(2004/04) April Mummy

Angel,Cherish also like to shift her butts,heehee...A very funny sight indeed.Rite now,she enjoys throwing toys everywhere on the floor.Oh yes,I'm still keen in the free swimming trial.Count me in.

Aloe,thanks for the info.Will check out the website first.Tagore seems very far to me.Visited Ryan's website,like his latest photo with cereal all over his mouth.heehee...

cutecute,I got to know the listing from Young Parent's Mag.Let me try to find out those near CCK from past issue and let u know.The schedule of the classes is depending on the schools.Some offers both weekdays and wkend classes while some only wkend classes only.Not all the classes conduct free trial,some charge a minimum fee.

Maple,thks for the photos.Will check it out tonite.I think I too greedy liao.I tried to feed her two tablespoons of porridge per meal.Yest,I think I overfed her,she throws out a little 'beancurd'.Imagine a tblsp of porridge and 180ml milk with brown rice.

Rain_drops
Many thanks for your help.
2 tbsp of porridge is ok, but u add 180 milk with brown rice, I think too much liao.
My baby can't take much brown rice cos it's too heaty for him. His stool will hard the next day.

another article to share ... http://www.cnn.com/HEALTH/library/PR/00029.html

hi raindrop,
wow u feed cherish more than 1 time per day ?!?! i only feed ryan once a day and sometime when i am lazy .. too bad la he got not cereal to eat.

i am the one who fed him with cereal .. he likes to move here and there when eating .. that's why cereal all over his mouth ...

hi maple,
got the photos .. thanks, will post some of this onto Ryan's blog .. heehee wait and you will see yr gal and others on his site .

Ryan do not know how to crawl yet. but i think he is trying vy hard to figure how to crawl .. and now he enjoying flipping .. even when he is sleeping.

X'mas gift ... ammmm what should i buy for him ?!?!?! headache ...

Hi raindrop,

want to know how much u pay for nepia diaper ??? and where can i buy them ?? i went down to Orchard isetan to look see last wk and found it vy expensive ... about 20+ for one pack

cutecute,have u tried Nestum's Brown Rice?Not as heaty as the premixed brown rice with si sen (chinese herb)How abt giving ur boy more pureed papaya or banana?Aids digestion.

Aloe,I was thinking since my maid cook the porridge already,so dun waste loh.But luckily daddy din insist on going out these few days so I have the time to sit in front of Cherish to feed her.Otherwise dunno how to pack these stuff outside.
Talking abt flipping.Cherish also flip like mad.I was always commenting that she haven fall before,dunno it hurts esp when she try to push herself to the edge of my bed.But she fell off my bed for 3 conservative nites when I was in deep sleep.Luckily daddy's tummy(her cushion) is soft enuf to break her fall,but still she cried and wake the whole neighbourhood up.Now I always comment to her-haven fall enuf izzt?heehee...

Recently I bought a Fisher Price drum at OG at only $16.90.Cherish enjoys putting her palms on the centre and the 'star' lights up and music starts to play.But what she enjoys the most is licking the wand(to hit the drum with).An interesting sight.Hmmmm...Maybe shld take a pic of her caught in the act and show all of u.

Mummies,anyone using Avent milkbottles?I know Maple does.Any idea how to make the hole of the 4-holed teat bigger?My fren taught me to use scissors to cut lah,another ask me to use pin to poke lah,but I dare not leh.

raindrop
i bought this teat-cutter by farlin at kp...u might wanna try..i tried using pin, but pin only pierce thru, no hole...and it create a tear in the teat, once i wash, poke too hard, the teats tear a big hole..

hi medlody,

the talk will be given by Ms Lau Hui Chii and i believe she will share with u on the GD flash card as she own another company selling GD flash card for bbs. I did listen to her before and if you interest in flash card, you shd go to this workshop.

Hi aloe
Now ntuc got disc for nepia $15.90 for Nov04 @ Lot1, however not all ntuc got sell this brand.

Rain_drops
My mil bought brown rice with ikan bili.
I use Avent no 2 only. Solly cant adv u.

Maple,

Just clear my mailbox. Can try to email me the pictures again? If not send to my singnet account. Thanks.

Raindrops,

I cooked about 1 big spoonful of porridge ( those for drinking soup one) with chicken stock but Ryan only ate abt 10+ teaspoon then dun want liao. Will msg you when we decide when to go for the swim trial.

