(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

emily,
tks for sharing w me ur bill. $3k+ cash for normal del w epidural, 2 bedded, seem quite ex. i havnt decided whether to go glenE. seem like quite costly. read somewhere in d forum tat there are more 'hidden' costs compared to other hospital, dun noe how true..

any mummies delivered in TMC, single or double bedded ward, can share w me ur hospital bill af medisave deduction. tks

(hubby ask me go find out more pls, cos tis tx fr his pocket, previously ex employer paid, din even go check d cost/bill) :p

emily,
did u go n learn any 'special' breathing or relaxation techniques? my frd jus shared w me she believes in 'drug free' labour n she only concentrated on her breathing during labour, din nid any drug, not even d gas

Lyn, ya.. I also feel that J too young to learn martial arts now. You ever thot of enrolling J in NAFA kindergarten? Its good that J and his papas bonding is good mah.

Sanrio, think Mt E and GlenE are the most ex. TMC and Mt A still ok leh.

Sanrio,
yeah, GlenE very ex. Think you should try Mt A. I liked it there lots. Nurses very encouraging and friemdly. I did not go to learn special breathing techniques due to work schedules clashing etc. But I had wanted to have drug-free birth very much... unfortunately, had to have the gas due to sudden intense pain within short period and Elijah coming so fast. You should go for those classes if you can find the time.

Hi Eureka! hehehe.. nice meeting you yesterday at PP. You gal quite shy hor. At least got something done yesterday - i.e. chance-meeting you. ehehheee....

QSG, some ideas on things you can do with Dana - which I did with Ethan yesterday. I used plain flour and added water to make a dough. Then take out kitchen set for him to play. He rub, press, cut, hammer, pinch, roll dough etc for his cooking. I let him play on the living room table in front of my TV (while I was watching TV) and then once in a while, chat with him and give him ideas on what to cook, how to play dough, make cookies etc etc... After he played for 2.5 hours on the dough and kitchen set, I helped him pack up and we watched Ice Age 2 together. then I made jelly and showed him how I make it in the kitchen. Got him to help me scoop the liquid into the moulds etc. Then it was colouring time. Then reading time. I kept asking him questions for him to answer me or to point to the pictures to show me or to count the ducks etc with me. Then it was activity book time (i.e. tieing shoe lace, undoing and doing buttons, undoing velco to match shapes etc). All the above was done yesterday coz hubby was working and I was stuck at home with two kids and a maid.

Oh, and you can get Dana to help you wash the dishes. They can do it you know. Just pull a tall chair next to the sink and let her help either wash the dishes or dry them. Since it just you can Dana, you can all use plastic to eat and you wash the very dirty stuff such as pots yourself and let her have a hand with the plates and spoons/forks.

Another thing you could do is bake together which I have done with Ethan before. Let Dana help you put the flour, water, sugar, eggs, etc into the mixing bowl for you and mix it to show her how to do it. Then put it into the oven and the both of you can enjoy it for tea. Can even put icing on it to make designs etc

Emily, how's Eureka??? So long never see her posting here liao. I agree that Mt A will be much cheaper than GlenE.

sanrio, how abt gg to the other threads to ask those mummies who just gave birth? They'll have the first-hand info

Sanrio
Sorry I can't help with the TMC fees. I had full insurance cover so i didnt really bother about the rates and stayed extra long some more (3 days labour, 4 days post-birth)...because i didnt pay attention to the cost, the bill came to about $6K-7K altogether.

However, most friends tell me Mt A and TMC cost generally about the same.

Mummies, thanks for all the suggestions on how to spend time with Dana. Will try out some of them.

Emily, good that Ethan can play the dough for so long. I have the playdough but dana only plays with it for at most 15 mins. When i switch on TV/DVDS for her to watch and i go lie on bed, after a short while she will come searching for me...looks like she will only do things in my presence.

