(2004/03) March Mummy

My boy, born on 13 March, is down with fever, cough and flu. Has anyone of your babies fallen ill and how do you cope?

i just came back from the polyclinic and she is weighing 5.4kg, 61cm. i am quite worried about her weight even though the doctor says its within the normal range...

talk u u later........

hi quench,
how are you? able to express now? read in the bfg thread that you plan to take the fish+papaya diet, does it help?
For me, its been too tiring, I usually suffer body ache after expressing, like those when you get virus infection. Furthermore, its really a big commitment especially in terms of time, have been sacrifing time spend with my gal and cant really afford to do it at work, because what I am doing need lots of concentration and normally with tight deadlines, somemore my supply has been so low very demoralising. But i still feel very guilty for not being able to continue, especially after reading those bfg story of adoptive mother...... I hope you can continue as long as you are able to....

Mar mum,
you took your boy for the jab already? how is he? Yes, the 6-in-1 jab include hep b, so can skip the 2nd hep b jab.. I scare my gal will get fever, last time after the 1st jab, she doesnt feel very well and fusses for 2 days....my hb very heartpain....

I also read that should not give honey water, but my gal has been constipated ever since totally stop taking bm, my PIL and SIl says its ok to give honey to ease constipation, so my hb will give her honey water if she din poo for 2 days... think have to tell him to stop it.

AWP
your boy is big size, but have heard from others that its ok, becuase some of their abby stop growing after 4-5 mths, only grow longer...I ahve heard of pao seng water to prevent fever, but have to do it with rice water? how?

Celine Lee
some says GP is good enough for baby, but so far we send my gal to PD cause think they are more professional. How's is your boy diarrhoea? getting better?

caedenboy
your boy is drinking a lot and you are lucky to have him sleep thru... my gal drink the most 120ml at 4 hours interval, some times even much less, her record is to go without drinking for 11 hours... terrible rite? sometimes we quite worry, hopefully she is gaining enough weight.... will know next week when bring her to PD...

Hi Pink,

my boy weighs only 5.6kg and length abt 60, i tink is too light loh, after seeing ur posting...

Helena,

my boy also felt ill 2 wks ago, i tink must feb him with plenty of water. Hv u bring him to the doc??

So to chk with u gals again, d ur bb turn already??

hi pink,
I think my gal about same size as yours. They say bb has to double their birth weight at 3 mths, and your gal's weight now is almost double, so dont worry too much.... from now on they only need to triple the weight in 1 year time.
You have flashed dots card to your gal? how's her respond? I havent got my done, still dont know how to do it. Did you print the dots on A4 paper and paste it on the card? I will start the word card with her tomorrow.
Where you bring your gal for infant massage? Is she still rejecting bottle? do you try giving her different teats?

BB
My gal not turning yet, and show no sign that she want to turn... is it normal? Is your boy turning all the time?

Helena
Have you bring your boy to see doc already? try to sponge him to have the fever subsided, should take his temperature often to make sure the fever is not running too high. I think Bb will fuss a lot when they are not feeling well, so you have to spend more time comforting your boy.

Bb and m_maro,

Thanks. We brought him to the doctor yesterday and he was given panadol syrup and flu syrup but he hates to drink it so I have to dilute it with milk and water. He's better but I am so worried the virus will atatck his brain. I'm paranoid. Pains me to see him like that. My neighbour told me he fell ill cos we bring him out. I'm feeling guilty.

Bb,
What illness did your bb get?

m maro
Thanks. My baby is better.I feed him with rice water in order to stop his diarrhoea.

pink
you flash dot cards to your baby? Can you tell me more about it and how does it help the baby? Last time I used to flash word cards to my first child.

All mummies
Did any of your baby can sleep through the night without night feeds already?

hi celine lee

My boy sleeps thru some time but most of the time wake up like 4 hours interval in the night...

Mashi Maro
These few days he seems to be not really interested in milk already, couldnt finsh his usual 6 ouce...seems like he can feed lesser on longer hours interval now....

