(2005/07) Any July 2005 new mums to be?

hi, coffeedrinker,
my hh's skin is not sensitive, so we let him use any brand body wash, such as Pureen, Anakku, all ok.

sp, thanks... Bella's knee is much better liao... the skin sort of like form back liao (just a layer, the hard brown casing not formed yet

coffeedrinker, my gal has been using mustela bathing liquid... i use it for both head and body... am using that as a follow-on from the baby bath milk used when she was a baby... but am sure looking for more recommendations from other mummies...

Hi SP,
Thanks for the Welcome.

Hi Coffeedrinker,
My boy and gal is also using Johnson top to toe since birth, not a problem for boys as they have short hair but my gal hair look a bit frizzy using it so am also looking around for good ones for hair, any good recommendation mummies ?

plim

Oh no....poor Bella..hope she is ok now.......

As for walking Nat is very stable when she is 14 mths.......she can run ard n chase older kids..when we go shopping she will just run ard lor.....must chase after her cos alot of pple lor......

But Nat is slow in her speech.....not much progress now.....just the same few words.......

Plim

Bella should be well now....right...

For my boy, yesterday, he dash to daddy and bang into the metal part of the chair and blue black....At night, he was playing with a toy and corner of it hit onto his lower eye lid and now so red, as if something bite on it....sigh,.....tonight, he supposed to visit relative for the first time some more...think will not bring him...

Any mum here got any idea how to reduce the redness?Thanks

natmummy, joy747, yes, her wound more or less ok liao... thanks for asking...

in fact, she did something quite funny with regards to her wound... when i try to go near her wound, i.e. her knee, she would shake her head like don't want me to go hear... and would use her pants (she sometimes wear 3/4 pants at home) and try to cover up her knee whenever she is sitting... hehehe...

joy747, oh no, is your boy ok already? hope the redness has subsided? it's so near the eye, mayb using ice will help a little?

natmummy, think bella can walk pretty well, just that i find her very clumsy and careless, will always fall down one... and her speech like Nat, not much progress, she's still doing a lot of baby talk, a lot of the times i dun understand what she say...

Plim

Thanks for concern, he is much better now...

Plim. I think belle is progressing in speech, its just that you might not understand her lingo....

My son likes to parrot...that is follow the last few words that you said...unlike his sis. He will follow and say GOD BLESS YOU....when you said that after sneezing ...he will repeat after you when you tell him fall down, as in fall down....and ask what is this...though not very clear at times....

joy747, i think you might be right... Bella does 'speak' a lot! all in her own language... haha... she will take my mobile phone / house phone and start 'talking'/playing with it for as long as 15 mins... she will not 'say' or 'repeat' anything like what your boy does, but will sometimes listen intently on what you say, especially when it comes out a different tone...

Hi Plim & joy747

Seem like all the kids like to talk at this stage... mine too. She like to talk in her own language... talk and talk but I dunnoe what she is talking about. haha.

Re:GUG
Have any mummies here tried GUG lesson b4? I have enrolled my girl for a trial next Thu. Hope it is good lor

Kellis lurfs to talk too... she can go on and on and on.... you get the idea...

Hi Tomatoes,

I'd be bringing princess to GUG too, but it'll be on Sun though. Heard that they're pretty good with their zoophonics.

Shanice oso can rattle on & on, sometimes can understand a bit, sometimes totally lost track. Haha. but she can sign a few basic sign like eat, milk, dog, etc.. so still ok lah. can understand more lor.

Tomatoes & Bluez,
Shanice went to GUG when she was younger, like 8 mths. She's there for abt 2 term. Zoophonics there ok lah.. but i find hor, can teach myself at home lor. I bought the zoophonics card. now tt shanice dun attend anymore enrichment class, i teaches her tt at home lor. Of coz not as gd as the teachers lah, but then i guess still better than nothing. Keke

Hi bleuz & ginsengmum

It's very cute looking at how our kids talk hor?

Bleuz, you be bringing kellis to GUG too?
Too bad that our classes are on different day, if not can meet up with you

Ginsengmum, my gal is into signing times too since about 7months... now she can sign many things too. Really a communication too.

Actually I also dunno what is zoophonics... must go to the GUG to see what it is actually about.

Tomatoes,
Ya lor. its very very cute looking at them tok, esp heart warming when they call Mum..

really ah, ur ger oso watching signing times? actually its really gd hor, can understand what they want.

