(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

So envy of u, Poohy...can see baby later...me got to wait for another week...my next appmt is next friday...

Do you gals crave for titbits and fastfood huh...my hubby keeps scolding me...although he lets me stock up the kitchen cabinets, but has to ask his permission to eat them!!..me can finish the whole burger with fries, but cant even finish a bowl of rice...

poohy,
Thanks, I am taking small frequent meals now.

Piglet,
I tried sour plums but it is too sour for me. I can't take sour stuff. I stock up on biscuits although I don't like to eat them.

Piglet,
No... me crave for spicy stuff, esp. curry

ras,
Empty stomach will cause a lot of gas and the gas will make you feel like vomiting. So... have to take something.

My next appointment is this Sat.
Me can't wait too

BTW, do you ladies run into problems with other kids? I'm living with my PIL and BIL's family (with a two year old kid). BIL's kid have tried to hit my stomach quite a number of times.

Poohy,
Yes yes yes tat happens to me when i become very hungry. I can die man ....... very xin ku feeling.. sometimes can be really depressed especially when i was in the car on the way home after work. I'll be like quite weak & my cramps will be coming again.. I really hope by Trim. 2 all will be better ...
Hey u only gain some weight ahh.. i gain quite alot liao since my 1st visit to gynea.

Gain 5KG u noe!!!!! I really freak out.

I feel like a king kong too.
I asked my gynea whether my weight gain is normal or not. She told me is ok as mine is basically water retention, but still i'm very worried.
BUT still i have to eat. SIGHS ......

Me start to wear maternity pants & 1 maternity top (top with ribbon tied behind 1) since last week. Aiyoh, practically wearing same old pants & tops everyday u noe.
So long u are comfy with ur current clothing ok 1 lar.
My fren started wearing aro 5th mth to 6th mth. So envy her leh.

Hey update us whether u able to see ur bb's head & hands yet or not? hehe i'm gog to see my bb on Nov 1. Looking forward to it too. hehehe

Ras,
Ehh i'm not sure of buying maternity clothes. Cos all passed dwn from Sis & Cousin.
U can check with the counter gal if u not sure.
But i think some are free size bah??
I also have no energy to buy maternity clothes at all.
Thinking this saturday gotta scout around an evening gown really make me so sian.

Ehh i dun think our shoulders will expand bah. Our arms will definitely expand though.
Btw, my arms already become much much fleshier.
Nowadays I feel abit like sumo westler.

How many weeks are u now?
Try to eat more , ok? Better for u & ur bb.

U taking milk everyday? try to drink 2 times per day. I just started to take Anmum 1 every morning & nite. I find it really not bad.
My dinner time I took very little too. No appetite to mouth down my MIL's food. After the meal, I'll take some fruits. Then later in the nite I'll drink the hot milk. I feel better abit lor. Maybe u can try too ..

Piglet,
Yup i somehow crave for macdonald fries. But i'm trying to curb myself from having these cravings.
Hee so far I'm quite guai liao, i havent touch any potato chips.

wat are the food tat u really crave right now & the food u dread??
I dun really have much craving, except maybe see macdonald, i'll crave the fries.

As for food i dread - Fish, drinking PLAIN WATER (only prefer cold) & MIL's cooking.

Any1 got phobia drinking plain water nowadays??
I really kinda phobia of tat taste. Everytime have to force myself to mouth it down. If cold water, then no problem lor.

Florence,
My niece is also 2 yrs old. But she very guai. I told her i got bb, she understand & will pat & kiss my tummy.

Twinklets,
I am 6 weeks now. I admire your appetite. I have problems drinking milk, maybe I should try Anmum. I also have problems drinking plain water, cold water is better.

I also have craving for junk food. Last night, I told hubby that I want to eat McNuggets, he nearly fainted.
I don't have any particular food that I dread.

i have started wearing maternity pants now, cant fit into any of my pants. Have to buy new bras and panties as the old ones are too tight.

Although my tummy has grown bigger, my weight gain is only about 2kg so far. I wonder why...my appetite has been good.

i have no problem drinking plain water. but i dun like to drink milk especially Anmum. Dun like the after taste.

Twinklets,

I heard about the Mac fries craving (most of my friend's wife have that).

I have cravings for Bakkwa (the sliced pork version), Penang laksa and ribbena.

As for food I hate - onion in oil & preserved veg.

