(2004/03) March Mummy

ruffy, cla
for 1 feed of cereal how much cereal u use and how much water/milk u add? after eating the cereal feed will your baby demand for milk? will start my boy cereal tmr since it is a long wkend.

cla,
your boy drinks alot. my boy drinking 160ml for 6feeds. but seem like milk alone dun substain him long.

ruff,

i see. but my fren 's case quite bad leh. haiz, don know how to help her also. Matther not like that. He like me, like to sleep... :p

mini,

at first, i add into his milk to make him feel more full, also to get used to the taste. Now i add 1 spoon of cereal powder to 3 spoon of water. is quite thick, n he din really like it, so i add a spoon of Gerber Carrot. Don know if the way i do correct or not. This weekend, i will prepare some porridge for him.

haiz, no choice, last time i gave him abt 150ml using the small bottle, my MIL keep telling me that he seem not enough, so i increase lor.

mini,

i read ur past posting abt the pacifier. At first, i din wan to give him pacifier too. But my father, aunties n sis-in-law said that the thumb will be flat/long/hv a lump after sucking for long, so no choice but to let my son use pacifier...

cla,
thanks for sharing abt giving cereal.
i also like to suck fingers when i was young. but my fingers still look ok n ppl cant tell i used to suck fingers. feel that sucking fingers is better than pacifier as easier to get rid of the habit. luckily my MIL din give my boy pacifier even though she has one as stand by. she rather my boy suck hands. is your boy rely on pacifier very much?

mini,

not really, i give him when he wans to sleep. or when he cry. he like to suckle a while n then spit far away, feel funny when see him do...

my aunties said easier to quit pacifier than finger. Pacifier lost = no more. Finger is always there, so harder to quit.

mini,

think ur boy drink more than mine.

mine = 180ml x 4/5 = 720/900ml

720ml = at home
900ml = at MIL house

my MIL very faithfully feed him when time is up, so he tends to drink more. At home, if he not hungry, will not feed him. so abt 1 feed lesser... :p

cla,
not say easy to quit pacifier. my sis told me her colleague has to put chilli on the pacifier to make the toddler stop relying on it. she tried to hide it but he will find it.

my boy has not started cereal so cant really say he is drinking more milk than urs. think he should drink lesser when give cereal as the milk feed is replaced by cereal.

cla,
as for sucking fingers or pacifiers, hope our boys will outgrow it naturally then we dun even have to worry they find it hard to quit. think most bbs will reject *it* after some time.

hi mimi and cla,
went shopping today ..bought him a piano, tambourine, drum..
so can make more noise,
My boy rejected the pacitifer after 1mth..he likes sucking on his fingers.. sometimes 2-4fingers enter his mouth..sometimes even both hands..I hope that he will grow out of it coz when feeding him cereal..his fingers go into his mouth very often and food gets all over it. ()

sorry disappeared for a while. just to recap, my daughter is born in TMC on 27th Mar and now weighs 7.7kg not sure abt height coz didn't measure hehe :p

anyway im trying to feed her solids but can't. she's got eczema and very bad rashes even her scalp. PD says not to feed solids yet. anyone's baby got eczema as well? any advise? everytime i change her, i feel so heart pain

Quench,
Is your girl allergic to any substance? When did the eczema start? Haven't heard of any bb that has eczema..but it is normally due to allergies.

Hi Quench,
Eczema is the red patch on face/neck, which looks like rashes? My son had it also, not sure what was the cause as he had it on off... *blur, blur*... my PD said just to clean the affected area freqently n it shd go away, maybe u can try...

Ruff,
So many new toys for Ryan. I did not buy many toys, only some soft toy n also got some hands-down toys... don know what to buy also, for his age. :p

Thought of showing him some words card (as mentioned in the Ways to stimulate baby)... Shd i? Did u try?

