(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May
Wow...I think your gal can really eat. I think it's ok to wean off the milk portion before the nap time slowly. For my boy's CC, they only encourage packet milk for N1 going on the N2. I think eventually they will stop giving milk before nap times. Whch is ok with us coz he's already weaned off the milk bottle and had been drinking from a cup since beginning of this year. End of the day, they should be having balanced intakes of food rather than solely rely on milk.

In fact, my boy can go without milk for the afternoon, just morning and before bedtime.

As for afternoon tea-break, my boy is also quite fussy...but he's grown to learn to eat things like dao suan or red/green bean soup. Coz his principal told him if he doesn't eat they will give him more. So nowadays he will guai guai finish whatever was given to them for tea break.

As for dinner, he eats rice for dinner most of the time at around 6 plus 7pm. So far I think it's ok, I usually try to limit his rice intake.

I think my boy is considered the big eater in class le, always asks for 2nd helping for food.

Mashy,
Ya, she is still weighing 18kg. Just that the ribcage is out and my mum keep saying she is skinny.

Queen,
I am also looking for violin class leh. Wonder if Yamaha got this. Else I going to let her learn from Mandaville (wrong spelling?) at United Sq. Abit far but I heard this is a good sch. Jamie is asking me for violin classes since Jan till now and I promised to let her attend when she turns 4yo.

RE: Weaning off Milk
I am against of weaning off milk now. But I very much want her to wean off her milk bottle. I tried asking her to drink from cup several times. But she will take longer and will need to spilt into two times to finish the whole cup. I will talk to her teacher to see if can still maintain milk intake but remove the bottle or not.

Mamachan,
She only ask for 2nd helping if she like that food. Else she will keep quiet and finish her 1 portion and go hungry. When I pick her at 6pm, she will complain that she is very hungry.

may

aiyah, dun overfeed your gal lah. If not next time obese how? Have to go on diet? FYI, I weighed 20kg at 10yrs old leh.... See a bit of ribcage at this age is fine lah. Anyway she's tall, so ok lah.

queen

u can't imagine how relieved i felt when his teacher told me that he's doing well. I was on the verge of crying. :p Just heard from his classmate's mom that he belongs to the half of the class who can read.

May
Sorry for the confusion...what I meant is that I personally feel it's ok to wean off the afternoon milk feed. I'm still keeping the milk to morning and before bedtime.

It's true we should not be overfeeding them at this point in time. We can't always expect them to be chubby like when they are a toddler. They will bound to lose some of their bb fats. So long they are growing and there's no loss of weight can already.

My boy's teacher ever told me that children who attends CC tend to have a hearty appetite and get hungry easily coz they are always engaged in activties/play. So don't worry too much that J is not eating enough, probably she's got high metabolic rate and burning off what she eats in school due to activities. Just encourage her to eat during tea-break... learn to accept new foods.

I'm trying to control my boy's rice intake. I'm afraid he might be like my cousin, appear so slim till 3 plus 4 then suddenly when he's 4.5 yrs, his body just ballooned up! He remained huge all through Primary school and secondary school... only now he's getting taller and he's been working really hard to trim down. Imagine he's in Sec school and already working hard at the gym!

mashy
Wow...it must have been a very "worth-it" moment - all the searching for the right school and not giving up hope on your boy.

Mashy ... I can feel your happiness. yes, finding one that believes in your kid is not easy. I'm switching off now to finding that now after having been disappointed a few times. I can only concentrate on how my son portrays his good impression of the school/teachers/frens (even though I think here/there could be better)

May ... I agree with the rest. My boy is prob the smallest-sized here (with Mashy's C) but his energy and activity level is amazing and that is enough to make me be at peace. Imagine we are still passing him off as a "not 3 yet" boy and people are not questioning. Follow the growth chart ... J1 should be at 75%?? Perhaps for lunch, she knows an 8oz milk will follow and that's why she knows she can cut back on lunch. When they are hungry, they'll eat. I'm having headaches getting K to eat different types of food too, he only eats rice and noodles and whatever that goes into it.... my headache is a different kind coz it sort of limits the family's variety of meals too. btw, my 6-yr old boy's weight has been stagnant at 20kg coz he works out a lot ... his tummy is really flat and can see ribcage, but he's got muscle too. So, don't think you got much to worry

music, I don't think yamaha offers violin at such young age. 4 yr-olds should be doing Suziki violin right? not familiar with violin but just sharing that yamaha's new term starting in Jan 2010 and for those who are looking at getting their kids on Electone program can start looking at it now.

