(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Confused
See Yuen yuen's link to MOH's website for hospital bill size. Mt. E is the most exp for single rooms.

Sysa
Ya, so exciting. Thanks for the info. My gynae scheduled me to do the NT scan for my next visit too, which is in week 13.

Cookie
I always like to ask doc qns, so am a bit diff from other pple. My questions were:
1. Whether my mummy's complications during her birth were hereditary?
2. Will he go on leave end of the year? Who will cover him?
3. Gynae's preference for natural birth, or ok with C-section?
4. Can I opt for natural tear or does he prefer prefer episotomy?
5. Can play golf? (or whatever other sports you are doing).
6. I bought a bottle of pre-natal multi-vits, so I asked him if it's ok to consume. Which he recommended me to stop for 1st tri as we only need folic acid now.

If you have any other pregnancy symptoms, you can also ask him why you're feeling this way and whether there's anything which you can do to ease the discomfort, etc. I would suggest that you list down all your qns, then, bring the list to the gynae when you see him.. their time are usually v precious. So, we can't sit there and think, u know what I mean.

baobao
I have 2 labrador retriever... 2 naughty boys.
My MIL dun like them...but her son ( my HB) love them deep deep ...kekeke.

What is NT scan?

hi bao bao,
i have 2 dogs (a chihuahua X pomeranian and a tibetian spaniel). but currently they are staying with my parents coz my home is not ready and i'm staying with my in-laws. i only go home and stayover at my parent's plc during the weekend. when i have my place, which will be ready at the end of the year, i will bring my dogs back to stay with me. i can't wait to see how my dogs react to my baby! :p

btw ladies, what is NT scan?

wow cookie. u got 2 big dogs! u must live in a big house! keke...
both of us posted the same question "what is NT scan?" keke...

Krissie,
Your Dr Ho sounds real good in stitching oh?? Come to think it I've never even thought about that... haha so funny... now I'm bit concern dun know if my gyne is good anot... = P

Yasmin,
Your boss sounds so unreasonable & irritating oh! To think she was also a pregnant woman before and PLUS u already fainted once & yet she still preasurizing u... = Z

Sysa, u miss out me leh. = ( EDD 3 Jan

Okie me also dun knwo what is NT scan... ??? = ?

Confused
Ya, you can check with your gynae. Usually, they'll stick to 1 or 2 hospitals. Also, if his office is at Mt E, it might be inconvenient for him to go to Mt A.

Clare
Ya, I read from the threads in this forum. If I'm not wrong, the 2 gynaes which the gals say have not so painful stitches are Dr Ho (Mt A) and Dr Christopher Chong (KKH). That's why I went to see him.. hee hee..
I chose him over the KKH doc as my hubby prefers Mt A.

Cookie
No probs..you can also ask him whether you can eat certain foods, etc.. though I think western medicine doc will usually say can eat everything.

baobao
yup... I will be keeping them, my HB will never give them up.But we must be extra hardworking with house work :p
I'm looking forward to see my BB grow up with my dogs :p I believe they will be good buddies cos my 2 dogs are very gentle.

Celine >> no lar.. no big house just flat la..kekeke... by rite cannot one...err.. anyway I start keeping 1 only but my friend gave up her dog. and it's so poor thing to see the dog go to pound or something so we decide to adopt him too...
hahaha great ming thinks alike :p
So I'm not alone...dunno what is NT scan..

Hi, Krissie. My first consultation was $80.80. Under private scheme. But the nurse told me for subsequent ones will be lower loh.

Hi Minhui. Yup think ours EDD are really close

Want to ask you all, any problems in selecting gynae. Cause my previous gynae who treated me is from Gleneagles, but I heard there like quite expensive. So went for KK one, but the queuce very long (mayb lunch time).

R you all taking chinese supplements too? Anyone went for the jurong east doc? I was with her till I conceive so mayb can ask for her recommendation.

Some info to share. For OCBC credit card holders, got 20% off net prices, bought some clothes there yesterday already.

Celwong
Thanks. For KKH, are you planning to take A1 ward? Actually, for private charges, KKH is not that much cheaper than the pte hospitals. You can go to the moh website (which yuen yuen gave earlier) to compare the prices.