Cla,
word card won't really help baby at this stage. For mine I show him picture cards. They need more visual stimulation. Word cards are very easy to make..and I have quite a few of them I used to make for my students. but Ryan can relate to words at the moment.. unless you associate it to physical pictures of the object.
Cla..those toys v/cheap.. less than $20 for all four.. bought at chinatown. They are actually teaching tools to teach him rhythm and music appreciation.

ruff,
that's really cheap! maybe i can go there shop shop too...

i see. right now, not doing anything w Matthew but just thot shd start something...

Hi Ruffy/Cla,

It started at abt 3 months with rashes on her neck then later on it developed onto her body then arms then face. it's so heart aching.

I've tried so many creams but still no use. PD says to be patient.

hoping to get advice....

Hi quench

My gal also has eczema on her scalp, abit on her back, body and hands. Not sure if this will work for yours, I stopped using j&j top-toe in her bath and dont put on powder (ie just bathe and wipe-down with water only) and rub in the cream given by pd after wash-up and her condition improves. But when I got back to putting top-toe in her bath, it seems to come back. Also try putting a cloth between your arm and her head when you feed her, to minimise sweating and contact with your skin.

hi bbgal,

tks for your advice. what's jj top-toe?
use only water? hmm...im using dermaveen oatmeal shampoo and shower foam and also the moisturiser. it seems to be working. u might want to give it a try too.

let's hope it clears up soon!

Quench,
It could be due to sensitive skin or she is too hot... Maybe u can try getting a type of baby powder which only sell in Chinese Medical Hall. The package is green color, w a baby pic outside, cost less than $1, if not wrong...u may like to try that...

Hi quench

JJ top-toe is Johnson's top-to-toe wash for baby. Yah, that time brought her to see GP (wanted to get referred to PD but he say no need, under my hubby's co if referred then no need pay) GP gave some cream and wash solution, told dont use normal wash/shower foam if use the solution. I never use the prescribed cream and solution cos dont know if really suitable for infants. So I just use water to bathe her and used the cream from a previous PD visit.

I think her skin quite sensitive (like mom & dad). That time I used J&J baby oil to massage her also results in rashes coming in. Have stopped since then.

Hi Cla
What's the use of the powder you mentioned? To prevent rashes?

Sorry for joining in without introduction :p my gal is also a Mar baby. She's borned on 02.03.04. Think she's the da4 jie3 da4 here, oldest mar bb. She'll be going for her 5mth 5-in-1 jab tmr, think she should weighs > 7 kg liow. Height wise not too sure also, think ard 63cm.

bbgal
ya, the powder is meant for clearing the rashes around the neck n prevent them from coming back

Been some time since I posted here too...
Should recap like quench did....

My girl was born 12 March, was 7.2kg last month....

Talking about cereals, when we talk abt 2 tbsp, is that the dry or mixed volume?

ruff,
I'm interested in those toys you got.... which part of chinatown?

quench,
my girl's neck is red along the folds... is that considered eczema?

girl.
There is a shop 2nd floor oposite the food court behind chinatown point..can't remember the name of the building.. it is the one with the multi-story car park inside it.

Just took Ryan for the 5in 1 jab.. this time did not cry at all
.. He is currently 8.5kg 69cm.
Since yesterday he has been talking non stop.. keep saying " bear bear" and " Ah Pa Pa" my ears aching already!

Hi cla
Thanks, will take note of that. Maybe try after her rashes cleared, for prevention.

Hi ruffy
Does Ryan still wake up at night to play and talk? For the past week, my gal had been screaming and crying suddenly in her sleep (after abt 2hrs into her sleep) though she is not fully awake. Dont know if its becos we had been bringing her out almost everyday for the past week.

Does your boy/gal need to be carried at most times? I realised my gal had gotten into this bad habit of wanting to be carried. She will scream and when we picked her up, she stops screaming immediately! I used to place her in bouncer while I wash her bottles and she was alright. But now she will scream and cry just 5 min after sitting in it.. until i finished to pick her up.

