(2004/04) April Mummy

hi pris
it also sometimes happen to my gal when she takes afternoon nag. Sweat till the forehead wetwet. So I always on the fan the whole day and let her wear singlets or tops that have many 'holes'. At night she sleeps in air con so not so bad, I just wet towel clean her she b4 she sleeps. Maybe you can try bathing him once in the morning and den once at 6pm and b4 he sleep towel clean him so that he feels more comfortable to sleep.

Hi Angel
you stay Bt Merah area? I stay at redhill! My gal first jab was by the PD and then the 2nd one i went to this 24hr clinic opposite tiong baru plaza. So expensive. $89 per jab for the 5 in 1. Means it will total up to $445 for all the 5 jabs. Then i heard from my cousin polyclinic have package only $200++ but have to book appointment. Do I have to go down personally to book the appointment or can I just make a call?

Hi Mel,
I stay at Telok Blangah Crescent. If I didnt remember wrongly the 4 in 1 jab is $200++, 5 in 1 jab is $300++. I will be taking him for his 5 in 1 jab next mth. Maybe you can try calling the polyclinic. If you take individual jab i think its abt $70/jab.

I want to share my happiness with you.I gave my Cherish a shower 7 early 8 early this morning and surprisingly she did not cry!For the 1st time!I was so thrilled and continued to praise her for being so 'guai'.Now I know alady,must bathe her at 5-6am.I shall continue to try out this timing these few days just in case.I longed to bring her to swimming lessons.

Mel,you can call tel: 6271 3911 to make appt or you can visit this website-http://polyclinic.singhealth.com.sg/AboutUs/OurPolyclinics/BukitMerah/

Anyone feeding Enfalac A+SA formula to your babies?Any intention to use Enfapro(the follow-on)?I checked the other threads and some said the Enfapro not very good.Any comments?I heard Similac Excellence very good.

hi rain_drops

I also long to bring my bb go swimming. So cute right to see your bb enjoy her bath. Did you take pics of her while bathing?

I also giving her Enfalac A+. But dun know wana use the follow on anot, thinking of switching to Similac Excellence when she 6 months old.

I using Dumex as recommended by my mom in law. So far so good. My frd is also using the same. She says the nurses in KKH fed her baby this too.

Mel, Raindrop,
Are you looking after your baby yourself? Going back to work soon?

Hi, I'm back.

I have not been popping in the forum as my hubby was admitted to hospital on Sat due to high fever, gastricts and body ache. He juz got discharged 2day.

For the past few days, have been at my mum's place.Shuttling up and down hospital & takin care of my 2 darlings.

Realised the topic now is on Milk Powder. My elder gal took the Enfa series, from Enfalac A+ to Enfapro and presently Enfagrow. My younger gal is oso taking Enfalac A+...It seems to be very ideal for them till now.

Hi Li May,

Welcome back. Sorry to hear about your hubby's hospitalisation. Hope he is much better. Must been tough for you the last few days. Take care.

My boy is now onto sucking his hand. In fact, he loves it so much, he forgo his 2am feed last night - too busy sucking.....

I sometimes feel like sucking his hand also, see wherein lies the attraction!

Wow..the thread is moving fast..

My boy is drinking similac excellence. He used to be a big drinker drinking 100-120ml in less than 10 mins before he fell ill. Now, he drinks about 90-100ml, about 15mins. He weighs 5.25kg at the last measurement. He also dun like to drink water.

Any of your mummies manage to gain back your pre-pregnancy weight? I am starting work next week..and realised that I can't fit into my old clothings..
I still have about 12kg to lose..and I have to wear much bigger size clothings. I look so huge!

Anyone start exercising? I worry no time to exercise when work starts. After work, have to rush home to take care of baby..where got time to exercise??!!

Hi Sanrio,
Thanks for your sharing. Yes, I bought the safety first nozzle..but not very useful as I thought. Instead, I suck out the mukus from my bb nose..it's faster.

Make the most of your time now..btw, when r u due?