Ryan hyper- active these few days. Screaming and shouting then when I bath him majiam he bathing for me too coz' he will kick the water real hard non-stop and water will splash all over me and the bathroom floor.

hi cutecute / raindrops

other than Lot1 NTUC, where else can i buy nepia ??? me trying to call their office .. @ 62262451 / 62262650 buy NO ONE answer my call ....

Aloe,NTUCs and some Cold Storage Supermart are selling this brand.Next week,I'll be attending the Kidsloft workshop with Maple,was thinking of dropping by the main office to pick up another storybook for Cherish.I try to ask May to give me a sample.I'll be on leave on 1/12,and most likely I'm meeting my friends at Orchard,maybe I can pass to you?Is M size (for 6-12kg) ok for Ryan?

Melody,thanks for ur advice.I saw the item u mentioned last evening at a baby speciality store near my office.But I was advised to buy x-cut teats instead.The salesgirl was recommending me to get Nuby.I'm letting my girl try today,hopefully she dun reject it.I shall buy the Farlin one if no choice.But easy to use?I very chor lor one leh.

cutecute,are u adding the brown rice into his milk?If yes,the No.2 is small and will get struck.ikan Bilis is good for bb,very high in calcium.Good thing ur boy takes brown rice porridge,coz not many bbs like the taste.

Angel,the chicken stock u use izzt canned ones?Maybe a little too salty leh.Try cutting a small piece of lean pork and cook into porridge,see if he likes.Ryan maybe haven get over with the swim trial lesson,tat's why so excited.

Maple,I juz realised my mailbox full also.Alternatively can u fwd to [email protected]

raindrop ...

where is their main office ?? maybe u can let me know and i will ask my hubby to go and get ..

so normally where u get cherish's nepia ?? as cutecute said now have discount .. i want to buy a pack for him to use ..

Rain_drop
My mil put brown rice into his milk. This brown rice comes in a form of powder, so I think shd be ok. Mil feed him once only, dun intend to give him cos too heaty 4 him.

oh .. i manage to call May.
and she told me that i can buy it from bishan / TPY's NTUC..

and now they provide home delivery too @ $16 but you got to order 1 carton (4 packs) from her.. Oh Will got to bishan NTUC to buy one pack tonight for him to try...

Aloe,
Thanks for sharing the article.
Nepia is available at AMK, TPY NTUCs. Their main office is at Hong Leong Building (opp Lau Pa Sat), #B1-25. Do keep the receipt, u can exch it for a $5 NTUC voucher.

Raindrop, I cut the teat with scissors.
Cutecute, do u add cereals or brown rice to his milk. I thot the holes are too small for the cereals / brown rice to go through.

Raindrops,
Cherish fell down from bed? Poor gal, sayang her for me hor.

Melody,
Raindrops & I are attending the one on 23/11. U want to join us?

Angel, Raindrops,
Will email u the photos later.

Aloe,you may buy a pack 1st but I can still get the sample for u.I think the letter(where u can exchange for a $5 NTUC voucher) comes with the sample.If u like,keep the seal(a cute baby head with a 1pt),I can exchange a free Miffy storybook for Ryan.I've tried the delivery svc during my confinement,(coz Seiyu no stock during that time).They din earn much coz they must pay courier to deliver.No cash on delivery,but to send a chq after delivery.

cutecute,I dunno izzt because I switch fm Enfapro to Similac for Cherish,her stools seems pretty soft and not watery like diahorea.I add 2 small scoops into her milk every feed and she moves her bowels everyday.Maybe plain lucky lor.

Maple,I received liao.Thks alot.What size of teat u cut?The 2 holed or 4 holed?I dun dare to cut leh.Cherish's skin very thick one,at most cry awhile,pat pat then fall back to sleep again.heehee...

Melody,jia lut.I guess I have to buy that Farlin teat cutter liao coz my MIL just called me saying that all the teats are either torn or almost torn,ask me to buy a few more to stand by.Siao liao,I dun wan to spend more money replacing the spoilt teat so die die muz buy liao.sigh.Cherish's teeth must be very itchy,always bite the teats.Poor mummy,gonna be broke buying teats liao.