Helena
My friend bring her baby out all the time, no problem...at all....don feel guilty la, sometimes baby fall sick, nothing to do with going out...

but for me...
My baby is going like 3 months plus and the only place i bring him is thru and fro my mum place to my place or occasionally to my Mil place or to my granny place...

I don bring him out to shopping or any other places.....i will bring him out only when he is older and stronger like when he can support his head firmly ekkeke ..cux i scared he gets sick from outside virus, whatever that is....then i don know how to handle, he gets cranky even stomach discomfort ...so i cannot imagine him down with flu, i really go crazy...if he gets cranky all time...

I have to work, so if baby is sick, not a good thingy...so i rather just stay at home for the time being...unitl he gets older like 5 or 6 mooths...
NAS

I think my boy is the lightest here. He's born on 18 Mar and now weighing 5.25kg.

m_maro,
Yes, my boy had the 2nd jab on thurs. Had slight fever like the 1st jab and fuesses for 1-2 days. But I didn't do anything when he had the fever cos I completely forgotten about the jab and thought that it was because of the hot weather that he feels a bit hot. He tends to drink more the day after his jab.

Flashed the "picture" cards to my boy (the ones from dumex). He seems to like it especially the smiling face.

bb,
My boy not turning yet but showing a bit of sign already.

cxlee,
nope. still wakes up for night feeds. Previously managed to get him to wake up only once. But recently he wakes up twice again. Trying to put him on schedule but it only lasted for 1 week then went haywire.

helena
is your boy ok now? I dont think he fall sick because you bring him out, dont feel guilty. I brought my gal out very often, so far been to shopping mall, park, beach and fish farm. Think she enjoy going out to see new things, but we avoid places which are too crowded. Did you consult doctor if your boy overweight? What's his birth weight? I think as long as he is healthy and active, you shoudnt worry too much.

cxlee
my gal used to wake up only once in the morning around 6-7am for milk. But these days she sleeps earlier at around 8pm, so have been waking up earlier for milk, like 4-5am.

Anyone know how to delay baby's last feed to around 10-11pm?

Mar mum
Wow, you didnt do anything and your boy fever jsut went off? thought must give medicine and sponge baby... Think your boy is very strong. Is he on tbf since birth?
May I know how much do you pay for the jab? did you take it at PD or poly?
I ahve flashed the word cards to my gal, she just stare at it without any expression, so dont knw whether she like it.

Celine Lee
You can find the dots card information in the thread "Ways to stimulate bb".

Helena,

Hope your boy is feeling better....
Wow, he's really heavy for his age....
My girl is 6.6kg and she's already over 75th percentile!

Celine,

My bb started doing without night feeds since beginning of 2nd month, but recently started again cos she refuses bottle in the day when I'm away, then makes up for it during night.... V siong leh, don't know how I can correct this prob

m_maro,

My girl also not taking much, usually 100 ml every 2-3 hrs, PD says should be 120ml, but hopefully alright since she's putting on weight

m_maro, girl,

He's still coughing and has running nose but at least he still has the energy to play and coo, unlike last Thursday when he went to see the PD. He was lethargic and was moaning.

m_maro,
I do not know if he is overweight cos he is tall. The PD didn't say anything about his weight. He noticed the weight and just said for his weight, we had to give me a little more panadol syrup.

girl,
I think boys are heavier. My neighbour's girl, who is 10 months old, is only 9 kg. I find that too light! I guess she's so light cos both her parents are not tall or have bigger frame.

Helena,
2nd jab for the 6-in-1.

m_maro,
I din realize that my boy having a fever until my mil asked if he has had his jab and whether he has fever after the jab. Then I realized that when I felt his warm body, it was actually fever. I thought it was the warm weather that causes him to be so warm. However, I gave him more water and more frequent feed cos he keep crying and wanted to drink. Ya. he on tbf, but supplement with fm when my mum helps to look after him when I'm not around.

The 2nd jab costs $130. Took it at a private clinic. Polyclinic does not have the 6-in-1 yet.

Continue flashing the cards. I think they are processing what they see even though they don't make any expression.

