(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

ET,

So coincident. My gal fell from my bed too onto the platform yesterday during her afternoon nap. I placed her in the centre of my King size bed n yet she managed to roll all the way to the edge. I heard a loud cry when I was in the kitchen cooking lunch. When rushed to the room, she was oredi laying on her tummy on the platform. Haiz, I have actually placed 2 pillows beside my bed as a precaution. But yet she fell onto the space in between the bed n pillow. Luckily she only has redness on her forehead n knees. My hubby joked saying my gal not hurt mayb bcoz she has got too much fat liao so able to cushion her.

So hope all mommies here take our incidents as a lesson n take necessary precautions.

bblim,

I had a frightening experience when my ger was going to 3rd mth. Imagine she fell off from the sofa. She must have kicked and kicked until she fell off and landed on her tummy. She cried until so pitiful and i felt so guilty then. From then onwards, we always place her on mattress on the floor. We only place her on the bed when we are around watching her.

Being in the teaching line, i feel that we dun need to wait till our babies grow up get married then leave us. Once they start their secondary school education, it seems like the bond with the kids with their parents gradually gets weaker, especially for parents who are working. Pretty pathetic. Whatever they go through, parents dunno. That is how they suffer from peer influence, and eventually learn all the bad ways.

Tink we have to be really careful nowadays since our babies are going thru the flipping/ crawling stage (amber alert). If not, they sure receive a lot of 'ang pao' even b4 CNY.;P

Hmm.. think we got to be more careful these days.. bblim, I used to think it is ok to put my girl in the centre of our king size bed too.. didnt think that she can roll so far to the edge.. but after hearing about you guys' incidents. have taken extra precaution to put my girl in her cot whenever we are not ard to wath her or I put her on her playmat, rocker or exersaucer when shes awake.. have also lowered her cot liao

after reading abt so many of ur babies fell, I think I shld take precaution. My girl sleeps with us in the night (in the middle). But when my hb work night shift, I use pillows to block her from falling down as I realise that she will even try to flip or roll in her sleep. At the moment, she only knows how to flip to her right. So I place a bb boaster at her right side so that she can't flip. But occasionally, I still have to wake up to check on her.

Good morning Ladies

Cheona, please update for me. Jaslynn is 7.28kg at 5 mths.

Cheers~

mom_yam,
definately my mum can't stay with me in Sing... For MIL wise, i dont wish to stay with her.......i rather wait for another year...then bring my gal to here... Hopefully she can get use to the environment here.

BB flip---fall down:
errrr...think if my gal fall down...and IL never report to us...we oso dont know...
when go back...must check my gal throughly...

ssgal,
when u descript about ur gal, why dont u post ur gal pix here...so everyone can enjoy her cuteness...can't wait to see ur cutie gal gal...

RE: Flipping
My gal just started to roll over from back to tummy on Sat. She did it twice and both times, we were lying beside her and didn't even noticed that she was turning. Yesterday, she got the hang of it and was turning whenever she had the chance. She's several days to 5mth old. Twinkle, think your boi should be turning soon.

RE: Baby Fall down
Really must take extra precaution. better to let them sleep on mattress on floor or in cot since they flipping now. My ang already so nervous, keep warning and nagging me not to put her sleep on our bed if I'm not with her. Even more kan chiong spider than me.....

RE: menses
My menses return today. ARGH! why why why so fast? starting to feel a bit abdominal discomfort liao, reminds me of my pre-preg menstual cramps. Pad-free days going to be over...

Hi gals, wonder how can bb roll down bed if they can only flip from back to tummy? Once they are up on tummy dont they juz stay there?

RE:Menses
I've been having abdominal cramps but no menses yet. Is that the pre-signs? Only have the usual yellow white discharge

Oooo...really ah... =S

Anyway gals since all of u started weaning, can tell this inexperienced mum how to do it? Do we let bb try out food b4 or after her milkfeed? For puree to be frozen, freeze when pipiing hot or let it cool to room temp first? How to warm up frozen puree? At which stage should we replace milkfeed and how much solids to give each time?

