(2005/07) Any July 2005 new mums to be?

Hi Bichon,

I'm flying on Tiger too.. The flight time really puts me off though. Hiaz... Hopefully, my girl will be ok on the plane ride.

The last time we brought her to Hong Kong, she was ok on the flight there as she was sleeping. But flight back was bad... crying and all... hiaz..

Any good food recommendations? How's the hygiene there?

I am back from my trip and reached Spore this morning at 12am....so tired.....

Nat enjoyed herself in the Disney and I think she behave herself except for a few occasion lor......overall still ok........but think HK not baby friendly lor...........have to walk n walk and worst still we have to carry the pram n baby up n down the steps when taking MTR.........very siong.....food wise still ok.....but pple wise they not so friendly lor.........they are like rushing all the time.....

will post the pics when I am free.......

Hi Bleuz

Yeah, the outgoing flight is v early! What we did was the night b4 flight, we dressed the kids in the clothes for next morning to save the hassle & time fr changing, etc.

Kieran slept alot during our flight to/fr Perth 3yrs ago & he was a splendid bb. See his pix taken with me & my nephew in Oct 03 when he was 14mths, Perth Tree Top Walk:

607333.jpg
http://momtoangels.blogspot.com

Hi NatMummy

Welcome home!

Yeah, HK is ultra bb & kid-unfriendly. But I'm impressed with their airport toilet - even the cubicle has a slot to place bb in so mommy can "relieve" in peace.

Sorry Bleuz, I forgot to recommend the food part.

Food is great & cheap ... Diary Queen & Swensen are v cheap there. U read my blog entry re my Chiangmai trip? We went for the Khantoke dinner @ Khun Khantoke - it's v nice as we sat & ate under the stars & it was breezy!!! Each adult paid abt S$20+ inclusive of 2-way transfers.

Hi Bichon

You reminded me of my perth trip when deanna was 11mths old.She was like kieran, very good, seasonal traveller...Now, come to aedann...I am crossing my fingers....not sure how he would be like....

Sure, will keep you update what happened to my hk trip.

Now, still staring at the luggage , already feel so stress up, not knowing where to start....

bichon,
thanks so much for sharing the beautiful photos and the travel tips! Raeyen got such big beautiful eyes, heeheehee...

joy747,
u'll hv a good time in HKG, just enjoy yourself ya! when r u going and when will u be back?

natmummy,
yay, u r back! thanks for the quick update, hope u get lots of rest and recover your energy, then come back here post many many photos for us to see, hee... can't wait to see yr lovely Nat in HKG...

joy747,
don't stress don't stress, keke. just put in the diapers, clothes, towels, snacks - the rest of the last min things leave till Sunday nite, hee...

always remember the most important things are the passports and money, all other things money can buy, forgot also not critical... enjoy yr weekend!!!

Thanks sp and bichon...the thought of having not packed also stressed...see something undone and yet I am sooooo lazy....

Even for myself, I do not even what to pack for myself...sigh...see. long time no travel and end up so indecisive...

hi, good to hear that all of you are enjoying your trips with your tods

joy747, i share the same feeling as you now... sigh... we're (with Bella) going NZ next sunday for 2+ wks and we have yet to pack anything! It's really our first 'major' trip overseas with Bella and i really do not know what to anticipate in the trip... so many things to headache over... sleeping times lah, eating lah, adaptibility to the environment there...

already got a list of things of what to pack listed out liao... but really, i'm SOOOOO lazy to pack anything right now... always leave to last minute
.... sigh... hopefully i get some momentum to start some packing this weekend... :p

Joy

No need to bring too thick clothing the weather in HK is cooling not too cold...let ur kids wear long sleeve shirt n pants will do.....bring enuff food stuffs like snacks for the kids.....remember milk powder too.....water can be easily taken from resturant........dun worry.....its very tiring but if u goin FNE shd be ok cos u can pace it urself.......

I agree with NatMummy, it's better to go F&E if travelling with kids - less stressful.

Wow plim, so nice to go NZ ... gg to see sights where LOTR was filmed? My dream is to go NZ to watch live rugby game by the All Blacks and witness them doing the Hakka (warrior) dance b4 the game starts!

