(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

Soyabean
U so lucky got so many consultants in the office. My colleagues dun bf
My company has a fridge. Hopefully I can put my express milk in there. Does your company has rm for u to pump your milk?

Sanrio
1yr unpaid leave, I m still pondering whether to apply 2 mths unpaid leave. Think quite difficult. Dunno whether my boss allow or not. I can't afford to b a SAHM.
Think pump is v individual. We juz gotta make a decision. Perhaps u loan n try out which one u prefer. I m more or less set on buying Avent manual pump

Bubble
How many ice pack is required?
Avent pump @ $40 is cheap. The lowest price I come across is $59. I m waiting for promotion price of $59 plus 15%+5% discount for JL members to buy the pump.
Does your company has a rm for u to pump your milk? My company doesn't have. I gotta do it in toilet

Hi Kis, $30 for the pillow abit too ex leh. But I think quite difficult to collect and dry the bean sprouts that's why so ex.

Hi shook, my col used to book meeting room to pump her milk.

shook....
my company no room for me to EBM... but thinking of wat giggler is doing, i.e. to book meeting room.

i'm told by my colleague one ice pack can last for abt 6 hrs or more... so shld be enuf to last from after tkg the BM from fridge and to home.

Hi giggler,
Ya, its quite a tedious work, but dun know leh, my fren mum had collected a huge bucket, and she doesn't mind the work leh. My MIL also says want to make one for my bb. Actually hor, i find the pillow quite nice to play with leh, next time can also let bb play with it.

Hi soyabean, meeting room is a good idea rite? Moreover, they're empty during lunch time most of the time.

Hi Kis, I think it's quite tedious cos you still need to sun the bean sprouts to dry them leh. Most prob, my mom will be making for me. So you decide on the breast pumps liao? For me, most prob I'll try to borrow from my cousin the manual pump and maybe rent the electric pump from hospital to try out.

Hi Giggler,
I only set a target for 6th months for myself initially. However, felt sayang to stop at 6th months coz I still have supply especially after hearing from those mummies who din managed to bf due to factors like low supply. Some of the mummies who deliver ard the same time as my no. 1 are still bfg up to today. They are the real good ones.

Hi Sanrio,
My due is 7 May
. Counting down.....

Hi Shook,
I KS, bot 3 ice bricks. Initially I had no fridge in office and had to be offsite for some training. 3 bricks is sufficient to last me whole day. If you have a fridge at work, 1 brick should be enough.

Erm..$59 for Avent pump is already marked down. So far I have yet to see 15%+5% when the pump is going at $59.

Actually I was told there is a room meant for bfg in the in-house clinic in my office but it is a 5 minute walk. Rather inconvenient. I expressed my milk in the mini meeting room most of the time. One disadv is the room is frosted glass and can't be locked. So I need to jaga the door at the same time express my milk

Hi Kis,
If your MIL can sew, just go to market n collect the husk. The hawkers will give them to u FOC. The only thing is after that you have to sun them yrself. I remember one of the mummies here have this lobang buying the pillow from Yishun. It is cheaper than $30. If anyone keen, I can ask her for the address.

Hi Bubble

May I interrupt? I would like to ask you about the Avent pump. Is it necessary to sterilise the pump? If so, would the parts be able to fit into other brands of steriliser or only the Avent steriliser?

<font color="0000ff">Hi MTBs</font>
Bought my bean sprout husk pillows at Blk 844 Yishun Ring Road (outside Apex Clinic). No unit no. cos it's a make-shift stall outside a shop selling joss sticks. Look for an old man sitting behind his stall, each pillow selling at $8. Cheri at SunPlaza also selling the pillow at $10 but smaller than the one selling at Yishun.

