(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

can i join u all here?

saw Dr Adrian from SK. I did a u/s and a v/s but cannot detect anything even tho my LMP was 21/5 but he think my pregnancy is very early. . But did a urine test there so pregnancy is confirmed. estimated EDD is end feb/early mar. it's my first pregnancy. actually i did my own HPT at home. but vertical line very faint.

oh no i had bitter gourd soup just last week. anyone know why we cannot take?

Hi Tiny
most of my frds oso saw their gynae only fr 9 wks onwards... after seeing so many gals here going for their u/s already, so me 'heart itch itch' *hee*

Congrats Scarydoggie
erm, i steered clear of bitter gourd after i found out i was preg cos think it is very liang ( cooling ) . old folks believe may b too liang 4 the uterus ....

Hi Seiko,

Congrats to you too. And to all mommies-2-b here!

then I have to wait and see and also be careful in my diet from now on.

Hi scarygoddie
my last AF was 31/5, so yr EDD shd b earlier than mine too
wahhh, seems that my 'dot' the most junior *hehehe*

i try 2 avoid cold drinks now ( can kill cos im a coke lover :p ), if REALLY cannot tahan need 2 drink cold water fr fridge, then miz half wif room temp water. no more sashimi too ( RATS *heheh* )

Me at work today. Stomach still feel very weak, coz yesterday night didn't manage to eat a proper dinner, just keep drinking soup. My colleague ask me how come I still look very sick, so had to tell her that I'm pregnant.

The other time I saw the TCM documentary, the physician say bittergourd contains codeine, not suitable for pregnant women.

Seiko, I'm a big coke light and ice-cold water fan, so i know how u feels abt "lack" of cold fizzy drinks. =p

java,
must rest more. drink soup is sometimes a form of getting nutrients for the baby. get a quick nap during lunch time if possible.

for now, i guess i only can wait to see how "dot" is doing (to see if any side effects of bittergourd). =(

Morning gals
Thks , Joyce/Oceans for the detailed 'pantang' advise

welcome to all new members!!

Yesterday went out with friends...got to know one of them 'may be' pregnant too..The problem is she tested nothing on any test kits but missed her AF, have persistent spotting & abdomen pain. The GP suspect she might have ectopic pregnancy..& she is trying to fix an apptmt with the gynae for scanning...

My heart really went out for her as she & hubby have been married for 4 years & she has history of ectopic pregnancy before..

Sorry, for the 'bad news' this morning..I am starting to be really emotional. But after listening to her stories, I really think that life is so unpredictable & we must really feel blessed that we are all given a piece of the miracle of life...

Thank you All for your advice.

Joyce, which gynae did you see in KKH?

Tiny, wow 4 weeks can see the sac! How many weeks are u in now? U must be real excited to see the movement of the baby.

hi scarydoggie,
Dun worry too much. Anyway your bittergourd must have been diluted into the soup liao, so not so "strong". I also eat liver though its said that better not to eat.

hi lbs,
Yes. We must be thankful that we are blessed with a child. Such things are beyond our human control and can only trust God's Will for us. What we can do is eat well and sleep well and leave the rest to Him.

This thread is really beginning to be really active.

Hi Tiny,
Hopefully in 2 weeks time, I'll be 8/9 weeks, I can see the movement of baby.

KC,
Welcome & congrates!!

1st timer is usually quite KS cos we r kan cheong & want to confirm the results.

I tested +ve abt 2days aft I missed my AF and made an appt to see my gynae on the same wk. I was on my 5th wks & he did a v-scan. Going back in 2 wks time & hopefully can c the hearbeat by then.

<font face="comic sans ms">Hi <font color="119911">KC</font>, Mine was <font color="aa00aa">Dr John Tee Chee Seng</font>.

Today my MS is getting a bit serious.</font>

hi java
Yeap...we all muz really be thankful for this precious gift given to us...

Hi KC
Welcome to this thread..

Hi Joyce
Poor thing...you feeling nausea? sayang~sayang hor...

Today, I dont really feel nausea but the 'crampy' feeling is quite obvious lor...

<font face="comic sans ms">Hi <font color="aa00aa">lbs</font>, but I like the feeling leh
112770.gif
. Anyway thanks for your sayang hor
112771.gif
. </font>

<font color="ff6000">Tiny</font>, so cute, can see the movement of your baby!!
Until now, the only thing i saw on the screen is one slightly bigger dot and the little flickering heartbeat!
But then, you know, that is always the first thing i asked the doc. <font color="ff0000">Any.... Heartbeat??</font>

<font color="119911">lbs</font>, no problem! But now i also was thinking if i shld go for my hubby SIL's BB full month.
I know her sis currently pregnant will also be there! Till now, my in-laws, they just suspected tat i pregnant, but we never admit. Just told them that that i had grow fat! Wait till i after 1st trimester lah!! But my family already know abt it!

a big welcome to the new members

how's everybody ? Today i am feeling quite ok so far, think this wk, my ms only started in the evening. Last time it can happen at anytime of the day.

