(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Celine
I started wearing as my waist have increased about 2 inches already and cann't fit into any of my normal clothes. Waiting for the Big Sales so that I can really start shopping for maternity clothes, so far I have only brought two tops and two bottoms from Perfect Mums and I read in other thread that there are quite a few shops in Suntec City.

hi yuenyuen,
ic... i think maybe coz this is ur 2nd pregnancy, so ur body is "experienced" and hence all ready to get into pregnancy gear... keke...

Yuen Yuen
My gf says she put on 15kg, so I think you're ok lah.. so far, I don't know anybody who only put on 10kg. Seems like a stretch. I've put on 1.5kg so far liao.

Yuen Yeun

Yap spring maternity is having sale at suntec. If i can remember correctly start on 29/05. Maybe u can call them to check when they are having sale.

Hi Krissie
I understand that Wong Li Lin only put on 6.5 in total. Don't think that is very healthy. wonder how heavy is the bb.

Yuen Yuen

Cos i don't have any morning sickness at all. And i love eating. I can be very hungry at time. My mummy too say feel like eating eat don't suffer.

HI kriss
I have a friend put on 20+kg...kekeke...she has very very good appetite.
and other 2 friends actually put on less than 10KGs and gynae must ask them to eat more...
My friends who put on less weight are either has very very bad MS or another one is half vegetarian and she always eat Yong Tau fu or Fish soup and dun usually snack....

Wah, Wong Lilin only put on 6.5kg. I also think a bit too little. I've already put on 1.5kg. My dress was very tight today, so I felt fat. Did a weight management chart today.
1st tri, put on 1kg per mth, 2nd tri, 1.5kg per mth & 3rd tri, 2kg each mth. total wld be 13kg. I hope I can stick to it. Really hope I don't put on too much. I take a long while to lose weight..

Cookie,
My tastebuds have changed. I used to love yong tau fu & fish soup. But, now when I eat them, I feel like puking. I quite like to eat vegetarian, hopefully, that can moderate my weight gain a bit. Though sometimes I feel guilty when I eat too much vegetarian food. Not too sure if there's enough nutrients for bb.

Bao Bao
I like Spring Maternity. Might go & take a look. I think 9mois also starting their sale this weekend.

Good Morning Ladies!
Yesterday was on medical leave. Actually doc gave me 3 days mc to rest at home leh. But I worked full day on Wed and am back today. Hmmmmm today morning very nausea leh but when at home I dont feel it.

I am one of those who can put on weight very easily. For my 1st baby I had put on exactly 20kg and delivered 5 wks earlier. Dont know how much I wld have put on if I were to deliver full term kekekeke
It is a relief to know that having yellow discharge is common in pregnancy, cos for my boy did not have any discharge and this pregnancy have lots of it. Actually think it is a girl I am carrying (and hoping for) kekekekeke

Have a wonderful weekend ahead!

287455.gif

Hi Yasmin
Hope that you're feeling better. Ha ha... maybe our mind don't like to work, so we feel sick at work. Sometimes, I'm also like that.
The book which I'm reading suggests eating something light before we sleep & the first thing in the morning after we wake up. It will reduce m/s. I think because, when there's food, your stomach don't churn, so lesser gastric juices, etc. For me, I drink milk when I wake up. It does help a bit.

My gynae said that ginger (preserved etc) helps in MS and we should breakup our meals into smaller portion instead of the usually breakfast, lunch and dinner. Personally I have not tried the ginger as I hate ginger, but breaking up the meals into smaller portion helps in reducing bloatedness.

Krissie
So we can put on 1kg per month for 1st tri thus 3kg in total. Good, I am less worry now since I have put on 2kg which is on target.

Hi Yuen Yuen,

How is the parking fee charges at Camden? I saw Dr Lai for my first preganancy and am wondering whether to go back to him for the second. Is his package still starting At 16 weeks at $880 and normal delivery at $660?