Hi joy_apr

I have not return to my pre pregnancy w yet. Same as you, I still got about 12 kg to lose. I have not started exercising as my gynea told me to hold on till next wk as I have delivered thru c-section. Have to wait 8 wks before I can start exercising. Now can only do brisk walk.
Now can only wear my maternity wear and extra large clothing. Sigh!

hi joy_apr,

me too....I still have 7kg more to go. Unfortunately, I'm not the type who like exercising. Also, since I'm bfding, got excuse not to go on diet. Only thing is I try to cut down on carbo - find this helps a bit.

hi angel
i am staying at home to look after bb. Will get a job after she is older.

hi joy apr
Me still have 8kg to go. I have been doing sit-ups everyday. I even bought a kickboxing VCD to do at home. Was very hard working the first few days but after 2 weeks became really lazy and stick to the sit-ups only.

My tummy looks like i have another bb inside. Now 31 inch, so scary. I can even wear my hubby's bottoms. I was told by many old folks it will takes 4-6months to get back to your pre-pregnancy weight, so dun take it too hard on yourself.

I am thinking of going to this doc at Yishun for slimming pills if I still as fat as now after 4 months.

Hi joy_apr & others ,

i think i am quite luck as i left 4 more kg to go.
i did not put on lots of weight during pregnancy abt 13kg and the malay massage did a good job for me on losing fat and water retention.

me have not start exercise yet as i had c-section. currently, the only way to burn fat is through breastfeding ..

since next week is going to work, will walk more and will go for swimming to help to lose weight.

one question... i just start to let him suck pacifier when he can't sleep... but some time he suck so hard like he is still hungry ... duno if i should give him more milk or just ignore and let him try to fall a sleep...

Hi Aloe,
I let my son suck on pacifier when he cries too much though he will reject it at times. I think if he doesn't cry too much to shows that he is hungry shld be ok. Read from a book that you can never over feed through breast feeding. Maybe you can try to let him suckle a bit more when you think that he is still hungry.

Mel,
Me too look as if I still got a baby inside. In fact sometimes pple still offer me seat on the bus/MRT.

Do you girls find it hard to look after baby on your own? There seems to be tons of work to do at home and no time to rest though my MIL looks after the baby most of the time on wkdays.

Hi Angel13,

Me too, delivered thru c-section. Gynae advised to do brisk walk and not jogging yet. Heard it will take longer time for women who go thru c-section as compared to natural birth to lose weight. I managed to buy a few large sized clothings.

Hi QHL & Aloe,
Yes, bfeeding definitely helps in getting back in shape and in much faster time. But sad to say, I am not on TBF, supply low, boy impatient to suckle long, so only let him suckle early in the morning where supply abit more and pump out. But boy is more on formula..

I am sure both of you will regain yr weight faster.

Aloe, I give my boy pacifier too. He sucks very hard whenever he is hungry..and will soon split out the pacifier and cried for milk. You may want to bf him whenever you see him sucking hard. I agree with Angel13, bm is easily digestible and won't overfeed.

Hi Mel,

I am about 35 inch..can't even fit into my old jeans.. Yup, will not be too hard on myself. just have to be motivated to do exercise and cut down on fatty stuff.

Mel,
I also have the same intention to switch to Similac but shall wait and see how.I've a few $2 off coupons to buy Enfapro but don't know if I should buy to stock up coz coupon valid till Aug04.

Li May,glad that ur husband has discharged,hope he's feeling better.Must be hard on you.HAve you receive my mail?

Qhl,you're funny.Tell me if his hand is tasty or not.heehee...

Angel13,I've alady start work since last week.Dunno is it b'coz maternity leave for 2mths,like lost touch with work.So blur,like 1st day at work.Every morning feel like dozing off(not enough sleep),every evening wait for the clock to strike 5:30pm then rush home.That's my everyday schedule.

Joy_apr,I also can't seem to shed of that extra weight and inches.I've 5kg to lose but it's the inches at the waistline worries me.I used to be wearing small,now have to wear large size.My waist is 31"!Same here,I can't fit in my pre-pregnancy clothes and have to buy new clothes.Sigh.In order to lose the inches,I took up slimming course at Cenosis,now waiting patiently to see results.Besides that I'm also cutting down on my food intake.Me too lazy to motivate myself to exercise.

I heard from my colleague that those delivered thru c-section have to wait a little longer to start exercise to allow the wound to heal completely.So,be patient and take it easy on the exercise,okie.

