(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy - if i off the lights, C will on the table lamp on his own. the kids dun seem to be scare of us until the rod comes out. haiz. sometimes must really drive them to cry then they will happily sleep. btw, not only sleep, i have to force them to bathe and then force them to come out of the tub. gosh these kids nowsaday is really a terror! i don;t remember being such a difficult kids when i was young.

sysac- hmm could it be that your niece loves the top so much that she insists to wear it? C sometimes will ask for tops with pockets so that he could stuff his little cars in it. J when sees it, also demand for one. so sometimes i will give them wear nice tops with pockets to sleep.

Mamachan - Hubby's brother's wife. I have grievances where she's concern. She took over C's baby cot at ILs place w/o informing us, kept his sheets, pillow/bolster in the cupboard, etc. I know there are people like that but I cannot help being put off by it. I think the most decent thing to do is to let the other party know you are taking over the cot. They are only 10 months apart so C was still a bb when they took over the cot.

SSF - Haha...am I supposed to feel good that she likes all the tees we got her so much she has to sleep in them? I dun let C do that! For him, PJs are PJs, etc.

Sysac/SSF
Same as sysac, I will buy clothes specifically for sleeping PJ sets or sleepers (full length romper type) and T-shirts meant for going out. D even have sets of clothes meant for home wear too... I'm quite anal about differentiating different clothes for different occasions.

Sysac
aiyoh...that's too much already!!! They just assume that C doesn't need the cot? It's not like they paid for it or something...

Mamachan/Mashy - The cot was placed there as C went over on Wed-Fri.Prior to her delivery, they automatically made it theirs as in changed the sheets,bumper, & putin their room etc. I got mad & asked that all of C's sheets, pillows, bolsters be taken back since the cot was no longer his.

This shd be my last of my ramblings over the issue...if not, will be a grouch forever...made my peace with exp PJs...hee hee hee

In any case, I think I wld have the decency to ask the owner of something if I can take over/borrow/make it mine. I wldn't make it mine cos I live there! I even ask HB when I borrow his things :p I am in a letting off steam mood! Thanks for listening

sysac

no prob. There's always this issue abt ILs. When I asked my SIL to return me the baby stuff which I lent her previously, my MIL got the cheek to question shouldn't my SIL keep for her next baby. Hello! It's my things. Anyway, she just returned what I lent her and she didn't give me more than that, i.e. things that she bought herself. And my stroller that they broke were cleanly forgotten. Didn't even try to make up for it at my gal's 1st mth. Anyway, i should also make peace. My hb will be complaining again why I cannot forget this. haha. Made up my mind that this time round, I'm not going to save anything for them. I'll give away to other needy parents or resell my things after I'm done with them.

Mashy - My PILs are ok...so is my BIL. it's my SIL who lacks basic etiquette. She basically does not greet anyone & she lives with my ILs! My friends have convinced me its her upbringing. When u dun open yr mouth to greet pple for > 30 yrs, you won't do it for the rest of your life

Mamachn - Hee hee, C has been taught that PJs are only meant for sleeping & not worn out of the house. One day, he exclaimed :"Hey, J wore his PJs out...cannot right? It's only for bedtime." when my neighbour's grandson turned up in his PJs.

ha ha talking about greetings
Me brought up greeting anyone we met. Too bad my kids no matter how I tell them to they somehow will defy at times.

Like Charmaine when she was 3. I tell you we were totally embarrassed when she does not greet pple who she see not "shun yan" to her eye.

Aden will depend on his mood.

So I need to work very hard and have to say sorry to pple if they dun

breadmaker
I got the Morris breadmaker. Its a UK brand. Cheap and good. Can buy it from Courts with 5% or 10% off if u have the courts card. Cant really remember but I think I paid something like $105 for it after discount. I use it to mix dough for my home-made pasta as well. However, they make breads in square shape only. If u want to make fancy breads, sweet rolls or other shaped breads, u can use the dough function to do the dough then shape ur bread outside n bake with your oven.

