(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Fiona

yr JC story not applicable to now liao.. some gers can be a 'boi' so even in single gender school, can still manage to find 'true love' liao! hahaaaaaa

Sneaky :

Fiona: ok .. thx

Patsy and Pammie: oh... ? you both definitely look younger than your age!

Sweetie: i don't stay within 2km for sure.. i'm at holland v..

pammie, you are right loh....i'm feeling tired all the time. lack of slp makes me very frustrated and the urge to lose temper...very cham leh...hope tammi slps throughout from now on....

Mummies with maid,

I gave my maid a set of my home keys so that she can go to my MIL house and come back during weekday when we are working. However I do not wish to bring her out this weekend so can i keep her keys for one day if I want her to stay at home but dont want her to loiter around outside while i'm out.

my maid is getting worst.

Told her to buy some stuff but she didnt follow my instructions probably to go this place to check out if that place dont have. Bought the wrong stuff home and can even tell me she didnt check out the place i told her to.

I showed her my black face and you know what! she showed me hers and stare at me. I was so pissed off that I told her (when I'm more calm) that next time, if she doesnt know what is the thing i want, dont buy. Dont want her to buy the wrong things and I angry, she not happy. And dont want her to now listen to my instructions and yet keep telling me "yes she understand" when I give the instructions but she didnt follow them. So whats the point i say so much.

Told her not to hang too heavy clothings on this pole we secured (not permanently) between 2 walls after it fell down when she hang too many. Few days later, I nearly got hit by that pole when it dropped cos that stupid woman hang wet clothings on top of it. I told her off and said I nearly got killed by that pole. Now we cant use that pole to hang clothes cos I really afraid she will murder me with that.

My mum told me last time she cleaned the house very good when she just came. Now, can even see spider webs! And she does things so slowly but if she knows we are going out, she will rush through all the housework and zoom like a superman and before you know it, she has bath and changed and waiting at the door to go out.

Really felt like sending her back and do all the things myself. Hated this complaining and having to face all these shit after a tiring day of work.

SSl
as suspected, I think she's getting naughtier after she has the freedom to go out on her own to & fro your MIL home. You nv know who she gets to know on the way.

I now very skeptical of maids, really. I have a nasty experience with my new one. I aldy sent her back, Patsy has heard abt it over when we were on IM. I'll let you know over lunch one of these days. Will arrange with you tom via email.

yippe? huh.. your new one as in the one u just got rite?? oh no...

She has too much freedom now. last time if she comes back to my home to do housework, MIL will follow her back cos she also scared this maid go elsewhere. But now MIL bochap liao. rather stayed at home to watch TV. what to do

Fun

She doesnt take care of Brennan. She's very fake now she knows my son will smile at her or crawl to her occassionally, she will try to make him smile when we carrying him. To me, just faking so that I would be thankful to her that my son likes her and probably I wont send her back.

she does housework, cooking at my house.
i duno if MIL will ask her to cook or do housework at her place. she normally leave our house to go MIL house in the morning when we leave for work. then afternoon she will come back to my house to do the housework. walk here and there lor. 2 blks away only.

SSL: your maid getting more naughty hor.. can not give her a set of keys, but give your mil and get your mil to walk back with her now? yipee ya ya is right.. too much freedom, maids can be naughty.. when does her contract end?

My hubby just got a job offer but it means that he has to go oversees to study from june 2009 to june 2010, probably to USA.. It's pretty good cos it means a payrise and it speeds up his career path and he has to decide if he wants to take it up by today.. Both my dad and my FIL both think he should take it up and i think so too..He probably will..
My worry is how i'm gonna cope.. We were planning to concieve in june.. but that would mean that baby no. 2 would only be abt 1yr old when we go over.. don't know if i can cope.. If i TTC now, baby no. 2 will only be 1.5 yrs and zoe will be 3.5 yrs old..
I could delay and concieve when we get back but that is 3 yrs down the road and i will be 34.. so don't really want that..
I could also stay in singapore and let hubby go USA alone but that's also not wise..
So think i should go with him.. just thinking abt the coping bit..i will definitely stop working for a year..

fushiastar
just take up the offer & go with your hb. Why worry so much, it's 2.5yrs from now before 06/2009. Let nature take its course. There are quite good playschools in US, you can checkout the state that you guys are going & see if it is suitable for Zoe. Good exposure for the family. Just go for it!

hey though kaiser & zoe are in the same kindermusik class, no chance to talk to you leh. Saw your hb coming in for the second part of class, next week Im gonna get my hb to do the 1st half, cos I cant really lift the boy too much nowadays - he's too heavy
We usu try to come in earlier b4 class so that kaiser can warm up b4 actual lesson. Hope to catch up with you next weekend!