QSG, u can't leave them on their own at this age. They need constant encouragement, and supervision. Ethan will always try funny tricks such as climbing on the table even when I am there. That's why, I make sure he is next to me... even when I am resting and watching TV. I know it's tiring for you since u are so heavily pregnant now. What abt getting Dana to take naps with you?? Or you can get Dana to sit on the bed while you lie down... and then you can sing songs with her... cuddle her etc.

Emily, tried getting her to nap beside me but think our timings different, she refused to lie down and even if sit beside me will kept disturbing me or talking...
Nowadays, i find even singing songs or reading story to her very energy draining.

QSG
Then you suit Dana's nap timing lor. YOu cant expect her to play on her own you nap in the room. Wat if she pulls a chair on on the stove??

emily,
i m hoping n trying for no epidural tis tx. cos i had v v bad epidural side effect. af delivered ash, i vomitted n vomitted non stop then bp fell to v low n had severe gidiness n shivering n fever. delivered at abt 2pm but had to stay in d del suite till 7pm for monitoring. it lasted until d next day n i cldn't even get out of bed thou had a natural birth n quite short labour (4hr+). gynae n nurses said most pple only experienced shivering n mine was so bad. so i have epidural phobia.
my frd had drug free labour n she said correct breathing techniques most impt. she used techniques she learnt fr yoga. she said d techniques antenatal class taught v brief n not totally effective. i m asking her to teach n practise w me nearer my 3rd trim.

ava,
i din noe there's insurance tat covered delivery n ward charges..

giggler,
most likely i will take tmc.

Mom2Nat, thanks for concern, will take note.

Sanrio, read from another thread seems that TMC gets full house quite often. There is one person in the forum who give birth on the day it is full house and she stayed in children's ward which is 4 bedded then next day got space already then transferred to 2 bedded which she booked. Quite scary hor?

sanrio,
how are you nowadays? U sure look very thin eh
REALLY need to BU this trimester

Will go for C-section in December...arranged for 13th. BB 2.1kg liao..most prob GA.. Gyane doesn't recommend epidual also. Have gotten him to write me 1wk MC..next week go to see him to renew MC. Today brought Ryan out to the bookshop.. run here and there.. have to force him to carry his bear restrain.. although he clearly ask many time to take his bear off I don't allow him to do so. He is now toilet trained in the daytime (however still not poo trained).. hopefully can toilet train him at night in a few months time.

qsg,
i visted both tmc n glenE. yes seem quite 'full house'. how ar they gg to charge her for d children ward??
cos i saw my frd's glenE bill quite 'scary'. she had normal birth w epidural (no other complications) n her total bill was abt $6k. af medisave, was $3k+. i saw many not cheap items included in d bill like 'medicines' etc.. oso d normal nursery ward is not cheap.

ruffy,
hi, i m fine. tks
can eat a little beta but still having nausea. hahaha i v 'slim' hoh, more of skinny.. hopefully i can eat n put on some wt at 2nd trim. ryan is active. ash too so i dare not brg him out alone esp since tat day tat i 'fainted' at d mkt.

ruffy,
u del ryan tru c-section? ash 'agrees' to sit on d toilet bowl but no output, can only poo in diaper n wld hide himself at 1 corner.

Sanrio,
Yeah.. ryan was thru c-section..coz 2 day overdue. induce also dun want to come out. Ryan after poo then tell you. poo in his underwear/ask for diaper to poo on.. sigh..now get cheap cheap diaper for him to use - EQ $10.50 per pack or those NO frills one sold at ShopNsave. HB say #2 must start training earlier ..but I don't think will be of any use also.. doesn't mean train to poo from young will ensure that he does it in potty/toilet etc.

Ruffy, your gynae really very lenient with MC. how come you doesn't recommend epidural for c-section? I going for it though as i prefer to be awake during the whole procedure.

