(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wenyl - u got mail! the vitacost goods are here
for mummies who are doing spree for burt bees item. Just wanna share the breakdown...
currency exchange now is US1.53.

Burt's Bees Baby Bee Tear Free Shampoo & Wash - 12 fl oz -> S$16.50

Burt's Bees Baby Bee Tear Free Bubble Bath - 12 fl oz -> -> S$16.50

an alternative to first teeth toothpaste that is kinda ex now. This seems to be cheaper. Btw, I am selling the finger brush. If anyone is keen, let me know as I do not need it. I have 10 sets as posted in the WTS thread.

Earth's Best Toddler Toothpaste Strawberry Banana -- 1.6 oz -> S$7.10
2655509.jpg

cheers!

ok mummies....i take back my word of recommending borderlinx site for online spree. I received my goods today and was shocked that 2 items were missing and i had a half bottle of lotion splattered all over the box. I have since submitted a claim to QBE for followup as requested by borderlinx. Is this a common issue with online shipping? So suay lor..first time spree and got this
anyone ever got claims back?

Wenyl -rest assured ur stuffs are all in tact and in good shape. Only my orders lor. Boo hoo...

SSF

o-oh. Looks like have to go back to vpost? My multivits already finishing, looks like we need to go vitakids to get them instead. sigh. Will get my hb to buy online later instead.

SSF,
Oh dear! Thot they normally will bubble wrapped properly? Hope they can resend or refund u asap. Btw, thanks for organising! And I have tt the $ to u already. Pls check. Will arrange a day to pick it up from ur plc.

hi mummies....i wrote to vitacost yesterday and they said they will replace the 2 missing items and the leaking item to Borderlinx. tat made me slightly better as i was still fuming mad when i went to bed. as for shipping to here, i need to check with QBE how they are going to settle it. Luckily it was paid via my citibank credit card, else there is no insurance.

has any mummies ordered from vitacost before? just wondering why some items are bubbled wrapped and some arent. wat a bad experience for me lor...but on the flip side, the burt bees shampoo and bath is really cheap. GAIA smaller bottle of shampoo only(8 Fl oz) is already costing me $19.20 here. BUrt bees as mentioned above is $16.50 for 12 flo oz after shipment fees.

wenyl - yeah, saw your credit. Thks.

Hi SSF,

I've shipped via Amazon from Borderlinx before ... just when Borderlinx started biz so abt 2 yrs ago. Borderlinx uses Fedex or UPS (can't remember) and they actually opened up the boxes n repacked to be smaller, and they actually told me they didn't. So, perhaps they did it this time? They have an online chat that u can asked them. I remember I was quite happy with them as compared to CGW (but BDL was troublefree). For CGW, I had packages stuck there and I took a lot of threatening n 2 months before they shipped replacement items to me for free.

there's a discussion on these agents in SMH somewhere ...

.ky.

Sometimes it's good to talk abt it and then moves on. Sometimes it's bcos the foetus is not healthy and it's just meant to be that it has decided to terminate itself. My gynae told me that it's a 1 in 4 chances of pregnancy will result in a MC ... I've heard of so many women who went thru' it. I've lost 2 somehow along the way. When I was having my first baby, 2 other closed fren/relative were preg at the same time as me and they had problems with their pregnancies too. And so I strongly believe in getting a gynae that one can trust.

CL, when I saw u then, I knew something wasn't right ... but I know u will and r getting on fine. I guess the mummies here are just very friendly and concerned which I'm glad I get to know. I got these teasing not knowing things happened too... well, that's women for u :smile:

.ky.

mashy/ky - i chatted with Borderlinx staffs and they said they don't do packaging. they only tally the count which is also not correct anyway. i posted a qn to vitacost about packaging and she didnt revert on that. borderlinx ties in with DHL. maybe if its other courier co, they may have done a better job with that. haiz....

SSF, try calling n asking DHL ... if it's outsourced, then BDL can't advise much. U should have a tracking# for them to look into.

.ky.

Berries Class
Wow... I'm really impressed... by the 3rd lesson, my boy can tell me when the wind blows, he'll exclaim "Feng Lai Le!"...and when it starts to rain, "Xia Yu Le!".... this is considered a giant step for us coz we are still quite 'Channel 5' at home... we only make an effort to "revise" what he learnt before bedtime by reading the little booklets provided by the school...and occasionally reading a Chinese book to him.

Pregnancy feeling
I was very tired last 2 weeks, now feeling slightly better and at the same time, I don't feel very pregnant leh.... still too early??? I'm seeing gynae tomorrow...finally!

