(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Mashy

Kindyroo : $420 for 12 wks term. Reg : $30. 3-lesson trial package at $115. new term starts next week. timing : mon/wed (9.30), thu/sat (10.30). agegroup : walking to 2. max : 8 kids

will let u know ... I'll prob do 3-wks trial and decide if good to proceed from there.

.ky.

KY,..

I was delivery Gracie at KKH under subsidy and 2 Gynae and 1 midwive help me for the labor.
Personaly I find ok with sudsidy as was confirm that I was healthy at all so didnt choose gynae...

You are right that always know what you want and do a lot homework.....there are many different kind of doctor... if we are lucky ..we will meet a good one and meet a bad one if we are unlucky...

Mamapanda...
The doctor that you meet,..really irresponsible and jump to a conclusion without checking.....
I envy you that still breastfeed Ariene...

Aileen,..
Just ignore your office tea lady...some people are like that ....they dont even know their words might hurt people feeling..and I agree that its all depend on the upbringing

Like me MIL fren said Linda,..next time get your MIL a grandson ... in front of MIL...I only smile at her and said sure no problem provided that is GOD wish
...luckly MIL said dont hurt people feeling ahhh and you might scared her and created conflict between me and my DIL

The most important thing is we have a healthy baby and safe deliver...

Tracy
Your girl so cute....compare to my girl Meg is much better.. My Gracie recently said "NEH NEH NEH" loudly..I so paiseh at public and and collect her with NAI NAI NAI ( Milk milk )

Ive uploaded some old retro Nitendo/Sega/Arcade games which we grew up with into my files directory. Some of these games include Super Mario Bros 1, 2 & 3, Midway 1943, Castle Vania, TMNT, Delta force, Salamander, Ikari Warriors, etc. Feel free to download them (theyre freeware) and relive your childhood for the weekend
I even bought a USB joystick to play these games from Popular. Costs $17 only.

http://wanyi.home.nie.edu.sg/

PS: some of the games work with RockNes DOS emulator, some work with MaMe arcade emulator. For more info on these 2 emulators, please refer to

http://www.emulator-zone.com/doc.php/nes/rocknes.html
http://www.mame.net/

Have a nice weekend!

ky,
Mind emailing or SMS me the name of the gynae whom your SIL was with? I think the PM system here is not working again today.

ky/mashy
I've called them up last week actually to go and try out at their THursday morning classes. So will take the trail 1st, if Daren enjoys it and I find the session engaging, I will sign him up after the 3 weeks trial. Now am hoping Daren will get through his fever episode and recover in time for next Thursday.

god's child
Thanks for lending me the water pillow and mat at such last minute notice. It helped Daren's temp, even though he absolutely hated sleeping on them, but after awhile, he accepted them. It's a good thing that you were at Clementi, I literally flew in my mom's van from my night class.

tracy
LOL, actually hor, it's not wrong for Meg to address the INdians as Ah-Neh, coz it's in their culture to address each other like that, it's like calling "Brother!". hahaha, coz my hb will call out to them at the prata shop when we wanna pay for our meals, they are perfectly fine with it =)

re: noblehouse
hee...i think its just beside my co lei.

tabbiesus - coz ya preggy mah and just delivered. where got time to blog. are u planning to do a separate blog for thad? or gg to combine together? seems unfair to combine hor but then where got time to maintain 2 sites.

aileen - ya was sick but then quite bored to stay hm coz caleb is not ard. not much tv programmes also even on cable. so surf the net lor. haha only entertainment to keep me from sleeping like a pig the entire day. but managed to sneak out in the night to catch harry potter yesterday with hb. so it was quite a nice break for me this week. short short week. hee..

RE: lady who died
Really sad case...i never knew that there could still be people in this age where medicine is so advanced who'll die in labour. Always thought it's something that happens only in the olden times where technology not so advanced!

RE: blog
Yah hor, for those of you with no.2s, are u intending to set up new blog for your 2nd one?

