cosmo .......... 01/11/04 wk 09
curly .......... 02/11/04 wk 09
odie ........... 05/11/04 wk 08
chihiro ........ 24/11/04 wk 05

<font color="119911">remind me if I left u out or get ur date wrong</font>

</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">morning gals,</font>
thot we're not supposed to take more Vit A, not Vit C?

my gynae oso says ribena, milo, 100+, 7-up are okie..

Adeline n Cubby,
I'm at risk of gestational diabetes, very worried. Try to reduce my sugary desserts but self-control very weak.

Ladies in 2nd trimester, do watch out for pigmentation problems... SOME people get "mask of pregnancy"/ pigmentation on the face. Not very clear whether permanent/ any way to avoid... so just keep an eye out lor.

gd morning !

<font color="ff6000">angelia</font>
can drink cold 7-up??

hee.. i din ask gynea wat i can and wat i can't eat during my visit ..

<font color="ff6000">hi pets</font>
im seeing Dr Adrian from TMC ... it was my first visit last sat... we are still considering whether to see him continously ..

he did a tummy scan for me, can't see anything ... so am gg back to see him again tis sat ..
according to him, it will be end of Nov .. no dates given yet ..

how hv u been?

<font color="aa00aa">chihiro,</font>
erm.. he nvr say cold or not cold leh.. kekkekek..

i asked him what cannot take, he only say pineapple &amp; raw food..... oh, oso chinese herbs cos we duno what's in it. but he said chicken essence is okie leh.

<font color="aa00aa">chihiro,</font>
btw, Dr Adrian is not from TMC but Thomson Women's Clinic.. that's diff from TMC
but he does delivers at TMC

In that case, maybe i won't take ribena daily ...maybe 3 times a week then.

Angelia, please include me...EDD 20 Nov.

MTMTMT, I already find my pigmentation like darkening a bit liao...must be hormones rite? We can still use our facial products as usual rite eg. serum, eye cream? Else after 9 mths sure very ugly leh

Hi MTMTMT....

how you do know you are at risk of gestational diabetes..iszzit your blood sugar high ?

just did my blood test and urine test last friday....will only know the results on the next visit whether my blood sugar is high....basically my blood pressure is still normal.

<font color="0000ff">sorry gals, some mistake on the above post on EDD.. here's the updated one..</font>

64487.jpg

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ 29-Mar
.. .. .. .. .. . EDD

aurora ......... 08/09/04 wk 16
cubbiebb ....... 12/09/04 wk 17 B
expecting_mum .. 12/09/04 wk 17 B
mom ............ 20/09/04 wk 15
berry .......... 21/09/04 wk 15
bebechic ....... 26/09/04 wk 14
pets ........... 30/09/04 wk 14
angelia ........ 04/10/04 wk 13
yingzi ......... 10/10/04 wk 12
heather ........ 10/10/04 wk 12
mtmtmt ......... 18/10/04 wk 11
micky .......... 23/10/04 wk 10
wendyl ......... 24/10/04 wk 10
yeeyee ......... 24/10/04 wk 10
joyful ......... 20/11/04 wk 06
chihiro ........ 30/11/04 wk 04

</font></font>

Hi MTMTMT....

how you do know you are at risk of gestational diabetes..iszzit your blood sugar high ?

just did my blood test and urine test last friday....will only know the results on the next visit whether my blood sugar is high....basically my blood pressure is still normal.

Hi Chihiro,

I'm fine. So you and Angelia seeing the same Gynae? Next visit hope I can know BB gender. Gynae said will try to see.

<font color="aa00aa">pets,</font>
yup, <font color="ff6000">chihiro</font> &amp; i go to the same gynae. but she still hvn't decide to stick to him or not
she still can take her time leh

<font color="aa00aa">MTMTMT,</font>
my family oso got diabetes history (mother, mum's sister &amp; brother, mum's mum..) but the gynae din ask me to take test yet.. maybe later stage lor.

I have a Medela Electric Plus dual pump for sale. Used only for 2 weeks and stopped breastfeeding. Bought on 27 Feb 2004. Complete with btls and accesories. Willing to let go at $220 neg. (market price :$290+)

Interested please email to [email protected]

Hi adeline,
Thks...it's realli v anticipating!

BTW MTBs, so far heard 2 of my colleagues who gotten diabetes as a result of their pregnancy. They do not have any family history but guess it's becos of their size and diet. Sounds frightening, cos this will stays will u throughout, even after delivery. So we must realli be watchful over our diet.

