(2004/05) MAY Babies

Giggler,
My total damage this week is $275/-. Nanny will take care of her, together with Adrian. I still prefer her to learn something from sch leh, or least to make friends. Not sure if St francis can reserve until April or not?

Ask you mom to watch educational VCD :p

a's dad, koala, giggler,
i so pai seh.. but ash's principal is a v nice lady. alwy joke w us n ashrel. can c ashrel 'loves' her n the 2 of them can even 'hint hint' each ohter n do cheeky expression 2geter n then laugh 2geter. so funny!

1 reson i chose tis cc for ash was oso becos since day 1 till now (hopefully wld alwy b), we saw d joy, enthusisam n passion in ash's princial. oh, din noe ash's curiculum include speech n drama class once a wk. it's conducted by a professional d cc engaged.

A's dad, ya, it's easily few hundreds lor. And it's so ma fan cos got to pay by cash. Vane watched Hi-5, Barney, etc whole day at my parents' place. That's why I send her to sch.

sanrio, you're really lucky to find a gd cc for Ash

Sanrio

I think if I were you, I would be so embarassed. LIke so obvious her food not nice! Hahahah...

Giggler
My mum said biscuit v dry. If dun drink a lot of water, will trigger cough. Dat's her observation n own experience

Alicia's daddy
I m SHOCKED by your PD's comment. Is he v old? I believe in early education. Child's brain absorb fast till 3 or 5 (can't remember) After dat the sponge effect not as strong n dat's it. No turning back
I used to work as late as your wife. Left on the dot after my maternity leave. Now stayed latest 7:45 (once bcoz of my colleague)
Coffee relief stress?
Thot there is gd food in Concourse dat's y u suggested Concourse

Sanrio
Ash's principle qin li qin wei. V gd. My colleague recommended the cc her kid attend to me. The principle is v gd. She knows the strength n weakness of every student. She studies child psychology.
Ash's principle's specialisation is not cooking mah. Think she won't get angry
Speech n drama is gd. I thot of sending Chen Chen to speech n drama

Giggler,
My wife decided to give up the place in st francis until mid this week before considering again. She wants Alicia to recuperate for the time being. We will check again probably in Apr.

Koala,
I think our PD is 40+, not so old. Actually, his point is actually driving at our current system that "forces" parents to put our kiddies early into classes. He is not against early education. You are right abt the brain development until 5-6 YO.

Coffee din really relieve stress :), juz that when we are too stressed out in office, we go out for a cuppa :p

PS: My wife and myself very appreciative of your presence :), and the corn flakes cupcake..yummy.

Koala, now I make sure Vane drinks tonnes of water everyday. She's still coughing though not as often liao. Which sch do u intent to send Chen to for speech & drama class?

A's dad, Alicia still not recover yet? Do you intend to do anything to boost her immunity system? So Alicia wont attend any sch for the time being?

Alicia's daddy
How's Alicia? R u in US now?
When Chen Chen 1st started playgroup last yr, he attended 1 wk class, sick 1 week. V terrok. Playgroup teacher suggested we pulled him out of the class. We were lost. Dunno wat to do. Dr n my colleagues assured me dat it's normal. 1 of my colleague who is a mother of 2 told me "I know it's worrying, dun worry. Tis is the process dat a child has to go thru. The body learn to build up immunity thru tis". I decided to let Chen Chen carry on wif the class. Of coz hv to access the condition of a child. Your wife's decision is rite. Health is more impt than anything.
Hey u know there wz some VIP dat time dat day dwnstairs. There wz 3 mobile escort. I din get to c who wz the VIP tho.
I like to cook n bake. Used to bake a lot for CNY to enjoy the atmosphere of CNY. Stop baking since I got pregnant. Tis yr started to bake the cornflake only. I got Chen Chen involved. Haven't update in his blog

Giggler
If Vane can take, luke warm water is better esp tis kinda weather.
Haven't search for school dat conducts speech n drama. Any recommendation?

My hubby admitted dat it's tiring n tough after taking care of Chen Chen @ 9 for a mth

Giggler,
Alicia was admitted to Gleneagles for suspected Kawasaki. Pretty scary. She had fever for 5days, had "strawberry" tongue, minor cracked lips, and minor swollen lmpyh node. These are some of the signs of Kawasaki, but PD needs to confirm other positive signs before confirming, such as "red eyes", but thank God Alicia did not have this.

Her fever subsequently subsided while under observation in the hosp, and PD is more affirmative that it should be nose infection instead. Alicia will be discharge today!

