(2005/07) Any July 2005 new mums to be?

Ginsengmum

Congrats...nice pic...

Wow, it was like yesterday I heard that you were pregnant and now your prince is here...

Anyone help you with caring of two?Must be very busy...I went through that stage when aedann just born and I never want to look back...I scared....Its more fun when he is into the toddler stage....take care...

Joy,
hehe, ya lor, times flies. Jovan is oso a small bb, onli 2.495kg when born.

Me now still confinement, CL going back on sun liao. then i will be left with 2 kids. when tt time comes hor, then i can see if can cope a not.

Thk gdness, Shanice not showing any signs of jealousy so far, in fact, she loves her little brother.. whew

Hi ginsengmum,

congrats on the arrival of Jovan. Glad to hear that everything is well on ur end. Take care & rest well whenever u can. Cheers

Hi ginsengmum

Congrations!!! Jovan is such a handsome boy

You sure will be able to cope lah. Dun worry

Hi Joyfulstar

Your practical exam coming rite? Anxious or not?;)

I may have plans to be a preschool teacher after I resign from my job. Now seaching for the right course and school to attend.

Joyfulstar, Tomatoes,

Thks for the well wishes.

Tomatoes,
I oso got plans to be preschool teacher when the kids r bigger. But hor, nid to go course 1st.. haiz then another thing, think paywise quite little for preschool teachers, rite?

Ginsengmum,

Yes, it quite "peanuts" but if you love teaching younger kids, why not?

You wait till your kids bigger 1st lah...

hi hi everyone... Happy New Year!

ginsengmum,
wah, your Jovan so cute!!! Shanice is so sweet too, aww, lovely photos!!! Glad to hear you are coping well!

tomatoes,
Giselle can say so many words already? So fast! My hh will mumble-mumble or maybe my ears a bit deaf so I can't make out what he's saying, keke.

I started new job this year, and as a new-comer plus my pc screen facing common corridor - I dare not surf "personal" websites like this one... scared. Now using home pc to surf and feed my deprived "forum addiction" kekeke... miss you all very much...

halo everyone,

Happy New Year!

Yes, i'm finally back from my holidays in NZ...
came back mid last week, so tired and was busy clearing the clothing, etc. and today back to work, hence started clearing emails :p

the trip overall was great, i think the 3 of us had fun (not to mention about the long drive everyday, shops closed on x'mas and new year day, cold amidst the fact that it's summer now, etc.)... it really is a beautiful country... i can understand why some of you go back there 2 or 3 times..

well, although the trip went on fine, but it really was eventful... it all started with Bella having a fever on the day of our flight... we though it's just a minor thing and she usually get well after a few doses of medicine... so we went on with the flight... on the flight, she vomitted about 2 times (both times during while we're landing)... and we had our stroller delayed (it was on a later flight) and hence had to get them to send the stroller to where we're going to stay that night... after picking up the car, Bella threw up again in the car. The 2 of us were already in quite a mess from her 3 times vomitting. After reaching my friend's house, i got my friend to send us to the nearest clinic as Bella's fever hadn't subsided and was quite high, 38+. After a long wait (an hour plus) in the clinic, the nurse told us that she suspected Bella had meningitis and wanted to send us to the hospital at that moment. Can you imagine we were so worried at the time... so, my friend, again, sent us to the hospital... and the receptionist at the hospital was quite good (being a singaporean also), she advised that there will be a charge of NZD360+ upon registration (as we are not locals) and hence asked us if we want to go ahead. she however said she will try to help by getting a nurse to help us check Bella first to see if it is really meningitis and then we can decide to admit her or not... luckily with the various checks, it appears that it might not be meningitis at all... the nurse advised us to wait and see... hence, we went back... Bella's fever kept hovering around 38+ and even went up to 39+... luckily, on the 3rd day morning, her fever went away all of a sudden, and the subsequent days, we found rashes all over her body (Roseola)... but wat a relieve that it's not meningitis after all!

*Phew* such a long note... :p hope i don't bore everyone with this ... hehe...

samval, i can understand why you mention the need to be nearby a hospital when on vacation!

Hi Plim

Welcome back!
Bet both you and hb were very worried about Bella when she was sick on holiday. Did you purchase any travel insurance?

NZ very nice hor, you made me feel like going back again. Hehe!

DId you visit The Deer Park?

hi tomatoes,
yes, you bet, we were so worried and that i wanted to terminate the holiday and come straight back home... luckily it all turned out well in the end... yes, we purchased travel insurance, but dunno if the medical expenses are covered, need to check...

yes, we went deer park, but unfortunately, that day was drizzling and very cloudly, hence we did not get the good view that i was expecting... we also managed to only catch a glimpse of the LOTR filming sites :S

Hi Plim

Bet I will feel that same as you if my girl is sick during holiday... But luckily it is a false alarm by Bella
Your travel insurance should covers the medical part.

