(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Ivy,
I also dun like milk until past few days , i try strawberry flavour , and take 1/4 glass at a time , it turn out well.

normally i also dun drink lot of water, if i keep lots of it , my stomach will be bloated leh.

I put on ard 2 kg after pregnancy, now most clothes cannot fit me anymore ...this few weeks have been wearing the few pcs of clothes that still can fit ... guess its time for me to change my wardrobe liao ....

Hi twinkle-starry and Ivy,

Actually I feel better after telling my friends n collegues ... now they will avoid move things infront of me ... will only shift things when I not around or will ask me to "siam" ... my collegues even shift all the beverages from the top cabinet to lower cabinet so I wont have to lift my hands or tip toe (I am quite petite) to get things ... everyone is asking me to be careful .... recently having bad MS .... so tends to come to work late also ... but boss is very understanding ...

Hi Ivy and twinkle,

I also never a water person, hubby always have to force me to drink water... but surprisingly after pregnant ...i actually crave for water ...

I also dun like milk ... but forcing myself to drink a glass a day ... abit too little but better than nothing ..kekek

Hi Taurus,

How many weeks are u now? I heard that normally our stomach will show somewhere in wk 10 and beyond. Although i belong to the bigger frame , thought my tummy will conceal this but it seem that 1 inch bigger leh.

Ivy,
no leh u cannot beat it . I am so fat u know. Ever since i got this prolactin hormone disorder , i put on so many weight. I think the highest record of all my years.

Some ple dun put on so much weight bcos they are already big, Let's hope we can be like that.

funny leh i put on 0.02kg for the past 3 weeks but my tummy is 1 inch thicker
316967.gif

Hi twinkle,

Today is the end of 8th week, so tomorrow should be start of wk9 ...

I am quite petite .... so worry that the extra kgs will make me look like a walking potato ....

I think the increase in weight depends on individual ... heard that some MTBs actually lost weight in the 1st Trimester due to MS ....

twinkle,

i have put on any weight..but the tummy just seems fat till no pants can fit (unless i buy new ones).
i think you prob having the same prob as me...

hi all...another tired day for me again..talking abt putting on wt, some of my skirt cannot fit already, think need to buy some also, dunno is it bb putting on wt or mummy constant craving for food *thinking*

i told most of my friends already. like taurus, i cant contain my excitment, now at least my boss and colleague will avoid letting me carry heavy stuff

it is hard to contain excitment but i guess things are easier when i dun see my colleagues often. I work from home mostly. Otherwise all the symptons will auto reveal liao leh.

hehe true lor, nowsaday i avoid eating junk food and most of the stuff i like to eat, now have to abstain. the signs are act quite obvious, cant run lor.

I can only take soupy stuff , veg and fish. Fried stuff make me feel like vomiting. Meat wise also like that except chicken at times can make it to the stomach.

If not i will hv indigestion. Sigh! everyday dunno wat to eat leh

heehee, my skirt also quite tight. I also feel that my waist is thicken and my tummy bloated.

I do not have a good appeitite as well. Try to eat little at night cos it makes my tummy uncomfortable.

Hi twinkle

Oh, I drink lots of water. A few flasks a day hehe

Hi Ivy
I can't stand milk too...that's why I have started eating cheese wholemeal sandwiches for breakfast for calcium intake.

Hi taurus
Other than our parents, I've only told a few close friends and my boss but not my colleagues yet.

paradox,

Cheese wholemeal sandwich sounds like a good idea..Just that cheese is more fattening than milk!
Hee..for me, even parents also keep quiet. Cos parents may start to spread the news...keke..

paradox ,
Cheese wholemeal sound good. I shld try some too.

I guess i got to force myself to drink more water liao.

Hi paradox,

Keke...actaully I also tell my boss and one colleague only..but boss think that its better to let the staff noe so that they will be extra careful when I am around ... actually dun intend to spread the news so fast ... but hubby was so excited after hearing the news .... and start calling everyone .... before i knew it .... half of singapore already heard the news....ahhaha

Hi Taurus,

Sometimes it really can't be helped. Like last nite, i was having my dinner until halfway i have this nauseous feeling. So i have to stop eating. But luckily i always manage to escape vomiting everything out. I need to lie down or sit still for perhaps couple of minutes then becomes ok.

