(2004/04) April Mummy

Rain_drops,
thanx. hopefully he recover soon.

my boy also like to use his left hand more. u mean must correct? i just let him be. what's wrong with using a left hand?

Angel,
take care.

Maple,
i will give En milk at 8pm. then wash his face, hands and brush his teeth. if he not sleepy, will read him a story. then put him in his cot. normally, he will knock out in 5 min coz he also naps a day which is 11 to 1.30pm.

Came back last Friday. Suppose to reach before mid-night but my flight got delay for almost 4 hours. So boring sitting in the plane to wait for them to repair.

I did not have time to read through all the posting, but still manage to find out ......

Hi Cutecute.... so happy for u
another April Baby..

Hi Rain_drop, just want to post the following . and i see yr posting.

Ryan's recent photos. taken during the baby bonanza 2005 grand finals.

311669.jpg

Too bad .. he did not win the Top 3 prize.
But i guess he did have fun walking around with the other toddlers

raindrops,
u mention left handed..Val oso use left hand..everythings she takes normally will be in the left hand. Her daddy is left handed so as my FIL..SO when my MIL knows that Val always using the left hand she so happy say follow daddy and 'Yeh Yeh'.

my mum keep asking me to help val by putting things to her right hand. She told me next time how Val going to feed her baby milk or wash clothes with hands or cooking.. But i feel that left handed will have their ways and know how to manage themself..i just let things be if Val really follow her daddy and my FIL genes. But now will try to let her do things on the right but if really cannot than no choice loz

Hi Aloe
Welcome back!!
Did u go to the New Disneyland at Hongkong?

Long time nv c Ryan Pics. He's still so cute. Must be very active nowadays.

Long time never log in.. I been mc. I been panting, not enough breath, gnaey want me to rest. When I do a bit of thing, I need to lie down to rest.
The pain in my annus is killing me cos gneay said got big pus & need to eat medicine for 2 weeks. Hope my suffering end soon..

Ann, Home, Raindrops,
Thanks for your feedback.

Cutecute,
Listen to gynae & REST. Dont over-exert yourself. Leave the household chores to your hb. So u on mc for 2 wks?

cutecute,
do u want helpers to clean ur house? i have to ladies helping me clean once a month. if u wan, can pass u the contact number. they stay around here too

Raindrops, Cutecute

There is a babyfair at Isetan. You girls might want to go down and take a look.

MPH having 20% storewide sales from2-4Sept. For those that are keen to get books for your little ones you might want to take a look too. And the Toy R Us at Suntec is open too.

Btw, I have a invitation to Robinson exclusive preview this Wednesdy evening. Anyone interested? I don't really have anything much to get but if got people wanna go take a look, I don't mind going. Can stock up on Christmas or New year clothes since Robinson is going to adopt a "no-frequent-sale' attitude to attract upper class buyer. Think Metro also having toy sale during these 2 days due to Teachers day and school holidays.

Home,

Your boy better?

Cutecute,

You feeling better?

I think Ryan's flat foot is quite serious. Is it genetic coz my hubby also got flat foot. Anything I can do abt it?

Ann,

There is nothing wrong with being left handed. Myhubby is also lefthanded and he dun seems to have any problem with it. I used to be left handed when I was young and my mom "trained" me by hitting myhand whenever I uses my left hand to write. So I think you just let it be. JMHO

Hi Home
Thanks. I think I have to bear with it cos need to save $. Will keep in mind & if I need it will ask from you.

Hi Angel
I'm feeling better now. At least I can sit still now.
As for Ryan, it's could be genetic.
What I know for adult flat foot, they can buy a special shoes for their flat foot. As for Ryan, I am sure abt it but this affect his walking?

Hi aloe
I'm also happy for another apr baby. I'm hope that the delivery will not late.

My EDD is on 20Apr06. I told my gynae that how nice that the baby can come out on 8Apr so that we can celebrate their birthday together. She said can be done thru induce but I dun want. I want to be naturally loh unless no choice (medical reason).

Angel,
En recovering liao. the rashes not as red as before.

about Ryan's possibility of getting flat foot, how abt checking with ur pd on the next visit?

