(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

ting2 & nyny

what's the update with decimal??
I think previous posting was that she was given MC to rest at home for a week right?

Hi nyny, i think it's ok..cos some bb only can detect heartbeart 8 weeks and above..

yahor, dunno how is decimal liao..i think she should be resting.

wow, this thread moving very fast

okie! glad to know can still eat durians.

I just went to see a gynae and first time consultation with vaginal scan is $70.

here is his package charge
- $1000 (from 16 weeks onwards) - consultation, ultrasound scans and normal delivery at hospital
- does not include medication, blood test or special scans...
- forcep/vacuum - $additional $200
- post delivery care - $250

any advise...it's the first package i got....

hi miso and wendy
saw decimalpoint's posting from the miscarriage thread. it's bad news. hope she feels better now.

thanks miso. i am going for 2nd appt tonight. hope we manage to see sth.

hi erowen,

u sure the package includes delivery? mine delivery itself already costs $1k.. unless i saw wrongly..

the 1k includes monthly consultant ( or as when i not feeling well) and normal delivery. I can choose betw Mt Al or Thomson.
This package is from my house nearby gynae (Dr Phua)
But i don't really feel comfortable with him, cos he's rather quiet, most of the time i asked him the questions lor.
So now i am also considering either Dr Adrian Woodworth or Dr Yvonne Soong....

Chemistry

Which KKH gynae did you use the last round? Good?

Good to hear from you that KKH service is good cos I'm concerned about all the horror stories posted on KKH. KKH is in my list becos worried in case *touch wood* bb needs more attention that predicted. Is KKH pro-breastfeeding?

Miso
That's my worry. Really cannot 'an xin' till i see the heartbeat, esp for my case, like pregnant so long liao yet so no see heartbeat.

Wendy, i control my diet and main reason that can lose is due to stress at work. Reallt no time to go gym as need to fetch bb home straight after work

nyny
I'm sure you are able to see yr bb's heartbeat tonite
Keep us updated.

Erowen, so now you how many weeks?

nyny, thanks for informing us on decimal's case. so sad for her. hope she takes it well.

erowen, i cant comment on packages cos my gynae no package to offer as his fees/charges are quite reasonable liao. sorry.

bbmom, when's ur next appt? mine is the sat after the new year..hope can see bb heartbeat by then.

How are all of u doing? I think I am feeling rather lazy and lethargic this time round. probably due to caring for ds as well..though he is much easier to take care now.

Hi ixwong

u can oni choose A1 in TPS.. B1 is out.. i confirmed it when i was at KK making enquiries.

Hi chemistry
my appointment's fixed at 11.15am liao.. (so tink gotta wait long)..

Hi nicole,

That's what the general KKH hotline told me too...only A1 no B1, but when I call up the TPS hotline, they told me we can also opt for B1. That's why I'm confused.

Hi nicole

I was told the same thing by KKH hotline. But when I called up the TPS hotline, the staff told me we can also opt for B1. That's why I'm confused. Will be writing to them for confirmation.

Hi ixwong,

My gynae is Dr SF Loh. I'm with him since I started my IVF procedure. He give his email to us so that we can email him if we missed out any queries during consultation. But I find his fees quite ex. The last round I went for consultation+scan already 90 over bucks! So now can't wait for 16th week to sign up the package.

As for the ward, ok lah. The B1 got 4 beds only and very spacious. The nurses are all ok esp those who looked like from phillipines, they are very nice!

When's your next visit? Mine will be tomorrow.

Hi Chemistry

I'm still seeing my private gynae at gleneagles. He's the one I consulted on my fertility treatment (IUI). Seeing him on 3 Jan next for my week 7/8 scan. Dunno can hear bb's heartbeat or not....but was told shd be able to at least see it.

Thinking of switching to KKH only in 16th week to take advantage of their package. Seem like their consultation fee without package is same as private gynae....

My mum also told me KKH service is quite good the last time she was there for her operations, but that was 5 years ago, so it's reassuring to hear about more recent feedback.

How many weeks are you now?

feeling rather sleepy and lethargic these days...getting more frequent headaches too... got to be more careful about what i eat cos i get sick of the food and feel nauseous easily.. wishing i can just vegetate at home during this time...

Hi ixwong, not really wor, my gynae's fees quite reasonable leh..the last time i went to him was in my 5th week. Had an ultrasound scan, consultation and med..$50.

hi tingting
me, too. feeling really tired.
try to take more notice on what you eat can cause you nausea, then from there you make adjustments.

for me, i can't take too oily food. and can't take too much food at a time. got to reduce by half of my normal diet b4 pregnant. then, i will feel better.

hi miso and bbmom.
me at work now, but no mood to work, cos still thinking abt my gynae search, also could be the coming new year....really wish i can sleep at home.
may i check usually for the first visit, are there any blood test conducted?
tks

nyny & miso,

i try to take more soupy and bland food also, but quite difficult to find in hawker centres besides fish soup, porriage, etc. so sometimes i take sour plums to neutralise a bit.. it helps when u feel bloated. but try not to take too much cos it's high in salt content.

erowen, just emailed you the package details of my gynae. my package of $950 does not include delivery costs, which is $1k for normal delivery. Are the rest the same? or your package includes delivery? if so, then mine is really expensive.

erowen, my gynae did blood test on my first visit for both me n hb. this test is sometimes done slightly later, but for me bcos hb is Hep B carrier so doc tested earlier.

hi erowen
for me, i only had scan during the 1st visit when i was about 5 - 6 week. other gynaes did urine test to double cfm the pregnancy,too. but my gynae, think he trusted my home test kit result, and save $$ for me, he didn't do.

