(2005/09) Sept 2005 Babies

hi rooster,

my son now weighs abt 10kg plus...before he was down with bronchitis 2wks back, he weighs abt 11kg.

Ling - gal - 30 Sept - CCK - FTWM
Jessica - boy - 30 Sept - Woodlands - SAHM
Coffeedrinker - gal - 17 Sept - Woodlands - FTWM
Rooster - boy - 18 Sept - Sengkang - SAHM
Sharon - gal - 20 Sept - Sengkang - FTWM
lysm - boy - 10 Sept - Sengkang - Working from home
Elaine - boy - 18 Oct - PARKISTAN - SAHM
Cyruslll - boy - ? - ? - Daddy

Hi Cyruslll,

It's nice to have a daddy here to share with us your experience,welcome! pls help to fill in the above detail..

rooster,

wow,your baby really big leh! Mine only weighs about 9.5kg at 18mths,probably bcos of his fussiness in food..
yea,would like to share your kid's meal schedule so my boy can grow as big,hahaha..

Ling,

Probably we can arrange gathering on one of the wkend lor,it's more convenient for FTWM like u,coffeedrinker & sharon.. but to be frank,i'm not a good organiser,anyone interested to be the organiser?

jessica: I dun mind arranging... :D for first gathering maybe we can go to someone's house first... Who wans to volunteer your house?? heehee :D

14kg is real big leh...
mine only 10.5kg.. I think she is about 82cm

Caretaker
My gal is taken care by maid only since she is 4month old.. maid just left and now she is with my mum and my sister's maid taking care of her.. new maid coming next week..
Childcare.. she sure cry.. she is extreme.. no stranger can touch her.. in this world only me , hubby, my mum and my sister and sister's maid only.. not even my in-law.
Hope she gets better as she grow.

Enrichment class
I bring her to Julia Gabriel every sunday.. to give her more exposure, hopeful to make her more "sociable"

Potty-train
wanted to train but I working , now no maid.. very difficult.. and she love to play with the potty leh.. she treats it as a stool.

Food
she loves food.. anything.. you can make her kiss you, say thank you, hug you if you bribe her with food..
when comes to food.. she not afraid of stranger.. she takes from them..*faint*

coffeedrinker: My girl quite socialable & KPO so I tink still ok. But alot of them claims that no matter wat sure will cry.. Im keeping my fingers cross!!! Im tinking of maid leh but I dun have any old folks at home to oversee her so pah pah..

I bring my girl to Baby Jumper Gym every sat oso. They teach flash cards and have gym session there. My girl is there to PLAY. Nvr sit to listen to the flash cards.. faint...

haha, my girl plays with her potty oso.. sit there for fun and throw her toys into the potty wor.. faint.. I told her tis is for "shh shh" cannot play.. hehe

Saw Sabie's latests news... She is with lord now and jz did a prayer for god to look after her..

My boy is around 84cm and 12-13kg.

Potty Train
would like to potty train too. But I tried a few times letting him without diapers, but he never pee or poo in the potty. Even if I bring him to the potty every 1 hour. He will just have accidents.

I am reading Gina Ford's poty training book. There's a preparation stage for them to get used to using the potty. It's good for them to sit on it a few times every day for 5-10 mins even if nothing happens. After you feel that they are ready, can let them go without diapers. Decides to follow her strategy but will start later cos going back to Singapore soon. So I will start when I come back.

Flash Cards
My boy not really interested in flash cards too. Last time, he's not even interested in story books. But nowadays, he will keep asking me to read books to him. So I see it as an improvement.

All SAHM,
What do you all teach your child at home? Cos before I become a SAHM, I have the mentality of teaching him at home, but then I realize I am just too lazy with flash cards. I read books, use please and thank you in my sentence, ask him to keep his toys and throw rubbish.

I feel that a school/enrichment class will enable him to learn more than at home.

Self Feed
Anyone try self feeding already? I don;t have the courage to start that yet cos of the mess.Sometimes only a few spoonfuls.

