(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Sneaky & Fun

Daddy dont really like me to post brennan's photo here lor
if u want to see, can PM me and i email his pix to show u.

Sneaky,

not alike but just one look at samuel and i felt that brennan resembles him in a certain way
Brennan looks very different in different poses.

Fushiastar,

dont make me paiseh leh... heehee u still remember his smile when he smile at u hor...

Carole

u bery creative leh.. add milo.not too much cos its heaty ok

carole: you feed clarisse packet milo or milo powder? zoe also rejecting FM.. just refuses ti drink alone or mixed w ebm.. my ebm running low..

can we give fresh milk now?

SSL:

SSL: ya.. add enough to make the milk got taste.. tt fellow just too smart liaoz...

Fushia: both.. packet milo during breakfast/snack (small ones for kids) and milo powder for milk. fresh milk got lactose. u might just wan to intro some vanila or coco taste to FM?

carole: oh.. our babies can't take lactose?

actually i'm v reluctant to intro any flavourings like chocolate and vanila to zoe.. even her baby yoghurt had no flavourings one..

but if she keeps rejecting milk, then i have to try something lor.. thought if can, maybe try to give fresh milk.. if not, maybe try a milk shake with fresh fruits.. if not maybe try pediasure vanilla.. heard that it is v v yummy.. if still cannot then last resort try cocoa powder.. sigh..

fushiastar

Fresh milk is not like FM tat has all the added nutrients bb needs leh.. its not suitable at all.

u can mix the FM into her cereal lor.. tats what i do for Alden bfast cereal

fushia: individual... not all bb can take lactose. u can introduce little.. for me.. everything i give clar, so she can start young and not fussy over food.

Fun: scary? its a drink, just tt i am more adventureous in things. as long as i get her to finish her milk, tts more impt. my girl, now eats adult food like rice from duck rice or chicken rice. i guess all just have to take the ffirst step. she too taking children cereals like coco pops, honey stars. i give her like slightly less than half the packet... she munches and she likes.. so its ok. just give her more water to ease away the heatiness.

Carole

wow.. salute u.. oily rice also give ah.. make sure u start brushing her teeth man.. hehe... Alden onli takes fish, stir fried veg like carrots, soup and rice from our meal.. For morning, its Bread, bb cookies or bb cereal..

carole, i also salute you loh...you give all the restricted food to clarisse at such young age...their internal system not fully developed yet...i suggest you'd better not give too rich food...else, you are stressing her little organs to digest or breakdown high level of sugar & fats...

i feed samuel with only plain corn flakes with his FM. at most, i'll add a few raisins cut into smaller pcs to make it more tasty. well, at times, i do give him Lotus Paste bao with most of the filling removed. other than that, i also give him bread with a little margarine or jam (thinly spread on the bread).

i think samuel has passed the EGG WHITE test. i gave him half an egg this morning and so far so good....no allergy reaction. good, at least now, he's got another variety...

sneaky: i give little by little. she just refused her porridge even it cooks with fish etc. so i LL got to make her eat.

ooi.. sun morning?? onz?

sneaky

i cooked hardboiled egg for brennan
so far he so good. i mashed up the hardboiled egg. my MIL was saying eat once a week can liao. i told her doc say can eat everyday. PD told me can eat 2 a day, but i didnt tell her. just tell her can eat 1 everyday but if she worry, then just eat 1 on alternate days lor.

Maybe u can try steaming the egg
(which i told MIL to try) softer to eat also.

i buy the smaller eggs from market and in smaller quantity so that they are fresh. trying to start soup and rice for brennan.

carole, i see...sorry ah...i'm a bit kaypo and strict with diets...please pardon my reaction to you giving such food because i cannot tahan the 2 at home. their parents and grandparents also give these type of foods; hence causing them to fall sick (cough) all the time. their expectations for taste have also increased because of this. at such tender age, they keep asking for sweets, yakult, fresh milk, ice-cream, yoghurt - all straight from the fridge! this is really bad in my opinion. i really don't wish samuel to be influenced by them in the future...haiz...challenging manz

ssl, good...brennan also has 1 more variety...actually, samuel has been quite difficult to feed lately. he will pinch or spit out all chunky food including threadfin. food that he finds rough will be spit out...how leh...

