(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

applejuz.. okies.. 2 off days a month, mine also 2-3 off days a month since we don't bring her out with us on weekends. But question is.. with 3 kids, can u afford to let her get off?

ladies ...

thanks!! i am also crossing my finger that it wont last be throughout the whole 40 weeks but in any case its the LAST time for me!! Tot that during confinement drink so much 'bu' #2 not so tough ... still the same

ixwong ...

yap still working for govt - otherwise sure ganna sack one. luckily my boss q understanding (for now lar) =p

re: #1 reaction

now YC simply hates it when ppl tell him that he is going to be gor gor ... cos i think ppl keep telling him that got bb coming so he must be good boy lar etc ... so now he tell me that he dun wan to be gor gor already. then he loves to hit my tummy - and its not even the baby lor ... its my FAT!!!

hi seabreeze,
congrats

Remember to bring a toy to hospital when you deliver. Then when YC came and visit you give him the toy tell him it's from his meimei (u want mei mei right? hehe...). This is the first step to their bonding...

till now my gal still remember her cooking toy is from his brother (although she dun quite know how come the baby brother know how to buy toy haha..)

applejuz,
guess you won't have time to post liao after #3 So better enjoy your freedom and post more often now

Anyone stopping at 2? Don't think i've the energy and resource for #3 leh.

cakey, me....probably will stop at 2! But if got 100% can get a gal dun mind to try. Anyway, my husband already said No No No..Unless strike Toto!

share with ur. Ethan and Nevan..Nevan is 16 mths old..can call ah mah and papa but refused to call mama...

1635588.jpg

1635589.jpg

cakey ...

hmmm actually i dun have preference cos both oso got advantage hahaha cos if boy boy i can save alot of money lor YC got lots of clothes & toys that they can share heehee

yap will think of something to buy for him

that day i was discussing with my hubby on the confinement arrangement cos my mum said tat she cant help me this time as she needs to take care of YC though she offered that she will take care of YC for the whole period i.e YC stay at my mum's place while i do my confinement at my own place - asking my MIL to do the confinement for me etc

think YC overheard then he started to throw things around and walked over to show me an 'angry' face *faint* - never tot he would understand what we were talking abt esp when we speak in mandarine lor

florence - thanks!

wendyg,

I booked Foto-U but chose David Lim as the photographer. Paid $258 but now price increased. I think is $338. 2 hrs shoot+1 Make up+return ALL softcopy with high resolution+3x8R photos. No album. Now Foto-U got offer but dun think David is included. I chose David coz he is the most experienced to handle kids among others from their profile. He hardly got promotion at Foto-U. Need to book him at least 1 mth in advance..

SNG's mummy,
Ya, in fact the main purpose to get a maid is to help my mum on weekdays
& help us on weekends, especially when we go out.
Now sometimes Keyon still wan to carry, or if both #1 & #2 fell asleep, I sure need extra pair of hands.
Anyway, gotta see other terms too
If too expensive & still 2 day-off, then gotta re-consider liao.

Seabreeze,
Remember to buy a toy for him when ur no.2 is born... so gor gor do get some benefits..:p
Keyon wans to be gor gor, BUT he dun wan mei mei anymore, now he wans 'di di'.

YC can understand adult language? now must more careful wat u say in front of him liao.
For me, I'm getting a confinement lady in my own house. My mum will take care of #2, #1 goes CC.

Cakey,
Even now, i oso have less time to post... i can't imagine #3, maybe dun even have time to surf net. :p

Esther,
Nice pix! I also went few months ago, same package as yours but i got 10% disc from BP. :p
I really like those pix... but now, after no.3, think gotta re-take liao.

applejuz ...

yap got to help the di di / mei mei to bribe the gor gor hahahaha in order to enjoy a better life next time.

think he understands what we say though he cant express himself that well. yap nowadays we dun mention abt the baby, even if he wants to sit on my lap, i just tell him that i am not feeling well, dun sit on mummy rather then got bb cant sit.

see if my MIL wants to do confinement for me or not cos my mum say that must ask out of courtesy sake =p see what she says lar ...if she dun wan then i just get a confinement nanny at my own place lor.

my mum will still take care of YC first cos his school is near my mum's place. still thinking wants to put him to full day cc ... maybe after confinement then think abt it. very much depends on my mum

even full day cc oso alot of consideration. to put near my mum's place? my own place or my work place ... think liao oso sianz

Esther, nice pix. I also used David for HW's photo shoot but that was in Dec 06 and it only costs me $188 then. Now he charges $338! So ex. Will have to choose another photographer when my gal's turn is here...