<font color="0000ff">HiShook</font>
Me stop breastfeeding after 3 weeks that's why I didn't buy any pump. My neighbour will babysit my bb after I return to work. Will confirm with u on the collection again.

hi giggler, kis, soyabean n all,
i wen kkh yesdy n checked out the set of medala breastpump - electric + manual tat i mentioned earlier. didnt ask sales staff for details as shop closed. but took a close look as the set was at the window display. maybe i wont buy this. my comments: the electric one is the same as the single electric (currently selling in mkt) but for the manual one, it seems to be like a mini "bicycle pump". u need to use both hands n like so difficult. it's unlike medala harmony manual or avent manual.
btw, their medala single electric is selling at $148, i think outside is $178.

i agree with foreverfriend, diff ple hav diff preference, so we probably hav to decide on one tat we think will suit us beta.

hi soyabean,
jus to share w u. yesdy me n b2b3m4 wen for antenatal class n realised our calcium intake are way way below the recommended 1000mg a day for pregnant women. milk is a vy gd source but we both dislike it.. i tired anmum sample, almost puke wen i smell n taste it. mus look for other sources eg. high cal soyabean drk , yoghurt etc. but mus take abt 2-4 glasses a day! dietician said no matter how, absorption fr food is certainly beta n recommended compared to supplement.

Hi Berry,
We placed the bean sprout husk pillow on the tummy of the newborns so that they can sleep in peace and will not startled by loud noise or bad dreams. U see, when babies in our belly, they are curled up and hence feel very secured. When they new to this world, they felt insecured and new to all the noise etc.

Hi Melon,
It is necessary to steralise the pump. Some will steralise after each use. I steralised my pump at least twice a day. Once before I go to work and once after I off work. The rest of the time I will just rinse the pump with hot water.

As far as I know, Avent pump can be steralise in Pigeon steraliser. Not too sure for the other brands tho.

giggler, soyabean
I think v unlikely dat I m allowed to book meeting rm for expressing. No one does dat in my company. The mum here dun bf. Bsides, the meeting rms here have glass panel, ppl can c fm outside.

Giggler
My mum said can oso use green bean to make pillow, not necessary the husk
If u want the husk u can go to wet mkt n ask the veg seller to give u n make it yourself

Soyabean
R u referring to the ice pack fm Avent traveller set or normal ice pack we buy fm supermkt?

Bubble
Oh no 15%+5% when the pump is @ $59. Then no pt for me to wait. Gotta buy when the pump is going @ $59 @ JL. @ least still got 5% discount as compared to buying fm other shops
Do u feel pressurized to pump n jar gar the glass @ the same time? Only the big meeting rm in my office has a little clear glass window, the other 2 small meeting rms in front of my seat has big big clear glass panel.
Oh gotta sun the husk b4 making the pillow. My mum said use green bean oso can. Easier to use green bean to make pillow
How to sterlize the pump?

Luzon888
U so lucky to have your neighbour as your babysitter. So near n convenient.

Sanrio
Can take cheese. High in calcium. My gyne said 1 slice of cheese = 1 glass of milk

hi shook...
oic... then u wld hv a bit of prob to EBM... why not consult ur boss wif tis prob and see if some arrangemt can be made?

i think its the normal ice pack.

hi foreverfriend,
tks. am trying to eat cheese, half a slice each tx as i lactose intolerant.

do u or other MTBs drink milk like Anmum, Enfamum etc? they claim to hav EHA, DHA, gd for bb brain development. is this really necessary? wen it comes to milk, i will hav big prob!

Hi Bubble, so you extend your bf or you stopped at your target of 6mths? Do you give formula in bet or tbf?

Hi berry, you can put the pillow on bb's chest when bb is sleeping. Heard that it helps to calm bb down.

Hi sanrio, so the manual pump that comes with it not that fantastic lah? Have u try adding coco powder to Anmum? Maybe you'll like it that way? I'm taking Anmum and Enfamum alternatively.

Hi shook, if your col don't use the rooms during lunch time then I guess it's still ok for you to book them for expressing your milk lah.

Hi giggler, bubble,
just found out tat my MIL had already pick n dry the beansprout husk during weekend. So not a prob. for me.

Giggler, as for the breastpump, if there is good discount, i may buy loh, if not, i may borrow fr. colleague.

Bubble, so u r abt 7mths pregnant...congrats and tat's fast. May i know how old is ur first child now?

Hi sanrio, so the manual pump is no good? Then i can skip this set too. My calcium intake is only 250mg leh, so is also insufficient. But i drink those high cal milk and soya milk. I dun like those Anmum etc, din even try it. So far, took abt 2/3 yogurt, but also dun really like it, but the cal. in yogurt is higher than milk. Initially tot of buying cal supplements fr. watson/pharm, anyone bot???

