(2004/03) March Mummy

ruffy
hahaha yah left the 2 of us here.. think helena flew off to holiday loh!

ryan got sick of the jar food ah... so smart, he wants fresh ones.. hee hee.. if not easy to go mkt during rainy season, you may want to try e-mart.com.sg order online? my friends tried before say quite good...they've fresh veg/fruits.

think if he is not feeding much during night feeds, he's not really hungry? I also dont know how to wean off night feeds, will give her milk if she wakes up for it and she'd drink.. she herself slowly learnt to sleep through without waking.. I suppose if you give him water, he will know and wont take right?

I have the J&J solution but dont know if its safe for infant... also got the electric anti-mozzies plug, but dont think its safe leh... if not wrong, people with higher body temp will attract mozzies.

Bbgal,
Yesterday went to buy some NUBY pacifiers for him coz he was scream/growlling all the time..v.irritating..but this guy too smart..try to trick him..one lick and he knows that it is a pacifier and conviently spit it out of his mouth.. hubby chid me for wasting $$..anway can always use for the next one..or when he is teething and needs sometime to chew on. Nowadays even outside he is super noisy.
Maybe you can check for natural remedies to prevent mosquitos.. my mum used to say eat more bittergourd or something like that.. or spray lemon or someting to drive away the mosquitos... need to check up first.
yeah.. Ryan can tell the difference between water/milk even before it enters his mouth. Sometimes he will reject the milk for water...cannot trick him .

ruffy
think it's abit late to introduce pacifier to him now cos he's already old enough to tell them apart. also good that he doesnt want it loh, else later gotta wean him off.. another set of problem.. heehee.. actually I was the one to insist on giving pacifier cos she really cant sleep, while hubby was against it.. so it's my task to wean her.. hahaha now the next task is to wean her off sarong! which err.. is gonna to very difficult.

I think I gotta find out where's the source of the mozzies.. but I hardly have stale water in the house..

Bbgal,
yeah a bit late..anway.. he can always use it as a toy when we are outside to play with hehee..
Now he is playing with it flipping it up and down.

bbgal/ruffy,

what do you mean left with 2 of u? there's still me!!!
I was on half day leave this morning. So only reading your postings now.

Ruffy,
Your hubby join the new budget airline company huh? Think I saw that job posting in the job search websites b4.

This morning, I went for an interview with a company in the health industry. Part of their business involved selling formulas. hee hee... got stuff discount leh! hope that I will be successful. But I think it's very competitive.

Oh, forgot to add.
My ryan knows how to suck water from a straw. That day, my mum gave him a packet drink and tease him with the straw. He actually drank some of the water by sucking on it.We are all so amazed! Don't know how he learn to do so.

cclare,
yeah.. he is joining a new budget airline as revenue accountant. will be 5 day work week after the initial start up period. Won't need to wake up so early for work coz airport v near our house .hehe. I haven't tried giving Ryan and straw to suck from.. I think won't be that difficult for them coz they already know how to suck. You also changing co? Well hope that you get the job. I'm still trying to get him to hold his bottle..he is quite lazy.. know how to do it but still refuses to do it sometime.

ruffy,
yah, I think that's the ad I saw.

I'm looking out for better prospects. My current job a bit insecure. Several of the sales and service pple have left, and no replacement. Quite scary. Those still around have heavy workloads and are complaining. Maybe my HQ is thinking of shifting the operations elsewhere. Just a guess. Anyway, start to lookout early in case lor!

