(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

Bulma
Yup, my gal also like to scratch her head. THat's what my mum say too.. know how to scratch means can understand what we say le.

mashy: must add water... for babies under 6months only 1 teaspoon... u can see the label to see how much to give,, normally what i do is, i will put 1 teaspoon to abt 40-60ml of water.. then let Xin Ru drink...

Pullin ears:
i cant remember where i see hor, its a sign of teething leh... hehe i tink so la... u check see Caeden got like swollen gums a not...
Xin Ru also like to go and pull her ear but it's left side.. hehe

Hi all, i am also a Feb 06 mommy, a first time mummy to baby boy. We just got back from the states and i would to join you all in your discussion.

Need your kind advice, my boy is 4months and half. He used to be sleeping really well, like slept at 8pm, wake at 12 and 5a.m for feeds (this to me is really good!). However recently he has been very cranky at nap and sleep times. Somehow he has forgotten how to sleep on his own?! Do anyone have the same experience pls?

thks so much!

Amanda

He was cranky a few days before his tooth showed. After his tooth came out, he's ok already, but wanna bite all the time. So been sucking his fingers and pacifier almost non-stop.

mommy@home

Maybe he doesn't need so much sleep anymore? How much nap times and how long each time? My boy sleeps much lesser now compared to last time. Now he can tahan about 2hrs in the day each time before he needs a nap.

Hi mommy@home... welcome to our family...

ur boy forget how to sleep on his own ah... he wans u all to pat him huh?? try playin some smoothin music to him??

My gal normally sleep ard 2-3 hrs per nap during weekend.. sometimes will sleep 1 hrs plus then wake up.. she can sleep better at home but at infant care she sleep abt 3 hrs max in total...

mashy: so the crankyness only is when the teeth abt to come out huh... then will develop fever a not one?

gripe water:-
my mum give 1 teaspoon mixed with some water as feed using spoon. dun like mix wif water as afriad next time JH will reject plain water....only want sweet drink as gripe water v v sweet.

mashy: ya... gripe water very sweet... the ants at my house keep attackin the bottle... hehe

smiley: i also scare she dun wan drink plain water later.. tat's y i add a lot of plain water.. but hor... she mai drink also leh.... but if i feed her with jing fen san then after tat let her drink. she will finish....

Ian's naps are erractic. Sometimes he can sleep for just 1/2 hr in the morning, between 1-2 hrs in the afternoons.

He needs me to nurse him to sleep, if not, rock him on his rocker. Tried music but to no avail.

How do you soothe your babies to sleep, both naps and night?

i am on full bf now, but been so tired that i feel like supplementing with breastmilk.

Hi mashy,
i notice my boy also pull and scratch both his ears lei. He has 2 teeth now.
He will bite everything that near him. Now i knw why he scratch and pull his ear i thought something bite him so he itchy..haha..

smiley,
i will meet u mostly next tue.

Gripe water:
elvin dun like to drink lei. he like the bao ying dan. We rub on his gum when he is cranky due to teething.

<font color="aa00aa">Ilim</font>
Wanna ask u about the beansprout pillow that Keagan is using. Is it very light? My current one is very light so when Annika was veri young, she kicked her legs till the pillow almost covered her face. Gave us such a scare. My mum told me the pillow has too little beansprout husks, tats why too light. Now I wanna order for my colleague. Wonder if urs is better than mine.

mommy@home,
Hello and welcome to this forum... I am new here too!
My boy had not been sleeping well too. My husband suspect that he might not have enough activities that's why not sleepy enough. So I will make sure he is very very tired and sleepy by playing really hard with him every night until 9.30pm. So far, very good. Immediately when I put him onto the bed, he will sleep until next morning 6am.

Mashy,
My boy can scratch his head left and right, pull his 2 ears but no sign of teeth. Everyday I try to feel for it, but everyday also disappointed.

Genevieve

Not so soon lah. My boy pulled his ear very long before his tooth finally came out. Few days before it came out, he was very cranky. Then pop, the tooth came out. That is a sign, but doesn't mean pull means tooth pop out liao.

mommy@home,
Looks like sarong is your best choice.