Angel, Ann,
do u cook dinner for your hubby and yourself? got any simple recipes to share with me? thanks

cutecute,
u take care. if need arises, i think the money has to be spent. if u dun wan so frequent, can have it clean once every 2 months

Cutecute,

There are toddler shoes meant for flat foot but its extremly ex. Think between $45-$75/pair which I cannot afford. My MIL thinks that at times Ryan stumble a bit is due to his flat foot and from my hubby's experience, he says prolong walking/running will hurt the feet.

Home,

What I did before was to cook spareribs soup with lettue and potato, steamp pomfret and rice. Then wet the rice with the soup for Ryan to eat together with the potato, lettue, spareribs meat, pomfret and mushroom. Like that we only need 2 dishes and we have both meat and vegetables. So what you can do is switch the kind of fish and vegatables ard, mixed and match and you don't need to cook too much and crack your head for new dishes.

Oh, forgot to add, if you are afraid of excessive seasoning, just cook the soup longer for more taste and add vegetables that are sweeter in nature.

Angel,
Thanks for your info on MPH Sales. This Kiasu Mama here saw your posting and rush to MPH Parkway..
Lots of people, long queue..but still manage to buy some books for myself and Val.

No idea on flat foot.

Cutecute
Yah agree with you that it'll be so nice to have both on the same birthday. I've heard b4 people saying second bb will due faster but donno true anot. hope you will get second 8apr bb. take care.

Home,
i seldom cook at home, my mum normally do it. My mum cook well but i very 'lao ya'.
'yong tau hu' soup. Can buy the diffrance pieces from market. Boil ikan bilis soup and scoop out after boil, put pieces in. If want to cook mee or kway teow dry to go with it can scoop out some soup and cook the mee. Drain mee than add 'ma yu', 'hua tiao ju' and Sambal or Balachan. abit soy sauce if want.

drop by Gymboree(Parkway) just now. i donno if those mummies tat when there b4 the trial class knows anot.
Just to share. They have this Program call PlayGym. Sign up for their members($50) and kids can play with 1parent with their equipments without the teachers guideing. Every visit is $8 for members.
Donno izzit good but the equipments there very new and colourful?

Have a nice Sunday Mummies..

want to know if all April toddlers went for their MMR injection ??

I have not bring Ryan for it yet. very lazy and scare that he will have fever after that.

Does your toddler really develop fever after that ??

aloe,
mine going for his mmr in oct. just make appt today. i also scare he will have fever coz he had fever when he took previous injections. hope this time he will be fine.

Ryan has not gone for his MMR jab too coz I've been unwell lately and unable to bring him. We hope to be able to bring him soon, if not think my MIL will help us bring.

Hi aloe
I brought him to MMR, he did not have fever. After fifth day, his body was warm, look sick. Bear for abt 1 week then he ok liao. Don't know whether it is due to teeth or MMR.

cutecute,are you better?Eat more greens and fruits,good for u.Have you start 'explaining' to your boy abt the arrival of a little sibling?Can start early to 'educate' him to love his sibling.

Ann,wat a relief.Looks like Cherish is not the only one who could be a left-handed.If Val happens to be left-handed,I'm sure her daddy can guide her.Will I be too greedy if I train Cherish to carry out normal duties using left hand and writing using right-handed?Greedy me.hehehe....

Angel,I heard of flat foot,but care to explain wat exactly the condition is?Wah,$75 very ex ah.....Thks for the shopping invitation,but I'll give it a miss.

Aloe,home,Cherish took MMR liao.I was told to be prepared for fever could develop within 10days of administation.I was very scared too,because Cherish always break into tears upon injection.I even got the pacificer on standby mode.Luckily,she din cry and no fever.But my colleague's son develop fever the very next day after he took MMR.It varies.But better be prepared and monitor carefully.

Mummies,I'm in a job crisis now.My boss is questioning my existence in my company as I'm not 'contributing' or performing during my 3mths absence (maternity leave).Arghhhhhhh.......

Aloe,
My gal is going for her MMR next week.

Home,
If En is taking MMR in Oct, then wat abt his 18th mth 5-in-1 booster jab? Or are u postponing his 5-in-1 booster jab till 19th mth, ie in Nov?