I am glad i had a good lunch just now

I dunno why no sour food. Hey, i also have craving for spicy and sour food. Especially.. MEE SIAM!!!

Oh yah, my mum also mention no bird nest as it can cause phlegm in child too. it's not really true eating bird nest makes the baby fairer. Drinking milk is still the most effective in this aspect

Hi Bookworm,

My mum say papaya cause child to look "yellowish" so she warn me not to eat lor. Anyway me no crave for payaya so its ok

I took one jab so far which was last week. Gynae said to stop the spotting. The hormone is Progesterone right? Have u been taking the pills? I took some when i first see the gynae. But he say i dun need it anymore so i stop taking it on the second visit.

I will only be having my first blood test next month on my 3rd visit. Keeping fingers crossed!

The gynae did say i look a bit pale. He say doesn't matter and wait for the blood test. In fact i am worried over everything everyday. What about u ladies?? It seems like i always have lots of things to worry over the pregnancy!!

Hi Ivy,

I heard pple say not to announce pregnancy till 3 mths later. Some didn't even tell their family! For me, my family knows about the news first-hand, and 2-3 of my close friends know about it. And now my students gradually know about it as they see my tummy and i have been wearing flats instead of heels haha! So the smart ones are already guessing away.

Now my HOD knows about it and 4 colleagues know about it. I have to be fair to my HOD as he needs to do planning for next year, so i need to inform him. No choice.

Hi to the rest of the ladies!

I have gained 1.6 kg so far and the gynae asked whether i have been eating mooncakes haha!
I find my skirts tight, so i have been wearing one piece dresses now. Luckily they are my love, so i dun mind at all. But the tummy does slowly slow now... might be a good thing hor?

So some ladies love nest in SK? Me too

I am at rivervale crescent

kk

I am also in the same shoe. I worried tons too. My gynae also worried. I think i will only be less worried if i go on to my 2nd trimster.

Exactly, thats the hormone, u have any idea what is it?

Hi Ivy and twinkle
Yes, the cheese wholemeal sandwich is yummy...actually i dun fancy cheesy stuff...but after trying it, it taste really good. U gals can consider melting the cheese on the wholemeal bread in the oven first...it tastes even better.

I bot the extra light cheese from kraft...only 40 calories per piece. Must eat for the sake of baby

Hi kk
Think i've chatted with you before in the Oct 03 brides thread in SB forum. I had a different nick then. Glad to see u here

Hi KK,

Hahah...Me too crave for mee siam ... Tom yam ... but I not as lucky as u.... half my meals always ended up in the sink ...8( ...

I have already taken my 1st blood test ... the next visit gyane is going to tell us more abt the triple test or OSCAR test ...

Dun worry ...u r not alone ... I guess all of us here have endless worries from the day we noe that we are pregnant till the day we give birth ... I even feel that the 3 weeks visit to gynae a bit too long ... dunnoe if my baby is ok during this 3 weeks periods ... only assured tt baby ok after visit to gynae ..then start to worry again till the next visit ... hahah...I think I really getting more n more paranoid each day ...even hubby say I recently abit "siao siao" 8(

hi paradox,

my colleagues also just recommend me to eat the cheese sandwich .... yummy really tasty .. but I didnt use wholemeal bread ...i just use white bread .... you gals must defintely try ... even though I still throw up after eating ...but it still taste nice to eat ....

you are posting so fast that i am lost.... hehe

welcome ivy...
wow... i am planning to shift home... moving bed and etc... but cant be helped. Sigh

Putting on weight
I am big framed so worried that i will look like a whale so controlling my weight. hehe... vain mummy

Nice to hear all your sharing....
Will try the melted cheese with the wholemeal bread......
Just to share my experience, I was very thin before I delivered my 1st child (this April). Lost weight in the 1st trimester.... However I gained ard 14kg during my full-term and now I still need to shed ard 9kg before returning to my pre-preg weight; can you imagine that?

