(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

tomatolander
I estimated mine exclude air tickets and shopping... is abt S$1,300 for 3 of us, including disneyland entrance tickets, ferry to Macau, hotel, meals and transportation.
My hotel is S$660 + S$275, can pay by credit card, dun need cash

siewlng: Wah..lidat u gonna spend abt S$4k juz excluding the air tix and shopping? Why so much ar? Hmmm..my S$2k is juz for shopping and meals and entrance tix.. Compared to urs..like veri little liao.. Haha.. But I not too adventurous to go Macau yet la.. Me not familiar there mah..
Are the food there exp?

so many pple gg holiday
enjoy

i heard from the mom of my boy's classmates that Ocean Park is very stroller unfriendly. I'm now thinking twice abt whether to go or not.

So far, we've spent/committed abt $2500 for tix & hotel. Plus we est another $1k for food & transport etc. So prob will spend abt $3.5k bah.

Our kids no need to pay for most transport and entrance fees except if going Macau, then need to pay for ferry. Only a pathetic HK$15 off per child each way. But transport within Macau is super cheap. The buses are just a mere S$0.50 only.

tomatolander

the last time i went there, in Jan 2005, the food set meals were abt HK$26-$40. Not sure how it is now. Should be more ex. Probably average abt HK$35?

tomatolander
huh? I meant total $1300 for 3 person leh... where got S$4K?

My air tickets are FOC de, so exclude in my estimate loh. I seldom shop when go tour... so I won't spend much this round also.

If all included, I think most we spend abt S$1.6K bah for all

Macau ah... simple lah, jus take a ferry from Kowloon or Hong Kong Island there, when reach, many taxi drivers will approach u to drive u around for half day tour... my fren told me abt 3 dropoff points... then back to ferry terminal liao.

Food price range leh... i was there on biz trip in Apr this year, I can get abt S$5 at their Fast food chain, Da Jie Le... n can cost me S$80 (1 person) at The Peak. At Disneyland, my dinner was abt S$20 for 1 person. My meal usually 1 main + a drink.

siewlng

how much is the 'half day tour' with the taxi drivers and where do they bring u?

I'm thinking since i might not be going ocean park, maybe i'll go macau. I love Macau. Actually much more than HK. heheh.

Mashy
I am not sure how much is the half day tour... my fren didn't keep track of her expense. She told me, the places they go r the famous places loh... 1 of them is that famous new casino, the area where family can go into... not for gambling. And she managed to buy some snacks along the way...

siewlng: opps.. paiseh i read wrongly.. I thot $1.3k for each person.. Haha.. Scare me.. Coz i thot of going Ocean park and I'm counting for 4pax.. So ard $500 per pax lor.. Yah..I was tinking food wise probably the same as in Singapore lor.. And smmore when we go travelling..we probably ignore the price and say nvm juz try once.. Haha..

I reli nt adventurous to go Macau lehz.. Bt weird hoh..Ocean park mostly for kids yet nt stroller friendly..

My kids by next year will be 3years old liao.. Need to pay for entrance fees rite? Or wat dun need to pay?

In fact..when u guys come back..pls share ur itinerary with us.. I wana visit places like the Peak etc.. Those tourist attractions la.. haha.. The Peak muz take tram up rite? There is direct bus there? Or after take bus muz take tram?

By the way..siewlng, can u explain hw the airport express (airport mtr rite?) works and the costs and wat's the difference between tat and a octopus card?

Sorri 4 so many qns..

Tomatolander
NP with the questions lah...

The Peak
there is a direct bus up... but most tourist choose via tram, more interesting... think kids will like. There are tickets for tram include Madame Tussauds (aka wax musuem) entrance or jus the tram.

Most of their entrance fee are for 3YO and above.

Airport Express is a fast train straight from Airport to Kowloon (23min) and Hong Kong Island... From Kowloon Airport Express station, it is connected to a MTR station also known as Kowloon.

From this MTR station, u can choose to ride on their MTR to other part of HK. Or take free shuttle buses to major hotels within Kowloon and/ HK island.

http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/airport_express/complom_free_bus.html

Airport Express Travel card is a tourist used only card, include 1 (HKD220) or 2 (HKD300) ways Airport Express plus 3days MTR unlimted trips. If buy online r HKD209 n HKD285 respectively.

