(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi Bulma

Glad to hear that
I also can't stand the milk taste. Ok, will drink soya bean milk and eat cheese instead. Thanks

Hi paradox,

So far I have been drinking HL Milk and soya bean milk but the most 2 glass per day ... 1 in the morning 1 before going to bed ... already thinking if its too fattening ... didnt wan to put on too much weight .... but recently cut down to 1 glass coz I feel stomach very bloated and I ever heard from GP that Milk will create wind in the stomach ....

hi all, i jus discover my pregnancy, now currently into my 5th weeks.. went for gynae checkup but think still early cant see the sac yet, will be going back next fri again. any1 went for checkup already?

Hi taurus

Agree, me oso try not to put on too much weight but for baby's sake, I'll eat cheese and drink soya bean milk lah

Hi milo

I went for my 1st gynae checkup on monday and saw my baby sac. Now looking forward to next appt to see bb's heartbeat

hi paradox

how many weeks are u at now? currently except for sore breast and stomach feels alittle funny, i am otherwise quite alright. MS has not come in yet.

Hi Milo,

I went for my 1st gynae checkup once I discover my pregnancy at 4th week. Only managed to see the yolk sac during 2nd visit at 5th week and saw the baby heart beat during 3rd visit at 6th week.

According to my gynae, MS usually hits the worst between 7 - 10 weeks ... me still getting MS on and off ...

Hi paradox,

Agree with you ... now I also very discipline ...very careful with what i eat .... and take all the supplements prescribe by gynae everyday .....

Hi milo

I'm in my 6th week now. Me also having sore breasts and a lot of wind in my stomach.

Is this your 1st pregnancy?

Hi milo
I am in the third week

I am not a milk person, i thought soya is not good? hmm...think i will start to drink more soya bean milk now.

let u gals know abt my 2nd visit tonight, sigh, second blood test..
did i tell u for the first visit, my gynae knew abt my history, sodid a scan by inserting into, u know, down there.
i hope he will not do it again

hi taurus,

thks! at first was quite panic that i cant see the sac on my 1st gynae visit. though i know still early but sigh...jus cant help worrying

hi paradox,

yup this is my first bb thus inexperience with alot of things, hope to learn and share here.

any idea can we eat the chicken organs? suddenly got cravings for that :p

My EDD is 21/5/2006, gynae is Dr H K Ho @ Mt A

Hi milo,

Hee... Actually I was like you during the first visit ... so worry when I cannot see anything ... and keep asking gynae whether any chances of false alarm ... coz hubby so excited and go round telling everyone that I am pregnant ... sikali false alarm will be so mah lu ...kekke.... luckily saw the yolk sac during the 2nd visit ...

Hi bookworm,

If I not wrong, its quite common to do the virginal scan during the 1st few visit especially when the pregnacy was detected vry early ... so far my 3 scan is all v. scan ... quite uncomfortable ... but the next visit will be the normal tummy scan

welcome milo66
dont worry, i'm sure it will turn out well... pray for you

have updated the list... hope that it is correct... my brains not working liao as i did not sleep well last night...

<table border=1><tr><td>Name </TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May</TD><TD>Dr. Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge </TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD>D. Fong Yang</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>7-May</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paradox</TD><TD>8-May</TD><TD>Dr. PW THONG</TD><TD>RH </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>21-May</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>lokie</TD><TD>24-May</TD><TD>SC CHEW</TD><TD>MT E </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bookworm</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>Dr. D. Ong</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

MS actually depends on individuals. I was hit quite badly... in hospital on drip... so let's keep our fingers crossed...

Hi milo
This is my 1st pregnancy too...so got lots to learn.

Hi taurus
Oic...the neurogain I'm taking is also fish oil pills.

Me too. My 1st scan was also a vaginal scan.

Hi lokie
Thanks for updating

huh, first few visits still gotta do v-scan? i was hoping my next visit can escape from it. that day he did the v-scan on me, my face like kana torture like that.