Tracy,
Hahahaaa!! The ah-neh thing is sooo funny! I think it's gonna be tough to correct Meg on that though! I mean, it's easy to pronounce, plus it invokes such laughter from people...

Queen
Re: Diaper Rash Cream
Have not tried Vaseline before but I guess it should work the same way as A+D cream? cos A+D cream is also petroleum gel based just that it has added Lanolin & Cod Liver Oil?

Re. Hole in the heart
Dont worry, Im sure Isaacs hole will close. As long as hes healthy and growing now, dont think you need to go thru all the tests as they may add necessary stress and anxiety to you and hb.

Tabb/SY/AK
Re: trying for son
Agree lor, I think we are still living in an Asian society and it probably take another generation or two to change the mindset. My ILs did openly say that it doesnt matter if it's boy or girl, altho Im not sure if they would want a grandson deep in their hearts. Oh well, no matter what, Ill stop at max 2

Cookie
A+D cream comes in both tub and tube form but is better to get the tube cos our weather is hot, cream might harden/crack in tub form if you don't use alot.

Thanks for the help! Updated mine too!

Updates on Noble house books

noblehouse books collection on friday/sat
1. chickenlittle (pick up at JG)
2. aileen (will get from mamapanda via CL)
3. mamapanda (will pick up from CL/ me)
4. ky (will pick up CL) ... CL, thanks!
5. SL (will get from CL).. CL, thanks! Can collect the song activity for me too? Muck!

Mamapanda,
Can I tompang you for the nordic cod liver oil pls? Thks!

re: desitin
The PD was shaking her head no-no when I told her that I just apply a lot of desitin. So I guess, can try A+D instead?

re: KK
Hmm... I think it really depends on the gynae cos I removed my cycst at KK. My family doc referred me to a famous gynae at Mt E and the gynae there referred me to the KK gynae in case the cycst is cancerous as charges there would be cheaper. The original assessment from the KK gynae was really bad - the worst case scenario is to remove the entire womb. However, it turned out otherwise, I only removed the cycst. Plus the nurses there are really nice. So my overall experience with KK was good. Guess it really depends on the gynae.

Charmaine's photos have been uploaded onto Lumen Creation's website already. I really liked the photos - thks Flo for the good lobang! : )

MamaPanda
I've not tried Densitin before so can't comment. Maybe can check with Queen since she tried both. Just know that Desitin contains zinc oxide which is not recommend for prolong use. A+D cream has one that contains zinc oxide but is recommended only for treating serious diaper rash and not for normal "maintenance" use. I've not used the zinc oxide version for A+D too, cos the rashes will clear quite quickly even with the original one. Hope this helps

SL
Ya wanna to tell u abt the pic the other day when I chance upon the website but keep forgetting to post. Charmaine is really a big girl now and I like her pic too

Cookie, A+D cream
Maybe I'll get 2 tubes of it to try out. So I'll start a drugstore spree here first before opening up to the public. Cookie, noted your order. Anyone else want anything from drugstore?

tracy
Lucky vitamin is selling the 17oz CB shampoo for $12.50USD ($19SGD). After shipping (estimated to be $5), estimated total should be $24 which is slightly cheaper than the BP price.

flo
You getting any A+D cream?

Cookie,
confirm u want 2 tubs of 1LB cream or you want to change to tubes?

Drugstore spree #1
==================
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Items</TD><TD>WT (oz)</TD><TD> USD </TD><TD> Total (USD) </TD><TD> Total (SGD) =USD*1.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD></TD><TD>52</TD><TD> $32.76 </TD><TD> $32.76 </TD><TD> $52.42 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>4</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $6.86 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 1lb</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $15.18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 1lb</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $18.98 </TD><TD> $30.37 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 1lb</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Those who wish to order more, please email me in the following format :

nick:
item name:
item url:
qty:
price (USD):
H/P num: (if I've already haf yours in another spree, no need)

If u don't have my email addy, PM me but today the PM is very slow.

cali baby shampoo 17oz
btw, anyone getting the CB shampoo? If got 5 bottles, then maybe I just get from the roadshow. Save the trouble of the shipping. Difference is only abt $3-5.

