(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

my hubby aso nv tok 2 baby yet
he said cant hear tat day I purposely ask the Dr. She said after 14 weeks then can hear haha

Can I asked u all what is this down syndrome test about? Hw is it carried out? Is it harmful for the kids.

Me sat went 2nd visit do blood urine test and whole tins cost me near $300 almost fainted.

I gg to Mt E to do the down syndrome test and the hospital tell me is ard $300. Is it? Please advise, Ladies!

Hi Milly & Erlisa

Agree with you that it is neither here nor there at this moment...can't really wear those maternity dress yet...

Maybe you can consider getting some maternity pants, it can last you thru' out the 9 mths as the "waist" part has an elastic band that can be adjusted. I just bought 2 from SPRING (at Suntec)last weekend & it is really very comfy to wear....

dunno,
who is ur gynae ? how come so ex ? I did my blood and urine test, i paid abt 150.

Down symdrome tests got a few kind. 1 is the scan and the other is the blood test to be done at 1st trimester or 2nd trimester depending on when u want it. For my gynae, i don't think the scan and blood test will cost so much. Maybe abt 100+-200+?
It's the amnicentisis that is expensive, abt 500. This test is done when ur scan and blood test shows a high risk. So i don't know ur gynae 300+ refers to what, likely to be scan and blood test.

ya agreed we are neither here nor there at this stage. Most of my pants cannot wear already.

i am not sure if anyone of you have tried this. I notice heatbeat movements of my bb if i stare hard at my lower tummy.. so amazing.

Hello everyone...
It's the monday blues for me today. Didn't have a good sleep last night. Woke up with the entire body aching. First thing on my mind, "Should I get an MC today?" But I shoved that 'dirty' thoughts in my mind and still go to work with my two heavy feet. Work's piling up today and I was so busy that I could only log in now to look-see-look-see what's going on here ... hee

I agree with you ladies. Burping has been the thing for me to avoid vomiting. And last night, I hardly ate anything. My taste bud is so poor that no food interests me at all. And now, I dont enjoy when it comes to meals coz I cant even decide what to eat. Sigh. During the earlier weeks, Ive been passing out wind a lot, but now, its burping Hope this phase will surpass all of us soon.

Shane,
Yes, Ill be attending the antenatal classes. When you intending to go? Maybe can go together? J I was thinking of going when Im in between 2-3rd trimester Do you have any information on the classes?

Cherry,
How many weeks are u? You mean you can see the babys heartbeat from tummy? Wow!!.. I must go home and see if I can see mine hee

Adora,
I heard about SPRING mentioned quite a number of times in the forum here. It seems to be pretty popular among preggie moms here. Perhaps I should go and take a look this weekend.

Lisa

cherry,
Hahhaha.. i havent experience that but hubby said that he can hear bb's heartbeat.. sometimes i put my hand on stomach can also feel bb's heartbeat, somehow can feel the bb dancing inside.. Hahhaha...

My gynae is from Raffles Hospital. This time rnd is normal consultation $100 + blood test $78 + ultra scan $60 + fish oil + folic acid + medicine for constipation. I tok w u all then I notice tat how come the price seem to be more exp than u all? I tot all shd b ard the same

how come u mummies can feel so many things ? I don't seem to feel anything on my tummy ley ... maybe like wat the seminar say, i got thick abnorminal walls ...

Lisa,
great. I also intend to go when 2nd-3rd trimester. So can rem. Go too early wait all forget. At the moment don't have any infor. When I find out, i'll let u know

today i also monday blues. very sien at work, like can't focus and feel very tired. feel like sleeping. i also thot of taking mc ! heehee .... hmmm *evil thots* but in the end still come to work.

dunno,
no lah different hospital/gynae all different charges.
I think quite ok since u were given so many supplements somemore. But ur scan slightly more expensive. Each time my scan cost $40, consultation is btn 40-60. so slightly cheaper than yours.

hi lisa, i am about 9 weeks now but look more like 4 months becos i already have a very big tummy before preg. now becos cannot exercise and hungry all the time is making my tummy even bigger. big boobs and big tummy making me very breathless, don't even dare to think about what would happen when i am 8 months preg! :p

Where got Antenatal class?

Actually I aso cant feel the baby or what. I hv big tummy all along
I dun think any1 can c so easily. Yeah, this is my 9th week also

dunno,
most hospitals all got antenatal classes. u got to decided where u want to go.