<font color="aa00aa">yingzi,</font>
read from so many sources that if it's gestational diabetes, it shld go off after delivery one leh.

MTMTMT/ Angelia,
me also have family history of diabetes.. so scare ..

MT,
we must perserve.. if u think of the scenario of nxt time the thick dialysis needle kena poke on yr skin for 3x a wk.. then it will motivate u to b disciplined liao.. me too.. I like saltish food.. now i'm more conscious of wat i eat liao.. I dun wish my family members donate kidney to me.. i think of the future i very scared now...

Yingzi,
is it? I got one ex-colleague also have gestional diabetes and her family has no diabetes history.. Aft birth, she ok liao leh.. But I do agree tt we must really WATCH our diet..

S@L,
May I noe is it u think the Mini Electric breast pump no good? Cause I also just bought it .. can share yr experience.. tks

Cubbie, no need to scare me until like that lah. My "dan" very small one, tell me insulin injections or any kind of needles I want to cry already.

hi all... can chk w u something... are all teas to be avoided? wat abt flower/fruit teas? i prefer hot drinks now but am running out of ideas man...

saw your msgs on diabetes too. was told tat durians have high sugar content, so diabetes are not allowed to eat durians.

<font color="aa00aa">are,</font>
i think floral tea shld be alrite cos the main reason we avoid tea &amp; coffee is due to the caffein. but guess it's always best to check with ur gynae...

Not sure actualli, both my colleagues oredy given birth and now still under medication to curb the diabetes. They dun hv this before preggie, tat's why it makes me worried. On one hand must eat more food, yet on the other hand must be watchful of wat to eat.

Are, my frenz still encouraged me to eat durians during preggie. Stretch head now!!

Cubbie,
no lah, it's jus tat I have stopped BF...I actually didnt intend to buy, but someone gave me the voucher n I tot why not since /i only need to top up a small amt to get the pump. I was still actively pumping then. But as I I started to wean my boy , he seems less interested to suckle, I stopped eventually lor.

I heard from a gal from the other thread saying this pump is good, that's y I bought.

U can check with her for her comments.

wat do u think of the pump?

angelia... juz spoken to my nurse, says its still better to cut down on all types of teas. sigh... i juz cant take plain water. already hated b4 preggie.

yingzi... i was oso told tat eat durians will 'bu' bb &amp; mummy, but gynea told me not to eat cos bb will be big, &amp; oso high sugar lor. but i think i will still eat a bit. alreadi craving for it liao...

a fren's mum used to hv diabetes &amp; i heard she cant eat durians so i guess it shd apply to all types of diabetes. was told by a colleague who had diabetes in her late preggie tat she even had to cut down intake of rice, cos carbo will melt down to sugar eventually.

maybe can try ribena?? hmm.. but if u'r into hot drinks, maybe add a slice or 2 of lemon into ur drink? maybe will taste better cos got lemon taste mah

me oso not a plain water person.. but oso lazy to put lemon, so my fluid consumption is very low.. well, i noe it's not good for me &amp; bb, but no choice leh. drink somemore like wanna puke liao.

<font color="aa00aa">mtmtmt,</font>
is it bcos u slept late?? try sleeping early &amp; see if the headache goes away......

angelia... drinking ribena now.
but trying to cut down on 'cold' drinks lor, got gastric &amp; wind, so tummy always bloated. lemon's out tats y.

my fluid consumption is always low. now its either milo or ribena. plain water oni when i take vits.
i'm v bad case lor. i used to not drink anything for a whole day in office cos i wun feel thirsty @ all! :p

MT3... maybe you can adjust the height of your pillow? esp if your headache extends to the behind of your neck.

hi MT,
i already haf migraine history..and its very very bad..i also haf it very frequently now..like everyday for the past 3 days...i haf to eat 2 panadols a day to curb the pain...if not i will just exhuast from pain..anyway seeked gynae's and GP's permission to eat panadol...of coz you do your best to avoid..but if no choice gynae said panadol is not strong enuff to affect the bb's growth. try to eat one and go to sleep lor..that's wat i do...

angelia, no leh, I sleep alot but I get headaches a few times a day. Dunno why.

are, mine is like upper forehead throbbing. Maybe it's fair lah, since I didn't really have MS... I get headache instead haha.

bebechic, yah now still trying to avoid panadol, but if really can't take it will take mild panadol. Better than being too miserable.

I try taking more fluids (some headaches reportedly linked to insufficient fluid), avoid MSG (but hard to know...), and massage my head.