Can I have you comments whether our tots can take mayonnaise? Thinking of sharing Delifrances chicken croissant or egg mayo croissant or tuna croissant with my gal. In your opinion, can anot har?

Raindrops,

If you notice, most people have a slight curve underneath their feet. There is an arc on our feet. For people with flat foot, their feet is completely flat, no arc at all and its not due to fats. So when they walk or run too much, their feet will hurt. So for guys with very bad case of flat foot, they are exempted of field excercise in NS. I'm not sure what is the cause and any extreme negative effects though thats why I'm seeking advise here.

Maple,
actually i very blur abt his injections leh. i just follow the chart the pd gave me. the last one seem to be the 18th mth jab. that's y i book oct. will check with pd on his visit.

i think give a bit of mayonnaise ok lah. after 1 yr old can try different types of food.

thanks for the reply on the MMR injection.
I actually want to make appt for him to have this injection next weekend.. now i guess i can't again. As Ryan is sick with block nose, running nose and a bit of cough. my hubby & maid are sick ..

Hi angel / cutecute, about the flat foot, where to get those special shoes ??? I KPO want to see how these shoes look like.
When i was in HK, there is one shoe brand also selling shoes which can cater for different needs, but i did not check out the price.

Angel,poor Ryan,is his condition very serious?I hope not.Thks for sharing the hot spot list.

Home,the 18mth one is the 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 booster jab.

Aloe,is Ryan better?You'll have to take care too,dun catch a cold,k.

The dengue thing is getting serious,my parent's blk is one of the hot spot,so scary.

Need advice if any of you heard letting our tots taking garlic once or twice a week can help them built their immune system ..
Or any of you have tried b4???

One of my mum's friend,her grandchild childcare teacher told her.She told my mum is true but i not so sure..Not very keen in letting her try on Val..

Hi Angel,
Thanks for sharing the list of dengues hotspot. Remember the last time my hubby was down with dengues at hospital for more than a week..It's so scary..

Ann,I heard of garlic pills for adults to build up immune system but tots?No idea leh.But will our tots like it coz garlic has got a 'dunno how to describe' taste.Personally I dun like garlic.

I think best to check with pd next time just for assurance.I very kia si one,din even let Cherish take anything sweet yet.

Raindrops

Thanks for your advice will ask Pd on the next visit for the jab.

i've let Val take sweet but limited..the one from Gerber fruit puffs.

Rain_drops,
EN is taking the 5-in-1 jab.

Ann,
i put garlic into soup to boil. is it called taking?? hee hee. just drinking in the ingredient!

how do u wash ur kid's hair? is it like adult pour water over the head? i still use the cradle method to wash his hair coz i scare he afrarid of water. but very tiring

Ann,the Gerber fruit puffs are naturally sweetened,not too sweet.I love the strawberry one,I dare not give Cherish the banana ones,cause I feel tat it could cause phelgm.My BIL broke my 'no sweet stuff' rules yest by offering Cherish cotton candy.My greedy girl just couldn't stop,even after we keep the pack.She will bring the pack and expect just anyone to open for her.Arghhhhhhhh!
kao_angry.gif

Home,I can understand coz I adopt tat method too.Very tiring esp when i haven deliver Celeste.These 2 ways to prevent water from getting into his eyes.One-to lower down head and pour water over or two-to raise head and splash water.Cherish is still taking bubble shower in a bathtub.So I'll rub shampoo into her head,on the shower splash,ask Cherish to lay her head (like the saloon chair style) out of the tub and rinse.But sometimes she'll resist and lift her head,and water will get into her eyes,I usually wipe it off with a hanky.

Mummies,does ur tots sleep on pillow?Cherish just started but her little pillow will either end up on the floor or at a corner of the bed.Strangely,she likes to sleep on adult pillows.I'm thinking of getting her own adult pillow but dunno will cause suffocation or not.scare scare leh.

Angel n cutecute,how are you?ur condition better?

Maple,does G develop fever after jab?I hope not.

Aloe,how's little Ryan?

Raindrops,
Cotton Candy i think is too sweet..There was once my sis feed her too..i stopped her cause after 1 mouth i can hear those 'sound' like phelgm coming from the throat(i guess).