Raindrop,
Now that you are back to work who is looking after your baby?
Dunno if I shld work part time and look after my baby after I knock off instead of being a SAHM. Any advise?
As for my wound, think will take a longer time to heal as I still feel the pain. Moved abt too much during my confinement and didn't have enough rest.

hi joy_apr,
my edd 21 jul. saw ur post in tis thread so pop by to say hi. glad to hear tat u n ur boy are doing well. u great mummy! suck out his muscus. i learning new thgs fr the mummies' sharing here too. i getting easily tired now. put on 9.5kg at 35wks.

Angel13,
My MIL is looking after my baby,while my maid concentrates on doing housework.I always rush home to take over the 'shift' so that my MIL can take dinner 1st.My hubby doesn't like the maid to look after our baby.
I feel that I'm not qualified to be a SAHM coz I gets frustated very easily esp when bb cries.I really admire your dedication.If you have the intention to work part-time,who'll be helping to take care of your son?Maybe you like to consider working from home?You have any graphic knowledge?Maybe I ask my hubby if he's got freelance graphic assignment for you.

Sanrio,
are you expecting a girl or boy?Your little one is a Cancerian.Cancerians are very homely ppl.If it's a boy,he can be the next new age sensitive guy.As for girls,they are gentle and emotional.Its normal to get tired easily during the last trimester but hang in there,your little darling is going to be here soon to enrich your life.

Hi Raindrops,
My MIL will be able to look after my son for a period of time for me but my SIL is due in Oct. So come Oct I am not sure if I am able to carry on that arrangement therefore in delimma.

I don't have much knowledge of graphic but if you do have some freelance assignment for me I am glad to give it a try as my hubby who is in IT line can teach me.

I really wish to be a devoted SAHM but sometimes gets a bit frustrated and tired too. I feel that my hubby expects alot from me. Like taking care of chores, cook, wash up and look after the baby very well. I even do all these during my confinement thus explains why my wound still hurts.

hi QHL,

yr baby is so cute.. sucking his fingers...
my boy still wearing mittens and he will suck it like lollipop ...

hi rain_drop.

how much is the slimming course at Cenosis ??

hi QHL.

if i am not wrong, yr baby is on TBF.. why u need to feed him water ?? i thought TBF baby need not to feed water.

I am back, finally manage to settle back @ my own hm.

Angel13,
Thanks for ur concern.

Rain_Drops,
Thanks for ur concern.
I have received ur email.Thanks for the fast response.

Wanna tabulate our info together, so tat when we are free, perhaps we could meet up or share infos?

My email is [email protected]

Here is Reon again:

109401.jpg

She looks like a boy, rite? Everytime, I bring her out, no matter how hard I dress her up, ppl still ask, boy or girl

Hi aloe,

Dunno leh. I know that bb on tbf nonid to feed water. But grandpa/ma get very worried when they don't feed bb water. So have to yi si yi si give some.

Hi Li May, your baby is very cute....so chubby...I like!

hi rain-drops,
tks. i'm expecting a boy, quite excited now but oso little scared of the labour process. me will likely b a SAHM for a while. i plan to bf but may stdby a small bottle of milk powder. read much abt enfalac A+ n similac excellence, still cant decide on which. i read u shower ur girl at 5-6am. wah! she is an early bird n must b a brave little girl too (not afraid of cold)..

Hi Li May,
Your girl is cute!
Sleeping so soundly
Ya, what info do u need?

Hi QHL,
Your boy also looks cute..enjoy sucking his finger. Just like Aloe, my boy wear mittens and he will lick it..hahaha..

Hi raindrops,
Yes, it takes a while for the wound to be heal. My gynae said my wound recovered v well. He removed my stitch 10 days after my operation. Used to wear L but now XXL liao..
Though eager to shed the extra weight, but I won't rush into exercising, will do more walking first. Thks 4 yr concern.

Is the course at Cenosis expensive and how's the package? After giving birth to 3 boys, my colleague went for slimming course at Expressions..boy! she really slimmed down alot! Can't tell she's a mother of 3! But she said the course is expensive.

Hi Sanrio,
Still have a month plus to go. Do read up more on breastfeeding to be prepared. Btw, you may want to stand by the purelan cream from medela. It helps to soothen crack or sore nipples. Alternatively, you can also squeeze out milk to apply around your nipples. It helps greatly. I tried both. In addition, you can purchase nipple shield, it is put around your crack nipple, so that when baby suckles, it is less painful. And do drink lots of water. Hope this info helps.

Your total wt gain is 9.5kg or at the 35th week, you put on 9.5kg?