Mar_mum,

Your bb is already taking the 6-1 jab so fast? Shouldn't it be taken in the 4th month?
So far, other than the 2 jabs taken at birth, my son has taken his Hep B when he was 1 month old. Wanted to take him for his first 5-1 jab last Thursday but he came down with cough and flu, so we have to postpone it.
You may want to try getting the fever pad for the forehead from Pigeon. I gave that to my son. It lasts 8 hours.

hi m_maro,
how are you?
i've since stopped bf. i've weighed the pros and cons and like u my supply is terribly terribly low. so i thought i would spend more quality time with my gal. don't be guilty coz a happy mummy = happy baby.

my gal is 5.9kg and 66cm. will be going for her third jab next week. just curious, does any of the jabs cause fevers?

Sorry for not logging in so long, cos have been busy.. Just a update, my boy now can lift up his head when we help him turn over. He looks so cute cos he seem so amaze, excited and curious when he look at things, he will keep turning his head here and there... But he still cannot turn over fully cos of his left hand, that means he can like turn over but will be stopped by his left hand.

It seems that my boy is actually quite light, 5.6 kg at 3 mths..

Does u gals give ur BB pacifier?? Mine like dun really like it, cos he will suck for a while then throw out. I wants to train him b4 i bring him out if not he will make a fuss if he wan sleep...

BB

hi helena,

im not so sure. will have to check with my PD.

hi colt,
my baby also can lift up her head but can't turn leh. have seen her trying but i think she doesn't know how yet.

yes i do give her pacifier, helps her sleep and assure her. initially, she also didn't like it but after a few tries, she adapted to it. hmmm...wonder whether she can kick off this habit later on.

bb,
my boy also quite light, 5.7kg at 3mths. does ur boy has small bones? r u petite? i m petite n my boy has small bones like me. guess that explains y he is quite light.

din give my boy pacifier as he din fuss much. but sometimes he will suck his hands. my boy dun sleep when he is outside no matter how tired he is.

Hi quench,

initally he actually also know how to 'eat' pacifier, but now he dun seem to like it but, always like to suck his finger...

Hi Mini,

they r abt the same size.. I dun know if his bone r of small size, but i m of those S size b4 pregrant, and i m abt 1.63 tall, is this consider pettit?

BB

BB,
should be consider pettit since u wore S size clothes. me too. i m only 1.58m tall n pre-preg wt was 44kg. wondering how much extra wt is the enlarged breasts? weigh myself last wk n was 45.5kg. my mum n hubby always say bb small bones n tats y wont be too heavy. at first i hope bb can be 6kg at 3mths since can grow 1kg each mth n he was 4kg at 1mth.

sometimes wondering is it good to let them suck fingers or not. hard to stop them from sucking too. think finger should be better than pacifier as easier to get rid of the habit. afraid bb get addicted to pacifier. some bb just prefer fingers to pacifier. my mum said i used to suck fingers n reject pacifier.

hi mini,

wow, ur loss loss is fast, me still got tonnes of weight to loss. My pre-preg weight was abt 51kg, now still at abt 58kg.... wonder when i am going to lose it. Any idea or suggestions?? Thks..

But i read from book that, sucking finger is no gd as compared to pacifier cos more germ and bateria can be found in finger as for pacifier everytime we also sterilise it loh...

that y i dun really let my son to suck, but sometime no choice...

BB

BB,
yah my wt loss is fast. lost most of the wt after 1mth. my colleagues commented i look slim when back to work 6wks ago. dunno y wt just keep decreasing though have been eating. guess the fast wt loss is due to regular exercise before n during pregnancy. hmm..have any time to exercise? think at this moment exercise is the best since u r still bf. but me cant find time to exercise.

will try to wipe his hands more often. but for pacifier what if next time when bb is bigger n pacifier drop on the floor w/o us realising n they just put into their mouth again. think abit of germ n bateria should not do much harm. i feel being too "clean" is no good for the bb as next time he will grow up sensitive to slightly dirty things.
i also no choice when bb suck fingers. luckily he only suck for a while.

fyi, my MIL maid who is an Indonesian said they dun sterilise milk bottles at all. she was surprised when see MIL sterilising milk bottles. but the maid n other indonesian r growing well. heh..tat explains y they can accept dirty things since they r trained since young.

