(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

Ooh, Medusa, preggers? Congrats! Sorry I'm late to congratulate you, but I didn't log in for a long time and apparently missed out lots of updates. So.. how many weeks? How are you feeling? Hope to join ur club next year..

Hi puff,
Nice pics @ The Line. Her toothless grin is very sweet... =).

Hi angelia,
Nice pics, Shanice looks very happy on that day. The dress fr her uncle is very pretty.

Hi Medusa,
Oh dear, vomit 20 times is no joke even for adult. It must have been a hard time for u. So glad to hear that Athena is ok now.

Hi Sharon,
Hubby away? Good mommy and daughter bonding time... =P. Nice pics @ pasir ris park. That time we brought esther to east coast, she was fine too until I brought her near to the sea and a wave hit against her legs. She got scared after that and refused to walk on sand again. =P

kypf, thanks... i think 9+wk only, missed my 2nd scan appt, no time to arrange babysitting yet.

Not feeling gd- A's been alot more demanding since preggy, n my symptoms more pronounced than 1st time. Really wondering if shld get a maid.

\kypf
good that ethan is able to fall asleep on his own; yingxin used to be able to do when younger but as she grows older, she wants me to be literally by her side and accompany her

was at my PIL's place yesterday and my MIL kept questioning me why yingxin has not teeth yet and insisted that she must have lacked calcium and has got some problems that "prevent" her from teething cos "normal" babies teeth at 6 months

her son told her it's pretty alright not to teeth even at 1 year old and that it's not a case of calcium deficiency but she refused to believe and kept wanting me to bring yingxin to a PD and a dentist to have her gums check to see if everything is fine and to ask the dentist for opinion on how to make her teeth earlier!!!

told her this kind of thing cannot be help and cannot be rush one, cos every baby develop differently - doesn't mean someone else teeth at 6 months she must follow suit

anyway, after so much talk, she's still doubtful of us

Medusa
Not sure whether is there any scientific reason behind, but i heard that when preggie with #2, #1 will kind of feel it and gets jealous, thus more clingy to the mummy. last time, i could happily do my stuff in the kitchen and leave isabel playing in the living room, but since preggie, she wants to see me almost every minute. no such thing as stranger anxiety when she was much younger, but it surfaced when she was turning one. also, with the slight MS, tiredness, etc, i had, it was quite difficult initially. i suggest u have either your in laws or your mum to help u more often, i know it's not a very easy period. however, things do get smoothen out after the first trimester.

something funnie to share - 2 weeks ago 2 aunties from malaysian diaries knocked on my door and tried to promote vitagen with less sugar and the selling price is the same as supermarket so it's considered pretty convenient as i need not go all the way to supermarket cos they will come by every week door to door

both spoke to me in english (quite broken english) so naturally i replied using english too

then last week, only 1 auntie turned up at my door asking whether i have finished them and whether i would like to get another pack

my mum was at my place then, so i asked my mum to help me carry yingxin while i go get my wallet
(i spoke to my mum in mandarin)

when i gave the auntie the money, she asked me "is that your MIL??" i told the auntie the person in the house is my mum

"oh, so u can speak mandarin ah" exclaimed the auntie..."i thought u not local cos u looked like from myanmar, so i thought u couldn't speak mandarin that's why i spoke to u in english!!!"

Went to zoo on Esther's bd. Some pics to share:

334776.jpg

Daddy bought me another cake on my actual day

334777.jpg
334778.jpg

I had a great walk in the zoo and had fun on the swing

334779.jpg

I made friend with a baby sea lion

334780.jpg

Wanted to make frd with a baboon but he never acknowledge me =(

334781.jpg

The most exciting part - I battled and escaped fr a crocodile =P

itsun,

u gave me a shock.... at 1 glance, i tot that is a real crocodile. I still think, wah... itsun so daring, dare to let esther touch the crocodile. Hohoho.... pai seh pai seh LOL....

sharon,
wat x were u at e pasir ris park? if i had my way, we may hv bumped into each other. silly husband, he kept saying 2 avoid parks for now since his frien kenna dengue fever after kenna bitten by a mosquito at pasir ris park. from 5-630pm, i kept nagging at him 2 go 2 pasir ris park or east coast park. after negotiating for 1hr+, we ended having 2 go for dinner. damn frustrating! husband then said it's ok 2 go 2 botanical gardens but not parks. DUH???