If u wan to buy octopus card, it will b like our Ez Link card loh... the fare is slightly cheaper then u buy single trip ticket. Pay a deposit to buy it and return when u leaving HK.

As Mashy said, there is a promo now for 2/3/4 to go Airport Express tickets. HKD140 for 2. Normal single trip is HKD90 per person.

My itinerary, roughly:
D1- Reach HK in afternoon, rest, then go The Peak and Madame Tussauds (at The Peak also)
D2- Macau
D3- HK island shopping/ Ocean Park, not decided
D4- Disneyland
D5- fly back in morning
In between if got time, go visit my ex colli and have lunch/ dinner with them.

siewlng: yah my first day itinerary is same as urs.. Hmmm..wat can we do when we go Macau? There gt gd food? My hubby juz interested in eating man.. Haha.. If we skip Ocean Park..den will go Macau ba.. But I not sure hw to get going to macau.. Onli noe to take mtr to sheung wan and take ? to ferry terminal? Hmmm..any1 noe any good food places to go in hk?

tomatolander

i love the food at macau. hehehe. to get there, it depends on which part of hk you're staying in. Both HK island and Tsim Sha Tsui has a ferry terminal each. So depending on which place you're staying in, just go to the nearest one.

I love the macau's egg tarts. There's a very famous portugese restaurant in macau, cologne, but quite far and it's usually full and need to queue long time type. If u have time, can go there. The food is very yummy.

Try this thread, someone posted a list of good food previously:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/784689.html?1223914936#POST6001955

Tomatolander
I have not been to Macau not sure wat good food? But I was told dun miss the pork bun and tart loh.

Nice foods at HK, I find the foods at their cha chan ting (tea shops) taste better... tat time, my HK colli bot me to 1 at Tai Ku, jus below ppl's apartment.

From Kowloon, go to Harbor City (at the Stars Ferry terminal, Celebrity Walk nearby) to buy tickets to Macau n take ferry from there also. Remember to buy 2-ways tickets if u dun intend to stay overnight at Macau.

Mashy
Prebook ticket also need to collect at their counter... and no discount if u book online. I dun see much diff except maybe little Q bah... For ppl staying disney hotels, can ask them to pre-book the tickets for u... and collect it during your check in.

siewlng

thanks! perhaps we should just buy when we get there then.

tomatolander
the restaurant i mentioned is called fernando:

http://www.eatdrinkhongkong.com/macau.html

lord stow is famous for its portugese egg tarts. But i find any of those along the street also yummy.

Then Macau has plenty of almond biscuits, very fragrant and nice that you should buy back for your family/colleagues/friends. They've many such shops near the St Paul's church.

Yah, another not to be missed is the pork bun. I find it so so only, but maybe coz i didn't go to any famous shop.

Oh, and macau (at st paul's church & the fort) is not stroller friendly. Lots of staircases. Climb until siao.

I've been there 3 times already, and i still love it very much. hehehe. Not the gambling though.

so many discussion on HK trip.
I think ocean park can be skip if u are not interested in the rides or cable car or sea creatures. I quite like the long cable car ride from one end to the other end. nice view of the sea and the surroundings.
But i skipping ocean park as i been there before
D1- Reach HK in afternoon, rest, walk Tsim Sha Tsui and take the ferry bet hk island and kwoloon
D2- Mong Kok and Tsim Sha Tsui
D3- Macau
D4- Lantau Island, the Peak and shopping ard Hk island?
D5-Disneyland
D6-Disneyland
D7- fly back in evening. go shopping ard qin yi or airport

mashy: wah..looks like if wan gd food den muz queue.. With kids duno can anot.. Me still tinking whether shld we go Macau anot..

Siewlng: Yah..tink hk food shld be gd.. I tink I will be staying in Wan Chai area.. But my fren says if stay at kowloon/tsim sha shui area will be better coz got more food and entertainment? I duno lehz.. By the way hoh..the airport express 2 way ticket inclusive of 3 day mtr rides..is for adults AND children? Children oso haf to pay tat amt?

Hmmm..Ocean Park reli nt worth gng mah?

tomatolander

i'm staying at causeway bay. The child friendly places are more abundant in the hk island side than kowloon side. I'll probably just go there half a day or so.