However, if u're expecting a top quality one but at almost triple the price, the best in the market so far is the Zojirushi one which costs abt $300+ the last I saw.

sysac,
i can fully understand your feelings cos it happens to me so often, i've stopped passing clothes down unless they were already second-hand ones. I see the lovely mothercare, fox, ON clothes that Meg wore out being turned into home clothes.

Yes, there are always issue with ILs and mine at this moment is with my SIL cos her daughter scratched Meg's face twice and the second time it was so deep, there's a tiny scar near Meg's eye now. I did not kick a big fuss over it but when i returned home and saw it, i pullled both Meg and my niece over and told both off. I think that was fair, to tell my niece that she cannot scratch anyone and to tell Meg not to snatch her toys although that was not the reason she got scratched that day. She was scratched only because she wanted to play together with her. My niece is a terror (to me).

And jus 2 days ago, Meg decided to play hairdresser and cut my niece's hair. The fringe and the left side. Not very noticeable. And this I blame on the adults in the house who did not look out for them and keep sharp objects. Who knows, when I reached ILs, I saw my niece and I said,'oh dear, Meg cut your fringe?' (i din know where else was cut. My SIL immed replied curtly,'And her left side!' I was pissed but kept my cool and ignored that remark.

Then couple of days ago, my niece snatched Meg's toy and Meg smacked her on the head twice. I told Meg off firmly and made her apologise which she did. Who knows, when Meg went into SIL's room and casually spoke to her about other things, i saw SIL blinked at her and ignored poor Meg. I thought that Meg having apologised would suffice and kids being kids, such things are bound to happen. As the parent, you should not show such pettiness cos you will then be telling your kids that this is the right reaction. I simply told Meg its time to go home. Unfortunately, my niece is already turning out to be like her petty mum. Whenever others bully her, her mum will tell her 'Go tell that person's parent'. I thought that was not the correct way right?

Sigh..ILs...we'll never run short of issues to rant about.

ILs
Was reading on the woes of having inconsiderate ILs and I was thankful that although I have an inconsiderate n intolerable FIL, at least I don't need to deal with nightmarish SILs or BILs on top of that. My brother's current girlfriend is a very nice lady so I don't think she'll do all those horrid things mentioned above. I'm really thankful to God for this.

My only concern now is my FIL keeps trying to use my #2 to threaten my #1 nowadays. He's always saying things like "Oh you're notti, I'll love meimei, don't love anymore, or say things like I'll buy meimei chocolates don't buy for you". I get really pissed everything he says things like this. Even if he doesn't mean it, hearing it too often will sow discord between my 2 girls even before my #2 is born.
Luckily, A is "mature" enough to ignore nonsense like this from my FIL and answer him things like "never mind, mummy loves us all" but, still, I don't feel good nor comfortable when I hear things like this.

Secondly, FIL was quite obvious in his "disappointment" when he heard that #2 is also a princess. When my MIL tried to show him the latest printout of my scan, he didn't even take a look.

Tracie
This scenario will never end. Charmaine and my niece, nephew fight too.

Just last month, Charmaine and my nephew fight on his birthday. Suppose to have a party for my nephew then suddenly we receive call that it was cancelled. When I reach my sil place where Charmaine is being careoff after school, my bil was punishing my nephew. Both of them fight, kicked each other and even said " I dun want to be your cousin." So bil told me he has caned his son so it is my turn.

So of course I decided to cane instead of letting my husband do it who said if it is him he will cane a few more times.

But the kids never remember, they still fight. Kids always fight , it is part and parcel of growing up. I have given authority to my sil to purnish my kids if they misbehave but if she do not take it and refuse to update me then do not vent the anger on others.

Because when her kids mis behave in my house, I purnished all. This is fair. What I buy for my girl, I get for them too. So punishmet should be the same.