Remember to show us some photos when you free

Hi Sp

Din noe you changed job recently, no wonder you so quiet... hehehe. How's hh doing? what is his height now?

Hi Plim

Good to know that bella is well...Maybe it was due to teething or a viral fever kind of thing.Last saturday evening, aedann also starts off with fever and it went up even to 41 degree and kept hovering around 39 to 40...we were worried sick and went to two hospital to seek opinions...Thank goodness, its a viral fever and he is better now....

Really, bringing a kid travelling is no joke, esp when they are unwell...

Glad to know that bella recovered in time and you had a good holiday...For me, I am still asking myself, will aedann be ready to fly again in March....

joy747,
oh gosh, hope aedann is feeling much better now?
I'm sure by Mar, he shld be more 'ready' to travel

don't know why they keep having fever so frequently nowadays, just yesterday Bella came down with a fever again, ard 38 degrees... not sure if it's due to the 18-mth jab on Sat, but doc say chances of fever is 5% only... well, hope it's nothing alarming...

tomatoes, great to hear that your girl is speaking 2-syllabus already
so fast huh... it must be exciting hearing them say more words...

sp, how's your new job? new year new job... hehe... i understand how it feels not being able to surf net as frequent as before...

ginsengmum, congrats on the arrival of your baby boy

Hi Plim

Thanks for concern, his fever is around 37 to 37.5 now...but under medication. I heard its partly due to teething and of course cum viral. He is running soft stool. Just last few nights, while he was sleeping, he can poo twice through the night....poor thing...lost quite a bit of weight....

Honestly, I might just forgo my last year ticket as sad to see him struggling in the airplane and I will not enjoy myself too, plus older one also has piano exam in march...will see how.

Hi Mummy...

Can anyone advise me....

My daughter is having cough, she lost her appetite in food and milk. Hense I give her Honey water,(Since she is willing to drink Honey water) In order to feed her medicine. Does anyone know if honey water caused more cough ?

hi plim,
glad to hear your NZ trip was fun though a bit "too eventful" in the beginning when Bella had fever.

hi tomatoes,
I don't know hh's height. He's very naughty but it's really fun to see him learn to do more things and express himself, hee.

what is the jab that 18 mths old must take? I'm very blur abt such things...

joy747,
go lah go lah, aedann is definately READY to fly! it's too wasted to forfeit your entitlement, yr hb worked very hard to earn it one leh... hee...

happy,
how's yr girl? not too sure abt honey & cough, hope someone else will give u some tips...

Hi Mums

Good morning...

Plim
How is princess bella ,hope she is fine...

SP
How is new job?and how is your precious HH?
Entitlement wasted??Scared to fly with this boy, he will jump and jump on your when you refused to let him move around the aircraft...can die one you know..will see how it goes..still has got almost two months to decide.

Aedann progress
He does not really want to talk but understand everything we said.

Happy
I believe in sending kids to chinese doctor when cough concern. They have the medicine that helps to melt down the phlegm quite effectively.

thanks sp and joy.

Cos we are currently in malaysia thus i got no help from our regular doctor. My daughter is still coughing..sign. Pray she recovered soon.

thanks again

hi sp, yeah, and hope you can come to SGP soon

hi joy747, Bella still sick (since last wednesday) when she developed fever... brought her to doc on fri and doc said she is having viral fever, coupled with sore throat, cough, flu, everything :s so the past few days was a torture for her, take so many kinds of medicine.. i scared those medicine take too much no good...

anyway, i can understand why you scared to bring Aedann on plane ... hehe...

regarding Bella's speech, same thing, she doesn't want to talk too... dunno i too slow to know what is she 'talking' to me about, but i really catch no ball... but so far, she has been able to understand everything we say...

happy,
sorry, not able to help out here too but my girl also having cough with phlegm ... she's taking the western medicine from doctor only...

Plim
Aedann has just recovered from his viral fever cum stomach flu, after a week of suffering....I know how is it like when a kid down with fever ,flu and cough...and has to gulp down so many medicine at one time...

For me, when aedann is down with cough, I usually feed him with chinese powder medicine from the physician and he is more willing to take it than liquid. I prefer chinese med for cough and flu as western medicine only stop it temporarly and whole feet or body usually turned quite cold after taking it.Hope bella recovered soon....

Yah man, you know how it is like when go on flight...I still quite scared as he is one boy that will never allow to catch still...wild boy

Hi Plim & Joy747

My gal also down with viral infection for the past week. I took her for booster jab on Mon. Then the fever came that nite and refused to go away completely. I called her pd on thu and he said should not due to the jab... then confirm she has viral infection with sore throat and redness in her ear... given lotsa medicine including antibiotics...

