(2004/03) March Mummy

Girl,

He's got double-chin when he was born! Hehe
He's now learning to turn but he can't turn back so he'll make so much noise..funny..I'm at work. Going back in 5 mins...missing him so much..

quench,

He's on breastmilk. When I am at work,my mum feeds him EBM and when I am at home and not too tired, I latch him on.
You know what? He had this pimple on his right cheek and I squeezed it out cos the pus was a little oozing out. When I squeezed, there was this sound and a hard white pimple came shooting out. Quite fun! ;)

Helena
so cute, your boy has pimples? And he actually sit still and let you squeeze?

quench
Dont think its a normal procedure that they drwa line and check the chart, think the PD would generally know whether baby's weight gain is within normal range. I think my PD did that just to reassure me that my gal weight is ok.
I have bought the nestle and heinze rice cereal, intend to start my gal on semi solid next week. think will introduce one teaspoon of rice cereal mix with milk for the first day, see whether she like it. Then only gradually increase the amount in subsequent days.

m_maro,

He had one big pimple. Luckily just one or I'll faint. He was struggling when I tried to squeeze it.
Actually when he was born, he had a few small pimples and the PD said it is due to my hormones but the funny thing is I have no pimples at all.

m_maro
U started ur gal on semi solid already? How is it? My frens recommended me to start with brown rice but I don't know how to go about cooking it.

Mar_mum,

Read somewhere that it's better not to introduce babies to solids before 6 months as their systems are not mature yet and they might suffer from infections. I am therefore starting my boy on solids in Sept.

You may want to go to Marks and Spencer as they have recipe books for babies and toddlers.

Mar_mum/maro,

I started my girl on rice cereal. Bought Gerber and Heinz since these are the only brands without added sucrose.

So far just letting her get used to the different texture. Now she's only taking 1-2 tsp in the middle of a feed

Helena

As long as the baby is ready, should be okay to start on solids, but have to introduce less allergenic foods. Some pp suggest starting solids later to reduce the risk of allergies

Girl,
Which brand is nicer out of these 2 brands? do u mix the cereal in breast milk? if so use warm breast milk? any problem dissolving? bought heinz rice cereal but only intend to give my boy when he is 5mths old.

Mini,

Only opened Gerber so far, so can't compare, but smells quite fragrant
Yup, I mix it with warm EBM. Most of the other brands have added milk/sugar, heinz and gerber are the only I found without

how are you? I was not in Spore for past week, so have not been logging in for quite a while.

Mar mum/ Girl
Yes, have tried to give my girl semi-solid, have bought most of the brand, nestle, heinz, frisocream,gerber and the brown rice from medical hall. Sound a bit kiasu hor? My gal has refused to drink and eat, so we have to give her all different sort of food, hoping she will eat one of them, but this stubborn baby just rejected everything. So now only ocassionally we add 1 teaspoon of Heinz rice cereal in her milk. As for the brown rice cereal, my mom mix it with a little water and steam it.
I personally prefer to give her Heinz and Gerber rice cereal cos like girl said no added sugar.

Helena
Yes, you are right that not advisable to introduce semi solid to baby below 6 mths if they are drinking well. For my case, doctor actually advised to give her rice cereal because she simply refuse to drink, max intake per day think only 400-500ml. Sometimes she can tahan 12 hours day time not drinking.

mini
I think heinz rice cereal is tasteless, so better mix with milk.

Quench
Your hair dropping? mine also. Any solution?

can i join in? My son is born at TMC on 28 March. I'm considering whether to let my son to start on semi-solid. Heard that as long as he is going fine with his milk, then we can continue. Sign of a baby ready to start weaning is when they are not full after having their milk.
But my son's milk intake is erratic. Somedays he only take 90ml per 3 hour feed. On other days, he finishes 150ml every 2 hours. any advise?

Hi all mum,

Sorry for not logging in so long..

me too dropping hair...

and my stomach still bulging!!! then still got a few kg to shed, wonder when will completely go back to previous...

Btw, how much weight u gals gained and how u gals get back??

me previous weight 51.5 kg, then total weight gain is 72, now still at 57kg....