Mamapanda
Congrats for another princess.
Well now that I stayed with my fil, i appreciate what he does for me too. He will put my laundry out when he is home so my laundry are dried daily though I did not bring my dryer over.

But when it comes to kids, hmm I also do not like when he give comments to compare my gal and my niece who is P3, ask her why she is so lazy and not like jie jie will do homework. Then why she so skinny and jie jie is so fat and nice.

I am very sure my gal will retaliate one day. It is ok for him to tell her off, cannot be lazy must do work, must work hard. Eat more then grow plumper will be nicer etc but i dun like to compare.

Mamapanda,
My ILs like to say such things about favoring one over the other too. But luckily kids these days are smarter. Meg will also ignore and does not take it seriously.

CL,
I agree, punish all! Between my elder BIL/SIL and hubby and me, we discipline each others' kids. It's only my younger SIL's kid that we all do not scold or touch, not even my MIL, cos we know her pettiness. She wun give face. Do you know once, while they were playing MJ (which she doesn't like her hubby to) and her daughter went inside the room to touch her laptop, she scolded her daughter loudly and my FIL told her nicely not to shout so loud. She actually scolded my FIL back and said,'She touched my PC how can I not scolde her!' Then she dumped her daughter outside the room and slammed the door at everyone. I'm truly truly amazed that she has absolutely no manners and respect for my FIL. We were not present to witness this but the next day, FIL, MIL, elder SIL and BIL all 'ran' to our place in ponggol to play their MJ and told us all about it. Hahahaha.

In fact, when we 'bought' the place opp my ILs, FIL was happily saying next time got nearer place to 'run' to.

tracie/ mamapanda

at least they just say themselves favouring the other sibling. My dad told my boy that I favour my gal more and dun wan him! Argh

CL - U do tell your kids to greet and when they do not, it's because they are not in the mood. I find it acceptable. U do your part. My SIL does not at all. In fact, I do not like the way she greets her own dau :"Hallo, notti girl..." I find that kind of labelling is not healthy even if it is done with affection? Hee hee...I am amused by it.

Tracie - So sickening right? See the clothes you treasure turn into PJs or home clothes? Hee...I am still harping on it! C has a lot of clothes & my mum used to ask me to pass over the neutral coloured ones to the little girl. I wld usually tell her no I rather keep them. She realised why after I complained to her abt the ON incident & the recent Disneyland tee. Anyway, the little girl may be 10 months younger than C but she is bigger in size & heavier than him so def can't fit into his clothes. Her mum wld force her to drink milk by the hour the min she hits home.

sysac
ha ha my kids clothes are being eye upon liao. Like my sil will tell me to pass Aden's to her sister's son. For my charmaine's she dare not ask as she knows I will leave to my husband's sis's daughter(oso sil).

a lot of IL stories ... well, i'll like to take mine like MamaPanda, be thankful what you DON't have :-> ... I don't have quarrelsome ILs, I don't need to interact that often with them, I don't have them discipline my kids nor need to be bothered abt how their kids behave. All our visits to the ILs are all very social & casual. Imagine I took a VERY long time to teach my older boy who that uncle is (ie father's brother) or who's married to who. .... that's how well we know them. I always think that one has the freedom to choose who one wants to mix with, even relative n I think it's been made known (well, at least my hubby knows) that we only socialize if we do need to. We've not spoken to a SIL for 5 yrs now. It's not us, but she. Well, if she thinks she's high and mighty and do not wish to mix with us, there's nothing we can do.. in fact, that's how I'm geared towards the interaction with the ILs. And though we do turn up for family dinners (at expensive restaurants), I really do not understand this extended family's philosophy that it's for bonding coz each family will mostly care abt their own kids, but I'll always tell my kids to greet them (keep repeating each visit, it'll get into the system eventually). For such 'unique' behaviour, and esp those mentioned, it's very difficult to explain to the kids n I think a lot of times, all the grudges hurt the kids somehow, but what can we do. But very thankfully, when some of them do want to eat at some fanciful restaurant or hold birthday parties, they don't include us, and no explanation nor grudges nor complaints from anyone, very thankful ...