Who knows she began to have swollen gums and refused to take much milk and non of her porridge... I am at a loss too. Worst of all, she doesn't even want water... Can feel her body is super heaty lor...

Then I noticed she has bacteria rash (due to her dirty fingers) on her chin area... haiz...

tomatoes

I hope your gal is better now....So fast finished all her jabs?Aedann still yet to take his mmr and I am trying to delay it as he has not been very well....

Any idea mmr jab from poly clinic is jab only on hand?I heard my friends told me is not on thigh...is it true?Thanks

Aedann still has a bit of loose poo on and off...some say its still to teething.Not sure how true.

Hi Joy,

Kynan just went ofr his mmr if thats the 18 mth jab...it's on his left thigh.... but he ran a slight fever though all his previous jab were okay.

tomatoes, hope Giselle is feeling better now? It's really tough on parents and the kids when the kids are unwell..

joy747, my gal also had finished all her jab, all the way up to the 18-mth one... she had her mmr on the thigh (by PD) and weird thing is tat most of the jab even doctor say very less chance of fever, she will still have that fever, whereas for mmr, she did not have any fever at all...

Plim
I hope aedann is like your gal. He had fever for all his jabs....

Heard poly clinic jab on the hand even though its FOC for mmr.

joy747, tx for the HK weather info.... the weather was cooling.

ginsengmum, congrats on your new bundle of joy!

plim, glad to hear your NZ hols was great afterall.

re: MMR jab
PD said it should not have any side effects, ie fever. raeyen will have his b4 CNY.

this 2 wks hubby & kids were unwell. while the kids hv recovered, hubby is still coughing badly. i felt groggy last nite & this morning, doc said I was coming down with flu soon, but no MC given, hence am still slogging @ work now.

hope everyone gets well fast!

http://momtoangels.blogspot.com

My girl's booster jab was on her right thigh. She basically has recovered but her gum still has infection... Today has brought her to pd for a review. Swollen gums which means she still doesn not want solid food... even porridge... Weight lost again....

Just 2 days ago, I heard from my neighbour that her boy has fell ill like my gal after 18mth jab... dunno it's coincidental or not... just got a feeling that her sickness is caused by the jab even b4 my neighbour told me.

bichon, same here, my gal was sick then i think she passed the germs on to us, then me and my hubby was sick... now we recovering also... i think the flu bug might take one or two days to come full-blown, take care of yourself meantime...

tomatoes, actually come to think about it, after Bella's 18-mth jab on a sat, she sort of like started having fever on the following wed, following all the running nose, cough, all the flu-sympthoms... u think it's linked to the jab? i keep thinking cannot be leh...

Plim and tomatoes

I guess its during this time that they are teething and already run with a low immunity, with the jab, maybe the body is not so strong like before teething...thus causing the fever...

Hi Joy747,

I think you are right also... my mum kept saying they are teething...

But hor, cannot be leh, last time she teething also never got fever b4...

Hi Plim

I also try to convince myself that it should not be due to the jab... cos everyone also take the same jab mah....

But I din bring her anywhere b4 the jab and after the jab... also dunno why she kenna all these infection.

Is Bella totally recovered now? I really got sick of feeding her the medicine (especially the antibiotic), let alone she's the one taking it... Just think that antibiotic is doing her more harm than good. Anyway, she is now taking the last dosage.. Just hope she never have to take antibiotic again.

For her bacteria rash on her chin, her pd said will take about 10-14days for it to completely heal. If it spread to her body, she may need to take antibiotic again... wah liao..me really praying hard now.

Tomatoes

Think this time round, its the major teeth eruption, so really feel uncomfortable...saying all this cos my yi si told me so

Mummies... my boy took his MMR just 2 weeks ago. I don't think the jab causes the flu. My boy came down with flu one week before the jab and after the jab... he was ok.

At this stage... the tods should be having their molars cutting through. It is definitely more uncomfy than before. My boy usually runs a slight fever due to molar.

long time nv post anything here :p

Re.MMR
my gal took her mmr together with the chix pox vaccine last mth.PD mentioned that fever will only come after 10days or so...and true enough so suay she really run a low grade fever and it lasted 2days.oh another thing, the jab was done on her arm.
Actually all injections will cause fever but it will definitely not be those high fever (dats wat my PD told me)and also depend on individual.. some might develop some might not..but my gal always the suay one cos always kena after jab...

Her last booster jab was done last week together with her flu vaccine.

Hope all the babies here get well soon

Hi Joy747

Maybe you are rite... the molar is the last stage for teething liao...

