(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

duffy,

to get my boy to do tummy time when he was 3mths old, I'll put his leg over so that his bum is facing up. than move his shoulders so that it is sideways, than flip him. after a few weeks, he just flip by himself. you might want to try that for your girl?

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
Thanks, I will try to do more tummy time with her.

Thinking of talking to my hubby and ask him to tell he's mum to leave the baby to me at night. I really don want to sacrifice my time at night with my girl just to accomodate my MIL....

re: sleep through the nite
my parents will pat bb to try to get her to sleep through the nite... only if she cannot be patted back to sleep then they will bring her to me to be fed... so far, my bb has slept through the nite for quite sometime oredi...

re: water
my bb dun like to drink water from bottle!!! cos she dun even like to drink milk from bottle!!! but she likes to drink water... cos when my mum spoon feed her water, she can drink 40ml!!! aiyo...

duffy,

think you should be looking after your daughter at night because its not fair of your MIL to "take away" that time with your daughter away from you.

my MIL wanted us to put our boy at her home from sunday night til friday night. even my hubby also thought its a crazy idea because my boy might think he is conveniently "dumped" at his grandparents house when he grow up.

my friend had a elder sister who was brought up by her grandparents. when her parents finally bring her home, she was really resentful against her parents.

I was very angry with my parents(both working) also because I was brought up by my aunties but its like no point being angry forever and my parents are making amends by spending more time with my boy

TBL,

when my boy is thirsty he will drink water, but if he is hungry than he would take alittle bit of water and cry very loud, telling us that he is hungry.

good that Natalie can flip already

I tried cooking the brown rice the other day just to see how it taste. the brown rice becomes as watery as milk when I followed the instructions on the tin. so will try feeding him next week.

<font color="ff0000">Jen</font>
My girl so far likes to drink grapewater only... if it's water she will try to rejects...
ahyoh, I really must force her to drink

waah, tht's really crazy, u would have no time at all with yr child than... u working too right?
Of course we as a parents would try to leave tht as a last choice, we difinetly don wanna miss these precious times, these babies grow up so fast, in no time they would be running away from u and prefer their frends liao....

<font color="0000ff">Changing station</font>
My girl is not gonna fit in the changing table soon, she keeps kicking it's quite dangerous for her cause her head and feet is too long for the table liao..
But the thing is I'm not gonna cater a bed in the baby room, instead we are thinking of buying a sofa bed... tht means we would have no changing station high enough for our breaking backs haha...
Any suggestions? How do u all intend to change yr bb next time huh?

<font color="ff0000">bumbo seat</font>
Have just called a person tht's selling bumbo seat for $70, brand new. But I'm still considering, is it really useful so far? Our baby still cannot fit into a high chair yet right?

TBL,
you should take the photo when Natalie flipping and let us have a look...I am still waiting for my girl to flip...haha...kiasu mum....

Duffy,
mmm..though training baby sleep thru the night without asking milk is good, i will not bear to do so leh, coz she woke up asking for milk means she is hungry loh, aiyoo, i very kiasu hoh...i really afraid she got not enough milk leh, coz sometimes daytimes she refuse bottle, sometimes cannot finish milk, thus really afraid she dun drink enough leh...

For changing table, i already put it inside the storeroom. Same as u, afraid she hurts her head leh...so i normally put her on a single bed at another room, the bed's height quite ok lah, if my back aching, then just sit on the bed to change for her loh....

Thanks,
wow... xavier can do 'double flip'!! nat only know how to flip to tummy down position.

duffy,
me too did the flipping excercise with Nat last wk. coz she normally can managed to flip 90 degree only, then we will push her shoulder lightly till she flip. HB even flip beside Nat for her to see!! LOL!!
aiyo, Chloe is yr daughter. Of course u can DECIDE to let her sleep wif u!! I think u got to try to voice up yr decision. try to put in nicer way lor.
bumbo seat for me is for FUN only. since nat likes it AND I like to see her in the seat, so I bought it. High chair? no lah, our bb still dunno how to sit mah. btw we dun use changing station at home. just put Nat on the bed/ her cot and change.

rochelle,
ya, Nat oso. If she hungry but we feed water, she will cry very loud like telling us "i m HUNGRY lah! not thirsty!!!" they are so cute &amp; smart rite? I think i want to wait for another few wks b4 trying solid on Nat. Pls let me know how's yr boy reaction after taking solid ok?

dirdar,
i have the photo!! will download from digicam &amp; publish here.
aiyo, u not kiasu mum lah, coz me too keep waiting Nat to flip. Now i look forward for her to sit... :p

btw u gals feed bb on demand or feed by timing huh? I feed only when Nat cries, so interval abt 4hrs, and she finished all 120ml. But my sis said shld feed every 3hrly wor...

hey all
I hear my frez start her bb on walker since she was 4mths old! Now she only 6mth plus knw how to stand abit and crawl! Think of getting a walker for my gal to learn...