Tracie
D's school does have chinese lessons... each day only 1/2 hour of chinese lesson... his chinese teacher did tell me that 1/2 hour of chinese lesson each day is not enough to help him grasp the language especially if we don't speak it at home. We do try to speak to him in Chinese on particular days of the week as well as read one chinese book before bedtime other than an English book.

I was just worried if he might have a hard time to catch up when he comes to K1 and K2 and then later on struggle in Primary school...so decided to send him to Berries to see if it really helps him to be more interested in the language.

Already as it is, my mom is not chinese-speaking, and my MIL, regardless how many times I told her to speak to him in Chinese/Cantonese, she likes to talk to him in her own version of Engrish (pun intended)

CL,
just browsed thru the threads and read about your loss. So sorry to hear about it. I know nothing we say here will lessen your pain, but I guess it's still nice to know that there are alot of pple who cares about it and most imptly you have your 2 beautiful children who will always be your pillars of strength.

Mamachan,
congrats!! wish you a smooth pregnancy and delivery! :D

Mashy,
E is ok after the 1 mth sch break. He was abit whiney when he knew that he had to go back to sch but on the 1st day he came back saying he enjoyed school. How is C doing?

Mamachan,
I find Berries is good. I wish my E can be so "on" to go for enrichment classes.

Any kids also like dat? Refuse to go for enrichment classes.

Tracy,
I also find their daily half hour chinese lesson not enuf.

cl
hope u r feeling better. glad that u getting over it. do take care

SSF
so u still dunno whether it is borderlinx problem or vitacost problem? so far i ordered my stuff from iherb and each time all perfect. they use DHL mainly. i also used vpost before and it's also ok.

is the earth best good? i m thinking of trying after my first teeth is done.

think i m changing maid again. jx fell twice in a week under her care. i feel abit wary abt letting her take care of both jh and jx when i have to go back to work. though she is pleasant and seems ok but there are certain things that i dun feel comfortable abt. she is very keen to have handphone and she loves to go out. so i m scared she will go out without my permission next time.

mashy
your gal due soon right? excited?

Wenyl ,
I think I am the lucky one.. My e is so happy going for class .. Keeps chanting to go for classes inculding the shichida which we have stopped long a go..

Mamachan, do a week of chinese followed by a week of english, as compared to daily change. I used to do that n the result was better ... hm, used to, I seemed to stop doing a lot of things I used to do.

SY, there's noone at home to watch over your maid?

.ky.

wenyl

that's great! Usually the kids have prob going back to sch after a mth long break. C is adjusting well in his new sch. SO far so good. Been sitting down and paying attn in class too, altho sometimes will still wonder ard. He's able to trace rather well now altho his grip is still the wrong way and not strong yet.

I'm also hoping to let him try out Berries since he's so potato, but prob after we settle down with mei mei.

SY
Yupz! Going c-section next Sat if she doesn't decide to come any earlier.
Not like excited, but more like wanting to get it over and done with. hehe. Can't wait to be served with good food everyday too. Now everyday eat out also very sianz and too tired to cook. I think maybe after a few mths, i'll prob not be so resistent to having a maid. hahaha.

ky

my boy is only interested in colours for chinese learning. He can read most of the words in chinese for colours already. He's simply not intersted in the rest. sigh.

Ooh, he can read Ping Guo too! Coz that's the first page of his book on fruits, which unfortunately was followed by Cheng (orange) and he'll happily take out his colour book and say it's the same 'Cheng' (orange colour). We could never get pass that orange. sigh.

Aileen, SY
thanks I am fine.

SY
hmm like very vain kind of helper hor. Maybe be a bit more firm and tell her childcare is the most important ?

SY - citibank actually quite prompt. They called me almost everyday to follow up. last status is vitacost will be shipping over the items to Borderlinx for free. I am asking citibank to work out with borderlinx to ship my items over here FOC and i will drop the claim. He said he will follow up and call me tmr. He clarified that the packaging of items are done by DHL. so i guess its DHL's lapse then. my kids have yet to try earthbest but it looks alright. COmes with a fingerbrush...and its organic. First teeth isn't organic right? i intiated this buy because other mummies are organising the spree for this.

Is ur maid filippino or indo? if its indo, i am surprise she likes to go out. it' must be taxing on you to switch and train maid again and again. sometimes, really have to pray hard that you get the right one. mine will be heading back soon in sept....coming back for 1 more yr contract.

Mashy .... tear our that page! Enjoy your time with just 1 kid for now!

