(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Thanks for the warm hospitality, ladies. Maybe that's mother's nature since all of us are becoming one soon.

Dili mummy - my EDD is 22 Dec 05 at TMC. Thanks for including me into the list so that we can really look forward to each other's sharing lifetime experiences.

Think this thread should last for some time as we could chat with each other during our confinement and also on post natal issues.

BTW, you all have got the strollers and car seats etc? still deciding which one to buy cos very exp for those really good ones. Sometimes, think if buy cheaper ones can save, but when think again, baobei still more important and would want to give the best where possible.

Aprilpinky - thanks for the update. was disappointed to know that there are no bb fair.. thought could buy some accessories if cheaper. no choice. got to wait and see how then..

furry - thanks. should have plenty of things to chat with you gals cos I've got lots of things to ask... don't find me lor soh then..

btw, saw in the dec thread that there's sale at taka and robinson. you all might want to take a look. Heard that robinson has a big variety of bb products but i've not been there cos I was told by my sis that the prices are normally controlled and if we buy in everything at one go at bb hyperstore, it should be relatively cheaper. You gals may want to go down if interested.

Wendy,

Went hypermart at kaki bukit before. Nothing much leh. Only a lot of strollers and cots. Robinson and John little not bad. Especially if they have 15%+5% discount. I find OG quite well-stocked also esp the albert complex one.

Naughty, mooncake a lot of sugar leh. Better dont eat. U really cannot take anything sweet huh?

Oh no..getting tired again..going to bed soon. Good nite ladies and may all dream of our bbs!!
313843.gif

Dili-Mummy and naughty, there's no sugar in my urine, so I'm not diabetic. Blood pressure is alright too, so it's not preeclampsia. I guess i'm just overweight? hehe.. I dont find that I eat super alot, maybe just that carbo intake too high? But I'm always hungry and meat doesnt fill me up.

Bluetulips, your weight gain is not the scariest. Think I hold the current record for scariest weight gain, 13kg at 28 weeks (4.5kg in a month). Sigh...

btw, I know some of you girls have water retention and the numb feeling in your hands sometimes. So do i, but recently the numb feeling has turned to being painful (especially when I hold things). Are yours like this too?

Meixue,
So far, I still have no water retention. I've been checking my ankles and wedding ring finger everyday. I think it's normal to get painful fingers, cos the skin gets stretched with water retention.

To prevent or to make water retention better... Drink more water ladies! That's to tell our bodies that water is abundant and there's no need to store so much water...

Wendy, you having girl girl or boy boy? I agree with Aprilpinky that bb hypermart has got good selection of strollers and playgym but not much variety of the other necessities. Both Robinson's and JL got a good selection... wait for the "sale worth waiting for" ;)

Good morning everyone!!!!

It's finally Friday. Me soooo sleepy.... how I wished I didn't have to drag myself out of bed today.

Morning ladies..

Agree wif kelly, FINALLY FRIDAY.. haiz.. not enuff slp again, woke up lots of time last nite..

Aprilpinky, all the best in ur checkup tml.. hee.. My weight during my thurs checkup was ok, at 47.5kg, loss weight of 0.5kg.. hee.. tink i mus abstain frm sweet stuff whenever i'm gg for checkup liao.. duno y, juz like drinking soft drinks tis days.. haiz.. so tempted.. but haf to bear it for our bb..

hmmm... drypers very thick ah.. yesterday went hm to check the newspaper.. its PAMPERS brand on sale lah.. hubby say wrongly, 2 pkt for $19.90 i tink..

Meixue.. so far i also do not haf water retention, heard frm aunts it could b quite bad.. so a bit worried... but u gals haf any idea hw to prevent it? besides putting up ur leg on a pillow or bolster whenever u slp.. hee..

I also haven't buy any mooncake yet.. tempted to haf the durian flavour one.. haiz.. but sugar level sure v high.. so must control control.. kekeke..

Good morning ladies!

Thks celtricia. If it's pampers then I will go and have a look tonight..will buy if it's S size. Definitely will get to use more than 2 packs.

Hmm..I dont think I have water retention but not wearing any rings now and shoes also wearing mules (flat ones) instead cuz both fingers and feet growing?? sighhh..