.ky.

mamachan

i attended a wedding over the weekend n the bride is on the big side. They showed photos of her when she was a kid, very skinny gal. She ballooned in pri sch. And it's not due to genes coz her parents aren't big.

oh yes! def worth looking for the right school!

ky

haha, we've been passing C off as 2yr old too! but too bad we need to show passport when buying air tix.

we're interested to enrol for electone too coz piano maybe a bit big for his small fingers.

mashy
LOL...when I got married, I was on the big side too...not a skinny bride lor. But of course I've ballooned further after marriage and childbirth. I was very skinny when I was a child...started to get more fleshy when in secondary school...but still maintained coz of school activities, ballet, etc etc. It's only when I started dating my hb and we were just happy hanging out and eating! Gosh.... it was scary lor... he loves food so much, 2 of us eating like 3-4 person's share! LOL!

Child's weight
So far my boy has been maintaining his weight between 19 - 20kg for this past year. He's rather tall now... I think got at least 108 - 109cm? Have to measure him again. He's past my belly button even when I wear heels!! Cannot pass him off as 3 year old... people asking me if he's 5 years old! *faintz*

Pin
long time no see you here. I think one mummy here send to zoophonics and has good feedback.

Creative thinkers was recommended to me by a fellow mummy's fren here who used to teach there. I guess more importantly your kid must like the place.

May
dun worry lah she is eating well leh. For Aden sometimes he can go without the nite feed. If he ask I will give if he never ask I will ignore too. Weekday the confirm feed he will get is at am, before nap at cc and 5 pm second feed at cc as parents only pick up by 7. night if he has late dinner I will try to skip usually successful.

weekend if he never ask for pm feed I will skip too. Only morning is his SOP must have.

Weaning off bottles. Aden actually can still sleep if at times i forgot to pack the milk bottle or even ha ha pack one without the teat. This is so silly of me. But the teacher has no problem to feed in cup and he could nap as per normal.

My Charmaine is always known to be skinny right and she was 2 kg away from aden hor. Within this 1 year, Aden remains at 20- 21 kg and charmaine went up to 26.6 kg. So the dr was always right that she is never under weight though look skinny.

Aden's cc control their diet well and they do not believe in giving carbo and must be balanced diet so i think in a week they only have 1 meal with rice. usually noodles and jiao zi.

Music school
ha ha when i have that wish for Aden to take up violin but he is very into drawing so ha ha might let him take up art classes

mamachan

hahaha, after marriage happy mah. :p I also gained >10kg since i got married. No more skinny me.

I've a cousin in law who was skin and bones before marriage & childbirth. Now after 2 kids, she's at least three times the previous size. So u can imagine how much she put on...

re: weight
my gal is also skinny but eating a lot compared to her peers according to her teacher at childcare.

re: violin lesson
my gal just started her lesson last week. it's 1-1 session. the teacher is recommended by my hb's colleague. The teacher did an assessment to see if my gal shows dislike to the violin. During the lesson, my gal was attentive, so the teacher decided to continue the lesson and lent her a violin. She will help us to buy a suitable violin this coming week.

I know that Crestar provides group violin lessons to kids who are 3.5 yrs and above. for 1-1 lesson, need to arrange with the teacher separately.

mashy - i am currently sending c to SEIMPI music school. there is a branch at white sands and funan.

CL - yeah ! me is one happy zoophonics mum but come next yr, they are gg to childcare. however, will still continue enrolling them for their holiday programmes which i find interesting. just last week, c was into circus and he kept telling me his teacher gave him $10 to buy circus ticket, they had face painting on the last day of the programme. Tis week is the rainforest, ocean theme. i am also accompanying J for his programme this week, he is sooooooo active and it really tires me out. he spilled the cup of paint all over the table and kept disturbing the teacher's stuffs on top of the cupboard. i am gg to be "exercising" again later today. getting all the muscle aches already.

i think i am one skinny mum who grew even thinner after marriage and child birth. on the flip side, my hb is expanding horizontally. so i think he is the one having a good life not me. haha...