Sianz...I'm down wif flu...feeling so sick..think ms also drop as a result

hi everyone, me feeling better today, thanks for all yr support

someone mentioned want to buy bed guard. isetan hving special offer 18-22 sept, weekday only safety 1st bed rail S$29.90 UP $72. at isetan katong, tampines, scotts while stocks last

Good Afternoon mummies,

ET - i had a wonderful time in Bintan. 1st i get to watch babies sea turtles being freed to the sea which is only 2 to 3 years once depending on the mother turtle which shore to choose. and we are so lucky the turtle are being freed at our beach
the last batch will be hatch on 29th September - u may wish to try heehee

the place is nice although a bit old but everything is in good condition. u can buy food and cook there (which i forgot to bring my foods) lucky my sis bought luncheon meat, tuna, breads etcs. if not, my bkf will be expensive hahaha. u can bring yr own dvds there to watch.

Advice is bring yr own food /tibits there and make light meals and tea / coffee / drinks / wines coz' not provided.

Advice to bring the mosquitoes patch. although me and my son did not kanna bitten but just in case la.

I really had a super good time! see the photo - my son's very 1st swim.
518321.jpg

RE: Flipping & Falling from Bed
My boy started to roll over from back to tummy last 2 week liao and i didn't realize it until he is on the floor.... I put him in the center of my bed and just went to the kitchen to fetch water to clean him than i heard a loud sound and JJ crying. Next day bought him to KK Hospital coz he got some vomiting but lucky, he is okay but just got some virus and that's the reasons for vomitting. He will turn whenever he had the chance so really got to be more careful liao. Nowaday, i will put him in the playpen whenever i am not by his side...

sggal,
Great to know that you are feeling better.... take care

mom_yam,
Your boy seems to enjoy so much... i bring JJ go for swim and he too enjoy alot but i accidentaly deleted all the photo in my camera so cannot load here to share... so envy to see your boy photo and the way he enjoy himself...

sggal,
Aiyah, I brought my bed guard on Saturday lah. Too late.

babe,
I have not introduce solid food to my bb yet, I am still waiting. Another 3 more weeks to go before he turn 6 month.

My bb has flip successfully for 3 time only, all at my mom place. He is too lazy to learn how to flip because he just need to scream and I will pick him up. *sign*

Babe,
to ur questions:
1.<font color="0000ff">Do we let bb try out food b4 or after her milkfeed?</font>
Both also can. But if baby is very hungry, she will want her usual milk and not something unfamiliar. She will be more settled after feed to try licking some cereal. However, if she's very full after feed, she may not want to take the cereal too. So, as a start, maybe best to introduce in the middle of the feed, when she's not too hungry or full.

Because I latch on, I give her semi-solid in between her milk feeds, eg. 11am BM, 12pm cereal/puree, 1.30pm BM.

2.<font color="0000ff">For puree to be frozen, freeze when piping hot or let it cool to room temp first?</font>
Let cool first.

3.<font color="0000ff">How to warm up frozen puree?</font>
What I do is I put it in a samll porcelain bowl with cover and steam it hot. You can use microwave too, but remember to stir thorough after microwave in case of unheated pockets.
Serve as lukewarm or cool.

4.<font color="0000ff">At which stage should we replace milkfeed and how much solids to give each time?</font>
A standard food cube is about 3 teaspoon or 15ml. Let your baby lead you in how much she takes. Start with 1 food cube and you can increase after your baby's appetite for solids improve. You can increase the amount up to 5 tablespoon of cereal for a full feed (this is a guide only). Substituting feed shall come around 6 months, for lunch and dinner times. By this age, would probably be taking porridge liao.

chenoa, thanks so much..envy u being a SAHM...wish I can do all these for my gal.

Hmm...I still puzzled abt rolling down the bed. Do bb know how to flip from tummy to back once they know how to do back to tummy? Coz mine can't roll only know how to prop herself up from back to tummy

babe

For my girl, she rolled only once.. and luckily she was on her play mat.. prior to that she didnt know how to roll at all... and it has been 2 weeks since and she has not rolled again.. so just be your on guard cos you will never know when they will start rolling..

babe - most babies start to flip 1 way 1st. Once they leart that then they will move onto the reverse flipping.

once they can flip onto stomach, they have the tendency to move their backside like sliding motion....then they slide and slide and slide...and then thump down the bed.

