(2004/03) March Mummy

This new girl wants to track our movements. Wants to find out what kind of meetings, courses we attend and so on. Once she asked this other colleague what she was talking to the boss about cos she was in the room for a long time. And guess how the colleague answered? "You want to know ah? Then you go in and ask the boss!"

I thought when you are new, it's better to keep a low profile and not act smart like her?

The worst is she thinks she's really pretty. In actual fact, she looks like a geek with bad posture. No one thinks she's pretty.

Sorry for all the grouses. Really cannot stand her.

poor helena, hv to work w such person!

cclare,
the NTUC brand is not the tub one, is quite similar packaging like pigeon 66pc or tollyjoy 120pc. cost $8.90 for 3 x 80pc. i tried it 'cos given $1 off from the NTUC voucher booklet when sign up the club.

agree that is a gd start for a sleep thru, then u can monitor what causes the sleep thru. any changes from normal routine?
Sometime Matthew can sleep from 10pm to 6am, that's provided he is very, very tired, esp when we go out w him n reach home around 8pm.

ruff,
not this weekend, is next Sat.. 'cos got gathering at my colleague's condo, so already ask her if can go for a swim w my son n she said is ok... if he is ok w the swim, then am thinking of joining my nieces for their weekly swim later...

now Matthew will poo 2 times alternate day. B4 that, he will poo every day n 3 times a day.

cla,
oic.. then u will need to check out the bathing facitilites also. Last mth brought Ryan to my friends house for swimming around 5pm + then to her house to bath..he scream and cry non stop coz the toilet was dark.. and also quite hard to bath him as her toilet only have the 1 person shower.. nowadays I bring him to the condo opposite for a swim ..the friend staying there has a big bathroom which is brightly lit..so he is not scared of bathing in a "different " place.

What is your opinion on the timing for swimming? The other mummies in the "new mum" thread like to say their PD says this and that..quite intimidating.. so don't really post there

cla,
have you bought Matthew a swimsuit?
Cerisi having sale.. swimsuit cost only $10. I bought an extra for him coz we are now going swimming 2 times a week..

ruffy, cla,

I'm interested in brining my boy for a swim too. Cos he like to bath a lot, always kick the water. But mayb will wait till he's 6 months. He does not like to bath in unfamilar place.

Ruffy,

I think the mummies in "new moms" only meant to share lah! don't take it to heart. We all learn from experience. Sometimes I just read their opinion, but do things my own way. It's really up to individual.

ruff,
thanks for the info. will check out the Cerisi sales.

ya, i agree w cclare. in fact, all these discussion thread are meant for sharing information n experience. the advice from PD is of course the best gauge as they r the professional in BB. again, is up to individual to take the comments. all bb r similar n different in one way or another. if a certain method work for u, doesn mean will definitely work for another, but at least can try.

actually i was thinking that i cannot really control the timing. if i really wan him to swim at all advice time, then hv to wait very long liao 'cos i won't be free n may not be convenient. so i think i will bring him as n when appropriate. anyway, only intend for abt 15-30 mins swim, if he is ok, then slowly increase...

cla and cclare,
thanks for ur comments.. yeah.. the instructors started them off with 20min..and she is slowly increasing the swim time on sat during the lessons.

for those giving formula to bbs.. will you be changing to the follow on milk next mth when the bb turns 6mths.. still considering which brand to use. Ryan's on Enfalac A+ and on the tin says can use to 12mths.. but quite $$ 1 tin $30.. luckily found a place that sell at $27.40.. a bit of savings.

Hi mommies!