Re :Milk feed

Just being curious, how many milk feeds are your giving to ur kid now? Cel is still having her 3 milk feeds and 2 meals wf snacks in between... she is ballooning and growing pretty fleshy too at 18.2kg... HB is asking me to control her carbo intake :S well, she eats well all the while fr last time, the weight gain i attribute it to her being able to retain her weight ever since she is on her vitamins.. was tinking if i shld cut her nite feed or PM feed...

SSF - Cel is still wf zoophonics for their weekly programmes and still loving it
Sat is a super hectic day now cos she has got ballet at 10am followed by phonics at 1pm... the time in between is now 'quality time' where both of us look fwd to wf no external disturbances

god's child
My boy usually have 3 milk feeds a day from mon-fri (AM and Night drinking FM while PM is packet milk) with morning break, lunch, tea-break and dinner and 2 milk feeds over the weekend but with breakfast, lunch, afternoon snack and dinner.

So long she's maintaining her weight for the past year and growing taller, I should think it's ok bah.

mashy
you stopped his pediasure then??

re: Milk Intake
Dylan's milk intake went from 3 times daily @ 210ml each to now 2 times daily (when over at my mum in the afternoon) or some days only ONCE in the morning. Night time he said he no need milk anymore bcoz he's not hungry, afternoon feed he now prefer fruits/bread over milk.

his weight is good, @ 20kg standing @ 109.5cm. as long as he's active and not complaining hungry, i let him decide whether he wants milk or not. and i had started him on fresh milk and he likes it.

only thing is he still wants bottle over cup during the morning milk feed, although i had wean him off bottle for the night feed.

at their age now, milk should not be their main source of food intake.

mashy
OIC...then in this case will you plan to stop his Pediasure? Or perhaps cut down on his milk intake? Hope the puffiness would resolve on its own.

J1 is maintaining her weight at 19kg and height abt 1.08m bah. Cannot disguise her as 3yrs and below. Alot say she is 4-5yo.

I am worried abt her diet bcos she is very stubborn. If she dun want, means dun want. Then end up when I pick her up, she will tell me she very very hungry. This is why I am so worried lor. Anyway, I already highlight to teacher that if they wean off nap milk intake, make sure she finish at least 1 serving of lunch.

Mashy,
Will diluting the Pediasure makes the puffiness better?

Sunny,
PM u on the violin class. I would like to know more.

queen
i didn't go with my gal last week for the violin lesson. my hb mentioned that the teacher was nice and experienced; but he didn't tell me about the credentials. He only told me that the teacher also teaches the students at diploma level for piano and violin though she looks quite young. She does go to the students' house to teach with extra charge. I will go with my gal for the lesson this week and give you the updates.

May
I will read the mail and reply you later.

milk feed
Ariene is also quite light at 15+kg only. She's currently 100cm. She takes her GainIQ twice a day. Once in morning 8am and once at night at 8.30pm. She used to have milk 3 times a day when she's at home but ever since I sent her to CC at Cherie hearts, I stopped her afternoon milk feeds.

Hi hi mummies,
long time no "see"
hope everything is fine n well with children here...

btw....

Looking for any cheap & nice xmas gifts for babies/ toddlers?
Do visit my blog @
www.onnobazaar.blogspot.com

All items are ready stock and are new.
Enjoy browsing.

Cheers.

I still thinkng whether to send my younger girl for violin, because last time my eldest went for violin but give up after 3 months. She find it quite difficult. I am thinking to give her piano or violin.

Haha i dun think you all need to worry about the weight, my eldest daughter who is 7 now, she is the second shortest in class her height is 114 and weighing at 15kg only. She is sharing her clothes with her sister now. She is even wearing her cousin's cloth which is onld navy size 18 month.

chicken little,

quite busy these holiday, so not active in the thread, but i also in 2002 thread same like you.

Ssf,

My girl attending the holiday program this week in zoophonic, she enjoys it. Still decideing between zoophonics or creative thinker.Creative thinker got longer hours so is good.

god's child

You are in sat enrichment class in bukit timah, i might had seen you because my girl have tution in the the chinese school next to zoophonics every sat.

any parents have saving plan for their kids, with bank. I used to have saving with my girl in posb but the rate so low and today just sign up for ocbc school plan. Is there any other bank which give us better rates. Tks

pin - the cda acct i had for my kids seems to have very high interest. i recently recv a statement stating for 2009, total interest is 66 bucks. consider good right? since my kids are gg to childcare next yr and fees can be deducted from the cda, we will be putting in 10k one short into that acct. i think its better than putting in normal banks.

mybrestfren breastfeeding pillow
I know I asked before, but, need ask again since I'm in my 3rd tri already and I forgot who offered to lend me her breastfeeding pillow..