SSL - do your reviews with your maid and give her time to improve. If not then change your maid. I am so glad i let my previous maid go as my 2nd one gives me so much less headache..

Fushia - dont be worry wort! as yippee says can send zoe to presch there, then u w be able to cope. only thing to consider is which part of US? it makes all the difference.. speak to those who have been relocated there or working there.. let me know cos' I have some friends in US.

Fushiastar

I cant decide for MIL and cant ask her to those things.She came in March 2006 so contract will only end March 2008. still a long way.

AH... finally the decision has come to be made huh. You can TTC while you are there. hahaha or if you want to concentrate on zoe cos it will be a new environment for her, then TTC only when you are back. at least zoe will be bigger and can take care of herself. Dont keep letting this "age gap must be 2yr old" thingy bother your plans ok.

I think you should go with your hubby otherwise you will be all alone here to take care of two toddlers which is not easy and the kids may not be close to daddy since he will be away for so long.

Pammie

My maid only knows how to say yes yes yes to me when i ask her things. so dont know if she understands me or not. thats why always do wrong things even when she told me yes yes yes. how to do review like that. I rather go without a maid then to let her make me to frustrated.

SSL
yes, if you think it's worth keeping her, then talk to her seriously - no satisfactory improvement then send her back Indo. If u think she's not worth keeping at all, dont bother to talk to her even.

When I have the chancce to speak with you abt my sent off new maid - you will know sometimes some of the maids are really up to no good.

SSL

Since u have already made yr choice of hiring a maid.. its best if maid and u can work things out. They come to work in unfamilar place and at least give her a chance to change or know wat u feel she shld change first and see how. My mil's maid always very blur de, always have to remind dozen and dozen of times abt how to do 1 simple job. Some have lesser IQ or EQ de lor.. cannot take them as super housework woman ba. U think in her position, who will wana always make boss angry? digging own grave meh??

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

I think sometimes we have to close eye to certain things. Like my maid, she's quite forgetful @ times when comes to housework &amp; not very creative when comes to cooking but we just close eyes to that as so far *touchwood* she's been quite gd to Janelle.

I agree with Fun, maid are also employee like us mah (just more pitiful as lower pay &amp; longer hours), we also don't want to keep making boss angry then end up gota eat fried cuttlefish. I'm sure your maid thinks tt too. I always believe that we should treat our maid like colleague or casual frenz but still keep our authority. Dun think any of us want to work w a boss who keep showing black face &amp; picking on our faults, our maids will share e same sentiment too. And we do eat snake once in awhile (lyk surfing forum) &amp; I personally is super efficient &amp; happy when comes to knock off time *hee* which in our maid's case is going out kai kai time. Guess all in all it's about give &amp; take.

As for why she keep saying "yes, yes" to u, I think it's bcuz she was taught to do so by e agent. My maid said agents in their country taught them nv to talk back to employer, just said yes to whatever they said. I think your maid might not have understood yor instruction fully but don't dare to speak up. If you find your maid is ok &amp; worth keeping then perhaps u can send her for english class so you won't have communication problem. Have a good chat with her to find out if she's having any problems. But if things really don't work out then send her back to the agent so both parties will b happier.</font>

I do not take my maid as superwoman cos i'm not one myself. I do not need my maid to cook different styles everyday. The food she cook is either usually too bland with no taste or very salty. I accept that.

I do not treat her like dirt like what I've seen many employers treat their maids when we go out shopping. She used to tell me she dont understand initially and i will explain to her again, trying to use the simplest word i can find to tell her. But now, dont know also say yes.

Maybe I'm not suited to have a maid cos i cant handle them. She's already more than 6months, agent bochap liao. And i think the more i talk to her, the more agitated i will be. tried talking to her before and she tries to explain herself which i dont understand fully.

I bought her dictionary containing english and indonesian conversion so that she can read and point to me if she's not sure of anything. I dont want to waste my money to send her for classes cos I find that she wont learn much.

If she can forget the daily routine stuff that she has been doing since day 1, I dont see much help in sending her to learn.

Now i'm just waiting for my chance to send her home if hubby agree. if not just my luck to endure her for another 1+ year.

SSL

I think have to endure de la.. i was also pissed with my mil's maid sometimes and i will complaint to my mil, but she can actually explain to me how the maid works like she already read her like a book! Mil can give and take very well in maids, she nv send a single maid back home without finishing 2 yrs. Every maid cries when they leave for airport. Tats why the last one who went home, she smart liao.. ask us to send maid to airport. She say she very scared of sending maids back.. very ma lu at the airport.. haha.. end up my mum cries as she send the maid to the departure gate with us.. BTH.. hahaaa

btw.. this last maid we had didnt learn much English also.. always speaks Malay to us.. just cant able to learn lor.. for 2 yrs leh...