Strange... just noticed that there are 2 postings by cutecute and aloe b4 my posting tis afternoon. Puzzled that I din see them earlier??? Anyway, cutecute, got the ans to my question.

Raindrops,
I cut the 2-hole teat. Din buy the 4-hole one. Is Cherish drinking from the 2-hole teat or the 4-hole teat now?

How come teats torn? So far, my teats never torn. I only replaced them when they turn yellowish. Any idea why they turn yellowish?

Raindrops,

I use fresh chicken to make the chicken stock. Taste bland to me leh. Boiled for many hours you know but he only take in a bit. Think Ryan over-stimulated lah coz' alot of activities on these few weeks. Fed him brown rice also. He do take it too.

Maple,

Got the pictures. Thanks. Think excessive boiling will turn the teats yellow. Was told to change it every 4 month I think.

Ryan's teeth are out, 2 of them ... but very strange this 2 teeth are not the front teeth (central incisors), it seems like he is having his side incisors now .. Should i bring him to see dentist ?????

Rain_drops, me too.. switch from Enfapro to Similac. Mine is incl DHA & AA, new improved.
Have read the detail in the tin that this milk will make stool soft. Solly I dun understand that u wrote "add 2 small scoopes in her milk" Is it you add with other things like brown rice?

Maple, me too.. this morning see no posting but now so many posting for yesterday.

aloe, I think not nesscessary.. my friend's baby grew top left & right side each. His father said looks like "dracula". ha ha...

Maple,Cherish is currently taking water from the Avent 2-holed and x-cut teat for milk.Very troublesome leh esp now I can't manage to find a suitable x-cut teat for Avent bottle.I'm using Pigeon milkbottle for milk,Avent bottle for water.Confusing rite?There was once Cherish kena tricked by me coz I filled Avent with water and Pigeon with milk for her to choose.End up,she choose Avent coz she more familiar mah.heehee...

Angel,alamak,Ryan 'bu shi huo'.So wasteful.Try giving him another time,who knows he might end up loving it.

Aloe,dun panic.Ryan is not alone.Cherish's condition also same.As if the teeth crooked like tat.I suppose it's normal??Dunno also.

Cutecute,yup,I added brown rice.How much you pay for a tin?My mum managed to buy a tin at $26 at a chinese medical hall at Teck Whye.

Rain_drops, I opp fm u. I used Avent bottle for milk & Pigeon for water.
I can't remember how much I pay, I think should be around this price.

Li_May,thks for the suggestion.I've bought the teat cutter that Melody had suggested.It's so easy to use and the situation improves alot.At least I dun have to spend anymore on buying different brands of teats to test out.The nuby X-cut teat is good and durable but too bad,Cherish cannot get used to it.End up she spent a longer time and energy to suck the milk,eventually no strength to finish all her milk.

So mummies,dun risk cutting the teats with scissors or needles,if you need,I can lend the cutter to you,suits any brands of teats.But I do have another concern.The teat hole is bigger but Cherish tends to choke and 'throw up' beancurds after finishing her milk for some time.So how?

Aloe,I suddenly realised that I'm lagging behind those who have already started flashcards on their babies.I think my SIL went for the talk some mths back coz I remembered what she mentioned to me is the same that what I've heard during the talk.I'm a lazy mother,and frankly speaking,I 'you xin wo li'.Unlike my SIL who's a fulltime housewife who has the time to complete making the English and maths flashcards for her child.One set costs $200+ is very ex.I can only afford to spend weekends with Cherish.Sats are reserved for my mum,who only gets to see her darling granddaughter once a week,while her daddy insists on going out usually at shopping malls on suns.Sigh....

I gave up doing flash card liao. Weekend have to take care of baby & do housework, hardly even have time to rest! I just borrow baby story books from the library to read to him during the weekend. Fyi, Ngee Ann City Library dun have children section.

Cutecute,

Can buy from MPH etc.... quite a wide selections and relatively cheap too. I try to make a point to read to Ryan at least once a day but sometimes too tired or busy then never loh. Anyway, you just need to get a few can liao coz' babies won't get bored of the same story.

Aloe,

That time you mentioned you were showing you Ryan those pictures flashcards, where did you get the pictures? Can send to me to take a look? TIA.