Mar mum
Just brot my gal for 2nd 6-in-1 jab, she seems not feeling well after the jab, have been sleeping a lot since 2pm, only wake up once at 9pm to take milk, but only take 60ml. She is opposite to your boy, doesnt want to drink.....

quench
ya, I also think there are other things that we can provide for our baby to make up for not being able to bf, though I am still guilty of unable to continue, but also quite happy that can have more time to play and talk to my gal now. About the jab, ya, there is always 5-10% chances of developing fever after the jab. PD told me 6-in-1 jab should have less risk of fever, that's why we let our bb have it. But we do give my gal the pao seng water, hoping to prevent fever. Quench, your gal is tall!!

Helena,
As 6-in-1 jab include the hep B, so normally taken earlier than 5-in-1 jab. So, at 3 mths, bb is due for the 2nd 6-in-1 jab. I am not so sure about the timing for 5-in-1. Is your boy ok already?

bb, mini
my gal just being weigh today, she is 5.5kg and 60cm long. Guess at leats 3 of our babies have a round same weight, its quite assuring that they are not underweight. My PD also commented that the weight is ok. Btw, I am quite same size as you, bb. I cant go abck to my preprenancy weight of 49kg, still have 6 kgs to lose. Have been cutting down on food but no use also.

mini
I have quite a number of friends also do not sterilise the bottle after every feed. They only boil it once a day, other times just wash it with tap water, so they only need 2 bottles in total. When I see their babies are growing well too I will wonder am I too protective taht actually might cause my gal being sensitive to germ in the future?

m_maro
Yes. He's on tbf since birth? But I did supplement with fm once in a while when he's at my mum's place.
The 2nd jab for 6-in-1 costs $130. Had it at private clinic. Polyclinic still doesn't have the 6-in-1.

Helena,
the 1st 6-in-1 jab was taken when he's 1.5 months. 2nd when 3 months, 3rd to be taken when 5 months and the 4th (last) to be taken when 18 months.

To all,
I've noticed that the babies mentioned here are all heavier than my boy. Wonder if it's because my boy was lighter at birth. Can you all share how much weight gain your bb has had since birth?

Hi Helena,

the first time was slight fever, cold and cough, but my mum fed him with medicine, and was well again.
Then tat day also a bit of cold, but a while later ok again.

Hi m_maro,

ya, it very difficult to shed off the weigh. I also been eating less aft confinement, but the weight loss is very minimal. Now, sometime i cannot control, especially these few day, been eating alot especially dumpling... Wonder when can get back to the weight...

BB

BB,m_maro
ytr went for a health assessment at my office building n weigh only 44.4kg! my colleague said the weighing machine is correct. but then was 45.5kg when weigh at anr machine last wk. dunno which is accurate though. today tried out my s-size pants n can wear it. cant zip up when last tried it 6wks ago. get hungry v easily n have been eating n eating. but seem like body burning away the energy fast.

quite assuring after knowing our bb has ard the same wt. at least we know they r normal n not underwt

infact i also sterilised my pump n bottles 1-2 times a day only. other times i will just wash over it with hot water. so far my boy is ok. infact after he was born my hubby, parents n PIL all say dun need to be so clean. sterilise once a day will do. last time our parents also sterilise once a day n we r still as healthy.

mar_mum,
my boy's birth wt at birth was 2.92kg. but was 2.82kg on 3rd day. is 5.7kg at 3mths.

m_maro,
Thanks, my boy is better now but he still has some mucus. He is certainly more cheerful. I have to wait for him to be totally well before he takes his 5-1 jab.

mar_mum,
Does it mean that since my boy took his Hep B when he was 1 month old, he should be going for the 5-1 jab instead of 6-1? So the difference between the 2 jabs is the Hep B, is it?
My boy was 3.9kg at birth but dropped to 3.7kg when he was 4 days old. He was 7.7kg one and a half week ago.

i brought my daughter for the 5-in-1 jab today. she's so cute, didn't cry at all, just babble a little to voice out her unhappiness. :p

she doesn't attempt to turn at all leh. strange leh.