Joy747, if u like Crocs shoes, HK is cheaper. Muz also eat their desserts at any "Hoi Lau San" shop, it's easily found on the streets. The mango dessert is to die-for man.

Hi bichon and natmummy

Thanks for all info....

Plim...at least I know I am normal liao...heeee.You have a good trip and do tell us your venture....I still dare not bring the prince to that far as yet...test water for now...then can decide next march bring him to perth or not....

bichon,
have too many places to go so mayb will only go Hobitton town in LOTR... hehe, so when are you planning to go NZ?

Joy747,
ya, it's really an adventure for our family... really scared she cannot tahan the plane ride... but have been planning for so long to go since 4 yrs ago... so now finally made up our minds to go... will tell you all about our adventure

Plim

Any other people going with you?More people will have more help and less stress...

I guess just go there with an open mind and you will enjoy yourself...that was what my friend told me when she brought her kids to Rome lately....

Went hk many times, I just bochap, but this time round with baby around, I tend to study a bit more on the area that I am staying in...and find out more and also the trip is a quick one too.

joy747,
we tried to 'jio' more pple to go, but all not free, so decided to go on our own... i guess shld be ok lah... cos we also bring her out whole day on weekends sometimes... so just treat it like the same lor... just need to find things to keep her occupied during car ride....

bichon, yes, we'll be going NZ on self-drive (F&E)... so hopefully it will be easier to manage since it's our own time ...

plim

how much u hv to pay for this NZ trip & how do u plan your itinerary? u made me so tempted to go too. u gg to christchuch or auckland? i checked SQ flight, cheapest is already S$900/ticket. i heard so much abt how beautiful NZ is, esp farmstay is fun for kids.

Hi Plim

You sure will enjoy your NZ trip. I have been to south twice and north once. If you go Queenstown, dun forget to visit "Deer Park Heights" where you will see many animals roaming around the hill as you drive up. They are not wild but own by someone. Once you reach the top of the hill, you get real beautiful scenary of Queenstown. I dunno if part of LOTR was filmed there also....

Oh, how I miss NZ now....

bichon,
sad to say, our air tickets are not cheap... and it was rather hard to get tickets when we tried to book (during the recent NATAS fair)... managed to grab the 'last 2 seats'... costs about $1100 (excl. taxes) for each of us and it's on Qantas so have to change plane at Brisbane/Sydney... but i wanted so much to go, scared later on dun hv the time to go...
We're going to North first, then all the way down to South island... ambitious hor? that's why we might only cover some areas (next time can go back :p )
For farmstay, dun hv much time, but hv plans to let Bella enjoy 'farm life' by going to Agrodome where they hv similar to farm life activities just that you don't stay over night there...

tomatoes, looks like you like NZ

yes, i have planned to visit The Deer Park, don't know if that is the same as what you mentioned? i think part of LOTR was filmed there...

Hi Plim

Yes, that's the one... I think they have changed their name to 'The Deer Park'. Last time when I went there, this attraction is still not popular as nobody noes where is it exactly. It was a jewel undiscovered then.... The view from there is just amazing. Since you going with Bella, best is not to alight from the car when there are animals around... They can be quite hungry coming to you, thinking you have food for them. Last time, when me and my friends, alighted, one deer actually boarded into our car and we had a hard time getting him out. hahaha

plim, really ambitious leh. enjoy the fun then, i shall work my sums and see if it's possible to go with our 2 boys!

tomatoes, wow u've been NZ 3 times already, how nice. i heard fr many ppl who've been to NZ once, and they vowed to return. it sure is an ultra beautiful place!

hi mothers,
sorry me MIA for quite a while. actually was thinking of taking the kids on holiday but very scared cos last time went to penang to visit my grandma my baby fell sick and ended up in hosp lor. then just last month i only took my elder gal to genting but i called back and my mom (she's taking care of my younger one) said that baby is sick with croup. lucky din bring her to genting or else we will be busy looking for hospitals. can i check with u, do we need to standby some emergency plan when we travel to a different country? e.g. if we make a trip to australia, shld we also stay somewhere that medical amenities are easily available just in case (touchwood)?

dear sp,
which part of kl are you in?

hi, samval,
I'm living with my in-laws near the Batu Caves temple. Sorry to hear that your last 2 holidays was "eventful" but glad everything worked out well. Are you thinking of Australia for your next holiday?