I also want to buy durian mooncake. Will eat after the checkup tomorrow. :pPP

Aprilpinky,

Hw many haf diapers haf u bought liao? PAMPERS brand material is better den drypers issit? coz still duno whh brand to buy.. mayb buy a pkt or two of different brands.. hahahah..

mmm.. all of u are very naughty!!! keeps on wanting to eat sweet stuffs.. must control huh.

aprilpinky: yea.. am not suppose to take in any form of sweet stuffs or anything tat contains sugar. worst than a vegetarian. at least vegetarian can eat almost anything except meat. unlike me.. sigh.. drink one glass of soya milk also must be unsweetened!!!

i agree that by drinking more fluids help in. preventing water retention.. i drink about 6-8 glasses of water. hehe.. no water retention at all lor..

hi, wanna ask how does contractions feel like? tightening of tummy is contraction? i thought it was jus the bb stretching...

reason i'm asking is because had been experiencing slight cramps (on/off) these few days. tummy does feel tight occasionally. not sure if i need to be concern abt this or it is normal?

i jus went for check up recently but gynae didn't say anything. can contractions be detected by the scan?

Naughty, yes, we r v naughty..hahahhahaha...will control lah. I didnt eat sweets in the morning today.

Celtricia, pampers is definitely the best I think but the problem is it's v ex. haha. So will use it during nite time. Day time will use cloth diapers or some other cheaper brands. I only bought 1 pack of pampers NB.

I drink so much water that keeps on going toilet. V irritating leh..

Nmum, yah, tightening of tummy. Not too frequent is ok. During the last checkup, gynae asked me how many times per day when I told him I do have cramps/contractions (quite similar I think) sometimes. I told him 2-3 times per week. He said ok.

haha.. venus, if i am not wrong.. ctg.. is usually done on the 37 week onwards.. and its usually not included in the package.. gottaa pay extra for the ctg scan.

well.. in the mean time.. nmum: if u got tightening of stomach, jus let it be. coz when ya about to deliver, u wun miss the contractions one.. heard that its really really painful. 100times more than menstrual cramps. mum told me the only part that wun feel painful would be ur hair.. so u can imagine lor.. can't escape contractions one lah. hehe...

aprilpinky: no doubt pampers are supposedly ex.. but may not necc be good. heard from my mummy friends..that mamy poko is still the better one. as for pampers, not as good as it claimed. maybe u can try both?

Celtricia/Aprilpinky
Pampers got 2 types - baby dry is the one on sale for $19.90. That's the lower grade, less breathable. Can consider Pampers Premium - saw ad, on sale at $15.50 for NB size. I'll prob get 2 packs myself. First few wks be prepared to keep changing diapers every few hours esp if you're breastfeeding - my girl used to poo each time she fed!

yup naughty ctg is done later stage

but Nnum symptons a bit like me so i ask her to do CTG just to be safe..

wat i encounter is tummy tight tight for at least an hour for two consective days and also experience cramps.. that's y gynae do CTG on me..

1st day of hospitalisation,i was hooked up to the CTG for 4 hours and on the drip to control my contractions..not trying to scare u all hor

tks for the advice ladies! at least i know it's normal. i had operation on cervix before, so kinda worried abt the possibility of preterm labour. gynae got assure me so far everything is fine, but guess being 1st time mum, i can help worrying :p

naughty: ur mum gd sense of humour leh...tell u only hair wun feel painful...hehee

i also have sweeth tooth like most of u. ate 2 mooncakes over the past few days, not to mention ice-cream and desserts...*guilty*...so far not detected for ges diabetes...hopefully not...but was wondering if it will pass on to bb and turn out he develop diabetes??
naughty: i think yesterday's straits times (or was it sunday times?) have write-ups on some brands of mooncakes that are less sweet...u can check that out.

meixue: are you underweight pre-pregnancy? i've read that underweight ladies will gain the most.

sorry, 1 more qn - is ctg the only way to detect contractions? can normal gen practitioner (family doc) detect that?

yup..abt 90 plus done in hospital..

dunnoe if any of u watch last nite "child of our time"

i got real scared when i saw the premature bb ,helen born in 25 weeks..

Aprilpinky.. like wat Naughty says.. PAMPERS brand is nt neccessary gd.. juz check wif my aunt.. she says its nt gd.. but if use for newborn, its ok. but i tink most of us will only use it in the nite rather den the whole day..

I also tinking of using Mammy Poko.. heard frm my fren dat its gd too.. tink each has its own preference.. heh..

ya true, individual preference. Will buy mamy poko also if got sale. The Newborn for mamy poko got a "hole" to accomodate the belly button so quite cute. But I still bought pampers. hehe..maybe will buy mamy for S size.

wah sehz.. finally can gain access to this website le..

aprilpinky: how's ur gynae appt?
mmm.. bought mamy poko yesterday.. hehe.. got winnie the pooh.. so cute.. anyway..it costs about 19.80 for 48 pcs.. am only intending to use in the night time coz if use in the day time as well.. super high usage man..

so upset, my stretch marks being mroe and more and grosser and grosser
so red!! sighs

Guess really no help now.

furry furry: how many weeks are u in now? how come got sm le? how about the other mtb here? me not yet.. still but high chance.. hehe.. think i also can't escape lor.