J already knows how to flip both ways so he can roll instead of flip. So he is ban from my bed already. Yesterday he roll from one end to the other of a single mattress which we placed on the floor.

buying blender
Any one of you use a blender to puree BB's food? If yes, do you use handheld type or the type that people use to blend chilli or make milk shake?

Intending to buy one but not sure what works best.

Any brand/model to recommend?

Babe,
hahaha....I wish I'm working....

BTW, I don't make purees to freeze anymore. I just make enough for 1 feed and any extra, I'll finish it off. I like baby food.
very natural and yummy! So far, she had tried: apple, pear, banana, papaya, carrot and potato.

RE;Blender
I'm using the no brand type that you see salesman promoting outside NTUC or shopping centres / neighbourhood shops. Alreay had a complete set (consist: motor, big blender, small blender and a grinder) - see photo. Recently bought another small blender for $8 (w/o the motor - the brown one in front, LHS - just for baby puree. Works fine. Bought at Bedok Central, can buy items separately.
518586.jpg

Babe,
hahaha....I wish I'm working....

BTW, I don't make purees to freeze anymore. I just make enough for 1 feed and any extra, I'll finish it off. I like baby food.
very natural and yummy! So far, she had tried: apple, pear, banana, papaya, carrot and potato.

RE;Blender
I'm using the no brand type that you see salesman promoting outside NTUC or shopping centres / neighbourhood shops. Alreay had a complete set (consist: motor, big blender, small blender and a grinder) - see photo. Recently bought another small blender for $8 (w/o the motor - the brown one in front, LHS - just for baby puree. Works fine. Bought at Bedok Central, can buy items separately.
518588.jpg

1sttimemum, what you have seen is a after lot of trauma and effects then he finally get to relax. I have to be very patient and intro him into the water very very slowly Hiaz!!!

Starting he was so scare that he cry non stop and cling on me and me this mama have become his tree and he is the he koala bear. haha!! thanks to my hb la, he thot during bathing time Isaac was having so much fun in the tub, so swimming shouldnt be a prob. end up this poor boy's poo poo turns GREEN. So i believe the start of the swim must have frightened him badly.

Photos - Aiyo! so wasted.. never mind la you can bring JJ to swim swim again and take some shots for him again lor.

Flipping - once the bb learns how to flip NEVER NEVER leave them alone unless they are in the cot / playpen.

I realise even walker also a prob, my son tried walking on his walker and i found him underneath my study table. Also needs to be careful on that bbs seems to hide in places.. so funny dunno why.

Mel,

For puree i use fruit blender - Philip. i have never frozen any puree at this pt of moment. usually make for Isaac and the rest in my tummy :p

Something to share, I'm very happy in this trip, found out a lot of things that my son has done for the 1st time.

Like holding biscuit on his own and eats it by himself as well as holding his bottle while drinking milk.

Also, now he knows how to find his pacifier and pop it to his mouth.
happy happy!

wow hunniepot! Amanda is very good!!! she can sit upright by herself. Isaac "tries" to sit but mission failed coz' he tend to slop to sideway :s

anyone kws whether bb at 6mths can go hosipital see another bb? coz' i planning to bring isaac to see my frd's new born and she is now still pushing hee hee

mom_yam

Hehe.. Amanda always slop sideways whenever she tries to sit but surprisingly she could sit on her own for about 2 mins yesterday.. quickly snapped pics and took a video of her.. quite funny.. she was sitting up nicely throughout the video and towards the end of the video, she just fell on her back like humpty dumpty..

Think shld be ok bah.. will bring my girl to hospital to see another baby if any of my friends give birth

thanks hunniepot, coz' had a strong arugement with my hb coz' i insist bring isaac while he thinks otherwise :p hee hee

Mrs Ho, wow! i have 3 new born bbs this mth... 1 already gave birth 2 weeks back, 1 stil pushing out at this moment.. and 1 anytime will be in the pushing ward.

i start to my preggie time hahaha

OMG... Armanda now can sit up!

Tat's fast, Hunniepot..

Xuanting nowadays dun like to flip anymore. She prefers to do "bouncing" act. VE not let her alone on the bed without my eyes contact. Don't want her to fall off bed.