For MTR rides, children below 3 is free. Not sure abt those above though. Think there's some concessions.

tomatolander
That airport express 2way + 3 day MTR is for 1 person fare. Not sure abt their kids price for Airport Express and MTR leh... never mentioned in their website.

siewlng and mashy: yah lor..not written on the web.. I was tinking mayb dun buy tat le.. coz onli for 3 days.. Den the 4th day muz buy agn if using.. And I dun tink 1st few days i will use alot.. coz day 1 rch hk.. day 2 go disneyland.. left day 3 den mayb gt use the mtr more..bt guess oso nt tat much la.. looks like the airport shuttle/transport to hotel is veri exp.. frankly hoh..changi airport take mrt to orchard veri cheap nia.. why hk so exp ar? hahaha..

HK transportation is higher then in SG in general
Else if u predict more MTR on tat day, u can opt for HKD55, for 1 day unlimited tourist pass MTR

HK Airport Shuttle is realli fast leh, take abt 23min to reach Kowloon. If take coach or wat is abt 1hour plus woh... their airport bery far from their city. I think tat time i took a cab from Kowloon to airport is abt HKD250

For me, with the plan to go Macau, maybe I will get their optopus card and the promo on Airport Express instead le... so tat can used it when necessary... I will likely take MTR to Disneyland... worth the trip from Sunny Bay to Disney station leh... the MTR is special one, with disney characters within the MTR as display or windows. Cost about HKD8.50 per person

Hmmm..I staying at Wanchai, maybe I will get the airport express pass liao.. I calculate just the journey from Wanchai to Disneyland will cost HKD20 per adult. Return will cost HKD40plus? Difference between the return airport express and the airport express + 3days unlimited mtr ride is hkd120 only.. So maybe in the end buy the unlimited rides one more worth it ba.. I duno..did I calculate wrongly? Haha..

Mashy: Wat will be ur itinerary be like? I was tinking if I skip Ocean park and Macau..den duno where else can go.. Hee..

tomatolander

Yah, it'll be abt $40 if u take from Wanchai. Just remember u'll waste 1 day coz 1st day when u arrive, you'll be taking the airport express. So in the end only 2 days unlimited for use. Think it's still cheaper to buy separately.

i haven't really decided the itinerary but roughly

D1 Arrival
D2 Times Square/ nearby shopping areas
D3 Disneyland
D4 Peak/ maybe kowloon
D5 More shopping - maybe go stanley market
D6 Return flight, stopover at the Citygates on the way to airport

I'll be using up one of my days to meet my cousin who's staying in HK as well.

hello mummies
whao!!! everyone planning to go overseas. i am confined till birth. i went for my 5th month scan. it's a baby girl. so happy

can end production liao

Mashy: Hmmm..me oso tinking whether shld go Ocean park anot.. Anyway..if u do go..let me noe hw izzit k.. : ) Nwadys I'm browsing thru the web for good food in HK! Haha..

koli: congrats on ur gal..

Congrats Koli

Mashy,
ocean park is not that bad. jus that alot of walking. Actually the big aquarium and the sea lion show and the whale show also nice

Hi koli

juz happened to chance upon your post.
Congratulations!

Hope to catch up with u soon. Seems that u child n mine are born in the same month

do take note:
SINGAPORE: Ten types of hot/cold packs sold in Singapore have been voluntarily recalled by their companies as the packs contain a toxic substance.

Laboratory tests revealed these packs contain the anti-freeze ingredient ethylene glycol, instead of the non-toxic substance propylene glycol.

The 10 affected packs are marketed under three brands - SURGIPACK, Soft R&R and OSIM.
The packs are Surgipack Soft Hot/Cold Pack Large, Surgipack Soft Hot/Cold Pack Small, Soft R&R Cold/Hot Pack-M, Soft R&R Cold/Hot Pack-L, OSIM uBaby Fever Band, OSIM Shoulder Pad, OSIM uKids Fever Band, OSIM Face Mask, OSIM Eye Mask and OSIM Hot/Cold Compress.

The packs can be frozen or heated up and are used as a compress to relieve headache, toothache, aching muscles and strains.

While there have been no adverse reports from the use of these products locally, the Health Sciences Authority (HSA) said the recall is a precaution.

It was alerted to the danger following a case of accidental poisoning in Australia, where a young child had chewed through the plastic packaging and swallowed some ethylene glycol.