Hi milo,

haha...understand understand the feeling ... when is ur next visit? Mine will be end of next week ... I should be in my wk 9 then ... so finally can escape doing the V scan ... keke

I like u ...got carving for "kuay chap" and my fav is the pig intestine ... also comtemplating if I should eat or not ... mum say ok but hubby say NO ...*crying*****

Hi Taurus,

Have ar, during my 1st visit to the gynae, he did a v scan for me. I was apprehensive at 1st cos my fren told me v scan can be very uncomfy. And i told my dr frankly that i have a low threshold of pain. hehee... luckily he's quite gentle when he did the scan...and thank God, i didnt feel any discomfort at all!
so dun worry to all the MTBs who are going for their v scans... just rem to relax ur muscles and it wun be that bad afterall.. ;)

taurus

poor you restricted by hubby... I will blackmail mine and say... baby wants to eat.... lol

V-scan
well we have to do it right... if not how to see our ds/dd in their beginning stage?

Just to share my experience...

I went to the gynae on my 7th wks. She did a norm scan &amp; saw the sac immediately, there4 i've escape the v scan, fortunately. I read frm somewhere that if u wan to see the sac using the norm scan, keeping a full bladder might help.

hi lokie,

hahah ... now I also ... alot of things will say baby wants not me ... kekek ... but certain things I will listen lor ... coz the most important is our BB health ... so wont insist if I find the things I want to eat is not too healthy

angel,

hehe i read from somewhere also that keeping a full bladder helps to see the sac easier. guess wat happen to me? i went with a full bladder but the gynae still wanna do v-scan, ended up, so uncomfy cause wanting to pee. silly girl!

i heard cant eat peanuts. any logic behind? there are alot of old folk tales which i find funny but still gonna keep to it coa better be safe than sorry

hi all mtb..

First of all, congra to all mtb esp feel happy to see bookworm also here.. how r u nw??

me jus kpo abit.. my gynae told me that dun take any soya bean leh.. its something not good to womb.. so i din take any at all..

hi loving

cant take soya products in excess as some people think that it causes some abnormality in some baby boys...
then again all the veg baby boys i know turn out right...
it all depends. i once read a research somewhere that soya stuff cause sterility in male rats... then again its in male rats.

So the bottom line is it all depends on you... take things in moderation.

peanuts... hmmm... i know that when we bf cant take peanuts though

i tested positive with clearblue this morning. i have missed my period for only 6 days. if i visit gynae now,how will he confirm the pregnancy?

Hi anastasia,

Usually the gynae will do a scan for u ... to scan for the yolk sac .. but if u only 6 days late ... might be too early to see ... if cannot c ...they will arrange u to come back another week to scan again ...

thanks, Taurus!
i also think the scan cannot see anything. problem is i had slight diarrhoea over the past few week but it has stopped. not sure if this is of any concern.

Hi Ladies!

I am also a May MTB. Early May.
Initially supposed to be late April MTB, but visited the gynae for 2nd visit yesterday and he adjusted the EDD
By the way, mine is 7.8 weeks now.

My Gynae is Dr Lim TC and i haven't decided on the hospital yet - Mt Alvernia, Gleaneagles or Thomson. Any suggestions?

For my last 2 visits, i had the probe too. i dun like the uncomfy like some of us here. Luckily my third visit which is a month later from now will be the normal scan. Needs a full bladder too.

Yah, i have to give up a lot of food for the time being. No choice
I have to give up my favourites like Salmon (especially sashimi), half boiled eggs, salad, coleslaw, mutton, crabs, etc etc.

And i realise i also dun take cuttlefish, squids, and most other seafood except fish. i take less prawns too.

I heard to avoid cheese. Do u all do that?? because of this, i have to avoid pizza and cheesecake too!!

I normally buy soya bean drink from supermarkets and drink cold. But since i avoid cold foods, i have stopped taking soya bean drink. I have always been drinking milk from milk powder every morning. But i find that it causes me morning sickness ever since last week so i have avoided it in the morning, replaced by other breakfast. I only drink one cup of milk every night recently. Perhaps i should start having another cup in the afternoon too!

Anastasia,
Why not u visit a family clinic first? Test with their urine test kit and if it shows positive, the GP will tell u more or less its confirmed. Then u engage a gynae after that. That's what i did two weeks back
But what the GP can tell u is roughly how many weeks old as it is only based on ur last menstrual cycle date. A more detailed date can be only informed when the probe is done by the gynae

welcome kk,

thanks for the info. Avoid cheese? i thought to take more cheese?
U mean we cannot take mutton, any reasons?
I am also not a milk person, feel like puking when i drink.