hi erowen, i had a scan, urine test to chk for protein/sugar, and BP test..all these will do on every visit. No blood test..only later.

mine so far have been v-scans... bcos bb too small at this stage, so won't be able to see from ab-scan. yes, bladder shld be full...it's opposite for v-scans though...

any comments on package costs?

okie...tks for sharing, now i have a better idea...cos i was a bit apprehensive when the gynae only did scans, no urine or blood test.

ixwong, i did both ab scan and a V scan...cos my bladder was too empty. i think u need to drink a lot of water before the visit....

ting ting, i think yrs is all right, cos i just called to check Dr Yvonne Soong's package, hers is $500 consultant and scan and delivery charge is $1000. It seems to varies betw gynae...
Tks for your email ya, i will go check it out.

btw, now i'm feeling very cold and body rather suan. is it normal...

hmm, but my package is $950 and Dr Soong is only $500? seems like a lot of difference...

yah, i also feel cold (thou my fren tells me most preggies feel warm)... beginning to get aches ard bum area...haha...

erowen
I paid $800 package when i first saw Dr Soong at 6 weeks, maybe she scared i'll switch gynaes...
my next appt is tmr morning.
Your quote of $500 will start which week?
normal delivery $1k, C-Section $1.2k-$1.5k

Heard some docs charge $1.4k for normal delivery.

gosh, i puked for the first time just now.. had a lighter than normal b'fast - sausage & bread. Then was queasy the whole time... feel better after puking, but i think stomach is empty. Shucks. Got to eat again... =O

i also feel cold most of the time. even at night, if the wind blows into my house, i will still feel cold. nowadays, i always bring cardigan with me...

aiyo, me kena fever. =(...now feeling wholebody suan suan and my head very dizzy. feel like going home now....btw, can i take panadol..my eyes super hot and heavy now..

hi wendyg,how do you find dr yvonne soong? i'm also considering her...

the packages really differs cos some includes certain test, the one quoted to me were just based on consultations and scan, i heard some include on blood test and some other things.

sigh, now very cold in office, off aircon still cold..

erowen, go see ur com. doc..and must remember to tell the doc tt u r preggie. will prescribe pregnancy-safe medicines for u. Take care!

erowen
regular Panadol is ok.. so are related brands like Panamol.

Dr Soong is friendly & engaging. She looks about 40 & has 2 kids of her own.
For our 1st visit, we arrived at 1.30pm altho our appt was at 2.15pm. We were prepared to wait. On her way out of her clinic for lunch, Dr Soong noticed us & said that she'd better attend to us first, o'wise we'd hv to wait for her to return from her lunchbreak. Such a nice gesture, we saved plenty of time & only paid 1hr for carpark charges.
During the chat, even though we were eating into her lunchbreak, she gave us time to ask qstns, unlike the prev gynae i went who talked non-stop & seemed impatient for us to leave so that she could clear the rest of the queue.
Dr Soong gave me an overview of how often i'd come to see her thru'out the subsequent months, & what tests are scheduled for when etc..
She appreciated that my hubby was with me, & even gave him some airtime to ask qstns..
She's nice lah.. looking fwd to seeing her tmr.

Hi ixwong,

I'm 7 weeks now. Did my 1st scan (it's a v. scan) aroung 5+ weeks and can detect heartbeat already.

Hi erowen,

Teke care. Being preggy, we are more prone to flus too.

Is v. scan painful? how is it done?? I dun remember doing it once even for my 1st pregnancy.

Oh, can I chk something?? Did your gynae advised u all not to take papaya??

eh miso.. it's a bit like penetration lor... hehe...

gynae said can eat almost anything... no particular advice on papaya... but parents say generally avoid "liang" stuff. so far, learnt that shld avoid "del monte" brand-kind of bananas, and kang kong...

ting ting...painful not??

oh..my gynae specifically say not to eat papaya cos it contains sth which will in a way cause miscarriage in early pregnancy. so have been avoiding it since. my first pregnancy, he also advise me on tt. We can only eat when our bb has stabilised..maybe in 2nd tri onwards..

oops, i think i ate it last tuesday and sunday...will take note in future...

not really painful... i think it's reflex action that when something penetrates ur cervix muscles will contract, so initial part a little uncomfortable. but there will be lubrication on the "stick" so it'll be quite ok

seems only my gynae say not to eat papaya leh...so strange hor, a friend of mine took it during 1st trimester too cos she says it's high in folic and also aids in constipation..haiz..anyway, since my gynae advised me not to..then i take it in my 2nd tri la.

so cold today...*freezing*
235918.jpg

miso
not painful.. my gynae put a condom on the stick, followed by plenty of lubricant on top.. she was very gentle & kept telling me it may be uncomfortable.. but i was ok with it lah. No pain at all. Yeah, like what tingting said.. heh heh.
I belong to one of those who didn't flinch during Pap Smear.. very thick skinned =P

No advise on papaya, but some people may be mistaken that too much Vitamin A is harmful to unborn baby. http://www.thenutritionreporter.com/A-vitamins.html

Actually Vitamin A in beta-carotene form is safe.
"Supplements that contain high levels of beta-carotene should not pose a problem with respect to birth defects, nor should high levels of beta-carotene in the diet. We know of no reason for anyone to avoid eating carrots, tomatoes, or other carotene-containing foods, and we know of no adverse effect associated with beta-carotene dietary supplements."

aiyo...really freezing...

ok..me getting ready to go home liao! tonite gotta drive back..and it's raining!!! arrgh!!

anyway,
235922.png
235923.gif

ting2
i thought vaginal scan is very shallow? I don't think she stuck it so far in until i felt discomfort at the cervix...?!