My ryan will hold the bottle if he's drinking water, but not milk. Mayb the milk bottle is heavier, so he lazy.

cclare,
My ryan only do it to show granny that he can do it when he is at her place.. at home.. bully mummy N daddy. He is strong enough to hold the big bottle 240ml by himself with one hand if he want but just lazy.

cclare
was thinking how come you never come in this morning, its not even month-end.. hee hee and there you were! :p

If get the job must inform us leh, then we can order from you to get bulk discount.. hahaha

hee.. I also very tempted to give her the straw when I drink packet drinks, but scare she go and put it in her mouth then suck and choke.. so you can let ryan use those bottles with straw now!
think the action is the same as sucking pacifier or bottle teats?

ruffy/cclare
can both ryans control the bottles when they hold? my gal can only hold but cant control as in take out then put in again.. will poke her face instead.. hahaa..

was busy today, no time to chat here.

cclare,
ur Ryan so fast know how to drink from straw! i tried to give Matt but cannot leh...

also hope that u got the new job. wonder how's the market now. already sick of my job but still cling on since they offer me part-time... the part-time thing is great for me but the job to do is the same, just that the load has reduced tremendously. see how first in Dec...

ruff,
gd for u, since ur hubby got a better prospect job, now money is lesser is ok, it will pick up soon.

bbgal,
Rayna got 2 little cute teeth liao!

Must wean off the pacifier now? i still hv not n no intention to do so, thinking of doing it when he is older... he can also sleep w/o pacifier when we forgot to bring, so thot is ok.

seem like all ur bb r stong enough to hold the bottle already! Matt din try to, mummy din let him try n he din show interest in holding also...

Tomorrow not logging in as my dept will be having team building at east coast park. don know what time finish.

Morning Mommies!

cla
it's a personal preference lah, I didnt want her to become too dependent on pacifier thus want to wean her off before she's old enough to ask for it next time. :p Previously she could sleep in bb carrier without pacifier outside, but when in sarong, she will always fuss, need pacifier.. however sometimes give already still fuss so thought might as well dont give. :p

today my turn to take off from these postings, later going shopping with my good friend and her mom.. then evening go see her trial makeup for wedding..
will be a long day today..

Cla,
It is more than $500 pay cut for him however he says that boss seem quite okay..and say may transfer him to other departments after confirmation.
bbgal,
ryan can hold and control the bottle when he wants to... but he prefer the small bottle coz can hold it with one hand. Even when I put handles on he can use one hand to hold and position it properly.just that lazy leh.

bbgal,
the first time ryan drink from the packet drink, all the water flow out of his mouth and wet his shirt.

bbgal / cla,

he can hold the bottle well, needs to improve on his control. Most of the time, he can take it out and put back into his mouth. But sometimes will miss and poke his nose. This is only for drinking bottle. The milk bottle still a bit heavy for him, can hold but cannot control.

ruffy,
$500 pay cut a lot leh! Very heart pain. But must look at long term prospect also.

cclare,
It is more than $500 lesser.. about $800.. so have to be tighter on expenses now..anway we have been quite thrifty since Ryan was born..so still okay.. but his previous job.. quite okay pay but dead end..and bad work environment..so just hope for the better..may consider converting the car to a weekend car coz hubby may not be driving to work as there is no car allowance/carpark given.
He is complaining about the $$$car coz we just change to a continental car. Made him change car before Ryan was born coz Jap car.. not that safe.. and if any accident can affect bb if bb was in the car. Anyway lucky changed the car coz a few mth back. "suay" got into accident on the expressway..the person behind was speeding and could not break in time.. lucky the car was not too badly damaged.. just needed to change the bumper and numberplate.. boot still okay coz there is an steel reinforce bar at the bottom under the bumper... the other persons car.. engine smashed in, radiator leaking etc had to be towed away. Mum's jap car got into a similar accident the year before. Her car was stopped at the traffic light than this taxi bang into her..boot got smashed in etc...got a bit scared after that so made him change the car.
Anway.. cannot go to too many restaurant to eat during the weekends now..

ruffy,
I think sometimes the working environment and people are more important. Of course, salary also important. Have to consider also the total package, mayb your hubby will get more bonus, and staff benefits end of the day.

jap car that bad huh? Oophs, we driving a jap car now. Sometimes, it depends on luck. Even if we drive steadily, we still get into accident cos of other reckless driver. My car is barely 1 year old, and we have already changed the front bumper once, dent on 1 of the passenger car door and a very very small crack on the windscreen.