Rooster,
when are you going to Australia? Do tell us about your life over there.

Elaine: I start self feeding already... Ya its really a mess and my hubby is complaining (cos usually he is the one cleaning up.. keke) and thus discourage me to do that. I say how can!!! :p

Anyway she can feed herself now but usually taking her own sweet time.. so I still prefer to feed her at times :D

Well,
Self Feed..
I would say my gal is at about 70% self feed capability .. 100% to me is I sit there and watch her eat without mess ..haha

Flash Card
My gal is a " study gal".. she loves card and book.. she don't tear her book and flash card.
well, I get my maid to start reading and showing books and card when she is 6 month ago
she can read pretty much english words and a little chinese words and count up to ten. I hope my new maid can do the same as my previous maid.

Life without a helper is hell to me.. I cannot imagine myself as a SAHM.. and I really salute to those SAHM.. can cook, do housework and teach and take care child..
I cannot cook and do housework is practically 10/100 my husband say.. you don't do the housework, the house more cleaner..so he give up to have a "house wife"

the 1st 2 week when I go "maidless" , My gal's shh shh will leak (put on diaper skill failed!).

now is already my 7th week of maidless .. not bad liao..

Halo mummies,

Can i join? Actually my 1st son EDD was early Sept but he cant jus wait to see the outside world n was born on 11 Aug....hehe

Hello Winnie: welcome...yr girl's birthday is so close to my son's.....he's born on the 10th.

Hi Elaine: I have tried letting my son feed himself, but he tends to play with the spoon & food more than eating...cos with food on his hands, he will touch his hair, table, chair & any other things on the dining table. It was a total mess...& the cleanup was tedious. So I've decided to let him pickup self-feeding in school.

As for flash cards, I'm no longer so active in using them cos after a while me too get very lazy... :p
I still do some reading to my son cos I realised he enjoys reading & looking at pictures, sometimes he will take his favourite book & ask me to read it to him. I also let him watch some educational vcds.

I tink putting my girl in CC may be rite.. cos Im a lazy mummy, nvr really teach my girl study.. sobx sobx.. Hopefully she can pick up some english/maths in school... Most of the time she is busy polishing up her motor skills instead.. climbing here there, opening this tat. She can even start the VCD to watch her favourite Barney show!!!

Lysm: Its like tat de... my girl was doing all these initally.. They need to play with the stuff first b4 really picking up the skill...

Coffeedrinker: haha, yr hb same like mine.. I wana be a SAHM cos of my gal.. But he say btr not lah.. the house will be even messier if I stay at home!!! faint!!!

Welcome Winnie and Shannon :D hey mummies, help add on your particulars to our list can?? hee

Winnie: yr girl is so cute..

seeing all the clips hor means she must have quite some hair to clip wor.. My girl hair not much leh.. hehe :p

Winnie - girl - 9 Sept - Bukit Gombak - FTWM
Shannon - Boy - 11 Aug - Jurong West - FTWM

Ling, my boi oso luv to watch Barney leh...his fav show...he can sit there to see repeat n repeat agian for 1 hour...now avday he will ask us to " on Ba Ba "....coz he doesnt know how to say Barney in full yet...haha..

Welcome all mummies! Great that this thread is moving.

I think my boy is overweight. He is 14kg and 90cm.

Meal Schedule:
8am- 8oz of milk
9am- a slice of bread/ swiss roll
12pm- about 2 bowls (those chinese bowl)of mee soup/ tway keow soup/ mee suan
1.30pm- fruit
3pm- 8oz of milk
6pm- Rice with dishes
9pm- 8oz or milk

Is he taking too much???

Potty Trained
Have successful trained. He could tell me when he wants to pee. Now he just refused to pee in the diaper. I realised that he has a habit of playing his 'P' part when he is not wearing diaper. Did any mummies come across this. Is it normal?

Self Feed
I dun have the courage to start yet... can't stand the mess. BTW, your kid knows how to drink from a cup or straw? Mine still using bottle.. sigh.. How to train ah??

