(2005/07) Any July 2005 new mums to be?

Joy... well in a way the happy-go-lucky type of person is usually a happier person ;) We are hoping to get Matty to Tao Nan next time cos only a 5 mins walk.

bichon... MOE keeps changing their system. Now the EM3 is also gone (good because I find it a stupid system to begin with!).

Tomatoes

She is only average....told her after her next week language papers...she will need to revise her math and performan better....she is just too careless most of the time...headache and end up I got to study with her....Am already out of school for at least 10 years and now have to go thr it all over again....

Odie,
Haha, Yes, totally agree with you that once our little ones taste something nicer, they wont like those plain ones liao. & now they definitely prefer something more solid than just pure puree soft stuff since they koe how to chew.

Tomatoes,
U intend to send ur ger to 1/2 day childcare? in the morning while u working? ya lor, i oso got to do housework, but then i do when my ger is sleeping & i usually dun do all in the same day. Do one thing ea day, that way i won't feel that stressful or tired.

I oso brain dead of what i can do with my ger liao. I think until maybe 2 yrs old, there arent much activities that we can really do. Sometimes i like my ger play with finger paint or those colour pencils. Then i oso try to teach her somethings, but there is a limitation lor.

Bichon,
Actually $46.50 for gain IQ is not really cheap. If there is medical hall ard ur place, can check if they sell milk powder. The medical shop near my place sells it for $44+ onli, but then certain milk powder like pediasure, er, their price is still the same as NTUC, etc lor.

Joy,
agree now eduction system in s'pore is really demanding. but now students oso much smarter. Haha, my sis, who is a pri sch teacher told me that got pri 3 or 4 students, coz the teacher scold one student, the student unhappi, gathering the whole class to write petition against the teacher ley. Can u imagine tt? haha

joy747, so how does ur nephew or his mom feel abt nan chiau, muz do my market survey early. and how do u assess tao nan?

ginsengmum, i buy fr carrefour coz i pay with posb everyday card, -5% rebate. and today with the $5 discount coupon, it's cheaper & i spent >$150 there, which gives me free delivery too. plus i collect the receipts & then send to abbott to redeem for free milk powder coz my 4-yr old kieran's milk is also fr abbott (grow).

http://momtoangels.blogspot.com

Joy... how come you are so certain they will not end up in the same class? Do they go by which Phase the student got into the school? I suppose your hubby is hokkien clan member and your girl got in through Phase 2B? My hubby is a hokkien so he will need to join the clan association in order for Matty to enrol. Hubby has a baby cousin who will be in Primary 1 next year. Stays on the same street as us and she got through Phase 2B without balloting cos within 1km radius of the school. We hope it will be a breeze for Matty too. Otherwise if we put him in another school... he will need to travel a bit further and wake up a bit earlier =p Sounds like your girl maybe the type that is more inclined towards language than numbers. I hate numbers and always very careless in my maths.

Ginsengmum... wah... the students nowadays really makes a teacher life tough!

Ginsengmum

Actually I have lotsa questions on my mind. My PT arrangement is only till end Mar07 and will need to convert back to FT after that. By then I have to decide if I want to be a FT SAHM. On the other hand, I very much would like to send her for half day childcare so that she can mingle and learn things. But dunno whether I can afford to do so with 1 income lesser.

Yes, you are rite, there isn't much I can't teach her at home at such young age. She is becoming more rebellious nowadays. Yesterday, when I closed the main door gate and refused to let her out, she screamed and hit me a few times. Piang, people dunno will think that this girl no jia1 jiao4 mann.

Joy747,

I think your girl can go Tao Nan is of certain standard liao... dun stress yourself too much

tomatoes,
I, too have lots of qns on my mind when i was deciding whether to resign & be a SAHM. It wasnt an easy decision to make, esp i was preggie then, which means even if i regret, i probably wont be able to find a new job till i give birth.

& like what Joy says, it really depends on whether u can live with a single income & be happy abt it. I still have some complaints at time abt living on tt little income my hb brings back, abt not being abt to buy things i like, etc. At tmes at this, i will try & remind myself that at least i can witness my ger's growth myself, w/o ppl telling me "ur ger can do this & that".

Maybe u can take this time to think if u want to have #2? heheh, then maybe it will help u make decision easier.