LOL! abt me being preggie...if i really preggie or not tis mth, u'll b the FIRST 2 know via sms.

sharwyn sure has grown up. she's so adorable in tat biting-lips pic.

itsun,
i know y esther look sian sian abt cake cutting. it was done early in e morn rt?

puff,
LOL! how on earth do u look like a myanese? those aunties must hv been cheh meh

Hi puff,
LOL... yr incident with the vitagen lady so funny =P. U never ARBISH her... hehe.

Hi yuru,
U don't need the photo paper? I don't mind to get it from u if u don't need it =).

nap:
I thought the older the bb gets, the less naptime is required. Sometime Esther takes only 1 nap a day (1-2hr).

Esther to Cindy: I can't swim yet but we can splash water together =P.

Hi Sharon and Kelly,
That look is Esther's "morning just woke up don't come and bother me" look. =P

Hi evelyn,
Pai seh pai seh... =P.

<font color="aa00aa">itsun</font>
no lah, me so good natured where got anyhow arbish people wan!!

swimming!!! can yingxin join in the fun??

only brought her swam twice, dun think her swim wear can fit now, but never mind, cos hubby's cousin bought her a new one

334860.jpg

<font size="+2">Wing Yan aka Yingxin is in the October 2005 Cutest Kid Contest!!!</font>

Please support her by casting your holy votes.

One vote per e-mail address (per child) is allowed. So, if you have more than 1 email address (office, personal like yahoo or gmail or singnet or hotmail or pacific etc), please use <font color="ff0000">ALL</font> of them!!! kek kek kek.....

Simply send an email to [email protected] with the subject "CK Wing Yan" will do.

List of all 23 contestants borned in 2004:
http://www.tangerined.com/KZ_talent/WhatsOn/CutestKID_Oct_2004.htm

Thanks a bunch!!!

looking for me ah? :p me very tired today so am around reading on and off but no time to post coz got work to do.

was on half day leave last Fri, went for a massage, body scrub and steam bath then spent the afternoon shopping in Parkway Parade.
sat, hb on leave but we stayed at home till evening as the car was sent for servicing, then collected the car and went swimming. went to my uncle's place last nite but reached home almost midnite as we were waiting for hb to finish his meeting!

on top of that, had to do some office work at home over the weekend and chase after a walking-everywhere rhyan! aiyo! once he sees my notebook switched on in the study room, he keeps walking in there to fidget my keyboard. then, he will walk to me and pull me to look for his daddy, then bring us to the door to bring him out! warmingly though, whenever i say "call mama!" he will say "Ma! Ma!"
and oh, his molars are finally out!

sharon - i pasted the poohbear stickers on the bedroom wall. now, he wakes up every morning and keeps touching the stickers and say "S-TAR!" till we are woken up!

Happy Belated Birthday to Puff and all bbs whom I didn't get to wish! and i like all the lovely pixs!

CRYING INCONSOLABLY
rhyan cries in the middle of his sleep pretty frequently too these days. nanny deduces this could be due to his walking on his own nowadays, possibly at times he almost fall or lose his balance so got a fright and so disturbed sleep? i am not sure leh. but hor, when he hears the toilet door close (even though one of us is with him), he quickly walks to the door and bang at it, sit outside and cry till the door opens!! WE no need to bathe or toilet liao. :p

kypf
POO - i also change rhyan immediately regardless of what he is doing coz i am worried he gets rashes on his butt.

medusa
oh dear! agree with berry, you deserve going for some treats to pamper yourself!

itsun
LOL! esther's solemn expressions really very cool leh! I LIKE!! battle with crocodile also so serious! :p

SHORTER NAPS
i agree. rhyan also naps alot lesser nowadays and if he does nap, i hv to block him from getting off the bed. he will make alot of grumbling noises, whine abit but when he sees how determined i am at not letting him get off the bed, he bo bian, kuai kuai hug his bolster and go to sleep.

actually, it takes alot longer to put him to sleep ever since he weaned himself off pacifer at nanny's place two months back. but i don't mind lar, so long as he don't take the pacifier. have never liked him to use it but nanny says he only use it when he is going to take a nap so i only allow him to use it at her place. thank goodness!

I'm back from 2 days MC. Now still feeling the drowsy effect of the flu medicine but still MUST POST 1st.

Happy Belated Birthday to Yingxin, Calista , Tristan

Puff
Voted for YX oreadi oh yah and Happy Belated birthday to u :p

Angelia
Shanice look so adorable wif her lipsticks and sunglasses. Auntie pcs sayang Shanice for hurting her *cherry small* lips.