ruffy/cclare
Your boys are quite fast! my gal's hands are still quite stiff, quite forceful in the way they move, kind of like the mind wants this way but the hands go the other way. :p

ruffy
Your hubby's paycut quite alot! But so long as you all can manage on that level of income, its still worth it cos in returns he gets a better working environment and more family time and rest on weekends.

we also cut down on restaurants cos simply too difficult to eat with bb there.. one of us has to rush through the meal so as to relieve the other to carry bb... not relax and enjoyable anymore.. so nowadays we always dabao back instead..

so scary the accident.. luckily you guys are not hurt! Was ryan in the car too?

btw, I bought this toy handphone yesterday from KP, compass pt, looks like real 8210 model, only $3.90.
actually meant for above 3YO, gonna get a plastic hp cover to 'wrap' up the hp so that the parts will not fall out should it break. My gal always like to see us make calls on phone or see our hp, so bought her one

cclare/bbgal,
Jap car is value for money..but saftey wise not really that good coz they use lighter material for the car so that it is more fuel efficient..If you examine the car only European car have impact bars at the back/front of the car. Ryan was in the car in his car seat at the time of the accident.. but luckily we/other car wasn't really travelling that fast or the impact would have been worst.Jap car is better than Korean as they have airbag/more safety features..but they on;y protect if have head-on accident. backseat passangers do not really have much protection.. european car have 4-6airbag and safety cage feature to withstand impact from all sides. ..so if possible may change to volvo next time..

Hubby working for airline company now..so workplace is at airport.. quite near to tampines. Bonus is quite substancial just that mthly income reduce quite a lot. Anway he says it is a good learning experience and can go from 1 dept to another..don't need to stay in acc all the time.

bbgal,
so in a few mths ur gal would know how to use the telephone huh???

ruffy
luckily everyone was okie.. thank god..

hee dont know if she'd know how to play with it.. she will always listen attentively to me or other people talking on phones.. scully next time she ask for one real one at young age!! hahaha

Bbgal,
Ryan would like to grab my handphone whenever he sees it. I guess that they are facinated by the colour/sound that it has. I don't think that I will be getting him one as yet as a toy.
How was your outing with rayna?

ruffy
the outing with my friend quite okie, first time out with friend and bb... she took awhile to warm up to them, was very stone even though my friend's mom was trying to tease her to get her to smile.. later on she warmed up liow, kept smiling and 'talking' during the shopping.. was out until 8+ and she got abit cranky towards the night.. think not the most comfortable for her to stay in the carrier whole day.. almost 8hrs. :p

Later in the afternoon today (sunday) going to meet another group of close friends again with bb..
going compass pt for lunch.

are your bbs very clingy to you? my gal's quite clingy to me, when I said bye-bye to her to go shower, she cried and fussed even though daddy was carrying her.. and now she wont let anyone else feed her milk, not even her daddy.. will cry non-stop when daddy try to feed her (last time she would let him feed but wld only finish half).. pengzz... I'm so tired having to feed her day and night everyday.. she woke up at 230am last night and I had to try to stay awake to feed her while daddy continue his zzz...

Ryan can be quite clingy also will bawl if just leave him alone. However he doesn't fuss so much with daddy as he plays with him and lets him feed him.
These few days he is taking much less during night feeds.. about 60ml each time (x2)..so waste a lot of milk.. slowly trying to cut down to 30ml or so..then stop the night feeds.

ruffy
ryan doesnt look clingy to me leh
just now I let her daddy try feeding her again.. she didnt fuss but was turning her head here and there, kicking her legs, wouldnt stay still to drink.. made daddy fed up, said dont want to feed liow.. end up I had to stop my dinner half way to feed her.
and it is always like that - if I take over from him, she wont finish all the milk also.. she will already be restless and wont drink properly.. sometimes if we have plans to go out after her feed, I will feed her myself even if I should be going to shower ..thus always end up takes quite a while to get out of the house.. should I be happy that bb 'prefers' me than to daddy???