Thats my nephew that tried to hit me... the last time he tried to hit my stomach with the badminton racket. He actually waited for me with the racket outside the washroom...

Florence,
That's a good thing to know if it's really true. At least all 'sufferings' are worth the while.

Ras,
Sometimes I go to the basin and just feel like vomitting but nothing comes out. End up digging myself to throw up. But I feel much better after that. I prefer throwing up than feeling nauseating..very psycho right hehe.. My appetite also a bit crazy sometimes can eat sometimes cannot. I tried drinking enfa mama but in the end all vomit out(without digging!). Do u feel giddy too? I'll feel giddy from afternn onwards..that's worse than nauseating.

Poshies,
Don't frightened me.I keep telling myself another few more weeks over liao. If MS persist to 2nd tri, I wonder will it affect my baby coz my weight currently has been dropping.

Oh mine, Florence! That's dangerous for u and ur baby...his parents knew?...Better take extra care or avoid being near him... 2 years old is on the know and dun know side...

Twinklets,

u r really guai...i cant imagine me not eating potato chips...for me, its either fries, harshbrowns or chips..hehe...

Ya, me also avoid fish...yucks...but fish is actually good for the baby, so die die also eat a bit...

As for Annum, my fren who had two children, warned me from having it, she said its v fattening...advised that HL milk's nutrients are sufficient enough for us..with Folic acid and multivit from the doc...

Tigger, me only gain one kg from day 1, but I m looking all round and bloated liao...especially, my waist, cant see it liao!!!...

piglet, same here, cant see my waist liao...have you taken your triple test? I just had my blood sample taken last sat. Decided not to do the NT scan afterall.

I will be doing the OB scanning 4 weeks later in Mt A. Hopefully by then can see if my baby is boy or gal..

twinklets, i had no problem drinking warm plain water...think now i had starting drinking a lot of water everyday at least more than 8 glasses cos too thirsty.

piglet,
His parent don't know as they were always in their room. But PIL knew and they will always prevent him from going near me... I wonder why as he wasn't like this before...

As for the milk powder, I got no choice as I'm lactose intolerence (can't take fresh milk). I take the Nestle (cause got folic acid too). I will have cheese and yogurt everyday too. For fish, I will take every other day, and I will also try to include in green leafy veg. or tofu in my diet.

Florence,
Maybe your nephew feel threatened by your baby? He may be worried that people will neglect him after your baby is born. My friend told me she once saw her elder son pinching her infant daughter.

Went for my check up yesterday, my brown spotting was due to low lying placenta. Any of you had this problem at the early stage??

I will try not to lift heavy things & I had stopped doing all housework now.. Is there anything else I should avoid?

I am also thinking of getting Milk Powder but Gyane said no Anmum coz it is too fattening. I should drink those Low Fat, Hi-Calcium milk.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Orea</font>

Thanks for the update. I am in my 7th week now EDD 6/6/05. Deliver in Glen E.

hi gals, heard tat mummy having lots pimples meaning having a baby boy.that's b'cos of the male homo against ur female homo. if u have smooth skin, then might having a baby girl. tat's happen to many of my friends, dun no whether anot.

gals...any one need to go for extra blood test due to thalassaemia??

me feel very tired thoughout the whole day, dun no whether any thing got to do with the blood count. got phopia going to work, after disscuss with my husband,decide to quit my job,
now more happier, can sleep until late morning, but need extra care when come to $$$.

I am like Florence, craving for ribbena. Even bought a big bottle at home, but mix that with room temp water. I also like cold drinks now. Though I hear say not to drink too cold. And I like flour stuff (bread) now, dun use to like them. But I havent gained any weight, am in my 12 weeks now.

linn, not necessary true. My colleague's sis just gave birth to a bb boy and her complexion is clearer and better thru out her pregnancy.

I think it really depends on individual. Some says the mum will become pretty if it's a gal but some say boy...so there are many different versions.

Another version I have heard is if it's a gal, the mummy will turned "ugly", cos the BB gal is taking away the mummy's beauty. So, different version to the myth.

I am on Week 5 now if I calculate from my last menses date. Am planning to see a gynae on week 7 or 8 as my hubby has got reservist coming the next 3 weeks so he will be so busy - no time for appts.

I am taking folic acid every day now but not sure if I lack of any other vitamins etc. what kind of food should pregnant mom take more ?