I wasnt underweight before pregnancy. Guess i'm just gaining too much? haha. I drink more than 8 glasses of water a day, but still experiencing very bad water retention. Hope most of the weight gain is due to the water. :p

I'm starting to get stretchmarks as well. sobz sobz...

Heard that for diapers, some of the cheaper brands are good as well, like Petpet. I'm planning to get Pet Pet for day and Pampers premium for night.

Hello Ladies,

Just back from gynae visit and mooncake buying trip..haha...ate some goodwood park durian mooncake..so satisfying..

Ah Fat, I think I saw u today. Ur uniform is a black dress right? U looked quite pretty but I dare not go up and acknowledge u cuz dunno whether u r ah fat or not.

Stretch mark dont have. Mum said she has not much last time also.

Naughty, gynae's visit all ok. Blood pressure & urine pass! I officially gained 10 kg today!!!
Gained 2.4 kg in a month! Must cut down liao..I dont want to gain more than 12 kg in total.

Bought 2 packs of pampers bb dry y'day (46 x 2 packs for $19.90). Bought some plastic floor tiles for bb crawling also. They r on sale

Furry,
Where did your 1st stretchmark start? I don't have any at the moment... but I'm starting to see something red around the belly button... is that it? And tummy's always itchy!

Venus,
I saw the trailer to "child of our time" and didn't dare to watch it on thursday. So that baby's 25 weeks? At least we're all past that stage!
Also, hope you're no longer feeling those contractions...

Thread still v quiet today huh? All of u still busy shopping huh?

Oh forgot to tell u all that gynae said I really got a little water retention and hence feet a bit swollen. He said must rest with legs raised. I guess may have walked too much these few weeks.

Boy's head is still down with face facing inwards
Got a scan pic of his curled thighs today. haha.

aprilpinky.. good for u.. glad tat everything is fine with u! hehe..orh!!! 2.4kg a month.. u still got roughly two more months issit? or slightly lesser? take care of ur diet..

will be visiting my gynae on tue.. sianz. dunno will get scoldings or not.. but just now i was at granny's.. tried to weigh myself with two scales.. both read 48.. i think.. i lost instead of gain? mm.. anyway.. will have to confirm again liao.

Wow, some of u lose some weight?? I'm still gaining lei. Total of 12kg at 28 weeks. Gynae also told me to slow down a little.

Naughty, can u share the contacts of ur post-natal massage lady wif me? U can email me.

I also went to my gynae today. He also said tat my feet is bit swollen. I think it's common in preggie..

Both my bbs' head are turned downward. I think they won't have any more spaces to turn upward. They looked quite 'cramped' already. According to my gynae, my boy is leading (nearer to cervix), but since i'm going for c-section, my gal will come out 1st(mei mei will become jie jie).

Naughty,

Yah, now I'm abt 31 weeks so 6 weeks more will be full term at 37th week. haha...my diet is fine, it's just that I still get hungry easily now..boy is also growing rapidly so hopefully the weight gain is going to my boy.

Y all of u lose weight? They said abt to give birth then lose weight leh.

Nik, u r having twins, of cuz got to be more than all of us. Oh..both head down..then y not u try for natural? I got an aunt who did it with her twin gals last time..

Oh ladies,

please remember not to sayang ur tummy in a circular motion. I think I have mentioned this b4 after my antenatal class cuz it will cause CONTRACTIONS. Just in case some of u didnt read the posting.

Aprilpinky....

ah yoh... Just call me lah......
even you got the wrong person,
my colluges will redirect u to me.....
kekekekeke... coz they all know I am fattybombombom....
kekekekekeke.....

Meixue and Dili mummy - My legs are also slightly swollen and itchy around the tummy area. Went to see the gynae the other time about leg swollen and she say maybe I drink too much cold water or walk too much. She has given me some cream and instructed my hubby to massage for me. So far, the swollen managed to go off for a while but it has been back recently. Think it's quite normally for preggies to have these symptoms. BTW, I've got very bad azemia at the back of my neck. Don't have such things in the past before pregnancy. Heard from gynae that it's actually very common. You all have such symptoms too?

Aprilpinky - thanks for the advice. Newbie like me definitely missed your earlier posting. You were saying Robinson and John little with 15+5? you mean with the rebates for robinson card? Still haven't been there or OG yet. Will go jalan jalan if free.