Will ryan fuss if he doesnt have enough (should you reduce to 30ml)? he falls asleep after finishing 60ml ah?

bbgal,
Ryan won't let other people carry unless he is familiar with the person. Ryan doesn't have such problem with feeding.. he will let his daddy/ granny feed him. His current favourite is Heinz Banana Mixgrain cereal. He will open his mouth big big when he sees the spoon comming towards him and can finish about 3/4 rice bowl in 15 min.
Maybe coz your girl doesn't see her daddy that often that she prefers you.
My Ryan is quite bias.. during the weekend when he sees granny/daddy..can conviently forget about mummy. If both of us call him..he will go to/look at daddy first. He gets very happy whenever he sees daddy coz daddy always play with him. He will even call him "daddy" very clearly. (definately not babbling coz only say it when hubby is around and don't say it towards me or anyone else)
These few days Ryan has been taking 100ml-150ml around 12am ..then wake up around 5-6am for next feed but only take the most 90ml out of 120ml. Yeah..he fall alseep after drinking. I don't think that he will fuss coz he himself doesn't want to drink that much at night now.. he is reducing his intake himself.
Last night he took 150ml at 12am ..then wake up at 5am for some water ..then 6.30am for milk..take only 80ml..waste 40ml.

Ruffy,
Your ryan is waking less often now. Good for you. Hopefully, he will be able to sleep through the night soon. He very fast leh! Can call daddy already. Mine still ee..ee..haa..haa.. But there was once when he was screaming away, I heard a maaaaa......

CClare,
have been teaching Ryan how to say Daddy since 1mth..sometime he does surprise us by saying words we don't expect him to say. Last weekend while we were eating Ice-cream I told him that mummy was eating ice-cream and he repeated "ice-cream" three times for me to hear. In my family we talk quite early..so by 11mths he should be able to say some words/short sentances.

ruff,
Ryan is fast to speak! Matt onli call for 'ah1 ma2' when he cry for attention.

u can actually record down his talk n date it to let him hear when he grow up.. will be very cute.

bbgal,
actually i like the feeling for Matt to cling on me, but he doesn't!!! he seem to prefer his grandma more than me, even thot i spend more time w him...

wah ruffy
your ryan is god sent ah? or he damn gifted or wat? i never know of anyone whose child can speak at such young month. or is it yr boy mature faster than others?

I'm back. came home last night but too busy unpacking and very busy at work today.
Kind of regret bringing Titus cos Bangkok is damn dusty and polluted.
Got to rush to tok to my husband. Tok to you tomorrow!

Hi Cla/mngo/Helena,
Been quite a "quiet" day.
Cla,
Have got a journal for him to write down all his achievement.
Helena,
Hope that you had a gd holiday. Bought a lot of stuff?
Mngo,
Have been teaching Ryan- showing him flash cards since birth..so he has picked up a few words by now. He is a bit more matured than bb his age.

Been quite busy these few days..

Hi ruffy
Ryan knows daddy will play with him
he's really very advanced, can call daddy and speak a few words liow! my gal still blah blah ahh ahh woo woo kind.. teach her say 'hello' since birth also never utter once.. hahaha.. do you show him the flashcards everyday? I'm quite lazy, will only show her some cards or read her books when I remember...
other times just let her crawls ard with toys.. now she's trying to get on 4s but only for like 1s.. hahaha

Cla
grandma carries him very often is it? Maybe thats why he wants grandma? they prefer to be carried.. but my gal doesnt like others to carry loh, will cry soon after transfer hands.. or sometimes she let relatives carry but will cry when suddenly see me appear, so sometimes I have to hide away when my pil side carry her..

helena
How's the trip? update us on what you bought when you free okie.. beside the pollution, did Titus enjoy himself? Did you enjoy yourself?