Bought Ryan to Sentosa last Saturday. Now he a bit darker coz' under the sun. Think he look better fairer. Btw, my MIL weigh him last week and informed us that he is 10kg liao. :p

hi raindrop /cutecute / angel

me start the flash card for ryan when he was 3 mths old . but i stop that since last mth holiday partly because he grow up now and not really interested in cards . the other reason is i am lazy. haha

raindrop, Dun feel lagging behind as it is not late to start now, our baby is ony 7mths old .. my boss's son start the same program when he is abt 9mths old. .

Not necessary to be flash card but you can read books to him. in fact, i a bit regards that i did not start reading books to him and i stop the flash card program for almost 1mth plus.

i bought those cards from Hui Chin from Bright Babes & Tots Enterprise (the lady who gave the talk on the kidzloft's workshop) .. ya it is expensive that why i must restrat the program ASAP.. if not waste all my $$$$.. if u have the time u can choose to make the cards but again me too lazy la ...

Hi Aloe, Raindrops, Cutcute, Angel,

The talk introduced us to the GD program and talked abt the benefits of showing flashcards to bbs.

Me another lazy mother. A few months ago had the intention to show flashcards to my gal, but keep procrastinating. Really hope to start soon. Occasionally I will read/sing some nursery rhythms/songs to her.

Oh yesI noticed that she likes to eat books!

Think babies "eat" whatever they can lay hands on coz' thats their way of exploring. Ryan has been "tasting" his new bath toy recently too. Have you girls done your xmas shopping? I have yet done so as have been busy and sick. Seems like my every weekend is packed with stuff.

Maple,

So paiseh my hubby still dun have the time to scan the gathering picture yet as he has been very busy and sick too. Kekeke. Think we going to get the flu jab once we recover.

Any of your baby is a couch potato? Mine is a tv addict. Dunno what to do. Plus feeding him is so hard recently as he keep "bouncing" up and down on his chair.

hi all ...

Agree... yes they "EAT" everything....

Me on leave today now staying at home taking care of him .. as my mil go hoilday she **so good life**

just now have a "fight" with ryan as @ 9am i try to feed him with bottle... for the first 60 ml .. he drinks happily & willingly .. but after than he refuse to drink .. so i play with him till almost 945am and try to put him to sleep .. i gave him pacifier and while he is sucking and falling a sleep i swap the pacifier to milk bottle . at first he will cry & struggle but i force the teat in his mouth and a while later (few minutes) he start to drink and he finish almost the whole bottle of milk ... i am so glad now i slowly know what is the technique to feed him using bottle .

tonight i will try again as i want him to drink the mamil nite and to sleep throught the night...

cutecute,Maple,my gal sama sama.Papers,plastic bags,toys and everything within her reach.Aiyo,buay tahan.

Angel,do take care.Weather hasn't been good.Raining every aftn.get well soon.Btw,my friend bought the whole set of 'Your baby can Read' for her gal.She enjoys it,but I find it boring.So far,my hubby bought 2vcds of Big Blue House,Wheels on the bus and the Winnie the Pooh (puppets) on Manners.My MIL feedbacks that she enjoys watching Winnie.I want to cultivate the good habit of being well-mannered after seeing my newphews not setting a good example.They are so rude even to their own parents,let alone my in laws.

Aloe,so good to go holiday.Ur method is very familiar.I always resort to this trick when Cherish refuses to drink water.I'll alternatively swop pacifier with water,then vice versa until she gets tired before falling asleep.But warning-this method would last very long.So u may have to come out with another method soon.heehee...
If Ryan enjoys Mamil nite,NTUC having offer now,can stock up.

Afternoon mummies,

How was your weekends?

Ive got a problem. Whenever I bring bb out during weekends or public holidays, she will refuse milk, and she can go without milk for as long as 6 hrs. Don noe why she don feel hungry think she is too distracted by the happenings outside. Any mummies has similar experiences?

same here .. ryan can dun eat dun sleep if he is "on the road" he dun even make any noise even he is hungry. i think it is vy normal ... as they got some many things to see everywhere .. they just simply refuse to sleep and eat.

yesterday we was at far east level 1 during his nap time, he open his eye so big and look around and the moment i step in the car, he fall a sleep immediately ...

Maple,Cherish's schedule very standard.By 3hrs,she'll cry for her milk.Why dun you feed her cereal before you bring her out?It'll be much filling.