Nope, we decided to let Alicia stay with Nanny for the next 2mths before considering again. Meantime, our PD also wrote a letter to ZP for her to continue only next term (I had paid up for this term, so they need some medical letter).

Boost immunity system...DEFINITELY! Any good tips? We plan to let her have regular pao-sen drink. Is this good?

Koala,
I agree that this is part of their growing process. Even PD said they will only outgrow it when they are 6-7 YO. If the illness are minor such as common cold, or bacteria infection, it is still managable, but viral infection (2x) in a year, really draining for us. PD said there are 2 grps of parents, first is "bo-chap" one, second is like us "kan-jiong" type, but he prefers parents to be "kan-jiong" than "bo-chap" because unlike olden days, viruses are mutating themselves faster than before.

VIP? Din see any when I went down, but I like to "google" at those posh cars. Saw one white Lamborgini :)

Next time you bake, I send Alicia to your hse, to learn home econ...hahahaha....

oh DEAR!!!
Is the poor ger better?

I think paosen is gd... can try. But must be faithfully and drink regularly.
Why not the GNC colostrum powder? Phoebe is taking this alter. days. I have a few friends' kids oso taking, they comment gd.
My niece is in childcare, her mama say she gt no major sickness eversince she took this. Only minor like flu or cough.

HTH

U and wife must take care of urselves too. Then can take care Alicia.

Oh dear, u flying to US tmr???? Ur wife must be very stresS!

hoho,
Thanks. She is better.
GNC Colostrum. Hmmm, must chk this out.

Wat is HTH?

I am suppose to fly yest, but push back by a day, so will be on the flight today, and back on Sunday morning.

Koala, how abt Lorna Whiston for speech and drama class? Ok, I'll try to give her luke warm water.

A's dad, aiyo... Alicia was hospitalised??? What's Kawasaki? Sound serious. So it's nose infection and not Kawasaki? Alicia is at home now? I give Vane cod liver oil everyday to help to boost her immunity system. Your wife must be real stress w/o you ard. So Adrian with the nanny?

Alicia's daddy
Oh my, sounds really scary leh. I hope Alicia recovers soon.
I think having a balanced diet and sufficient sleep should help.

Koala
I think it is 0 to 6 yrs old tat the kids absorb the most. Well, tats why I am still SAHM. Heee... See how long I can "dong". Each time I think abt money I have the urge to work. but each time I think abt whoever taking care of Nat will give in to her, and she will turn monsterous, I wil reconsider! Hee...

Giggler,
Yeap, Alicia was hospitalised for suspected Kawasaki. Kawasaki is inflammation of small, medium blood vessels, and can be serious without prompt diagnosis and treatment. The treatment can be drastic, using aspirin. It is not contagious, but a reaction to the virus in the body. Because Alicia did not show all signs of kawasaki, PD think it should be nose infection, and nothing to worry abt. Thank GOD!

Alicia is at home, and back to Nanny's care, together with Adrian.

We also give cod liver oil but not everyday. Think must need discipline liao :)

Mom2nat,

Alicia's Daddy,
Just want to let you know that what happen to Alicia, happens to Gareth last week. Fever up and down until I bring him see PD on Monday. GP medication don't work at all even though he take medication every 3 hours. Same as Alicia, PD think it's nose infection. Thank God that now Gareth is up and running again.

A's dad, thank god... Alicia had nose infection and not Kawasaki. Ya, think must give everyday to be effective.

pigletz, aiyo... Gareth sick huh? Then you still have the gathering last Sat? He's ok now?

giggler,
ash oso having on n off cough. but other than tat, is 'perfectly' fine. cough alwy takes quite a while to completely go off.

koala,
ash has speech n drama class in his cc, conducted by a professional tat d cc employed. it's an eurasian lady, class seems quite interesting n ash likes. ash will cum back hm, speak n 'act' out to me at tx... so funny.
i tink they do conduct lessons elsewhere too. i mus check out d name agn..

a's dad,
my frd's son had kawasaki few mths back n was treated at nuh. gd to hear tat alicia is beta now.
i used to not give ash any supplements but now he does becum a bit more choosy over his food, esp green vege, he dislike.
n since now he goes cc, i give him nordic pure cod liver oil n vit c fr vitakids at forum gallery. so far, so gd.

Giggler,
Didn't know that it was nose infection. He was okay when on medication, but once off, the fever come back. On saturday and sunday, he was still actively playing and we didn't suspect anything until Sunday night, we stop the medication and his fever shot up again. That's when we bring him to PD on Monday morning. But now he okay liao.