Hehe, my ger oso koes how to throw tantrums when we dun give what she wants to her. Its normal, every little one goes through this phrase, onli difference is to what extent they throw tantrums & the time frame lor.

Thanks Joy747 & Ginsengmum

Both of you are very rite. There is no best of both world and I really have to see what I want.

As for No.2, I will let nature take its course as I am dunno if I am fated to have No.2 or not. My ger was conceived via IVF, me and hb was thinking to try natural for 2nd one before going through frozen embryo transfer for No2. Now I just have to make plans with just taking my ger into consideration. I agree that if I have No.2, I will make my decision much easier

tomatoes

kieran's (my 4yr old) 2 pre-school teachers became SAHMs - 1 aft delivery, the other is preggie now with bb #1.

the 1st one has absolutely no regrets though living on 1 income can be tough but she said it's all worthwhile as she's wholly responsible for the upbringing of her girl. her routine around her though pretty much the same everyday, she's able to bond & teach her @ the same time. something that FTWM cannot achieve. the sense of achievement is tremendous.

if u r adamant in bringing up your child on ur own more than other things, then u already know which choice is right for u.

Joy... do you mean the Marine Parade Branch or just Kinderland on the whole? I know Kinderland offers the progam but not every branch. Since when did they start requesting parents to do voluntary work? My hubby's cousin just got in and I know for sure her parents didn't do anything more than just joining as members of the clan. Haizzz if need to do voluntary work... I really cannot be bothered =p I'm the type of parent that believes you don't necessary need a good school to produce an intelligent kid. Knowing your limits is more important. Going to Tao Nan is for the sake of convenience. If it takes too much to get him in... I'm prepared to take him elsewhere.

Tomatoes... it is still a while before March 07 comes. You should be able to decide by then which arrangement suits you best. I have never entertained the thoughts of being a SAHM. Really must salute those who can do it. I think work gives me a balance in life... to get out of the house and do something different and home is a sanctuary away from work at the end of the day. So far so good. I don't feel my boy drifting away from me. In fact he is very sticky to me and to him mummy is still the best. Night-time and weekends are very precious to us. We spend alot of time talking, singing and doing silly things together. The quality makes up for the lack of quantity. So even if you choose to go back to work... you don't have to feel bad about it if you know how to make full use of the time at night and weekends. Sorry... as a FTWM... I can only offer you my 2 cents worth if you choose to work =p

tomatoes,
I hope u will be blessed with no. 2 naturally, hehe.

I have no choice but to be FTWM becoz need the money as both hb & I are not earning much, so need 2 incomes. Anyway working life is more suitable for me also as I'm not the type to stay home.

Do enjoy yr time with yr darling now and hopefully by March you'll be very sure which path u r gonna take.

Hi odie,sp and the rest...

Hey, thanks for voting for aedann...He came in first for the category,.....big thank you...

Happy moon cake festival today....cheers

sp, same for me, double-income is important for us too. there's mortgage, car, etc.

joy, congrats, though i missed alot of those old postings.

who's gg to HK huh? i'm gg fr 16-20 oct, my colleague said weather then will be great, avg 24C, which is nice, no need a coat.

yeah everyone, happy mooncake festival!

hi joy, i hv no other help too, but luckily our domestic helper is gd, she looks aft him whole day while kieran goes to kindergarten & childcare. but our helper wishes to go home early next yr aft 4 yrs with us, so we r in a fix now.

no, i'm gg to hk fot work but will do some shopping in the evening. had promised to get a toy for kieran as i could not rush home in time to watch his performance @ he kindergarten's concert on 20/10 fri evening. see, that's the dilemma of a FTWM, we always hv a strong sense of guilt for having less time with them. when i was in germany (work again), i missed his mini graduation concert @ yamaha.

Hi Bichon

I guess there is always a trade off....Maybe you can start looking for a good maid....

I believe kieran will understand that mummy needs to work...just like my gal knows that daddy needs to work since she was very young and she is very closed to her dad...she got so used to the idea that daddy will travel and back...Few days ago, she sent her dad all the way to the gate at 5.30am ,just to see that he is on the taxi to airport...I was telling hubby that she is like his girlfriend....

hi all mummies,
havent join in this thread for some time.

can anyone share with me if ur ds or dd sleeps with u. if yes where do they sleep? beside u in a cot, or on the bed with u? my dd always wants to sleep on our bed n and causing me many sleepless nights because of her movements on the bed. thanks alot.

hi, dramaqueen,
nice to see u back here!

my hh sleeps with hb & me on our bed. ya, sometimes his movements does wake me up, but if I'm very tired I'll sleep thru and still able to have a good nite's sleep, hee.