Hi shook, i find that to use green bean to make pillow, is quite heavy compared to the beansprout husk. May not be comfortable to put on stomach. Or mayb dun put too much green bean loh.

hi giggler,
tks. hav u tired their chocolate flavor one? does it taste better or less "milky"? i really dun "dare" to buy as tat day i tired anmum sample (plain one) n i actually "forced" myself to gulp down only half cup. i still hav anmum plain sample, mayb i add coco powder (milo can right?) as u advised.

hi sanrio...
i'm taking anmum oso... oni started couple of weeks ago... i tried adding a spoon of milo... but didnt mk a lot of diff... maybe can try adding more?

hi kis,
gynae did prescribe me 'vitahealth' calcium supplement as i eat minimal diary n oso lactose intolerant. but i trying to get more fr food n following some advices given by MTBs in this thread.
for breastpump, i may get medela single electric. my frd told me noise level ok since doing at home n if use electricity (instead of batt), the pump works fine. i dun wan to invest in double coz dun know how's milk supply like. robinsons this tue or wed having cardmembers sale. medela has 15% disct n can use $20 voucher. so single electric costs abt $113.50. i tink gd price.
as for manual pump, so far feedback was avent is the better one compared to rest.
so depends on ur preference..

pigeon steam steriliser 20% disct + $20 voucher during robinsons cardmembers sale. so if anyone like to buy, the price is quite gd at $72.80 af less.

Sanrio, you bought the pigeon steam steriliser? How many bottles can it put? I intend to buy Avent bottles, dunno can put that in or not? Actually how does the steriliser works huh? Electricity? Then must steam for how long?

Me intend to go Robinson Sales tomorrow. $72.80 is after the $20 voucher disc or not yet?

hi sarsi,
i saw it in last robinsons sales on 24/2. didnt buy n tot a bit regret. will buy this round. the pigeon steam steriliser can put either 8-9 bottles (normal size bottles). can put advent but lesser bottles at 1 time. i got feedback fr mummies in this or other thread n my colleague that pigeon steriliser is quite gd. can oso sterilise the teats at the same tx. vy fast abt 8-10 mins (cant remb exactly).
i m not using boiling mtd as no extra help at home, so will buy this steriliser.
steriliser uses hot steam to kill the bacteria. but must wash bottles bf sterilising. af sterilising, if u keep the steriliser cover closes, it can keep the bottles bacteria free for few hrs.
$72.80 is af disct n $20 voucher, shd b vy gd price.

soyabean,
will try put milo. mayb mus put more than can take away the 'milk" taste hoh...
oh yes, my boy on day of scan quite guai, opened his legs wide but refused to turn at all so they cant see spine. i must talked talked to him n walked around then. u saiyang n talk talk to ur bb more...

Hi Kis, it's good if you can borrow from col cos we still not sure if we can breastfeed for long rite?

Hi sanrio, I didn't try their chocolate flavour but I heard that it taste as milky. So I think milo or coco powder will taste better.

hi sanrio...
i was thinking abt it leh... milo might not be strong... can do wat giggler says, add cocoa powder... can buy from ntuc.
the choco flavour might be stronger... but u try the milo method 1st lor.

Soyabean
My mgr is a male Indian fm India. Dun feel comfortable to talk to him. May b I check wif my dept secretary whether can let me use any rm to express. Sigh, my FC not sitting in a rm otherwise I can borrow his rm. He is a v nice guy.

Sanrio
I refuse to drink milk as I ballon when I drink milk.
Can u take yogurt? High in calcium too. Other alternatives silver fish, ikan billis, tofu, soyabean drink

Giggler
the working culture in my company weird one. Sometimes they work during lunch n take their lunch while working. Sometimes they work during official lunch time n take lunch earlier or later.

Kis
My mum said shift green bean to the 2 sides when putting pillow on baby's tummy. The cloth gives the heat n the green bean is heavy enuff (as compared to the husk) to ensure the pillow doesn't drop off fm baby's tummy

Sarsi, Saniro
Where u gals get the $20 voucher fm Robinson? Does JL issue the $20 voucher?