Medusa
Feel heart pain for Athena when I see that she vomitted 20x. Is she feeling better today?

Chihiro
Calista look so sweet in her b-day dress :p

Sharon
Love Sharwyn cheeky look in her bandana.

Itsun
LOL when I see Esther 1st pic.

Littleprince
U must be relieved that Rhyan's molars are finally out. Miss his cheerful smile.

Crying during sleep
Keira has also been crying every morning before she wakes up for the past 2 weeks. Not sure whether its link to walking / teething or not??

Hitting own's head
Just want to check, does yr bbs beat her/his own head. Keira is fond of doing this for no particular reason. (she is not hungry/angry/sleepy)
Quite worried when I saw her doing that. She will also hit her head continously with book, ru yi oil can, water bottle or whatever she is holding.
She seems to be exploring the items. NOT with her hands or her mouth BUT with her head. Is this normal??

PUFF, hb read ur request and sent in 7 votes for YX!!! He say he din even vote so many times for Jean... How u gonna repay him?? hiak hiak hiak...

I am new to this thread but would love to join in!

I'm SAHM mom to Rafael, a 1 year old boy, born on 18/10/04.

UNWELL FAYE- Faye seem to have caught a cold+ cough bug from somewhere, she's taken some meds, I'm still waiting for PD to call back and see wat she says.

Sharon, where do u go for massage ah?

pcs, wahahahaha faye does that too! okok I know its not v farnny when your bb is actually doing it! :p I think its prob that they wanna feel the sensation of the item knocking against their head plus hear the sound it produces. I just tell her gently with a slight frown 'dont do that, it hurts yr head and thats not good!' remove the item from her hand and redirect her attention. I dont wanna kick up a big fuss in case she ever decides to use this as a foolproof way to get my attention!

pcs
yar man! but i think there are still other molars that are not out yet coz he is still drooling quite badly, still monitoring to see how many molars are gonna come out.

evelyn, sharon
that time when i just returned to work, nanny kept saying the kids tt she take care of all will kuai kuai wean off pacifier when she wants them to, which is usually around 8-9mths old. when i hinted tt rhyan shld quit the pacifier at 9mths old, she said still early lah and anyway rhyan only use it for a very short while.

my rationale was that rhyan wasn't using the pacifier much at home, sometimes not at all and since he don't really need it, why offer to him? then one fine day, rhyan threw away the pacifier every time she offered him and that continued for 3 consecutive days so she told me he must be weaning himself off and kept the pacifier. about a week later, rhyan refused to nap one afternoon and she decided to try offering to him once more and he threw it away again. so, she left the pacifier aside and when i noticed, quickly told her i will throw it away since he don't need it (in case she decided to try again another day and he decided to use it!!). nanny still can proudly say tt day "i tell you correct hor? the bbs i take care all wean pacifiers off by 1 YEAR OLD!" *faint-ed*

my hb also! tt time when rhyan had those blisters and kept sucking his fingers, hb suggested i give pacifier in order not to aggravate the blisters. i told him i threw all pacifiers away liao (bluff wan lar!) so bo bian, anyway saliva supposed to be a cure for all wounds mah! :p

sharon
wahahha! rhyan makes alot of funny noises nowadays also, like "kiak! kiak! kiak!" and eerie sounds! thankfully he don't make those noises in the middle of the nite, else i will be horrified!

pcs
hmm, i read before when bbs knock their head, its bcoz they like the feeling? or like they are exploring their senses so trying out? rhyan keeps rubbing his feet against the ground too (when he was younger, the rubbing resulted in blisters and slight bleeding on his toes!) and shake his head, sometimes crawl and knock his forehead on the floor on purpose. i think its normal, just make sure she don't knock her head too hard and the item is not sharp?

<font color="aa00aa">angelia</font>
forgot whether i thank you for the belated wishes

<font color="aa00aa">pcs</font>
drink more water yah!! thanks for the votes and belated birthday greetings!!

yingxin likes to hit her forehead against the glass door or wall or when she is sitting against something, she will also hit the back of her head on it

<font color="aa00aa">jen</font>
wah!! 7 votes?? all from him?? repay him by buying a BIG birthday pressie for jean lor!!

Hi puff,
Ya boy, she tummy is getting bigger. Normal for cubby bb to have big tummy hor? Swimming session need to ask yuru... hehe.