As for pillow, Val have been sleeping on pillow when she's 8months+ old. But every morning either the pillow will end up below her legs or at the sides.keke..

Home
i use the adult method .My mil told me to start early than she will not scare of the water running over the eyes. She's ok with it now but few months back she will make noise whenever the water runs over.

i also not very sure about the garlic thing but will ask PD next visit. Will let you know

how about the Oct Children Day's gathering? Is it still on?
Maybe this time gather at my place if all of you have no objection. Cutecute is at her first trimester now, must be very tired.

Angel/Ryan/Hubby - ok, not ok
Raindrops/Cherish & Celeste/Hubby - ok, not ok
Maple/G/Hubby - ok, not ok
Home/En/Hubby - ok, not ok
Ann/Val/Hubby - ok, not ok
Aloe/Ryan/Hubby - ok, not ok
Cutecute/Boiboi/Hubby - ok, not ok
Limay/Joy_Apr - Free to join us?

Home,
I use the adult method, but my mil is still using the cradle method. If u are afraid of water going into En's eyes, u can buy those types of 'ring' or 'hat' (sorry, I dunno wat these are called) to wear over En's head. It is supposed to prevent water and shampoo from going into the eyes.

Raindrops,
Thanks for your concern. So far so good, but it is still too early to tell cos nurse says the fever is not immediate, may hv fever within 5 to 10 days. Will be monitoring her for the next few days.

Pillows - Yes & no. Have been letting her sleep on pillow but she don't really sleeps on it for long, will 'roll' off from it. Every morning, her pillow can be anywhere except below her head.

Toony,
Thanks for organising the Children Day's gathering. I'm ok going to your place.

My gal went for her MMR on Tue. Cried very loudly when the nurse administered the jab, keep crying and calling me. Luckily she did not cry for very long, was ok and back to her normal self b4 we leave the room. She even smiled & waved bye bye to the nurses.
kao_byebye.gif

I'm really impressed by the efficiency and service level of the polyclinics. It is such a big contrast compared to my gal's PD. I only waited abt 8 min for my turn and the nurses are so friendly. The only negative thing is the wait for the medicine is quite long.

I tried to call my gal's PD to make appointment for the 18mth jab. Was so pissed off with the clinic assistant AGAIN. She was so rude and no customer service at all!
Only told me to bring my gal there, first come first service. Period. Haiz... guess it'll be another 2+ hrs wait at the clinic again.

Last but not least, I must praise myself (kekeke... I very thick skin hor). 1st time bringing my gal for jab alone and I am quite pleased that I can handle it very well.

Ann,I guess Val get used to it.Cherish cannot leh.

Toony,how can I forget abt Austin.sorry....sorry.....me on.But cannot confirm if the 4 of us coming or just 2 of us.Will let u know again.

Maple,gd to hear tat G is fine.U must have been very lucky.I usually wait until I nearly flare up at Polyclinic.U dun hao lian ok.heehee...I bought the cap but Cherish dun like.She dun like any foreign stuff on her head.She'll pull away.

Home,if u like,I can give u either at Toony's place or ask my sis to pass to u if u dun mind it's pink.heehee... My sis is staying at CCK cres too.

Raindrops,
Ok, ok I must not hao lian, must learn to be qian xu.

Are all of u using shampoo to wash your tots hair? Which type of shampoo are u using?

Have not been feeling well so inactive here.

Toony,

I wld like to join the gathering but think you better put me and family on KIV list first.

Raindrops,

Ryan prefer adult pillow too but guess only way to let him sleep thru the night on pillow is if I glue the pillow to his head coz he got the tendency to flip n turn all over.

Maple,

I have been using J&J shampoo on Ryan for quite sometimes. We either pour water over his head or uses the shower headsince he abt 6mth old and he is ok with it.

Aloe,

Saw a glimpse of your boy on the tv advertisement.

I heard that onion can booast immunity in kids agst flu/cold but not so sure abt garlic.

Ryan have not taken his MMR jab as I am still unwell and alot of happened in my family and inlaws family so none of us have the time to bring him for his jab yet.

Last time my uncle used to take garlic pill everyday. According to him, garlic pill help on his sensitive nose and also prevent cold.