Hi Minhui
Sorry, didn't take note of the parking fee yesterday. I don't know that he offers packages. I also saw him for my 1st bb but that was very long ago when he was with KK hospital and I had a c-section as the bb was breech.

How does the package works ?

hi krissie
don't feel guilty of being eating too much vege and worried that bb won't get enought nutrition. in vege, there are lots of folic acid which is good for baby. and you won't get constipation so badly.

and... i am a vegetarian.
i have other friends who are vege mummy, their kids are very healthy.

if you feel worry, you can ask your gynae to give you some vitamines to supplement your change of diet.

Yuen Yuen: As I have mentioned, the package start at 16 weeks and u need to pay $880 for antenatal, it's supposed to include all scans and urine tests. Then need to pay him $660 for normal delivery.

hi Belinda! Congrats!

Yuen Yuen
I did the chart myself.. ha ha.. not based on any books etc. Wanted to just have a guide on my weight gain to keep it in check.

Sunny
Thanks for sharing. Hee hee... will be eating vegetarian again later..

Belinda
Congrats
Are you a first time mummy?

came back from my second appt yst and bb measured 17mm... can also see the heartbeat... so cool!!!
quite like this Dr Benjamin Tham and most likely will stick back to him at KKH. Here is the scan pic of the bb! ;)
287646.jpg

Hi celine,
pls share your 3D machine scan too.. really curious how it is like :p

Mummy's Name EDD Hospital
1. queen 1 Jan
2. edd2jan 2 Jan
3. krissie 6 Jan
4. Bao Bao 9 Jan
5. yasmin 10 Jan
6. celine 14 Jan
7. mashy brainz
8. el2004
9. cookie 27 Jan
10. Sysa
11. Yvonne
12. Muah
13. Min Hui 27 Jan
14. april 27 Jan
15. yuen yuen
16. belinda

krissie, yuen yuen,
i hv a GF who gave birth last dec and she only put on 6kg. it's her 2nd pregnancy n her bb weighed 2.9kg, she gave birth at her 38th wk. after she gave birth, she went back to her pre-preggie weight within 2wks. according 2 her gynae, she cld hv lost a lil weight during pregnancy. her weight gain cld b abt 8-10kg. therefore, after she gave birth, she was back to her pre-preggie weight cos she cld hv put on weight due to eating all the delicious confinement food.

weight gain
lil weight gain is fine as long as the bb is growing fine n u hv sufficient amniotic fluid. i tik 2nd time mummies will know tat during ur last trimester, if u hv insufficient amniotic fluid (in mandarin, they call it "yang tai shiu bu gou), it can b quite dangerous n u may need 2 b bedridden til u deliver. so new MTBs, take note.

i hv a few GFs who put on 18-25kg (their pre-preggie weight is bet 45-50kg) n their babies turned out to weigh 2.6-3.2kg. gaining lotsa weight doesnt equate to a heavier bb cos there r a few factors which need 2 b considered.

1st time mummies, take note...during ur 4/5th mth, u'll b taking a blood test. if ur haemoglobin count is low, do take iron tablets or eat lotsa spinach & red meat. higher haemoglobin count is very essential cos haemoglobin in e blood brings nutrients thru e placenta to ur bb.

i had low haemoglobin count n was popping 2 iron tablets every day. my son weighed 2.8kg, born at 35wks. very gd size, considering he is a premmie.

Me just came back from trip to gynae. So xian.. I was so excited, but didn't get to see him 'coz he had 2 emergency deliveries today..
and, I can't wait that long coz my hubby needs to rush off to work.. But, no choice loh..since it's delivery.

edd2jan
Wow.. your bb is so big. you're 9 weeks, rite? I wonder how big my bb will be during the next visit. That time was so small, much smaller than Celine's.

Kelly
Thanks v much for the info...very useful. Hmmm... so hopefully, I also don't put on so much.
Then, no need to lose so much. But, how will I know if the bb is growing well? By the length or weight? I assume the gynae will tell me. Will take note of the blood count. Actually, the polyclinic doc gave me iron tablets. But, coz constipation, so I've stopped it. Maybe I shall take it on alternate days.