my MIL used to say negative comments or make comparison ... oh, so skinny, oh, so mischievious, oh, whoever whoever can read already (but this one of yours can't), oh, whoever is speaking so well. I take it as an old folk talking n just one ear in n one ear out.... n these comments does get reduced over the years, who wants to talk to a wall? well, eventually, how your own kids turn out to be is your own "fu fen" and how you've mould your kids. if they want to see the good side, they will one day, but if they don't, they never will. n btw, we stopped doing hand-me-downs yrs ago, very thankfully, the SIL had 2 girls, I have 2 boys that ages overlap with another BIL's son.

.ky.

i am back from a holiday break at perth. weather is cooling but sunny. we enjoyed ourselves a lot there. both kids even gained about 0.5kg each. miss the place and the holiday... i wonder when will be the next holiday for the family.

re: greeting
my gal also doesn't like to greet though we try very hard to ask her to.
just want to check, do you ask your kids to go around the house to greet the relatives one by one when there is a big gathering for some events/festivals in someone's house?

mamapanda
congrats for having a princess.

Sunny
wow nice holiday.

Yes I do ask my kids to follow me as I greet all the relatives. Even my husband cannot remember so he has to follow me too ha ha.

During meal time, they oso have to call pple at the table to eat.

sunny

usually when there's a huge family gathering, then i'll just get him to greet the main pp i.e. great grandma, grandparents. Coz our family very big, each time also at least 20-30 pp. If all greet one by one, it's going to take a very long time for him and very stressful.

We also have to call pp at the table to eat. So now he knows how to call already.

Sunny - Yes, we wld usually greet the host of the event, followed by the people familiar or talk to at the gathering.

During meals, C wld say grace & then greet those who are at the table as well.

CL/mashy/Sysac
i c...
for my own relatives, we are quite used to smiling at each other if we did not greet them. They don't mind if we don't greet them as long as we are polite to them. That's y I am actually fine if others don't greet me.

i usually just ask my kids to greet the main i.e. host and eldest ones in the group and the relatives whom we sit near to. I am not too sure if I did the right thing or help my kids in cultivating the politeness in this way...
but for my in-laws, it's a big no-no for not greeting them and ALL the relatives during the gatherings.
I find it quite stressful for me to greet one by one and especially when my gal refuses to greet. Sometimes, i could even forgot how to address some of my hb's relatives.... :p
my in-laws, especially my SIL will somehow insist my kids to greet her and others. When the kids are stressed and unwilling to do so, they will start saying things like, 'you har... naughty gal/boy, don't want to greet people. where do you learn from?' blah blah blah... it irritates me. 'cos I was thinking if the kids didn't want to greet after we asked them to, just let them be... why stressed/forced them to do so.

sunny

haha. ya, the reason why i dun greet everyone is coz i can't remember who is who. i only greet those that i can remember. i told my hb i will greet after him. if not, dun expect me to coz i really can't remember. esp when 2 of his uncles married 2 siblings n they look alike. so dunno who's married to who. furthermore, my mil insists we call by number. even worse. i only remember those wif names, the oldest n the youngest.

ha ha
for me hor, ha ha at wedding dinner distant relative whom we dun meet , we just call uncle and auntie. Those with title ones only parents' sibling. Ha ha for teochew my gal already pick up, what ever I call, she will just add "lao" xxx xxx in front. My side hokkien, she just add" po " for female or "gong" for male behind.

Me now even neighbour my fil will introduce us and we have to greet. Imagine I go downstairs or go home, have to greet pple from coffee shop all the way up ha ha xiong man

sunny
Welcome back! Hope my recommended places to visit was of help to you and hope you did rent a car at a good price!