We had this problem with our girl when she was a baby. She woke up easily when we put her to sleep. Her sleep is less than 1 hour and will always wake up crying.

So we let her sleep in sarong and she can sleep almost 2-3hrs per nap.

Con of using sarong - very difficult to bring bb out because bb don't want to sleep in the pram. Have to carry and rock to sleep.

Hope this help.

Genevieve,
i dun even knw that my boy is teething. Until when 1 sat i wipe his mouth, he bite me then i feel something sharp. I am suprise cos didnt expect he have them so early loh.

Some ppl say it better to have teeth later lei..
All this are naturally so look out for it.

Mashy,
have u visit the infant care? How is it?

mommy@home

Hmmm... I put my boy to sleep on his tummmy in the day and on his back at night. Maybe u can try to let your bb sleep on his tummy?

Nowadays, my boy has taken to listening to my hb hum lullaby to him before he sleeps. sigh.... Routine is important for night time. So u have to make sure u do the same thing every night to let him know it's night time. Like wash him, feed him, wear pajamas, read book, sing song etc. Every night same stuff. That's why my boy will know it's night time when we switch the light to orange light and subsequently switching off the light. If he wakes up at night, he'll tend to fall back asleep more easily too.

Jappooh

Yah. visited. All got pros and cons. Think will go to another one near my workplace to see first. Coz can't rush back in time to fetch my boy lor.

mashy brainz (mashybrainz)
thks, is kind of difficult to let him sleep on his tummy, cos he keeps flipping to his tummy!

I tried the routine as well, and i dint change anything at all. So i am really at a lost why he keeps waking up. Does baby start teething at 4 &amp; 1/2 months?

babycutie (babycutie)
Does your baby sleep in sarong at night too? should i go get the electric one? any idea how much it cost?

Genevieve (ihave3cats)
What is your baby's nap schedule like in the day? Do you total breastfeed as well? I still need to carry him to sleep before putting him down!

mashy brainz (mashybrainz)
how i envy you! has it been always like this?

thks for all the advice, ladies!

How envious of you gals whose babies can sleep thru the night. My boy still wakes up at abt 5am for his feed even though his last feed is 12.30am. Quite tiring for us as after his 5am feed, he didnt sleep long and he will wake up and play and talk in his playpen.

He talk so loud that wake both of us up. Wonder when can he skip his feed and sleep thru all the way. My mum has bgt brown rice and my dad have went to medicine hall to add si shen in. Hope he will feel full after we have start to feed him and not waking up for feed.

mommy@home
do you give Ian pacifier? my gal used to nurse to sleep too... she treat my nipple as a pacifier. Sometimes, she will wake up in the middle of the nite crying then i will have to nurse her again. I decided to give her pacifier and till now she will sleep with her pacifier on. When she cries in the middle of her sleep... I put her pacifier back for her and she will fall back to sleep. Also, I find she sleeps better on her sides with the leg on top a bit crossed over to the leg below... ie. with the buttock a bit tilted... this way she can sleep for longer period of time.

mommy@home

For me, my gal go to infant care so at there, if she no sleep they will put her on bouncer till she sleepy then bring her to her cot... then normally after bathing she can sleep longer so at infant care, tat will be the longest hour she sleep...

At home: on weekends, normaly she wake up ard 6+am for milk, then we put her to her playpen to sleep then we go sleep ourselves and she will go and play her mobile and music piano beside her bed then will fall asleep on her own... then wake up ard 10+, 11am.. then will give her milk then bath her then she wan to sleep again liao... then let her sleep lor.. then if she wake up then not yet milk time then will put her to her rocker and let her play toys till it's time for milk... then let her play then normally evenin time i will bath her again then she will wan to sleep liao...we will give her pacific then she will sleep again lor... then if her last feedin is ard 5,6pm then we will give her milk ard 10+ then she sleep till next morning le... in between if she wake up then let her play her toys until she cry for sleep... my gal is tat kind who wan to sleep she will make a lot of noise one... hehe
mine is like tat... hehe very lengthy... :p

summer: i agree leh.. tat's wat the infant care teacher told me also... then she has been sleepin in tat way and now at home she also sleep like tat... sometimes i scare her neck will be 'suan'... :p

Amanda
I discovered that by chance. One day she was sleeping at my mum's place, then i see why her kar-chng 'keow keow' but she sleep for a longer period of time leh... so since then i put her in that sleeping position... keke.