Do u gals drink cold water nowadays? Though a lot of ppl have told me that to avoid cold water in the 1st trimester, but i can't tahan lor.. and sometimes i like to drink gassy drinks like pepsi, 7-up.

Hi Oceans,

How come you dun wan to inform your in-laws? Ermm, will they be angry with you if you decided to announce it after your first trimester? I think parents and in-laws are ok right? At least they can take note and cook more "bu" food for u?

Joyce, thanks for the list of N0-NO list.
For cheese and milk, which are the type that we should avoid or which are the ones that we can eat? How abt those pkt cheese selling at supermarket?

Talking about tired. Really very very tired. Sometimes I can suddenly feel very sick and uncomfortable. Like shivering cold, sudden hunger, then no strength to walk.

Oh yes, I also a coke lover. Just realise that sprite does not have any caffine. PErhaps you gals wanna switch over to sprite?? I'm still drinking but not with ice lor, and also reduce to few slips only.

Gynae said can eat and drink anything, but in moderate portion.

Hi java,
thanx. everything in moderation. =)

Hi lbs,
agree with Java, even tho I may be a bit caught unprepared for my pregnancy, I thank God for the little life that's growing in me. so we must take care of yourselves.

steamboat,
i like to drink fizzy stuff but have since make myself drink more water. takes getting use to...

<font color="0000ff">Steamboat</font>, my MIL who is a hsewife had never cook any "bu" things for me, even during my last miscarriage.
It is my mum that purposely took leave to cook for me. As a matter of fact, even my SIL's mother, tat time, even offer to cook for me if no ones cook.
112804.gif
I let my hubby decides if he wanna to let his mum know abt my current pregnancy.
I think my hubby felt that the pregnancy is still not stable yet and thus he din really wanna tell them. Scared of nagging, i guess!

Agreed with <font color="119911">snowpooher</font>, try not to take those drinks that contain caffine such as coke and pepsi! Cold drink is alright, just dont take too much!
talker.gif

Mmm, beside telling immediate families abt the pregancy, anyone informed your close friends and colleagues?

For my case, when ppl asked, I will just admit cos it is a truth. If I lie, few mths down the road, tummy can see liao, then like not so nice like tat. Dun want to give ppl impression that I'm someone who lies.

For me, I have to inform my boss of my pregnancy, so that he can be more tolerable if i underperform (cos I m constantly tired), or I suddenly have to take off due to sudden case of dizziness.

Just had my gynae appt. Scan shows that my dot dot is 6.5 weeks old, but when I count, I should be 7.5 weeks already. But as long as can see growth and detect heartbeat as compared with last scan, I m really very relieved liao.

snowpooher, i just asked my doc how to cope with my MS... I told him that I m extremely tired and no apetite, but still gets hungry often. He says that I simply have to go through this stage for a while longer... it will pass. sigh... say like never say like that

So far, i informed immediate families &amp; close frds abt the pregancy. As for colleagues &amp; frds, will tell them when they ask loh!

hi gals I saw the heartbeat of my 7 wk old baby last nite!! very happy to see the flashing spot on the monitor! Doc told my hubby now that we can see the heartbeat, chances of miscarriage has dropped tremendously to only 10%. In another 3 wks, if all is well, it will drop to only 5%.

doc adv me to stil take care of myself and estimated my EDD to be be 15 Feb 05. He jokingly say that I can't enjoy my chinese new year liao. My foetus is measuring 1.4cm.

hi java, regarding codeine u mentioned, the cough syrup I was prescribed by my gynae contained codeine too. din know bittergourd contain codeine one..

Same too. I also informed my boss too. So that he can tolerent my bad performance, if any.

Haha, really say like never say like tat. BTW, I din try this, but was introduced by the nurse. She said make a "weak" tea (any type of tea, but dun brew it strong, just 1 to 2 mins). Dip salted biscults into the "weak" tea and eat. She said she taught many women and it works well on most preggie mummies.

Actually, the no. of weeks... I think it depends on how the gynae did the calculation. I searched from web saying there are 3 types of calculation. The most common used is calculated from the last LMP. As long as the BB is fine, no need to be detailed on exactly how many weeks it is lah.

<font face="comic sans ms">Aiyo, I like those <font color="119911">FIZZY</font> drinks too!! But for good well of my BB, better restrain myself from drinking them for 9 months.