Giggler,

Pigletz,
It is mentally and physically draining to have our tods going through all these. It is so heartbreaking to hear Alicia saying she wants to go home when in the hosp. There are just too many mutations of viruses and bacterias nowsadays. Seems like the old saying of "la sep jia, la sep toa" (hokkien) no longer valid for our kids today. Thank god that Gareth is alright.

Sanrio,
I heard from PD that Kawasaki treatment is drastic, and may have possible side-effects. Must be very difficult time for your friend's son. Thanks for giving the tips. We are giving Alicia vitamin C everyday, but not cod liver oil.

Alicia's daddy
Wat! Porsche n Lamborgini!!!!! my favorite. How come I missed them out

I read dat teaching tods to cook/bake build confidence n increase their appetite

Alicia's daddy, Pigletz
Chen Chen had fever up n dwn for > 5 days dat time when he wz admitted to KKH. His temp v high 39+. Lungs infection

Giggler
Where is Lorna Whiston?

Mom2nat
Till 6 arh, thot it's younger than dat.
Your sacrifice is definitely worth it
Agree wif u balanced diet n sufficient sleep helps. To add on fm wat sin seh said. Body muz b able to absorb nutrients fm food taken

Sanrio
No wonder Ash's speech develop so fast out of a sudden

a's dad,
yup her son got most of all d symptoms of kawasaki so they have to use a kind of antibiotics n asprin on him thou he is below 2, poor boy. then af was on asprin n hav to kip close watch on him, not to fall sick or fall down, else bleeding may not stop. hav to go regular heart scan for somtx (cant remb how long) as kawasaki may affect d heart. my frd was stressed up n her hb was away at overseas for 1mth work assignment. gd tat my frd is a strong woman n takes thgs quite easy..

koala,
ash came back speaking w enuciation using different pitch n emphasised on certain words in 1 sentence. i find it v funny, esp his 'gd morning teachers, gd morning friends', like ang moh slang, hahaha.. nowady he even correct me, i said 'apple is it?'. he said 'mummy, this is an apple'.
ash baked twice in d cc. last wk they were learning d letter c, so they baked cornflakes cookies n small cupcake. how i wish i can b there to take fotos..

Sanrio
Kawasaki is v scaring. The child of a mum I know fm the forum oso got kawasaki disease. The poor boi gotta postpone all jabs till a yr later
U can let Ash involve in simple cooking @ home n take pic. Do u bake?
My hubby took pic of Chen Chen making muffin n cornflake goodie when Chen Chen wz concentrating. Otherwise he won't cooperate in front of camera. Nowadays he wanna snatch camera over n take pic. @ times ended up he took pic of daddy or his own leg

pigletz, good that Gareth recovers so fast...

A's dad, it's true that it's very draining to take care of kids when they are sick.

Koala, Lorna Whiston is at United Sq. Wow... Chen knows how to bake???

sanrio, heehee... imagine we got corrected by our todds now hor? That day, Vane was 'nagging' at her daddy for not putting things back to their original places. Hahaha...

Koala, Sanrio,
My wife doesn't bake, so no chance to let Alicia try baking, however, Alicia observed how she cut the vegetable, cook the food, and can imitate all with her kitchen set toys :)

Seems like Kawasaki is common leh :p

Koala,
Chen Chen do not pose in front of camera? Alicia likes to make that "mi-mi" eye and double V sign when in front of camera. I dare not let Alicia touch my camera, she will "destroy" it...hahaha

Giggler,
Yeah lor, very draining.
Wow, Vane "nagging", must be very adorable.

giggler,
gd gd, somtx we tell hb, they 'act blur'. gd to hav vane to tell him (mummy dun hav to nag) n tell ur hb he mus set a gd eg for vane mah..

a's dad, koala,
ash oso likes to make mi mi yen or close his eyes or cover his face wen i take my camera out. so i prefer to use d 'zoom' function n take natural shots of him esp at outdoor wen he is 'enjoying' himself..

koala,
i dun bake nowady. lazy to wash :p

A's dad, stimes it's adorable but think stimes it can be quite frustrating to have someone nagging at you. Heheehe

sanrio, ya... at least Vane taking over my job. Hb was telling me that he foresee that Vane will start calling him to track him down in the near future. LOL....