I'm not taking chinese supplements. I believe that TCM works. But, when pregnant, I dun think it's so safe to take some chinese herbs. I saw the article in the ST (Mind your body) some time back that says for pregnant women to avoid chinese herbs, as some herbs may cause birth defects as the herbs are actually quite strong. So, I've stopped completely. Maybe you can check with your gynae.

Which shop are you referring to for the OCBC discount?

hi bao bao, thanks for the link. now i know wat NT scan is.. keke

hi cookie, ic... i presume big dogs needs space to run about so tot u live in a bangalow. keke.. *juz kidding*...

Hi celwong, I am taking TCM as I have taken it before to cure my throid problem. I had confirmed with the sinseh that I can continue to take it througout the pregnancy.

I will be going to see Dr Adrian at CCK this thursday, heard that his package is quite affordable.

Minhui

My doc is oso Dr Adrain. He very good so no nid to worry. He have alot of pregnant woman who see him.

His package is very reasonable.

Hi Sunny!! Welcome. = )

Hi Celwong, yeah which shop are u refering to for OCBC 20%?? Jurong East??

My gyne didn't mention anything about NT scan, only got a Detailed scan in the 20th+ week i think. She did mention though that the law permits termination of pregnancy up to 24wks so the detailed scan is for us to "decide" should anything go wrong. TOUCH WOOD of coz!

So I dun know if its really necessary to do the NT scan... how much does it cost btw?

Is the NT scan dangerous for the baby? It says that the nuchal translucency (NT) is measured. NT is the fluid collection behind the fetal neck.

So how do they collect that? It sounds dangerous.

celwong

i've compared kkh & the pte hospitals. It's not much cheaper & the staff sucks. Might as well go to pte unless got complications.

hi bao bao, I heard that he is quite nice doc too...but when I try to c him on Saturday, he got 10 patients waiting for him at 10.30am and he had not started seeing them yet and he have to rush off the SengKang after 12.30...peng...

hi mashy brainz, NT scan is done through the ultrsound too, the doc will try to measure the thickness of the fluid behind the fetal neck.

Hello Sunny!
So my suspension is cleared you are one of us now!
SOOOOO HAPPPY!!!!

Tomorrow, me going to hear my baby's heartbeat and hopefully can get a good scan pic. SO EXCITED!

Minhui

Yeah. Cos i see him for pap smear oso. Than i noe im pregnant so i use him loh. He quite a nice guy. Yups sometimes he really have alot of mom to be. So u gotta wait loh. Normally i see weekdays and the timing is morning.

Hi gal
wanna ask for advise...
so far I dun have much obvious preggie signs (Thank God!) except taste bud a bit bland and sore breast these days... but recent couple of days I keep feeling body is weak and "soft".. like no strength like that. Similar to coming down with fever but it's not ( well I hope not)....
I wonder if this is normal? do u feel these way too? Oh then everynite by 10pm I feel so tired and fall alseep...

Cookie

Me too... I don't have any preggie sign too. No vomit nothing at all. Just feel very very tired and tend to slip very early. And sometimes feel body very cold oso don't know why. I think is normal lah.

In the day normally i feel zombie, very sianz of working

Hi Sunny
Congrats..

Mashy
NT scan in non-invasive. The gyane will measure /count the neck fold of bb to determine if there's any abnormalities. So no need to worry. Dun know how much it is though.

Cookie
It's v normal to be super tired. Maybe that's nature's way of letting mummy have sufficient rest for bb.
maybe you're very tired, so feel weak?

Bao Bao
I also feel very xian to work..

To the second time mummies out there,
For 1st child, usually do pple give birth ard the EDD or slightly earlier or slightly later? say, by 1 or 2 weeks? Can share with me your 1st birth, pls? I'm trying to see when's the earliest I would pop, since my gynae might not be ard before Christmas. Thanks!

krissie/baobao
same here very tired to work... hope can go on leave.. sian..

Ok I hope I'm normal and not actually coming with flu...
Oh baobao.. I also feel cold at times ley.. pple say preggie will feel very hot one.. but so far I still feel cold somethings, in fact in office I wear jacket one...

hi all... wanna ask for more advise..
in First trimester, is it ok to always have Yong Tau Fu for lunch ? I usually choose lotsa veggie like brocoli instead of fried stuff. I wanna eat yong tau fu cos it's more healthy la and wanna control my weigh...