Inform you ladies something important again, <font color="ff0000">Do not stretch your arms high above your head
112822.gif
, it's quite dangerous for the foetus at late 2nd trimester and 3rd trimester coz' the cord may tangle BB's neck!! If you gonna to place your bamboo back to the original place (normally at above one), ask your hubby to place it back for you
112823.gif
.</font>

<font color="ff6000">2nd thing, sleep by your side (late 2nd trimester and 3rd trimester) , Do not lie flat
112824.gif
or the oxygen cannot transfer to the foetus, then it'll cause brain lack of oxygen. Of coz' at our last trimester, we found it difficult to breathe smoothly due to our big tummy when we lie flat on our back.</font>

Just telling you all my experiences, hope you ladies here can understand my nagging and be cautious throughout the <font color="aa00aa">happy 9 months</font>.

Haha, one more thing ah... sorry hor, did you ladies buy 8 Days? This week front cover is Li Lin leh, her tummy very beautiful leh, with no stretch marks one (er...maybe high tech now using computer to cover it's blemishes)... so envious... mine one...?! sigh.</font>

112825.gif

Like some of you gals, i've told my boss since i need to go for weekly visits to gynea. i've also told a few who worked closely with me so that they can "take care" of me.

Those whose EDD are in the 1st half of Feb05, did you realise we will face a potential problem of not being able to get confinement lady because of the CNY?

we haven't told many people besides my two gal pals. not even our parents yet.

joyce, thanks for sharing. keep the info coming.
will see if got 8 days on my way home.

For me, i had told my boss n some close collegues too as i constantly need to go and see a gynae. But for some collegues who are not that close, i din tell them even if they ask. Cos felt that it is too early and maybe abit pantang!

<font face="comic sans ms">Hi <font color="aa00aa">snowpooher</font>, I think the cheese that we bought @ supermarket should be no problem.</font>

Hi Joyce
I like the whatever MS feeling too!!hehehe
Give me more!!!
112852.gif

Hi Oceans
Yups, I think I will skip lor, the elderly said is something like "Xi Chong Xi"..not good lar..

But talking abt announcing my pregnancy, firstly, I dont really pantang on this lor..Also, since I need to be on 5 days MC last week, bo bian muz let boss know &amp; since boss know, all my team members also know...

I have also told my parents &amp; PIL abt this...

As for some frenz, we di go out after I confirmed my pregnancy. I think they suspect because I was feeling rather sick &amp; told them I cannot eat this &amp; that, so they asked, i admit liao..

me too, i told my parents and in-laws as well as some of my close friends.
i also told my boss and a few of my close colleagues cos past few weeks have not been feeling good. But hor, i told my boss liao, he still gives me so much work to do. Arghh... :p

How many of you want to engage a confinement lady?
Hmm, have thought of that but it costs at least 1.5k ya? Maybe i ask my MIL to be my confinement lady instead.

hi lbs,
u abit "ki siao". I MS until I going crazy liao, until last night I told God to give me a reprieve so that I can go to work today.

hi Joyce,
About the raising ur arms above ur shoulders in 3rd trimester. Its true. coz that's what happen to me the last time. Thought of ordering a prenatal heartbeat monitor from US.

<font face="comic sans ms">Hi <font color="aa00aa">Java</font>, that's expensive, I guess. Any idea how much is that?

<font color="ff6000">lbs</font>, same same here, heehee.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Java</font>, if i am not wrong, i think i had ever read that some of the mummies-to-be from the Sep to Dec'04 thread mentioned that they got bought the heartbeat monitor.
But she is already abt 15wks liao and still cant hear anything! So i was abit skectical abt this!

<font color="ff6000">lbs</font>, oh so sad if i was to skip it cos actually i wanna eat the buffet!!
112891.gif
Dont noe why, but recently, i feel hungry very fast!!

<font face="comic sans ms"><blink><u><font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">~~Congrats to all our Newly Expectant Mommies!!~~</font></font></u></blink>

112915.gif
<font size="+2"><u><font color="0077aa">February Babies</font></u></font>
112916.gif

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff6000">XxTriciaAnnxX (Tricia).............EDD6/03/04</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">thebabycatcher (Megan).............EDD6/04/04</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff6000">Charity............................EDD6/05/04</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Luminata707 (Luminata).............EDD6/11/04</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff6000">miraclebaby........................EDD6/15/04</font></td></tr></table>

112917.gif
<font size="+2"><u><font color="0077aa">March Babies</font></u></font>
112918.gif

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff6000">XxTriciaAnnxX (Tricia).............EDD6/03/04</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">thebabycatcher (Megan).............EDD6/04/04</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff6000">Charity............................EDD6/05/04</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Luminata707 (Luminata).............EDD6/11/04</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff6000">miraclebaby........................EDD6/15/04</font></td></tr></table></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="ff0000">Example giving</font></font>
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

<font face="comic sans ms">What do you ladies here think of my this EDD list? I got this idea from a US message board.
Nice? Shall we continue with this EDD update list? If so, please give me your EDD so that I can update to my list. Thanks.</font>

<font face="comic sans ms">I'm too bored liao, so I created this table for all the ladies here...
If you don't like the idea, never mind lah, heehee.</font>

Hi KC, my last appt was last Sat (3/7) when it was dated 9 weeks. My EDD was 6 Feb during my 2nd visit, and changed to 5 Feb during the last visit...apparently just before CNY! Yay! Don't have to go visiting!
haha...good excuse.