Hi Angel13,
It's really not easy to take care of bb and have to handle the household chores. Do take good care of yourself esp. the wound.

Qhl,
Aiyo,Nathan is sooooo cute.He seems very contented sucking.heehee

Angel13,
Are you staying with in-laws?maybe you like to ask ur mum to help you.It's always better to hv experienced help around.Don't be discouraged. Maybe you should have a talk with ur hubby.

aloe,
I've spent $2k so far.I've lost 23.6cm altogether off my arms,waist and thighs after 5 sessions.So little that can't see the difference.

Li_may,did you shave Reon's hair?I can't bear to cut Cherish's hair.Oh,she's so cute even when she's sleeping.

Sanrio,
don't worry too much,just let nature takes its own course.The midwives will guide u along.Where are you going to deliver?Maybe your gynae will advise u which brand to buy.Are you controlling ur weight?At least you gain less,less to lose later after giving birth.

joy_apr,
Actually I dun know why I agree to spend so much $ there.Maybe I'm just too eager to get back in shape.They always ask me to buy this cream,buy that gel.I always tell them I have no more money coz I already spent my 2mths'pay on this package.

Raindrops,
I am not staying with my MIL. However she just stays across the street so I go over to her place almost everyday to take a look at my baby. Brings him back every fri for the wkend.
My mom doesn't know how to look after baby. I was taken care of by nanny.
Its ok. I just need to complain abt the chores once in a while.

Angel13,
That's a good arrangement.Now you can enjoy the freedom of young couple living together without the unnecessary friction with in-laws.And best of all,ur MIL can help to take care of ur son.You know sometimes I also very angry with my hubby.It's not that he won't help in taking care of bb but once he fall asleep,there's no way he's gonna wake up.I'll wake up in the middle of the nite to make milk,feed and burp her before patting her to sleep.That's the most difficult part coz Cherish (like me) is a very light sleeper.It will take her 2hrs to fall asleep and when she's almost there,my hubby will SNORE loudly and wake her up!So angry esp you see her eyes half-shut and pacificer drop,then rudely woke up with eyes widely opened after he snores!Feels like tapeing up my hubby's mouth.Since he woke Cherish up,I also wake him up with a slap on his lap!hahaha.1 for all,all for 1.One cannot sleep,all also cannot sleep!Then he will sit up reluctantly and doze off with snorzzzz.

I'm getting more and more confident giving Cherish a shower.After some observation,I realised she's willing to take shower btw 4am-6am(really early bird) and she dislikes washing hair.So I heed all advices like say nice things to her,wrap her in nice big towel,prop her up and wipe her hair with wet hanky,pat a little water on her cheast b4 putting her in tub.I'm so happy.
But this morning,I de2 yi4 wang4 xing2.SInce she enjoy in water,I splash water on her,let her stretch her legs until her head bump onto the tub.She cried a bit and I quickly sayang her and apologise to her.Without wasting time,I quickly carry her up and wrapped her with towel,then she stopped crying.Luckily there's no visible bump on her head.heehee

Cutecute,where are you?

Raindrops,
The 1st 2 time I tried to bath my son he also cried like crazy but now he is enjoying his bath time. He likes us to talk or sing to him constantly.
My hubby do help to feed , change, burp my son but never wake him up to do that coz he will lose his temper. He is also a very sound sleeper. Will snore loudly and have to really shake him really hard to wake him up.

Hi Rain_drops

I'm here.. hee hee..
Try to send msg yesterday but dun know why internet down.

My son is also enjoying his bath and I love his smile too. I usually bath him in the morning abt 10am.
He afraid of hot weather so I always turn on the ceiling fan.

hi rain_drops,

sorry, I cannot help but laugh at you whacking your hubby.....terrible me, but it must have been quite irritating to have bb woken up once she's almost there. dun worry, I'm sure in time to come, Cherish will realise that it's just daddy singing to her in his sleep...

today is the first time i gave nathan a bath...really. Usually, this task is taken on by the grandmas. Quite tough....bb so slippery at times. I very worried of him slipping into the tub :p Guess I better get more practice. Cannot be so lazy

hi mel,

remember me? how are you coping with your gal? my girl just went for for her third month jab at the polyclinic on friday, had fever for 2 days. luckily she did not fuss much.