Hi Home,
i still use the cradle method when bathing i will pour water over his head too. He seems OK with the water.

Hi Rain_drops, I bought Ryan the banana puffs. but he dun like it .. waste my money. I do give Ryan sweet stuff like ice-cream, cholocate too... but he won't keep asking for more.

Ryan still on pillow since many months ago. i got him the saftbaby pillow quite thin. As as Val, some morning,the pillow will end up below his legs too.

Hi Maple, how much you paid for the injection at Polyclinic ?? Still have not bring Ryan for MMR . this morning he got running nose again. He just recovered on Wed....

Shampoo.. yes since day1 already use shampoo. He used to use Mustela and now change to duno what brand, which my hubby bought it from The Nature Source. (vy nice smell)

Hi Angel, how are you ?? getting better now.
your eye so sharp, can see him. I still can't manage to see that TV ad. Think they only show in the afternoon.

I'm back. Still not well but got to work.
I use J & J top to toe for my boi. Sometimes I use cradle method & sometimes I let him sit on his bath tub, apply on his head & use cloth with water to raise it. He will make noise when water gets to his face.
Solly that my home can't open this time cos still feel very tired. Will cfm with you all whether I coming or not.
My boi can finally walk on his own, but no confident to walk outside. He walk like a drunken, scared scared he fall down. kekeke

Maple,Cherish is using the Kodomo fruity foaming shampoo-Orange flavour,smells yummy but very foamy.A mummy in another thread commented tat foamy not gd,tends to dry hair.

Angel,I can't image how Ryan is going to look with a pillow glued on his head.
very kiam pa

Aloe,I din noe Ryan is in the ad,i must look carefully next time.Maybe you can eat it as breakfast cereal with milk,otherwise very wasteful.Not cheap leh.Ryan,get well soon.

Hooray for cutecute's boy.Slowly he'll start running and u end up chasing lor.hehehe....Cherish also like tat,but she walks like a penguin instead,sometimes very shaky,will fall when she miss a step.

mummies,very funny.I 'reported' my findings regarding the pillow thing to my hubby.Know wat he says?It's not the pillow that is not in position,it's Cherish who kept flipping and turning every nite tat she'll not lying on her pillow.Thinking of getting her a kid pillow.

Regarding the pillow, same same. My boi likes to turn here turn there. Sometimes at night can hear "boom" fell down from floor mattress. Then he will cry loh..

Maple,
i'm using Amway kids shampoo.Smell not bad but not as nice as J&J. Like it because can cover Val 'Chao Sen' head smell even after she sweat alot.

Home,
i came across this website yesterday about the garlic.
Today ask my mum to add alittle to val's porriage. A little but the smell quite strong loz. Maybe u can try out.
http://www.wholehealthmd.com/refshelf/foods_view/1,1523,21,00.html

Raindrops
Remember to check the sizes of the kids pillow when you buy cause i now have lots of kids pillow & bolster all due any how buying..Big one too big, Small one too small..

Toony
Should be alrite.

Angel,
Rest Well

Aloe,
hope ryan gell well soon

toony and all,
thank for organising this outing. i have to give it a miss again coz i'm usually not free on Sat.

Rain_drops,
thank for the shower cap. i think En will not like something on his head too. he doesn't even like to wear cap! so he have to endure the hot weather whenever we go out in the afternoon. maybe i wait 2 more months before i try washing his hair while standing.

i din let En use pillow. he seems fine just sleeping on mattress. so i wait and see loh

Maple,
i use pureen shampoo for En. wash it every other day.

Aloe,
what ad is ur boi in? must watch out for him

Finally brought Ryan for his MMR jab ydy. He cried for a while and my heart really ache. He is currently abt 80cm tall and 11.7kg. Finally gaining wt.

Ann,
he not tanned lah. not enough lights only!
Ann Auntie, En gives a big hug..*hug hug kiss kiss mua*

Angel,
i think my boi about the size as urs. weigh him the last time he's sick

more pics of En
316295.jpg
316296.jpg

Morning Mummies,
My gal had fever from MMR.
- Tue took MMR
- Fri 8pm body start to feel warm, but no fever yet
- Sat 4am had fever
- This morning no more fever.
Hope everything will be back to normal today.