(2005/07) Any July 2005 new mums to be?

No er, I came back to office. Was thinking if really need to bring her to see PD, I can do so in the afternoon. Now I am on PT, dun dare to take so many leave, scared my boss not happy. Really cham.

hi tomatoes, i know exactly how u feel abt taking leave or urgent leave, for fear of some unhappiness at work. hope ur bb is in perfect shape soon.

hi sp, i didnt really "bu", juz go with the flow. usually i fall sick aft a trip, esp long haul when the cold air in the plane is to trying on my nose. i hv allergic nose.

hi bleuz, was "talking to u half way" yesterday. december is a gd time to visit chiangmai as it is cooler. it will be fun with a big group.

now i'm back to office, SIL will come over in the afternoon to help out, thank God!

http://momtoangels.blogspot.com

Hi Tomotoes,

My gal had roseola too, about 1 month back. The rashes are not itchy and usually appear after a fever. But once they have it, they'd be immune to it later on. So not to worry there.

The red patches will spread the first 2 days before subsiding. No need to apply anything actually. Hope she gets well soon. =)

Hi Bichon,

Yes, looking forward to the cool weather =) Think princess will enjoy it too.

Hi tomatoes,

my boy has tat roseola too... is very bad one cause it cover the whole body except palm and feet. very heartache to see.. it takes abt a week for them to go away. Luckily no itch or discomfort cause he behaved the same except look 'horrible'

Hi bleuz and bbrayan

Seems like a phase that our kids have to go thru around 15months hor? My friends kids also same. today her rash worsen... see her like really very poorthing. I am stuck with her at home cos she is contagious, dun want her to spread to other bb n kids too.

Hope baby's who are unwell get well soon....

Hey, just wanna check with you mum, upon waking up in the morning for the first feed...how do you know that your baby is asking for a feed...crying or say something?Thanks and good day....

joy747,

I always have a bottle, milk powder and hot water in the bedroom incase bbb wants milk in the nite so when he is wakes and ready for milk, he will point to the bottle or get off the bed to get himself.

Other times, he will go kitchen and point at the steriliser.

Hi Joy747

I dun usually feed my girl during the middle of the nite unless she wakes up and can't get back to sleep. In this case, the warm milk will help make her fall back to sleep again.

Hi Bichon

How's is Raeyen? Better buay?

Hi BBRayan and tomatoes

Thanks for info...

I standby the powder in the room too...when I realised that he cannot get back to sleep in the morning...I feed him milk...some baby will cry as a signal of hunger....

BBRyan, your son so cute....what if he wakes up at six in the morning, will he still walk to the other side of the bedroom to get the bottle for milk?He should be half awake , right?

hi tomatoes, raeyen is somewhat recovered but the last 2 nights he woke up a few times crying very badly, i had to carry him standing, the moment i sit, he would cry again.

i hope he will stop tonight as i will be away tomorrow morning onwards.

joy747, raeyen usually wakes up @ 7am and automatically takes his 1st feed of milk. his routine of milk & solid food is quite predictable.

joy747,
we also will feed hh if he wakes up at nite and doesn't go back to sleep.

after 1st feed in the morning he seldom goes back to sleep.

bichon,
hv a good trip!

tomatoes,
how's her rash? subsiding?

my hh started vomitting yesterday afternoon, I think he'll start diarhhea soon as my niece also same symtoms but she started 1 day earlier. what can hh eat? his usual FM diluted or change to lactose-free or soya? then how abt porridge?

Hi SP

My gal was advise to stop GainIQ and switch to Pediasure (lactose free) when she has diarhhea. Porridge can still give if he does eat. Btw, my gal's rash is starting to subside since yesterday. Thanks and hope hh recovers soon.

tomatoes,
good to hear yr gal will be swee-swee again soon! must be so heartpain to see her having rashes.

thanks for the advice! the Pediasure lactose free is it soy formula or cow formula? what colour is the tin? I scared buy wrong one.

actually at home still got similac 0-12m lactose free but the taste is super the yucky, I doubt hh will drink it, hee.

SP

You may also dilute the present milk. Best if he can take porridge....

If its stomach flu, diet has to be oil free as in not rich....

bichon,
enjoy working & shopping in hk!

joy747,
my kid is ok, no more vomitting and just a bit of lao sai. PD said can give his usual FM but slightly diluted. today my mum taking care of him becoz my MIL is down with the virus. I asked my mum to cook some porridge for him as he yesterday wasn't fed any porridge.

joy747,

rayan will point at the bottle and then i know he wants to drink liao.. if not, he will be making alots of noise in his sleep.

hi sp, sorry to hear that ur kid is not feeling well, hope he's better now. u must give him more fluid too as kids tend to lose fluids in their body in such situation.

weather in hk is lovely, around 25-29C & fair, only windy at night.

hi bichon,
enjoy the lovely weather in HK! we all "enjoying" the hazy views these days, hehe.....

hh is ok already, I think his little bit of LS is due to the friendly bacteria PD gave to help him clear out the bad stuffs inside. thanks for yr concern, u r so sweet! when u coming back?

