(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Jen,
hehe...ya, may be jean feels real bore at home!! "how come daddy mummy dun play wif me..."

rochelle,
Nat is sleeping now! will check tomorrow see how many lines/folds she has!!
how abt yr boy? how may folds he has?
glad to hear he pass the test! coz he know this time must pass, else mummy will arrange tougher PE session for him!! kekeke...
last wk HB n me oso discussed abt the RH massage class, but conclusion is both of us too lazy to attend the class... :p

duffy,
when u bring chloe for her jab u will bring along her assessment book rite? so PD will exam bb accordingly. PD will need to tick those small boxes to record bb's progress. as for her wt, think oso got indicate percentile in the book. but i think since he nvr mentioned anything then chloe shld be alrite!

Duffy,

I'm a FTWM.

COOING AND LAUGHING ALOUD

When JinJin was 1+ month, she started cooing. Then, a few weeks back, she suddenly became very quiet. Aside from crying, she would hardly make any sounds at all. I know that sometimes the brain would focus on other developmental aspects and the baby would stop doing something which he/she could actually do. However, that did not stop me from worrying, so I took her to a PD yesterday. The PD checked her ears, said they were clear and confirmed that there was no ear infection. He did not offer any explanation for JinJin growing quiet, but he said that cooing and laughing aloud were not developmental milestones.

This evening, JinJin suddenly laughed out loud. I feel better than before seeing the PD, but I'm not entirely at ease.

Has anyone experienced something similar? How vocal are your babies right now?

TBL,
my driving basic theory result will be out in one week time. So far i confirmed got 2 wrong answers liao.. still got chance lah....
My hubby also want to have 3 children, but have to depend on our financial situation first, also my age factor lah...sigh...

duffy,
hi, i also heard those elderly told me before regarding the timing of conceiving boy or girl, they also said between Dec and Jan is the best time to conceive boy leh...however, sometimes this thing is beyond our control loh...

Yu,
yesterday i bought a pack of Dumex rice cereal leh, will let my girl try it. Hope she likes it.

Rochelle,
I also heard of another method to check whether ur next baby is boy or girl leh, just look at your baby's nipples, if it's inverted, means next one will be a girl, if it's protrude then will be a boy...anyway, i think this is just a myth lah..

Rochelle
My gal left side got 2 fold and right side got 1 fold..How to see?

Dirda
I didn't bought Dumex Rice, Coz it seem like not very nice. Anyway, tell me ur gal like anot.

YYP
My gal have been talking very loud and sometime even scream... She very seldom will shut her mouth unless shy.

LH/ Dirda
I also intend to have 2 more bb, no timing lo, just nature. But wish to have it by this or next yr for the second one... As for the chinese DOB, my gal born on 23 August ( chinese), is friday den my hubby go buy 4D on the sat morning for 0923 and win the 1st price for $25,000. So our gal is our lucky stars! Within a months, this 0923 open 3 times in a months but we only buy 1 times.

TBL,

my boy threw up his milk twice yesterday and once today after his jab. maybe you might want to feed Natalie less milk per feed after she have her jab.

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Yap, he checked my baby's kidney, than after we came out of the room than remember the book with tests...
Than we ask the lady by the counter to help us ask the doc abt this monthly checks. And u know wht, she just came out of the PD room and say she can help us fill in the blanks... she ask us the questions stated on the book and checked the blanks for us.. *dished*
Very bo chap hooor... ahyoh, but we got no choice leh, this doc supposed to be very good in kidney's problem...

<font color="ff0000">YYP</font>
Hey, if u scroll up to see one of my post, the book I read says tht it's normal to be a little bit quiet at certain stage, cause they are suddenly aware and observed the events happening around them. So while they are adapting to this new findings, they tend to be a little bit quieter...
It of course differ on different baby, just another guide for us to see lor...

My girl is less vocal, compared to a months ago, but there are certain timing of the day when she's good in mood and safe on our bed where she'll starts cooing for awhile...

