feed, tend to her, tok to her, she will make ooohhh aaahhh sounds, and smile! I AM JEALOUS! yes, am gonna start brainwashing natasia... I AM MUMMY! hehehehehe... my hubby dun seem to mind... well, cos it's his mum! hmph!

I worry like u all do now! I am going back to work next monday.. wonder what will happen..

i also started brainwashing my ger haha.. keep telling her to call me mummy.. and i will also mention daddy to her.. at least if she recognises her daddy i won't still feel so bad.. but if she only recognises my mil.. then i will feel REALLY BAD!!!

Ya, my hubby dun mind at all.. he keep telling me not to worry.. eventually children will be close to parents.

sponge,
Wah! u like tat tell yr ariel? I oni tell keane, yo mummy is here. dun recognise huh? then he will smile at me everytime i fetch him back. We also make effort to play with him. He likes to play with my hb.. more tiring for my hb as he works at site.

kk,
Keane recognise pp by their faces. He will smile to you instantly if he 'knows' u. He won't bother to look at you if he didn't 'knows' you. Like my brother, my hb's brothers and father in law, he doesn't bother to look at them because they v rarely see him.
He will keep looking at you if you carry him. Luckily, he wont cry unlike my niece will cry out.

my gal cries out loud when she pass out gas and urine...really cry until very qi liang...

i'm also jealous of my daddy...my gal loves tokking to him! she will coo at him...make sounds when he sing songs to her...but not to ME!!!! hehe...but no choice...how to be "angry" at my daddy? can only say that the both of them are fated...even their birthdays are one day apart of each other only.

i'm going back to work soon...scared that she will not recognise me...
i wanted to go on a trip...now also dun dare liao...scared she don't wan me when i come back. hee

Wah! Compare to you, at least keane wont show us the expressionless to us. He would try to "talk" n make those noises to us. Think i should feel v content after reading all e above. haha