Can I ask if the mummies here have problems feeding new food to their kids? How do you overcome that? Mine doesn't take fruits and that's quite a big prob bcos he's starting to have problems even knowing their names. And this boy is very stubborn ... everything also don't want! *argh*

.ky.

maids:
i am also changing maid end of this week. sending my phil back and getting an indo. my phil maid used my shaver while i was away. how i know, coz there were still hair left on it! gross!! my previous maid also did the same thing when we away for holiday. what's does all these phil maids have with shaver? and how come they don't wash it clean after using it?? is it some black magic or something??!!

mamachan,
hee.. i guess i haven't been following the threads closely. hee...well at least i know now, better late than never! :p

mashy,
all the best to your delivery!!

wenyl,
edgar is also not into enrichment classes or any classes for that matter. but he say he doesn't enjoy his normal school just didn't like enrichment classes. kept asking me why he needs to go.

ky,
I have problem feeding edgar ANYTHING! not only fruits. I also face the same problem. he knows the names but don't know what that fruit is. just last evening, he was eating mango (only because tyler was gulping them down so he thinks it should be worth a try) and he asked me if it was papaya! *faint*!

ky

huh? i don't believe in tearing out a page from a book leh.

ky/aileen
i also have probs feeding C anything. maybe that's why he's so skinny. He's not adventurous with food. Very often, he rejects it even before trying. sianz...

thanks aileen!

mashy - high 5 to our skinny boys! Both my sons in fact are soooo picky that sometimes i just want to starve them. if the fish in the porridge is not well mashed , they would spit them out. but if u give them chunky size of chocs,, they will just swallow them. btw, have a smooth delivery...

aileen - gosh...ur maids are really something. haha..in fact, i am not sure if my maid requires a shaver. so wat i did was i took some disposable shavers from the plane and put it in our toiletries area. so if she needs it, i guess she will use it lor. kinda embarassing for me to ask her if she needs one lei. haha..

mashy
have a smooth delivery! next sat is very fast! for now enjoy your time alone with C.

heehee, i guess we might not see you here as often like now after your gal arrive. our thread slows down quite abit after more and more mummies here had our #2.

SSF/rachel

SSF

haha, i totally agree. My boy will spit out all his fish if i don't mash it. But he can wallop up a tough ba gua.

rachel
haha, i realised that too. Like everyone all too busy with 2 kids and no time to come here anymore. haha.

Mashy ... just joking. Why don't u skip over that page? IE, don't start with apple, but the 3rd page after orange.... or simply just blutack n stick that together

I just half forcefeed him 2 grapes... n he's kept saying not nice while he chewed on the bits... He's not open like his brother .... his brother is so greedy that whatever we eat, he wants a bite too. This one knows what he wants to eat and very resistant to new food ... I'm trying to break that barrier. And SSF, yes, sometimes I feel like starving him too.

.ky.

re: Picky eater
not sure if there is any connection but i read before that picky eater can be due to as early as when they are not born yet. meaniing mothers who are picky on food when pregnant thus to have children who are picky eaters???

Mashy,
Pray that u will have a smooth delivery & fast recovery too!

KY,
Same here, E refuse to touch all fruits now. He is simply not keen to even taste them unless its those fruit juice or mango cake. Whereas his didi is a fruit lover.

Aileen,
Yes yes! Sama sama....E questioned me why need to go enrichment classes when he is attending kindy already. I told him cos he doesn't understand Mandarin, thats why I want to bring him to Berries. Then he says his kindy chinese teacher also teaches him Mandarin & promised he will be attentive in his chinese class.

Rachel,
For my case, its true. I was very picky when I had E & now he is the super fussy eater. For Ben, I ate almost anything that I felt like eating (lots of outside food infact!) & was in a happy mood thru out my pregnancy. And now B is always very willing to try new food & he is a smiley baby since birth. Now less smiley cos into the terrible 2 stage. Haha!

Mashy
Wishing you a smooth delivery!!!

Aileen
Your phil maid sounds gross! You should question and tell her off that it's not hygienic to use other people's shavers and leave traces of hair behind!!! If need be offer to help her buy a shaver and deduct from her salary....

Wenyl
So far my boy looks forward to going for Berries on Saturdays but not going to school every morning... LOL... so weird huh?

Fruits
My boy only likes 'crunchy' fruits like apple... we keep asking him to eat banana, he doesn't want and will run away from us...any fruits that's mashy he will reject...

Foodwise
He mainly loves fried stuff when we eat out, even at Sakae sushi/Swenson's, he will choose the fried chicken looking food items in the menu (yes, he chooses his own food!!)... and to think I mainly avoided fried chicken when I was pregnant with him. LOL!
But so far he's ok with a good variety of food (to me lah). By far, his favourite is still egg omelette/scrambled eggs!