Wah alot of postings.. slowly catch up.. went to johnlittle sales... bought the highchair which I saw from bbsayang website.. $99 and a walker $45 and 2 plain dresses and 4 singlets for my gal. Hee Hee.. got 10% off cos > $100 (for today only) and free delivery cos > $150. Phew.. finally got the high chair.. think if I drag longer, I wont get it liow.. other than that, nothing much for bb. oh think got quite alot of swim suits but I didnt go and check it out.. Not so crowded when I was there from 1-4pm+

cclare
sometimes find the sizing using weights not so accurate.. thus now I look at the lower weight of the next size instead of the higher weight of the size I'm looking at.

ruffy
last time my hubby will be the one to make the milk and I feed during the night feeds.. then he will go back to sleep.. no choice cos he gotta work, unless I really very tired then I 'll ask him to take over. We put the powder in the powder container so quite fast to make, no need to make the feed beforehand.

wah, you tried almost all the brands of diapers! I only tried mamy poko, nepia, pampers premium, petpet and pampers bb dry. The worst is pampers bb dry, the shit also come out from the back and dont like the plastic cover.

cclare/ruffy
if no size for them, then it'll be back to the traditional - cloth diapers liow!

cla
is the ntuc brand of diaper good? I ordered online but no stock and didnt go and get it. the cover seems like a bit hard hor? Have you used the tube wipe before? It's different from the package one is it? I used the tube one for ourselves last time but it was very hard and thin. Thus never try the package one.

cla/ruffy/cclare
I just stocked up on J&J (without fragrance) cos ntuc selling $3.95 per pack, very cheap compared to original price of $5.20. Travel outside then use tollyjoy small packs.. Tried kodomo also but find it rough for bb skin and quite small pc. heee think different pp different preferences..

ruffy
heard before bring bb to swim ard 2-4pm cos water warmer.. guess its really up to us .. but I think not so much of timing but rather the weather and shelter from sun... pools have shelter? I so long never go to any pool liow.. hahaha.. I think I'm more towards 11am+ or 4-5pm... too early will be cold, mid day will be too hot.. too late will be cold again..

ruffy
I almost forgot have to slowly switch over to step 2.. oppss.. so fast hor, coming to 6mths soon! I'm using similac excellence so have to switch cos step 1 is only till 6mth.. have gotten a sample tin (400g) from them. Enfalac also so exp? Hubby was saying I'm giving the most expensive formula to bb when he compared with his colleague.. hahaha
now I can tell him it's not the most expensive. Btw do check where they come from (prodn) when it's cheaper than normal.

bbgal,
good to know that you managed to buy things for Reyna. We make the feed before hand for Ryan coz he doesn't like to drink slightly warm milk. by the time we walk to the kitchen to make the milk he would be too awake.. then it is hard to get him back to sleep.
So far I haven't bought any J & J or other toiletries for Ryan..still haven't finished using all the presents he got during the 1st mth party.
The pool at Civil service club.. the bb pool is covered. May go to Ntuc this weekend to buy baby wipes..running out also.. have to wait till hubby is free cannot carry so much alone.

bbgal,
have checked..the tins all the same.. exp date also.. in 2005/2006.. so no difference in product only price.
At Coldstorage 1 tin enfalac is $30, NTUC/Giant is $29.80. At Chinese medicine shop is $28.60 and at the provision store at my mum's place is $27.40. all other brands also $1-$4 cheaper there. have v.wide range. The follow up for it is about $20 but outside supermarket sell for $24-$26. Had tried similac for Ryan but it has a lot of bubbles..so he doesn't really like it..
I dunno whether to continue with Enfapro or try other brands.

ruffy
normally I take the time when hubby make milk to change her diaper.. so still quite ok.

Most times will wait till go over mil place then go ntuc shop for grocery.. else if really bulky stuff like diapers, I will order online and get them deliver.. delivery charge works out to be ard the same if we were to buy and take cab back.. only thing is cant get to choose the stuff, some canned food come dented.

Where is the chinese medicine shop? You staying in tampines right? Think read you gals talking abt the tampines mart in the other thread.. where is it huh? My parents' home is in tampines also.. hee if near, then next time can pop over to get my stuff.

Think if Ryan's ok with enfalac, then no need to switch brand.. I tried dumex mamex gold last time, too heaty for Rayna very hard poo sometimes, and puke alot.. switched to similac, she poo everyday and easier... though still puke sometimes..

bbgal,
actually the tub one n the other packaging one of different quality. so the price is more pricy.

there are 2 type of NTUC diaper, one in blue packaging n one in green packaging. now using the green packaging one, quite ok. me not very particular abt the diaper, as long as Matthew is ok w it, no nappy rash, then ok liao. :p

bbgal,
Tampines Mart at Tampines St 33.. quite near the TPE/ Tampines JC area.
I normally buy milk from my mum place in Clementi.. it is even cheaper than the chinese medicine shop.

cla,
Is the NTUC diaper cheap? How much per pkt?

cla
oh ok, do you know if they have small pkts for travelling?

