(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

morraine:

patsy: oh i see.. yah pros and cons both ways, this surgeon is one of the best
most impt is to pray too that God will guide the surgeon during the op

carole: yah only price different! the MMR vaccine is the same!

Re: MMR. think will wait til zoe is bigger then take MMR.. live vaccine leh.. probably when she is 16 or 17m..

RE: childcare

I've asked this before but like no response..
Anyone knows or considered eton house or lorna`whiston pre-school?...

sweetie, hahahah, the Philippines is not as backward country as you think lah... i grew up there and can tell you in a lot of ways, it's quite modern and not a kampung that you may have in mind! believe it or not they have electricity and running water kekeke! will be staying at my parents place so not so worried bout cleanliness etc. I gave birth to Xaby in Manila and she had her first op there, the surgeons here in Singapore even commented that they did such a good job they couldn't actually find her stitches until i pointed it out to them! It's sad that there is this misconception that the Philippines is so backward because they have to export their people to work as maids... but that's the fault of the Phil gov't i guess. I would consider Manila to be more advanced and modern than say Jakarta, to give you some perspective.

fushiastar: yeah... have this feeling it won't go though on the 31st of this month but am praying anyway :D

Patsy: fushiastar: yeah... have this feeling it won't go though on the 31st of this month but am praying anyway :D Meaning??? i dun understand?

carole
thanks for the email address.
Btw I think Patsy is saying the surgery may not take place as the donor valve may not arrive from US by 31/01.

patsy
kaiser is feeling better thx! C u tom, hopefully u din forget our lunch together wif SSL.

Hi Pasty,

Paiseh to interupt so never call u loh. Next time if I run into u, will sure said Hi to u.

Dun worry abt Xbaby as she is a strong baby and everything will turn up fine for her.

Hi Yippee,

Nice talking to you this afternoon. It's really true that it's harder to get a good maid nowsaday. I also thought of sending Ying En to Childcare once she hits 18 mths. But the worry that I have is the virus.

I also thought installing CCTV but the problem is the CCTV has to be install in my PIL's hse.

Can I check with mummies that install CCTV at home, is your system wireless or with wire?

Any good company to recommand me that can help me to install CCTV?

carole: bit like what Yippee said.. there are 20 people in the list for a donor/homograft plus ICU in KK is full so I am not sure if her surgery can proceed at the end of the month. am praying for a miracle firstly (she gets healed an no need to op), or if not, praying that the docs are guided by God's hands!

Yippee: just emailed SSL and you... dun think i can make lunch, stupid thai's moved the conf call to 11:30 am

Nutts: yah! please say hello!!

nuttnuts

If u scared until must put CCTV, den u might as well change this maid liao.. cos even if accidents happen to yr child, there's nothing u can do in miles away from home. And harm has already been done.

Fun

He doesnt cry but he will make a grouchy face. thats why usually my hubby will carry him inside the school while i unpack the stuff. The teacher will bring him the other side of the room and he will forget about us liao. so wont cry.

Today he extended his hands wide wide to let the teacher carry him and smile all the way. i was there in the same room as him he also ok.

Fun,

Having a CCTV at home will actially allow me to know what does the maid do everyday. IF there is an emergency, I can call my PIL as their stall is just nearby.

My maid is also very stubborn. We told her not to do housework when she is with my gal alone. But my MIL caught her many times doing housework when she came back for afternoon break.

nuttnuts

den like tat yr maid will treat u like god liao hehe.. cos u know wat happens in the house.. hahaha...

SSL

wah.. he realli likes to be there hor.. hopefully Alden can pick up as soon as possible if i put him in childcare too..