Since my gal 4mth, I have start giving her cereal, pure fruit juice and jar food. So far, my gal like Gerber the best, it got more range for bb 4mths while other mostly is 6mth onwards.

Nw i feed my gal 2 times cereals, 3 tsp of fruit juice and other all BM. At times, our bb may dun wan to eat cereal den I will add some fruit jar to the cereal den she will eat happily.

<font color="ff0000">didar</font>
since like tht, just follow yr instinct lor, whenever u think yr baby is ready to sleep thru the night than u start training, cause u know better mah...

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
hmm, think I would not buy the bumbo chair just yet, consider some more :p
photos photos, I wanna see photos!

now I feed abt 4hrly, cause anyway, my girl don cry for milk, yet she will cry when we feed milk.. *dished*

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
Somewhere in US and Aus they are banning the sales and use of baby walker, reason because findings shown tht these walkers are actually not aiding baby to walk properly and correctly. I'm not sure if it's already banned, but the calls for it to be banned is really high in the last few years, therefore for me I have decided not to buy walker for my baby just yet. Although I know many of us have been put into walker b4, we are ok wht... anyway, just for yr info, I'll do more research first.

By the way, may I know who's SAHM and who's working huh? I'm gonna start work this Friday, abit sianz, but look forward too...

Yu,
like duffy, i dun intend to let Nat use walker due to same reason. btw where do u get the pure fruit juice? oso fm Gerber?

duffy,
ok ok, will try to download the photo!!
so u too feed 4hrly. yalor, sometime i think if bb dun cry for milk tat means not hungry rite? then better feed when they cry. :p
btw is this yr new job? or u just complete yr ML? (ML got sooo long meh?? :p )
today is Nat first day wif new nanny. I was really sad last nite. Told my HB I'm not a good mum coz i 'throw' Nat here &amp; there, with different nannies, dun really take care of her myself. Feel so bad abt myself.

SAHM
from wat i know:
Rochelle - SAHM
Yu- SAHM (i guess one lah :p )
Jen - FTWM (full-time working mum)
TBL - FTWM
dirdar - ??

I understand how u feel, we always wants the best situation for bb, tht's why we very sad when things are not smooth. Don't blame yrself lor, only thing we can do is to make the best out of wht we can offer now.

Rochelle - SAHM
Yu- SAHM (i guess one lah :p )
Jen - FTWM (full-time working mum)
TBL - FTWM
Wooof - FTWM
dirdar - ??

2 SAHM and 3 FTWM so far

TBL, Dirdar
In fact my friend did feed her boy with water! She told me tat both her boys are trained up this way. But apparently my MIL disagrees.

Walker
actually US banned walker. The reason is due to the danger of it. When bb is put in the walker, they will walk without any sense of danger. Furthermore, bb may accidentally knock themselves onto things when they are in walker, cos they too happily walking around.
My friend told me tat walker will make our legs bone structure .. crooked, something like that.

I saw my friend who got a cut fisherprice walker for her son to walk and push. it is different from the olden kind of walker.

Bed
We are putting our baby on our normal bed. Maybe will migrate to mattress next time.

FTWM
I am FTWM

Stroller
Rochelle, seems like Maclaren is good. I should relly get one.

Feeding by demand and timing.
So far my boy's feeding interval is 4-5 hours. We wil wait for his signal then we give milk.
I think the every 3 hour one is for infants or those drinking little or EBM one.

Is bumbo chair better or high chair better?
I dunno wat to buy yet. Also hor~~ should i delay the solid food intake for my boy? Some of my friends started at 4 mth, some at 5 or 6mth.
Also .. must we always start them off with cereal first?

me - FTWM
Want to be SAHM, but too many commitments liao...maybe few years later loh...