I'm also 9 weeks+ today. gg to be 10 weeks. can wait to quickly go to 2nd trimester. hate the want to vomit feeling. *bleh*

cherry,
same here... me also gg to be 9 weeks soon but i cant wear my pants and jeans.. too tight liao.. Even before preggie, i put on abt 8kg over 1 yr... Hahahaha... Now i am also like 4 mths preggie with the tummy protruding out.. luckily my boobs still bigger than tummy.. Hahahhaa..

ya heard alot about Spring will try to drop by soon to take a look. Do need to get some new pants.

you ladies can feel movements already! Wow i am looking forward to tat but so far i dun feel much baby movements. only the occasional MS now reminds me tat i am pregnant

i am lucky as i am not working today, but still pretty sian at home...maybe will motivate myself to go for a swim later. really have phobia of keep eating & sleeping the whole day dunno how to get rid of those pounds after the 10months.

I still tin of take MC later this week kena flu wan rest. I bery lazy aso wan swim yet tell myself go swim pool got pp kick me how
none of u go DS test yet har? I been asking how it is like no1 reply

My MS not tat jialat.. I onli have problems getting back to sleep at nite if awaken by noise or go to toilet.. Cant seem to find the rite position to sleep comfortably.

dunno,
i reply u abt the DS in my earlier post but u didn't see....

milly,
u so gd, can be at home....on leave ?
how many weeks are u know ?can go swimming ? i thot only when we're like 4-5 mths then we can go swimming ?

I'm still ok ley, can fit into my own clothes. u gals all making me worried, i not putting on enuf weight ?

Shane yr desc so vague. I heard measuring neck 1 wat is tat abt har? haha I really dunno wats the test for the doctor ask me go I jus go

the neck one is the scan that i'm talking abt. it's called nuchal scan where they measure the thickness of the neck.

Oh so jus go neck scan and blood test har? Thanks hor I really blur and I heard pp saying draw dunno wat water the tummy will blue black making me so SCARE. Hw much u pay har for DS test? Where u test?

dunno,
u only do the draw water test if ur scan and blood test show high risk of DS baby. then u go for the draw water test. the water is drawn from ur stomach, from the womb where the baby is.

the neck thickness test has abt 70-80% accuracy i think. can't rem liow......

it's measure ur baby's neck ley, not ur neck, hee hee ... so u flabby or not, nvm ... unless u mean ur tummy flabby lah, err then maybe just have harder time to measure hee hee

shane,
i think they measure the thickness based on the detailed scan is it?? otherwise how they measure??

i heard that there might be side effects of the draw water test also.. Better check it out first before going for such test.

hi shane,

on leave since friday, have a few days leave to clear so try to take one or two days here & there. many in my company clearing leave going holidays really envy them
for me cannot go anywhere so only can stay at home lor ..

i ask gynae say its ok to swim as swimming is the lowest impact exercise so as long as no complications during pregnancy like bleeding he says go ahead...but was too lazy to go so in the end jus laze around watching TV...will try to go maybe wkends

hi dunno,
have done the neck test. as replied earlier the scan done betw 11 to 14wks can be zoomed in to measure skin thickness behind baby's neck. less than 0.3cm is normal if not will consider high risk for DS.

Think the triple test is another type of test for DS drawing your blood to test certain hormones can be done in your 2nd tri. But heard this not very accurate. If tested high risk than need to go for the other test which to draw out water. my collegues who done this test say have to be very careful and make sure did not poke the baby in the process... sounds scary. This is pretty ex about $500 and have some risk involve...

have to work tommorrow liao hiaz.....

serrich,
measurement of the neck thickness is not during the detailed scan. it's using the normal scan.

yes the drawing water one, carries some % of miscarriage. so got to think very hard before u go for it.

milly,
so gd ley, can stay home. I also thinking of taking leave. But also trying to save leave for baby next year when baby arrives. so need to balance out.

sigh, i also feel like gg for holiday. Maybe will plan to go in my 2nd trimester. hopefully ...

ras,
of cos you can join ! the more the merrier !

ras,
welcome! so how many weeks are you now?

shane,
finally back in office
very quiet many not around. by the way have you break your pregnancy news to your collegues? i still havent yet. initially doesnt want pple to know as still not stable yet in 1st tri was thinking wait till 2nd tri...now 12wks liao but dunno how to break the news

ras, big welcome.

milly,
sometimes there are benefits to letting your collegues know earlier (but really depend on your office culture). They may be more understanding when you are feeling tired or not being about to carry heavy files/stuff.

Aiyo, my burping and indigestion is getting worst; especially terrible between 7-10pm.

hey cherry,
same as you, i also feel very bloated at night...i already try to eat my dinner very slowly but doesnt seems to help...

aleady told my boss so tat she understands why i cannot stay late nowadays....i think will slowly tell the rest...

hi gals and welcome ras
i'm finally back in work after 2 days of intensive ms (for the awake hours). doctor says will last for another month :-(

Anyway, i had already informed my superiors when i went for a 3 days mc around 5-6 weeks as they can't stop bugging me what happened to me.

milly,
i have not told colleagues. just like you cos not pass 1st trimester yet. But when comes to 2nd trimester also don't intend to annouce.. maybe when they start asking or they notice me getting fatter, then they'll know. I was hoping to keep from them till i wear maternity clothes. But i thot i should let my boss know earlier since i will have to go on maternity leave in time to come ...

re ms
ya my also at nite. after hvg dinner will feel very terrible. so last nite, i have a super light dinner and i really felt so much better. But i felt very tired last nite, don't know why.