Cookie & Bao Bao,
U are not alone. Me dun have much symtoms, breast seems bigger but no sore, occassional nausea (esp when hungry but always nothing come out). Only thing is me feel super tired also... in office i would just sit there n daze off, n sometimes by the time knock off from work I feel the journey home is soo long & legs numb & by the time i finally reach home just collapse on sofa & dun wanna get up. Initial stage sleep very early also... now still can tahan till 11pm coz i like to watch Kang Xi on SCV Ch 52. But weekend afternoon nowadays will nap for at least 2hrs. =P Appetite still very good though trying to control now.

cookie

same here. very tired. always have to take naps. don't think it's advisable to take yong tau fu esp if u take it dry. Coz' the food is left in the open for a long time, may have bacteria. If u want to eat, take soup ones. Make sure they cook everything.

feeling cold is normal. Sometime feel chill but its normal. The body will get warmer later in pregnancy.

Krissie, my 1st baby was early by 5 wks. 1 other friend gave birth to 1st kid 3 wks earlier than due date. 2nd baby was 4 days earlier than due date. Another friend was delayed for 1 wk so had to induce labour, think baby too comfortable in womb.

So really its unlikely to have a sure EDD. You can gauge only nearly the term cos, it depends when baby decides to go into right position. Once the head is crowned then gynae will give you few days to deliver. So, dont worry abt delivery now. Enjoy your pregnancy!

Krissie,
According to my gyne EDD is just the date that one has complete 40 weeks but most ladies would normally pop between 37th to 41wks, anything longer than that would have to induce the bb out loh.

Cookie
Me too sometimes wake up feel cold & as if coming down with flu. Glad u share this so now I know its normal... = P

Cookie, Clare, krissie

But whenever at nite my stomach always feel uncomfortable. Than i got to go toilet try to burp out the gas. Once i burp i feel very shoik.

Cookie how can don't work, no work cannot survive ah. But really tired in off, can't really concentrate. Hopefully by 2nd trimenster everytime will be back to normal.

I can't take Yong Tau fu leh, cos i get hungry very easily. If i hungry i got to take food immediately or else will shiver.

I feel hot too but in MRT sometimes feel very cold and in off too. It ok to suffer as long my BB is fine and healthy.

clare
me too.. I like to watch Kang Xi...kekeke.. last time sure can finish watching but now only watch half way fall alseep liao.

Morning ladies
Feeling cold or warm is normally. Throughout the day, I will be putting on sweater, taking it off many times as one moment, I feel too cold and the next I will be too warm. During the evening, I always feels that I am having slight fever.

Glad for those who have no MS. I have quite bad MS during the evening and night and so can not rest well at all. Everyday every xian at work but lucky my bosses are very understanding. I even manage to cancel my business trip to Hong Kong and they will set-up the video conferencing here for me.

Yasmin - your boss is so bad, don't get to stress or upset with what she says, this is bad for the bb.

yasmin, clare
Thanks for the update. hmm.. so looks like there's a chance that I might deliver when my gynae's having his holiday.
So headache. I can't decide if I wanna take the risk or not.

Wow! so many posting. hee! i juz woke up.

cookie - its ok to have yong tau fu. I think all food can eat but eat in moderation. U read News paper today (under Mind your body), it mention abt wat to prevent during pregnancy. I was told dont eat too lang food, not gd for the womb.

Btw, u gals having sore breast all the time? i so worried cos some time got sore breast so times dont have.

krissie - u manage to talk to your gynae. Ask him if he's not ard who's going to deliver for u?

have any of you start wearing maternity clothes..
i feel so paisay to wear it now..coz i am only 8 weeks pregnant..most of my clothes are very tight now....i can see tat i am puting on weight..very obvious...

confused
I've asked him already. He says he has a few gynaes to cover him. So, i depends on who's available during that time loh. Breasts are sore only at same times, so same as you.

belinda,
am not wearing them yet. But, my pants are all too tight. Only can fit in my skirts. Agree that it's starting to show. Everyday must think of those clothes which can hide my tummy.

krissie - oic. i thought must have soar breast all the time cos my 1st failed pregnancy suddenly all the symptom stop n not gd news liao. now at least i can fang4 xin1. Thanks

oh! then how? u have to ask yourself whether u comfortable with the gyane that covers for him if not u might one to change? i agreed, EDD very difficult to predit. Sometimes earlier sometime late.