Currently, I'm ard 5-6 wks preg and this time round, I dare not snack too much.... Weight gained during preg is not really impt, the impt thing is that the weight goes to the baby and not yourself. Though I gained 14kg, but my boy was born v small - only 2kg. My colleague on the other hand, only gained ard 8kg but her baby was born 3kg......

Btw, I stayed at SK too... Compassvale St. I'm seeing Dr Adrian from TMC. His charges is v reasonable. Think $450 for the whole package (include consultation, scanning, urine test, folic acid & some vit tablets) and there's no limit to the no. of times you visited him. He's v responsible n caring too.... Also, he's generous with MCs hee hee.... Last yr, think I've taken too many mc, that's why this yr, will try to reduce...

lokie: i am big frame too, hubby was still laughing at me saying when my tummy grow full size, he cannot turn into the mt A carpark liao cause there is a slope, later i too heavy roll backward.
so mean hor

Hi Catherine,

Just being nosy , Have u told ur boss abt ur pregnancy yet? Coz I guess u just came back from 3 months maternity not too long ago ... wonder how ur boss take it when u break the news of your second pregnancy ...

Initallly I was quite worry when I break the news to my boss but luckily he is happy for me ... 8)

have u all start looking for maternity wear? since i am big frame before preg so most prob wont be able to fit in normal biggy sized clothes. i cant seem to find any nice one ard leh. any idea where to start shopping?

Hi Taurus,

Yah rite! I also think my next visit to the gynae which is a month away is a bit too long. But well, we got to trust our gynae rite? U know, sometimes i even wish i have such ultrascan machine at home such that i can do my own scanning and analysis everyday to see baby ok or not haha!

In fact i am far from a water tank before pregnancy. But in my 6th week or so, i realised i drank a lot of water, more than my normal consumption. I felt thirsty easily. But this week, i feel that my water consumption has dropped. i dun feel that thirsty anymore.

Hi Paradox,

What nick were u using in the oct03 brides thread? yah u are rite, i am Oct 03 bride
I have kept the same nick.

Hi bookworm,

I think the hormone is to support the growth of the baby, and most importantly it is in fact important to us ladies. We produce two types of hormones, oestrogen and progesterone. Males produce testoterone. We tend and need to produce more progesterone during pregnancy.
Hey, i threw all my biology knowledge into the drain liao. i studied before but forgot haha! No wonder i am now teaching physics which is nothing related to my pregnancy

Hi Twinkle Starry,

I can be your opposite at times. Crave for fried foods but i tried not to take too much as it is fattening. At times, i vomit at the sight of soupy foods as i find them too plain

And i realise now i have to drink soups which are really hot. Soups which have cooled down make me puke!

Can i check what is this cheese wholemeal bread? I dun seem to catch what it is, based on what has been posted. Pai seh!

catherine,

you are so near to me..you on the street and me on the link. maybe will arrange to meet you soon in the estate to share more experience!

lokie,
you shifting house? Then reno done liao? I am just worried about the hammering, nailing, painting etc...

Taurus,

Actually i love cheese, thats why i am big frame..My mum gave me eat a lot of cheese when i am young. But i stop when i hit twenties cos vain and wan to slim down. Guess we have to ignore the fat content and look at the calcium benefit of cheese...

Hi Milo66,

I am also thinking I may hv to start looking for maternity clothes early. With my big size and if the tummy starts showing earlier than 3 months, i got no more clothes.

Since my skirts are elastic, i m thinking get some tops to standby. Dun know where got nice one leh and i dun want to look like auntie .. must pretty sweet and cute lah...

hope no one is vomiting
317063.gif

twinkle-starry,

Just to check, did Dr Lee give you a tin of milk powder to sample? The wife ask me to try , if dun like then next visit give me something new to try..

Hi Milo,

I saw very nice maternity wear at kiddy palace (compasspoint SK). They cost around $50+. Perhaps i feel that the designs are more appropriate for my work as i already wear such designs to work normally. The only difference is the tying of ribbon at the back haha!