My stomach still bulge a little but I'm quite ok with it. At least I can wear my pre-pregnancy pants and skirts.
I guess my malay massage help me a lot with the wrap around my body.

do you gals BF? I still BF now and it helps me to shed the weight pretty fast.
I was 48.6kg previously and gained 16.5 kg. Now, i'm about 51-52kg.

hi mummies..
do u all drop alot of hair? my hair drop slightly more than usual n not sure is this consider post-natal dropping hair? heard that peak period for hair dropping is when bb 4-6mths.

my pre-preg pants get as loose as just before n those pants are s-size. was 43kg before preg, gained 12kg n now should be 43-44kg. BF uses alot of energy n i keep feeling hungry.

wow so most of the mummies are dropping hair? wa mine is alot and quite scary. asked parentcraft centre from tmc and they say it's ok. if worried can see a doc and they give u medication that can stop this sympton.

as for weight, i was 50kg went up to 70kg and now 56kg. 6kg more to shed.hai...and stomach also still bulging.

hi cclare, my daughter was born on 27 at TMC. we've prob met haha. which room were u in?

hi all mummies, when do u plan to have 2nd baby?

hi quench,

I was staying at 501 I think. the first room next to the nursery.

Think i'll wait till my boy is 1 yr + before I plan for the next one. Got to see how "guai" my boy is first. Otherwise, my mum will not be able to cope with a boy running around the house and a newborn. I hope to have a girl the next time cos I like to dress up girls. My mum can't wait and keep asking me to try for next one.

hi cclare,
i was in 508,not too far away.urs is natural birth?im also planning for the next one on 2006
hoping for a boy.

Can join this thread? My boy was born in glenegals on 5th March.. am presently on leave to take care of him full-time. My bb takes an extremely long time to finish his feed..he would take 50ml-100ml then wait till 1-2hrs later to finish the other 50ml. Very hard to decide the amt of milk to make for him. Sometimes make 120ml..and he is still hungry..at other times take about 2hrs to drink...I try to feed him every 3-4hr but sometimes he rather play then eat. However when it comes to semi-solids he can finish the whole bowl in less than 30min.. Anyone of you have the same problem? I don't know if he is putting on enough weight.. At last check (at 4mths) He was 8kg (66cm)...today just measured him.. has grown to 70cm but weighing him on the bathroom scale ..seems no change in weight.
Another thing is that already 4mths+ and still have to lose another 6-8kg..I lost about 10kg in the 1st 2 months but weight has been constant since the 2nd month..quite fustrating. Does anyone have any recommended method of slimming?

quench,
what was your gal's weight at birth? I remember seeing a baby gal at 2.6kg in the nursery. Maybe it's your gal. hee hee...
Is your PD at TMC too?
Ruffy,
My boy is only 7.1kg at 4 months. I thought mine is already quite a big boy, yours is bigger. When is your baby's next checkup? You can wait till then to weigh him and consult the PD if he is gaining enough weight.

Hi cclare,
will bring him for the next jab on 10th mth..don't think will be seeing a Pd coz doing the jab at queenstown polyclinic ..cheaper..and this one don't have to wait for a long time..the most 1/2hr then ur done coz v.old estate..not many babies..

m_maro,

Is your girl feeding better on cereal? How do you do the brown rice? Instant cereal or from the grain?

quench,

My hair oso started dropping.... plus my girl likes to pull at it, aiyoh, think may end up bald!
Tummy also can't go down.... still have 4-5kg to lose, no change from 2 wks after delivery....
Think will have to diet after I stop BF

ruffy,
I've that prob with my daughter too.... Have to try so hard to coax her to drink from the bottle... Even with breast, sometimes she's too distracted, would rather look around or play...
Anyone with any solutions?

ruffy,

What jab is your boy taking at 10 months?
Thought the next jab after the 6 in 1 is at 12-15 months?

girl
Made a mistake.. shoud had type 10th Aug. 5th month jab. He is taking th 5 in 1 at the polyclinic..didn't want to go for the 6 in 1.. there is still no studies that say that it is significantly better than the 5 in 1.

What I do with my boy is not to feed him in between.. find that he finishes the bottle faster than.. if he is very hungry he can finish it in 20min. I have started to give him more cereal ..twice a day.. he prefers eating from spoon then drinking from a bottle.. may try to get him onto a sipper cup in 1-2months time.. maybe he will be able to drink his milk faster.

dear mummies,
which brand of cereal is better.. so far have tried the Dumex rice creal and gerber banana cereal.. Dumex is still a bit lumpy...anyone tried Nestle or Heinz?

Dear All March Mummies,

Would like to join this thread.

Abt my son...
Name: Matthew
Born on: 15 March 2004
Hospital: Mt E
Weight: 8kg
Length: 66cm

Wonder if any of ur bb started to grow teeth? My son has been crying n refused to drink his milk. Seem like he is growing his teeth... Any one encouter the same as me?