Morning Mummies,
bbgal,
I don't show Ryan cards everyday..coz at the moment he is more interested in playing with his balls and cars and rollling around. Will show him the storybooks/cards off and on..When we go out will point out to him.. tree, bus, car, taxi etc.. hopefully he will be able to register the sound to the object. This month I have been teaching him how to call mummy. So far have heard him call off and on.. Ah ma and mama.. however he knows how to say "mmmm" when he enjoys his food. I think will take another month of so before he can call "mummy" clearly.

ruff,
i can't n lazy to write a journal... but now doing a website for him, easier to show frens also.

bbgal,
maybe lor, i am not sure too... but i don carry him often at home, will put him in walker or on the floor for him to practise his crawling... :p

he is ok w our frens when we go gathering... but after transfering too many hands, he will be scared n cry out for mummy.

helena,
how's ur trip, other than the polluted air? enjoyed n bought many things?

Cla,
Hope to see Matthew's webpage soon.
Actually I do not write long journals just abt a paragraph or so once in 1-2weeks showing what he is able to do so far. Recently been busy videotaping Ryan trying to crawl so can burn into a VCD to send to his grandparents in Hk.

ruff, bbgal and cla,
Titus enjoyed himself, except when he didn't get enough sleep. He got cranky and made a lot of noise. Other than that, he was smiling at everyone who was playing with him. We had many strangers coming up to him to play with him. Even those in the subway did that. My aunts enjoyed his company too.

Went to Bangkok 4 years back but totally forgot about the pollution. If I had remembered, I wouldn't have brought him there.

Didn't buy a lot of things. Bought a lot of makan, though. I bought for myself a quilt bag, purse and housecoat. Got my husband a tie and shirt. My aunts bought Titus a shirt. Got my friends some stuff like bags, shawl, purses.

The best thing was we stayed in Merchant Court at a fraction of the published rate cos my aunt works for SIA and they have corporate rates.

Titus can only make noise; cannot utter words. Wonder if he will learn how to call "Daddy" since his daddy is away.

Think he'll probably call "Por Por" cos he spends so much time with my mum.

helena
I was in BK abt 5yrs back, couldnt remember it was polluted.. maybe cos too busy shopping inside shopping malls....
good that Titus enjoyed the trip... you didnt buy anything for him? no bb's stuff ah?

Ryan is cutting his first lower tooth..spotted it this morning.
Helena,
was in Bk abt 3 yrs ago for honeymoon.. we went there and pattaya..v.congested. didn't really do much shopping there also..prefer shoppin in Hk

ruffy
so that time waking up at night could be due to his teething?
if can catch his tooth on photo, show us okie!

just came back from the hep b jab, at first didnt cry but after pushing in the 'liquid' she cried! hahaha.. :p

ruffy, you going for the 9th mth assessment at polyclinic? Its free regardless of where you have given birth?

bbgal,
yeah will go for the 9mth assessment coz want to know how he has grown then. Have already schedule a date.. at the polyclinic they will give me the date for the next visit when I go there.. anway no Q if you are there abt 8.30-9am. Yeah it is free..anway all his jabs are taken at the polyclinic so will go there.
Oh.. just submitted Ryan's application for a passport so will get it in a few weeks time..may pop by ur place to c u then..hehe
This is the photo that I managed to take for his passport on the digital camera.
163690.jpg

ruffy
yep, I also got the date for the 9th mth assessment, just that forgot to ask if it's free since I delivered in TMC and not KK. I know for those borned in KK (or govt hospi) the hepb jabs are free... whereas I had to pay $10.

Ryan looks more matured in this photo..hee.. still like his chin very much, very nice!
Btw is this photo accepted by ICA? The reason I asked this is bcos last time I remembered our ears have to be visible for passport photos.. not sure if there are such rules still..

okie just give me a buzz when you coming over
think I should also go and do my gal's passport.. :p

bbgal,
I think it is accepted.. as they only state must have a white background..so put a towel over the red chair..hehe.if you look at the picture clearly can see it is a towel
. can't put him against the wall as no support.
I also paid $10 for the jab..nowadays dun have free jab I think. Assesment should be free.. Ryan was borned at Glen E..but we go to the polyclinic..as long as no jab/medicine should be free.
How is ur girl's weight now?
Eating okay?

ruffy
I thought that was taken with him on the bed.

for hepb jab, if borned in govt hospi, it will be free.