How's everyone? My girl down with Flu virus since mon. High fever up and down. Brought her to see pd yesterday liao. Her temp hit 39.5 at 1.30am. Nearly want to bring her to A&E...

Tomatoes,

Oh dear, wat did the PD say? my ger just had her MMR jab on sat, now still monitoring if got any fever which may occur from day 2 to day 10. she's been very very cranky since ytd nite, wondering if she is unwell or wat, but no fever so far ley..

Ginsengmum

PD said it's flu virus wor. Her throat very red too and she has 1 time of loose stools. He said fever will be up and down for the next few days. Told me to give pediasure only these 2days (lactose free) just in case.

Then I shun bian ask him about her rejection of solid food recently. He said if she doesn't want, dun force her wor, but I also must not give her other supplements like pediasure, snacks etc. Just let her go hungry to train her. Toddlers of such age is common to have food rejection. But I still stick to my usual schedule for Gain after she recovers.

My hb said maybe her rejection of solid food was due to her sore throat... which I hope so lor.

Ya, you must monitor your ger and fever will be quite common 5-10 days after mmr. My ger turn for the jab will be next week. Now thinking if I should delay a week more after she recovers.

tomatoes, your gal so poor thing... hope she's better now... think have to give her lots of fluid... you might want to check with PD before bringing her for MMR jab, whether is it ok for her to jab when she hasn't fully recover...

ginsengmum, my gal also had MMR jab on sat, she was slightly feverish on the day of jab (just 0.2 degrees from the normal... hehe, actually i think not fever lah, just slightly high in temp)... yesterday also a bit... will hv to monitor her lor, but doctor say temp won't go too high one... and should subside (if there is) in one to two days time...

tomatoes,
yr dd so poor thing, how is she now?

oh, reject solids shld let them go hungry? we give the usual milk leh if hh eats too little.

re: MMR
I haven't brought hh for his MMR, maybe this weekend.

btw, which comes first, MMR or chicken pox jab? how abt other jabs like Hep A etc.?

Tomatoes,
Oh, hmm, in tt case, then i think i got to be strict with my ger liao. if she dun want to eat her proper meal, then am not going to give her any snack or watsoever liao.

i think better to wait for ur ger to fully recover b4 giving her the jab, in case she got fever or wat after the jab, then will be very poor thing

plim,
the nurse says if the MMR jab triggers high fever, like 39 degrees for more than 3 days, nid to see doc immediately.

SP,
i think never says which jab should come 1st blah. coz chicken pox think can be taken anytime after 1 or 15mths. Some ppl take both jab at the same time, but my PD dun recommand tt as most jab trigger fever rather soon, exception is MMR. So if the baby does have fever for both jab, tt means he is going to have fever for quite a no of days..

I have not bring bb for the MMR jab as he is going to take his 2nd 'Puenmococcal' jab during his 15th mth. My PD said can take 2 together but I think too much to take liao. so gonna postphone my MMR later. Friends said MMR better after bb can speak.

I supposed to bring my baby for chicken pox jab anytime but I put it on hold....reason being the weather is quite bad with the haze and chances of the kids sick is already very high and thus I delayed the jab till weather conditions is better...this is actually advised by my chinese doctor...there is actually no hurry for the MMR jab too...

re: co-sleeping
raeyen sleeps in a cot next to our bed.
kieran (4yrs) sleeps on his own bed in his room with our helper.

re: MMR
raeyen's appt is this sat, but he suddenly had fever (38.8) this evening & we gave him brufen. we suspected its due to the growth of his 1st molars. coz we realised 1 molar already erupted and 3 other corners have swollen gums. we've to monitor & if he's not getting better tmrw morning, we'll bring him to the PD. i'm worried since i'm gg for a working trip next mon

re: great chill-out place for family
i went to vivocity last sat & found that on 2nd floor, pacific coffee has nice outdoor seating with great view of sentosa. do check it out when the sky is clear.

ginsengmum, bbrayan, joy747, bichon,
thanks very much for the info abt the jabs, glad to know that the timing is flexible.

anyone considering the rotavirus jab as well as the Pneumococcal jab? I'm still thinking about it, can't decide.

bichon,
u got interesting job that lets u travel, shiok. where u going next?

where is vivocity? is it near Harbourfront?