Ask you all hoh, when are your going to try for 2nd one huh?

mngo,

I am getting a high chair (the chair with table kind) later. the bumbo chair is for my boy to practise sitting.

duffy,

u want to come over on tomorrow or thursday and let your daughter try the bumbo chair?

walker,

alot of people say walker could lead to crooked legs becos baby's leg may not be positioned in the correct way in a walker.

solid foods,

the general advice is to start solids by 6mths else our babies would get lazy to chew food. I am starting my boy on brown rice (in watery form) next month and then egg yolk at 6mths. would start the porridge stuff when he is 6mths because he cant sit up unsupported yet.

tbl,

will let you know how my boy takes the brown rice when I start him next week.

TBL,

I feed my boy on demand. if he is napping than I would wake him up 3hrs from his previous feed and he would be hungry already. my boy prefers a feed every 2.5hr to 3hr. if he wants a top-up than he would complain when he finish his 120ml.

my boy is on full FM now becos no more breastmilk after the 3rd time period came. he drinks 600-750ml per day so I also dont know enough or not since the milk can say 900ml for 3-4mths.

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB
<table border=1><tr><td> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------------</TD><TD> ---------------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>elicia</TD><TD> 05th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>tara</TD><TD> 11th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>Xavier</TD><TD> 26th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy</TD><TD> FTWM </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 01th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>TBL</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Natalie</TD><TD> 02th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>Javier </TD><TD> 03rd Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 06th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>YYP</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>JinJin</TD><TD> 06th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>mngo</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>Declan Isaac</TD><TD> 10th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>dirdar</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>18th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendypooh</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Nicole</TD><TD>24th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec</td></tr></table>

hmm, just thought it's easier for me to reference, if u all don wanna put the info in, do tell me, I'll take it down lor

mngo,
actually for me i dun intend to use bumbo as high chair. Bumbo seat is only for her to have fun but next time I will get high chair for her. But since I'm working and seldom feed bb at home (go out very often during wkend), so may get Ikea high chair coz it's cheaper. Heard it's quite good + nice but have yet to take a look.

rochelle,
Nat takes abt 600ml~700ml per day. but if she is napping, I will not wake her up. she oso will complain if still not satisfied after 120ml, but only occasionally.normally she is very happy after her 120ml.

SAHM
me too oso too many commitments, cant be one now. btw think my personality oso not so suitable to be one, coz at times i got real 'pek chek' being at home look after bb... :p

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>
Hey, I think i know which fisher price walk trainer u talking abt, looks quite fun one, am already aiming at it, haha, thinking to buy liao :p

Thanks for the invite, let me confirm with u later, need to see if my hubby can drive us down lah

My calculation of milk intake for Chloe is also abt 900ml, but she's only taking the most 600ml per day too, we have given up forcing her to drink liao, as long as she seems happy and energetic, good enough for us lor

<font color="0000ff">bed</font>
I realise Chloe have been doing acrobat even when she's sleeping, sometimes I would find her sleeping 90degree rotated from where she started haha, got to put pilow all round in case she knocks her head...
now seems like the cot quite small for her liao

<font color="0000ff">solids</font>
I'm still waiting and looking for more signs that my girl is ready for solids, cause she happen to be just 4 months today. As long as I start before 6 months think would be ok for her.
http://www.heinzbaby.com/english/starting/
Here's a good read, click on the PDF to see.

Totally agree with u, my personality also not good to stay at home. Think my hubby will go crazy if I do, haha

duffy,
Nat oso rotates while sleeping. really dunno how they do it.
did u put bumper (the cushion ard bb cot, is call bumper rite?) ard bb cot? if yes then not need to put pillow. as now they know how to rotate &amp; shift position while sleeping, i worry pillows may cover her face while she moves ard.
tok abt bumper, how u wash it huh? so far i only use cloth to clean only coz dun think it can fit into washing m/c lei. moreover if use machine worry out of shape. but hor, not possible to send for laundry rite?? so ex....

I've tried putting bumper at one side too, didn't put the other side cause wanted more ventilation for baby in the afternoon. So got to put pillows on those sides lor...
As for washing, I did use washing machine to wash before, cause mine happen to have the "handwash" function, so the shape still remains. Nowadays my MIL wash all my baby's cloths by hands, so even less worries for me...

But actually baby by wht age, they no need to be so careful already huh? I mean by when can we stop using baby washing powder and all can be done the normal aldult way?

duffy
I SAHM...

TBL
As for the fruit juice, I buy Heinz and Gerber. My gal love to drink very much!