Greeting Relatives
I personally do go around and greet my relatives (grandparents and mom's generations) when we have gatherings as it's something my mom instil in me since young. So likewise I would bring my boy along with me to greet people. Whether he wants to or not, depends on his mood but most of the time he will greet.

I try my best to greet hb's side as well.

I think so long we teach our kids to greet people and instil in them our beliefs, that's all that matters.

ILs stories
wow!! Today it seems to be about the ILs. LOL. I'm not sure if I should be thankful that since I have no siblings and my hb's brother is still single (but dating lah). And BIL's gf seems nice and we get along well... so shouldn't be a problem I guess.

ILs - My intent to share was cos I was peeved & was letting ng out steam...not so much on comparing who's lucky or not to have monster-in laws or not? :p

Hopefully no one gets offended with the topic.

sysac
ya lah. Ha ha no prize for having best in law woh. ha ha yes yes sometimes while sharing on the nice things our little ones has done, this is a nice "steam room"

Thanks CL! Haha...Was wondering if I opened a can of worms!

Anyway we are planning to re-do C's room. Other than Ikea & funiture mall, any places to recommend to have a look as well?

Calling all mummies! I’m selling a few brands of milk powder. EG. Similac 2, Isomil 2 Advance Soy , PediaSure, Similac Mum, Gain IQ Kid, Nan 1 and 2, Nan HA 1 and 2, Mamil Gold 1 and 2, S26, Promil, Progress and ENFA ALL KINDS. All milk come in 900g only. As I m working in a clinic, can get direct from supplier. Please state in the sms details of the mik powder, stages or full name. MIN ORDER IS 12 TINS. EITHER SEIF COLLECT @ SENGKANG MRT OR DELIVERY @ $15. SMS 96838123 IF U R KEEN. THANKS…..

can anyone PM me yen ping's number? jx teething and gave me a super blocked duct. when i changed phone somehow lost her number..thanks!!

Goo.N diapers
Anyone using or used Goo.N diapers before? What's the feedback? Are they better than pampers premium NB or mamy poko NB diapers? Also, the new design pampers NB diaper doesn't not come with urine indicators?I know it used to have but it seemed that they've removed that feature from the new packaging I saw days ago.

Hi Mamapanda,
Congrats! Din have a chance to wish u earlier on your 2nd pregnancy. I ever used a sample piece Goo.N. Its quite similar to pampers but I find the price quite ex. Tom & Stephanie sells it. I find Nepia & Mamy poko more reasonable & quality is good enuf. When is ur EDD?

tks CL!

Saw it on offer for 19.90 / 58-count pack for NB Goo.N diapers, free delivery to my home for orders above $80. Was considering if I shld get that cuz the pampers n mamy poko NB diapers are kinda of ex. If its really good, I'll get 4 packs of NB and another 4 packs of S diapers at 1 shot. I've never tried or seen this before so I'm kinda worried abt the quality.

wenyl
My EDD is 20 Feb la but just that I happened to chance upon the offer online and thought it was quite cheap compared to pampers. If my #2 princess does not have sensitive backside like #1, I'll probably go with nepia or this brand, if its good and if its cheaper than nepia. BTW, how much is nepia going for now? Anyone have any idea?

Mamapanda,
Goo.N is not bad. Not as good as Pampers but definitely above average. Can buy if there is promotion.

mamapanda,
I agree Goo.N is not bad. But I stopped buying it cos its ex compared to the other brands. Eh, dun buy their wet wipes though.

Actually now I'm using Petpet for Duncan. It's cheap and holds urine for pretty long period. Then again, depends whether the cutting suits your gal but can try it out.

thanks all for the diaper feedback. Bought 4 packs of NB and 1 pack of S for GooN diapers already. Nobody using nepia anymore? No one knows whats the current price for 4 packs of nepia for free delivery? Min order is 4 packs for free delivery with nepia right?