hi m_maro,
i sterilise everything hehe bottles and pump everytime. my mum and mum in law also says they only sterilise once a day only hehe :p maybe we are too clean liao

hi mini,
wow so fast 44kg already? how much did u put on during ur pregnancy? im still trying very hard to lose the weight i put on
any advise?

quench,
so cute ur girl din cry. my boy cried until so ke lian leh..

i put on ard 12kg during pregnancy. my friends n colleagues commented i lost weight fast but i just told them them i din do any special thing to lose it. just get lighter everytime i stand on weighing machine. u have stopped bf already right? can cutdown on food intake n try to exercise regularly. also can buy some of the sliming cum firming cream to apply on tummy to make it firmer. wanted to apply firming cream but afraid will affect bm. can only do so after stop bf.

I have a question. Quite silly actually. Are our babies considered 3 months plus though if we count in weeks, it's different? For example, my boy, who was born on 13 March, is 16 weeks. So is he 3 months old or 4 months old?

helena,
i calculated his age according to calendar month rather than wks. my boy was born on 12mar so he will be 4mths old on 11jul. easier this way. somemore the injections also follow this sequence. if calculated based on mths, then 3mths will be 13wks n 6mths is 26wks.

quench,
tot we know the percentiles when we compare with the percentile charts? dun have to calculate. anyway dun think can calculate too since dunno any equation.

I finally brought my boy for his 5-1 jab today. He didn't cry and that really surprised me. But when we reached home, he cried buckets.
And his weight? 8.1kg!!! The PD commented that he looks like an eight-month-old! ;)

Helena,

Wow your boy is really big! Heard of a friend who's son was 10 kg at 3 months.... Your milk must be v nutritious:D

Mini,

So envious.... you got back your figure liao! I've remained with 4-5 kg to lose ever since the 2nd wk after delivery.... still can't fit back in my old clothes!

Mar mum,

My girl turned too.... Now got to be more careful when leaving them on the bed

BB,
Yeah. Our boys share the same birthday. Yeah! 8.1kg! That's 90th percentile and the PD didn't say he is overweight but just laughed and commented that he's seen some breastfed babies who are big too.

Girl,
Think one of the reasons why my boy is so heavy is because he is tall. He's 68cm. I still have 8 kgs to lose.

Anyone introducing semi solid to your bb? Care to share? I intend to start when my gal turn 4 months.

My gal still shows no sign of turning, but always attempt to sit up whenever we put her on the U shape pillow.

Quench
Saw my pd draw the vertical line for months and horizontal line for weight on the chart and see the meeting point falls on which percentile line.

Helena
Your boy growing so well!! He eat a lot? Think he must have very good digestive system that absorb well. Is he chubby?

Hi Helena,

Your baby so big! mine is only 6.89kg. are you bf him?

hi m_maro,
my PD didn't draw the line for me leh....is this supposed to be the procedure?

my gal is not turning yet as well. she just like to kick around and wave hands. but trying to lift things up with her hands.

thinking of giving her solids when 4 months. not sure how to....any advise

i still have 7kg more and still can't fit into my old clothes.

quench,
maro has stated the way to find the percentile. u can do it on your own too. i look at the health booklet n then use a ruler to check on the percentile.

as to introducing solid,think best to start with plain rice cereal first. dun give those too sweet kind else next time he reject those not sweet stuff. as for porridge better to wait until bb is older say 5-6mths old as their digestive system will b more matured by then. think i will only introduce solid to my boy when he is 5mths old.

m_maro,

My boy doesn't look quite chubby but his thighs are really FAT FAT! Got cellulite somemore. Though he drinks about 150-160ml of EBM, he drinks at longer intervals, so effectively, he drinks less.

quench,
When I go to work, my mum feeds him my EBM but when I am at home and not too tired, I latch him on directly. Are you also breastfeeding?

For those of you who are wondering how my baby looks like since he's so big at 8.1kg, here's an attached picture. He took this when he was 2 months plus. BIG FAT BOY!

112117.jpg