Joyce, your table very cute leh. You're very good at these things! I saw your boy in the other thread. So cute! Lovely big eyes! Are those from you?

Lite Breeze, so happy for u! The little heartbeat really brightens up the day doesn't it?

Talking abt heartbeat monitors, i had a colleague who brought it to work everyday in her last trimester. I had no idea what it was at that time and was wondering why she was so obsessed about her own pulse!

Hi Joyce
I wan to sign up!!!!
My EDD 14 Mar!

Where?? where's your boy picture??? I wan to see!! hahahahaa

Morn Ladies

Joyce me me me! *heheeh* so excited :p

thanks 4 creating the list, greatly appreciated

i haben seen gynae, so according 2 internet, EDD shd be Mar 7th

got pix 2 c ah?? i wan i wan iwan 2 c!

Hello Ladies,

May i join in tis thread? I'm in my 6weeks+ pregnancy &amp; my EDD shld be on the 27th of Feb. I went to see my gynae &amp; i saw my bb's heartbeat for the 1st time. No amt of words cld describe the happiness i felt.
I'm sure most of u here wld hv already experienced tt feeling!

Hi Joyce,

Cld u include me in the list too? Thks!

I hv a qns...Can anyone help? Do we need to wear bra during our pregnancy? I usually go braless at home but am wondering if tis will affect the breast in breastfeeding in the ltr stage?

Hi morning ladies,

oceans, i'm like you feeling hungry all the time. =p

steamboat, think i will ask my mom to help me out during my confinement period.

joyce, i love the bright cheery list!
but my edd not confirmed tho gynae placed it end feb/early march 05.

Seiko, can let me know which website you go to check out your EDD?

BabyVon, congrats!

<font face="comic sans ms">Good morning ladies, glad that you all like the idea!!

<font color="ff6000">Tiny</font>, a lot of cute babies over there leh!! I love all the babies there...

<font color="119911">lbs</font>, you can see a lot of babies photo... er... including mine over that thread... Babies Photo</font>

hi BabyVon,
Its up to you if you wan to wear bra or not, try not to wear too tight ones, it will constrict the milk ducts from developing.

Hi Oceans, Joyce,
Actually when the "accident" happened to my bb last year, I have already researched on these heartbeat monitors. The most sensitive monitor is sold in US for abt US$280, it has digital readings and is similar to the ones the gynaes use. I even met up with this guy who sells baby monitors that monitor the breathing patterns on babies when they are sleeping. Not to scare you all, but in US/Canada they are very aware of SIDS (Sudden Infant Death Syndrome) where the baby just pass away in their sleep without no rhyme or reason. Apparently this doesn't happen often in Asia, reasons could be the culture or weather, dunno also.

ok Joyce, I will go over to the other thread to see your boy's photo

Welcome BabyVon!
I dunno will this affect breastfeeding or not but I also go braless at home...so sore &amp; painful now mah..

But I thought braless is actually good for blood circulation?

Hi Joyce
Wow, you boy-boy sooooo cute...Does he takes after you??

<font face="comic sans ms"><blink><u><font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">~~Congrats to all our Newly Expectant Mommies!!~~</font></font></u></blink>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="+2"><u><font color="0077aa">
112984.gif
February Babies</font></u>
112990.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff6000">Tiny.............EDD 05/02/05</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">BabyVoN.............EDD 27/02/05</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff6000">Joyce............................EDD 28/02/05</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Java.............EDD ?/02/05</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>
112991.gif
<font size="+2"><u><font color="0077aa">March Babies</font></u></font>
112992.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff6000">Seiko.............EDD 07/03/05</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Laugh.............EDD 07/03/05</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff6000">lbs............................EDD 14/03/05</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Scarydoggie.............EDD ?/3/05</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></td></tr></table></font>
112985.gif
112986.gif
112987.gif

112988.gif
112989.gif

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="119911">lbs</font>, he takes after his dad but still got a bit of my genes lah... heehee

Hey gals, I thought of something again. Shall we also update our gestation weeks, haha?? Me really too free liao...</font>