BBRayan

I think my son behaves the same way....

Bichon

Good weather for shopping too...how is the air there?Still yet to confirm my ticket to HK yet....

Hey mummies, how many hours of sleep are your daring getting per day now?For mine, its around 13 hours....

joy747,
my hh usually sleeps by 9+pm and wakes up at 7+am. In the day will sleep 2 hrs, so abt 12.

does yr bb sleep well at nite now? my hh will still wake up leh, usually one time at odd timing, we feed milk then he sleeps back. he only takes 2oz, is he really hungry? but if we don't feed milk, he'll keep waking up every 2 hrs.

Joy... my boy sleeps around 9.30 pm and wakes up anytime between 6.00 to 7.30 am.

SP... my boy has never been a good sleeper so can't compare with most babies. But from the sound of it... I don't think your boy is hungry if he only drinks 2oz. Probably just a habit Have you tried giving him more milk before he sleeps?

Hi Bichon,
Was enjoying your blog cos both your boys are about the same age as my boy and girl and your maid like mine is a good helper too. They really give us piece of mind when we go to work especially since you travel so often.

I was new to this website and it feel good to hear from everyone and get updates on things that I might not noe and also realise that I am not alone on some of the things that were discussed.

Hi SP

have u tried giving HH rice cereal wif milk at nite...he will be fuller and maybe wont wake up at nite........thats how I train Nat when she is abt 7 mths old......now Nat can last till the next morning between 8-9am even if her last feed is 8pm......

Hi Sp

Hh recovered liao rite?

My gal still wake up and fuss once per nite... Dunno how to kick this habit of hers. Haiz.

Hi Tomatoes,

My gal too wakes up once a night if she's sleeping in her cot. Just wants to sleep with Daddy and Mummy. =p

She kicked the habit some months back but recently, it's back to waking up and wanting to be put on our bed. Hiaz... You planning for 2nd one yet? =p

hi bleuz.

Same lor, she also fuss in the nite and want us to transfer her from her cot our bed.

Me planning for No.2 but definitely won't be so fast that you will receive good news from me cos the chances of me striking naturally is super slim

How about you?

SP,

Hmm, its weird tt HH wakes up & drink so little ley. maybe its really more of a habit. For my ger, she will drink her last feed from 10 to 11pm. Then her 1st feed will be ard 5am, & she will zzz all the way to 8 or 9am. She may or may not wake up during the 5am feed, but we will just auto give her.

Tomatoes, bluez
Hehe once per nite still ok lah. my ger all along no sleeping prob, onli until perhaps a mth of so ago, she started have this habit of bed sharing with us. & can onli transfer her to her own cot when she is sound asleep. My friends say its just a passing phrase, anyway i always feel very heart warming when i see her sleep, so innocent & sweet. hehe

Odie

Your boy take afternoon nap?

Ginsengmum, my boy also sleep and drink the same pattern like your gal....she nap in the day?My boy takes about 2 hours plus nap...someday, one hour plus.....

SP
I think its more of a habit that he wakes up to drink milk but he will outgrow....

Tomatoes
After pregnancy can also be super slim as long as you watch your diet....heeee

My personal experience is not a too big gap between two kids, not so much on their gap but our energy in handling them as we do age, right>?My energy for the first kid and second one is totally a big difference....I can do so many things while much younger...I can feel the difference in every five years of my age.....

Joy,
Yup, er.. my ger in general sleep from abt 9 to 9 at nite (roughly, sometimes 9+ wakes up at 8+), clocking abt 11hr to 12 hrs.

Then she onli takes a nap a day, can be either 2 to 3 hrs. so i think her sleeping hrs still ok blah. i read toddlers abt their age should sleep abt 13 hrs to 15 hrs a day

Wah, totally agree with u. in fact, after i give birth to my ger, i can feel my energy going down liao.

so many talks on toddler sleep...
my gal sleeps very late, about 11 or 11+pm
and that is she falls into that sleep herself after tossing and turning in bed for 30 mins (at least!)... in the day time she usually has 2 naps, total clocking 2-4 hrs nap... at night, she sleeps ard 11 and wakes up at 7.30 (ard there), so in total it's about 10-13 hrs daily of sleep...

what i'm doing nowadays is not to let her sleep too much and too late in the day (her last nap ard 5 till 6+)... cos i find that she has too much energy at night and will not sleep even at 11.30pm...

Joy747, i agree with u... energy is the most important factor to take care/play/educate kids...

Joy... yes... he naps around 1 to 2 hours max per day.

plim.... I think going to bed at 11 plus for a toddler is quite unacceptable. I tried letting Matty go to bed late at one point... hoping that he will sleep till the next morning and not wake up so early... but he still woke up at the same time the next day and just nap more during the day. The whole cycle just begins again the next day. I realise the kids work on body clock... even though they cannot tell the time. They sleep and wake up at an almost definite time. So I had to put a stop and make my boy go to bed by 9 plus. I think you can drop the nap from 2 to just 1 during the day and see if your baby will knock out earlier at night.

