(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

wow ~ den so nice of u to snap it n show us.. hee

thanks yvonne dear ~

hi..hi..everyone!

wah, dili_mummy, i think your diarrhoea infectious ah? me suddenly diarr also this morning...can't figure out why also..sianzz!!

me and hubby decided to get a Filipino maid also after interviewing one. They really can communicate better and understand English. But also need to be careful lar, cos sometimes i think too clever also i scared..can see that during the interview, the way she answer questions like exactly wat you wan to hear..everything super good one.

bluelips: haha!!! they sure know how to please u ah..i do not intend to let my maid to go on off days yet.. or maybe not at all.. but hb very against it.. says that we should treat them like normal human beings.. all work no play not healthy. but again.. if i let her go on off days.. am scared that she tries to do something funny.a lot of cases also like tat wor. sianz.

naughty ~ u can always have a plan or agreement like.. having to let her have her off days after her first yr with u.. den at least after the first yr u more or less noe her character more lor

den oso pls rem to oso state to the maid.. tat IF in any cases u need her help on her scheduled off day.. she need to help out oso.. den u wil compensate her like 20 bucks in return lor.. or change the off day to next week

it wil benefit us only since we mite not noe when we need her help urgently mah.. hee hee

Yup, my sis also compensated her maid for not having off days at all. Seems like a good arrangement esp when they do get a lot of bad influence once they start to mingle outside..e.g. having boy friends..sometimes I go Lucky Plaza on Sundays..saw maids mingling with other maids/men so not v good.

Hello Ladies...

Been a while since I last came by...finally got my internet connection 2 days ago..!!

Morraine - abt the maid issue - u mentioned that if we pay the agent fee upfront (on behalf of the maid)to the agency, then there is no agent fee invloved? May I know which agency you are using? I called up Nation the other day and they quoted me 2 agency fee rates - for Indonesian maids - it is S$500plus, and for Filipino maids, they said that this month, they are having a promotional rate of S$280..hmm...wonder if this promo is due to the scare over the Filipino maids case!!

I am also considering getting a Filipino maid (though language / communication with Indo maid is not an issue), cos they seem more educated - and really, most of the cases sensationalised in the papers seem to be involving Indo maids!

How is everyone feeling? For me, I am just seem to be getting more and more tired. My stomach tenses up more often..can not wait until baby comes out!!

TGIF

naughty, i was talking to the maid at Nation. She kept telling me she's willing to learn, like babies very much, does not have much Filipino friends, dun go out a lot, that kind of thing..
my hubby also like yours, say we cannot keep her at home onli..must let her go out..

but the agency (Nation) was telling me that for Filipino maid, first 6 months no off days one..after tat, if u dun wan her to have off days, have to top up $30 per month.

Chin..your tummy tense up is because of the Braxton-Hicks thingy? or cos bb moves a lot?

And yeah,the nation promotion from last month alredi got...and keep telling me that going to end soon..but until now still on-going..

Bluelips - Baby is moving a lot, but that does not cause any tensing up - when he moves, I just see the "rippling" effect on my tummy. Sometimes, I can see the bum when he moves - such that my stomach is lop sided - either left / right. I think the tensing up is either due to Braxton Hicks or just tiredness..not painful lah...just hard and tense.

Chin Lee,

I suffered from tummy tightness for 2 nites also until I decided to eat less for dinner y'day and didnt have that tight feeling y'day.

Ya, bb moving a lot quite ok, no pain. It's the tightness that's v uncomfortable.

V tired..more and more tired as the days go by.

Aprilpinky...I hardly eat dinner actually.. I eat a normal lunch..and then just snack for dinner. For me, I do not think it is the food intake, cos my appetite is not that good. Could be just the normal pregnancy thingy...anyway, I will check with the doctor next visit on the coming Tuesday.

Chin n Aprilpinky,

hmm..haven't experience the tummy tightness.. guess could be a good thing. Checking with the doc would be good. Maybe need to get more sleep? or try to lie down more?

actually, i think this stage of the pregnancy's been good to me..not really aching, or tiring, or anything. appetitite iss good and sleep like a log from 11pm-7am everyday. dunno whether spoke too soon, me praying hard that this will continue.

onli thing is tummy seems to be growing and growing and growing veli big..hubby see also scared..i cannot imagine 2 months from now will grow until how big! ..scary..

yes..tummy so big, i thk the size of a really huge watermelon!! i also can not imagine how big it will get closer to due date...esp since our babies are putting on the most weight in the third trimester!

Yes, tummy really growing and growing v fast! and bb moving more and more...just when I thot boy was sleeping just now and started to touch my tummy and he started "dancing" and moving abt again

My aching is gone after some discrete exercise in office :p hehe

Chin,
Yes, very tired indeed! Increasingly tired in fact... only started over past 1-2 weeks.
I get the tightness that you said too... it's different from movement definitely. Also suspect it's BH. Will ask doctor next time... you also ask your doctor if it's BH and normal.

Bluelips,
Hope your diarr is subsiding. Mine has subsided... I think nothing left inside to "lao".

Dili, i didn't go for the dinner last nite. Me went to in-law place. Moreover, i can't go far without my hb nowadays, i feel very tedious to walk far.
I had diarrhea on n off since i'm preggie. Now, not so bad anymore. I realised tat i can't eat too liang, or it will trigger my diarrhea.

Sexxy, the pay is abt the same, i think. The gov levy is standard. But i heard the system of payment to the agency is like wat morraine had mentioned. No need to pay agent fee, juz pay around $1800 upfront, deduct from the maid's pay every month for abt 10 month or so. Every month give maid $10 only. But the agent dun have much Indo maids, i think i going to contact another agent soon.

The herbs i meant is for consumption. A friend gave me a very long list, i see already also scare. I dun like to take so much chinese herbs. Juz wanna to noe wat is necessary. Yvonne, i saw the sale too. But didn't get anything. For those who stay in Jurong west, the Fu Hua having a sale at jurong pt too.

Yvonne, nice pics.

just went for my monthy check-up.....
Doc say that the bb adominal facing downwards.....
IF it stays that way.....
SURE kana C-section......

BB weights 1.2kg up to date
dunno... if BB is normal weight....

Ah Fat,

That means ur bb is head down but face is facing outside huh? Still have time to adjust.

I think bb's weight is abt 1 kg+ now. Shd be ok. My gynae always dont want to estimate cuz he said not accurate..

mm... ah fat: dun worry.. baby will turn in due time. u try to monitor the kicks urself huh. good luck ok?

good morning to everyone. there was a storm last night. but my dearest Boy refuses to sleep!! kicked and punched me constantly. i think that was the first time i really throw temper at him. shouted at him and beat my stomach..(but that didn't help either) sigh.. now am a panda. can't sleep coz there's a lot of ppl in my house doing some stuffs.. plus my boy is up again!

Hi ladies...

Question abt the maids... if we pay the S$1800 or S$1900 to the agent upfront (on behalf of the maid), then is it ok to change maid later if we find the maid unsatisfactory??

Naughty - sometimes, I also have the urge to "scold" my baby to stop him from kicking me so hard...but I think saying something soothing probably works better...dun frighten the baby lah..

ah Fat - 1.2kg..how many weeks?

aprilpinky/chin: mm.. can't help it.. coz the kicks were so constant as though he is hammering something. tried to soothe him by sayanging my stomach but it obviously didn't help! grgr...

maid: very sceptical about paying upfront. later if u are not satisfied with the maid.. usually agency will take their own sweet time to pay u back! try out for three months then decide. (my own opinion) never trust agency too much.

Yah naughty but still shdnt beat ur tummy.

Just had a v full lunch..yummy. hehe.

Where r the rest of the MTB? Our thread v quiet hor..the Oct thread really v active..

Hi ladies....

Had huge cravings for pizza, and ordered home delivery. Just finished a regular pan pizza and 6 drumlets all by myself!!! Oh no!!! Going to put on alot of weight if I do this too often.

hi, ladies, just to update my check-up last night. bbs are doing well, but both heads are up so if they dont want to turn or no space to turn, sure go direct for c-section liao.... the estimated weight is 1.2 and 1.3kg, doc at first couldn't belive one of the twins can be as big as 1.3kg, so he scan and measure again...result is the same, he told me bb's leg bone is long..um...like her dad..
i onlye gain about 8.5kg...but doc said bbs are normal, he wont worry about my weight gain.

Hi MTBs,
Long time no log in to this thread already... Time really flies... All of us are due to pop in 2 mths time or less than 2 mths?!
For me, my bb is 2kg @ 33 weeks. Gynea say bb is of 'M' size

Chris,
Don't worry, am sure babies will move their way down nearer the delivery :p Cos for me, my bb was in breech position during last check up and this check up, his head went down again...

Manuka,

U have lots of durian huh? Bb is v big hor..y gynae still said M size?! I read of mum gave birth to 2.8kg or less full-term bb. I hope mine would be max 3 kg.

Bb will turn one..even if they dont I read that gynae has "technique" to try and make them turn.

Wow..chris u gained so little for twins but both twins are of good size. So envy u.

Hihi Aprilpinky,
No leh - I didn't touch Durian at all.. I've never liked durian before my preg, after preg also no crave for durian :p
Ya - gynea used a chart and confirmed that 2kg @ week 33 is M size
I think by the time i deliver will be abt 3kg or less? I hope bb not too big else I no energy to push! We learn how to push at the antenatal class and I tried that for 2mins and I out of breathe already! cannot imagine how i survive the whole delivery process which may take hours?? kekekeke

Chin, i heard tat it's ok to replace the maid. But u have to ask the agent how many replacements does they allow.

Me also start to have some craving too. Snacking actually. Tim Tam biscuits. Must keep them out of my sight, or i will finish the whole soon.

thanks for the reassurance gals....

Chin: bb is now 29weeks 6days.....

OH....
I got another BIG headache....
Doc is going private next month....
So cannot deliver ar KK liao....

He gave me a choice of gleanegles,
TMC or mount Avenail.....