Giggler
Chen Chen can't bake of coz. He helps to take out paper cup individually, put dough into the cup (which I dun like v messy), put rasin, put tray into oven.
United Sq inconvenient. U planning to send Vane to Lorna Whiston?
Next time u dun hv to open mouth n nag. Vane will do the job

Alicia's daddy
Chen Chen wanna cut vege wif me. I hold his hand, aim than say cut, he exert effort to help "cut" vege. Likewise for usage of sissor n nail clipper. Told him to "cut" only when I say cut
Chen Chen doesn't co-operate in front of camera. Sometimes he even say "daddy bu yao pai" n put his hand in front of the lens.
My hubby strap the sling on his hand when Chen Chen holds the camera. Chen Chen likes to look @ the pic n video clip my hubby saved in the camera. V funny boi. Dun like to pose yet like to c the pic n video of himself

Sanrio
Do u like to pose in front of camera?
@ your stage where got strength to bake

Giggler,
When I came back from States yesterday, Alicia woke up, and started asking me for her "surprises", which I promised her before I went...hahaha..After that, she went on to "instruct" me to go for a bath. Is this nagging? LOL

Koala,
Chen is obedient. He is camera-shy :). Maybe gals are more attracted to the camera lens, can pose beautifully :p

Koala, no lah... not sending Vane to Lorna Whiston. No plan to send Vane to weekend class in the near future.

A's dad, hahaha... Alicia's memory very good hor? ALways rem her 'surprises'... hehehe... Is she better liao?

Giggler,
She is better now. PD decided to suck out her phlegm yesterday in the clinic because the phelgm seems to be very stubborn, and has been there for almost a month. The nurse has to hold her hands, while I held down her legs during the procedure. She was crying throughout the 10mins procedure, and was angry with the PD, and nurse after that. She hugged me so tightly after the procedure, but we can see an improvement.

She wants 5 surprises, but I only manage to get 2 for her...:p

Alicia's daddy
It's a relief dat the phlegm is out. How did your wife cope when u were in US? Did Adrain go home?
Every child has his obedient n nasty moment
Y'dy brot Chen Chen to Botanic garden, he posed for my hubby to take pic of him feeding fish.

U r a v nice daddy

Giggler
How come? U were v on to bring Vane for wk n class

A's dad, wow..10mins procedure, that's very long leh. But at least she's better now. She's quite 'greedy' leh, wanted 5 surprises.

Koala, hahaha... me lazy abt sending Vane to wk n class now. Anyway, I think she's learning from her daily sch, think it's enuf.

Koala,
Yes, it is noticable, but PD said still have a little. Adrian stayed at nanny's hse until Friday, so my wife only needs to cope with 2 kiddies on Sat. Her friend came down to help :)
I was back on Sunday early morning.

Giggler,
10mins may not seem long for us, but I am sure it is long for the little one, especially when she was being held down. Just her way of asking for more :)

Alicia's Daddy
Aiyo, 10 min??!!! Faint, my girl's scream ah, 3 min you oso will faint liao. So poor thing leh. Let's hope she gets better fast fast!!

Giggler / Koala
I let Nat try Julia Gabriel last Sat. She enjoyed it. The program is quite similar to GUG. In sch hor, the teacher sing songs no use radio one leh. And Nat loves music and dance ard, so I decided to let her go for JG to try out lor. I think my hb thinks I draining him! Hahhahaha...

A's dad, 10min seems very long to me liao... So she'll ask for 6-7 surprises for your next biz trip? Hehehe

Mom2Nat, Nat is with GUG & Shichida now? I quite like JG too. I find that their language is super for both Eng & Mandarin. Your hb feels the drain with his wallet huh??? LOL

Mom2nat, Giggler,
Maybe hor, it is <10mins. Could that I over estimated the time. Even though she was crying throughout, I am proud of her because she still can co-operate with the PD when asked to cough :)

Giggler,
May not travel too far till Apr, so can take a break from surprises :p

Hi Giggler,

just to let u knoe tat i enrol my son to SFA last week, afternoon session and i think he is in the same class as vane. (N1/Peace class rite?). i attend the trial class. ur gal is vane teo? just to share with u...there's this girl in the class who keep crying for her mummy...and the Chinese teacher is trying to calm her down and vane who look so quiet and attentive in class suddenly tell the teacher she wan her mummy and daddy also....(but not crying lah) I quite like it so far, got so many outings....mmmm and i think he like it also....better than the cc i bring him to...at least he is not resistant in going....
they going to chinatown next week? mmmhhh do u know whether the kids got to go down or just sit in the coach? i quite worry...dunno if the teachers can handle???

A's dad,
hope ur gal is better now....so u told the school tat ur gal not joining or can the school reserve till april?

Alicia's daddy
Wah, she can still listen to instructions ah. Nat will cry the whole place down. Hee...
Wat surprises you bought for Alicia?