i wonder hor, how long after consumption of food will the allergy reaction surface? anyone knows?

sneaky: to each its own. i never let her take sweets, more to raisins and baby bites etc. for ur nephew n niece, cos they go to classes, tts y. clar stays home most of the time and she doesnt mix with kids in school and she tends to have beter immune system. introducing food early helps to get ready her to eat out anytime. I never allow things into her mouth tt is straight from the fridge unless Ice cream. even when my maid puts her milo into fridge and let her drink, i will set it aside till the goes back to room temp then i let her drink.

so far other then the flu bug my mum passed to her in sept, she has been strong all these while.

whether to let ur own kids venture to more variety of food depends on urself. if u arent comfortable, then dun try.

carole, you're right. maybe because i see so much of illnesses at home and also on my child, i am so afraid...i just hope that Samuel's immune system will improve during these 3 months of recuperation at my mum's place. my ah lau refuses to let him get in contact with his cousins. if we ever go out for family dinners, we'll make sure his cousins are fully well before bringing him along. kiasu hor...

fun: oh... zoe refuses cereal or oats.. she only eats bread.... can't mix milk or use as a dip leh..
actually i also think that FM is better than fresh milk.. told hubby that.. then he said that now solids is the main way babies get their nutrients, not through milk.. so milk is impt, but not as impt as solids.. then went on to say that in the past, babies will drink BM til they start to eat solids and when they are weaned fr BM no such thing as FM, so probably take cow or goats milk.. so FM is not a "natural" food for baby and not necessarily superior to cow or goats milk after age 1 and babies are eating solids well.. sigh.. don't really know why hubby seems against FM after 1 year old.. he seems to prefer to supplement with fresh milk.. sigh.. hopefully zoe will drink her FM!

Carole: oh.. ok..

SSL: yah.. you try egg+tofu steamed together.. i steam egg+tofu+mushroom+tomato..zoe loves that!

Re Adult food

I guess its's really to each his/her own.. i know of a friend who only feeds her baby organic bottled food, saying she thinks it's better than fresh food, as in at least free fr pesticides etc etc.. Another actually introduced hawker food to her 1 year old!..
Personally i'm also v fussy with zoe's food.. still no additional salt or sugar and all my seasoning is from fresh produce like onions/ginger/parsley/capsicum..
In addition to that, cause she sometimes eats adult food, i also stopped seasoning my adult food.. it Is more bland than before, but honestly i think it's a matter of getting used to lor.. and since me and zoe eat together, it makes my life easier that way..

sneaky

brennan sometimes dont chew his food and swallow them, causing him to get choke and spit out. so when i saw that there are chunky pcs, i will tell him to bite (in english and mandarin) and make sure he bites & finish before i feed him the next mouthful. If i find that he still cant swallow cos its too dry (after biting for too long), i will let him drink some porridge water or water so that it helps him to swallow the already chewed food bits.

My maid likes to mix salmon with tomato and broccoli which i have that brennan has a hard time chewing the salmon bits and tomato and broccoli. so told her when cooking salmon, put leafy vegetables instead. so that its easier for brennan to chew. if i find that he chew until suan already, i will mash up the remaining salmon using my spoon and feed him

mm.. hi everyone.. its a friday.. but am so weak and everything... puked the whole night and now.. so weak.. in bed.. sigh..

food: i dunno wor.. am like sneaky.. dun think will give weird food.. or new food to babies.. coz when they suffer from illnesses.. wa lao.. its terrible man.. like.. brent..(i couldn't understand how horrible he felt.. till he passed the germs to me.. and i fell sick last night)... wow.. let me tell u.. it sure feels horrible..

try one new food at a time to test for allergies.. not funny when they got stomach flu.. and etc..