Even she lying on sofa I am paranod tat i dun dare to move away though she sleeps on sofa. But I can't move her elsewhere... she simply loves sleeping on sofa in daytime.

<font color="ff6000">babe</font>
banana and papaya can just be mashed, if you find it too chunky, can add some milk. ripe bananas are best, even those with some brown bits are ok according to my PD.

<font color="ff6000">re: flipping and rolling</font>
yah must really be careful when yr bb can roll. K has been rolling for 2wks now, can't leave her alone anywhere! even on the floor, i left her on her bumper playmat the other day and when i came back 5mins later, she had rolled to the opp corner of the room!!!

both my mom and dad have been telling me since K was 3mths not to leave her on the bed or any high surface cos apparently my dad left me in the middle of their king sized bed when i was a bb (almost 30yrs ago!!) and i rolled off when he went to answer the phone. best part is, he was so guilty that he only told my mom about this recently when warning me not to leave K alone!!!

from breastfeeding.com

<font color="0000ff">I have a cold/flu, with nasal congestion, sore throat and headache. Is there anything I can take to relieve my symptoms?

When looking for medicine for cold or flu symptoms, look for something that says "Non-drowsy formula." Otherwise this type of medication usually contains antihistamines--something that breastfeeding mothers should avoid, since they can decrease milk supply. Also it is best to avoid time-release medications. Instead, buy the strength that you need to take again after 4-6 hours. Time-release medications do not always go into the bloodstream (from which milk is made) in evenly-released doses.

Also, check with local pharmacists. They are usually a wonderful but often-forgotten source of knowledge for breastfeeding women.

While you are sick, drink plenty of fluids, get extra rest, and keep nursing your baby. You may notice your milk supply decrease while you are sick. That is a normal response to physical stress (illness). As you get your rest and get well, your supply should come back up. Hope you feel better soon!

Cher Sealy, RN, BSN, IBCLC, LLLL</font>

Wow so many posts to catch up, just got chance to come in

Chenoa,
hee... many ple say he is heavy so i guess flipping come later. My menses back long time liao and i had mild cramps. So the myth tat having cramps b4 preggie will hv no more cramps later seem not for me lor.

mel-lim,
i hv a philip blender but never use b4. Those huge one type and now thinking of getting something small and easy for making his food. Dun need to bring the whole set out everytime i make his food.

babe,
i feed him cereals first then milk immediately. i scared if feed milk then he is full already and dun wan cereals.

Mom_yam,
he seems enjoying his swim. look so comfty on his holidays

Hunni,
Amanda looks so grow up sitting up like tat. like those gals getting ready for those glamour camera shot.

Babe,
banana and papaya are no-cook foods, can just mash with fork or for finer texture, I press through a sieve. Boiled potato also mash. No need to puree cos it's very starchy. If puree, will be very sticky and you will need to add lots of fluid.

Hi Mui, thanks for the info. Really helpful.

Chenoa,
Heehee..okidokiez...will start in 2-3wks when my gal nearer 6 mth to let her try foodiez...these days she will stare at us eat dinner...

my menses is also back since last mth. No pain for me but a bit uncomfortable at the abdominal area. Also a bit tired. 1st one lasted a week and this mth only lasted 4 days.

momyam,

how come u so fast back liao? u only go 2D1N ah...aiyo Isaac must have a wonderful time in Bintan...he so comfortable like wanna fall asleep liao leh..haha...I feel like going immediately..haiz but fully booked leh.

Hi gals...muar's back.

So much to catch up here...

Heard some of you mentioned abt babies falling...

Yup...Brendon had his first experience abt a month ago. We were all sleeping peacefully when suddenly I heard a 'bong' and he started crying...up to now, we're still puzzled over how he fell.

Had an amusing experience today, we brought him to Junction 8 Cafe Cartel for dinner. Set him in the baby high chair offered by them. First he hold the front rail and started to bite, we removed his hands. Then he went for the left rail, we removed his hands again and placed him nearer to the table. And guess what...he lunged for the edge of the table and started biting!!!

Do your darlings also go around biting everything in sight?

My hubby said he machiam the walking zombies from the movie 'Land of the Dead', going around biting everything...