We brought Cherish for dimsum lunch with my family last Sat and I'm so impressed with her good 'behaviour'.Other that the occasional fussing before sleep,she kuai kuai sits in the baby chair and let me feed her some cereal,some very salted porridge that the restuarant served and 'pao' skin.She likes the pao so much that she grab my hand and bite it!

But yest she was grumbling all the way at Darren's 1st birthday(my fren's son).She'll cry the moment someone carries her and create a scene at my fren's hse.Aiyo.....

Jialut!She was so 'addicted' to going out that she cried so loud this morning when my hubby and I left for work.

My baby also dun feel hungry during outing. Therefore I will feed him every 3 hrs.
He usually drink 2 hours, abt 80ml only. I think his teething refusing milk thus make him hungry quickly. I tried to feed him every 3 hrs but he can't.
He not use to many people in the public or else he will cry loudly.

Aloe, Raindrops, Cutecute,
So, its quite normal

Most of the time Ill try to feed her first (if possible) b4 going out. Depending on the timing, it could be porridge, cereal or milk. Actually the main reason for feeding her solids b4 going out is so that I dont hv to bring so many things and not so messy. Hee..hee.. so far Ive not tried feeding her solids while outside, always let her eat first b4 going out.

Nowadays, its quite difficult to tell whether my gal is hungry or not cos she dont cry for milk anymore, not even when shes at home. So I just agar the time and feed her lor. Stx, shell refuse, stx shell drink everything.

Im thinking of prolonging her milk feed if were outside. Do you think that is a good strategy?

Aloe, Cutecute Angel, will your bbs still cry for milk if hungry? I mean, when they are at home?

hi maple and others,

no, ryan seldom cry for milk when he is hungry,... if he was given a pacifier, he will just keep sucking if he is hungry. So if he is at home i will give him milk according to my mil schedule. but sometimes if he refues to drink, i will feed again a hour later

but my friend's bb, think he can't wait if he is hungry, he will just cry vyvyvy loud for milk.

I have a question too .. want to find out how much cereal is yr son/daughter eating ? now i only feed him once a day, 2 tablespoon of cereal per meal. i will add 50 ml of water and normally he will take half and hour to finish that bowl.
i am wondering if it is too little ?

Maple, my baby still cry for milk if hungry at home. I think prolong (but not too long) your baby milk feed if outside should be ok loh as long as she did not cry for it. It is better bring milk & water to stand by.

Aloe, my baby dun use pacifier liao. When he's crying, I put the pacifier into his mouth, he end up use his hand to take out the pacifier to cont crying. 2 tablespoon of ceral should be ok cos different baby eat different amt. My baby is eating 1-2 tablespoon of cereal. I will give hime 1 tablespoon first, if he managed to finish it, I will cont to give him another tablespoon.
My mil feed him once a day, I feed him once to twice a day, took me about 15min per feed.

One more to add, when I feed him 1 hr later, he will cry 4 milk.
Sometimes when he wakes up feeling very hungry, he only want milk, he won't eat any solid. He will cont to cry very loudly until the milk comes.

Maple,

Ryan will cry VERY loudly for milk ifhe is hungry at home. If outside, he will just fuss. Think wanna maintain his "image".

Aloe,

My Ryan usually takes about 4- 4 1/2 tablespoon of Cereal and most of time I mixed with 60ml of milk plus some vegetables and fruits. If its sweet potao. he can finish 1/2- 3/4 of it. I feed him solid twice a day plus plenty of VERY diluted fruit juice. His feeding schedule is 3 hourly.

Cutecute,
Yes, will still bring milk & water. Thinking of prolonging so that shell be more hungry and hopefully will guai guai finish her milk.

Your baby so good, wean himself off pacifier. My gal still needs the pacifier to sleep. I just started a new thread yday asking for advice on how to wean her off pacifier. Appreciate your contribution, if any.

Aloe & others,
My gal seldom takes cereal as a meal, usually shell have porridge for lunch, abt 2 tablespoons. Occasionally if I want to let her have a change in taste, Ill give her cereal. I gave 5-6 Enfalac scoops which is equiv to 5-6 teaspoons or 2.5-3 tablespoons. Sometimes can finish, sometimes cannot.

Angel,
Your hb on leave today? Or ur PC ok already?