i feel so sucky... and weak now whereas.. my dear son recovered le.. thank god..

sneaky: ur lunch so long!!! sun morning? onz bo?? abt 10.30? cos morning i need to go airport.. kekek so i will be at east coast abt 10.30?

adel, take care leh...make sure you wash your hands very often esp after you puke or pass stools...go get the lysol disinfectant spray please...after your business, do spray onto the toilet bowl and the air...avoid sneezing or coughing in front of others...this is very very contagious...trust me...10 of us got it from my nephew!!!

carole, onz!!!

haha! i didn't know tt its contagious.. keeps on kissing my poor boy who's suffering from it.. wa.. really got it man...
its nt funny at all.. i remembered telling my hb while hugging the toilet bowl.. mm.. now i completely understands how brent is feeling. but i'd rather tt i suffer than to see him suffer.

ssl: mine is confirmed on the 24.. tt weekend le. wad medication are u bringing ah?

adel, yah...it's really a terrible feeling...when i got it, i told myself this... "i think i'm better off dead"...and my poor boy had to suffer this more than 2 weeks...

but weird leh.. how come stomach flu is contagious ah? i woke up today to find out tt brent has recovered.. i tink i felt much better after tt too!

it is v v contagious...i learnt my lesson liao...actually, we can also be infected by using public toilets after someone who's suffering from stomach flu poot poot...

Stomach Flu..

I always get it de.. cos my body is more to 'wet & heaty' gets such flu easily... have to take a kind of herbal drink made by my mum den will get better :p

hi everyone.. was just diaper changing after zoe pooed this morning and i could see whole rasins in her poo! didn't know that rasins are not digested!

can i also ask how everyone is diaper changing now? zoe won't lie still at all so i diaper change with her standing up.. using wet cotton balls and diaper cream still..

hi fushiastar

same for Kaiser. I tot of changing to diaper pants soon, maybe after he finishes 1 more pack of L pampers. But heard that pull up pants are more expensive & dunno which is the better ones leh. Maybe got to start sourcing ard now.

fuschiastar amd yippee: This is a phase all toddlers will go through. Depending on the temper and personality of the individual child this phase may last longer or shorter. (In other words they will not be struggling at every change from now till they are toilet-trained) The trick is to give bb a new 'toy' when you are changing her/his diapers. This can be a bottle of ru yi oil, of cos tightened, tissue paper, book, etc. But it must be something NEW to the kiddo so that he/she will at least pause long enough for u to quickly be done with the diaper change. It is now also no longer nec to apply diaper cream at every change unless bb is extremely sensitive and WILL get diaper rash if she/he goes without the cream for just once. (This also makes changing easier and faster)Apply diaper cream at alternate changes is good enough. But at night do still apply a good diaper cream.
Pull-ups are v expensive (abt 50 cents per piece)in the long run and unless you dun feel the pinch, I wouldn't recommend anyone using it the whole day long. The alternate way is to use pull ups for trips out, nights and at times when u know bb is typically difficult and impossible to hold down even with an irresistable new 'toy'.
This is how I survived my 3 yr old's growing up phases.
And so far it's working well with Ember.

i dun have problem changing clarisse, she is ok when diaper change.

Just got home from Suntec... the level 3 like many shops closed down. Shops like Kids Mall, and ELC.

Fushiastar

Brennan is ok with diaper changing but of course, when he tries to flip and sit up, hubby or I will normally let him play with "toys" like what kris said (eg. his shorts, the new diaper to be used, tissue pack) Anything that we can grab hold of (of course no sharp corners lah cos they may accidentally poke into their eyes)

I only apply Drapolene to his bum and anus part (little bit) after his morning bath and after evening sponging time. Rest of the time no no unless I saw that there's rash.