Seabreeze
I also went thru the same deliberation. Full day CC or continue half day with nanny? change cc or keep to original? In the end, we got in a maid, and when my gal is borned, we stopped the nanny's service, extended HW's half day CC to full day Our current arrangement is for my mum (me during ML) to fetch him from cc everyday at 5pm, while maid stay home with baby. This worked out to be the best cos there are more activities to keep HW occupied at CC. Otherwise, he's always asking for computer or TV at home.

haiz... Coz I was preggie on 2006, gave birth 2007. Then wait till Nevan can walk is about this timing. So, by the time I took David's package it alraedy shoot up this amounts.

ixwong, Last time I also got same problem as u. In the end, get a maid. Ethan goes to full day CC and maid is taking care bb at home. Doesn't want both brother seperated at Msia and Sg. Right choice I'd to say coz Ethan very closed to didi. Whenever I said want to give didi to someone. Ethan will cry first...kekekeke But my pocket burn big hole for the expenses.

ixwong ...

guess the most likely situation is for YC to attend full day cc and my mum to take care of #2 but given my current condition will send him to cc during my maternity leave at least i can still send and fetch him. not to forget that by then i have energy to source around for a suitable cc, now very tired from the vomiting ... SIANZ!!

my mum already has her own maid to take care of the household chores so 1 less issue for me to think about =p

Hehe, seabreeze, the maid is more to help me over weekends with 2 kids around than to help my mum during weekdays :p

can I ask how's your kid developing? HW turns 3 today but has yet to start 'serious' verbal communication with us. I'm a bit worried. He can definitely speak cos he can re-enact the TV programs, sing songs, answer questions on objects, etc, but he's still not talking to us on his needs and wants. In school, he's usually the odd one out, walking around as he wish when rest of class is quietly sitting down listening to teacher. I wonder if he's having some behavioural problems?

ixwong ...

but my hubby dun like the idea of maid but guess if things get too tough he might then have 2nd thought lar

re: behavioural in school

maybe it is the nature of the child cos like YC can be q demanding and assertive so def we know his wants but then again it oso means that teacher 'feedback' that he doesn't share toys and even push his frens who are eyeing the same toy as him to get what he wants.

what is the assessment of the teacher on HW?

ixwong
ahhh how "serious" u want the conversation? To be able to discuss the possibility of more gold medals for Sgp? kekekeke. Isaac is v verbal with his wants, for sure! Want to play, want to go downstairs, dowan to bathe, dowan to eat, dowan to sleep, dowan to poo, dowan to go grandma's place blah blah.

is HW toilet trained? If he can't communicate his needs, can he go toilet on his own?

hi ixwong,
So how does HW indicate wat he wants or need if he doesn't tell you verbally? Do you mean he'll ans when you initiate the question but doesn't take initiative to 'strike a conversion'?
Maybe it's his nature that he's not the talkative type?
As for my gal she's very verbal and she sometime talk 'serious conversation'... in fact I think she's too mature for her age. When you ask her not to do or to do something she'll want you to give her reason/explain that.

applejuz,
If your maid is on leave how're you gg to cope? Maybe only when the kids are bigger then can afford to let her go on leave.

cmy,
How do you make yr 2 kids get along so well? I remember both our 2 kids are almost the same age. My gal tell us everyday 'I dun want didi, give away didi'. She thinks he's a pest always disturbing her leh... *sigh*
And the brother eyes her as a 'competitor' for 'sayang'. Will push the sister off whenever the grandma or me is cuddling her to snuggle to be sayang instead.

16 weeks maternity leave! Applejuz will get to enjoy hor!
6 days of childcare leave!
More childcare subsidies & better quality childcare!

more more more

ixwong, hw long HW join CC? Possible need more time as he yet to get use at CC?