Sanrio, i read that she was charged as a normal 4 bedded for 1st day when she is at children's ward. Actually even the nurseries seems to be very crowded when i went for the hospital tour...

giggler,
tink most likely choose tmc. hopefully viv cum in n saw my post..

ruffy,
yes wen ash younger, he sat n poo in potty. but 1 fine day, he jus strongly refused to do so agn
my frd oso a teacher on 4yrs no paid leave said she tried traning her son, but no results. then 1 day, the son (at abt 2.5yrs old) just told her he dun wan wear diaper n wan to go toilet shh shh...

sanrio, I think it's better to wait for the kids to be ready for toilet-training. Easier to 'train' and wont have much accidents.

sanrio
yo!! if u ask me to choose btw mt e and tmc of cos i choose tmc lah...i cant even afford the parking fee at mt E!
the nurses at my gynae's clinic told me tat now tmc v packed cos lots of new clinic. eh...children's ward not too bad lah, i stayed b4 when i had complications while preggie with Jana, just abit more noise only. food is nice at TMC, i super tum jiak!! lots of soup, abt twice a day and it comes in the double boil container (tun zhong). the papaya fish soup is nice(nicer than my CL's version lah), the hong zhao chix soup also nice. then weekend got hong zhao chix mee sua
very nice too. later i chk with hubby on the bill, i cant remember liao.

how's ur appetite this week?

sanrio
more abt the food....the western food is abit disappointing lah. pork chop is very hard and then the veg side dish is some stir fry veg chinese style.

okie mummies...here's the perth photos for ur viewing pleasure ...
King's Park
555085.jpg

Fremantle
555083.jpg

Swan Valley - Strawberry Farm
555084.jpg

Jana and her flowers
555086.jpg

Botanic gardens, Choc Factory and Wildlife park
555087.jpg

Viv, wow... Jamie so chubby!!! got the pinching effect, hehehe. Looks like the gals were having fun hor? Jana getting prettier and looks so grown up now.

Mom2Nat, I like the pix of Jamie on the swing too.

Viv,
Oh my!! ur two Js are so beautiful!!!

aye... y no pics of u?? i wanna see if u had a great time like them too leh...hehehhe

Viv,

Jamie is very chubby.
Jana is getting prettier everytime i see her.
Very demure will long hair.

Hospital review ah?

I stayed in Mt E n TMC before.

Ward wise (2 bedded) - nothing much to compare.
Toilet - Mt E is bigger and more spacious, TMC is too small and cramp.

Food - TMC is better, they have alot of things to service u. Never ending. All i know i keep waking up to eat.

Nurses - I prefer Mt E delivery ward nurses. They are very assurancing and friendlier.

Ward nurse - I find TMC nurses are too too busy but overall still gd specially when come to breastfeeding. Mt E ward nurses are too noisy but still ok.

Inhouse courses - Bfing: TMC is one lecturer many listeners. MT E is asking u to bring ur bb along and the lactation will guide one by one in the class.

Viv,
ur 2 princesses are very adorable
Must have had a fun time in Aussie

QSG,
Dunno.. he said it is not advisable..coz the effect may wear off.. may have side effects etc.
Anyway.. I'm not that keen on hearing all the drilling etc..

Ruffy, i had c-section with epidural when i deliver Dana. Didn't hear any drilling though and except for shivering, everything ok. This time i opting for spinal release with epidural.

QSG, what's spinal release with epidural? I think Hong had that also rite? Sorry cant really rem liao.

Hong, your review on the 2 hospitals are very detailed. You changed your gynae when you have Ju?

Giggler, gynae said spinal release is more effective, procedure similar to epidural, usually it is a combination of both.

Viv,
Very nce pics of J&J. Makes me feel like going back there again for vacation. How old is Jamie? Is she alright with the flight?

Ruffy,
Drilling to inject epidural? Sounds scary.
I was asked to go out of the delivery suite when the doc administer epidural to my wife before Alicia was borned.

QSG,
Shivering is side effect to epidural etc? I just dread if there would be any side effects if have to take epidural. so far had been under GA no side effect for me.
Alicia's daddy,
Dun know about it.. but sure can hear the sounds made by the doctors instruments when they cut u up etc.. don't fancy that. How come have to go out when epidural is administered.. too gross to see??

giggler,
yah i have spinal too, is very effective and no side effect like epidural.

Yah i change gynae when i have Julian.