Maybe u gals, try to have a heavier lunch and a lighter dinner. will feel better. I practically snack thru my dinner, didn't have a proper meal.

Hi Gals

Here's SPRING maternity's address as some were asking for it :
<font color="0000ff">Suntec City Mall #03-027 Family Link </font>

duno
I am in my 12 weeks now....as you were asking the cost of the clothing at SPRING. Pants ($50 plus), capri ($30-40), tops (ranging from $30-40 plus)

Hi Shane

I also feels very bloated esp after dinner even when I go to bed tummy still feels terribly bloated....

I am much better now....so gals dun worry as you progress to the 2nd trimester...things will get better.

Hi gals, hw r u all. Thanks for sharing the information w me. I aso heard the draw water test got some danger :p

after lunch getting sleepy already....

Shane,
hang on there... been thru it myself also, will be better once you into 12 wks....

do you girls know if we can eat durians? i have this craving but hubby says he heard cannot eat leh...

my fav food is hot &amp; spicy nowadays..always eating curry &amp; chilly stuff hopefully baby can take it

I think my worst period is week 7-8. now I m in week 9 I think I m better liao. last 2 weeks hv been taking cab home...
I dun like durian leh but I heard some pp said "pu" lor but tin heaty. Very scare constipation lah

is the DS test scan same as the ultra sound scan we go thru? me gg test in 3 weeks time and really would like to find out more.
Hey I m fat one leh my tummy quite thick so how is the scan gg 2 do really big tummy diff scan har?
Thks

I have been feeling very thirsty when i sleep at nite.. So thirsty that i need to wake up to drink water.. By the time i wake up in the morning, my lips very dry.. Any of u have the same experience huh??

dunnoleh,
Me already having very bad constipation b4 taking durian... Cannot imagine for the worse after taking durian..

milly,
Same here... I also have craving for hot and spicy stuff like laksa, tom yam, curry fish head.. If u have been taking such heaty stuff, better to drink lots of water then..

dunno,
if it is a scan test then should be the ultrasound scan..the other DS tests have to draw blood or water one...

you very cute leh....dun worry definitely can scan one leh no matter how thick stomach is...it is the same kind of ultrasound scan we went through on our rountine check. just tat doctor will enlarge your baby's neck area using the scan to do mesurement...

gals, i find tat taking prune juice will help constipation...have been drinking religiously about half glass (becos quite concentrated) every night and it really helps leh...

if it doesnt have any bad effects will buy durians when i go home, its so tempting as i passby the store everyday and been tempted to buy since last week...hehehe..

milly,
can eat durians. just don't eat too much. I have been eating them ! i love durians hee hee .. Just don't over do it cos sometimes can make u feel quite full.

Ya i hope to feel better soon. I'm in my 10th week already. 2 more weeks to go to 12th week. then i'll be gg for my next visit as well.

serrich,
i do feel thirsty but not to ur extend. Only when i wake up, i'll drink water before gg to work, last time didn't have such urge. I also feel my lips drier than before. So try to drink more water.

gals,
do u feel that the flow of ur pee is slower after preggie ? I noticed my is ley. Before preggie not like that ley ....

Milly
I love durians too before I was pregnant but now I can't stand the smell...maybe bb doesn't like to eat durians....

Serrich
My lips also very dry &amp; peeling nowadays. I never wake up becoz of thirst, only wakes up to pee. Hate that coz it disturb my sleep...

Hi Gals
Taking abt DS test...are you all doing Triple Blood Test or nuchal translucency scan?

adora,
i noticed i can sleep thru the nite nowadyas already. still wake up but it's later and i try to get back to sleep. so now it's much better.

I'm doing the Triple Blood Test and NT scan.

me too waking up at least twice sometimes even 3 times at night to pee really disrupting my sleep....but doc say this will get better when you into 2 tri....

already done the NT test and result is normal so not sure whether to do triple test...maybe check with doctor in my next visit

me slept thru whole night, probably due the drowsy nausea medicine.

my pee is slow and little too, but might be because i'm a bit scared of drinking water as it triggers more throwing up.

and eating curried flavour food (without the gravy) is the on my ok list for my ok list :D
Haven't tried durians yet, is last resort as hubby hates durians.