Mamapanda,

Ya, I know that the moving and learning is still with you. Could you pls help to pass to CL too?

Thks!

Can help me get 1 4oz tube of A&D too? It seems cheaper than CB. If it's as good as CB, then I will switch to A+D. Actually, the PD said that drapolene is good enough.

Let me know the total cost? The noble house books plus the cod liver oil and the A+D cream? Will transfer all the monies at one go. Thks!

Yes, so sad to watch the news on the woman who died. When I was watching it, it made me ant to appreciate life better. Made me not want to be so 'yim chim" over the nitty gritty things. Life is indeed short. The something had to happen.

Sigh, HB was turning right into his office this morning & a Malaysian biker overtook him on the right as well while turning. Rammed rite into the right rear door of our car & sped off. Have to replace the entire door & some paint work. Bill is $1200 (rough quote). Made me want to scream & curse the bloody biker!

Then I think abt it. It cld have been worse! So be it. Live & let live

Mampanda,
I'm using both Desitin and A+D now. Desitin use only at my ILs place. I prefer A+D cos it's like ointment which I find it easier to apply, compared to Desitin which is a bit of a powdery texture. In terms of effectiveness, I think both works just as well. When Isaac was having severe diarrheoa, the A+D clears up the rashes pretty fast. What I don't like about A+D is the smell, sometimes when I use too much, I though it reminds me of poo. Anyway, now I think Isaac's bum is not that sensitive already. I'm thinking of switching to Vaseline (much much cheaper) for daily use and use A+D only when there are rashes. Not sure about what's not good about too much zinc oxide though.

sl,
I started with Drapolene. Frankly, it works perfectly fine for Isaac. But I decided to to Desitin and A+D after so many good comments from mothers. And I did some calculation, Drapolene is not exactly cheap cos the tube is smaller compared to Desitin and A+D.

Tracy,
Hahah, I can imagine how funny Megan is!

My Isaac is on the other hand a little afraid of Indian men. And I put the blame squarely on my in-laws. When they used to care for Isaac, they will call indian men 'hei hei' and ask Isaac whether he is scared of indian men. I was quite pissed about that actually. Just last night, they can still comment that Isaac is scared of strangers, especially indian men!!!

re doctors
i agree that not all specialists are fantastic either. sometimes getting a good doc also depends on a bit of luck i feel. of cos recommednations help. when i was in my teens i had this very bad pain on the right side. so bad that i couldn't breathe without pain. i went to see a specialist at Mt E who diagnose as gastric flu. but it was so painful after a few days that in the end i went to see my GP cousin who just started his clinic. he felt it was more serious than that and immediately referred me to his fren in Glen E. the min i got there, the doc told me i got to go for a op cos he suspect it's appendencitis. went for a scan and in the end they found that it is a cyst that was pressing on my intestine that was causing so much pain.

i went to KK and my experience was quite good actually. so i guess it's a bit of luck. plus my gynae was chosen randomly by me and hb...

tracy
your megan so funny...ha, every time u see indian u got to be careful of what she says...

JH will just say hi to everyone including indians.

mashy
thanks for the photos!

mamapanda,
thanks for the compliment on JH.

are the books here already?

mamapanda - i just PM you with my order of A+D tube. wanna try one tube for my baby to come. thanks! will collect together with my derma product.

Anyone keen on bulk purchase for books? wonderbox.com.sg. I'm not sure which books suitable for me to teach my son, abc,numbers etc.
Any advice?

jsut saw this promo http://www.edenfrodonelvis.com/
Got 3% off Cali bb super sensitive range.

Wendyheng
remember the previous time when i did BP? to get the 10% discount, the orders must be more than $2000. it is quite a nightmare to coordinate. MPH is having 20% sale now. if the price is cheaper, can just get direct at MPH.