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Nutts/Adel/Yippee</font>,

Actually you can go Sim Lim to source for cameras &amp; do it yourself or pay S$300 for them to do installation. I've just set up my camera system too. Find the shop where I purchased e cameras from pretty reliable &amp; helpful. Will get his contact from HB tonight</font>

hi everyone, hope all your toddlers are doing fine...

lately, i have switched Samuel's doc (for common ailments) from a PD to a family doc at Dawson Place (Dr Tan). i see improvements in Samuel's health ever since.

last time when Samuel was sick, he'll need to see this PD at least 5 or 6 times and nebulise for 3 weeks before he fully recovers from cold, cough and wheezing. Samuel has seen Dr Tan twice for cold of course. he was given the following treatment: -

1st consultation
- cough &amp; cold mixture
- day 1 to 5 nebuliser with Berodual &amp; Pulmicort
- Dhatisan (lung tonic) all the way till finish
- day 6 onwards Inflammite Puff for a month to stabilise his lungs

2nd consultation
- cough &amp; cold mixture
- Dhatisan (lung tonic)
- Inflammite puff for 1 week

previously, Samuel took at least 3 or more weeks to recover from 1 attack. now, it takes him only 1 week. i'm very impressed by this doc seriously and would like to compliment him here...oh, also...his charges are really LOW!!! he charges very very low consultation fee; say a few dollars to maybe $20...

i have taken all necesary measures for Samuel to avoid being infected by any form of flu viruses. by living with my parents for 3 months now, he really fell sick less often. with Dr Tan's treatment, he recovers faster. i'm so glad.

my next challenge is to maintain or build up his immunity in preparation of going back home end of this month. haiz...i'm going start having fear again...but we really cannot stay away from in-law's place any longer else we would have lost all sense of belonging. it has been 3 months already...

for your info, patsy, i have scheduled Samuel for a flu jab tomorrow morning. hope to get this jab before he returns to the home full of viruses. by the way, his cousin sister is now down with cough and flu! so scary...next one will be her brother...lucky samuel's not staying there, else he will get the virus as well...

Brennan's MMR jab today gotta be postponed AGAIN cos babies at his IFC are starting another bout of flu. He got some blocked nose and running nose sympton so I cant bring him for the jab

Haiz... postponed for 3times liao.

Mummies without maid and inlaws help, how do you manage your time between taking care of baby and doing housework, especially those who's a working mummy? What housework do you do daily?

my girl was sick for 3 weeks, fever, cough, running nose. Relieved that she is well and running again!

SSL:
I got a part-time maid to help out weekly and it really helps!

Been a long long time since I log on to post here..

SSL,
I'm also a working mum &amp; without maid &amp; in laws help.. I send my boy to babysitter &amp; will fetch him back everyday.. housework is split between myself n hubby, but most of the housework we will do it over the weekend

<font face="calisto mt">
659827.gif

<font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

Previously b4 I got a maid, I hardly got chance to do hsework on wkday hor, forever rushing. Rush to pick Janelle from IC den rush to hv my dinner. Rush home to play with her for 1/2hr den clean her &amp; try to put her to sleep. I can only take a bathe, pack her toyz &amp; prepare ingredients for her next day porridge after she sleeps. Usually I end up only gng to sleep ard 1 plus &amp; waking up @ 4am to cook her porridge.

Wkend also only can do mimimum hsework lyk simple sweeping when Janelle is sleeping. If not is pointless cuz I do den she mess up.

<font color="ff0000">Here's Janelle saying HI to everyone</font>
659828.gif

659829.jpg

fun, it's for prevention of influenza. some common flu bug inclusive actually. i've collection some information about the flu vaccine. please see below for more information...

Flu Vaccine
The single best way to protect against the flu is to get vaccinated each year.

There are two types of vaccines:

* The "flu shot"an inactivated vaccine (containing killed virus) that is given with a needle, usually in the arm. The flu shot is approved for use in people older than 6 months, including healthy people and people with chronic medical conditions.

* The nasal-spray flu vaccinea vaccine made with live, weakened flu viruses that do not cause the flu (sometimes called LAIV for Live Attenuated Influenza Vaccine). LAIV is approved for use in healthy people 5 years to 49 years of age who are not pregnant.

Each vaccine contains three influenza viruses-one A (H3N2) virus, one A (H1N1) virus, and one B virus. The viruses in the vaccine change each year based on international surveillance and scientists' estimations about which types and strains of viruses will circulate in a given year.

About 2 weeks after vaccination, antibodies that provide protection against influenza virus infection develop in the body.

When to Get Vaccinated
October or November is the best time to get vaccinated, but you can still get vaccinated in December and later. Flu season can begin as early as October and last as late as May.