SSL
Come on... relax la. I know you are a easy going person (well at least easier going than me). From the way you mention abt your maid, it seems like nowadays she has no heart to work. It has already been more than half a year since she is with you &amp; she still cannot remember her daily routine chores (or is she pretending)... I can understand your frustrations. And she doesnt even need to look after Brennan, only household chores.

Frankly I think you must really consider if she's worth keeping - dont forget you are paying almost $500 per month (levy + salary) for her employment excluding food. If at the end of the day, all you are getting is frustration, laziness, half done work .... why must you pay $500 per month &amp; still have to endure her for another 1+yr (>$6,000+). You are already getting this kind of work attitude/performance, you might as well use the same amount of $$ get a new one. Your household chores are not that difficult to learn/train I assume.

SSL: think ur maid not worth keeping also.. maids are here to make our lives easier not to frustrate us..since it's after 6m.. if you don't want to send her back, can transfer? also think she's a huge waste of your money lor..

Yipee ya ya,Pammie,SSL: guess i Am a worry wort :p hubby inclined to take the offer up and is meeting up with the ppl to discuss contract details this evening.. will let him sort this out first before thinking abt family planning..

<font face="calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

Sorry didn't realise your maid has been with you for 6 mths leh... I tot she's new jus lyk my maid. Your agent got provide free replacment of maid? Why not change another 1? How about getting a filipino so u wun hv communication problem &amp; she can also teach Brenan. Lyk my maid, she can do flash cards &amp; read story book to Janelle. Nowadays Janelle always got new surprises for me when I get home.

jenifur

SSL de maid onli got 'nv do housework properly' surprises lor. keke cos she dun take care of Bernnan.. moreover she is poor in English...haha

SSL,

MY maid after 9mths w me still forgot to bring diaper when we going for trial class at great word city. but i did not scold her, just tell her that pls check b4 we go out. my maid not only forgot diaper... milk , cause only me buy a tin of milk and we have to carry a tin milk with us to everywhere we go.. why i tell u that because TO ERR IS HUMAN.

Thanks for all your feedback. I had wanted to send her back few months ago but hubby refused. So I have to endure her. Will hope to change his mind. I do not wish to have another maid cos we never know if we will be lucky or suay again.

Fun,

u so cute.. the way u said to Jenifur, saying my maid only give "never do housework properly" surprises. hahaha. she also gave me " buy sala things" surprises too.

Fushiastar

Why not let your hubby settled on the details first then discuss with him how best can you and zoe and bb no. 2 fit into the schedule.
am sure things will work out for your family.

As for maid, I wont transfer her cos i dont want another family to suffer lor. Maybe she will be more well behaved with another family, but i dont want to risk that. Rather send her home. Moreover, transferring her means that I have to stick with her until she finds another new employer.

Jenifur

Think no free service after 6months. (cant really remember) I did toyed with the idea of getting a phil one but need to give off day and heard so much of them learning bad cos of that.

Actually i rather not have a maid if I can handle things at home.

Sharon,

I guess u are more easy going than me
I pack all my bb outing stuff so i dont have a chance to blame her... hahaha (only myself if i forgot to pack things) She only help me to bring the things out from the bag to wash after we come home.

I wanted to know whats wrong with her. She asked me to send a letter for her today. But no one knows how to read Javanese language
my colleague only know how to read indonesian but she say my maid wrote in Javanese!!

SSL
you give the letter to the agent to read. Otherwise, I think one of the mommies in the forum knows Javanese. Cos one of them helped me to read before. If you are keen, let me know so that I can try to contact her to see if she can help (she asked me to approach her again if req)

SSL,

like u says employed a maid is lucky or suay. some time u send tis maid back, u also can not guarantee that next one will better rite.

I always talk with my maid (communication very important),if u want to know wat wrong with her , u need to friend talk with her, for my point of view rite " NO need to get angry about small matter " like buy wrong things or forgot to pack things.

I still can remember e first 3 months , i always talk with my maid in e kitchen , find out how is her family... thinks everybody also need caring.

maybe she need more time to adj liao, give her sometime la

SSL, you don't need to give off days to a filipino maid if you pay her $20 more each month. i pay my maid $340 (basic $320 + $20 no off day reimbursement)...

i have solved my maid's re-contract issue. i checked with her and she would like to extend her contract for another 2 years. she's supposed to end in Oct 07 but would like to go back to her hometown (2 weeks entitlement) in June 07 instead. i am most happy because at least i know she's around when i deliver my next baby, during my confinement and when i get back to work! so happy...1 problem down!