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
Waah! u very rich liao, got a "cai shen ye" at home heehee
u want another "gan nu er " anot haha

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
tht's her 4th month jab har, how much are u feeding huh? 5 times per day?

Yu,
Your baby so cute!
Dumex is the only brand of rice cereal i could find at the shop n save, not much variety for baby foods there loh, which brand is good?

Sorry, been mia for quite a while. Been feeling tired and backache these days. Age is really catching up ... *sigh*

These days my boy do sleep early(around 9~10p.m.) but same as TBL's Nat &amp; Duffy's Chloe, he has been waking up @ around 3 a.m. for feeds. About a week ago he was able to sleep through for about 7~8 hrs, then dunno what happen leh ...

Duffy,
Me SAHM (intend to go back to work when he's 6 mth old but still need to find a good place e.g. infant care centre to leave him)

Oh ya, relieve to know that Chloe's condition is not serious.

Chart for Baby Sex
-------------------
Not true for my case leh, my chk before the scan indicate a bb girl leh.

LH,
The below formulae is from Mrs Wong(TMC)'s childcare book :

Est. suitable amount per feed =
(150ml X Wt. of Baby) / No. of Feeds per day

My boy also waking up for nite feeds now though he manage to sleep through for a few days, then he revert back to waking up, dunno why leh??!

Hi Didar,
Good luck for your theory test!

YYP,
I also find my boy less vocal these days and if he is in good mood then he'll keep making sound lor.

Yu,
I think you're doing very well being so young,keep it up!!And what a lucky gal you've got!!

Rochelle,
The massage thing issit a 1-time session? For how long ah?Seems interesting leh.

Saw ur posting on bringing out ur boy on ur own, u'r really good leh. I must hv someone with me one lor cause so many things to carry. The stroller alone I cannot manage liao. Another thing which I fear most is when he poo ... poo ... hahaha ... can be quite messy lah ...

Flip
----
My Aaron still cannot flip over, only can tahan @ 90 deg. Think need to do more PE with him also.

eh, today this thread is not at it's usual place. so i tot how come the thread missing...

YYP,
most of the time Nat will laugh/ smile when we tok to her. but at times when she is bad-mood she just 'bo chap' no matter how we play wif her. hmm... may be they oso has mood swing..

rochelle,
is boy bot better now? drinking as per normal alr? aiyo, i observed nat will drink more than usual after her jab lei! may be i dun feed her too much. but if she protest n ask for more then bo bian must give.

Yu,
$25k!!!! wow.. ur HB &amp; u must be
!! must buy more toys for elicia! different nbrs of folds? then may be next one twins!!

dirdar,
2 wrongs then got high chance lah! kep us posted!

duffy,
nvm lah. important is for PD to check chloe's kidney. other things u try to follow the book and do 'self assesment' for chloe. next time must remember to ask PD to fill up lor.

maple leaf,
long long time dint 'see' u here! welcome back, do 'visit' us more often.

last time nat too only flip 90 degree. so we tried to help her by pushing her shoulder &amp; buttock. After a while she learns how to flip by herself. may be next time when aaron flip 90 degree u can help him a bit.
i started using shampoo for Nat after she is 2.5mth-old. Use bb 'no-tears' shampoo.

TBL,

my boy drinking normally now
will let u know if the baby massage session is good.

Maple,

the massage class is for one hour. and have to feed baby one hour before class.

duffy,

I am feeding 5 times a day. paed say try not to be below 700ml can already becos our babies got reserves so wouldn't harm them if they want to take less on certain days.

<font color="ff0000">MapleLeaf</font>
That would be good lor, to take care till 6months, at least is wht I think setting a good base relationship... we who have to go back to work early think have to work extra hard to enhance the bond...

I haven't start using any shampoo, my girl is currently botak now leh, should I start?

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Chloe woke up last night at 3am again! she knows how to see clock meh!? so accurate one wor... fed her some milk than she goes back to sleep liao..
I'm gonna try Nestle Rice cereal this weekend, but Chloe is only 4months old this week... don know can anot

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
waah, 700ml, my girl hardly reach there leh... think I must try to make her drink more liao...