Plim,
was reading an article on sleeping habits. its recommended not to let a child take nap after 4pm, coz it will mean they will sleep very late a nite. It wont be easy to adjust a child's sleeping time once it becomes a habit, but hor can still do it one. i've got 2 friends whose bb used to sleep quite late oso, like 11+, then slowly slowly they managed to adjust until latest abt 9pm, go to dreamland liao

odie, ginsengmum,

thanks for the information... it's rather difficult to keep her awake and not fussy in the day when she's tired... and at night, it's difficult to make her sleep... i think most of the time, she is tired (can see her yawning at 9+) but when we make her sleep, she just refuses lor or takes a long time to sleep... i think kids this age spend too much time exploring and wants to learn... hehe...

plim
agree with u, they can be real sleepy yet just refused to sleep. for me, i dun care. everynite at 9pm, (unless go out) will bring her to the bed. she can toss & turn all tt she wants. but at least she koes tt is her bedtime

My Nat still nap twice in the day totalling 3-5 hrs per day and she still can sleep before 11pm......if she wakes up b4 4pm from her last nap she will sleep between 8pm - 830pm at nite till the next morning.......if she wakes up after 4pm from her last nap den I will bring her to bed by 10pm....I think 12hrs to 15 hrs........

Hi all, does your tod wake up for milk? My son still wake up for milk.

If i don't give him milk he will scream and i have no choice.

What should i do? Feed him ceceal before bedtime? I tried but he still wake up around 5-6am. Was hoping he can sleep till at least 7am.

welcome, Melissa!

odie,
we didn't try giving more milk as hh can barely finish his 5oz.

love,
we are not feeding cereal to hh as in-laws kinda "frown" upon cereal. yr Nat is such a good girl.

tomatoes, bleuz, ginsengmum,
we've given up letting hh sleep in his cot, we auto let him sleep with us every nite, hehehe. his cot now has become storage space for us to put diapers, keke.

plim,
wah, yr girl sleeps so late, so tiring for u!

joy747,
hh takes afternoon nap, sometimes once sometimes twice, add up should be 2-3 hours, hehe.

dodos,
maybe u can get yr hb to do the 5am feed, kekeke...

how was your holidays? Our whole family (my hb's side) went stayed at a chalet for the past 2-3 days. And guess what, during these 3 days, my gal only slept once in the afternoon (2 hrs max) and at 10 or 10-ish, i started to make her sleep... and she slept all the way till 9am the next morning... she must be extremely tired from all the play with cousins... but i also noticed on fri/sat sat/sun when we weren't at the chalet yet, she would also sleep till 9am next day... most likely due to 'lack of sleep' in the day time... i think we'll definitely try to reduce her day sleep... thanks for all the mummies advices...

these few days, Bella doesn't seem to fancy porridge (especially during weekends when i cook for her). She will refuse to open her mouth and shake her head :S sigh... end up, these few days i hv to crack my head to think about what soup to cook her for her to go with rice. but even with rice, she will take may a few mouthful only... can i ask those mummies who's kiddies are taking rice, how much rice do they normally take (in 1 meal), i think for my gal, she probably takes only two tablespoon (level) only leh...

hi, plim,
sounds like u had a wonderful holiday! yay, yr Bella's nap and sleep is settling down, good for u!

re: rice
hh will eat abt 2 tbsp of rice + the "liao" will come to abt half a bowl, + another half a bowl of soup inclu ingredients - IF he is hungry and in the mood to eat, hehe.

sp, yes, we had a wonderful time/break

looks like that's about all they eat... so 'sayang', everytime cook already, they only eat so little... i scared she hungry :S

dodos, my daughter has not been waking up for milk feed since when she's about 4 or 5 mths (or even earlier, i think)... at least that's wat happens when she's home with me on weekends and some weekdays... she will sleep through the night, and of course, some days she will wake up crying, but will just pat her to sleep... however, it's a different case at my mum's... if she wakes up ard 4 or 5am, my mum will give her milk, then she will go back to sleep... i think it's just a habitual thing and she knows at whose place she can 'request' for what... for me, i never have the habit to give her milk, so i guess that's why she never 'ask' for milk in the middle of the night... what i read in some websites is to slowly reduce the milk content (i think by mixing in more water) and gradually it becomes water...

poor Bella, she hurt her knee, fell down 3 times! and last night, the 3rd time she fell down, she broke the skin, cos the injury was at the same spot)... and so poor thing, cried when we put medication on her knee... i see already so heart-pain...

sometimes i wonder why she walk so unsteady one... everytime put her down, she will 'chiong' like crazy, go everywhere and so careless, always fall down... sigh... does that happen to your babies?

plim,
poor Bella, how is her knee now?

hh also will walk unsteadily, we will insist on holding his hand(s) if the road surface is rough.

need some recommendation.
Anyone can share with me the brand of liquid for toddler's bath?
Only see J&J Top to Toe that is apply on body and rinse.. any other ?