Anyone has one to sell or giveaway? I'll be needing it for 2 years. Trying to be fair to both girls so I hope to be able to breastfeed my #2 for two years as well.

PM me if u have any ok? Tks!

SSF
The CDA account has a 1-for-1 scheme in which the govt will match dollar for dollar u put into the account, up to a cap of $6k right? I thought it has nothing to with which bank u put into. Curently, I think only OCBC and POSB are allowed to have CDA acct right?

babybonus
Can I ask how does the govt pay out the baby bonus for second child? How do u use the CDA acct to pay for things like cordblood banking, vaccinations, childcare, infantcare etc?

mamapanda

the baby bonus is in instalment - $1000 immediate, baby 6mths, 12mths, 18mths. Total $4000.

U can't use the CDA acct until your child is born. So gotta wait. After born, then u can sign up with std chart/OCBC CDA (POSB no longer have CDA acct). They'll issue u a card that works like atm card with pin code, except it can only be used in certain places like pd. U use it like NETS. For cc, u fill in form like giro forms to deduct from the CDA acct.

sorry to intrude... I have 2X <font color="ff0000">Ultimate Michael Jackson Tribute Concert</font> tickets to let go - $83 per ticket for Tues 15 Dec 2009 8pm at the Singapore Indoor Stadium. These are really good seats. Unfortunately, hubby and I are unable to go. Please PM me if you are interested, thank you.

mamapanda

i think standard charter also have cda.

SSF
now interest rate everywhere is so low. SO i sign up for ocbc school plan. Think quite good as only paid for 6 year.

mamapanda-yes u are right. max govt will match 1 for 1 is 6k. will check out on the interest rate cos i thot it is higher than normal saving banks for adults. I think stand chart is also another bank u can open cda acct with. the only thg is when money is put into cda acct, cannot take out right which i thot explain why interest is higher? Or am i mistaken? cda can only used for school fees, medical etc. I am using tat acct to pay my sons childcare fees including uniforms, mattresses cover etc.

SSF
ha ha CDA max out quite fast and once 2 kids are in cc it will be depleted very fast. within 1 year mine was all dried up after Aden and Charmaine were in childcare.

ok, i have checked....ocbc interest rates for cda acct is 1% and money cannot be withdraw out until ur kid turns 7 y/o. its higher than normal savings acct. not sure abt std chart though but i assume they shld be similar.

CL -yeah with cc deductions, the money will decrease over the mths. One mth for my 2 sons are like 700 bucks already. Siong! So we opt to put 10k in so need not worry for the next yr and also hope to get some interest lor althoug not alot also.

Finally it is up.

Anyone knows where to get Princess Birthday Cake other than Bengawan Solo ? Jamie wants a princess birthday cake, I was thinking of baking it if I really cannot find a nice 3D one.

May

U can order from Pine Garden/ Swee Heng/ Cupcake divinity.

I bought a Pooh Bear Cake topper and balloon topper and asked pine garden to bake a 2 tier cake. Pine Garden charges artistic fee though.

Re; night training update

My boy 'toilet trained' himself. His diaper was dry for a few nights in a row and we decided to let him go diaperless. It was ok for a few nights, then the night before, think he was too tired, he had 2 accidents in 1 night. Last night, he insisted on wearing his diaper again.
Think he's not confident he can go diaperless and also prefers less hassle since he woke his daddy up on his 'accident' night twice to tell him that he wet the bed.

may

it's by kg depending on the flavour. It ranges from $31 to $46 per kg. I got 2kg bottom tier $31/kg and top tier 1kg $33/kg. $25 for the artistic charge. Total $120.

u can email pine garden, [email protected] to ask for sample photos, then u can tell them how u want the design to be and they can quote u the artistic fee.

U have to ask the sch how much to get. My sch asked me to cater for 50 children, with at least 2.5kg. So i ordered 3kg.

Nerf Toy Guns

Just to share. I bought the older version of the Nerf toy guns. The set consists of 2 guns and a pack of darts from Carrefour for $20.Very cheap but old model lar. Do check to make sure that the box has the complete set cos ppl opened and some hv missing items. Also check the guns cos some not working. There are some other cheap toys. Bought the playskool crocodile golf set for $10.

Boxes are torn so might not look very good as gift.