Hi girl
I think eczema is with red tiny dots if not wrong. Not only on the fold, can also be other skin areas.

bbgal,
Ryan.. heh talk non-stop during the day today.. so tired just listening to him go. HE doest get up to talk and play..but not that often now.. I think it depends on his mood. When we are out with him..he will scream to be carried when he feels that he has sat down for too long. Ryan also crys suddenly in his sleep.. mostly it is because he is hungry.. After feeding him.. with his eyes still closed.. he will drift off back to sleep. Maybe your girl needs some food/water.. that is why she is crying.

Hi ruffy
He so cute, yak so much!
Good that he's sleeping better now, you get your beauty sleep too!

Didnt occur to me that she might need water. Dont think she need milk cos after carrying her and pat pat, she gets back to sleep after awhile. Maybe I'll try feed water if she does it again later. Will teething results in such behaviour? Her lower front teeth are appearing, wondering if her crankiness is due to that.

Hi ruffy

My gal didnt scream last nite (keeping my fingers crossed).. maybe really been going out too much thus crying in sleep, yesterday didnt go out.

Just came back from her 5-in-1 jab. She very heavy for her height, 7.7kg and 64cm, I ownself measure her. 75percentile for weight and only 25percentile for height... worry she overweight.. cried before and during her jab!

bbgal,
that's very fast for ur bb's lower front teeth to be out. me still searching for Matthew's...:p

Ruff,
Ryan is so cute n chatty. Matthew also, maybe we can meet n let them chat...Hahahaha...

Can check something? For the 5-in-1 jab that u bring ur baby to, is it 3rd dose?

Hi cla
The teeth are just slightly visible.. her daddy last time teething at 4mth so she considered late liow :p

yap, its the 3rd dose for 5-in-1 this month.

cla,
yeah..it is the 3rd dose.. next mth will be the next Hep B jab for Ryan. Ryan maybe teething also but I do not really see the teeth buds so clearly. Anyway both sides started teething around 1yrs old..so he should not be having his teeth so fast. Ryan not only likes to yak he also likes to bang the table with the palm.
Teething does cause the baby to be cranky.. You can try to see if the teething soothers help( icy cold ones).

girl,

My bb also has red line along his neck. It's normal cos of his double chin. Just put a bit of powder. Not too much or your bb will inhale and it's no good for her respiratory system. You can try Avent's liquid powder.

Helena

bbgal/ruff,
can i check where did u go for the 3rd dose? n how much do u need to pay? i had 6-in-1 as 1st dose n 5-in-1 as 2nd dose at the PD clinic, was thinking of changing to polyclinic for the 3rd dose if it is cheaper...

Hi cla
I bring my gal to geylang polyclinic for her jab, we paid for a package for all 3 doses, abt $290+. Think one dose is abt $90+. You can check out the below webs for the location of polyclinic nearer your place and give them a call to check if they offer the jabs.

Singhealth Polyclinics: http://polyclinic.singhealth.com.sg/
National Healthcare Group Polyclinics: http://www.nhgp.com.sg

Hi ruffy

We still cant give our bb the teething biscuits rite? Seems like its for 6mth old bb. Yah my gal likes the icy cold soother.. find her expression very funny when she first sucked on the cold soother.. haha

CLa,
$291 for all 3 doses of 5 in 1 (fever medicine included ).. standard package at polyclinic. HOw come you changed from 6in 1 to 5 in 1? Were there a lot of side effects?

I also think that it may be interesting to see how Ryan communicates with Matthew..if there is a chance to meet up..

bbgal

Wow, your girl's teeth really coming out quite early
Babies faces really change quite a bit once the teeth come in

ruff

your boy so cute ah, can talk and talk

helena,

oic... will go try the liquid powder....
a little afraid of putting too much powder cos scared can't clean off

Anyone knows how to grow out bb's hair? We trimmed her hair once, reluctant to cut it, but it's irritating her and also sometimes v hot...
Was hoping that if we can pin it up, then may be more comfy....

bbgal,

You can find the liquid powder at Robinsons, Isetan. Major shopping centres. Certain Kiddy Palace outlets also sell. It's $20.15. Quite a small bottle but it's worth it if it keeps our bbs safe.

bbgal,
thanks for the info.

ruff,
think 6-in-1 only comes in 1st dose, only diff is the Hep B 1st dose, the one that to be taken at birth is included here so the bb has 1 jab lesser... n so the 2nd dose is 5-in-1 lor...

no side effect at all, no fever or any allegy... Matthew was as per normal after the jab...

then the chrg is not much diff, i paid $110 n $85 for the 1st two jab... not sure abt the 3rd dose... maybe i check w the PD...

thanks mummies.