TBL,
Thks for the welcome ... haha ... will try to 'visit' more often!

Thks for sharing, will try to let Aaron exercise more ... heeheehee ... he got to start his IPPT liao ...

TBL &amp; Duffy,
Y i ask about shampoo is cause my boy has develop the 'cradle cap' and I was wondering whether the reason for it could be the bubble bath which i use to wash his hair. But I've read in the net and it seems that it got nothing to do with shampoo lor.

Duffy,
I'll be bringing Aaron to cut botak this sat.

Being a SAHM, there's a lot of sacrifice also lor, besides no income also got no time for myself at all and for my case, everything that concern bb, I'll do myself, so now always got backache.I find myself quite immobile also lor, find it quite a chore to bring him out alone cause got so many things to bring.

Rochelle,
Tks for info. Do update us how good is the session. Thks in advance ah.

mngo,
Ur boy also ah, think they're going through another phase now or perhaps they're ready for solid. Like what the others say, this could be 1 of the signs. But I dun intend to start him so early lor, perhaps will try to wait for another month if I can 'tahan'. U give him BM or FM for his last feed?

Thanks for responding to my post.

Although JinJin's vocal skills appear to have disappeared, she has been developing other skills in the last few weeks. E.g. smiling a lot, clasping her hands, sucking her fist and fingers, reaching out for toys, grabbing toys and bringing them to her mouth, bearing weight on her knees, flipping over, sleeping on her side and belly, etc.

She has also been exposed to all sorts of flashcards - English words, Chinese words, pictures and math dots. She has completed math dots 1-30 and is on simple addition equations at the moment. She likes the cards and will show her pleasure by smiling and moving her arms and legs in excitement. However, I wonder if there's such a thing as overstimulating a child to a point where they lose their vocal skills. Does anyone know?

JinJin underwent a hearing test after birth and passed. I don't think it's a hearing thing because she startles when there's a sudden loud sound and she calms down when we play her favourite nursery rhymes CD.

JinJin's next visit to the PD will be on 8 April. She's going for her second 5-1 jab. I'll ask the PD to assess the situation again then. In the meantime, I'm going to try to stop worrying myself silly!

STARTING SOLIDS

JinJin's on 700 to 800 ml of EBM per day at the moment. The PD said to continue giving her breastmilk till she's 6 months before starting her on solids.

Duffy, I read about the situation with Chloe's kidney. I hope Chloe is a lot better now. You may wish to check with your PD before starting Chloe on solids in case they stress her kidneys.

Maple,

I also SAHM so I try to go out now and then else would be very bored at home and baby also very bored looking at four walls and his toys. lucky I got supermarket nearby so my boy gets distracted by the supermarket. once a week also go shopping at Tampines Central or elsewhere. else might become a "huang nian po"

Duffy,

when my boy dont drink much, we would give him 60ml before his bedtime. but if he drink well during the day than we would skip the 10pm feed. my boy did gain weight so less worried.

Maple_leaf,
cradle cap got nothing to do with the bubble bath. I follow PD's method which is quite effective for Nat's case. apply bb oil on her head half hour b4 bath. then wash it during bath, wAsh shampoo or bubble bath.

Rochelle,
That's why I say u'r really good lor. I think I'm turning into a 'huang nian po' soon ... hahaha ... must have more guts to try to go out more often liao. Lucky for you lah, supermarket near, near. My nearest is about 20 mins walk and got to cross an overhead bridge, so quite troublesome.

TBL,
I did try using Johnson baby oil and rub on a small area his head first. But hor when I bath him ah, that area become a bit red, red, so i got worried and dare not do it again lor. Or perhaps I shouldn't hv rub, just leave the oil on?

BTW, how many times did you apply for Nat before it came off?

YYP,
Wah ... Jinjin learn so much oredi ah. Hv not heard of losing vocal due to over-stimulation leh, only affects the sleep though.