Hey all...
As for the walker I dun think I'm getting one since not good... will do more research 1st.

duffy,
for me i think i'll continue to use baby washing powder for bb till she is 1 year-old then will review again.
btw do u still burp chole? i'm wondering when we shld stop burping bb? coz nowadays Nat takes very long time to burp lei. Sometime until i so tired tat i gave up. she seems ok w/o burp lei. so dunno whether to stop or not.

I'll still try to burp too, but if it takes too long, I would stop and let her be. Some days I'll still feed her abit of wind drops, so tht the wind will come out....
I think I saw somewhere before tht baby reach certain age, they will know how to burp by themselves, but forgot liao :p will try to find the info again ..

TBL,

I put my boy in sitting position after he finish his milk and he would usually burp by himself. u might want to try

rochelle,
tried b4, but this method dun really work on Nat lei.. sometime if dun burp for her I a bit worry she choke herself, but if continue burp for her I veri tired. haiz....

i'm a FTWM too.

BURPING
Shermyn can burp herself when put up in sitting position most of the time too. Otherwise, if she doesn't burp after a while, i also give up cos very tiring, esp during night feeds. hehe, what a lazy mummy ...

FEEDING SOLIDS
my pd says there could be higher chances of allergies for babies who are introduce to solids earlier. he advised that if they are contented drinking milk, it's ok not to introduce solids to them till 6 months.

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>,
i didn't know we can let babies take fruit juices now. won't it be too sweet for them ?

hi gals... bz bz at work... jean still dun like to go home... hiaz...

re: burping
if i latch on at nite, i usually dun burp cos i fall asleep while latching... haha... but as long as she is not uncomfortable (which she will make a lot of noise), i dun really find a need to burp her...

re: solids
my pd says jean's weight is 90 percentile... so since she is feeding well, intro solids only at 6 mths...

re: fruit juice
so young can take meh? stomach can take it?

Yesterday went to watch a movie "lemonade sneaky...unfortunate event", couldn't really remember the full name. Quite a nice show leh, like the small girl in the show, very cute and she loves to bite things...

My girl nowadays like to communicate with ppl, whenever talk to her, she will respond with her own language like oooo eeee aaaa, sometimes even frown while "speaking"....haha

I will be on half day leave later to go for basic theory test, though quite easy, still afraid of failing the test leh...

Wish me good luck...

Burping
Me too dun burp her too long nowadays, coz find her hard to burp, so normally just let her be if she dun burp for quite sometimes...Last time when she was taking breastmilk, i normally didn't burp her coz heard ppl said breastmilk easier to digest than formula.

Solid
Is it too early to let my girl try rice cereal? those for 4 mths above type...she will be 4 mths after two weeks time.

Hi all, sorry, been MIA, but I do come in occasionally to read the postings. I'm a FTWM. Me can't be SAHM, cos I will miss the working life (being able to dress nicely, meeting pple etc). But I also regret not being able to spend time with Joseph.

Re: burping. I also don't burp my boy when I latch him on at nights. Lazy lah, so tired already and he's sleeping, so i won't want to wake him up. But there was once we did tummy time with him too soon after a feed and he vomitted out quite a lot of milk, and even thru his nose. He cried a while after that, and my hubby and I felt very bad.

Any of your babies drooling/starting to teeth? Mine started drooling a few weeks back, and he sometimes even chokes on his own saliva, I think. Don't know how long after they start to drool, then they develop teeth.

I asked this question in another thread also, but do you gals know of any mathematical formula to calculate milk intake for babies?

dir dar, me and hubby thinking of trying only for 2nd one 1.5 - 2 years down the road. Colleagues have been telling me to get it over once and for all, cos you don't want to do everything over again when you are older and life has returned to "normal".

Can I also ask if any of you train your babies to sleep thru the night? Mine still wakes up at 2am and 6am for milk leh. not sure if it's become a routine and he's used to waking up already.

LH
I intend to try for 2nd child next year, coz age is catching up liao...
but really afraid cannot cope, both physically and financially will be quite shiong loh.

Seagal
Our baby can take fruit juice at 4mth onwards but must be those baby brand... Not like ours ok? U understand?

Burping
I dun burp my gal at all, she will burp herself.

dirdar
Actually I start my gal on cereal at 3mths+ coz diff baby diff lo.