Yah, I saw 2 types of ntuc diapers, was wondering if one was the old packaging.
I'm trying to find something cheap and good... hahaha cos daytime very unpredictable, sometimes she can poo just after changing.. and can be up to 3 times for such cases... quite wasteful! But there are so many brands! yet I dont want to buy and try cos really alot in one pack and if no good then have to bear with it .. thus asking ard for opinions.. I took 1 sample of EQ but havent tried yet cos L size..

ruffy
hahaha I was from TPJC but dont know where is st 33
nevermind, will check out the streetdirectory.

hi mommies
if you are using pampers premium, think ntuc will be having sale tmr 3 for $58 (L & XL). saw it on the online shopping site... should be the same for the outlets... time to stock up.

bbgal / ruffy,

I keep switching between Friso and Similac Ex. for my boy. Cos intially using Friso which is free sample from my gynae and PD ( 2 tins). After that, my hubby complain no DHA, AA, .... So he got a tin of Similac Ex. 400g to try out.
My boy is ok with any formula, so long u give him milk, he just drink. Not sure about heatiness, etc cos I only give him 1-2 FM per day.
Also having headache, not sure to continue on Similar Ex or Friso. Similar is definitely more ex but my hubby prefer. He always think the more ex it is, the better. For me, I prefer Friso cos very much cheaper and heard that it does not cause constipation.

Have filled in those coupons in motherhood for free tin samples..will see which one is more suitable for Ryan.. have tried mixing similac and Enfalac.. actually no difference for him also.. just that when he had colic.. similac made him puke more.. Actually what is the difference between the infant milk and follow up milk..that there is so much difference in price? Some infant powder says that it can be used up to 1 yr.. but most of them says for bb up to 6mths only? any idea?

Cclare
Similac also doesnt cause constipation, in fact my gal's poo are always quite watery after taking similac, whereas mamex time she always has hard poo and had to nnggg until face very red... see liow feel so pain for her.. hee since your hubby willing to fork out for the more expensive one, why not?
I'm the one sticking to similac rather than hubby, but he was the one who wanted one with DHA, AA.

ruffy
If I remember correctly, follow-on formula has more iron than infant formula which is needed by growing bb (mommies, correct me if I'm wrong). Other than that I cant remember what else.

Hi march mummies,

Wonder if any of you have the same problem as me. My left breast is a bit painful and hard and when I tried to squeeze out some milk in the warm shower, white coloured milk came out from all the ducts, except for one which had yellowish milk.

Helena

Helena
You still BF? I've stopped but there'll still be some milk flow out if I squeeze. Think have abit of pain some time back but its not hard. If you're worried, better check with your gynae.

ruffy,

I also not sure what's the difference. But I think the nutrition needs of a 6 mths baby is different from that of infant. So the ingredients in the powder also differs lor!

bbgal,
My hubby is a very poor finanical planner. So he can't save much. So worried! That's why I need to control his expenses, haha... typical accountant wife. He's been too generous with our son. Always going for the more expensive choice. Like I mentioned previously, he wanted to get the $238 high chair at KP when we have not even look around for other choices. That was the first time that we are looking at high chair. At the rate he's spending, where got $$ for second child?

Helena,
Sorry, I do not have this problem and can't help much. I only rememner that I had yellowish milk in the 1st few weeks. Thereafter, my BM is white.
My breast are also painful when I don't EBM for too long, like in the morning.

cclare
haha I also accounting trained but I'm the spending accountant .. I'm the one spending on my gal while hubby's tugging at the strings
but I'm always looking out for value for money items lah, not those expensive kinds.. like the high chair? only $99 mah heehee.. certain stuff have to buy but no need too expensive lah .. so long safe and can use good enough.
Dont worry, big items normally can be passed on to 2nd bb. So the expenses for bb#2 will be lower.. but of cos, all add up will be more .. still gotta control and spend within budget.