i am staying at home to look after her. sometimes very frustrated when she cries non-stop. u gave up bf? i am still on tbf and i latch her on everytime. my hubby is very free nowadaysso most of the time, we are at home, taking turns to look after her.

u mentioned that you will be doing some biz, how was it? or u intend to look for job? sometimes i think i am not suitable to be a SAHM because i am not tolerant enough.. even my hubby can cope better...hahaa!

hi joy_apr n rain_drops,
tks for the advice
i bought purelan to stdby. i put on a total of 9.5kg by 35wks. my wt gain was vy gradual n moderate. i jus eat as per normal but m alwy a smaller eater. at 1st was wori 'cant' put on wt (opp fr most mummies) but gynae told me bb is growing well n my wt gain likely all wen to him. he's not small, abt 2.5kg at 34wks.

hi sanrio,

that's good. your weight gain is on the right track. My gynae always said I put on too much weight..ideally should be 12-15kg in total. Although my baby is big, but I also retain the excess wt gain on myself. Yes, ur boy is growing very well.

hi rain_drops,

if i have the cash, I would also go for slimming course too.. guess it's natural that we are eager to get back to shape. My gf took a year to slim back, and her advice to me was.. be patient.

So, how often do u go for slimming session? I am sure at the end of it, u will definitely see results.

hi joy_apr,
tks for the assurance. my tummy not big compared to many others so i alwy wonder how my 'boy' hides himself inside. u dun wori too much abt losing wt. i hav frds who lost wt vy fast but some took abt a yr. i tink w proper diet n some exercise, u can do it

me back to work la.. vy sleepy now ..
wondering what is my baby boy doing now.. must be sleeping la. how i wish i can sleep with him.... heehee

hi Sanrio,
if i am not wrong, u are going to deliver in raffles hosiptal ??

hi joy_apr
wah, your gf took a year to slim down?? Did she do any exercise?? I am running outta patient, can't seem to lose any weight. So sad.

Angel13,I think all men are like that.Once K.O.(knock out),no way to relive back.

cutecute,I've always wanted to see Cherish smile at me but she haven leh.I guess you must be thrilled to see his 1st smile.

Qhl,same as you.I always sit there and watch my MIL bathe her.

Hi,pink.Did you do anything to bring the temp down?I'm very scared coz my girl is taking 5-in-1 soon,and the nurse said to expect fever.Any advice to share?

sanrio,
I think ur boy boy is going to be ard 3kg at birth.Don't worry,the staff nurses at delivery ward are quite nice and I'm sure they can guide u along.What I can't stand are the 'ah-mahs' so unfriendly.Do try the confinement menu,delicious!

Joy_apr,my SIL also took a yr b4 regaining back her figure even she's BF.She gained a total of 20kg!I visited Cenosis twice every week.Just took my measurement,lost 32.6cm all over(arms,waist,thighs) from my 1st visit.Results still not visible.But my weight siao siao,like yo-yo,up and down.Must be water retention.Will try to request medicine fm my gynae this week to reduce the water retention.

aloe,do you feel like lost touch with work like me?I bet you muz hv rush home the moment clock strikes 5:30pm,rite?

Hi vain pot,don't be sad.You r not alone.Mummies Unite!

hi mel,

yes still SAHM, don't intend to work also. u leh?

Raindrops,
the nurses at the polyclinic gave us 2 tabs of panadol (those pink ones for children.) to feed her when we go home. the fever came around 3-4hours after the jab. we gave her half tab six hourly. at night, we sponge her when her fever goes up, also applied those fever strips. the next day afternoon, her fever subsided.

remember bot to let your bb wear too thick clothings. air con is fine

hi vain pot,

Not too sure if my friend does exercises regularly..only said she took a year to slim down. Like what Rain_drops mentioned, don't be too sad..we are in this together. Let's encourage each other to lose weight.

hi sanrio,
ya, exercise and diet will help to reduce wt.. but can't do rigorous exercises yet..must wait at least 6 months cos c-section. will do more walking.

hi rain_drops,
I gained about to 22kg..more than your SIL..lost 14kg after confinement..mostly water retention. did the malay massage..my wt gain is mostly around the thigh and butt.. hopefully once I go back to work, I will lose more wt.

hi aloe,
i am going back to work soon..am sure will also miss my boy just like you.. and feeling sleepy too.. so, do u express at work?