I like karen katz books. bright and cheery lift the flap books. i got some baby enstien books as well for shapes, colors. i got a few dr suess books. i got a set of books from pelangi that my boy loves - little reader series. ladybird has some cute books for nursery rhymes.

i read in another thread that leapfrog DVDs are very good for teaching phonics. anyone interested to order from Amazon? it is USD 9.99 (without shipping). or anyone knows where is selling this? i m interested to get it

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Items</TD><TD>WT (oz)</TD><TD> USD </TD><TD> Total (USD) </TD><TD> Total (SGD) =USD*1.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD></TD><TD>60</TD><TD> $41.34 </TD><TD> $41.34 </TD><TD> $66.14 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>4</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $6.86 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 1lb</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $15.18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 1lb</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $18.98 </TD><TD> $30.37 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 1lb</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $- </TD></TR><TR><TD>SL</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>4</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $6.86 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>4</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $6.86 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi SY,

Is it too late to add orders for the Benefit Cosmetics?

I would like to order the following:

Dr. Feelgood (matte skin balm) x 1 ($26)
Dandelion Blusher x 1 ($26)
Benetint x 1 ($28)

Hi Mommies!!

Been MIA for almost a mth since I moved, but all's well. Finally more settled down now and besides being really busy with work for my maternity handover, I'm really trying to spend more time with Lucas before no.2 comes along anytime now (me going to be 38 weeks liao).

Really cannot catch up with the postings but can't help but grin at the indian stories. Here's my bit: Lucas has always been afraid of indians (dunno why since we never specially say anything about them to him) until one fine day my hubby took him to Jalan Kayu prata shop and whispered to him 'see see a-pu-nei-nei'. And to our surprise, he was very amused by the sound of that term and kept laughing out loud. He was even able to play with stallholders and indian shopkeepers after that. Hopefully he doesn't blurt that out when he knows how to speak.

thanks tracy and SY
cant help thinking that our life is so precious la.

tracy
the ah-neh thing really v funny leh.. i always laugh when u post abt it.

cindy,
yours also v funny. haha..

yuki
i already placed orders already. hmm, anyone interested to combine order with you? Cos your orders alone is USD 80. just need anothe USD 5 to get the free shipping. Let me ask whether i got frens interested in getting the cosmetics

Leapfrog DVD
any mummies interested to order?
- Leapfrog Letter Factory (USD 9.99)
- Leapfrog Talking Words Factory (USD 9.99)
- Leapfrog Talking Words Factory 2 (USD 9.99)
- Leapfrog Math Circus (USD 8.99)
- Leapfrog Learn to Read at the Story Factory (USD 9.99)

If get the whole set, it will be USD 44.99

I am interested to get some. If anyone else interested, let me know.

Been pretty busy with year end closing thus am not coming in regularly to contribute... but it sure feels good to come in and read bout all the funni incidents..

Tracy / Cindy - The ah neh and a pu neh neh hilarious la!!!

Mamachan - no prob on the aqua mat... glad to hear it helped! Hope that the fever will leave Daren soon...

Re : Dengue prevention

eh... do ur know where to buy those repellent incense sticks to burn? i over heard an auntie on the bus saying tat she lights up the stick at home to prevent mozzies but have not been able to see any in the pharmacy... anyone has any idea? am worried cos my inlaws' area is HOTSPOT!

god's child
what abt getting those vapouriser kind? just plug into an electric point and the vaporiser will give off some scent that will repel mosquitoes. i just bought from NTUC but haven start using.

God's child
I think most dept stores do selling those electric type. If not can get those patches from supermarket too.

SY
I'm keen to get
- Leapfrog Letter Factory
- Leapfrog Talking Words Factory
- Leapfrog Talking Words Factory 2
- LeapFrog Talking Words Factory 2 - Code Word Caper (this one has got quite good reviews too)

SY

i heard those vaporiser type which u plug directly to the plug quite dangerous, can explode leh. my hb had one repellent from baygon which we just need to put the little refill mats into it. It's quite effective. We tried to look for it but can't find any other than refill mats. Wonder if they have stopped selling that.