Hi Tomatoes & Ginsengmum,

Yeah. Kellis is a signing baby too. It's really good for this stage whereby they want to communicate their wants but can't speak. =)

Tomatoes, yalor.. different days, if not can meet up with your princess too. =p

Ginsengmum

Yes, I like it when my girl calls me. But hor, she very cheeky, she will only call me if I offer her Pocky sticks (without chocolate type). She will call me "Ma4-Ma4".

Bleuz,
ST is really a good communication tools. Do you know the girl, Leah, in the show is Rachel's daughter? She is discovered deaf when she was a year old. So poor thing hor? She look so pretty and sweet.

Tomatoes,

Yah. Leah is really sweet. Sorry ah, me very forgetful. You working PT now or SAHM already?

I so wish I could be SAHM... hiaz....

Bleuz,

Me PT now... working every morning on weekdays.... Should be FT SAHM next Apr. Hopefully no other changes ;)

Bluez,
Wah Kellis is a signing baby too? So many signing babies.. keke would be fun to see them sign to ea other

Tomatoes,
Hmm, my ger sometimes happi happi she will call ma1. She will call pa2 more often though, maybe coz hb goes to work while she sees me 24hrs. So usually when she wake up, she will ask me where is daddy.. then at other times oso, she will look for him. But when comes to want something, she still will look for me. very practical girl.

So u've decide to be a FT SAHM ah? Tt's gd
then got chance must meet up with u..

ginsengmum,

my gal like urs also... look for him sometimes for play and when want something will come look for me... and when desperate will call me and not very clear also...

by the way, i see you all mentioned about signing times... what is it ah? is it a video to learn about signing? is it too late if they start to learn now?

Ginsengmum,

Yeh, must meet up with you one day
but I guess you will be busier after your No2 arrives.

My girl sometimes will confuse between Por Por (my mother), ma-ma and Dad-dy. She doesn't like to call Pa, she prefers to call "Daddy" which I find funny as "Daddy" is more difficult to pronounced.

Yesterday I asked her to call me, she said "duck". I nearly fainted.

Hi Plim

Actually not too late to learn signing now.. they can infact learn faster at this age. It is actually a programme to teach bb/tods signing language to learn how to communicate faster.

I started my girl with BB signing times as I find that she loves the songs and the cartoons.

where can i get the signing times vcd/dvd then?

tomatoes, ur gal so cute... ya, i think my gal is also confused between ma-ma (or sometimes we say ah-ma) and mummy...

Tomatoes,

So farnie.. Kellis used to point at us and calls us duck too. =) Not to worri, it'll pass soon.. hehehe...

Hi Plim,

I bought it from Fei Yue. Believe there's a local reseller now selling them but I can't recall the name. Can the other girls help?

Initially, we asked her to call my hubby's mum "ma ma" as well.. but I told hubby that she's sure to confuse that with mummy. So we now ask her to call her paternal grandma, "nai nai". Will probably ask her to change back to ma ma when she's older and know the difference.

I am not too sure as I copied those DVDs from a friend.

But I heard there is local seller "Sharon" selling. I just cannot recall her website.

plim,
Yup, agree with the rest its not too late to start signing times. pretty interesting prog, i learn the signs together with my ger

Tomatoes,
#2 coming out very soon, now mixed feelings, want him to come out earlier, but on the other hand, dunno if can cope. haha

Bluez,
hehe my ger never calls anyone duck, but initially she used to call her daddy "da da" keke..

Ginsengmum

Dun worry too much... you sure noe how to cope after your boy arrives. It's natural mother's instinct

Wah, our thread so quiet...

Let me start. I will bringing my gal for a trial class at Busybuddies at UE Sq tomorrow (instead of GUG). I read about this centre in current month of "Mother & Baby" and find it not bad.

Somemore, trial class only $20 nia. Me very cheapo hor? hehehe

tomatoes,
the class name sounds cute, "busybuddies" keke... enjoy the class today and do let us know how u find it.

tomoatoes,

A friend of mine, his kid is on waitlist next yr for GUG program leh... is GUG that good ah? He has been urging me to sign up also, but i no time to go down to GUG leh...

the Busybuddies name sounds interesting... it's at UE sq also ah? What are the highlights that Busybuddies is providing ah? What sort of program do they have? No lah, where got cheapo, cheap doesn't mean no good ;)

Hi Plim

I also heard a lot of gd comments about GUG programme... But also heard the staff are arrogant also... GUG is at United Sq at Novena, and Busybuddies (BB) is at UE Sq at Clemenceu.