Maple_leaf,
aiyo... u rub very hard huh? during bath, u can put some shampoo on his head, then use yr hand to gently rub will do. The cradle cap wont disappear overnite, so u no need to purposely rub away. Just as normal shampoo will do. i applied for Nat for abt 4days.

dirdar
I myself find only Gerber is the best coz others all 6mths above but only Gerber brand is 4mths onwards. Gerber also have more diff taste like the plain one, fish with veggie, chicken, mixed fruit... etc. More choice for our bb to taste!

Maple_leaf
My gal have been using shampoo since birth.. Using the baby johnson, the one cum with conditional... Me, hubby and bb using the same so no need to buy so many diff shampoo.

Hey all
Can i knw, so far who is still BF like me?

TBL,
No lah, not very hard lah, just rub gently but for a while lor ... heeheehee ... But hor turn red, red ... aiyo me this lousy mummy ...

O.k. will try it again. I've read on the net that we can leave the oil overnite, dunno good or not leh.

How do you all use shampoo + bubble bath? For my case, I just drip some bubble bath into the water than wash from head to toe. So if use shampoo, dun we have to apply shampoo, then wash away,then add bubble bath for washing the body?

Yu,
Tks for info on shampoo. Me still TBFing.

maple_leaf,
no lah, u not lousy mum lah! may be... blur blur mummy like myself! :p in fact i think u veri good mum, still BF now.
leave the oil overnite? i dun think it's good idea lei. It'd be very oily. moreover my bb will use her hands to rub head/face/jnose/ear/eyes... when she sleep.
i add bb bath into her bath tub. then put 2drops of shampoo on her hair, rub then wash away. then put her in bath tub to wash her body.

Yu,
did u try the gerber juices? is it very sweet?

Maple,

Aaron is one day older than my boy. next time I go down to town I let u know, then u see whether u want to go window shopping with me or not. if u want u can PM me your contact no. I know where the nursing rooms are because that is where I change my boy's diapers and also feed him.

my supermarket is at the next building to my home so its only 5 mins walk away. also I stay in a condo so really bored can always bring my boy swimming or let him watch children play in the playground.

my mum visits her specialist sometimes at Mt E for followup so sometimes I would hitch a ride on the taxi to bring my boy to Paragon to shop.

along I very independent, I used to stay in hostel during university days, so maybe thats why I find it easy to bring my boy out. my MIL always joke that I bring so few things, but tell her anything not enough or forgot to bring the most buy, no nees to stress myself worrying. my FIL also agree.

Maple
I will wash my gal head with shampoo den wash away before putting her in the bath tub. My gal nowsaday enjoy bathing a lot, she will kick the water, play very rough, nw her leg got those "Black-Green". All CREATE by herself during bath!

TBL
I didn't try, but i think shouldn't be very sweet.

Yu,

my boy also kick the water and splash water so the area around the bathtub would be wet. luckily no blue black.

TBL,
Ya lor after giving birth har, dunno y leh, I find myself becoming more blur and my memory also no good these days, do u all xperience that?

Quite true hor, better dun leave overnite.
I just cut his hair botak today. Think it'll be easier to apply the oil now.

Rochelle,
Nowadays, I did start to bring him (hand-carried) downstairs to the playground in the evening but if swimming will have to go to in-laws' place. Intend to bring him swimming only after he finishes his last jab by 5th month.
He'll be going for his 2nd jab this coming monday.

I used to be very independent one lor, used to travel alone on my job but when it come to bringing him out, its a different story for me liao lor. Guess I'm not handling motherhood that well ...

Going out - Hope that I can take the step to go out with u withou my hb. But you must be prepared lor cause that day Hb &amp; me brought him to Taka, we have to keep bringing him in &amp; out the diaper changing room cause he keep pooing. I think we went there 3~4 times during our 4-5 hrs in Taka. Aiyo ... his poo even stain my hb's shirt. Uno lah bf's baby's poo can be quite messy which is y me having phobia in bringing him out alone. Perhaps when I've train him to be more stable in his poo, then I'll join you, else, I tell u the whole day we'll just be going in &amp; out of the diaper changing room .... hahaha ... really worried that it'll dampen ur shopping mood.; )

Yu,
Thks for info.
Think I got to change the way I bath him also. I also wash his hair &amp; face first before putting him into tub but what I meant was I use bubble bath only and no shampoo. Guess I'll have to start using shampoo liao when his hair starts to grow.