Hi ruffy
hmmm how come my package not inclusive of the liquid panadol, gotta pay .. but it's just $0.70 lah so still okie.

Hi girl
yaloh their faces change alot, we took photos every now and then and when compare, can see lots of difference!

If you pin up your gal's hair, do watch over her cos sometimes they may pull at the hairpin.. and can be quite dangerous loh.

Hi helena
Wow very expensive hor! I also didnt want to use powder cos irritating to her nose and not good to breathe in, I myself even sneeze when I put on powder for her. But my mil always tell me to put on in the skin folds... how abt the compact powder? I saw before dont know pigeon or avent.. is it the same as normal powder?

Hi Cla,
so the 6 in 1 is only 1st dose. then..doesn't really make much difference..

bgal,
the nurse gave tablet panadol not liquid.. anyway.. can keep it...haven't used the compact powder before.. coz it looks like adult compact powder and most of the Pigeon stock looks v.old. It looks more like bronzing powder then normal powder. I use the normal Johnson powder for Ryan..use powderpuff to apply it to the folds.. yeah.. neck there quite red also..but now it is getting better as he is able to lift up his neck to "air" the area..

bbgal,

Avent has no compact powder. It's Pigeon but I don't like the idea cos it's infact loose powder but compressed. It's just like our loose and compact. Still breathe in the powder when you need to loosen the compact to apply.

Hi ruffy

oh they gave tablet? I thought they normally give liquid cos infant. yah, the neck also red red and she dislike me to wipe that area.. always screaming when come to that part. my mil got me those powderpuff for ladies cosmetic kind to apply. But I normally just use finger to dip and apply, which I find more useful cos the powder particles wont fly all over.

helena
so its the same effect... you using the liquid powder? will the after effect be sticky?

bbgal,

Yeah. I use the liquid powder. My mum loves it. It's got the same effect and it's better in fact cos it's smooth and not that powdery on the skin. There is no sticky after-feel.

Havent been visiting for a while and here comes so many new friends, a bit of recap:

My girl was born on 17th Mar, will be bringing her for 3rd 6-in-1 jab end of this month. She is not gaining much recently as she is drinking very little, only around 400-500ml a day, I think the least among all the March babies here.

Girl,
My mom bought the ready ground brown rice from chinese medical hall. She doesnt seems to be eating better on cereal, probably she is a small eater. Have you given any semi solid/ solid to your girl? how's her response?

Ruffy
Any idea where to get cheap and big flash card? How do you cook the vegetables before blending? Do you boil in water until cook, then drain the water before blending?

Quench,
hope your girl has gotten rid of the eczema. i remember your girl was turning quite long ago, any new progress lately?

Anyone is weaning baby off the night feed? how you do that?

is it that after this 5-in-1 3rd dose, the next jab will be at 1 yr old? Me a bit blur now... :p

Hi helena
how long can one bottle last? sorry yeah.. so many qns..

Hi cla
still have the hep b 3rd dose on the 6th mth. your bb booklet from the hospi should list down the jabs required.. maybe can check? I always refer to the booklet, last time I also blur blur esp with the 5-in-1 / 6-in-1... initially thought that was 5 or 6 jabs. :p

hi bbgal,
thanks. i will check tonite. 'cos i checked online, seem like the they can combine hep b 3rd dose w the 5th mth jab....

cla,
the guidelines from health booklet applies for 5-in-1 jab. since u r having 6-in-1 should be different. for 6-in-1 the 3rd dose of hep B should combine with the so called 5th mth jab. better check with ur PD.

gave my boy heinz rice cereal with ebm n he loves it very much. open mouth big big for cereal. slowly giving him more cereal daily until become 1 feed.