<font color="ff0000">dirdar</font>
HOpe u past yr basic theory !!
Nowadays they very "ji zai" liao haha, keeps talking sometimes, but very cute hor

<font color="ff0000">LH</font>
I have this formular given by Gleneagles's lactation consultant, think basically it's for EBM:
Baby's weight in LBS(pounds) X By 2.5 ÷ by the no. of feeds/day(24hrs) =____Ozs(ounces)
1oz=30mls

my girl sleeps thru the night now, only occasionally she will wakes up at 3am suddenly to play... also don know why... but most of the time she'll sleep from 10plus to morning 7am... I have to wake her up to feed somemore... very piggy

<font color="0000ff">Second baby</font>
I'm thinking of planning for second one end of this yr. I have a chart given by my friend, haha, she use it to see if she can get a boy, seems working for her wooor..
The chart says I should plan within december to Jan if I want a boy...hmmm timing just right, haha
I calculated my first baby's time, seems to be correct also, cause the timing indicates I'll get a girl, and it's correct woor.....
Anyone wants the chart, maybe I'll post it here...

Jen,
how is Jean when she is at home during wkend? if she only fuss @ nite then may be timing issue.

dirdar,
basic theory test for driving? good luck to u!!
think the results will be out in 2wks time, let us know ok?

LH,
i dare not to let bb on tummy soon after feeding, worry vomit lor. U better let him rest for at least 30mins. there is a formula to cal milk intake by bb's wt, but i forgot liao.. i try to check again, if i found it will let u know.
my ger starts teething 1wk b4 she reach 3-mth. can see the tiny tooth at her lower gum, very cute.
drooling? a lot!! so these days i always change her handkerchief coz worry she will has rashes.
when is Joseph's feed b4 the 2am feed? may be u can feed him @ 12am then see if he can 'tong' till nxt day 6am. as i sleep very late, i will feed Nat at 11pm or 12am. then she will wake up @ 6~7am for milk.

dirdar/ LH,
i intend to try 2nd one may be end of this year! :p know it'll be quite stress both finacially &amp; physically. but hor, age is catching up!!!! so 'bo bian' lor...
btw how many kids u intend to have? i tot wan 3 kids, but quite not possible now coz I quite old alr. hmmm... unless the 2nd one is twins lah!

duffy,
so u have the formula wif u.

as for the 3am-wake-up 'excercise', Nat is improving. stop after the 4 consecutive 3am-play-time days! so real hope she wont do this to us again! :p
hey, u too intend trying end tis yr! good lah, may be our nxt bb oso abt same timing.
as for the chart is to count yr chinese-birthday rite? I found it quite confusing coz dunno which mth to count from.

TBL, prob is she is also not at home during weekends... we usually bring her to my parents' place so that we can have some rest in the mornings... :p

Jen,
so she is ok when she is at yr parents' pl?
could it be the lighting, like too bright/ dim? or too hot/ cold compared to nanny's place? no choice, we got to guess n guess until bb is settled. when i first brought Nat back fm hospital she oso keep crying, so we done all sort of things like adjust room brightness, air-con, etc etc... :p

u also have the same chart huh?
My fren taught me to add one year to yr English age. Meaning if u are 30years ols in English calander, than add 1 year to 31 years old lor...
The months indicated on the chart is also chinese calander month... so Dec05 would be November for chinese calander...
u see wht I mean?

duffy,
initially i oso tot the same thing but hor my friend says no lei. coz under chinese calender, there are 'run4 yue4' meaning double months. eg sometime we do have 2 'april' in a year.. aiyo, dunno lah. i oso very confuse...
so boy or ger is fine lah, is gift from God.

tbl, no leh... she also fuss a lot at my parents' place... but surprisingly bbsitter tell me no prob on monday wor... finish her milk some more... think maybe she know bbsitter is not daddy/mummy/grandparents so make a lot of noise oso no use... haha... acherly i think part of the factor is bbsitter there got children play/tok wif her constantly so at home adults not so much activities... hehe...

TBL, duffy,

one old lady at the kopitiam say that if baby's thigh have one line/fold means next one is boy, if two lines/folds means the next one is girl. I heard the same thing from quite a few old ladies. can see your babie's thigh for fun but no gurantee

TBL,

my baby went for his jab this morning becos next week hubby not free. his weight is now 7.85kg and he pass the "tests" this time. his pead say how come improve so fast so I told her that my poor boy had to do PE everyday.

baby massage class,

my hubby and I are going for the baby massage class held at Raffles Hospital this saturday. its $30 for per couple with baby. we thought it would be helpful when baby is cranky since out boy like massage but we dont know if we are doing correctly.

My PD have never test the baby one leh... ahyoh, he very bo chap hor. BUt he also expert in my baby's kidney's problem so no choice lor, grrr... he never even see if my baby's weight is ok...