Mngo,
In this case, then I think the reason shouldn't be due to 'easily digest' BM liao. Hmm ... I'm wondering could it be that our boys are going through another growth spurt again. I remember reading somewhere which says that they have growth spurt even after 3 months but can't quite remember the exact info. liao. Will try to look for it again.

Other than waking for feeds @ 2a.m., Aaron also kinda cry in between the feeds,btw 2 ~ 6 a.m., with his eyes shut. Does Declan do that?

Maple,

the trick to baby's poo changing is to buy cheaper baby wipes and use more wipes. also I bring along those blue color mat to line the changing table at the nursing room if my boy poo so that less messy. BF babies poo more watery than FM babies so dont need to feel bad about having to make so many trips to the nursing room

baby massage class,

just went today for the massage class. the babies in the class were of different age and most babies came with their parents. the lady next to me was complaining to her baby that her hubby was too lazy to attend with her.

what the instructor taught is the same as on the Johnson website but its easier to follow when its a live demo. also can do on our baby and let her check that we are doing the right way. for us we find it fun as we treat it not just as a massage class but also to let our boy see more babies and not be frightened by unfamiliar surroundings.

my boy started crying when another baby started crying but he stopped when we carry him for awhile.

Natalie oso enjoy bathing, but still dunno how to kick the water yet.

maple_leaf,
ya lor! memory really no good now!! since pregnancy till now. initially i tot will recover after give birth, but no lei! till now memory still no good!!

rochelle,
thks for sharing the bb massage class. keke... the lady complain to her bb? like me lah, sometime i will complain to Nat when HB done something wrong. :p but mostly in joking manner.
so did boy boy enjoy the massage session? For the previous 2 times PD visit, Nat oso cried when heard others cried.

Dear all..

kind of catching up all the thread after been busy at work.

I just bought my girl for the 1st 5-in-1 jab and she had slight fever after that which last for a day...me so worried during that day and no mood to work : (

Just like to check if any of the babies here had a growth at their belly buttom..my girl develop one and according to my cousin nurse, she claimed some babies will develope this as when that time when it dropped off, it did not develop properly..so tat day when we went for the jab, my cousin nurse kind of applying some chemical on it and it will dry and drop off..i have checked today the portion where the chemical is applied already dropped off but the growth is still there...my cousin claimed that it will shrink and get smaller...i really worry..not sure if wana bring her see a doctor..

Anybody has the same experience? Kindly advise.

Btw my gitl already weigh and measure her height she is under the 50 percentile..is it good?

According to the PD, he claimed every thing is fine with my gitl..

hey me FTWM...cannot afford not to work lah.....

hi hi ladies,
aiyo, our msg from 2Apr ~ 6Apr lost leow... no choice , CL alr done his best.
hope to see u gals here soon....

rochelle,
aiyo, yr boy very cute in the float.

gmail huh? later i log in to hotmail to take a look. my yahoo a/c not valid? oops! did i give u wrong address?

Jen,

need to have your email address to send GMail invite.

Seiyu Baby Room

the baby room has four changing station, 2 breastfeeding room and hot water dispenser. very roomy. went there today becos my mum wanted to see whats on sale. there is a small play area outside the baby room for toddlers to play.

rochelle,
ya, i like the bb room at seiyu! think it's even better than the one at Taka.

btw got sales huh? storewide? anything worth buying?

TBL,

not storewide. my mum bought a musical train for my boy to play becos he is getting bored with his older toys already. now my boy has 3 macdonalds trains which he like.