Shannon: My girl oso.. "bar bar" keke I kept saying "Bar Ney" say ney.. but still bar bar.. haha.. then giggle and run away.. :p

Mine auto will switch off if she saw them saying the last song and say bye bye... But she can early morn wake up "Bar bar" afternoon do nothing "bar bar" at night oso "bar bar"... Then she will go DVD player there to on the player... FAINT!

Kids during this age very cute.. When they learning to tok and can listen to you and answer a little.. so fun.. :D

rooster: hw much is 8oz huh?? my girl dun drink much, 150ml like tat.. wah, your boi can really eat wor, 2 bowls of noodles?! Either your boi can eat or you must be a really GOOD COOK... irresistable food.. hehe..

My girl can drink from straw and cup le... erm.. how to train ah? the most initial is to start introducing them to it. They will not know how to do it but they will try, slowly slowly they will eventually master the art. For drinking from straw, i motivate her by letting her try on my packet drinks.. hehe.. :D

rooster, ur boi is heavy leh...my boi Jayden onli abt 11kgs nia leh...

The P ting hor, i oso notice tat Jayden seems to be 'exploring' his P oso leh....he likes to put his hand inside the diaper to explore it...faint

actually hor, sometimes the kids did something and its really can brighten up our day one lor...they are just so cute la...

Shannon / Ling : My gal use word "Ney Ney" when she ask for Barney VCD.
Barney also sing the last song " I love you , you love me, we are happy family..." she will stand up , hug me from the start of the song till the song stop. If my nephew (2.5year old) is here. They will hug and freeze till song stop.. very funny,

After that, she will press the stop button.

I think now they got a lot of funny behaviour that makes us laugh..

Ling,
8oz is abt 220ml. I also think he eats alot but he keep asking for food leh. I am not a good cook lah... i just learn how to cook only leh.... I think he has no choice loh... if dun eat he got nothing to eat le... But sometimes, he will refuse to eat also... depend on his mood lah...

I try giving him straw but he refused to drink from it. He is playing with the straw instead... sigh.. make me even more ma fan... spilt here and there....

Ask you, can they drink yalkult now???

Shannon,

I think quite embrassing lah to keep touching the P part.... not so nice leh... not sure whether this is the growing phase??

Seems like lots of kids watching Barney... i think i should go and get some barney to entertain him... Can tell me which one to buy?? thanks ya.

Rooster, i oso tink like wise lor...tink now its the stage they juz being curious for avthing lor..

for the vcd hor, u can anyhow buy la...all r quite interesting...juz go n get 1 n test test whether your boi like it or not lor...

ya wor, can they drink yakult now? or how abt yogut?

Potty Train
Wish to start my boy on potty but seems that he's not ready though he's expressing his intention when he wants to "shh shh" or "poo poo".. he dun like to sit on the potty,normally he will treat it like a stool..
tried him w/o diapers too but mess up the whole hse,hahaha.. think will start him again when he's bit older..

Flash Cards
My boy not interested in flash cards too,he will fold them up & throw away..
but lucky he likes to read books esp those with interesting animals & colours..he can't sit still to listen to story-telling too,always run around the hse,hahaha..

Self Feed
My boy already learning self feeding but as expected,he mess up everything,the food was on his face instead of mouth..

Ling,
Thanks..ok,we will see who is willing to volunteer her hse for gathering,then we can start planning..

coffeedrinker,
ur girl so good,can take any food.. not like my boy,he simply reject food,he only eats for the sake of eating or jus to please us..
he's a real fussy eater leh..

Elaine,
Me too,lazy to teach him at home cos he's too active,always make me run around the hse with him..
i sent him to a 1.5hrs playgroup nearby our hse,hope he can learn something useful there..

Have all your kids start talking? any suggestions on how to train him to talk?

Hello & welcome new mommies!

rooster,
your boy can really eat leh!! my boy only drinks abt 150ml,sometimes less than that!! so which brand of milk powder your boy drinking that makes him loves milk so much? wow wow wow!! 2 bowls of noodles,that's really a lot!! my boy only eats abt 3/4 porridge,noodles or rice.. pls teach me how to make my boy eat more,i'm very fustrated sometimes until have to force him to eat..