Aileen, i definitely send her back...it is too much.

Re: Enrichment class
So far have not start damien on any class yet..plan to do it next year onwards.
But I remembered #1 did question me why he needs to go for such class. ...we started off with zoo phonics at bt timah...He looked forward only for the McDonalds session than the lesson..

Fruits
Damien only takes durians....

Foodwise
i used to complaint how damien rejected milk..so afraid that he grown up to be picky eater..but lucky he loves food..he will eat watever my mum cooked.

rachel/wenyl

i also suspect it could be that when i was preg with him, i abstained from quite a lot of food. For this #2, i really eat whatever i want. Hope she's less picky.

So far for fruits, my boy will eat watermelon, papaya, apples, oranges and grapes. He hates durians. Recently, he started eating bananas again. He used to hate it. Wonder if it's due to his classmates eating them in sch.

He hates veges and anything green unless it's edamame. He loves edamame, dunno why. Had a hard time convincing him to try at first. But once he started, there's no turning back.

wenyl/mashy
so the article i read had some grounds to its finding lor.

dylan is practically a food bin, he eat anything and everything as long as its not spicy. he took all kinds of fruits too. during both my pregnancies i ate what i want, except that i could not touch on spicy food when i had devan, if not i will have stomach upset.

so i think devan will be like his kor kor in terms of food then. so far i had let him lick on banana, durian, apple and plain porridge. he was drooling!

Mine not only is not attracted to fruits like durians, but ice-cream, pizza, burgers, ice-kachang, sweets, fried chicken, pies ... not keen on junk food. He only takes "proper" food like noodles and rice and whatever that comes with it.

I'm not sure abt the preg part that cause to be picky but for sure the character. For #1, I was happy n ds#1 was happy generally very sensitive. For #2, I was rather angry towards end of preg and I find he's rather a little chillipadi...

But one thing, they both takes to enrichment classes very well. My #1 can go to enrichment classes everyday if I don't monitor that. And he likes going to school. I think #2 follows the brother that way but I remember we had to keep pre-empting the child before school or class before that n that works. Helps the child to set an expectation.

btw, any kid here starting to read as in knowing how to blend in simple words using phonics? and how to teach them how to take off their t-shirt? Mine can't.

.ky.

ky

mine can only take out singlet and very loose t-shirts. Can only put on singlet. t-shirt still cannot.

He can't blend words using phonics yet. Yesterday, he was 'reading' a book using words from another book. hahahaa. So it's all in his memory, not that he knows how to read. Coz the story was all wrong. hahaha.

My boy enjoys school too.

maids:
ya she's gross but I didn't confront her about it. Coz I have already made arrangement to send her back prior to this incident. She has crossed her boundaries with regards to other matters so I decided to send her back. Hopefully my next maid who's indo will be more guai.

BTW does anyone of you have a list of Do's and Don'ts for maids which I can borrow? Too lazy to create my own list. hee...

blinking eyes:
lately edgar started to blink his eyes repetitively and hard. don't know the right vocab for it. Does any of your child have this problem? I asked if his eyes were dry/wet, painful etc... but he couldn't give me an answer.

aileen

C did that before, but it was more for fun and he laughed after he did that. Is he doing it for fun or not? Perhaps can send him to see the dr?

mashy
haha, ya gonna start him on cereal soon.

ky
dylan definitely cant read yet. not to mention about blending words using phonics. though he does reconginse words purely on his memory.

his daddy been teaching him how to pull off his tops, daddy did a few demo to show him how. he made it a few times but most times he either is no mood to take his time in removing or the top is abit tight for him to pull off easily.

Aileen
does edgar sits close to TV set when watching program? maybe its the vision thats cause him to blink? dylan did that before too but its more of a fun thing to do for him. good to get his vision check if its not due to physical discomfort. cos by now our todd knows how to express when comes to pain or any discomfort.

ky,
Edgar can't read yet too. Thou he knows his alphas and phonics. My #2 also knows his phonics and letters and can recognize words but i also dont know how to teach blending. I did notice that Tyler can recognize that "Train" and "rain" are similar also "Back" and "Black". So I guess somehow they will figure blending out themselves??

mashy/rachel,
re ed's eyes, i don't think he does it for fun. he doesn't sit too near the TV either. he even does that early in the morning, so I'm quite sure it's not due to TV? I just hope he's not doing it to catch my attention. Some of you may know from my blog where I did mention before that he's quite insecure.