Hi bookworm!

I read a book which is given by my gynae and it did mention no soft cheese or semi-soft cheese such as Brie or Danish Blue as they may contain bacteria. But i wonder whether it is ok if it is cheesecake or pizza since the cheese is fully cooked? Anyway come to think of it, i avoid pizza also because there are pineapple chunks on it and pineapple should not be taken now.

I do heard sliced cheese sold in supermarket is ok, such as kraft or chesdale. Anyway i dun have the habit to take cheese in this form.

Oh, the older generation believe if we take mutton, the child will "fa yang dian" next time.

Another thing, i also avoid coconut products. So no nonya kuey for me too. But i realise i can't resist curry although it contain coconut. I find that i have temptation for spicy foods recently. Somehow there is a change in taste buds.

By the way Ladies, happy Mooncake Festival and hope we have a great time with our families

wow, whats the title of the book? I am also looking for a pregnacy book to purchase.
Anyway, what type of fruits are u eating now?
I was told, no watermelon, pineapple, oranges,banana, papaya then i wonder what is left?
for veggies, no baicai, and salted veggie also no hotdog.

This is also my 1st time preggie and i went for 1st chkup with gynae but cant see anything when he did the v scan. It shd be my 6 wks now, based on my last menses date. Thus gynae says may be less than 6 wks cos i hv irregular menses thus basing on date might not be accurate. Another reason might be etopic pregnancy. I m v worried now. Can anyone tell me more abt etopic preg? Or hv someone ever facing same problem (cant see sac wk 6) but turn out well? I will go for next visit two wks later. Reali worried and depressed now, not sure how to endure these two wks.

hi bookworm,

i will recommend this book "What To Expect When You Are Expecting". I really find the contents of the book very informative! It will detail things like what can we expect our bodies to be like at different months..what food to take..what not to take..and alot of useful FAQs.

The book costs $21. Its sold at major bookstores like Kino, Borders &amp; MPH. Good buy!

Babe99,
"Ectopic pregnancy is when your fertilized egg is implanted outside the uterus, usually in the fallopian tubes". -> As quoted in the above book i mentioned. Do you have persistent sharp pains in your lower abdomen?? Bleeding/spotting? If yes, better quickly visit your gynae to do a scan/blood test. Meanwhile try to rest well for these 2 weeks. Try not to be too stressed up as its not good for the baby and yourself...

Update us ok?

i guess for MTBs who are scared of the milk taste, my mother just told me a 'secret recipe' to curb this phobia. She says can add abit of honey to the milk to neutralise the taste. She used this method when she was expecting me, and she can downed her milk without puking. Maybe its worth a try??

I havent try this method yet..cos so far i'm still alright with the taste of my dependable HL milk.

hi bookworm

personally, i find dr ho quite alright. he gave me the "i am safe in your hand" feeling but somehow feel that the fees are on the high side.

have u decide on your gynae already?

babe99: i am in the same case as u too though i am currently in mt 5th week. cant see the sac on my first gynae visit as well and on and off, have mild cramping. i am worried that it could be ectopic as well but was looking at the bright side cause at least no bleeding or spotting. 2 of my friends who had ectopic preg has got bleeding. will be going for my next visit this fri, hopefully can see the sac

just went to see the gynae. gynae confirmed that i'm 5 weeks pregnant too... my EDD has now been adjusted fr late apr to late may...

used the v-probe...felt farnie...but wat to do? saw the yolk sac...gynae said to go back in 2 wks time for another scan...she said to confirm that the egg will really be fertilised and grow into a foetus...her words gave me many sleepness nites. ;-(

hi babe,
i faced similar problems. based on calculations, i shld be 8 wks pregnant...but in the end, i'm only 5 wks. i also have irregular menses...so i guess u shld be lesser than 6 wks...coz if u r in 6 wks pregnancy, u shld be able to see the sak. anyway, i know the kinda of worried feeling that you are experiencing. i'm going thru' that now too.