My boy can already drink from straw since he's quite young,mayb is bcos i breastfed him so drinking from straw is abt the same lor.. as for yakult,i introduced him few months ago,think it's ok lor,but just remember don't give him too much & must give after meal..

My boy loves barney too,he will dance when he hears them singing,so cute..

as for P part,my boy too like to touch it esp when bathing or when naked,lucky he will not put hand inside diaper to touch lor,haha..think it's normal for their growing stage lor,so dun worry..

Jessica,
my boy drinking nestlac formula. my boy loves food... except for my porridge... sometimes i also got difficult feeding him... need to force him to eat loh....

REally dunno how to train him to drink from straw. He just refused to suck.. sigh....

My boy knows how to speak single word but not full sentence yet... he could speak papa, daddy, mama, mommy, ah ma, gor gor, mei mei, jie jie, di di, uncle, auntie, bye bye, no more, bus, bird, egg, flower, wait, sit, NO, ah pek, ball, bird.

I realise that he starts to speak quite a number of words since last week... or maybe i did not notice it when i am still a FTWM.... now SAHM so more time with him....

According to my baby sitter, she said that just keep talking to them.... eventually they will pick up from there... maybe you should try that.... talk talk talk talk.... later he find you too nagging... hahaha

hi... my son is a Sep 2005 baby too, same birthday as IC_69 hehe i've been wanting to meet more mothers too!

Lynette - Boy - 22 Sep - Queenstown - SAHM

hi, Welcome to new mummies

Potty Train
I had started and succesful, her is now diaper free.

Self feed
I don intend to do so.. because my gal interested to play than to eat e food...
my gal can drink from cup and straw

Flash Cards/story book
Ya, Sabrina like them, i normally let her hold e card , she will look at front and back .. very cute.

my girl realiy look like a monkey, like climp up and down , sofa, window, bed . dining table chair.. she like slide.u will always can see a lot of blue black on her legs

Talking
Sabrina only can says one word so far is "Daddy"
She like daddy ,and always call "daddy"
Sabrina is very slow in talking.. haizzz
I quite worry on it, any mummies can tell how to
let them learn and talk more..

ling...

Thanks...yes she have lots of hair since she is born.....

Potty Train...
hhhhhmmmmm think...mine long way to go...as my mother in law don't want to do that now.....sigh :-( as she is the one looking after my zoey during the day when i am working....

rooster: haha, my girl oso almost same as yours... those usual words loh.. But I noticed most words I teach her are "B" words leh.. bread, bag, bird, barney, bolster etc... hehe ya, now they keep blabbling away... :D

Sharon: Try talking more to the kid and ask them questions. Teach them wat to reply oso.. My girl oso alot of blue black on her legs leh.. hehe.. climb up down and knock here there :D

Jessica: no one volunteer leh.. my place is really messy so maybe put to last resort ba :p

we have alot of boys here!

hhhmm so funny....seems like most of ur babies like barney....while mine seems only like Hi5! and she can sit there for the whole 1/2 hr watching VCD....even when we brought her to Taiwan for holidays....she will be ok just if she watch Hi5! on her daddy's PDA

wah....this thread moving very fast....I cannot catch up liao.

Talking
My boy starting talking when he's 11mths. He can say many single words already. Nowadays I noticed he is joining two words together. Sometimes he will mimic my tone of voice....like try to imitate my pitch when i scold him....hahaha

I guess interaction helps in speech development; have to talk to them alot. He can also sing, but I can't figure out what he's singing lor

Lynette - Boy - 22 Sep - Queenstown - SAHM
IC_69(Ivy) - boy - 22 Sept - Sengkang - FTWM

Hi,welcome new mommies to the thread!

rooster,
my boy drinking Progress Gold,but looks like he dun really like it lor,he can take up to 1hr or more just to finish 120-150ml of milk,sigh..

