(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

mashy, so u not working today? take care yah... poor caeden.. i think i read in dunno which mag say ear infection must v careful lei can cause death or wat... so scary.... aiyo b mummy so stressful everything worry and scare... haizzz

someone said eat hou ning can cure phlegm izzit? thinking of buying to let my boy eat liao if really helps... really helpless w him meh... since he borned, i dunno alr spend how much on his medical .. pocket big hole meh

mashy: i tink is the babycenter email.. i look for it then try to send u k...

bulma: yes.. Hou ning treat phlegem super effective one.... i always have one bottle at home one....
tat time we mention tat u say ur hubby dun like all those stuff rite... u should buy and let Jarren try.. it really helps......Dun worry la... he will recover soon....

bulma,
i agree...being parent really not easy.
very stressful. my mum also v stressful taking care JH cos she says she's my dd so more stressful than taking care of us last time.
anything happen to bb, will be v stress....

haiz..i prefer life w/o children...so carefree

ya then finally thk my hb also helpless liao he yest tell me alr spend so much $ on him and also hospitalised liao yet stil no recover so he say he willing to try e medi u gals mention selling at yu ren seng... then i tell him is hou ning... so he say just go and buy let him try ... bo pian... haha... think i go compass point to buy tis weekend or tml after work.

what FM do u recommend me to change to ah? i dun thk i wan similac cos when he newborn, he drank similac then heaty for him... mayb try enfalac hor...

not sure izzit milk powder prob lei... bochap, yr gal drink dumex step 2 also phlegmy? ilim, yrs lei? amanda, yrs lei?

bulma: ya lor.. give it a try... but dun give too much per time.. normally if Xin ru got phelgem, i give in a row 3 days she will recover... 1 bottle can last about 4 times.. tis one cannot give too much k... cause it's very strong....
I personally feel tat the FM should not be the main cause leh... I give her drink Mamex since birth... then since birth she already got lots of phlegem le... then after few months, her phlegem reduces and gradually not so much liao.. and i din change FM before....
U give birth to Jarren by natural birth or c-section??

smiley: i agree w u at times tat sometimes life w/o bb is great... hehe even me, a baby/children lover tinks in tis way.. haha
but when i tink back some woman not able to feel this kind of life and i should be blessed tat i am able to... hehe :p

Amanda,
u wan to buy the bulk? I didnt give elvin dumex but i did register with them so able to order the bulk purchase. If u need let me knw i help u to order.

Bulma,
maybe can also try change formula. I use to give elvin similiac then he also alot of phlegm. After change to enfac he gets better though still got phlegm but alot better liao.

Some babies just dun suit a particular brand. SO u need to trial..Now jarren moew then 6 mths should be on step 2 liao so u can other brand sample and let him try loh.

Mashy,
take gd care..Have u take Caeden for the pneumococcal jab? That is to prevent ear infection and meningitis rite?

mashy,
Oh dear... I hope Caeden is ok now.
Its double stress for you to juggle between new work and sick baby. U hv to take care.

How can I tell if my baby has an ear infection?

It can be difficult to tell, but if your child has a cold and then gets a fever about three to five days later, it may be caused by an ear infection. She may also tug at her ear or be out-of-sorts. Sucking and swallowing can also hurt, so if your baby starts to feed and then pulls away from your breast or a bottle, seemingly in pain, see your GP.

What causes them?
The problem starts in the Eustachian tube, which connects the middle ear to the back of the nose and throat and transports bacteria from there to the middle ear whenever you yawn or swallow. That's fine as long as the tube is in working order; a healthy Eustachian tube lets the fluids drain back out. But if the tube is swollen due to a cold, allergy, or sinus infection, the fluid becomes trapped in the middle ear. Now any bacteria or viruses living in the fluid have a warm, wet environment in which to flourish; pus develops, and pressure on the eardrum causes it to bulge and become inflamed, a condition known as acute otitis media. Fever appears as your child's body attempts to fight the infection.

Another reason children are susceptible to ear infections is that their Eustachian tubes are short and horizontal. As a child grows up, the tube will triple in length from half an inch/1.25 centimetres to 1.5 inches/3.8 centimetres. It will also become more vertical, reducing the likelihood of infection.