Who Should Get Vaccinated
In general, anyone who wants to reduce their chances of getting the flu can get vaccinated. However, it is recommended by ACIP that certain people should get vaccinated each year. They are either people who are at high risk of having serious flu complications or people who live with or care for those at high risk for serious complications. During flu seasons when vaccine supplies are limited or delayed, ACIP makes recommendations regarding priority groups for vaccination.

People who should get vaccinated each year are:

1. People at high risk for complications from the flu, including:
* Children aged 6 months until their 5th birthday,
* Pregnant women,
* People 50 years of age and older, and
* People of any age with certain chronic medical conditions;
* People who live in nursing homes and other long term care facilities.

2. People who live with or care for those at high risk for complications from flu, including:
* Household contacts of persons at high risk for complications from the flu (see above)
* Household contacts and out of home caregivers of children less than 6 months of age (these children are too young to be vaccinated)
* Healthcare workers.

just like Jenifur, before i got my maid, morning is mad rush, sweep and mop like robot. Dump all ingredients in slow cooker and she wakes up to play, breakfast, shower. Till the next nap time, then my turn to rest and take short naps. lunch, i will be bringing her out, sometimes she still zzz.. so not that bad. so i can have peaceful lunch. if she is up, the aunties will play with her. Meals at home is possible. so i try to pat her to bed before cooking dinner.

mybabydream

long time no hear

I used to have a PT cleaning auntie to clean my house before i'm pregnant. So intend to call her back to do my house on a weekly basis on weekends.

But my concern is weekday. I think hubby wants to mop everyday but i told him since Brennan is in IFC (infantcare centre) from 7am to 8pm (by the time we reach home), he doesnt really touch the floor so no need to mop daily. But if he really wants, then i can mop once a day per week.

Normally we will pick brennan up at IFC and then go home eat dinner with maid cooking. But i was thinking (which is what i'm doing now cos hubby at reservist) to eat outside, then fetch brennan from IFC to do home. When we reach home, I will sponge Brennan first and change him into pyjamas while hubby go bath. Then after that will make milk and hubby jaga Brennan while he drinks his milk, then he will put Brennan to bed. So while he is doing that, I can bath and do the washing up etc. Thats my plan.

I dont have to cook on weekdays. So just wash his dirty clothes from IFC and sterilise the bottles for next day use. Of course, still have to wash our own clothes and keep any dry ones lor. For weekends, we are now rotating the duties of putting brennan to sleep. So while i'm doing that, hubby has time to rest and do his own stuff. But when hubby is doing that, i will have to pack any outing bag first then i can do my own things.

Another problem is cooking. I dont mind cooking on weekends but hubby felt that i will be too tired. I guess it will have to be a very simple meal lor. Brennan sleeps quite short hours, bet 1-2hrs in the morning. Afternoon usually 1hr only. So the rest of the time has to play with him and follow him throughout the house cos he is still crawling and refusing to walk on his own.

SSL,
I'm a FTWM and without maid.. normally my time is devoted to my girl and preparing her food.. housework are all done by my hubby de.. normally he only do it on weekends.. I will do some if I have time to spare when my girl naps..

Hi SSL
u have decided to let your maid go earlier? So all geared up for the division of work?

One thing about doing household chores in my case is - in the past when I have no maid, I will vacuum &amp; my hb will do the mopping. To be frank, sometimes we will get unhappy with each other over the preferred timing of doing the chores
sounds silly but that is exactly what happened.

Hi everyone. Long time since I last log in. very busy with Kayden. Hsewk? Basically not doing any for a long time. Staying with in laws, cos cant manage alone at hm (w/o hubby) with a bb &amp; 3 dogs.

Hubby wking in US for the past mths. In fact jus brght Kayden to visit his Daddy.

cant wait for feb to end cos I'll b a SAHM by then. Finally decided to quit my job, spend some quality time at my OWN hse with my son. by then hubby will be back. Guess with him ard, easier to juggle with hse wk.

San,

Lucky u

Yippee

No la. waiting for hubby's reservist to end before talking to him again. So now have to plan and think what will happen without her. I'll definitely be much much happier without her

Mummies with maids,

If every month i pay my maid salary on 13th, does it mean that its salary paid for services done the coming month or the previous month? Was thinking of terminating her after CNY but wonder if I should still pay her on 13th Feb??