Ya are, tat's wat my frenz said..cos it helps to makes the bb bigger. Think her bb was rather small when she was like 26 wks, so she kinda worried and keep eating durians..now bb wt is average. Guess everything is in moderation.

Like u, I oso can't realli drink water, sometimes gonna force myself to drink. Me have been taking ribena, hot milo, juices and soya bean. Me oso trying to cut down drinking ''cold'' water.

MTMTMT,
Did u ask ur gynae why and c if he can help? Sometimes it cld be ur sleeping habit, posture or fan/aircon directing on ur head.

hahah.. think we sama sama.. i can last the whole day in office with 1 glass of water.. hahahaa..

oh, i dun mean drink lemon, juz put a few slices to hv the lemon smell
guess it won't add to gastric.

for ribena, can buy those concentrated bottled one then make urself lor. at least can use room temperature or warm water

Angelia,

Won't you feel thirsty with only 1 glass of water whole day in office? I kept on drinking lots of water so that I won't constipate.

<font color="aa00aa">pets,</font>
not really.. haha.. but it's bad, i noe. now i try to drink more, but well, guess it still doesn't go beyond 3~4 glasses a day!!

MT3... do stay away from caffeine &amp; nicotine as well. coffes, teas, chocs, 2nd hand smoke, they generally make headaches worse.

angelia... office oni has cold or HOT water, so when i mix, its usually luke warm, &amp; my colleagues r disgusted i drink hot ribena! :p

MTMTMT, yours sounds like migraine. I also get headache lately but goes off in the morning and comes back when around sleeping time...more zun than alarm clock.

Are, my gynae says tea is ok. I saw my preg colleague also taking tea..she just gave birth this month.

As for the part on gestational diabetes...that means a lot cannot eat? Sometimes i eat breakfast apply kaya or eat red bean bread or bread with sugar..must restrict liao.

hi angelia,
glad that you have started this thread

can i join in?

my EDD is 8 Oct 2004.
durng the last scan, my gynae mentioned that my baby could be a boy, but not confirmed since it's still very early. hubby's so happy.

hi MTMTMT,
since last week, i've also started having bad headaches. at first i thought it's becos of my flu. i had very bad flu last week. now that i'm almost recovered, i still have headaches

to all girls wit gestational diabetes, I know of a fren who had GD during her first child, and she controlled a little during her 2nd child to avoid, she's perfectly fine now.
Take care to control high sugar content stuff, take brown rice maybe better, avoid high sugar cookies and stuff. I think chinese diet eats lots of carbs, but try to look for whole wheat instead of white, maybe will help.

Hi SLK,

Wow so good can roughly see. Gynae told my hubby will try to see next visit. I think most hubby likes boy. For me, I like girl. What about you?

Hi gals, how are you all? Never come in for a few days...hope everyone is doing well with your pregnancy.

For me, still the same, feeling very weak. Still got slight nausea. Trying to drink An-mum milk for the first day today but throw out everything include the bread I have eaten....Sigh....I never throw out before unless I drink plain water...but today throw out the milk and the bread I eat....I think may be my baby doesn't like the An-mum milk...Sigh......I really afraid my baby get not enough nutrient as I am not eating muti-vit...can't eat also cos it will trigger my nausea....I am only taking folic acid....now milk and plain water also cannot drink...don't know how

64613.jpg

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ wk 29-Mar
.. .. .. .. .. . EDD

aurora ......... 08/09/04 wk 16
cubbiebb ....... 12/09/04 wk 17 B
expecting_mum .. 12/09/04 wk 17 B
mom ............ 20/09/04 wk 15
berry .......... 21/09/04 wk 15
bebechic ....... 26/09/04 wk 14
pets ........... 30/09/04 wk 14
angelia ........ 04/10/04 wk 13
SLK ............ 08/10/04 wk 14 B
yingzi ......... 10/10/04 wk 12
heather ........ 10/10/04 wk 12
mtmtmt ......... 18/10/04 wk 11
micky .......... 23/10/04 wk 10
wendyl ......... 24/10/04 wk 10
yeeyee ......... 24/10/04 wk 10
joyful ......... 20/11/04 wk 06
chihiro ........ 24/11/04 wk 04

</font></font>

Hi Yee Yee,

Is it the Multi vit is too big that you can swallow? What you can do is break into few parts and swallow if not dissolve in a spoon of water and drink it. You have to eat very nutritious food in order to replace the multi vit.