KELLY
thanks so much for the info...
I'm a Thalassemia Minor so thinkmy blood count will be on the lower side.
Before I started taking folic acid my blood count was 9.5 and after taking for a couple of months, it actually improve to 11 or 11.5.
How was your blood count when u said it's low?
I'm about 6 weeks pregnant, do I need to take Iron pills now? when I saw gynae at 4 weeks, he said I take folic acid for now it's enough.

From Kelly's update, looks like I'm no. 1 on the list with EDD on 1st Jan. Actually this date is calculated by the scanner, it says I'm 8 weeks preggie. But cannot be right cos 8 weeks ago I just finished my menses. Think more like 6 - 7 weeks. But my BB measures 16.8mm. Is that big?
And I have already put on 2.5kg. Scared my BB will be overweight!

Liek krissie, I also feel that drinking milk first thing in the morning and before sleeping help to ease the MS. But do you all know any TCM or ointment that will ease the nauseous & 'men(1)' feeling in the chest? Or anything we can take to reduce the gassiness and bloatedness in the stomach? Feel really bad at night...

Queen
Can try taking grapefuit juice or lemonade.. for me, it helps... or try taking something sour. I LOVE sour sweet fruits now like plums, grapefruit, kiwi, orange, strawberry, green apple (in the above order). hee hee.. I love to eat fruits. Everytime, I feel sick, I'll grab a fruit to eat. I feel bloated usually after eating, like indigestion. So, fruits help, esp sour ones, coz they're acidic, so, I find that they can breakdown the food for easier digestion. This is my theory.. hee hee.. not sure how true it is, but it works for me.

EDD is 6 Jan 2005. Delivering at NUH.

Just scanned on Fri. Baby is 1.7cm at 8 weeks 5 days. It grew 4 times since two weeks ago during my 1st visit when baby was only 0.41cm. Cld see the pumping heart.

Going in 3 weeks time. Gonna do the NT test to check for down syndrome & any abnormalities.

Hihi all
Over the weekend, I went out with my Gal friends on a 1 nite stay at stamford swissotel...
Now I'm feeling so guilty.... as I never tell my galfriends I'm pregnant (wanted to wait till 12th weeks onwards then annouce) when I join them for dinner... there are much restriction
because we eat Japanese food!!
As all of us has been enjoying Sashimi before, I couldn't tell them I'm not eating any, they knew I love salmon sashimi so I'm actually eat some raw stuff... YES!!... I took maybe 2 slice of salmon sashimi, a bitbit of Tuna sashimi
I knoe we are not suppose to take raw stuff...but...sigh... anyway I hope I have not done anything that hurt the bb.. that's y feel so guilty and lousy now.

Then at nite we also went to a nite spot, well it was so crowded and smoky... although I was feeling ok but sub-conciuosly I dun feel like breathing becos of the smoke...
ANyway I make an excuse and went back to hotel room to rest alone fast enough...phew!
I really hope this weekend, my bb is safe and sound and not get hurt in anyway becos his/her mummy is not doing good enough

Hi sysa
We have the same EDD. For the NT test, did u ask your gynae for it? Or your gynae suggested that you go back in 3 weeks for it? Can I check if it's supposed to be done in 11-14th week? Thanks.

Hi Cookie
I think a bit won't harm bb lah..I also took salmon sashimi during early stage of pregnancy, coz I didn't know I was pregnant then. Next time, u can bluff them that you're having a stomach upset, so can't consume raw food.

Hi edd2jan, this is my 3D scan. don't think it's much different from yours, maybe juz slightly clearer. i think can only see more difference when the bb is older and can see the face and limbs.
287861.jpg

Hi cookie, don't have the feel guilty lah. my doc told me that i can eat anything i want. as long as it's not excessive. wat's worst if you eat raw food, maybe abit of tummy upset and dat won't hurt ur baby. but of coz, juz make sure that the food is fresh.