Is anyone here with Thomsom Medical Centre and with the gynae W K Tan ? My friend is with her and said she's quite good but very very busy. Appreciate any advice. Have not told my parents and in-laws yet cos not sure if there are any complications in this pregnancy until we go for our first appt with the gynae.

I have a small fibroid abt 1cm in size outside the uterus so quite worried if it will affect
the baby growth.

Oh boy... yeah I have been feeling cramps for the last 2 weeks already and sometimes, get so tired even in the day time. No feeling of nausea yet.

how about the size of your hips from the rear ? What I heard is that if there's an increase in your size of your rear, then maybe a gal. If not, then most likely a boy.

For complexion, I have seen some of my friends who give birth to baby gals and have very good complexion but my good friend had terrible complexion when she had her baby gal. So not sure what to believe in .....

hi ras
dun think our shoulders will expand...but our arms will grow fatter. mine's already expanding!

hi florence
olive oil considered as aroma oil also? it doesn't really smell good leh ;)..anyway, last time i started on olive oil when i was 6 weeks and my girl turns out fine. but i heard ppl saying not to eat too much bakkwa, cos got a lot of preservatives.

hi poohy
14 weeks already still can wear normal clothes?! really envy you...everybody thot i 5 mth liao. there is this colleague who will exclaim everyday that my tummy very big. ;(

Twinklets and ras,
If drinking plain water feels terrible, try drinking warm water or honey water. It does help.

I also have rashes near my tummy area...my SIL heard that the rashes can become into stretch marks if scratched. I dare not even touch it now. I've stop applying the olive oil for a while now. I'm wondering if that's the cause. But books tell me that applying powder on rashes will be better and i'm applying powder now to reduce the itch.

Gals i'm so upset yesterday till i broke down to cry. I look at myself in the mirror and i feel that i looked so fat. I've put on at least 6kg liao.
Friend told me that annum can put on a lot of weight. Somehow or rather i agree now. I hate to drink annum now. My colleagues also commented i'm growing very fat. It really hurts me badly till i really regret to have a bb.

hi mummies to be,
in the initial stages of pregnancy, my aunt told my hubby that i MUST drink Anmum... and hubby nagged and nagged... but i cant. i didnt drink milk even when i was a baby so how can he expect me to drink it now?!!!
so i substituted with HL milk. it was okay for a while until my mil (smart alec) heated up my glass of HL milk before giving it to me. i took ages to finish the milk and 5 mins later, ran to the toilet to throw everything out. now, i DONT even drink HL milk because it reminds me of the smell...
hubby is super unhappy with me... but i told him, why rock the boat when the boat was doing fine? now, i rely on pills given by gynea.
and every morning, hubby still ask me... "where's your milk?" i just look at him and smile. hehe

about these myths... heard so many ...
pregnant with boys - mummies like sour stuff instead of sweet
- mummies have nicer figures
- mummies' noses will become bigger
- mummies' tummies are more pointed instead of rounded... and the list goes on...

but i have friends who have girls and displayed all the traits above.

i guess, for the fun and entertainment value, we can listen lah..

gals,

an update on my checkup yesterday evening... we went earlier than the appt and literally went in for consultation straightaway! so good no need to wait...

saw bb and my gynae said his/her legs are kicking.. but I cant really see. My EDD had been updated to 16 April 2005. So I should be 14w5days now.... I was quite relieved to see bb still there and kicking...

was supposed to do triple test yesterday but I got confused over my own EDD lol.... and they say better play safe and do next week... cos its best to do triple test from wk15. I was quite relieved by that cos was not really prepared to draw blood yesterday.

I din gain much weight this time... it remains at abt 47.5 range. But my face is breaking out big time and I feel so painful and sad.

Hi Gals...
so envy some of the gals here is having small built..... me is hitting 60kg soon..... nearly fainted... with my own weight... though 3 week again I'm worried abt my weight din put on due to the ms but somehow.... it does...

Hi LV,
Well some pple will have ms through the preggie so.... i might be one of them.... u might not... though hear from my gyn... is okie with the ms as it is a sign that the bb is growing.... :p

Hi Krazbi,
So i'm not the only one been pressure to drink Anmum or milk by hubby..... but as my weight is piling up i don drink.... coz i want to control my weight.... when i'm hungry i try to take more healthy stuff like fruit instead of any other tibits.... anywhere taking more fruit n veg is good for the bb...

HI Florence,
yup i think u better avoid ur nephew or ask the rest of the family to look out for him from u...

Hi Linn,
yup u have to take thalassaemia, it is one of the triple blood test that the gyn will refer u to test... but if u have test prior to ur preggie u may give the report to ur gyn.... i tested b4 i'm preggie so no need to test anymore...

hi megtan,
I see gyn from TMC, but is dr kee...

hulo gals,

Alamak Amnum so fattening?? Issit due to their fatty acid? But understand their fatty acid is good for bb's brain &amp; eyes. Eversince I pregnant, I started taking HL milk until lately I switched to Annum. Frankly I hate powder milk, but funny thing is I can withstand amnum taste &amp; smell. I'll check with my Gynea whether I can cont' to drink since I dun want to increase so much wt now.
But hor, drink HL milk, I dun feel so 'safe'. hehhehehe Cos afterall it is more emphasized on high calcium.

Meow,
problem is i really hate drinking the warm water.
Maybe tongue bud change, i taste the water, got a really weird taste.

Meg,
I heard of WK Tan. Initially I want to engage her 1. But then heard she was very buzy, &amp; her waiting time is really long... Also her charges not tat cheap i think ..
I also very early have cramps. &amp; gynea told me is due to uterus (is tat correct term??) expanding.
But i was thinking 'alamak, so early can feel liao meh??' . Then i think think, may be partly due to constipation.
Do u have constipation?
When u go for ur checkout, remember to tell ur gynea u have cramps.

Poohy,
Your gynea so experienced, can see the legs kicking. hehehe U must be real excited when u gynea told u hor.

Good morning, gals!

For me, i dun drink milk everyday...cos has been having a lot of air in stomach off and on, milk will aggravate it..so, replacing it with soya bean milk lor, those warm ones...

Hey, Poshies, u hv me for company, me hitting the 7sss liao...haha.....

Glad to know that ur little one is enjoying him/herself inside u, Poohy!!!

twinklets,

ya glad bb kicking.. but I cant make anything out of the u/s... guess we are just not trained to

any of you gals going for your detailed scan soon ? I am scheduled to go for my detailed scan on 26 nov. Almost 20 weeks. Will we definitely get to see the gender of the bb by the time we do detailed scan....

Poshies,

I also read somewhere that MS means bb is growing well. So because of that, I'll 'enjoyed' the MS better ..
Yesterday I drink some coke and I felt so happy the whole day hahah!

gals,

I also heard that annum can make you gain lots of weight. I dun really like to drink the normal milk also. Do u think its sufficient to take the calcium supplement our gynae gave us ? I find those pills real big in size so I take them alternate days (naughty rite)..

will we get fat drinking soya bean milk ? I love soya bean milk the most... but i wonder whether it will cause bloatedness or any side effects ?

another thing is... do u all know which weeks we will start being able to feel bb movement inside us ???

Poohy,

U might wana add on by taking yorgurt....I simply love Anlene's...

as for soya bean milk, i have been taking it since i got pregnant...1 kg added, so far so good la...

I read in some articles that if its first born, we will be only feeling the movement in 18 weeks onwards...

Morning Ladies!

Hi Poshies, MIL have been looking out for me... but its easy to know if he is around cause he will always shout on top of his voice.

Hi LV, try not to drink too much coke as it contain caffeine.

Hi gals, I have been taking the Nestle Non Fat Hi Calcium Powder Milk every morning with 2 slices of bread with sunflower spread and a slice of chesse. Hubby don't like me drinking soy milk cause he read somewhere that some of the soy bean got pestiscide... Heard from gynae that some ladies with MS cannot stand the calcium or iron pills and will cause them further vomiting... For yorgurt, I'll take the SKI one
But if you don't take all of the above, can try to take tofu

Hi good morning

i want to check with u, On which week, your gynae can see your sac? i will be going to my gynae next week. think me will be in 5 week

Hi Jamci,

For my case, sac could be seen in 5 weeks 4 days...v small then...2mm only...used the vaginal U/S not the abdominal one...some uncomfort there lor, but it went off after seeing it...haha...

To be on the safe side, maybe wait for another week or more lor...continue with ur Folic Acid in the meantime...

jamci,

think by 5-6week shd be able to see the sac liao. By 8th week can see the heartbeat. This is for most people but some people see slightly later

I saw my bb sac at wk5 and by wk6, the heartbeat is seen also.

poohy, wow so fast can see bb sac!

ladies, if i tested on 14 Oct, it showed negative but i re-test again on 17 Oct, it showed faint line. so that mean i should be in which week?? me very confused.
Cos based on my last period 9 Sept and the standard formula, i should be 6 weeks now. But i only suspect i am in 4-5week now cos my ovulation &amp; those wet discharge is between 1-5 oct.

Hi jamci,
I called up the nurse at the gynae and she said it is based on the last menses date to count from so u should be on week 6 now. I am on week 5 and 2 days now. I plan to see her on week 8 as my hubby is on reservist for the next 2 weeks so will miss seeing her on week 6 and 7.

U gals, think it is too late ... better not to wait too long ??

hi twinklets,
That's the only gynae I know of. Do you have any good gynaes to recommend ?? Do let me know. Yeah, occassionally, I feel really tired and that's when I also feel some cramps in my tummy area. Is that ok ? No, don't have constipation.

I am taking the Nestle Hi-calcium non-fat milk. I cannot really tahan the smell.. so have to mix with fresh milk or chocolate milk.. :p Trying to take some cheese and drink soya bean too. As for MS... i have the urge to puke every other day but nothing comes out...:p To me.. it is better than vommitting.. :p

jamci: I am currently into my 8th week... I detected my bb's heartbeat in wk 6.

megtan, so i will be in 7 week when i visited my gynae next week, right?

hopefully they can scan my bb lor cos i do not want to go home wondering where is my bb if they cannot find it.

picinic, so u are using the v.s or on the abdominal one?

then think i can visit my gynae next week. i should be around 5-6 week

tks ladies!

jamci,

at 5-6 weeks think u still need to use vaginal scan most of the time
from wk8 onwards.. gynae will try to use abdominal scan .. if that fails, still fall back to vaginal scan.

I dun really like to use v scan .. though I had numerous such scan during ttc time. unlike abdominal scan, you need to pull down your pants etc .. I find it very troublesome.

Jamci,
If your period is irregular, you may be less that 6 weeks. The gynae will still use the standard formula to estimate how many weeks you are pregnant but when they can see the baby, they will re-estimate again based on the size of the baby. Hope this helps.

ras, yeah my period is irregular type so i scared that i might be less than 6 week now.
will tell the gynae abt this problem

poohy, then i better wear skirt.
more easy.
Is it painful?

jamci...

not painful lah... but u shd relax
some people are not used to v can and tend to get too tensed up at their muscle .. so just relax.. most gynae are very gentle.

btw, saw your posting at the other thread, actually I am seeing a gynae (consultant) at the kkh TPS at wednesday evenings (that's my gynae's time slot there after office hour). There is a u/s machine in every consultation room.. so yes your gynae will be scanning for u every consultation. This is with exception from the detailed scan at wk20 where you will go to ADC (antenatal diagnostic centre) for scanning. There the sonographer will scan your baby's organs etc. Another thing is, in the TPS and ADc, your hubby will be able to watch during scanning by our gynae, so he can share in the joy also

TPS is one stop service.. so u will see your gynae and get your medicine all at that place. There is a antenatal package but I am not taking it up. Probably will only take up their premier delivery package.

which gynae are u seeing there ?

Jamci,
I went on 6th week, but my sac detected measured at 4th week only. Can see sac only, but no heartbeat. Cos too small to detect any heartbeat.
This cause us lotsa worries.
If u dun want urself to worry too much, u can visit on ur 7th weeks onwards..

I also use the vaginal scan. Very sian lor, everytime gotto pull down the pants &amp; hubby can only wait outside. It was only on my 10th week, then I have abdominal scan, &amp; my hubby 1st time saw bb's heartbeating.

I'm not taking any calcium pills. If possible, i want to minimize those pill taking (except folic acid &amp; omega 3). I very sick of taking pills.
Arrrrgghh

Meg,
hmm My Gynea average only i find. But me too lazy to change now. hahahaha
I also dunno muz abt gynea .. sorry ..
I think it is ok to see ur Gynea on 8th week. You definitely need ur hubby aro 1, cos u'll need a shoulder to zz on during the waiting time. U taking Folic acid now? Start taking now if u havent start ..