Hi sharon,
Ya lor, her stone look very scary... wahaha.

Hi littleprince,
Wow, u like to pamper yrself alot. I think I always hear u go masasge and body scrub. Don't arbish me... =P Battling with crocodile of coz must be serious - life and death situation... hehe.

Hi pcs,
U feeling ok now? Esther nv beats/hits her head. But she likes to pull her hair. Maybe Keira picked that up fr someone. Bb likes to imitate ppl alot.

belanda
Welcome!! Any pics of yr boy?

Berry
Faye's down wif flu?? Flu virus always very active when it comes to year end. Hope she recover soon.

That's exactly what I'm worried about. She could be using this method to attract my attention coz I always very kan cheong when she does that. OK I will act cool from now onwards.
Thanks for telling me this is normal :p

Thanks Mummies for all your contributions on rotavirus vaccine... think after Gabby's MMR, will give him the virus as i dont think i have the heart, stamina to go thr hospitalisation again due to the rotavirus.

CSR, Medusa
Gabby also became super clingy after i became preggie with no 2. Esp when he sees me throw up in the morning, he will cling to me as is something will happen.

Puff
voted liao...

puff,
used my 2email accounts &amp; voted for yingxin liao. i'll use my husband's email accounts &amp; do so too.

belanda,
welcome! welcome!

pcs,
gabe did e same thing too. he has knocked his head wif his ru yee oil, watever hand-held toy he gets his hand on, his drum stick (tat hurt very bad for him), etc. everytime he did so,i had 2 tell him tat doing such stuff hurts him. so far, he has stopped doing it.

itsun
YUAN WANG AH!!!

eh, berry and skyblue can vouch for me hor! when i go for massage or whatever, usually its FOC or got very good discounts wan! other than that, i never any how spend money hor .. only package i currently hv is facial which existed way before i got pregnant! :p

belanda
welcome to our thread!

sharon
ok, i ask rhyan to throw sharwyn's pacifier far far away when he see her again hor .. then she cannot use it anymore .. hehe ..

sherhino,
found samantha in the cutest kid's oct contest too. voted for her liao...using 2email accounts. will do so wif husband's email accounts later.

Yuru
Just saw yr post on Cindy's knock head post.
So Qiao(3). Hehe.
what is the exhibition about??

Kelly
So hitting head is a temporary phase too. Tks for the info.

pcs,
i dunno if hitting head is a temporary phase cos *i tik* gabe stopped doing it bcos it hurts &amp; i kept telling him not to do so. like wat berry does, i told him tat by doing so, it'll hurt him (i told him, "darling, dun ur head hurts? pain pain?") n he'll cry (then i pretend 2 cry).

or mayb he stopped doing it cos it's no longer fun. he has used practically everything he has used b4 2 hit his head. who knows if he finds a new interesting object, he may do so 2 experiment.

Cant type much- A zzzing on me, she hasnt needed this type of koala-sleeping arrangement in months!

pcs- A hits her head with hard toys. Hits back of head on wall too. Got very "experimental" expression on her face so think maybe never let her baluku enough last time ah.

swim- *sobsob* never let her swim for sooo long liao, i'm sure everything forgotten liao.

belanda- welcome

Hi Medusa
poor tena to go thru all thses pain. Hope she recover and in action soon.

Hi berry
Hope Faye will recover and stay away from all those virus

Hi Sharon &amp; Littleprince
Nicole is still in pacifier, she do not really like it esp during her teething now but this naughty mother keep offer her. She dun like teether so i tot it can help to ease her pain. but usually she eat when she sleeping but half way she will puke out. Sometime I oso dun know i doing the right ting.

Hi kelly
How will Gab, she ok with FM now?

Hi Pcs
Are u feeling better, take care ok.

Sick &amp; Teething bb
Nicole is down wif fever on Thurs and feed her wif previous medicine. The fever is on and off and we realise she is teething her molar teeth and cry terribly. Bring her back on Sat nite, realise he clear her throat often and dun look good and suspect she got sore throat. She refuse to take her milk unless we dilute till very diluted. Yest bring her to see doc and doc diagnose her with throat infection. I so hard aches and alway tell myself to be patient wif her when she cry. She cry on &amp; off and cant sleep well I am so tired and keep keeping myself cool.