welcome ino...

seems like i am in the same case as you guys as my af is really mad and erratic... going for my checkup with hubby this fri and wonder if i can see anything and if my edd will be pushed back... keeping my fingers crossed...

hi ino,loving, bebe 99 &amp; kk.... would you ladies share your joy with us by informing us more about your edd, and etc, then we update list so that we can keep each other in the loop... thanks.

hi Sponge

I got that book, but i am looking for local writers.

milo
I got a gynae too, but i like him a lot but he is on a high side too.Delivers at Mt E. So i was thinking of switching to him at the later stage, perhaps after 1st trimster.

bookworm, mind sharing with me the fee so that we can have a better idea of the price. consultation was $80, then did a v-scan, urine test and give me some folic acid, total abt $150. urs abt the same?

milo66 (milo66)
$263.55 for th first visit, consultation, v-scan, blood test, dupston mediciation.
$97 for blood test 2nd visit.
tonight is the 3rd visit for the review of blood test and consultation.
but my case slighlt different from urs.

HI Ladies,

Morning! Wow seems like we have more and more May MTBs joining us ... welcome welcome!!

Sign ... my MS getting from bad to worse .. been throwing up quite badly for the passed few days ... now got phobia taking anything as will throw up watever I take ... sign ...

By the way , according to my gynae, its ok to take watever food in small quantites ... coz I love watermelon but according to alot of ppl ... watermelon is consider "cooling" but my gynae say 1 or 1/2 slice is ok but not too much ...

Hi Babe99,

Dun worry too much about not seeing the sac now .. maybe like wat others say, if you are havng irregular AF , the no of weeks might not be accurate ..

Hi milo,

I have the same worry as u when I cannot see the sac during my 1st visit ... but mine was worst .. spotting and bad cramps and was told by some gals from other thread that might be etopic pregnancy and I was so so worreid ... but luckily managed to see the yolk sac during the 2nd visit ... so dun worry too much ... all th best for ur nest visit to the gynae ...

hi bookworm

there is this book called, From mother to Mother, by Keiko Oshima. this book is written with the Singaporean context in mind. You can consider this. i got it from kino, family section.

Milk
i fear becoming too fat so i have not started 4 glasses of milk, anyway, milk causes wind in my tummy then i burp all the time and its so uncomfortable.

Hi Babe99, dun worry i m like you , cannot see the sac and suspect ectopic too. last week i can see the sac grown so much over the 1 week and now confirmed normal pregnancy. u must rest more.

Hi Taurus, I thought i m the oldest as all my friends at my age already given birth at least to one. i m same age as you
316383.gif

Hi Lokie, my EDD is 7th May and Dr is C.W Lee. hospital TBC

My EDD is ard 23 May and now ard 5 wks preg.
In fact, I've just delivered my son in 30 April 05 and was really shocked to find myself preg again. At first, I did thought about abortion as I was scared that i cannot cope with 2 young kids physically, mentally, emotionally and financially. But close friends and my hubby was not supportive of the idea....

I would be seeing my gynae in 2 weeks time. My gynae was Dr Adrian Woodworth from TMC. He was really a great and v responsible person. My first kid was delivered by him through emergency c-section and i would be definately looking for him again for my 2nd preg.....

okay... an update so far...

<table border=1><tr><td>Name </TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May</TD><TD>Dr. Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge </TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD>D. Fong Yang</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>7-May</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>starry</TD><TD>7-May</TD><TD>CW Lee</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paradox</TD><TD>8-May</TD><TD>Dr. PW THONG</TD><TD>RH </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>21-May</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>23-May</TD><TD>Dr.Woodworth</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>lokie</TD><TD>24-May</TD><TD>SC CHEW</TD><TD>MT E </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bookworm</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>Dr. D. Ong</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>loving</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>Lim TC</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>bebe99</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi catherine
am sure you can cope with 2 young bundle of joy... this means that your baby is about 1 year apart... i salute to you... how is your no 1 doing?

Hi t-starry
welcome...

taurus
hmmm.... i hate ms too... wish i can skip this phase. It will peak then ebb off thank God!! but then, we know that the baby is growing well.