Jen,

sent u the GMail invite already

TBL,

my boy enjoyed the winnie the pooh rider outside the baby room but it was very difficult to get him out of the rider becos his thighs got stuck.

hi all...

are we suppose to post our thread in another forum>? But seems everyone still here leh

btw can i know where your bring your bb for haircut? My baby girl turing 4mths this month so will like to shave her hair..dun really bare but no choice...

can your share with me where shd i bring my girl for haircut cos she has quite alot of hair..heard taht orhcard has one which even provide a cert upon the haircut...

rochelle,
ya lor, me too thinking to get new toys for nat, but dunno wat to buy... she still very fond of the sassy doll, the rest she like not very interested lei. always grib &amp; put on her mouth.
i didnt let her try the pooh ride, next time go there must let her try, see she likes it or not.
thks for yr invitation to gmail. but i dun intend to open new mail account again coz too many alr. could u help to forward the file to my yahoo, hope this time it works, thks! [email protected]

girl,
actually supposed to post on the new website, singaporemotherhood. but due to some IT problems all our posts from wed noon to last nite all gone. As new thread only avail ~17Apr, CL let us use this thread for the time being. after singaporemotherhood is up again, all our posts to migrate there.
heard ppl mentioned forum got bb haircut. tat day i went paragon oso saw 1 @ 5level, but dunno got cert or not. btw i dun intend to shave natalie.

TBL,

the previous email add u gave me does not have an sg behind. I have forwarded to your yahoo account already.

I use the Gmail account as backup for my boy's photo becos yahoo does not have so much storage.

rochelle,
received the file, thks a lot!!

ya, think i gave u wrong email earlier. i set-up yahoo mail for aution purpose. aiyo, just now went punggol plaza shopping, saw carters sundress selling $9.90 only. i bid fm yahoo $11 lei. total bought 4pcs, so i count i 'lugi' $4.40... :p

btw how come this thread so quiet now. aiyo, may be the rest dunno this thread is back to SB.... hope they will be back soon...

brought Natalie for her jab this morning. tis time she very good girl, only struggle a bit during jab, no crying.
keep my fingers crossed, hope no fever....
after jab she drink only 70ml, so i feed her again after 2hrs and she managed to finish 120ml.

hi, TBL..great to hear that Nat manage to finish the milk after the jab..so is this her 2nd 5in1jab....where did u bring her for the jab?

btw is baby at this stage usually dun finish the milk?? My girl nowadays seem cannot finsih her milk which make me worie..

I try to bring her go shopping today and she seems cranky after she reach home...

oh really...i dun wana shave too..but my mum and colleagues strongly think i should..so now sourcing for the haircut loh... : )

girl,
i bring nat to kid's clinic @ rivervale mall (sengkang). normally nat will finish her milk (120ml). yr girl taking now many ml per feed now? not to worry lah, last time when nat just increase her intake fm 90ml to 120ml oso dun finish when we make 120ml, but 90ml she not enuff. then slowly she manage to finish. i always belief when bb taking not enuff they will let us know, so when she reject means she full alr...

u out shopping for how long? may be for a start u go nearby places 1st. dun be discourage..., u shld bring her out more often so she will get used to it.

hi, TBL..

thanks for your encouragement...

oh so you bring her to normal GP..i heard pple say go private clinic for the jab will not get fever, but go polyclinic will have fever...my girl got fever last mth when she got the jab

hope this month jab..she will be fine and healthy..

my girl taking 100ml..but most of the time she left 20ml cannot finish..mi so worrie...i still thinking of increase her intake to 120ml soon but see she keep cannot finish the milk...i think i have to monitor again...

i took her out from morni 11.00 to 4.00pm then we back...the weather is terribly hot..so maybe she cannot take it aso....she look tired yesterdaY nite...

tonite still have dinner...pray hard she is okie...

how many mths is Nat now?

Hi Girl
Most of my frens, in order not to allow fever to start after the jab, they give the "panadol" in liquid form (take from doctor) and gave their bb immediately after the jab. This way will prevent bb from having fever. So far it works for me. But of cos after medication, bb will feel drowsy. and if they drowsy and sleep in the day, they may not sleep at night.

So far my boy is now drinking 180ml of milk! sometimes not very enough for him