I'm new to this thread, and i'm going into my 19th week now. Does anyone knows usually when is the detailed scan done? Is it compulsory? And how is the scan carried out?

Shook, r u a Robinsons Card member. I got it from the mailer. They will mail you invitations to the sales preview. The $20 voucher is enclosed inside.

Sanrio,
Ok, thks for the info. I will go n take a look tomm. Will buy the essential stuff like the steriliser n milk bottles tomm to get the $20 rebate. Gotta spend $$ again. The other day I went John Liitle sale oso buy bb stuff. Nowsadays I seldom buy things for myself. If go shopping I will go the bb section straightaway to take a look.

Hey you gals got practice 'tai jiao' or not. I heard its really useful. What do you gals do? Sing, read, talk to your baby?

hi amie,
welcome. i did detailed scan at 19wks at kkh. usually done around 19-20wks, depend on gynae n hospital, i think. just like normal scan but in greater details like can c gender, heart, kidneys, spine etc.

hi foreverfriend,
i robinson ocbc cardmember, so when got cardmember pte sale event, they'll send to us by post. quite gd as many items got 15-20% n still can use voucher. JL voucher usually $5, less attractive.
i guess i hav to do without milk if i try n still fail to drk, n eat other stuff like yoghurt, fish instead.

hi sarsi, kis
u reminded me. i dun know whether on top of the 20% + $20 voucher, are cardmembers still entitled to the 5% rebate. if yes, really gd buy n the pigeon steriliser will cost even lesser than $72.80!

hi giggler n soyabean,
tks. i'll try the milo/coco powder method first. hopefully i can at least drk some. if not, bo bian..

Hi Sanrio,
thx for the info. I'm quite worried because I didn't hear anything about this from my gynae, hv been trying to call the clinic just now but no answer

Hi shook, oic then difficult to use the mtg room during lunch hours also hor? My friend also put on weight when she took Anmum everyday.

Hi amie, my gynae didn't arrange for me to do detailed scan as he's using 3D scan machine which can see very clearly liao.

Hi Sarsi, I'm Robinson member but I didn't receive that mailer leh. So the sale will be this week? I didn't do much also. Quite lazy at times but I talk to baby every nite. And sometimes I'll read to her or listen to those CDs for bb.

Hi sanrio, I think cocoa powder will be strong enough to cover the milk smell.

Hi sanrio, is ur 'vitahealth' calcium supplement selling outside like in guardian etc? How much? So, robinson have another sales? The breastpump and pigeon steam steriliser seems selling at a good price. Very tempted...

Hi giggler, so u will borrow the pumps first?? U not tempted to buy??

Hi shook, oic, the beans are to ensure the pillow doesn't drop off fm baby's tummy. thanks.

Hi sarsi, I'm also Robinson card mm, but no mailer leh. Will go and see my mail box tonite. Yah, these days i only go shopping if got bb stuff sales, if not, stay at home. I got do a bit of "tai jiao", but dun know effective anot. Like the other gals, i read out story books, or any other books. I even ask my hubby to read out his notes to bb (he's studying). Then i listen to classical music, play a bit of piano etc.

hi kis,
the gynae prescribed for me. shd b available over the counter at most pharmacies.

as for robinsons mailer, i rec'd yesdy. try check today, shd rec'd.. didnt expect another cardmember pte sale so soon. hope wat i saw in last sales-24/2, the disct still available.

i oso try read storybook to bb evy nite bf bed. in the day, if i early in office, no one around, will talk to bb. sometx listen to music or sing to bb.

nowadays go shopping, oso alwy c bb thgs, beside maternity wear, din buy thgs for myself too..

i borrowing 1 avent manual pump fr frd. she used it once/twice. so i kian su, can try both..

giggler,
coco powder got caffiene? nvm la hoh... a little bit only. i m not a coffee or tea drinker.

hi kis,
the gynae prescribed for me. shd b available over the counter at most pharmacies.

as for robinsons mailer, i rec'd yesdy. try check today, shd rec'd.. didnt expect another cardmember pte sale so soon. hope wat i saw in last sales-24/2, the disct still available.

i oso try read storybook to bb evy nite bf bed. in the day, if i early in office, no one around, will talk to bb. sometx listen to music or sing to bb.

nowadays go shopping, oso alwy c bb thgs, beside maternity wear, din buy thgs for myself too..

i borrowing 1 avent manual pump fr frd. she used it once/twice. so i kian su, can try both..

giggler,
coco powder got caffiene? nvm la hoh... a little bit only. i m not a coffee or tea drinker.