Cla

Hi Cla,
maybe the milk is too hot... or he doesn't like the brand that you are using? my boy has been drooling since 2mths.. however I don't think that his teeth will be comming in so soon.. although can see some of the buds quite clearly under the gums.. maybe u can try teethers to soothe him

Hi ruffy_happy,

I am still breastfeeding him n i was quite sure that the milk was not too hot. He just refused to drink or suckle for a few mouth n he withdraw... both bottle n breast...

But when i put my finger into his mouth, he will start to suckle hard on my finger... I tried giving him the soother but he don seem to like it... suckle a while n cry again...

So yesterday, he had his milk at 3pm. After that he begin to refuse or drank abt 30-50ml at 6pm... Until nite time around 2am, i woke up to feed him 100ml.

This morning, he drank 40ml at 7.30am, n then refused again... till 9+am then finshed 140ml.

Not sure if how come like that... so i suspect is teething problem lor...

Cla,

Maybe your bb wants to try solid food? My boy was like that and we consulted the paediatrician who asked us to try solid food.

Cla,
if it is teething problem then u should be able to feel the teeth buds when you rub along his gum line. another thing is that he would be drooling and put everything in his mouth.. including your fingers . mine does that.. my boy.. will suck all his fingers even the bib cloth.. he doesn't like the soothers also.. too big for his mouth and quite hard also.
My boy also slowed down in taking milk.. so... giving him solids once he turned 4mths.. he is taking solids well now..
His eating table is sometime like this now.
9am 120ml or 150ml milk
12pm cereal 3tbsp + 2-3 scoops of milk inside.
4pm 150ml milk
7pm cereal 3tbsp + 2-3scoops of milk.
12-1am 120ml or 150ml of milk
4-5am 150ml milk
My boy doesn't really drink much milk also.. but he loves eating solids..so giving it to him.. he is also putting on weight and growing longer.. about 4cm will check with PD next week..to see how heavy he is.. seems to be much heavier compared to at 4mth.(8kg).

i see... i hv mix a spoon of cereal in the milk when i bottlefeed him... when use spoon, he will make noise after 3 to 4 spoon... never mind, i will try again.

B4 yesterday, he has been drinking 180ml of milk/milk w cereal every 4 hrs.

Thanks mummies for ur advise...

Ruff,

ur bb is so cute!!!! so chubby!!!

I hv not really upload his pic online as i am creating a website for him.(Inspired by my sec sch mate).

Here is one of his recent pic
128365.jpg

ruffy and cla,

My boy is also big like yours. He's born on 13 March in TMC. His weight at birth was 3.9kg and he wasn't full term. Now, he's 70cm and 8.4kg.

Cla,
Your boy has a biblical name. Are you guys Christians?

Helena

Helena,
I'm catholic so have chosen a christian name for my son.
Cla,
your boy is also very chubby :p Are you working or full time mother?

No, we are not Christian. the name just striked me one of the nite when i was resting at home during my preg. N i checked w my Christian fren that it means Gift from God, so i chose it 'cos i think it suits him very well. God has sent the precious gift to us.

Helena,

I read abt ur son n saw his pic, very chubby too, also is a big baby ya...he wasn't full term? wow! at how many weeks did u give birth to him? My colleague just gave birth to a bb boy in mid-july, weighing 4.27, almost 1 kg more than Matthew...maybe urs may hit that too :p

Ruff,

I hv actually convert to part-time in my current co. so that i can hv more time w Matthew. I don wan to miss out his growth development. so i am very happy w the arrangement by my co.
During the days that i am working, my MIL will take care of Matthew.

Btw, Matthew seem to be ok again w his diet. Yesterday, I told my MIL to give him some cereal by spoon n he finished everything! So i guess Helena is right, he wans to eat some solid food.
Today, i am home w Matthew, so i will let him hv some cereal later... :D

Other than cereal, what can i give him? any suggestions?

Cla,
maybe can try blended vegetables- cooked then processed in blender- have given my boy carrot, apples, corn, peas.. he loves carrots. mostly fruit and vegetables..then introduce meats around 8-9mths.

Cla,
You can try those solid food in bottles. I've given my boy Gerber's pear and carrot. He doesn't like carrot but he loves pear. Always opens his mouth for more. Always let him try a little first so you can see if there is any allergy.
I gave birth to my boy when I was 37.5 weeks. The doctor estimated that he would be 4.2kg if brought to full term. Well, my waterbag burst 18 days earlier than the EDD.