As for drinking from straw,probably u can train him to suck from packet drink, (try buying fruit juice that is for children-diluted type)he will pick up the skill very fast cos most children love packet drink,hahaha..

Yea,i talk a lot to him but he only pick up those simple words, (like papa,mama,daddy,mommy,ngng,up..)probably have to take more time lor..i like old lady become so talkative after having my boy,sigh..

sharon,
my boy oso very active leh,he loves to climb almost everything esp tables & chairs,everyday u will see him climbing up & down,fall then get up climb again,sigh..
he loves slide too,so we normally bring him to playground to slide..as usual,blue black everywhere his hands & legs..

Ling,
yes,we have lots of boys here,probably we can rent a resort & everyone can gather there,easier & more convenient too..our boys & girls can also enjoy more in resort hor..
my hse also in a mess cos hubby leaving s'pore,nobody help to clean up,sigh..

Winnie,
actually my boy likes to watch "Saseme Street" too,he loves Elmo & Cookie Monster,hahaha..

any baby here use Pamper baby Dry.. XL..
I got new packet..
and another opened packet.. looking for exchange or selling.. interested ?
Also Huggies comfort XL for exchange too

coffeedrinker

Wow!! Your gal can count up to 10 already and can read! Stress Stress....

My boi only can say single words, haven start to link up words yet. Quite slow, I think.

Drinking from cup
My boy drink water from cup, but milk from bottle. I tried to put milk in his cup but he refused to drink even a drop.

I think my boy is one who is a bit resistant to changes, cos recently I change to pull up diapers, he also wail and cry when I put it on.

My boy also likes to play with the "P" part when he's naked. Last time, we used to say "No, No". But I noticed that the more attention we give, the more he will do it and laugh some more. So now, I just ignore his action, so now he is betta, hopefully he will forget eventually.

hi mummies....
my girl now 19mths still wearing pampers...sigh.
:-( ... my mil who is taking care of her didn't train her for toilet training....
Today i am not able to get her those thick pampers for her...The packing from Pampers vietnam and is light blue in colour....
CK told me stock only be here in 2 weeks time....now me headache...where to buy those thick pampers for her. Ai yo!!! as she urine is too too much....if didn't change within 2hrs those normal type pampers...her urine will somehow overflow and will be leaking to her legs somemore.... *faint*

hi.. mummies

Good news to shares
My girl started to learn how to self feed already hahah, best things is with no mess..

i have tried mammy poko pants, the pants by huggies....but not drypants.....but i personally find those types quite expensive to me.

i tried all before... Personally i tink huggies pants is enuff. Otherwise drypants is not that bad either.. :D

Been MIA for sometimes. My husband just came back and now we are busy packing. My house now is in the mess..... We are leaving next Sunday so have been very very busy doing last minute shopping for myself and my son.

Jessica,
I beleive that you husband is in Taiwan now. Hope that you are coping well.

Winnie,

Maybe u can try using PET PET in the day time and mamy poko pant at night. This is not i have been doing. If not, potty train ur girl now then u can save more.... hehehehe..

rooster: but i nvr try pet pet before... I use dryers la, not bad leh. My ex-nanny used pet pet & NTUC brand for my Vel before... erm.. dun really like.. At night im also using Mamy Poko.. Its good and I like the POOH bear picture.. hehe

Vel is in childcare now, 3rd day. Seems okay and she is enjoying herself. Her feeding is almost perfect now oso.. :D

haiz, they grow up so fast... the other time, my hb was commenting that our girl has grown up when we see her packing her crayons.. Time flies..

huggies...my girl tries for a while...but not good on her as always got nappyrash.....

heh mummies u know here got any CC or dou dou ban for kids....that is below $200 per month for half day?

Lynette,,
Actually i also not very not good in teaching, only that..
B4 i let my girl try on food, i always let her play e spoon and teaching her how to hold e spoon first..
and then show how we use it
and then when dinner time, i will scoop one (porridge) spoon for her to try on it..
and slowly she will know how to handle it .
Hope e step tis help u