She's now 8kg and abt 68cm. Weight is nearly 90th percentile! kind of overweight hor like that? Her height is only in the 50th percentile.. She doesnt seem to be losing her chubbiness like Hong's Jan. Drinking okie, will be starting on porridge probably next week.. cos no rice at home... the pack I had was since confinement so mil say dont use it..
.. stopped giving her cereals since last week when she pooed so many times..

btw you gave porridge? mil will buy some pork to put into porridge... is it alright to use pork? She wanted to buy fish also but I told her we try pork first and see how, told her that I read cannot give fish too early... she even say can add abit of soya sauce (to add taste)... I'm waiting for hubby to tell her bb shouldnt take that.. :p

bbgal,
my ryan is 8kg and 66cm. both in 50th percentile leh! Think the difference between boy and girl is quite huge.

I've not started on porridge. Mayb will start next week too, when he reach 6 mths. I also read somewhere not to give fish.

hi bbgal,
is ok to use the meat as the porridge base for favouring but don give the meat to the bb... DON'T put other artificial favouring like soya sauce, just tell ur MIL that the bb sys is not mature enough to take all these kind of strong favouring, is bad for the bb's kidney.

cclare
I also now then realised there's some difference between boy and gal.. think I gotta let her do more exercises though she is already sweating alot when I put her to crawl on mat..

my gal's coming to 7MO next weekend.. think I'm quite slow in weaning her
okie... will not give her fish yet..

cla
luckily you told the reasons for not giving bbs the soya sauce.. I dont really know how to explain to her thus didnt tell her I wont be giving bb soya sauce... will convey to hubby and let him do the talking to convince mil..

I have a very cranky bb today after her jab, wants to be carried and entertained every waking minute of hers.. she's kind of like that after her jabs.. and worse still, the weather is so hot and the carpark alarm system went off 3 times in a row for the past 2 hrs!.. headache.. mommy's getting cranking also..

bbgal,
was shopping at Marine Parade ..didn't really buy anything just a book on how to take care of toddlers
.. read up first hehe.
Haven't given porridge to Ryan yet.. only cereals and puree vegetable coz this mummy hates porridge..so won't cook it..maybe on weekends granny will cook for Ryan to eat.
She say will try ikan bills or just porridge with carrot.
seems that Ryan is quite heavy compared to cclare's Ryan. His weight at 8.8kg 70cm is 93 percentile. but okay and not overweight.. I guess for girls..must be lightweight than okay. Maybe her weight will tapper down soon.

ruffy
yah hor, you mentioned before you dont like porridge.. is it heaty to take cereals everyday? Ryan drinks more water now? My mil also cooks/fries ikan billis for my hubby's nephew.. maybe can ask her for some
.. then will have to buy a blender liow.

Dont think your Ryan is heavy compared to cclare's Ryan cos your boy is 4cm longer, which is quite alot? At least both Ryans' weight and height are at the same percentile.. which I thought is proportionate. I do hope she will lose some weights... her weight increase has slowed down but who knows, it has increased in terms of the percentile... worrying..

bbgal,
My Titus was also born in TMC. They have free assessment? It is ok to put pork into the porridge. My mum cooks porridge for Titus and she adds pork, spinach and ikan bilis. Also fish sometimes. She blends all the ingredients together. Very delicious. One of my friends also add in potato.

ruff,
When we took Titus' pix for his passport, we put a white towel on the bed and had him lie on it.

Helena,
They are having sales at JL now.. they also sell EQ diapers there..maybe when you are free you can take a look.
bbgal,
I don't know if it is heaty to eat cereal everyday..but I give him a lot of water to drink. Ryan personally likes to drink water so it is not much of a problem to get him to drink.

want to know.. how to make bb feel better when they are teething??? Ryan is getting v.noisy in his sleep.. waking us up every 2-3hr with his grunting/whining noises.I tried giving him the nuby pacifier..but it drops off after awhile.. soothers are also a bit big for his mouth.