Sick bb = Sad mummy

<font color="aa00aa">kelly</font>
thanks for the votes

<font color="aa00aa">yuru</font>
as i was giving her the money to pay for the purchase, she said those things lor

<font color="aa00aa">yuru</font>
thanks too for the votes!!

<font color="aa00aa">wendy</font>
dun be upset...they will get well eventually, u have to be cheerful so that you can pass on the happy mood to nicole!

hi puff

thank for the comfort. nicole alway seem to get sick once in every 3 mth sigh... esp now teething and she reject everyone and clinge on me tightly giving me no space to breath.

btw, auntie wendy had cast a vote for YX

hi wendy
thanks for the votes!! i can understand how frustrating it is when she clings onto you every moment but hey, think positively....next time when she grows up, you will miss such moments cos she will no longer want you to carry etc

alamak, this thread also goes very fast! I'll try to keep up.

I see quite a number familiar names here too.

hey MEDUSA, we gave birth on the same day! I was just asking you in the other thread then I saw the list of DOBs on this one.

Did anyone(for babies above 1year) go for the chickenpox vaccination yet ? Just wondering, since it's elective right ?

My Little Bugger :

334956.jpg
334957.jpg

belanda, wow wat coincidence, was planning to chickpox her this wk but...sigh, she had runny stools just 5 mins ago. Think diarrhea.

hi belanda, i just brought my girl for chick pox vacc 1 day after she turned one year old, total cost $110 (jab + consultation)

was said to last a lifetime but still not 100% guarantee, only 95%

i feel it's good enough already cos the risk is greatly reduced; i'm not afraid of her getting pox, it's the scarring that's worrying

<font color="aa00aa">berry</font>
hope faye get well soon....

<font color="aa00aa">sharon</font>
nope, she's alright after the jab..but PD advised that there could be 1 or 2 blister like spots/rashes 10 days after the jab and asked me to leave it if i happen to see it

Hi Medusa and CSR,
Was following this thread.

Topic on maid
I am 7mths preggie now. I have a 13mths bb gal. Just got a maid 2 weeks ago. From 4mth to 7mth was the most shiong for me. My mum to take care of my bb gal during weekday. Thus weekend even though i am very tried, i too 'tong' to take care of my gal on weekends so that my mum can rest and recharge over 2 days. :>
Then hubby and i talked over this issue and finally decided to employ a mail to help out my mum. Now it quite a good time, as she 'under training' my mum, when #2 is due, she is more or less trained. hehe...

Hunting for a maid is a challenge, like what CSR said, heng/sway matter. For us we get an experience indonesia maid. So far, 2 weeks liao, she is in fact quite good as i left with nothing to do over the weekend. Thus spent all my time and energy with my bb gal.

My mum also happier as there is some1 to help out.

Privacy is a concern for us. First weekend was really not use to having a strange in the house with us 24hrs. But have to treat her as part of the family, that's what the course taught us. hee hee FYI, to employ a maid, we as the employer has to attend a course. Can do it thru E-learning. Quite convience.

I really advise those mothers preggie with #2 shd engage some additional help. maid is most encomical.

As i am satisfied with my maid, I treat her well also. Went to kenny Rogers on Sat, also ordered a set for her, can tell she veri happi.

But must work out your finanical spending with hubby, as when #2 bb come out, $$ quite shiong.

I think it is true on the chinese saying that #1 will be very sticky with the mummy when mummy preggie with #2 bb. This also happened to me. Sometimes, I so pek chek that hubby and i wld quarrel as bb so sticky to me, only want mummy and dun want anyone else. somemore, stomach getting bigger each day... really cannot...

Ladies, Do consider my suggestions.

medusa - oh dear..hope she gets better soon. maybe it's the hot weather.

puff - ok got it, thanks. and yeah, the scarring is a worry. and the discomfort they'll have to go thru too.

sharon - LOL. The name is Rafael.

belanda,
HB thinks A shld chickpox vac cos *I* haven't gotten chickpox... I do recall being vaccinated a few yrs back tho.

peipei,
thanks alot for ur input, much appreciated
. My family had maids before when my granny was around, really heng/suay lor.
Now I live with only HB and #1 bb... still feeling reluctant, esp since no elderly here to "justify". Aiyah dunno lah, maybe just feeling the $ pinch lor.
Alot did advise to employ BEFORE #2 pops out, so that by then, it's a reasonably gd maid and well-adjusted to the family.

My mum recovered from her diarrhea liao :p , tomolo I drop A by her for time-off, muaahhhaahah. *fingers crossed*