462406.jpg

hmmmp.. mummy carry gor gor ZJ dun wan me liao..

462407.jpg

elly: what s that you doing so funny looking...
ZJ: that s called baby push up.. i show you.. you learn then torture your mummy..

mommy@home

Haha, yah, flipping is problematic, but my boy ok lah. When he wanna sleep, he won't flip around. Maybe from beginning already had a routine for him, so didn't give me many problems except a few nights (think it's teething time) Routine has to be consistent and do a few days leh. Then considered routine. 1-2 days don't count. Coz they need to learn that it's a routine. So try the same thing for 1 whole week. Even if he fusses. Pacifier might help too.

Amanda
Working downtown. Yah, very expensive. Gotta prepare to fork out lots of money.
No choice lor. $900 leh.
So must make sure it's very good. So far I saw the one near my house very small scale lor. Looks really confined. Like not a lot of play area. The Montessori one further away too many big kids, coz it's more of chidcare centre, but more structured in their prog. Babies Resort is ok, most structured, but expensive. Somehow when I went to Babies Resort, felt that I couldn't breathe properly like gasping for air. Bad feeling. Going to Apollo Centre to check out the Winchester Pre Sch soon. Hopefully that one ok.

462412.jpg

ZJ: aunty can i stop showing off.. tired liao..

462413.jpg

trying to hold hands in secret..

P.S: sorry baby reyes aunt never take your pics coz you sweetly sleeping la.. mindy upload your pics hor dun forget..

feza..
haha.. the pixs not bad wor.. but i think hor.. next time take without flash.. then will be clearer.. wun have those dark background lor..

mommy@home,
u can consider the electric one if you like. Total will sum up around $150+ for a sarong stand and the electric motor (depends on what type u buy).

My girl sleep day and night in the sarong. She wean herself off at 14 mths. We placed a pillow in the sarong and a bolster for her to hug.

Show u pic....
462489.jpg

thank you sooo very much for the advice and the pics. i really apperciate it!

babycutie (babycutie)
your girl is sooooo cute! Btw do you have any idea where i can get the whole set of sarong? Do you have to "shake" long to get her to sleep?

Just put my bb to bed, he yelled and yelled, slept in my arm, but the minute i put him in cot, he screamed! Sigh...i am soooo helpess.

i tried laying him in his side, but he refused.

BTW this is a forum for all babies around 4months plus of age is it? So most of your babies have slept thru? ENVY ENVY :)

ivory,

really la i tried at home la not at your home.. so all those without flash one i delete.. or is it i dunno how to use my camera??

mommy@home,

my girl also sleeps thru the nyte.. i put her to sleep with me on our bed then at nyte before we sleep we transfer her to her cot..

mommy@home,
this thread is for babies whose EDD falls in February.

I had same experience as u. Have to carry to sleep but once put her in cot, she wakes and cry liao... so we ended up with sarong.

U can get from Kiddy palace. Usually after 30mins of shaking, my girl falls asleep liao.

Maybe we pampered her too much. We have to turn on whole night for her to sleep because once the rocking stops, she will wake up. U can train yr bb on this. Stop rocking after he sleeps.

Sarong is really our last straw. She only sleeps in bbcot for 1st 2 mths. After that, sleeps in sarong from 3 mths till 14 mths.

HiYA mommy@home, Welcome to this group. This group's babies born in Jan 06 to Feb 06.

wahhhh, just today never check this forum aiyo yooo sooo many posts to read.

Feza, i can't upload leh, cos the size too big and I dunno how to resize *keblash! Or u want help me lah? Then i email u, u help me resize and upload?? heheheheh

Dear Mummies up to now i have received the contest photos from Mummyo, Amanda, bbcutie, ivory, piglet (fen),Genevieve, smiley and Mindy.

For those who want to participate but yet to submit pics, the dateline is 18th July. Hurry