Cakey,
Haha...Frankly, I also dun know how to get them along so well. Most of the time is my MIL and maid at home taking care them. Maybe we also seldom scold Ethan especially involved Nevan. We try to seperate them whenever they start to grab toys. Try talk to Ethan instead of scold him. They used to sleep together since Nevan 6mths old. Share in one single bed on the floor. And one thing, maybe Ethan is kind of soft spoken type. He is very "teh" type kid. Will cry easily. I always tell Ethan, want to give away didi to his teacher etc. So that he can behave well. hehehe...

wendyg,
chiong for no.3 ..no.4..kekekeke...

cmy
my baby only 7m old... your Nevan can walk liao ley. Your turn la.
*how come they dun give incentive to tie tubes*

Wow so many people having 2 and 3 haha... Congrats Seabreeze, Vone,Applejuz!!

Ixwong
I think its abit too young to rule behavioural problems. Sometimes, when the teacher to student ratio is big, the child might get bored and wonder off by themselves. Before Anton attends preschool, he will also do that too ( when he was in JG). After he goes to pre-school, I was very concerned that he might disrupt the class by doing other stuff so everytime, I will always do ask the teacher for feedback. But the teacher always said, he is independant,confident and sociable..even bring POLITE cos he always say please and Thank you without prompting...I was like, "Huh?"... Then I realised, they have a very small teacher to student ratio. One teacher to 2 children...of course he doesn't get bored!!Cos they believe in facilitators and not regulators, ( they use the Montessori Method)So its not like one teacher sitting on the chair and all the other kids sit on the floor and teaching the children.Its a very different concept. So maybe you can check out the teaching concepts of the school and how big is the teacher-to-children ratio?

seabreeze
alamak, pls dun suggest this to WKS huh
gynae wun tie my tubes yet coz she deems i'm still young. skali next time when i finally tie, she raise her price. humph!!!!

Thanks for all the inputs.

HW is in CC since Feb 08. As the CC is just a normal HDB type (near my former nanny's place), the teacher and child ratio is 1:10. There's 2 teachers for a class of 19. Triniti, Anton attending which preschool? Eton? The ratio of 1:2 is super low, sure very expensive, rite?

HW expresses his wants/needs by either using either single words (the latest being 'computer') or bringing us to the place (like toilets, TV). He knows how to say "don't want" but used it only when he feels like it when prompted. He's fully toilet-trained.The teacher at CC fedback that HW has improved a lot since he started cc. He now participates in more group activities in school and is putting in effort to catch up on speech, although he can still quite stubborn and insists on his way.

Re 4th month ML
Aiya. I gave birth too early in June. Expect this new measure to apply only to mothers with babies borned after 1 Aug 08.

wow, i thought the thread was getting quiet.. :p congrats to all mummies who're having their #2 and #3!

vone, so will u be celebrating daryl's birthday in school?

hi ixwong,
Since HW is improving that's good right? Just continue to encourage him and talk to him. They may not talk much but they're definitely absorbing.

hi cmy,
How do you make them sleep together without 'kicking', 'crushing' each other?!? I even have to use booster and pillows to protect myself when sleeping with my boy! Your kids really gentle leh..

tingting,

yup. i tink it wld b nice 2 celebrate wif his classmates. nw i m tinking of wat 2 prepare 4 d goodie bag.

Cakey,

haha, They sure will kicking, crushing if sleep together at the same time. My maid will coax Nevan to sleep around 9++pm, whereas Ethan will only sleep around 10++pm. So,they hardly go to bed at the same timing. Unless Ethan wants to disturb didi and will "pretend" wants to sleep. Then I will coax Ethan on our bed then moved him to the single mattress with Didi after deep sleep. I only used boaster and pillow "cover" the corner to prevent them "rolling" over the floor.
At time, they changed position left right. I also dun knw how they make it maybe they did make noise but I was deep sleep. hahaaha..Sound terrible mum right...kekekeke
Anyway, is it possible both of them same gentle hence more easy to handle. Not very sure at this part. 2 boys club mothers any comments? heee...

wendyg ...

think now unless its your #3 or #4 they wont tie for you lor ... think have to be careful until 40yrs old heehee

ixwong ...

then i think HW is doing fine lar maybe his nature if is more gentle ... nothing much to protest abt

yar ... 4ths of ML but these few weeks already killing me liao!!

seabreeze
my aunt-in-law's doc was hesitant to tie her up after she had her 4th kid, she was in mid-thirties. She screamed at him, "For goodness sake, i hv FOUR already la!!!" so for me, wait long long hor...

vone, try not to include sweets, cos Zephan's share will just go into my tummy.. not v good for my weight.. hehe..