Any ladies know where to get cheaper and good ones?

Hi Ivy,
She did but i return to her bcos i cannot stand milk powder so I told her to take back and dun waste.

She did me some books and mags.

hehe wont vomit cause i also wanna look mei mei mah, my skirt are getting tighter and quite uncomfortable but maternity wear can be quite ex and i wanna save the money to buy bb stuff. thus diff to find nice and cheap

Ya loh, those clothing are so ex. if i can buy some and wear till delivery then good hor can save $$.

i think maybe dun buy too many lor just enough to survive for a week plus ... but like that keep repeating also sian right. How to mei mei.

milo66,

maybe can check with colleagues or frens? My office ppl are productive..We got a new bb every year. So sometimes i see the mummys sharing the maternity clothes...
But for me, must wait till we share the news and can ask around..

Hi KK,

hahah...you so cute..even more kua zhang then me ..having a ultrascan machine at home n scan urself ...haha ... agree that we must learn to relax and trust the gynae ...

Actually I have the same systoms as you ...during my 4 - 6 weeks of pregancy ..I keep feeling thirsty and drink lotsa water ... but recently also notice that my water consumption dropped ...

Hi KK,

Not sure if my cheese sandwich same as paradox's ... I put a piece of kraft cheese on top of a pce of bread and toast it in the oven for 5 min..... the bread will be a little crispy and the cheese melted ... really taste very yummy ....

Tarus

U are right. In fact, now I'm still on maternity every wed of the week (cos I take only 2 months, the last month (20 days) I spread it out for 6 months from the birth of my son. Guess my boss will scream n faint when i break the news to her haha....

Ivy

Ya sure, we can meet one of these days

Level 4 Compasspoint has a nursing room; that's so far our favourite cos we always feed our baby there...

For those looking for cheap maternity clothes, Chinatown market (next to CK) got few shops selling cheap dresses at $20 - $30 plus...

bookworm,
its truth that leak of hormone will caused to m/c.. this is also why i hv m/c in Mar.. Progestrone(P) its very impt for preggie woman to support whole pregnancy, normal rate of P need at least need 80..

for my this preg, blood test also show tat i m not enough of P.. so my gynae give me An Tai Yao (Ultrogestan, 6tablets per day) & twice jab per wk from my wk6 till wk11.. spend $1023 jus in 6wks time, also my butt jab till numb in the end.. but all of this worth it to me, at least bb nw stable n growing well..

Hi Taurus,

Ok, now i know what is cheese wholemeal sandwich
Recently what we did was we use butter and spread tuna and then toast using oven toaster. Guess it is fattening but i take it as breakfast without feeling nauseous.

Wow, u all real fast in posting msgs here!
Talking about maternity wear. There was one time when my colleague wore her mum's maternity dress! Can u imagine that? And it fits so well and looks trendy on her

Just to share...

Did your gynaes measure the length of the sac during the probe? Heard from him that the yolk or something like tat cannot exceed 0.5mm (hope i got it correct), else the chance of m/c is very high.

I think there are quite a number of maternity shops ard ... remember seeing one in marina square ... and prices quite reasonable ...but cannot remember the name coz tt time not pregnant yet..so didnt take notice ...

my friend just passed me a bagful of maternity clothing as she just given birth ... havent try out yet coz feel that too early to wear maternity dress now ...

Hi Ivy,

That's not what my gynae told me *puzzled*!!
He measured mine and said 0.3mm and he said it is growing well. He didn;t want it to exceed 0.5mm.

Hi KK,

My gynae did measure the size of sac and baby ...but did not say much ...just say that my baby is at the right size in terms of the number of weeks of pregnancy ....

Actually me very worried leh. How come all taken the blood test except me? *puzzled* In that case, how i know my P level up to standard or not? *more puzzled*

Hi KK,
some gynae may prefer to take at later stage. Why not try to ask him/her. I believe there must be a good reason for that .

I took my blood test on my 1st visit.