Last weekend just went to Penang, ate like crazy, shiok...

bichon, tomatoes, plim,
re: NZ
wow, u all know NZ so well! hb & I went there for a short hol after our ROM, we loved Christchurch and Queenstown very much indeed.

plim is now enjoying herself in NZ, hee...

joy747,
how's yr HKG trip? update and photos pls... hee...

hi sp,
oh near batu caves temple? that's nice..i stayed in kl for 20 years before moving back here in 1997. my mum is actually from penang so we always go back there to visit grandma. was thinking of going to australia sometimes mid next year during sch holidays. so really need to get whatever access we can like hotels near hosp, near airport etc etc.

u planning a trip to s'pore any time in the near future? btw how many kids u have? sorry i lazy to scroll and read all the past postings

hi samval, this is the 1st time i'm communicating with u .. sorry to hear abt ur kids falling ill while on hol.

touchwood, i didnt plan anything for emergency when on hol with kids, only bring their usual cough/flu medications. i was in perth when older son was 14mths, he had fever and took brufen and was ok the next day.

sp, i only know NZ well thru hearsay fr those who've been there "oh-so-many-times". i wish i've the chance to go there. i went penang b4 kids came along, yes food was really great!

joy747, how's weather in HK? i'm gg there 9-12 Jan for meeting, will miss the boys again!

hi, bichon,
I'm sure u'll be able to visit NZ one of these days, just need to plan, kekeke...

shiok, u going HK for biz trip! the only thing is miss kids ya... but only a few days, time will fly while u r busy there.

hi, samval,
living 20 yrs in KL is a very long time indeed! do u find KL a bit "messy" compared to S'pore? hehehe...

which part of Australia are you thinking of visiting? I love Melbourne the most...
kao_love.gif

I'm also hoping to be able to visit S'pore next year, hopefully during the GSS, then can hv excuse to shop more, wuahaha... I only got 1 son, still phobia to even think of another one, kekekek...

hi bichon,
thanks. guess i have this feeling of "once bitten twice shy" so really need to plan well for all accessible amenities next time when on hol again. saw ur pics above. your boys are cute!
so u travelling again huh? must be tough being away from the family. but think of the $$$ for our kids future and that will give some motivation i guess...

hi sp,
yeah 20 years is super long manz. yup kl is a bit messy compared to s'pore. but the food at certain places are good. and i love the food in penang too! may be going there this cny to visit grandma again. not confirm yet. was planning to visit melbourne cos my aunty lives there. actually i got aunties living in uk, aust, penang, canada and usa. so if visit them can save on hotel $$$ liao
but my aunt who's in melbourne lives near the countryside so super far away from the city. so maybe have to go hotel hunting lor... think i a bit kiasu abt having a hosp nearby. ppl think i siao go hol look for hosp! but scared lah aft what happen the last time lor. yeah hope u can visit s'pore soon. do let us know and maybe we can all meet for lunch and shopping with the kids.

natmummy,
hope to see u during next year's GSS in S'pore! we can go shopping together, kekeke...

samval,
wow, yr aunties have gone "international" kekeke! it's true lor, u'll save a lot if u can stay with your aunties overseas as hotel stays are not cheap.

actually when is GSS ah? is it end of June till end of July? hope to meet u and yr kids too! maybe can hv a playdate and all of us here can meet up! by that time our kids are 2 already, hmm, will they "terrible twos" or not ah? I dare not travel with monster leh, kekeke......

natmummy,
now we busy with our new hse, still trying to get it ready to move in asap.

then next yr I changing job, can't take leave till after confirmation, that's why target July '07 to visit s'pore lor, hopefully by then confirmed already lah, kekeke.

Me already back from hk

Bichon
I will update you the weather in a later date as hubby will be there on 13 Jan.There is a delayed winter this year so I am able to walk around with T shirt but most of people there wanna look pretty so put on thick clothing but I know its very hot.

Sp
One of the mummy helps to crop some photos...will upload it here...