Today is the 3rd day I sent her to half day childcare... 1st 2 days I accompanied her but today, I just dump her there and said bye bye.. She wailed initially but overall teacher said she quite cooperative and can take instructions when I am not around... Kids are very smart... they always know how to bully their parents.

halo mummies, good morning...
it's been rather quiet here these 2 weeks leh... how's everyone? Tot i'd just drop a note to say 'hi' to all

tomatoes, din c u at BusyBuddies last sat...

Hi Plim

My mum fell and fractured her wrist... Sent her to A&E, so no time to go...

Luckily I started my girl on childcare liao.. If not, I dunno how to take care of her cos I can't take leave.

tomatoes, i see... hope ur mum is feeling better now...

how's ur girl doing at childcare now? must be convenient for u, now that u place her at a childcare near ur workplace so u can send her when u go to work and pick her up when u're off work

She still cries when I say bye bye to her... But after awhile she will stop... I am fang xin as she can sleep and eat there without any blues... Tell you funny thing, last week, the teacher told me her water bottle gave her a sense of security at the school when I not there... She must hold her water bottle even when she nap... But last fri, the teacher there began to take away her bottle... She cries a little but later forget about it liao...

i'm sure she'll slowly get used to it like all kids do... i used to work (during school holidays) in a childcare center as assistant and kids who used to cry in the begining normally get used to it in 1 or 2 weeks...

mummies, just want to find out how much milk are you still giving ur toddlers now? and are they taking 3 meals (solid food) a day?

Plim, I hope she will get used to her school fast.

Re:Solid Food & Milk

Nowadays, after my girl wakes up, I will give her milk straightaway, after awhile maybe some cheerios or bread. Lunch & Dinner will be solid food. Milk intake in total is 3 times a day at 240ml per time.

How about Bella?

Bella still has milk 4 times a day, and each time around 180ml... weekdays, she will hv porridge 2 times a day, normally morning and afternoon...
on weekends all her schedule changes cos of us lor, we bring her out, etc. and hence she will eat what we eat... sometimes only 1 solid meal a day...
i tend to find that she's still depending a lot on her milk (she still loves her milk) and wondering if i shld give her more solid food or not... but feeling is that she is not that keen on solid food (her own) apart from what we adults eat...

oh, how much solid food is considered a meal for them ah? e.g. rice... how many tablespoons?

Plim, what's Bella's weight now? When I saw Bella 2 weeks ago, I find that she has slimmed down a lot... Probably also becos she has grown taller.

From wat you have described, I find that Bella is too much dependent on milk liao.. You must encourage her to eat more solid food as at our kids stage, main nutrition should comes from solid food. Milk is only something like as a supplement. You should try to cut down on her milk intake.

Normally my girl takes about 1 full bowl of porridge or mee sua ( rice bowl) for 1 meal. Now her school has trained her to take rice wif dishes (she hated rice b4 that).

Hmm, Bella's weight is around 9.5 to 9.9... and i think when u saw her and find that she has slimmed down, it was probably the weeks before that when she was down with fever and all the flu symptoms... i also find her a bit thin... but also, i think she has grown taller... she was about 83cm on the last doctor visit early this month, but just 1 or 2 wks ago when we measured her again, she seemed to have gained another 0.5 or 1cm...

yalor, i think u're right, milk is more of supplement for her now, but i find she's very picky about her food... she will refuse to take anything 'alien'... :S ... i don't think she will like mee-sua also... i'm also very scared to feed her too much cos for things she likes she will eat and eat and eat non-stop ... sigh...

Ya, I think her height made her look slimmer.. My girl is really petite lor.. sometimes I hope she can grower taller and gain more weight.

If Bella can eat, let her eat lah... she can afford to gain weight.. most worrying is our kids doesn't eat like when they are sick.. then we really headache liao.

Gals, if you all know of any good orthopaedic specialist, pls let me know. I urgently looking for 1 for my mum. Thanks!

I think gals are usually more picky on food...Aedann also looks a bit skinny though he is a bout 12.5kg, height around 87cm

I will let him eat but not overeat as I worried indigestion and tummy got bloated

tomatoes, sorry, i do not know of any... fracture different from sprain right?

joy747, yalor, my mother always say don't stuff her as she will get sick (indigestion)... her tummy gets bloated after eating too much food... that's why i dun dare to feed her too much also :p

Hi, hope all's well!

Joy747, Aedann has good weight & height. Raeyen weighed 11kg & 86cm tall @ 18 months.

He drinks 3-4 times of 180ml milk, breakfast cereal and porridge for lunch & dinner.

CNY is near & I've yet to change new notes

http://momtoangels.blogspot.com