Treatment with antibiotics -- usually Amoxicillin -- will wipe out the germs, but the fluid may take up to three months to be reabsorbed by the body. Fluid alone may not require medical attention, but if your child has the symptoms of an ear infection, such as a fever, it would be a good idea to call your GP.

What will increase the likelihood that my child will develop an ear infection?

Several factors can increase the risk of ear infections, including allowing your child to drink his bottle lying down and exposure to cigarette smoke. Children under one year of age who spend time in nurseries are more likely to suffer ear infections, as they're exposed to more colds, which can lead to more ear infections. Heredity may also play a role: if you had numerous ear infections as a child, your baby is more likely to get them, too. Breastfeeding helps to prevent ear infections.

Are ear infections serious?

They can be, and they can cause babies and their parents a lot of pain. A severe or untreated infection can break the eardrum and flood the ear canal. Although this happens very rarely, it's important to ask your GP to examine your child's ear if you think she may have an infection. Repeated ear infections can also lead to hearing loss, and while the eardrum heals well, repeated infections can cause scarring. This also happens in a relatively small number of cases, but it's important to stop repeated mild ear infections developing into severe infections to prevent possible long-term damage to your child's hearing.

While your baby is in the throes of an ear infection, you may find yourself staying up all night with a wailing child, making several trips to the GP and to the chemist for medicines, and worrying whether repeated ear infections will lead to hearing loss. All of this can be very stressful.

What does it mean if I see pus oozing from the ear canal?

The appearance of pus or bloody-yellowish fluid indicates the development of a small hole in the eardrum, which will usually heal by itself, but you should call your GP.

Amanda,
Ic.. all along I tot only for lung infection. Anyway will give Jayden the jab after 2 year old.

My girl will be taking next mth. I hope she won't scream down the whole clinic.

babycutie

U wanna let Jayden wait so long? I wish I had gotten Caeden for the jab early then won't have this prob. It's a risk u take lor. According to my PD, he said he got patients who died from it. And very fast. So, i very kan cheong now.

bbcutie: i learned from my PD tat the jab actualli cover a few illness leh... at few of those mao mo yan, fei yan those got yan kind of illness ah...

smiley: tat i not very sure le...

mashy: better give him the jab after he recover from the infection... i tink tis jab is start the earliest is better....

mashy,
My girl oso have not take the jab yet leh. Now she is in CC liao so we better let her take the jab.

As for my boy, we seldom bring him out and the CC my girl is attending only take in children from 2 years old. So will let him take after 2 years old. Because we intend to put him there when he turns 2.

Mashy
YJ also fever this morning, at noon time, nanny called us, she was 38.5deg. When nanny n HB sent her to GP she oredi 39.7deg... xia shi wo men le!
So GP put bullet for her to lower the temp n said that she got virus.
Tonight still got to wake her up to give fever medicine. Poor girl!

siewlng

Oh no! That's very high! U didn't have any paracetamol on standby? I always give to the infant care as standby, in case got fever. What virus is that? What other symptoms are there? Coz my boy only fever, so had to check urine too to rule out UTI.

Mashy
Nanny gave her Carpo (I think spell like tat). But fever still go higher.
Dunno wat virus. How to tell? No blood test leh.

<font color="ff0000">Mashy</font>
I hope Caeden gets well soon. AFter Annika's bout of illness, I am extremely exhausted. I believe she must have suffered alot too. Finally I can see the smile in her.

<font color="ff0000">Scratching of ear</font>
Annika also seems to scratch/tug at her ears very often, sometimes till the inside bleeds. I wonder what is bothering her, or she is just warm and hence irritated. She seems to be always tugging at her ears and hair.

MAshy
i guess maybe tat is common answer from a GP.
It was noon time, we got to rush her to the nearby clinic, no time to wait till 2pm for her PD

Sunshinekid

U better get Annika's ears checked if she have fever. My boy also tugged his ears. Tugging ears could mean teething or ear infection. Sorry, now I'm very paranoid.

Bulma
Keagan was drinking Friso previously then chg to Dumex when he's abt 3mths plus. Still have alot of phlegm leh.