Hi Kis, I'm not going to buy breast pump at the moment. I'll see if I can tahan to bf my bb after birth.

Hi sanrio, I think there's abit of caffeine in coco but I think it's alrite.

Sarsi
I m a Robinson member. R u referring to the voucher on the top of the pamphlet for members preview on 26,27 Feb?
Many ppl told me tai jiao is gd. I dun really do it seriously. I borrow books fm library n read to my baby when I m free; sing to him only when I go karaok; talk to him when I remember n no one ard me, otherwise ppl thot I crazy

Sanrio
Think the voucher I got is $5. So it is fm JL. I applied my card fm JL. My card is printed Robinson leh
Milo, corn flake oso contain calcium but yogurt, silver fish n ikan bilis have higher level of calcium. We can't eat sadine otherwise sadine oso rich in calcium
Nowadays my shopping is baby stuff shopping.

foreverfriend,
is ur card ocbc robinsons visa, cos i change my old robinsons card to the visa one for quite a while oreadi n dun know whether their membership scheme has changed??
the coming robinsons cardmember sales is on 2 or 3 mar (voucher valid only 1 day depend on which day u rec'd the invitation). the 26/27 feb is JL sales n voucher only $5, cant use in robinsons.
mayb u can call robinsons to check..

at first didnt know cant eat sardine until c the posting in tis thread. now i try to eat ikan bilis. i bought some fresh n fruity yoghurt, hopefully not too milky

Hi avocado, you went for your detailed scanning today? So can start to buy clothings for bb liao. Congrats!

sanrio and forever friends,
how come cannot eat sardine? I like and have been eating lots of sardine lah... coz I thought high in protein, so I eat a lot..

Sanrio
I din convert my Robinson card to OCBC credit card. I wanna concentrate on 1 credit card to gain pts for redemption. Probably dat's y I dun get the $20 voucher

Avocado

Emily
Sardine is high in mercury. So is shark, sword fish, kind mackeral, tunar

Hi Emily, sardine is high in mercury so not good to eat too much.

Hi shook, I converted mine to OCBC credit card but didn't rec the mailer also.

Mine is the Robinsons card, not the credit card. But I got the $20 voucher. But the JL sales last week, my brouchure like got no $5 voucher leh.

I thot sardines are rich in calcium? I heard abt tuna though.

Wah you gals got practice tai jiao ah. Wat kind of books do you gals read? You mean children story books or our adult normal story books? You read out loud to bb or read to yourself onli? I dun like reading story books leh..... magazines can or not...hee....

Hi Avocado, so gd you know the gender of yr bb. I went for my appt on Sat &amp; gynae said can't confirm because can't really tell. My guess is bb is a gal becos the male part for bb boy can be seen quite clearly from 16 wks. Will have to wait for my detailed scan 2 wks later to confirm. U feel any movement already? This afternoon, I felt a tap on my lower ab but not sure if that's a kick from my bb.

Giggler
Aiyo, OCBC double std, din give u $20 voucher

Sarsi
Do u shop more in Robinson than JL. I dun shop in Robsinson. It is out of the way for me. I only shop in JL. Wonder if they send the voucher based on shoppers' shopping trend
I borrow story books for toddlers. Read out to bb. My cousin's wife said she read books for adults to herself during her 1st pregnancy. Her eldest son better in study compared to her 2nd n 3rd son. Think any books or magazines oso can as long as u read, it cultivates reading interest for your baby.