SP,

U r welcome. We r here to share info anyway.

Pneumococcal jab? ya, tt one my ger oso taken ur 1st jab liao. 2nd jab is due, but i've not decide when to bring her for it. Coz tentantively, her chicken pox jab will be on 11 Nov, but for tt jab, i nid to confirm with my gynae whether its ok that my ger take it now or wait until #2 is due.

SP, ginsengmum,

My gal already completed the 3 Pneumococcal jabs when she turned 1 this year... chicken pox vaccine was also taken when she was in Aug (13th mth)... and the latest jab she's taken was MMR... the next jab the PD told us is when she's 18 mths... for the Hep B booster (i think) ... not sure abt rotavirus jab leh... is it a compulsory jab?

ginsengmum, why is it that you need to check with gynae for ur gal to take the chicken pox jab? or wait until #2 is due ah?

SP, yes, vivocity is near Harbourfront...

plim,

coz some babies actually will have some chickenpox like rashes coming out after the jab. & this rashes r infectious.

So was told to confirm with gynae whether should my ger really have the rashes, it will affect the unborn baby a not. Or its ok to proceed lor.

hi sp, i'm gg to hk next mon till fri. it's a dilemma when i hv to travel. raeyen's fever went up to 39.6 this morning, hence i took urgent leave. PD said it's bacteria infection (coz molars eruption does not cause such high fever) & he has ulcers in his throat - tonsilitis. was given paracetamol depository @ the clinic. has taken augmentin antibiotic, actified syrup for his blocked/runny nose, nose drop and now taking his nap.

i hope he gets better as it's hard for me to take another urgent leave since i'm leaving next mon.

so his MMR jab has been deferred till mon 24/10. as for pneumococcal jab, we intend to give him aft he turns 2. kieran will only take aft his flu is clear.

vivocity (www.vivocity.com.sg) is @ harbourfront, easily accessible by MRT. it's bb friendly too, coz i think all toilets hv nursery, unlike some malls, only certain floors/toilets have nursery. spore is trying to become more bb & child friendly.

ginsengmum, it is right of u to be cautious when preggie.

ginsengmum, oh, like dat one ah... hehe... thanks for educating

oh, i remember some mother in this forum (sorry, can't remember who liao) said she sent her child to Carpe Diem... which center did you send ur kid to? how is Carpe Diem ah? it's more of a daycare center rather than enrichment classes right? how do u find it so far?

bichon, hope ur boy gets better soon... i understand how it feels when u have to travel for your job and on the other hand have to worry about your kids...

i agree that vivocity is pretty child friendly, one of the floor (2nd i think) has one whole section on bb stuff and there's a play area outside, lotsa kids... also another area where there's those streams of water coming out and kids love to play there... hehe...

hi sp,ginsengmum,plim

Thanks for your concern. My girl fever slightly better liao. I din go office today as my gal keep wanting me to be around. My mum she also dun want.

This morning I stayed till 3am to sponge her as I know her fever will be at the highest. Really very tiring for me. My hb also down since 2 days ago. Luckily I got myself vacinnated with the flu jab 2 weeks ago.

Her pneumococcal jabs was finished at one year old. I also done the chicken pox jab at the same time.

Plim, rotavirus vaccination is given only when the bb is b4 6 months old. It is via oral medication.

plim,
so good, u hv already let Bella take all the jabs. rotavirus is optional, I read an article abt it, it said in rare cases it will cause our kid to be brain damaged for life, sounds so scary.

ginsengmum,
do let us know what yr gynae says after u ask, ok! thanks.

bichon,
Raeyen so poor thing, hope he gets well soon. really hard on u to travel for work esp if bb not feeling well.

will u hv time to shop while in hk? what do u usually buy back for yr kids when u r away on biz trips?

re: vivocity
wow, it sounds like a nice place, will check it out one day.

how is GWC? up for so many years already but I've never been there.