I am not sure what is the diff but agar now GUG using Zoophonics method (dunno what's that) and BB incorporate "play" and "art & craft" in their programme. I will feedback to you all about BB after I attend the trial class with my girl today

Plim

Actually I got 1 idea. I find that enrichment classs are all very costly... About $30+ per session... Then I thought why not we organise our own regular playgroup sessions. But this playgroup is not only for our kids to mingle, but also a learning session for them. Hence, we mummies can take turns to do story telling, sing-along-session, flashcards during the session, we can save lotsa of $.... Maybe what we teach won't be as good as professionals but it will be quite fun for mummies also to be a teacher for a day
If needed, we can contribute a little $ each to have a fund to improvise the session with new things if needed... Venue wise, we definitely need a function room or a mummy's house with big hall.

Just a thought only ;p

Hi Plim,

I agree with you. Been thinking abt organizing a playgrp for sometime too.

We could start with a small grp first =)

So fun...

Hi Plim/Tomatoes,

What day would be preferable for you? We could rotate between our places I suppose for a start.

I'd prefer Sat morning or afternoon.

Let me know and I'd see if I can set something up. =)

hi bluez, i shld be fine on most sat morning or afternoon, depends on the majority (morning sounds better)... where are you and tomatoes staying? er... i don't really know what and how to teach also :p

oh, for the following weeks from now till end of yr, i might not be available on some weekends, just to let you know... in case i can't join, the rest can go ahead

Hi Bleuz/ Plim/ Tomatoes,

Do count me in as well but thought find Sat late morning / early after noon would be good after the kids have their lunch?

I'm staying at SengKang and don't mind rotating between our places.

We would love to join in too.... Dont really mind the distance. I can do KM if u ladies like it. Do advise on any Playdates....

Hi joyfulstar

That's great! I can do picture flashcards

If you all dun mind, can start off with my house at Tiong Bahru. My house hall should have ample space for our kids. Then thought of adding Signing Times into our programme. hehe

Hey Tomatoes,

sure... Shall we do it next Sat (25/11)??? I can start off with KM songs & dance then you take over to do pictures flashcards.

Playdate
Date: 25/11/06 (Sat)
Time: 1030am??? or 130pm???
Venue: Tiong Bahru (Tomatoes's Place)

Interested Parties:
1. Joyfulstar & Bernice

Hi Joyfulstar

Timing will be abit tight on 25 Nov for me as I need to go somewhere. I would like to propose 2 Dec. However, if everyone ok with 25 Nov, I will try rearrange my schedule

25 Nov
Interested Parties:
1. Joyfulstar & Bernice

2 Dec
Interested Parties:
1. Tomatoes & Giselle

Hi Tomatoes/Joyfulstar,

I'm ok with either sat. KM and flash cards sound fun. Though I'm not sure if Kellis can keep still for flash cards not. =p

I can offer to bring Signing Times DVD. =)

Btw.. ladies, I'm expecting no. 2! Very early though so hoping all will turn out fine.

Bleuz, congratulations! good news
when is no. 2 gonna be due then?

tomatoes/joyfulstar,
25 Nov, ok for the afternoon (cos hv to bring my gal for eye-checkup in the morning, anybody signed-up for this eye-checkup thingy not? not sure of the details, will go home and find out :p )

2 Dec, should be ok either timing...

(My husband not around these 2 dates hence will hv to tackle Bella alone :p )

i have flashcards (words) and picture flashcards also... also have maths dots... will bring but will see how you ladies conduct the session first ;)

bleuz,
congrats to you, hope u feel great and enjoy being preggie again, hee.

sorry can't join in with u all as I'm in KL, u gals hv fun ya...

Hi plim,

Baby is due early July. Princess was born late Jul so next time can celebrate birthday together and save $$. =p

Btw, just wondering if we're bringing kids on our own or with hubbies?

hello ladies,
can i join in this thread? i have 2 gals, one is 5 years (born in Oct 2001) and the other is 16 months (born in year Jul 2005).