Update:

Hubby's offer confirmed.. Got letter of offer already just have to sign.. his year overseas is now in sep 2011 to sep 2012 in USA or UK.. Zoe goes to pri 1 in jan 2012.

Now have to decide if we are still going with him and if we are what to do abt zoe's sch..

Can anyone advise me on whether it is possible for zoe to miss abt 6m of sch in pri 1? fr march to maybe aug? Or where i can find out fr? thanks!

Yippee

Too late, i already mailed out the letter. Anyway, dont think my agent will know how to read or if she will be bothered.

Sharon,

How long has your maid been with you? I guess you are lucky ba. My maid was also ok before the 6months loan finished. I dont think I'm those bad employers who mistreat maids. But if she does wrong, i will have to tell her. And if she does many things wrong in a day and i keep telling her, she will give me a black face.

Sneaky

Good for you
its good that someone familiar can continue with you. You are another lucky employer.

SSL
nv mind lor. next time zap a copy.
I agree with you re lucky employer. I'm lucky to have my existing maid but unfortunately she wants to go home. I'm unlucky to get tt new &amp; already returned maid (but lucky enuf to find out what's on her mind, through my existing maid). I have aldy selected another new one. Hope I'll be luckier this time round. Will tell u abt it on wed.

SSL
almost one year already,ssl, please don be miunderstanding, i don means you are bad employer ho.,.err my filipi maid easy to communicate.ya I quite lucky because I got no choice to leave sabrina with her 2nd month..
hope u solve e problem soon.

my maid not renew e contract after 2 years, she want to plan have 2 child.
haizz need to send sabrina to childcare la.

Sneaky, Sharon

I hope my problem will be resolved soon too. Maybe Phil maid is easier to communicate than Indo maid. Mine's an Indo one.

Yippee

Sure sure we gossip more when we meet on wed. seems scary. lucky your old maid on your side

hi patsy
so so lor. Kaiser fell yesterday morning &amp; got a nasty bruise near his left eye. His eye is OK - still went for class but he's pretty shocked so he threw up twice (afternoon &amp; night) yesterday, but still active, alert &amp; no fever. My dad has brought him to the PD this morning to make sure he's really alright.

Morning. I just bring my son for MMR injection last friday. So far now the fourth day of injection. no fever yet. i keep my finger cross.

SSL

take ur time to and try to speak to ur maid everyday will help, talk to her slowly and use sign language if necessary coz for indonesian their level of english language is much lower den ours.

If u do consider to change ur maid, den i will advise u to take a phil maid coz personally i feel i want my child to listen and also absorb proper english language spoken at home and not broken english.. and also phil most of them are at least high school educated so english is not a barrier for them.

Phil maids like some mummies mentioned, need not give rest day, mine she does not have and i oso compensate her the market rate of $20 for tat particular day

hope u can resolve this soon

Morning,

Grace fell down from bed yesterday. No bruises but she got scared for a while when she sees my bed.

Opinion needed: who is sending child to childcare at two? Do you think they are too young for it?

heh morraine

i even demo to her cos i know when i tell her, even using the simplest english (word by word), she also can do wrong. so i have to show to her by doing it then she know.

U know sometimes when we machine wash our clothings, it gets turn inside out. My maid will just hang them without turning it back to the right. i tell her she show me a face.

she's sick. when i talk to her, she give me the "i'm very sick and dont give me more instructions" face. but yesterday i let her call home, she will chitchat happily and not a single sign on illness on her face.

Sweetie

Brennan is already in infantcare since last dec and will proceed to childcare when he turns 18months. Actually the earlier they go to childcare is better cos now they are bigger and can understand the surroundings and strangers. I've seen so many and heard from the teachers that the younger the parents send their darlings to childcare, they can adapt better. The older they are, they will cry cos they know that they will be there without the parents or grandparents. It will take a while for them to get used to it. Just like kids going to primary 1 kid of scenario. So in a way, i'm happy that Brennan can adapt to infantcare life now. and it will be a more smoother process for him to proceed to childcare (provided i dont change location) cos he will have some friends who will proceed to childcare before him and some after him. And the infantcare teachers will also be around and sometimes helps to take care of childcare side.

sweetie

hope Grace is fine
i have registered my girl for childcare last fri and she will be starting her so called class there on Jan 2008

Fun

wah.. ur MIL spoil market! haha.. yeah $20 is the market rate but if the employer is ok to give more den by all means

SSL

seems like ur maid is quite a tough cookie.. if i were u... i will ask her direct, if she still wants to work for me or not and if not den i wil send her back immediately coz no point keeping someone who has no interest in the job and not doing her job well. Maybe she knew tat u need her help ard so she so called call the shots ard?