Helena,
I guess that you may have blocked duct + infection. IT is best you check with ur doc.
My hubby is the accountant in the family.. but I am the one that controls the spending always comparing value for money before buying .hhehe. Guess Ryan won't be getting much toys/clothes from us... need to save for Bb no 2 and 3. Actually both of us are accounting trained but only he is the qualified one (CPA).

ruffy,
u planning for bb no. 2 & 3 huh?
I only plan for No. 2. If it's a gal, then I'll close factory already. If boy again, then we will see if we can cope financially with a 3rd one.

Hi cclare,
Hubby wants another boy but I would prefer a girl..so he says have both.. so greedy.. Before marriage..we have already decided we would like to have about 3 children..so quite okay with it.. just hope that I don't get twins/triplets..or "peng sang".

ruffy,

usually it runs in the family for twins and triplets... If no one among your relatives have twins, unlikely that u will have.

haha...before marriage, my hubby want as many as possible to made a basketball team. After my first one, he say is enough. Cos he say very stress, and he want at least 1 boy and he got it. So unfair!!! I WANT GIRL!!!

cclare,
my hubby family have triplets leh..so there is a chance... recently he also dreamt that next year I gave birth to 3 babies.. heeheh

Anyway.. he actually wanted girl.. but the 1st one was boy.. so he wants another boy to accompany the 1st one.. if 3rd one is a girl/boy..won't matter that much.. I had Ryan after 2 miscarriages.. so will wait till Ryan is at least 1yrs old before trying for the next one.

ruffy,

triplets!!! oh no, cannot imagine how to cope.

Sorry to know that you had 2 miscarriages b4. You must be very sad then. So ryan must be a 'bao bei' now.

cclare,
Ryan.. won't spoil him too much.. anyway.. husband says still young (26) can try for more.. Previous workplace was too stressful.. anyway that was past.. both 1st term miscarriages- bleeding and no heartbeat..so can't really do much about it..
Hope that you will be able to get your girl..

ruffy,

I'm 27. yah, everyone also tell me can have more as i'm young. can get more tax relief too if i have 2nd b4 28. But I think it's the upbringing that matters. Easy to give birth, not easy to take care.
I think that's a common problem for miscarriages. 2 of my friends had the same problem too and they are perfectly healthy. There's no way to prevent this. Anyway, it's over and now you have a lovely boy. More to come...

today brought Matthew for his jab n is the final one for him. the next one will be 15mth jab!

he is now 68.4cm n 8.49kg, onli put on few hundred grams.

ruff,
i got my pack free. checked online, the price is now $17.60 for 76 pc, for 5-11kg... but then don seem to see this in NTUC now leh...

bbgal,
i think is 2 different grade of diaper, the blue one shd be a lower quality, the green one is better n more ex lor...

last time, Matthew the same. will poo when i breastfeed him, so we changed the routine, feed already then change, save the hassle to change 2 time.

u shop at NTUC online? they seem to hv some stuff that are special discount for home shopping hor? am tempted to shop online, even thot my house nearby got NTUC... :p

ruffy
sorry to hear abt your miscarriages... your hubby must have dote on you and ryan even more..

ruffy/cclare
you mommies so young, me 28 liow..

just went to robinson cityhall to get new teats and liquid talc, forgot to bring my vouchers, end up having to pay.. haiz.. then pop over to carrefour to submit bb's photo, printed out the smiling face one so just submit that.. got one pack of mamy poko, now selling only $17.50 instead of $18.20. The promo lady told me one pcs can last for 8hrs!!! Can use for so long???

cla
I've only seen the sample for the blue one, think this is the latest prodt rite.. think green one is even more expensive than petpet..

yup so far only shop at ntuc online abt 3 to 4 times I think.. mostly do that for bulky stuff like toilet rolls, diapers, box tissues, etc.. and during those promo for items I want... now got bb so very difficult to buy in bulk since only left hubby to carry... there are some slight difference in pricing and promotions, online promo starts on wed while outlet starts on thurs. Like the J&J wipes, online started earlier.. but some promo are only available at outlets.