ixwong, i think HW will take some time to be more active and interactive. Zephan used to be real quiet until he started CC. Before you know it he's starting to argue/reason things with us liao..

cmy,
Oh i see.. After the kids slept liao you yrself are in deep sleep so can't see what happen... haha..
My gal is gentle but very, very fussy as well, and my boy is rough so they don't get along well

My gal won't even let me fold her book cover-to-cover when reading cos she say i must take care of book! Imagine her horror when the brother just came and crush her favorite book/magazine! Once a serious case, my MIL had to 'iron' the pages of her book straight before she could stop crying.
Cracking my head how to let her accept that didi is still young to take care of things...

cakey
sometimes i'll mock scold didi if he wasn't careful with things, not that i'm expecting him to in the first place la, just to show gorgor that didi also hv to follow some house rules.

wendyg ...

wow your aunt-in-law gynae so 'siao-onz' ar ... actually to me 3 is very good liao but now with this silly vomiting going on ... STOP @ 2!!

wendyg,

yaya, Have to do it in this way too so tat Gor Gor doesn't feel like why always he kena scold. Last time Ethan also refused me to carry didi. Then I carried both at times loh. Just like wonderwoman. Then if kiss will kiss both too. Now Ethan common word to protect didi is "Don't canned didi, he is my Didi" faintz....

wendyg,

yaya, Have to do it in this way too so tat Gor Gor doesn't feel like why always he kena scold. Last time Ethan also refused me to carry didi. Then I carried both at times loh. Just like wonderwoman. Then if kiss will kiss both too. Now Ethan common word to protect didi is "Don't canned didi, he is my Didi" faintz....

tingting,

u r so skinny. u can afford 2 out on some weight.
anyway, i hvn't decide wat i wanna put inside yet. so bad hor... mon is d day oledi, bt i hvn't prepare anything yet.

Thanks mummies. I guess I'll have to be more patient and give him some more time.

Seabreeze
I heard that MS is genetic one. So if your mum suffers real bad MS when she was pregnant, u likely do the same. Rest well...

Vone
I oso started out very gungho, want to prepare cake, balloons, goodies bags. In the end, lazy so end up with cake only.

ixwong,

i m nt so gungho. oni plan 2 prepare cake & goody bag. bt till nw, i still hvn't do anything yet.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Seem like Seabreeze will be in time for the enhanced baby bonus schemes cos it's applicable only to babies borned on or after 1 Jan 2009. However, the freebies are targeted mostly at first time mums this round. Now 1st child also get CDA contribution and Parenthood Tax Rebate. The main benefits for 2nd time mums like us is the extra $150 CC subsidy, 6 days Child Care Leave and extra 10% Working mum tax relief.

http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/MarriageNParenthoodPackage/RaisingNCaringforChildren/

vone, just a simple gift will do. some ideas: notebooks, colouring/craft stuff, stickers.. i had more budget that time cos was sharing with Sarah's mom. oh, here are some pics taken during his birthday:

his class

1652525.jpg

with sarah, the gal with the same birth date as Zephan

1652526.jpg

Daryl, with spiked hair cos they just woke up fr nap.

1652527.jpg

tingting,

tks 4 d ideas. will tink abt it.

wah, look at d look on zephan's face when he's holding sarah. it's so cheeky...
haiz, i tell u, daryl's hair is nt coz he jus woke up. it's coz we cut his hair 2 short d other time. so nw it's growing all over d plc as he's outgrowing it. v ugly nw. bt we can't do anything abt it. oh, u gt 2 email me daryl's pics. i wan 2 keep them. tks in advance.

ixwong
Its not exactly a childcare, it a 3 hour nursery and its called Little Oaks Montessori. Its like 1090 for 10 weeks. I think the price is almost equivalent to Eton house but I am not too sure. They have a 2 year waiting list and I really liked the school because they do not compromise the philiosphy of learning by increasing the teacher-student ratio even though they have a long waiting list.

I really think HW is fine...its just part of his personality. As long he socialises, responds to you ( not succumbs to his own world) I think its perfectly fine. Unless... he shows violent or aggressive behavior constantly, then maybe you might want to take him to a therapist next year?

ixwong
total $300 childcare subsidy... dat's quite good for me.
nvr mention regarding the 4months maternity huh. I hv 3 colleagues who gave birth/ is giving birth this month! Another one due in sept/oct.