God's Child,
My in-law house area also HOTSPOT. I bought mosquito patch and stick on Jamie's back of her clothing. So far no bites. It is slightly bigger than 50cents coin and has got a smell. I insist that hb,me and Jamie stick this when we go there. But ended up hb did not cos he dun like the smell.

I use vapouriser almost everyday at home. Bought Mortein brand. Also not bad. Jamie seldom has mosquito bites.

May,
i got both patch and the repellent at my mum's place. But does not seem to be effective. Cos even after spraying the repellent, Caleb still kanna mozzie bites if my mum bring him downstairs for walk.
So now, we have banned walks cos the bites are really bad.

Queen,
Somehow, that's the problem with ILs. They like to cite everyday stuff to 'scare' the kids. Whenever Meg wanna walk into the room alone to explore, they will scare her by saying 'dark dark ah!', and I keep reminding them to let her be.

Mamapanda,
Thanks for your advice on the Cali BB stuff prices. I referred to the sprees and ya, if you don't mind the hassle, getting from US is still cheaper. BTW, my fren working at Singapore Power says Babyfleur is not taking part in the roadshow...

God's Child,
I used to use the Mortein plug-in type too. Then when Meg came along, we stopped using it cos all our plugs are within her reach so its not good to have her touching it.

Are you referring to those mosquito coil? If can't find at supermarkets, eh...try beach road where they sell army stuff? Think they should ve it there.

SY,
i have that Leapfrog DVDs.
Tried to play for Caleb, he wasn't that keen yet.
The graphics are not that nice, thats why i think it failed to catch his attention.
But anyway we will try to play for him again

cindy - hi great to hear from you. wow u took so long to get settle down in your new nest? i think i remember we moved hse almost the same time ard Jun right. i think next in this forum to pop is cookie, u and me liao.i am also trying to spend more quality time with Caleb before no 2 pops out. but the good thing is he is now pretty sticky to his dad. always call daddy esp when we return home from work. he will call out to daddy even when i pop my head first at the gate. so sad but i guess his dad has been bathing him so far and that was his most fun time of the day and monster mummy, me will grab him out with the towel with him wailing. haha...so maybe tats why la.

mamapanda - thks for adding my order for the drugstore. let me know when to transfer to you. hopefully i can collect the stuffs(derma+cream) before i pop.

SY - the leapfrog DVD can be played on the recorder or is it via the leapfrog books? sorry me sua ku. so far i only have the leapfrog phonics magnets tat i placed on the fridge which i find it very educational. is there any link? will take a look over the weekend or maybe see later if i can squeeze some time to view it. btw, does toy r us sell it? know wats the price difference?

Sept03Bride,
I banned walks too. Dun allow MIL to bring Jamie downstairs.

RE: Observant Jamie
Mummies, I was very surprised last night when I was preparing to bathe Jamie. As usual, I was preparing to fill up Jamie's bathtub with water. Jamie is standing patiently beside me. I put my hand into the water to test the temp before I undress Jamie. It was pretty hot and I purposely scream and show Jamie that it is hot.

Jamie came over and sayang me. And immediately point to a small bucket (which she plays with during bath time). I held it up, not knowing what she mean. She then point to the tap and she nod her head. And she points back to the tub filled with "hot" water. I was so surprised that she knows the tap has got cold water and by pouring cold water in, the "hot" water will be warm and she can goes into it!!

I even demostrate it again to show hubby. And he is really impressed by her. So surprised that hubby even suggested that it is time for us to plan for #2 !!

Queen,
Yah, I also hate it when my maid tries to scare Ryan by switching off the lights and say "dark dark, scared scared". And I also dun like it if parents say "you so naughty I ask the policemen to catch you"....its not so nice when they see policemen and think that those are the bad guys!

Mosquito patch
Ryan is using the dermalife one, which I think is very useful. Its a yellow patch with some citronella oil which is supposed to repel mosquitoes. Last time I did a BP for it and was quite successful but I havent done one for a long time. Are you gals keen? I think in pharmacy and ntuc and guardian it is selling for $5.90 but supplier could sell me for $4.50 if I hit a certain quantity (can't remember how much, gotta ask them again)