ruff,
missed ur posting on ur miscarriage, sorrie to read that.... it must be quite sad...

at least now u hv Ryan, n may hv more to come in the next few yrs! don think too much.

ruff & cclare,
so fast thinking abt the 2nd one n even 3rd one liao!
one already tiring, cannot n don dare to imagine if next preg is a triplet!!! think will faint n will collate all resources to take care all of them!!!

bbagl,
me same as u, this yr end 28 liao! time so fast!

cla
so you took matthew for 6-in-1? My rayna still have another jab next month for hep b. He quite tall hor.. my gal only 64. hahaha

bbgal,
only 1-2 years difference lah! u r also young.

never tried MP b4, thought it's quite ex. I think mayb 8 hours is ok. Using fitti prem at nite, for 9-10 hours, diaper will be full but don't leak. But usually, we will change regularly in the day. Won't wait until the diaper is super full b4 we change rite?

cla
time flies, already feeling old! wonder how to manage if there's bb#2...heehee.. my bday was 1 week after my gal's.. had to coop at home do confinement during my bday... her EDD supposed to be on my bday.. luckily never on that day.. else..imagine spending bday in labour pains!!! gosh.. and hubby say next time celebrate together.. haiz sure only remember bb's and forget mommy's ..

bbgal,
ya, save trouble to go again next month n he also no need to hv another time pain.

he is a gd boy, din cry, onli make a bit of noise... don know whether is b'cos the PD's skill gd or he got lots of fats at his thigh...

cclare,
me lor! lazy mummy, sometime even daytime also wait till his diaper threaten to overflow liao then change, esp when we go out... :p

cclare
heee.. my fav is MP... but very expensive loh so only use at night... 8hr for night is ok if bb doesnt wake up for night feeds.. but think 8hrs for day time abit exagerating.. hahaha... cos bb feed 3-4hrs.. sure pee more mah.. if use so long quite uncomfortable... heehhe..she was kind of trying to persuade me to use it for day time when I told her I use petpet and change every 2hrly.. say MP change 8hrly, definitely more worth than using petpet..

cla
hahaha wah you really dont change diaper until it's so full???
nono.gif
if bb's no nappy rash then its okie.. but my gal's skin cannot .. haha

wonder how come so many bb dont cry during jab? my gal always cries without fail... the last one even cry before the jab, and a nurse who just walked in thought she jab already! She got thick thighs leh!

cclare,
1-2 yrs make a great diff, esp the time taken to recover, i feel lah.
this birth, i recovered quite fast n gd loh, cannot imgaine the next round, which maybe 2 yr down the road...

bbgal,
my EDD was 1 wk b4 my hubby's BD n our 1st customary anniversary, was hoping him to pop on that day but then cannot wait anymore... else... can celebrate 3-in-1... n Matthew would have been the best present to my hubby!!!

luckily Matthew skin not sensitive, can take it well... of course some time will be red, then i will put some nappy cream n the next day will be ok.

din do it all the time also. when he is home w me/my MIL, he will use the cloth diaper, so will change often...

bbgal,
pte PD jab at thigh, polyclinic nurse jab at arm, so maybe more painful...n ur gal maybe know the nurse going to jab her, so cried in advance...

just back from swimming.. he enjoy the water so much.. Practice what we learn on saturday.. front/back hold. He like floating on me when I swim back stroke across the pool.forget to come out..duh.. however when tried to bathe him cry super loud..so no choice.. had to just water him down and change him.. When we come out of the bathroom start smiling and sticking out his tongue..so naughty.

Cla.. Mammy poko the most can last 5hrs not 8hrs.. unless your bb sleep through the night.

I am over the 2 miscarriage.. was sad for about 1 week then both happened during the 1st year of marriage.. maybe also coz too young to handle the stress of work etc at 23 years old.

ruff,
i don change diaper at nite, regardless of MP or Drypers or PP or NTUC brand. 'cos if i help him change, he will wake up n need 2 hrs b4 he sleeps again.

helena,
ya, some PD jab at the buttock.

bbgal told us that Carre4 hving a photogenic bb contest, just submit photo by 22 Aug to their counter.