Any advice?

<font face="calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

I faced e same problem as Yippee too. HB's supposed to share the hsework but we always end up "fighting" over e time to do &amp; how he do it. Plus wkend r supposed to b e only 2 days we cld spend quality time w Janelle so HB is very reluctant to spend it on doing hsework.

Tt's why , I decided to get a maid after 1.5yrs after struggling &amp; convincing myself</font>

SSL
You need to go &amp; check the salary payment schedule which is provided by the maid agency. You shd have it in the file provided.
If she has started with you for eg since 13 May 05, the 1st salary payment shd have been 13 June 05. ie her salary is in accruals &amp; NOT in advance. Then again, you must check the payment schedule to confirm.

If it is confirmed to be on accruals basis, then you still need to pay her the full month salary on 13 Feb cos it's actually for her work performed for the period 14 Jan to 13 Feb. From 14 Feb to whichever date of termination (after CNY) will be pro rata if it does not make up to a full month.

Yippee

Thanks. Will go and check back. if still confused, maybe i can bring to show u during our next lunch session

ssl:
hee, yah, disappeared for sometime.

if u r thinking of going w/o a maid, then hire a part-time maid to come 2/3 times a week. may just have to stick to eating tingkat food if necessary.

u not staying near either side of your family? if not, if they dun mind, dao bao the food to bring home from their house...

MBD

there's no one at home so i cant ask the PT maid to come 2/3times a week, unless i entrust my keys to her (which I do not want to)

There's also no need for tingkat cos by the time we reach home, too tired to reheat the food cos need to rush putting brennan to sleep etc... Ya, we leave near my inlaws house. But she's just had an operation in Dec so I dont want her to cook for us and tired herself out.

Moreover, i really feel too tired to still have to eat once i reach home cos its about 7.45-8pm liao. i rather eat outside around 7pm lor.

I tried Tingkat for one week, felt its was better for me to try cooking while clarisse takes her afternoon naps. or if she refused to sleep, i will cook rice first then, wait till hubby back to play with her and then i start cooking. I usually take less than 20mins for fish/vege. so no problem. Hubby felt too troublesome at times, and went out to eat.

now is better... with my help ard, i can leave clarisse in her care, while i cook. Even till now i dun allow my help to cook for us, just in case she waste my food and dunno wat taste come out.
worse, u never know what they gng to add into the food manz.
i heard scary stories abt maid, adding saliva, KONG TUO.. etc.. so i rather cook myself.

just now so funny, i wa watching disney channel with clarisse... Advertisement time and Elmo pic happens to show.. Clarisse out of the blue blurted out "ELMO" i was shocked!

no one taught her. .kekek so funny...

carole, that's cute of Clarisse. actually, Samuel has a few words that he will say daily. words like bus, ball ball, banana, apple &amp; elmo could be heard all the time. i'm now teaching him how to say "mummy, i love you". he could only say mummy i. as for the rest of the words, he would laugh instead...

Touched
Samuel touched me last evening. i was playing hide &amp; seek with him when i knocked my head against the corner of a wooden plank on the wall. i think Samuel could sense my pain and came hugging and stroking me with pitiful look. i was totally touched by his reaction and his love for me. i told him i'm in pain and he stroke my bump and my face...we had such close bonding for at least 5 minutes...he's such a darling!!!

Sneaky

wah.. so touchy ya..Alden just refuse to talk when we want him to..he will onli surprise us with his talking .. den if we ask he say it again.. he will act blur.. haiz..

Fun, this is the time they start tricking us; giving you the "fishing" feel - pull &amp; let go, pull &amp; let go...haha

i'm having trouble toilet-training my boy!!! headache ah...been trying that in the mornings for a week now. so far, never catch a single drop of urine in the potty; even the toilet bowl!!! he now knows how to tell about his big and small motion but it's always too late. the flr would be wet by the time he said something...

went ikea and bought a blackboard and a bench toy box for clarisse.. her toy room is getting crowded with things manz..

Clarisse is such a fortunate girl. she has the whole room to herself; all filled with toys somemore!!! Samuel jealous liao