Need all your kind advice of costing....
and quality of hospital....

ah fat: wahahah... then like that u cannot deliver at kk liao lo.. mmm... good news for ur gynae though.. but is he going to increase his delivery charges though?

i read that tmc is quite good in terms of towards patients or whatever.. ok.. i read this in tmc itself when i accompanied my sis... to the hospital for check up.

it goes something like this for the total bill for normal delivery.

most ex-least ex
1) mount elizabeth
2)gleneagles
3)mount alvernia
4)tmc
5)east shore.

i think hospital generally are the same when ya talking in terms of the staffs.. and etc ba. if ya toking about the bills.. then maybe the above will help u to choose lor. but personally i think tmc and mt a.. no big difference leh. both good ba.(though i didn't choose) maybe u can check with those who wil be delivering in tmc/mt a? am sure they went for the hospital tour le. i chose gleneagles.. coz i prefer the place.. feels more private.. went to the wards and finds it quieter.. (had to choose btw mt a or glen e)

at least ya got three choices.. hehe...take ur time.

aprilpinky: mmm....!!! by next visit.. ur weight gain will be 10 kg more if u indulge in ur moon cakes!!! haha..

Good afternoon ladies,

Just woke up not too long ago..it's a good morning with continuous raining.
316251.gif

Naughty...I didnt indulge..
it's just half a piece of durian mooncake y'day...with the other half going to hubby mah
hehe..before pregnancy I ate this same amt also :p My next chkup next thur. So far no weight gain leh :p

Ah Fat, I chose TMC cuz I heard a lot of good comments abt the nurses and I think the lactation consultant, Mrs Wong in TMC is really vv experienced.

But recently, I heard that Mount A is actually cheaper than TMC. I think u better go for the hospital tour.

GlenE is ok but the other time we r thinking of the v high costs so didnt really consider it.

aprilpinky: am juz kidding oh... hehe.. me going to granny's place to eat poppiah today. its the 'lantern' fest today... wgagagaga.. am going to double what u usually eat.. so probably its me who will weigh an extra 10kg!

I'm feeling rather low today...
1) it's the mid-autumn fest and hubby is not with me
2) read from the oct thread that someone delivered one month before EDD, happy for her! But on the other hand... hubby can only come back about one month before EDD... what to do if I pop before he comes back?

He's not with me >2/3 of the pregnancy, even naming our child we have to do it via email/msging... really envy those of you with hubbies by their sides.

So ladies, have a good mooncake fest and tell your hubbies how much you appreciate them.

Dili_mummy,

Please do not feel sad..I am in the same predicament as you..and guess what, my hubby is only coming back 2 weeks before my due date. So I am also hoping very hard that baby does not come before that! It is easy for us to slip into a depression..esp since going through the pregnancy alone is not an easy thing..(no massages, no one to help when you get leg cramps, going for ante natal classs alone etc etc)..but u have to stay positive. Esp since our moods can affect the baby..I just try not to think abt it. I am sure our hubbies are also feeling sad that they can not be with us ... well, just be strong.

Hi all, was MIA for while cos busy these two days. went to read up about the maid thing. I'll probably get a filipino maid later. Think easier to communicate also. Maybe those who have got it first can share their experience later.

Dili mummy and chinlee - Don't feel so sad, we are here together, you can also talk to us about anything.

hey, it mid autumn festival today. Cheer up everyone. Remember to carry lantern for your bb.
Don't take too much mooncakes, it's heaty and I am feeeling a bit sick already. Drink more water...

BTW, Do you all take tonics? My hubby have been cooking bird nest for me since few months back but the bird nest are finishing. Anyone know any good lobang for the bird nest? very exp, Xiong leh...

Dili_mummy,
totally understand what you are going through...a big reason why I chose to birth in SH even though its so much more expensive and so much more "risky" to birth in a foreign place, needless to say a developing country. Sigh, the sacrifices we ladies make...hang in there, I'm sure your husband appreciates your efforts! Why not go pamper yourself or something to lift those sprits?!

Hey Chin, glad to hear you and your son are doing well. We've just shifted apartments over this past weekend and it was no mean feat!! The weather was exceptionally hot too this weekend, and so I've been trying to hide under the aircon as much as I can. My DH is also out of town tonight and its a little depressing to be in a new environment alone. Not too sure how come I've become so emotional lately...blame it on the hormones

hello Dili & chinlee,

Dont be sad lah. Understand the importance of hubby's role in our pregnancy but ur hubbies r also busy working for the better lives of u and ur little ones
Think on the positive side. I'm sure ur bbs wld wait for their daddies to be back one.

When my hubby was away for 2-3 days I also pray hard I dont forget and go stretch myself in bed and cause the cramp again cuz there wld be no one to help me massage liao..

Yes, Wendy, I have been taking bird nest twice a week since start of pregnancy. MIL supplying so sometimes also a bit paiseh cuz we know v ex. Asked her no need to give me twice a week maybe just once but she said it's ok. She went Chinatown to buy one..not sure whether good deal but they know the shop well so maybe they can hence get a better price.

Wow..getting excited..at least 2 mums in the OCT thread has popped..it's heartening to read abt the birth story. Wonder who will be the first to pop here in Nov thread. Patiently waiting. By mid Oct we shd have some full-term bbs liao..