Ruffy,
when is the drilling abt? There is no drilling at all. THey just inject and after a while she test my skin to see if i can feel anything. Nothing and surgery started lor.

QSG, I'll check with my gynae abt the spinal release. Thanks

Ruffy, I went thru epi c-section for Vane too. Didnt hear any drilling sounds lah, dun scare yourself with your wild imagination. Hehehe... I guess epi has different side effects for each individual. My fren went thru GA and had a hard time. Couldnt get out of bed at all but I could alr walked ard on my 2nd day.

A's dad, I think diff hospital has diff procedure. My hb was there when the doc administer epi to me leh.

Ruffy,
u have GA when u have Ryan too?
I cant heard anything. I didnt even heard the instruments sound...

only the dr pushing my tummy. Painless too. I think i am quite brave. hahaha..

Ruffy,
u have GA when u have Ryan too?
I cant heard anything. I didnt even heard the instruments sound...

only the dr pushing my tummy. Painless too. I think i am quite brave. hahaha..

Giggler/Hong,
Hehe..maybe thinking too much.. coz a friend related that her epidural wore out during delivery and she could hear the noises etc.. anway will see this time if taking GA again.. the person giving the jab the last time didn't advise it. Anway Gyane said that day just need to check in at 9.30am..then they schedule for 1-2pm operation after 10-15 min baby should be out liao.. like last time.

Hong,
u had C-section with JU? YEah.. I think u are brave.. have to stick needle in ur spine.. * Shiver*

Alicia's Dad,
u were lucky... my hb found that part horrible and he kept asking me to skip it for no. 2..hahahahah

Giggler,
i'm one of those who can't get off bed after taking epi.

Ruffy,
I didnt know if they sticking a needle at my back. Just a pinch and after a while i cant feel anything.

Yah I went thru c-section when i have Ju cos this little naughty boy still turn up at week 38, end up breech. Gynae said i have to go under knife lor.

Hong, how is the wound now? got keloid or healing nicely?

Ruffy, how come you need to check in at 9+am when your c-sec is abt 1-2pm? I am asked to check in at 7am for 8.30am c-sec.

hong, so spinal release is a new method of epi? Yup, I got very low threshold of pain even the docs could tell. But I felt nothing at all. And was so refreshed after my delivery that some thot I had natural birth instead.

Ruffy, aiya... you wont even got to see the needle cos it's at your back. The docs and nurses chatted with us to make us at ease so I really enjoyed my epi c-section.

brenda, so it's individual reaction to epi rite? Think Sanrio also couldnt take epi. But I'm ok other than shivers.

jul, so what's the diff bet spinal and epi? You having exams? Good luck!!!

Ruffy, Brenda, Giggler,
I have no idea about being asked to go out. Maybe the doc thinks it will be "painful" to see the procedure. When I came in, the tube is already inserted, and that big syringe beside the bed.

Brenda,
My #2 no need epidural..LOL

OSG, viv,
how abt urs?

Mine very weird leh. Only 1 cut right but some part of the cut heal well, some didnt and develop i suppose to be keloid but not big keloid. From time to time i still feel itchy.

Giggler,
hmm i dun think they call that epidural. My gynae said most patients will prefer c-section if they have it once. My hubby also said very fast, save time! I forked out less than $400 of cash for Ju delivery. Gynae said hospital miscalculate but he said leave it cos they charge me lesser. hoho..

I think the side effect of the spinal injection is. I cant control one of my leg. It keep figetting on it own and i couldnt control it. I think i told Viv when she visited me. I was kind of scared i will lost control of it but the stop after that. I can get out of bed the next day cos gynae wanted me to walk to the toilet my own.

Hong, there is thick keloid for my first c-sec. Hopefully this round will be better. Did you take any special care after the c-section for your wond? Mine almost 2.5 years also also have itchness on and off...very irritating.

Wah, you paid only $400 for ju delivery that is very little, you stayed how many bedded?What do you mean the leg kept figetting on its own? after you regained feeling?HOw long did it take to gain control again?