Natmummy
Thanks for tips before I went hk...Not as bad as what I have thought...but, aedann did not take landing well....air pressure...he cannot sit still unlike nat....scared of him already....
622202.jpg
622203.jpg

Joy

Welcum back.......so u enjoyed urself????So wat happen when the plane is landing???he cry???

Did u bring pram??? not convenient rite??

joy747,
welcome back! how's the shopping in HK? keke...

Aedann looks really charming and happy! Deanna too... she's so sweet posing next to her little bro. She looks very grown up, she's 4 or 5 already?

Natmummy and sp

Thanks....Its a short trip...a holiday more for deanna than aedann.
He could not take the air pressure so he cried for both landings...We did bring a pramp...its quite okay as we do not really move around much but just within the hotel which is connected to the mega mall...

Deanna will be 8 years end Nov next year.

Joy

Aedann cannot take the air pressure???did u let him drink his milk??or water???very paisei liao when he cry non stop..my Nat also cry when we landing HK.......but not cos of the air pressure but cos she wants her ah ma.........hehe......when we cme back spore.......my hubby keep pressing her nose to make her blow out thru her ears......she is ok I think cos she didnt cry then.....think must be the ah ma not the air pressure that makes her cry......so paisei the whole plane only her cry.......

hi joy747

welcome back! wow ur kids r good looking. muz b tiring for u. i can imagine the cries caused by the air pressure which raeyen experienced too when we went krabi & chiangmai.

i'll be in HK on 9 Jan, so will be earlier than ur hubby, heehee. my rtn flight is 12/1 though.

Hi Bichon
Thanks for compliments...same goes for your two lovely boys....
Hubby will also be flying to HK on 3.1.07, so I still can update you on the actual weather.

Natmummy
Aedann was sleeping half way while landing singapore, I think he got a fright cum the pressure thus screaming his head off for the last 15mins and due to aircraft vector takes very long and make matter worst....Daddy was even told by one ang mo to ask him to shut up....

We did try to give him water or milk, he just refused everything...He is one that doesn;t like to drink water when he is out....stubborn boy...

Joy

wow that ang mois so rude......bet he dun have any kids.....kids are like that one wat.......luckily I dun have such pple on the plane...den wat ur hubby say to him???

MERRY CHRISTMAS everyone!

Joy747

I think that angmo is insensitive & rude. I would give him a piece of my mind. %&^#*^@#%@%@#

Your hubby is very good-natured. My hubby always said bringing the kids on plane is a challenge (er, in a negative way).

Joy

I told my hubby abt this and asked him wat will he do if this ang mo approached him.....he said he will reply....Y not u try to make this kid shut up.....

haha.....

Hi Bichon and Natmummy

My hubby is the type that think very much for others tho of few words...Last week, I took MRT to town cos princess want to sit train. I saw many typical singaporeans rushing for the seats right infront of me, and I just smiled but feel that its kind of ungraceful gesture...Share my view with hubby and guess what....he said that am spoilt and ought to be more tolerant with others....Probably he has his own way of interpreting the way my thought is....

Bichon

Has your new maid arrived?I feel for kieran when I read "can ka ka stayed"Wonder will deanna feel such way when my maid leave Jan 2008.Your hubby is indeed great to make such arrangment.

Your life must be very hectic having to cope with travelling so often and taking care of two kids...

Happy New Year to all!

Wah, our thread really very slow leh.. Ok, let me start the ball rolling....

I will be starting my girl on half day childcare near my office towards the last week of Jan.. Dunno what to expect.. Will be taking leave to accompany her then.

Recently my girl has started to say many words (I believe all the princes and princesses here also) like 'HAPPY', 'Apple' - bascially 2-syllabus words.... Really love to hear them.

Tomatoes
Agreed, everyone is so quiet here...Happy New Year to all...

Bichon
Hubby got back from HK last evening..weather around 20 degree, rainy and foggy....Have a good trip.

Hi Hi everyone,

How's everyone getting on?

Wishing everyone a happy 2007!

Btw, i've given birth to my little prince, Jovan on 9th Dec, another 36 weeker. Keke, time flies he is turning 1 mth old soon.

Here's some photos of Shanice & him..

636335.jpg
636336.jpg