HSA said the affected products have been voluntarily withdrawn from sale since Thursday.

An estimated 2,000 pieces of the affected products have been sold in Singapore.

Consumers who have purchased these products are advised to stop using them immediately.

For more information, consumers can contact the respective companies:

Surgipack - Tyco Healthcare Pte Ltd, Tel: 6482-2098
Soft R&R - Assisted Living Pte Ltd, Tel: 6254-2916
Soft R&R - Lifeline Corporation Pte Ltd, Tel: 6289-2062
OSIM - OSIM International Ltd, Tel: 6741-1538

i just came back from HK on tue night, me and hubby enjoyed ourselves and din have time to do the shopping and visiting we wanted to. In the end, did not go Macau at all. We stayed at Prudential Hotel, thumbs up for the location (just directly linked to Jordan MTR) and within walking distance to night markets. Rooms were clean and neat with bathtub... hehe. Service were also good.

Travelled around mostly via MTR. got the tourist day pass at HKD55, very worth it. Shop till we dropped, baggage overweight!

hi mashy
we got some good bargains at Timberland and Samsonite. But if you are into t-shirts, there are really good ones at Fa Yuen Street (Flower Market) which cost only $2.50 each with cute designs. Children's rompers and pyjamas are also very cheap at less than $3 each.

No, we didn't have the kids along. Haha, I was specifically looking for those hotels with bathtubs. Prudential is really clean and nice + modern. See the hotel pic...

1820393.jpg

Disneyland Hotel & the cute toiletries

1820394.jpg
1820395.jpg

summer

the hotel looks so spacious. How much did u pay for it? Hahha, i thought u go Disneyland will bring your kids along. Wow, the children's pajamas are so cheap? Must go there. Need to top up C's pajamas already coz he's outgrowing them.

hi mashy
i stayed at Disneyland 2nites for conference, thereafter my hubby fly in to join me then we stay at Prudential Hotel. I requested for their Mickey bedroom slippers though, very cute!

Actually I booked Dorsett Kowloon (3* and no bathtub) but while I was still in China (3 days prior to checkin), I was in the hotel checking rates on www.ratestogo.com and found last minute deal at Prudential (4* with bathtub) and decided to cancel Dorsett (only add. S$30+ more for 3 nights) and book Pru instead. Paid S$186 nett per night. If you're talking about C's pyjamas, then they prob cost about HKD35 which is equi to S$6.50 per set for Thomas, Bob the Builder type. Sleepsuits for babies cost less than $3, maybe you can stock up for no. 2.

Basically, things at Ladies Market are rather ex unless u r expert in bargaining. Else, Flower and Temple Street are more reasonable.

summer

wow, that's nice to stay at Disneyland for conference! Flower Street Market & Temple Street also need to bargain right? Dunno why I went so many times also never been to Flower Market. Hahaha. Maybe i'll go over this time round. It's a day market right?

mashy
yes, Disneyland Hotel is really nice

Flower Street - sometimes the things are so cheap that no need to bargain. For eg. baby sleepsuits, HKD18 and adult T-shirts 2 for HKD25. But some things are not so cheap then will need to bargain, same thing for Temple Street. Yes, Flower Street is a day market... starts at 10am and close at about 8pm. Ladies Market starts at abt 12pm and they will start packing up at 10.30pm.

I jus received this email
"'Ikan bilis' made in China. Fish skin is made from PE(plastic) tube, meat is made of some kind of jelly or gelatine. It has fishy smell.
I boiled with hot water for sometime the PE gets burst and exposing fish meat. These fish has NO bone and color would not change after cooking a long time."
1827691.jpg

siewlng

like that also can. tsk tsk tsk....

summer

thanks for tips! Can't wait to go shopping! But so scary. Now even the eggs from China contains melamine. Have to be careful when we eat in HK.

1837220.jpg

Hi all, a piece of annoucement here, I have delivered my boy last week. This is the photo of Giselle with her brother Justus

hi Vs
Congrats! This is such a heartwarming photo! Jiejie seems very thrilled with the new addition to the family. Hmmm... Justus have very sexy eyes!

hello ladies!!!!!

I've resigned from SQ liao cos i'm preggy now hehehe..... jus went to see gynae yday, edd will be in jun the 20th.