BTW, ladies, I've been trying to get some flat shoes but wasnt' able to find any. Any idea where to get flat shoes with lots of design?

Also, I heard from one of my colleague that buying pampers and pigeon products in Malaysia is cheap. See if you could get anyone to buy for you. My hubby bans me from going there. Therefore, could only share the lobang with you all.

Thanks for sharing.

Wendy,

So we have a few late birds in Nov'05 thread huh..I thot only me, my boy (he's still moving now) and naughty sleeps late. :p

Robinson and John little always have 15% storewide (plus 5% rebate when the OCBC credit bill arrives). But currently no sale yet. Got to wait loh. OG also no 20% currently but I think it has v frequently also..just keep a lookout loh.

I dont dare to go M'sia as well.

Flat shoes..hmm..I went far east plaza sometimes and saw a lot of those v trendy flat shoes, front round round that kind. Bought a pair before quite comfy. But got to take note of the soles to make sure not slippery. They have flat sandals also.

what's azemia huh?

wahaha..all of u so late still have not sleep yet.. hehe.. i juz came back from supper.. mmm.. yummy had fish and chips..

yea.. me got difficulties in sleeping at night one.. sigh..

aprilpinky.. me too.. but mine a bit haywire one leh.. my appetite.. on a good day.. i can eat a lot.. on a bad day.. i can only eat a few spoonfuls.. mm.. but nonetheless... i guess by tue, will know how's the diet lo..

wendy: its cheaper to buy in malaysia.. but unless ya really goin there to buy something.. then ok la.. if not make a trip specially across the causeway.. mm.. i think can forget it. my relatives said that s size for most diapers.. sold out. dunno why.. maybe a lot of singaporeans go and buy ba. hehe...

nik: will send u!

aprilpinky......
Just say that you r aprilpinky loh....
kekekekekeke.....

I travel in and out of malaysia pretty offten.....
coz hubby is a malaysian.....
so no big problem for me....
"Anaku" a malaysian brand for bb products,
also pretty good leh.....

ah fat: mmm... its more economical for u.. i guess.. hehe..i used to play a lot of golf before pregnancy.. sometimes.. tee off in the mornings! so gotta wake up at five plus to escape from the heavy traffic! n coming back is a nuisance.. will get stucked for over 1-2 hours! my worst case was stucked in a jam for 4-5 hours! in the end missed the game and u turn back to sing after the malaysia custom. zzz..

i use quite a few of the products tat u use lh.. if get from u will get disc or not? hehe.. ur products bery ex leh.. each time.. sure at least spend 100-200 plus one.

good morning mummys!!!!!!!!!

wah sehz.. today all so quiet. mmm.. am so tired till i woke up and go back to sleep again till now.. hehe..

i guess thats coz i went swimming yesterday..hehe.. suddenly.. felt like swimming at nine plus last night and insisted in asking my hubby to bring me. swam two to three laps.. then i was tired le.. grgr.. but only went to bed at ard.. 2 plus after my supper.

mm.. check with u all.. how's braxton hicks like? painless plus tightening? am beginning to experience this kind of pain.. plus like those stomach cramps which hurts leh.. could it be something wrong?

Naughty,

Yes, painless yet tightening. Is ur cramps vv frequent? 20-30 times/day? If yes, I think better call ur gynae and ask.

Maybe u ate too much...u ate supper then straightaway go to bed right? hahaha...sometimes my tummy will feel tight if too full also

Naughty, i received it, thanks.

Aprilpinky, my hb is the one who wanted me to go c-section. When we know bbs had turned liao, i told him tat we can try for natural too. He still insisted tat i should go for op, though he is a little disappointed tat bb gal will becomes jie jie. MCP.

nik: isn't it better that girl girl becomes jie jie? at least jiejie will take care of didi mah..
tats how i feel... then didi will feel so much love!!

aprilpinky: i dunno wor.. sometimes it comes and go.. dunno what is it.. but hope that its nothing serious... been feeling a bit nauseous again.. sianz.

naughty, take care. If too frequent, better go gynae. Anyway, u r not working now so can always visit gynae anytime.

Ladies, for those who delivers in TMC, I have obtained a list of what to bring for your stay from the counter staff when I handed in my form last wk:

-personal nightgowns
-Maternity Bra
-Bedroom slippers
-Sanitary belt (optional)
- " towels (optional)
-Polythene bags (for ur soiled linen)

[To pack bag 2 - 4 weeks before EDD]

TMC will provide the following for bb:
-bb vests
-disposable diapers
-toiletries for bb
-a bb bag
-wrapping blanket
-a pair of mittens

Basic toiletries are available for our stay but we may want to bring along personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay