(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

fries, i think, we had chicken nuggets, one scoop of ice-cream, grilled sambal fish, spag bolognaise.

concert, super chaotic, i think the most chaotic of all the concerts i've been to, even the gingerbread is better organised that this. Nayli performed the handbell but not the finale, cried when she saw her teacher gathering the kids for finale. I think the chaos caused the kids to panic as well. THere should be a back stage where kids can relax b4 performance.

hoho3, when u need? i can give you mine if u dun need urgently cos wen will be upgrading to a booster seat in a few month's time (when she grows a couple of cm taller). 100% accident free. brand is safety first.

hoho3, end march is abit too soon leh. anyway, that seat not suitable for newborn. abt 4 mths onwards, when the neck is more steady. i can probably pass to u like abt 5-6 mths later, can?

pax, she always want to sit on en's booster seat when en is not ard.

jannie
aiyo. Jo also lah. like to sit in M's car seat when he's not ard... M still not on booster seat. he dun like.

qdee
I went to bandung 14 yrs ago....hehe, hb just went last month for co. incentive trip....from him, I learnt there are a few factory outlets.

jannie,
i thought the kid should be at least 3 yrs old b4 using the booster seat?

New school orientation
J went for orientation, i'm keeping my fingers crossed that his enthusiasm continues when the school term starts. There was this funny incident that got be laughing.

He asked this boy, who came to sit at his table, for his name and the conversation went like this

J : What's your name?
Boy : Keaton
J : Kitten? You know, a baby cat is also called kitten.

I was quite embarrass was i dunno if the boy's parents heard it or not :p

Babygrace,

Hahaha! Oh dear!
I know how embarrassed & paisey U feel.

Ashley was asking me about why people die--a while back, we passed by a wake..

A: Somebody getting married? (cos we passed by a malay wedding at voiddeck the day b4)
Me: No..somebody died
A: Why?
Me: Well, when people grow older n older, sometimes they fall sick n if they dun get well, sometimes they die.

That evening, she saw an elderly man walking with a walking stick.
A: *pointing to the man* He going to die already?

Wah lau! I dunno where to hide my face!

bbgrace, i think the min is 90cm. wen is going to reach that ht soon i think... she's abt 88-89cm now. of course i will try to tong until 6 mths later. en started booster seat even before 2 yrs old cos he reached 90cm quite early, and also partly bcos he would always cry when i place him in car seat last time.... he was ok in booster seat.

folic, i think the guideline not zhun one. my friend's 2 yr old son is already 17kg. to me, as long as they are tall enuff not to let the seatbelt "cut" into their neck is ok.

Car Seat
I guess I'm v kiasu & kiasee..Ashley is still using the forward-facing child-seat...i think according to the manual can use until she's 20 or 22kg? By then, I'll prob switch to a booster cushion.

Jannie: I think the age, height n the weight matters. For younger kids, even though they may be heavier, their head weight/size may be a bigger proportion..so at any impact, the fear is neck injury.

BTW, where can I get nice-fitting shoes? A has been using Bata shoes n a pair of crocs...but overgrown. Brought her to Bata, she's in between sizes--it's either just nice-slight tight or much too loose.

for car seat, i share the same view as omg. it is absolutely no negoitations right from the start, no matter how much tantrums she throws. And yes, I think weight is equally important as height. The impact can sometimes fling the child out of the seat, even though he/she is tall enough.. but not heavy enuff.

folic

omg is there such a thing as nice-fitting shoes??? if so i would need it very badly as my my left foot and right foot differs by one size so if i buy one to fit the left, then the right would be loose and vice versa.

anyway, how abt those sports shoes? there's half sizes. For crocs what size is she wearing? N is currently c8/9 but it's tight now. Bought her mickey sandals and she said she wants crocs and refuse to wear any others other than Nike and crocs. So bought her c10/11 and it's too big. Same problem as u.

wah.. my kids got big feet leh. M wears C10/11 liao.. Jo wears C6/7.

omg
M got a pair of NB jogging shoes. they hv girl design too. maybe can consider. wear shoes a little loose, can wear socks. we find Bata shoes quality vv questionable. can spoil w/in the 1st month...

Qdee,
Hahaha..I wish there were! I think the biggest problem is in-between sizes..mine not too bad, but A's really in-between. I can't rmeember the Crocs size (she wore it out while i was sleeping n she's not back yet :p)

Pax,
M is boy so prob got bigger feet.
My friend was saying NB is good (for adults, but i suppose shd be good for children as well)...cos of the way it contours n dunno-wat, so can support the feet v well..maybe will go check out NB

I always hear complaints about Bata shoes but so far *touchwood* we're quite ok lah, i think cos she's quite sedate outside, dun jump/run around so much when we're out--she only monkey around at home :p

hey girls, qdee just replied my sms.

2pm
raffles city

she wants to eat their sweets, i will just have a late lunch there cos i saw their menu got pasta and whatever.

who else going ah?

qdee
jannie
pax
folic
bbgrace

hi hi girls, i need help. anyone knows where to buy really big maternity panties? mothercare do not have such big size.

alamak! i panick station !!
i itchy finger and went to some stupid online forum abt preparing the kids on P1 and realised *horrors* that my gal is UNDER prepared!!! jeng-jeng-jeng!!!!!!!!!!
And i have only 2 days to prep her! how how???
no math enrichment, no english enrichmnent, no malay enrichment ... no enrichment at all!!! die la.

qdee, hope the afternoon tea and macaroons calmed you down sufficiently :D

Thanks for the company this afternoon and listening to my rambles

happy new yr everyone!

folic

folic.. i just need enough sugar to spike my blood a bit. It must be one of those times when i am sugar-starved and the mind stopped working! what was i thinking?

jan, did u get my sms yesterday? marina mothercare has size eur 44/16. Think that should be really one of the largest!

oh shit .. wonder who the hell i sms'ed!hahah

Anyway gals!!! Happy New Year!!! Hooooray!!!
Can go watch fireworks at marina barrage ... esplanade

someone out there is wondering why qdee is asking abt undies... hahaha!

Happy New Year everyone!! I am already bathed and ready for bed b4 9pm... hahah :D

omg, happy new year!! No it didn't disturb me at all.. :D But i was bz settling yx so nvr reply.

Happy New Year everyone! My wish is for everyone to stay healthy and happy!

Happy 2009 to all!

Re: gathering on 30 Dec, what time did you gals stayed till? I was at raffles city with my mum and 2 kids on 30 Dec too. Went around the pastry shop at abt 4.30pm - 5pm but didn't see you all.

just now was pasting her name on her school books hahahah ... see how last minute i am? bought the books in Nov and only today i opened the box! :D

Today's bravery award goes to Cayden! I reached school at about 830 and his phantomic parents are already standing outside the class looking bored. Cayden, on the other hand, is eating his chee cheong fun and looked on by 3 gals. :D Under his good influence, YX did not cry at all when I left. The phantomic parents went out for breakfast.. and I wonder if they remembered to go back for parents' orientation.

poohy, hope the 2 kids settle down in their full day routine. J looked very chirpy, even in the morning!

folic

qdee, yah.. the ghosts didn't reappear at school until have i have arrived! tsk tsk tsk... but the boy was great.. i saw him holding hands with another gal while they walked out of the class. and the teachers' comment was he is really confident and talkative. hahaha! the ghosts really hv it ez!

and congrats on surving the 1st day!

folic

btw, my kid din cry BUT .....
her silly mama cried *a teeeny weeeny little bit* during the Majulah Singapura! what a freaking joke, huh??
The song very solemn la .. and my hormone a bit havoc .. what's with no breakfast.. hahahha

Bravo to Q, Cayden and YX! Well done!

So what about J?

He started the day raring to go. Woke up at the unearthly time of 6.40am and asked why is the sky still so dark? He was the first to arrive in school. Happily greeted the principal and teacher and went into the classroom (i went in with him since the rest of the kids were not there yet). He picked up the books and read by himself while I spoke to his teacher. Teacher was surprised that he could recognise words by sight and attempt to blend those that he didn't recognise. Chinese teacher came and he warmed up to her though he replied to her questions in English. Both teachers told me that he shouldn't have any problem adjusting.

Then the rest of the kids came and as the parents started to stream out of the classroom, some kids started crying. J also started to manja and refused to let mr bbgrace out. Told him that we would be watching him from the window. Tears started streaming down his face and the class was chaotic with crying kids. We realised that almost all the boys were crying while NONE of the girls cried. Sigh!

We decided to stay out of his sight when we realised that he actually stopped crying when we are not around. The rest of the parents also started doing the same, so it was quite a comical sight to see parents playing hide-and-seek around the school compound whenever the kids moved from classroom to toilet or to the dining room. We were unfortunate to be "caught" by him when he saw us peeping at him while he was coming out of the dining room. He ran after us while we tried to duck but to no avail. So in the end mr bbgrace and I decided to go take a walk to our new place instead to inspect the building progress :p

So we decided not to reappear when class ended otherwise he wouldn't board the school bus. Quite poor thing lah cos other parents all came to pick the kids but not us and I saw him crying from where i was hiding. We trailed the school bus and went on a 1 hr tour of his bus-mates' estate. He caught sight of our car from the bus while the bus made a u-turn after dropping a kid. Our instant reaction was to duck. Stoopid lah, as if he can't recognise the car. Saw him crying again but the subsequent times when he caught sight of us, he was ok. The first thing he asked when he got down the bus was why were we following him to his friends' house.

The real test comes on monday when it's a full 4 hr session (today is 2 hr only) and he knows what to expect by then. He seems quite cheerful when recounting the happenings to my maid. But then again, i wont be surprised if he starts getting manja again on monday.

My only worry is the 1 hr bus journey. Even I felt so tired following the bus. Just hope it's just a max of 6 mths that he would have to travel so far. He takes his breakfast at 7am. Snack time is 9.30am and he only get to reach home by 1.30 to 1.45pm. Imagine how tired and hungry he would be. I've asked the teacher to let him have a packet of milk b4 he boards the bus (no eating or drinking on board). Hopefully that will help ease off some hunger pangs.

folic, you've made the right choice to keep yx where she is. So far i'm happy with the school but i think logistically, it's challenging. Imagine YX having to travel the same distance for her 3 yrs there unless you all shift house

phantomz,

nice to meet you yesterday in school. Cayden seemed to be a very confident boy... hopefully some of those confidence will rub off on S as they spend time together in the afternoon after school

folic,

thanks.. first day of school was tiring for me. I was full of anxiety and couldnt sleep well the night before. We decided on full day cc only these last month or so... so even I was having some knee jerk last minute reaction wanting to postpone the start of full day .. but since the school already made arrangement, we decided to go ahead.

In the morning, its amazing to be able to reach in time cos I need to express milk and the 3 kids needed to be bathed. J was as always all ready to cheong into her classroom. She din even turn back to look at us. Her teachers told us she din cry at all the whole day and allowed them to bath her.

S on the other hand was clingy when we reached school and cried when I told him I am leaving. I guess its becos of his character plus the new teachers and new classmates. Anyway, I know he will stop crying the moment I leave, so I left and his teachers told me that he stop crying shortly after.

My mum and I plus Joshua stayed ard in vivo city till 5pm to be nearer so that we can go see them in case anything happen. We went back to take a look at him during nap time but cant see much and dun want him to catch us... so we left.

After sch, S was telling me he enjoyed his first day... to my surprise.