After my gal got this serious flu virus, I am glad that I let her take this pneummococcal jab as it can prevent pneummonia and other infection. I see her fever so high till I also scared.

tomatoes,
hope u got time to catch some sleep today, glad to hear yr gal is better already.

when will u bring yr gal for her MMR?

thanks for the info abt rotavirus vac, that means after 6 mths no need already?

tomatoes,
glad that ur gal is better now. when the kids fall sick, everyone worries. the last time my gal was sick, subsequently the whole family fell ill as well...

rachel is going for the MMR on the 18th...... as for the pneumococcal jabs mentioned earlier on, r they the 5 in 1 jabs or 6 in 1 jabs? kindly advise cos i was a little lost reading ur postings. thanks

Hi Bichon

Hope kieran gets well soon...Its really stressed when kids fall ill....

Tomatoes, good to know that your gal is well....

take care all.

plim, my older son kieran goes to carpe diem. it's a childcare ctr, it's ok but not fantastic. what i like its the sprawling space it has at the end of punggol. the english teachers r not gd in english but the chinese teachers r mostly fr mainland china & due to that kieran's chinese has improved tremendously. i didnt explore much @ vivocity, shall go to 2/f to chk out the kids area, thanks! btw, forget abt buying THANN aromatherapy stuff fr Tangs Home coz it is abt twice the price than in bangkok. i got a cinnamon pot with a bottle of aromatherapy oil in it fr BKK airport at abt S$16, Tangs Home is retailing at abt S$28! Anyway this wkend (i think), tangs is offering 12% rebate to its members.

thanks for all ur concern abt raeyen, he took a nap again now. he refused to take milk or eat, so sad.

dramaqueen, pneumococcal is to be taken on its own, not part of the 5/6-in-1. chk with ur PD, it's also to prevent menigitis.

sp, depending where i travel to. eg i got loads of chocolates fr germany, foodstuff & vcd fr KL, toys, towels & clothes fr HK (btw, crocs shoes in HK is abt S$41, ie 15% cheaper than spore), clothes & dvd fr shanghai. end oct, i'm gg to vietnam, dunno what i can get fr there coz it's my 1st trip. aft that, we'll go to chiangmai with the kids for holiday.

Wow.. so many postings these few days =)

My princess was down with cold too last few days. Due partly to the haze and also caught it from Daddy I think.

Hi Bichon,

You seem to travel quite abit. How do you cope with being away from your princes? I'd be going away for a 3 day break with hubby in 2 wks and I hope I can survive. =p

When are you bringing the kids to Chiangmai. I'm bringing Kellis to Chiangmai after Christmas too. With a hugh group.. 16 adults and 2 kids to be exact.

I'm hoping the air quality will get better next week. Thinking of going to the zoo next Fri. =)

Bichon, Tomatoes & Bluez,

hope ur little ones recover soon. Haze is bad, weather is terrible too, guess that the reason Y so many little ones r sick. My ger seems to be having sore throat too, though no fever & her appetite is ok, but then when she cries, even for tt little while, can actually hear tt she dun have much voice. still wondering if should bring her see doc, been 2 days liao.

Sp,
yup, will update u all once i see my gynae, but no so soon lah, another 1 wk+ to go.

Bichon,
wah.. lucky u, got to travel to so many places. But then i guess can be rather tiring too & bet u'll missed ur little ones which u r outstation.

Hi ginsengmum

Try to give your girl lotsa of water, fruit juice. It will helps. Actually after I visit my pd, is realised that it does not help much as she was given 2 types of fever, cold syrup which actually I have at home. My pd wants my girl to recover on her own instead of depending on antibiotics. But just to get a peace of mind from him lor. Then I realisd that if my girl sweat it out, her fever will be gone faster.

Anyway, my girl has finally recovered yesterday after 3 days of struggle with fever. Me also down yesterday due to lack of sleep. Luckily now ok liao.

bichon,
u travel a lot, almost non-stop, hk followed by Vietnam followed by yr family hol to Thailand. how do you "bu" or nourish your body to withstand this hectic lifestyle?

tomatoes,
yay, so happy to hear yr girl is fine and u r ok also, do get more rest this weekend.

Thanks SP. Was telling you she was fine rite, then hor, she suddenly got rashes all over her body. I called my pd and he said it is roseola (something like false measles). Nothing we can do, it will subside after 4 days.