Hi Minhui
I delivered at KKH the last time.

Kelly
My girl is already 4+. The gap is a little wide but I wanted to enjoy her before having another.

el2004
My EDD date is also 11 Jan but not sure whether I am going to try for natural birth this time.

Cookie
Better to avoid raw food if possible especially not fully cooked egg as I understand it collect bacteria which is bad for the bb. Sashimi should be OK if is fresh but although I love Japanese food, I avoid them so that I will not feel so guilty.

Morning all
Last weekend was really bad for me. I have MS throughout the day and whatever I eat, I threw up after an hour. I got so worry that I didn't dare to eat.

Kriss/celine/yuen yuen
Hi thanks...
ya hor.. how come I never think of saying I have upset stomach...kekekeke....

Minhui
U have any comment or compliment or complaint for Mt Alvernia? I plan to deliver there too...

1. queen 1 Jan
2. edd2jan 2 Jan
3. krissie 6 Jan
4. Bao Bao 9 Jan
5. yasmin 10 Jan
6. celine 14 Jan
7. mashy brainz
8. el2004
9. cookie 27 Jan
10. Sysa
11. Yvonne
12. Muah
13. Min Hui 27 Jan
14. april 27 Jan
15. yuen yuen
16. belinda 12 Jan

1. queen 1 Jan
2. edd2jan 2 Jan
3. krissie 6 Jan
4. Bao Bao 9 Jan
5. yasmin 10 Jan
6. celine 14 Jan
7. mashy brainz
8. el2004 11 Jan
9. cookie 27 Jan
10. Sysa
11. Yvonne
12. Muah
13. Min Hui 27 Jan
14. april 27 Jan
15. yuen yuen 11 Jan
16. belinda 12 Jan

Hi cookie,

I stayed in 2 bedder and I only have compliments for the staff. One nurse asked me to bathe first before the induction and helped me to get towels. Throughout the night after delivery, I get so hungry that I keep ringing the bell. They also helped me to position the pillow so that I can breastfeed the baby. The confinement food is quite ok too.

In addition, there is a LC that goes about teaching mothers helped to latch the baby and a parent craft class session too (how to bath the baby etc). There is no pressure from them to formula fed my baby although she has no output for one day.

They are very supportive of breastfeeding and they try to help my neighbour by bringing in the breastpump when her son refuse the breast.

I would go back there again.

Minhui
Who is your gynae at Mt A? Thanks.

Yuenyuen
Poor you.. rest more. Are you better today? IF not, can ask doc to give you mc.

Hi gals!

I'm back from my first antenatal visit.
Can see the sac, but cannot see fetus yet.

Got some hormones pills & will see her again 2 weeks later. I'm 5 weeks. She didn't give me an EDD, just said it'll be end of Jan. so I guess i can stick with 28 Jan until further notice.

I'm a first time mummy to be and EDD 3 Jan 2005. Glad to find fellow Mummies-to-Be here!! Just did my 2nd scan last Fri on 27th, BB now 20.4mm big & estimated 8wks 3days +/- 6days. = )

Hi Clare,
Wow, your bb is considered much bigger than mine considered i also did my 2nd scan last thur est. to be 8 weeks 3 days also and bb is 17mm... btw when is ur last menses? mine on 28 Mar and EDD based on bb size is 2 Jan 06.. happened to be the same as what i calculate from the online calculator...

Welcome welcome!! ;)

Hi edd2jan,
Hmm maybe due to mummy here being very greedy?? I already put on 2 kg so far... not much morning sickness plus apetite very good, only very tired & sleepy throughout... so eat & sleep & eat & sleep.... at this rate going to be bloated very soon... must control liao. = P

My last menses was on 19 Mar but based on 41 days cycle initial EDD was 1 Jan. Fri EDD based on bb size was 2 days later on 3 Jan instead. I am still hoping to be in 2005 instead coz i have got few friends who are giving/ already gave birth this year so at least same year got friend friend... hee hee