Hi Yippee

Me started to use Nepia pull up pants when we go out. More expensive of course so use interchangeably with tape ones
Tried Huggies (smaller cutting) and Nepia. Bought a pack of Drypantz.. yet to try.. So far, am happy with nepia so still sticking to it for the tape and pants type. At night, Brennan is still using Pampers Premium. Can last throughout the night.

bonjour from Paris... aiyo, went shopping today, started to wish we lived here.. the winter stuff for little girls and boys are soooooooo cute!! There was this Burberry little jacket for girls in pink plaid... was so tempted to buy it for Xaby but resisted coz dunno when she'll wear it! Tods is damn cheap tho... Euro 225 for a pair, which is about S$450, while in Singapore it's about $800++ too many people earlier so going back shopping on Monday instead... hopefully i won't spend too much!!!! Went to the grocery too, wine is so bloody cheap it's not fair! Euro 5 for a great bottle of wine, which would cost S$80++ in Singapore! Everything is now all Christmasy now.. the building decors are so beautiful. Can't wait to bring Xaby here when she's bigger!!

Hope everyone's doing well.. miss you all!!!

hey patsy! stop making ppl to be envious ok? i'm jealous now! travel to europe for work! wa lao... i also want leh...hehe...

anyway,paris is a nice place.. fell in love when i was there.. mm.. enjoy ur trip there!

yippee: No problem!
Nepia pull ups is good if bb is on the bigger side. This is bcos the Nepia pull ups cutting is bigger than the rest of the brands and the elastic is also more stretchable. My Ember is on the small side so I let her use Mamy Poko pull ups (M size) when she has to. So far it is also able to last her thru the nite. SSL is right, Huggies' cutting is small in the sense that the front piece is narrower than other brands. So the chances of leaking is higher.

adel: no lah... really if i could stop the travel and just stay with xaby i would. just making the best of what i have right now!! and yes, paris is beautiful!

ya, Im sure u wanna swop plc with us to just staying home than to be now just you in beautiful paris (no doubt). Business trips are nv fun for me (unless it is hb's biz trips & I tag along).

When u coming back? Wanna discuss/plan what class to go?

haha Yippee... I guess it's a case of the grass is always greener on the other side of the road. I do enjoy what i do, but then again, really really miss Xaby and keep worrying if she's ok, or if I'm gonna miss her first step, her first word... hopefully when she's bigger I can bring her along!

will be back friday afternoon... see you on msn, ok? have put xaby on wait list with GUG, but from the feedback here from Fun and Fushiastar, dunno if Xaby will benefit from it. See how first i guess

patsy patsy...you're really making us drool leh...i can picture the beautiful paris from your description! am so so envious! but then again, if it was me, i wouldn't have been as strong as you...i would still be so reluctant to leave samuel even for a night! please take care...see you on friday!

fun, thanks..i'll be waiting!

ssl, thanks...i've got it! brennan sure looks like daddy!

sneaky

hahaha.... everybody says that. but certain pose got looke like me la....

got "samuel" look? heehee

Sneaky, got to be strong right, all this is FOR her! but Paris really is beautiful now, especially all the Christmas lights are up and the city is lighted up. Going to Frankfurt later today on my last city and then I'm going home!!! ps, didn't get a chance to ask bout the thing you wanted me to ask, there was a Q outside the store and the waiting time was about 1 hr in the cold!! All the ppl in the Q were mainland Chinese!

patsy....

take a pic and show us la

think the lightings in orchard road also upz..
hope this year brennan gets to see the lightings.
my hubby avoided orchard road when the lightings are up cos very crowded and jam jam jam

patsy, don't need to check if it's not convenient. by the way, my colleague who was previously an air-crew advised against accepting cash monies from anyone who asks you to buy stuff from the boutique. they will either sell or replicate them in their countries...they can't buy it themselves because everyone has a limit of purchasing only 3 different items from the shop. and yes, it's all FOR Xaby!!!

SSL, i must admit they both have boyish look loh...maybe they have some similarities when viewed at different angles...

ssl, oh yes...you bring him out to our gatherings lah (if any). i think there'll be 1 soon at carole's new place, right? i'm working at macpherson...away from town leh...i live in dover/holland. you?