Sue
Most likely it is your baby's movement dat u felt. Baby's movement is felt @ lower abdominal area. U will know as u feel more of the movements

hi avocado,
congrats! me having boy too. i suppose our EDD (including soyabean) are quite near each other. waiting for soyabean to update us.

hi sarsi n emily,
i din know abt sardine high in mercury at first till i learn fr MTBs here n frds. i did read abt tuna, swordfish, mackerel thou.
emily, can-food somtx high in hidden salt so mus eat in moderate.
sarsi, i read children n bible stories to bb. i still cont to read magazines for leisure but din read aloud for this.

hi foreverfriend,
wat exactly is "mackerel" fish ah? any dialect name for it? so at least can tell mil n mum.

funny leh! it seems tat some rec'd robinsons voucher, some dun. most (all??) of the tx, my colleagues n myself rec'd coz we'll talk abt it. hmm.. mayb mus check w robinsons if u din rec'd.

dear MTBs,
i got 1 question. confirm cant do hair now, ie. perm, colour or rebond (except cut) is it? i read books, said ok. but asked gynae, she said NO. my ex-nurse colleague (mid-wife b4) even said best to wait 6mths af birth for hormones to stabilise b4 introducing chemicals to hair. ah!!!
i was tinking af confinement, mus do somthg to hair, now oreadi so messy n i ren ren ren.
how abt if we breastfeed? can do rebond etc?

hi all!
lazy to retype so copy and paste my post from MTB thread. hehe.

wat a fruitful visit and checkup yest... and guess wat? bb Edison has opened his legs big big for auntie sonographer to see. hehe...

and he was mvg abt so much dat i had to keep changing my position from lying on my back, to lying on the left and right so dat the sonographer cld get the angle she wanted...

and oso.... not so good news when i went to see my gynae.... first of all... she says i hv to monitor my water retention and my blood pressure cos i might hv pre-eclempsia later on... my mum has it so it might be hereditary. my weight gain is ok.

next, my gynae is preggy! and giving birth in Jun, one mth b4 me, so she wldnt be able to deliver my bb. sigh... and due to tis, i m going to switch to another gynae in kk.

and i hv more or less decided to go for the Premier Package so i wan to see someone from the Private Suite. my gynae has recommended me Dr Caroline Khi. any of u know her and how she is like? and anybody has any other gynae to recommend, besides Dr Sim Li Ngor? i wld prefer female gynae. thanks!

sanrio, I think mackerel in chinese is called 'Ma(3) Jiao(1)' and in hokkien called 'bei ka'.
I happenned to be asking my gynea about this last sat, and he said that this rule about fish applies more if you're overseas cause AVA is very strict about what we bring in, fish included. Tests are conducted regularly to test to everything including mecury levels. So as long as the fishes as bought from singapore, we generally dun have to worry about how restricting intake. Same applies to soft cheeses.

hi soyabean,
congrats agn! i replied in the other thread.

hi berry,
tks for the info. yup, s'pore authorities quite strict so shd b pretty safe la hoh, esp af sars n all those blue flu cases. i c.. "bei ka" is it the fish meat like 4 pieces then only 1 big bone in centre.. it's ok, jus curious

hi giggler,
did u try both anmum n enfamum? i happened to drk a little of enfamum sample at kkh af a parenting talk. it seems a little beta but as so small cup, i oso cant tell much diff.

Hi Sarsi, I read magazines also. I just read whatever books/mag I feel like reading lor. So far, didn't touch bb story books. Sometimes, if I feel like it, I'll read out loud but not for long.

Hi shook, I feel the same leh. As long as we read to cultivate interest can liao, I don't think it matters what we read.

Hi sanrio, some say ok to do rebonding cos it doesn't touch the scalp. I find enfamum thicker than an-mum. Actually, I neutral to both lah. So I drink alternately with these 2 brands.

Giggler, Shook, Sanrio, you gals read to your bb ah. Hummm... think I gotta start reading liao so as to cultivate boi boi's interest in books too...hahahaha....
My SIL oso said her 1st pregnancy she read n let bb listen to music n her girl very clever, whereas the 2nd pregnancy cos she got no time since she was looking after the 1st child, she didnt do all these and the boy was a bit slower. Not too sure if it was the effect of tai jiao or could it be boys are usually slower than girls. They are just 1 year apart in age but really can see the difference lor. The younger one is slower wif learning and cannot remember the things taught in school. The older girl on the other hand is very smart.