Ruff,
In which book is the name "Ryan" found? My family's Methodists and our boy is named "Titus".

Helena

hi cla, helena n ruff,

I'm also a march mummy. Ethan's born on 18 March. sso seems like he's the youngest here. he's now 7.6kg n 74cm.

have a question though...wonder if u all have encounter wif your bbs. Ethan sometimes figid ard when he's drinking milk...wants to push milk bottle away or turn his head away but when bottle is out of his mouth then he starts to cry....any idea why n also he's been taking similac ex since birth wif no problem but recently he will still throw up milk even after 3hrs though not everyday...wonder why

helena,
dunno which book of the bible has the name Ryan.. anyway.. chose the name as it was easy to remember and write and it is a christian name.
We actually planned what to name our kids before we got married.. since our Christian names start with R we decided that all our kids will have names starting with R also.
Helena..ur was really a big bb.. I gave birth at 40wks +3 and he was 3.7kg.

snowflake..
maybe ur boy is teething.. Ryan does that sometimes.. If you notice the bb is actually grinding the nipple instead of sucking from it.. he is not that hungry just wants sometime in his mouth.. maybe you can try the pacifier?
When you mean throw up milk as in the whole feed.. is it smelly? If smelly then maybe due to indigestion, wind . or gastric reflux. May have to see the PD if it continues and he doesn't behave like his normal self.

snowflake,

I just checked the health booklet. Your boy is very very very tall at 74cm. It's way way way above the 97th percentile. According to the chart, 74cm for the 97th percentile is for 8 month old bbs. The average age of babies measuring 74cm is about 11 months.

ruffy,
Actually we have also planned what to call our children in future and all are also biblical. Our bb, Titus, is a character in the New Testament and he helped Paul in his ministry.

helena

ruff, dunno if he's teething though...he been biting n drooling since 3mths so dun really noe if he's teething but this week seems rather grouchy n aome nites will jus keep crying n tis morning keep crying n wants to b carried n cuddled. yup, milk is abit smelly, doesnt throw up the whole feed jus some of it.

Helena, 11mths ! Hmmm...then mayb i measured wrongly :p ....but the last time i bought him to pediatrician in June, he was abt 67cm alr....will be going again this mth so mayb will update u all again on his length.

btw, to check wif all march mummies, how much milk is your bb taking now ??? mine only taking 140ml with a feed of cereal mix in once a day in (the afternoon). your bb still wakes up for nite feed ? mine normally last feed at 9 or 10plus then 3plus in nite n again at 7plus in morning.

Hi Snowflake,

Welcome! ur bb is indeed very tall.

Hi Helena n Ruff,

Actually i din realised there are so many biblical names until my fren told me. Think next time i will still get a biblical name for my next bb...

Btw, can i check whether anyone tried to feed ur bb w porridge? Yesterday, when i was home w Matthew n i was having some porridge, he was like drooling when he see me eating, so i gave him some n he seem likes it!

Helena, I went to buy the Gerber carrot n mix into the cereal, Matthew also like it, so i will try more favour.

Me happy now, Matthew is eating well...

snowflake,
my boy is taking about 800ml-900ml a day with 2 feeds of cereal a day. He still wakes up for night feed,.. sometimes to play at night.. which can be very annoying () Last feed is about 8pm then 1.30am then next at 5-6am..by 7am he is wide awake but won't eat till 9am. These few nights he has been waking us up by talking playing by himself.. if you ignore him.. will progress to screams. HE can talk non-stop for 1hr.. so quite tiring for hubby..

snowflake,

My boy does wake up for nite feed but sometimes i am too tired or lazy to feed him, so i just give him pacifier n he sleeps again... :p
Sometimes 2 times, 2am n 5am, sometimes only 1 times, 5am.

He drinks abt 180ml x 4/5 times per day, now 2 x cereal. Sometime will worry that he drink too much, n become too fat! :p

ruffy,

That's quite tough hor... my fren in June/July mummies thread shared that her newborn doesn't sleep long hours, so she quite tired n stress also. Anyone of u encounter this during ur bb 1st mth? any suggestion to help her?

Cla,
when Ryan was younger he sleeps even lesser.. wake up every 1-2hrs to BF him.. so tired ..until can collaspe.. The only thing that she can do is tak e a nap when the baby is sleeping and co-sleeping would be less tiring for night feeds.