Mashy
U take care n, Caeden will get well soon.

i have already decide to take elvin for the pneumococoal jab when he is 7mth old. Although he will not be gg childcare but we do not wan to take the risk.

For your info:
the pneumococoal jab can help to prevent
1) Meningitis
2) Pneumonia
3) Blood &amp; Ear infection

i saw a article b4 that 1 of the prevent for Bronchitis is ask to take hte jab.

The pneumococoal jab is highly recommend for
- children who is going to attend childcare
- kids younger than 5 yrs
- has history of middle ear infectiom
whose are expose to 2nd hand cigarette smoke
- suffering from chronic illiness

jappooh
jarren take 1st jab of pneumococal liao then sick til so jialut so hvnt go tk 2nd jab

bochap, mashy, sunshinekid..... we must all jia you! but i alr too tired liao til wanna cry... these few days luckily hb helps to be the one to attend to him for his puff and medi in middle of nite so i can sleep slightly better...

amanda
PD also tells me dun b stupid and believe pple say milk powder can cause phlegm haha that's why i till now stil no change milk powder but recently see him lk dat i too helpless ruan ruan believe anything liao hehe

Dear Mummies

Voting has begin. An email has been sent to view the album of photogenic babies hee
Cast your vote by 29th August
Happy voting!

SMS/ MSN or email me your votes!!!

sorry huh... what u all mean by tugging?? Xin ru always use her thumb to go and make her ear inside leh... u all know the ekin Cheng tat show 'Gu huo Zai' then he always use his thumb to put inside his ear... She is doin tat leh.. when she wan to sleep la.. is tat tugging???

bulma: haha but i tink it's always tis case that ppl link the FM to the phlegme... cause tat's the only intake the bb has since birth lor.. so will link to tat.... u try to give him the hou ning then see if it helps... cause if from birth he drink tat FM then i tink wan to change a bit hard also.. cause u wun know maybe he might be allergic to that.....

Mummies.. i tink no matter whether goin to childcare, whether got go out often a not or whatever reason.. i tink the best is to take the pneumococal jab earlier lor... the earlier u let bb take the jab the lesser worry u have lor...
i strongly recommend u mummies to bring the bb for the jab earlier lor...

mashy: doctors are like tat... whatever that they cannot find the cause of the illness, they will say it's a virus.. hehe

>>Several factors can increase the risk of ear infections, including allowing your child to drink his bottle lying down and exposure to cigarette smoke.

harr... if cannot drink bottle lying down means must drink how? carry or let baby sit is it?

It's so worrying when our bbs fall sick or show symptoms of these dangerous illnesses
Think will bring xr to doc this wkend coz there's also a bump in her ear that has been there for a few mths liao in addition to her always pulling at her ear.

<font color="ff0000">Mashy</font>
Annika has recovered from her cough and wheezing, and she does not have fever. But yesterday, my mum said she has been v whiny, and very irritated. And yes, tugging her ears and hair too. May I know how does the doc check for ear infection? Look into the ears is it? Sorry, v silly question. As for pulling of hair, my mum said her hair is too long and thick liao, tats why irritate the hell out of her. Kkekeke..

<font color="ff0000">Claire</font>
Better bring XR to check, i mean, a bump is always worrying.

<font color="ff0000">Bulma</font>
U too, must jia you. jarren still taking the ventolin puff ah?

Btw, who's baby is named Clara ah? I just saw the contest photos.. all look so cute. And for a moment, I felt Baby Clara looks abit like my Annika.. hahaha.

elvin also like to yug his ears when he is 4mth+ and till now alos like that. He like to use his hand and beat his head and is always the left side and like to pull his hair also. 2 more wks going to bring him for the pneumococal jab then i will ask the PD.

Hope he is alright..Wat u gals say now make me worry also.

jappooh: abt the Dumex BP hor.. no need to trouble u liao.. hehe cause i call them to ask if i can buy again if the FM is not the same.. and they say yes.... so i can get from them direct...

Thanks ya....

sunshinekid
annika a lot of hair
xr still not a lot, juz a little bit more than birth. So birth everyone say a lot of hair, now say why so little hair...haiz. Like her daddy, hahaha