Giggler
Yes, mon to fri Nat goes to sch, Sat JG, Sun Shichida. I have been contemplating to send her to those structured music lessons, like Mandeville or Seimpi, but hor, tat one can wait lah. Cos when she is 4 or 5, she may not enjoy nursary rhymes or jump ard liao. So now I let her enjoy lor. I told hb send her to JG, then he was like "huh"... gotta spend more blah blah... then I explained to him, she will enjoy the playing lor, I not too concerned abt serious learning yet. But worth it lah, so far so good, she happy lor. Maybe when she is bored then I find her another place.
Oh, most importantly, I signed my mom's credit card for JG. Hahahahah... I told her "Ma, I am sending Nat to another class, with compliments from you hor" Mean of me hor.

Stressma
Wah, so fun ah, go chinatown??!! I will be worried.

stressma, ya ya... that's my gal. There's still kid who cries in class? I find my gal learns lots of things from sch these days. At least, she's able to show me what she's learning in sch lah. Think they're learning colours now cos Vane was telling me the colours of everything she see. You made me worried abt Chinatown trip now leh... Hahaha... I didnt think so much, just signed on consent form and paid for the trips. Got to ask the teachers how they handle liao, and it's evening time leh.

Mom2Nat, so you got your mom to sponsor for Nat's JG lah. Heehee... I too lazy to send Vane to such classes. Think the most I'll send her to music class like Yamaha, etc.

Giggler
It's gd dat Vane learns a lot fm her daily classes. Will u bring your boi to enrichment classes like wat u did for Vane?

Alicia's daddy
The book is v coloful n interesting. Even my colleagues like it. Thx
Is Nanny's hse far fm your new plc?

Mom2nat
Thot u pull Nat out fm the playgroup n send her to Julia Gabriel Thot Julia Gabriel v hot, got long waiting list?
Your hubby can afford lar
U v lucky leh got your mum to sponsor school fees

Giggler, Stressma
The school v gd. Bring tods out after lesson

Koala, hehehe... not sure if I'll do the same to my boy next time leh. Actually I feel that it's good for the kids to have exposure by attending enrichment classes but it's not really necessary. What do u think?

giggler,
i oso not sure whether i wld let no. 2 attend classes like wat ash did. mayb u right to say it's not absolutely necessary.. ash is not attending any enrichment class now. but i realised he learn a lot in school, which shd b gd enough at least for now. i tot of 'teaching' him piano lessons af he turn 3. but i dun really noe how to do a structured lesson. mus ask pv for advice. now i let him play w it n 'guide' him a bit. he cld do simple 'do re mi, mi re do...' on d piano.

sanrio, I thot of letting Vane go for proper music lessons too. But see how things go first. Ya, I feel that kids will learn stuff as they grow, not necc to attend enrichment classes.

Stressma,
Alicia is definitely better now. We gave up the place in SFA, because we may only place her back to sch after Apr/May. Hope your boi enjoy in SFA.

Mom2nat,
I bought her Disney Pooh Nursery Rhyme musical book. Alicia loves to sing nursery rhyme. I also got her the Leapfrog Maths Circus. She is watching it now :) Her biggest surprise is 200pcs of vitamin C gummy bear!, but can only take 2/day. Anyone wants samples?
Nat is one luck gal :)

Koala,
Hope Chen likes it. My new place will be around 15mins drive to Nanny hse, depending on traffic. Nanny told us that it is tough to be looking after 2, so will review in 6mths time.

Giggler, Sanrio
I think enrichment class is only meaning if the kid enjoys it, otherwise, it will not enrich anymore. Alicia enjoyed ZP very much, tat's why I continue for another term. In my opinion, sometimes you may need to take notice of your kids interest and find an enrichment in that area, sometimes, it may some trial and error. Tat's why there are some many trial classes around..hahaha..

sanrio/giggler,
I m oso interested to send phoebe to music school but think gto wait till 3yrs old??

mom2nat,
hihi!!
JG gd hor, i oso like. I attended their holiday program last yr. But their fees too exp for me to cont., so stick back to ZP. cheaper.. keke

A's dad,
Gt help me copy the Mr sun disc bo.

So sad lei, i ask my maid, she just told me, dun knw P throw where!! Then i ask her back, why when she do packing she din tell me, at least we can search on the day it was lost.
Now, oso dun knw tt disc laying in which corner.. sob!

Maths circus, not bad hor. If only spore school oso implement such learning circus.. *dreaming*

hoho,
One of my disc (playtime I think) has the right picture, but hor, the "thread" behind the same as morning time. I think the manufacturer paste the cover on the wrong disc. I ended up using my finger to press the middle button and sing to Alicia...maybe you do the same for Mr Sun one..hahaha...

I think sch uses the same concept of building blocks to teach maths lar :)